Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    68
    Sadly, not only does Amazing Spider-Man fail to deliver, it may also diminish my enjoyment of this summer's film.
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    60
    If Beenox had been allowed the time to build on that foundation - to add more life and colour to Spidey's world, to construct more compelling reasons to explore and develop your abilities - then it could have earned the adjective of its title. The Passable Spider-Man just doesn't have the same ring.
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    60
    Yet another game that's careful to not rock the boat. Nothing is broken or painful to play, and there's still an intrinsic fun to being a video game Spider-Man – but this is too much like what we've played before, only with less going for it than games like Web of Shadows or Ultimate Spider-Man.
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    Beenox deserves some mild applause for constructing a game that succeeds in being consistently fun despite the fact it's a movie tie-in.
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    Still a good game, even if it does feel like a wasted creative opportunity. It steals liberally from the Bat, but it does so with a high enough degree of skill and style that it can be forgiven.
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man is a weekend's worth of fun and difficult to recommend purchasing for much more than that, yet that's quite the accomplishment considering the extremely quick turnaround.
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    The Amazing Spider Man tries to clone part of the epic success of Arkham City using the same mechanics in a different context. The final result isn't as good as the Batman game, but the global experience is still good enough.
  8. Jul 13, 2012
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man doesn't make any mistakes, but also doesn't surprise in any way. It fits perfectly along the lines of other movie-based Spidey-games. That formula offers the necessary entertainment, but is a stale one at that. That's something a fresh storyline and a graphical update really can't change.
  9. 70
    Definitely the best Spider-Man game for several years, but it falls short of the character's full potential and the high watermark of Spider-Man 2.
  10. This is definitely the wall-crawler's best game in years.
  11. Jul 16, 2012
    70
    Amazing Spider-Man is a good effort, especially when considering some of the usual tie-in games.
  12. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    Beenox has set a standard for Spider-Man games. Even though it has a few quirks, The Amazing Spider-Man is one of the best renditions of the superhero yet.
  13. Jun 29, 2012
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man isn't a great title: everything it copies from Batman Arkham City, it does it with less skill. But despite that, the feeling of freedom inside Manhattan will please Spidey fans, even though the story itself remains quite weak.
  14. Aug 17, 2012
    60
    If you were looking for something a little more evolved, you'll come away disappointed. [Issue#88, p.76]
  15. Jul 23, 2012
    50
    The story's fairly competent and ties into the film well, but the lack of Andrew Garfield or even a remote sound-alike ruins its chances of feeling like the movie it's supposed to tie in to.
  16. Jul 6, 2012
    69
    Especially when it comes to combat it is evident, that Spidey tried to copy a page out of Batman's Arkham travel guides – and failed. It is fun to swing thru the beautifully designed Manhattan though.
  17. Jun 27, 2012
    60
    The animations and the presentation are top notch. The ripped off Arkham Asylum-gameplay and zombie-esq city-streets are not.
  18. Aug 3, 2012
    60
    It's fun to swing around the city but the rest of the game is rather bleak and feels like an attempt to copy Batman Arkham City.
  19. Jul 13, 2012
    70
    We miss games with more flare, better characterization, cool missions, an interesting story, interesting new worlds and so on. It takes a lot of creativity to come up with such qualities, especially in a video game. Still folks, it is possible.
  20. Jul 10, 2012
    60
    The Amazing Spider-Man is one of the more successful movie tie-ins in recent memory, with a solid if short single-player campaign and an enormously enjoyable web-swinging mechanic. The sense of freedom and fun gleaned from swinging through Manhattan makes the latest Beenox release one worth checking out, despite its shortcomings. Much like Andrew Garfield's Peter Parker, the development team is starting to get to grips with its powers, pointing towards a greater adventure still to come.
  21. Jul 30, 2012
    60
    It's not the best Spider-man game. Ιt's not even Bennox's best effort. But Spidey can guarantee 5 to 6 hours of enjoyable web-swinging.
  22. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    Spider-Man's landed himself in one more somewhat cockamamie story that doesn't quite work, but a slick movement system and a fun combat scheme do a lot to make up for it.
  23. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    The initial few hours are exciting and thrilling, swinging through the city, stopping crimes and collecting comic book pages. But it soon feels padded out and derivative. [Oct 2012, p.58]
  24. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    The Amazing Spider-Man clearly has many qualities such as dynamic fighting sequences and nervous animations that visually transcribe perfectly the way Spider-Man moves. Moreover, its sandbow world will occupy the players for hours with a lot of sidequests to do. And yet, its cheap graphics, its boring scenario and old-school animations, prevent us from saying that The Amazing-Man is one of a kind.
  25. Jul 1, 2012
    68
    There are a handful of decent ideas here, but nothing within is original. And there's a serious lack of excitement; of tone and transition.
  26. 50
    The Amazing Spider-Man isn't a bad game outside of its ridiculous story - it's just pointless. It's very nice looking and it is very cathartic to swing about the streets of Manhattan, but without a good reason to do it, you might as well not bother.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    I think we can resume the game with one word that summarize everything: AMAZING!!! The web swinging mechanic might be a little bit simplisticI think we can resume the game with one word that summarize everything: AMAZING!!! The web swinging mechanic might be a little bit simplistic but overall the game is exactly what I was looking for. Nice Story plot too. I'm not a Marvel fanboy but I did really enjoyed my experience so far. Thanks Beenox. Keep the good work coming!

