The Amazing Spider-Man Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of Spider-Man’s powers with Manhattan as your playground. Set briefly after the events of the new film, The Amazing Spider-Man injects New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of significant threats.Take control of Spider-Man’s powers with Manhattan as your playground. Set briefly after the events of the new film, The Amazing Spider-Man injects New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of significant threats. Players use real-time navigational and combat choices to fight crime and execute Spidey’s signature acrobatic moves in ways never seen previously. Discover the rest of Peter Parker’s untold story in the all-new epilogue story to Columbia Pictures' 2012 theatrical release. Battle all-new versions of classic Super Villains as well as original, larger than life enemies while racing to save Manhattan. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rhino Reveal Trailer - The Amazing Spider-Man
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    89
    Though short, Amazing Spider Man saves the web-head from gaming mediocrity and delivers one of the better movie tie-in games in recent memory.
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    The best Spider-Man adventure in years isn't quite what it should've been. Developer Beenox actually crams too much into the package, cluttering what could've been a landmark tale for Marvel's wall-crawler.
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    80
    The web swinging is better, and the combat system is much more effective (not to mention some awesome Signature Moves).
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    Beenox has set a standard for Spider-Man games. Even though it has a few quirks, The Amazing Spider-Man is one of the best renditions of the superhero yet.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    Spider-Man's landed himself in one more somewhat cockamamie story that doesn't quite work, but a slick movement system and a fun combat scheme do a lot to make up for it.
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    60
    It's fun to swing around the city but the rest of the game is rather bleak and feels like an attempt to copy Batman Arkham City.
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    20
    It's all such an uninspired riff on Rocksteady's Batman masterpiece, with the stink of a mandate from a boardroom to make it like that Batman game that did so well. But Arkaham City was built from the ground up because it suited the character. The Amazing Spider-Man is entirely borrowed.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 59
  2. Negative: 9 out of 59
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Simply AMAZING...nothing about this game got annoying. Collecting comic books and then reading them was a brilliant treat for those of us whoSimply AMAZING...nothing about this game got annoying. Collecting comic books and then reading them was a brilliant treat for those of us who like collecting. The graphix are as lose to next Gen as I've seen this cycle. Having both linear and open world aspects really makes the game feel whole. It is a must buy for me.

    WARNING!!!!! '' renting this game will cause an intense need to purchase it ''
    Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This has got to be the best Spider-Man game yet! From fighting Rhino to fighting Lizards all over the city, the game is filled with free-roaming fun! Unlock exclusive content such as comics, costumes, artwork, etc. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    This game is pretty much everything I was hoping for, as someone who has just been waiting for a Spider-Man 2-like game. The open world, funThis game is pretty much everything I was hoping for, as someone who has just been waiting for a Spider-Man 2-like game. The open world, fun side missions, and cool story are all there. Once again, I can spend a good hour simply swinging around the city and going parkour crazy and it's tons of fun. The story is actually really well done, I wasn't expecting such a gripping tale from a movie spin-off game. The little petty crimes and side missions are fun, and are a good time waster between missions. I absolutely LOVE the little details that the designers threw into the game like how when you're on the street all the people talk to you and a lot of them take out their phones and snap a picture. Really makes the whole experience a lot more fun and Spider-Man-like.

    Web swinging I think is actually just as good as Spider-Man 2. Yes, on one hand the webs don't hit the buildings themselves and kind of just go to the air which is a downside. But on the other hand, they do this in a way that keeps it realistic and not really noticeable. You can't web swing in a place where there are no buildings around you, and if you're higher than all the buildings, then the web swing won't work. They made the web swinging realistic in a way, but not to a point where it takes away any enjoyment and it really makes you feel like Spider-Man. (In Spider-Man 2, every once and awhile you'd get that awkward smack-into-a-wall or can't get any momentum going because of the web placement...In The Amazing Spider-Man, the web swinging makes it so you never hit those stall points and makes you feel more like Spider-Man).

    My only complaint is that the fighting isn't quite as fun and complicated as Spider-Man 2. You pretty much use a few buttons (X to strike, Y to counter, B to shoot webs, RB to use the environment and web strike people from far away). I liked how in Spider-Man 2 you could do crazy stuff like web up enemies to light poles and stuff. But even though the fighting isn't quite as good as S2, it's still overall very satisfactory. I never get sick of beating up baddies and the animations are so well done and it never gets boring to watch Spidey whip out so many different acrobatic take-downs.

