User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 187

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    5
    Certainly a game built for children, on the hardest difficulty this game is laughable at it's intensity. But I think it's good that it's this way, it's a game that can be played by children (6+). It contains no terrible scenes that I saw, then again I only played long enough to chase the rat man. It's just not a game for me, I was expecting a game like 'Spider-Man 1 & 2' but it just didn'tCertainly a game built for children, on the hardest difficulty this game is laughable at it's intensity. But I think it's good that it's this way, it's a game that can be played by children (6+). It contains no terrible scenes that I saw, then again I only played long enough to chase the rat man. It's just not a game for me, I was expecting a game like 'Spider-Man 1 & 2' but it just didn't happen. I feel far to constricted and that the freedom this game gives is very small and insignificant, sure you can leave the apartment at will and stuff but there was no real motive to do anything other then follow the story line. I just didn't like it, but someone who loves the story enough would likely enjoy the game. Personally I think a good thing would've been just a bit more time spent in development and an option to turn off and on things to make the game less childlike. I mean with a very obvious sex joke so early in the game it's clear the game has wiggle room to add things that doesn't make it feel like power rangers. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    I think the Amazing Spider-Man is hit and miss. I think the story is decent, and combat is reminiscent of the recent Batman games (which is a plus). I like the collectible comics, I like the different bosses and characters you get to fight in the game, and I really like the sandbox kind of game it can be at times. However, there are some quirks to the game. Sometimes when you attempt toI think the Amazing Spider-Man is hit and miss. I think the story is decent, and combat is reminiscent of the recent Batman games (which is a plus). I like the collectible comics, I like the different bosses and characters you get to fight in the game, and I really like the sandbox kind of game it can be at times. However, there are some quirks to the game. Sometimes when you attempt to evade an attack via web, the camera angle goes all over the place, making it hard to control. Same goes for simply crawling on the wall, the camera angle will lead to confusion. Also, it isn't always evident where or what you have to do next. It can lead to you going back and forth for a bit until you're back on track. I really enjoy the game though, it's as fun and enticing as the last couple of Spider-Man games. I'm still waiting for a great game, still waiting for an "Arkham Asylum/City" breakthrough for Spidey. Expand
  3. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    Have to be totally fair on this one, I'm someone who doesn't like spending top dollar on new games when I want them, so you can imagine my surprise at buying spiderman, especially when all indications point toward another crappy movie tie, but wait, there's more.......spiderman is less like 2,3 and web of shadows and more like the very first spiderman game on the xbox. the world looksHave to be totally fair on this one, I'm someone who doesn't like spending top dollar on new games when I want them, so you can imagine my surprise at buying spiderman, especially when all indications point toward another crappy movie tie, but wait, there's more.......spiderman is less like 2,3 and web of shadows and more like the very first spiderman game on the xbox. the world looks better, spidey is bigger and the inside sections are better designed, now throw in a bit of arkham asylum's predator system and some good music and you got the amazing spiderman. the game takes place AFTER the movie and introduces more enemies mutated by the same experiments lizard used. Scorpion, rhino and more make an appearance but sadly have lost what it means to be a supervillain and act more like mindless beasts. In fact, the first encounter was more like several sex starved rapists sniffing out their next victims. Spidey himself retains his natural laugh in the face of danger quirkiness as he fights off hordes of mental patients, mutated creatures and robots. The combat has reverted back to the age of last gen and web swinging is simplified with a simple press and hold system,kind of eliminating the fun and challenge. The combat is a bit one touch too with a second button acting as a subdue or finisher.it seems they've finally sorted the sticky hands problem and now you can walk near walls without attaching to it like a virgin's sheets, that said, wall crawling is now nicer and you don't need to stand on your head to understand where you're going. Enemy ai is pretty standard and the few battles I've encountered so far were fun but not challenging. Anyone looking for a challenge may be disappointed and would highly recommend putting the difficulty on hard. Overall, the amazing spiderman does for spidey what arkham done for batman, sadly though, beenox have been limited by the movie and anyone who played shattered dimensions will know what they are capable of. Despite many usual flaws and it being a movie tie in, TAS is still an enjoyable game, its just a pity its set in new York, the most common gaming setting ever. Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    5
    Swinging around the city and doing random crimes and collecting comic books is fun but the city is only really there for traveling between missions. All the missions are in buildings and are pretty crap. The Arkham City combat system was great in Arkham City but here its just a pain in the ass. Spiderman has never been about stealth, hes about punching people in the face and having aSwinging around the city and doing random crimes and collecting comic books is fun but the city is only really there for traveling between missions. All the missions are in buildings and are pretty crap. The Arkham City combat system was great in Arkham City but here its just a pain in the ass. Spiderman has never been about stealth, hes about punching people in the face and having a variety of web based moves. Here you have none, just basic attacks, a dodge (not even direction based like batman) and stealth attacks like Batman. Most enemies have guns or spit acid which kills you very quickly forcing you to jump around and run away like Batman but it just isn't implemented well enough and is annoying. Spidey has an exp based upgrade system the same as in Arkham city but the upgrades are so completely uninteresting you throw your points into any old crap and hope its in some way useful. The story is also mediocre, with typical spidey villains like Scorpion and Rhino being just boring biological experiments instead of actual characters and QTE like boss fights. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall I enjoyed this game, wouldn't go as far to say that it's a bad game. It's one of the best Spidey games I've played. The storytelling is flawless, the game just looks beautiful, love Emma Stone keeping her role from the film, and I LOVE how you can collect comic books from 50 years ago. I love the photography thing from Whitney, taking photos of specific things unlocks concept art and I really loved it, especially when you can see the pictures you take in the main menu. The one bad thing is the combat, not all of it just some of it, like in one moment in particular I felt useless because of a gun, I went into Oscorp to rescue scientists and had to flick switches after their windows were barricaded, I wanted more than anything to just take the enemies out in a normal punch up, but I got beaten and beaten and beaten again, it's mainly the turrets, I think they're WAY overpowered, 4 hits and you are a squashed spider. I will admit I rage quitted after getting killed in that one place by the turrets and 4 guys with a machine gun 3 times, which put a damper on my experience as a whole. I also wanted to go somewhere else OTHER than Oscorp Tower and the sewers, the massive city of Manhattan is wasted as most of the missions are indoors. Also I HATED the sewer missions, I lost count how many times I got lost and went the wrong way, it was so frustrating.

    Overall though the pros outweigh the cons, I enjoyed it just as much as I did Spiderman 2 and Web of Shadows, the freeroam is excellent and the optional missions are a delight.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    7
    This game is good but nothing special. It has some great new features, but some bad ones as well. Manhattan looks great and is a blast to explore. There are a ton of comic books to collect around the city. But as soon as you go inside the game becomes boring and repetitive. The combat is the best of any spiderman game but only because it mimics the batman games. But it is still not nearlyThis game is good but nothing special. It has some great new features, but some bad ones as well. Manhattan looks great and is a blast to explore. There are a ton of comic books to collect around the city. But as soon as you go inside the game becomes boring and repetitive. The combat is the best of any spiderman game but only because it mimics the batman games. But it is still not nearly as good as the batman combat. To me this game isn't anywhere near spiderman 2, and is about as good as shattered dimensions. But I look forward to see what beenox has for us these next few years. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    I'd like this review to give you a very good idea of what you'll be getting into if you decide to play The Amazing Spider-Man. -Overall- Spider-man is back in the sandbox where he belongs swinging from skyscrapers and webbing up bad guys. A slick new fighting mechanic and nice visuals make this a fun game to play. The game also had a decent level of challenge to it which is nice. However,I'd like this review to give you a very good idea of what you'll be getting into if you decide to play The Amazing Spider-Man. -Overall- Spider-man is back in the sandbox where he belongs swinging from skyscrapers and webbing up bad guys. A slick new fighting mechanic and nice visuals make this a fun game to play. The game also had a decent level of challenge to it which is nice. However, the game is way too short and has next to no replay value. I'll be honest, when I first picked up the game I was hoping for a fusion of Spider-man 2 and Spider-man: Web of Shadows. This is not the game I was hoping for. -Story- The story is mildly entertaining. Its just there to move you through the boss battles. It wont be winning any awards and you'll promptly forget it after you finish it and move on to the next game. -Gameplay- There is fun to be had in spider-man the swinging mechanic is done nicely and Beenox has added something called "Web Rush" which is their take on web zip. The web rush is a nice idea, I can see how they wanted to show the insane agility of spider-man, but it isn't fluid enough. It shouldn't freeze time it should just flow like spidey parkour . I found myself using it sparingly. The combat is fun and can be a challenge, but there just isn't enough enemy variety to keep me coming back for more. I also have to say that while the combat was decent, it just wasn't as good as Arkham City. Unfortunately this comparison has to be made, simply because this is a superhero game, and Arkham City has rasied the bar dramatically when it comes to hand-to-hand fighting mechanics. The boss battles are very cool though, but much like the entire game they come up just shy of being awesome. -Summary- The graphics of the city are beautiful, and swinging around will make you feel like a pimp. Yes, there are some challenging parts of the game the length is unacceptable. This game does not deserve a $60 price tag. It is a rental at best. Or wait until it comes down in price dramatically. To be perfectly honest it doesn't seem like Beenox listened to the fans, maybe next time they will. Expand
  8. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    Beware of first-day stellar reviews from User Reviewers with just one review in their history. They are put their by the publishers and developers when a game has a launch-day professional review embargo so that the only opinions you have to look at if you want to buy the game on release day is their own.

    That said, the game is a competent Spider-man simulator who's web-slinging lacks
    Beware of first-day stellar reviews from User Reviewers with just one review in their history. They are put their by the publishers and developers when a game has a launch-day professional review embargo so that the only opinions you have to look at if you want to buy the game on release day is their own.

    That said, the game is a competent Spider-man simulator who's web-slinging lacks the grace of the best of Spidey's games. Still an enjoyable way to spend some free time if you're a fan!
    Expand
  9. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    Fresh off a movie blockbuster, The Amazing Spiderman has now become a fully worked sequel and boasts an open world in a homage to the revered 2004 Spiderman 2 hit. TASM ends up being a game with great combat with flashy reverance to the Batman games. Spidey is also fabulous to swing with, as his web shoots out creating a natural but empowering feeling as you traverse the city. What isn'tFresh off a movie blockbuster, The Amazing Spiderman has now become a fully worked sequel and boasts an open world in a homage to the revered 2004 Spiderman 2 hit. TASM ends up being a game with great combat with flashy reverance to the Batman games. Spidey is also fabulous to swing with, as his web shoots out creating a natural but empowering feeling as you traverse the city. What isn't so hot are the environments, bosses and graphics. The environments are dull, you're either stuck in dank sewers or the Oscorp science tower facilities and some of the rooms feel like blatant copy and paste jobs. The boss battles are totally letdown by button spamming quick time events and general button mashing. The graphics aren't impressive either, with a weak draw distance and the familiarity of NY doesn't help matters. Also the side missions are painfully dull and short, especially the robbery pursuits. On the other end of the stick you get wonderful comic book pages, which unlock entire comics in the extras menu and there are a wealth of decent upgrades to sink your teeth into. As an open world Spiderman game, The Amazing Spiderman plays a great game, with action which is indicative of the marvel superhero herritage. The game may be too easy for some as well but despite the issues, The Amazing Spiderman does a decent job of keeping the streets safe......and keeping your intrigue fed. Expand
  10. Sep 17, 2012
    6
    Great Spider-man Game, not quite up there with Spider-man 2 but still very awesome! This is right up there with the Batman Arkham titles. I wasn't quite so fond with the boss battles and the graphics need a little bit more work to make the Ultimate Spider-man game but this is a good start.
  11. dz9
    Jun 26, 2012
    7
    This is the epilogue to the upcoming summer movie of the same title, this game contains heavy spoilers of the movie so be warned. This game combines the fighting combat mechanics of Batman Arkham City, and a few remnants of the Infamous and Prototype mechanics buried in the open world exploring. The problem is that it never comes close to matching any of the competitors. When mainstreamThis is the epilogue to the upcoming summer movie of the same title, this game contains heavy spoilers of the movie so be warned. This game combines the fighting combat mechanics of Batman Arkham City, and a few remnants of the Infamous and Prototype mechanics buried in the open world exploring. The problem is that it never comes close to matching any of the competitors. When mainstream reviews take points away from games for the in-game camera, I usually just assume that they are just looking for something wrong with the title. But that's not the case in The Amazing Spiderman. Many times you will just lose the Web Head from the screen during a closed in web shoot or when you are trying to reach a platform with precision... Now... bad camera has plagued just about all of the Spiderman games, but whereas Shattered Dimensions made a lot of improvements, this title brings it right back to square one. What else does The Amazing Spiderman do wrong? Not much else, despite a few noteworthy boss fights, the rest: including Scorpion and Vermin. are boring mundane fights composing of tapping attack and dodge in a repetitive fashion. Also, the Amazing Spiderman, despite Spidey himself, lacks presentation, the environments are bland, the city seems to be only alive enough to support web shooting across it, and the side quests are all challenge-less and get boring rather quickly. This game may have some small flaws that add up, but it does a lot right. Spiderman is rendered perfectly, and the combat, however not quite on par with Arkham City, is fun nonetheless. This game may not deliver on the extra frill but it gets the essentials right... fun fast addicting gameplay. You will never get tired of web slinging across town, beating up bad guys, and saving citizens even despite the repetition. In the end: This game is fun and addicting but the few flaws it has significantly keeps it from greatness. Definitely give this title a rent or wait for a price drop. This is a pretty good game but nothing ground breaking enough for it to "stick," so unlike Infamous, Prototype, or Arkham City, the fun will probably be forgotten in a few months. Expand
  12. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    A positive direction for a franchise that sorely needed it. It isn't anywhere near the Batman Arkham games, yet this game is like a classic compared to recent entries. Fun and responsive open world spider slangin' and some fun stealth options highlight this game. Good rental, try it.
  13. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    Probably the best open world Spider-Man game in terms of gameplay, but the missions are very repetitive and it tries too hard to be like the Batman games. Shattered Dimensions is still the best work Beenox has done with the series.
  14. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    A good attempt at trying to do what Spiderman 2 did, but just doesn't make it. The narrative follows the events of the movie nicely and sticks to the same tone of the movie, while at the same time trying to also show its respect for the comics. While the outdoor areas are a ton of fun to play through, the in door areas just feel a little clumsy and don't work as well as they are supposedA good attempt at trying to do what Spiderman 2 did, but just doesn't make it. The narrative follows the events of the movie nicely and sticks to the same tone of the movie, while at the same time trying to also show its respect for the comics. While the outdoor areas are a ton of fun to play through, the in door areas just feel a little clumsy and don't work as well as they are supposed to. Overall: A good game that is probably the best Spiderman game on this generation's consoles. But it really is only for fans of the comics and the movie. Expand
  15. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    graphics not bad some costumes always helps some bad ass bosses just it was boring in some missions and to many fantasy the game films always arent the best but this game is normal
  16. Jul 8, 2012
    5
    This game has the dubious honor of being the first Xbox 360 title to make me motion sick. My 10-year old as well. Well, I did feel ill after Grand Theft Auto tavern visits, but those were supposed to do that. Anyway, I suspect it is slurry graphics. Never had this happen on previous Spiderman games... Combat is pretty stark, but web rush is a cool idea.
  17. Jun 8, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. [Condensed]

    For a game with so much promise, ultimately The Amazing Spider-Man is almost as far from amazing as you could possibly get. Good try Bennox, and as of now- even with 1 win and two losses, I still think you have a chance at turning the series around. Try something more along the lines of Shattered Dimensions again, but try to leave the open world formula behind. Especially now that we put it into the ground with nails to seal the coffin lid shut...

    Concept: Another attempt at trying to successfully return Spider-Man to some of his more entertaining open world moments utterly fails for the most part, with a few blips of amazing innovation on the radar here and there.

    Graphics: While New York is nothing much to gawk at, it is far from terribly designed- and the characters, especially Spidey, move around quite nicely- if they are a little robotic at times. Animations are about the only thing on par throughout the main duration of the game, and stringed together quite nicely.

    Sound: No talent from the film comes to the game, which is quite a disappointment as it shows glaringly throughout the entirety of it. Also, the sounds are completely generic, which is to be expected- after all, it is a bustling city.

    Playability: The lack of challenge may be annoying for some and great for others, but since the game is a breeze and your movements are Spidey-fast, everything seems to go by in a blur for the most part throughout the game.

    Entertainment: The only truly entertaining part is exploring the city, and even that is painful sometimes in this iteration of the series.

    Replay: Very Low

    Overall Score: 6.5

    Written 2012
    Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    75
    As much of a cool mixture of '90s nostalgia and modern gaming, it doesn't mean that the game is all the memorable. Having the entirety of Manhattan to swing around between inside missions is a technological feat, but it might have done Beenox better to make a smaller, more densely populated environment to explore and experience different story beats.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    The initial few hours are exciting and thrilling, swinging through the city, stopping crimes and collecting comic book pages. But it soon feels padded out and derivative. [Oct 2012, p.58]
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    80
    The web swinging is better, and the combat system is much more effective (not to mention some awesome Signature Moves).