    **I keep reading something I have to clearify here: Alot of people think that once the Main Story is over, there is nothing else to do as some people were saying Manhattan become empty as you finish the story. I can state that it is far from being true. Completing the main story represent about 30% of the game. Once you finish the game, there are side-missions/petty crimes and collectibles to collect throughout Manhattan. One of my favorite collectible so far are the "Comic book pages" which the player can collect in order to build complete old school Spider-Man comic books!!**

    Once again, good job Beenox!! I can't wait to see your next ASM title!!

    A must have!!
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Simply AMAZING...nothing about this game got annoying. Collecting comic books and then reading them was a brilliant treat for those of us whoSimply AMAZING...nothing about this game got annoying. Collecting comic books and then reading them was a brilliant treat for those of us who like collecting. The graphix are as lose to next Gen as I've seen this cycle. Having both linear and open world aspects really makes the game feel whole. It is a must buy for me.

    WARNING!!!!! '' renting this game will cause an intense need to purchase it ''
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This game is pretty much everything I was hoping for, as someone who has just been waiting for a Spider-Man 2-like game. The open world, funThis game is pretty much everything I was hoping for, as someone who has just been waiting for a Spider-Man 2-like game. The open world, fun side missions, and cool story are all there. Once again, I can spend a good hour simply swinging around the city and going parkour crazy and it's tons of fun. The story is actually really well done, I wasn't expecting such a gripping tale from a movie spin-off game. The little petty crimes and side missions are fun, and are a good time waster between missions. I absolutely LOVE the little details that the designers threw into the game like how when you're on the street all the people talk to you and a lot of them take out their phones and snap a picture. Really makes the whole experience a lot more fun and Spider-Man-like.

    Web swinging I think is actually just as good as Spider-Man 2. Yes, on one hand the webs don't hit the buildings themselves and kind of just go to the air which is a downside. But on the other hand, they do this in a way that keeps it realistic and not really noticeable. You can't web swing in a place where there are no buildings around you, and if you're higher than all the buildings, then the web swing won't work. They made the web swinging realistic in a way, but not to a point where it takes away any enjoyment and it really makes you feel like Spider-Man. (In Spider-Man 2, every once and awhile you'd get that awkward smack-into-a-wall or can't get any momentum going because of the web placement...In The Amazing Spider-Man, the web swinging makes it so you never hit those stall points and makes you feel more like Spider-Man).

    My only complaint is that the fighting isn't quite as fun and complicated as Spider-Man 2. You pretty much use a few buttons (X to strike, Y to counter, B to shoot webs, RB to use the environment and web strike people from far away). I liked how in Spider-Man 2 you could do crazy stuff like web up enemies to light poles and stuff. But even though the fighting isn't quite as good as S2, it's still overall very satisfactory. I never get sick of beating up baddies and the animations are so well done and it never gets boring to watch Spidey whip out so many different acrobatic take-downs.

    Overall, I love this game and think it is the worthy successor to Spider-Man 2. 9/10.
    Full Review »