    Overall, I love this game and think it is the worthy successor to Spider-Man 2. 9/10.
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    Remember the plot from Web of Shadows? It's here again except that it's now mutant animal cross species zombies. The plot while decent offersRemember the plot from Web of Shadows? It's here again except that it's now mutant animal cross species zombies. The plot while decent offers a nice gallery of villains even if the boss fights are pretty average at best. I never knew outside the final few bosses how close I was to victory due to no health bar for them or myself for that matter, and the final bosses were all just the typical 3 strikes your out which was fine and all, but why not mix it up with 4 or 5 strikes?

    The combat is fine if not slightly broken. I managed to hit a 84 hit combo on one guy before getting bored and only got 150xp for my efforts. The Stealth is nowhere near as good as it was in Shattered Dimensions but it worked well enough. The upgrade system however broke and I had to start a new game to get all the achievements. Only one photo in the game is miss-able and when you find out to late that you can't get 100% you'll probably be ticked off.

    The web swinging changes from indoor to outdoor environments, but Outside and inside you'll be using Web Rush anyway. It makes you fell more like the Spider-man of the films in those cheesy final shots in each film, but it takes the fun out of it when it's just simple point and click.

    The post game is just rounding up collectibles and finishing off petty crimes, but after that you are left to either swing around or replay missions. It's a solid movie title that has several problems major and minor that hold it back from being perfect.
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    graphics not bad some costumes always helps some bad ass bosses just it was boring in some missions and to many fantasy the game films alwaysgraphics not bad some costumes always helps some bad ass bosses just it was boring in some missions and to many fantasy the game films always arent the best but this game is normal Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2016
    6
    Watching gameplay from The Amazing Spider-Man gave me hope that the Arkham games inspired it, hoping for great gameplay and a great story toWatching gameplay from The Amazing Spider-Man gave me hope that the Arkham games inspired it, hoping for great gameplay and a great story to play along with. What we got, was an okay game, with an okay story, and okay gameplay.

    The story leads on from the events of The Amazing Spider-Man movie, which I was a huge fan of by the way, and it includes a lot of the same characters including Dr Curt Connors, Gwen Stacey and, of course, Peter Parker/Spider-Man. Although the combat system isn't quite as flawless as the Arkham series, it is still solid and can provide some fun when taking on a huge gang of enemies using different combos, slinging webs left right and centre. While gliding around Arkham City is a fantastic experience, web-swinging your way around New York City collecting everything there is to be collected provides more fun than you'd think, and does cap off a very decent game.

    There are problems with the game, glitches and sometimes idiotic AI enemies sometimes make the game much easier than it should be. A final boss fight that you can pretty much walk through doesn't provide any kind of challenge that should be there if you're Spider-Man, and this is quite disappointing.

    All in all, a slightly above average superhero game that has its moments, but not enough.
    Expand
  7. Jun 30, 2012
    0
    i was psyched for a wonderful game since i heard about it, however it really didn't last. I'm not talking story or graphics or even designi was psyched for a wonderful game since i heard about it, however it really didn't last. I'm not talking story or graphics or even design here, those where perfect, rather the combat. all you saw where the same moves over and over. same with takedowns, no cool combos or anything, even the stealth, i was the same three ways all the time. and the swinging was too simple and he ran too slowly. and about the costumes: i think you could have added better, more fan-favorites. like the cross-species, i myself only used it like at lest three sort times. i think it would've been better to use the man-spider fromthe 1990's as well as the classic black suit . and speaking of the black suit, why didn't you make regenerate? I've never seen it ripped without self-repairing before. and the things that you could throw (should've been more} where poorly done. meaning most of them should be an instant ko's or blind them temporarily in some cases, which is another thing, like coke machines for example, they were all empty. i should've seen cans and spilled soda at lest. not to mention you really couldn't hold it and throw it when ready. and i was kinda hoping for hideouts and stuff and i also think the rhino challenge could have been more fun and why not be able to play hero as the lizard? and also think it would have been better with a replay option where you could replay the game with all the stuff you already unlock. and finally, i think that free roam would've been better if the crimes and such. because after you get 100% what's left to do? another plus side though was the acting, it was perfect. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews