Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of Spider-Man’s powers with Manhattan as your playground. Set briefly after the events of the new film, The Amazing Spider-Man injects New York City's brand new hero back into free-roaming, web-slinging action, as he protects the Big Apple from a deluge of significant threats. Players use real-time navigational and combat choices to fight crime and execute Spidey’s signature acrobatic moves in ways never seen previously. Discover the rest of Peter Parker’s untold story in the all-new epilogue story to Columbia Pictures' 2012 theatrical release. Battle all-new versions of classic Super Villains as well as original, larger than life enemies while racing to save Manhattan. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    89
    Though short, Amazing Spider Man saves the web-head from gaming mediocrity and delivers one of the better movie tie-in games in recent memory.
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    The best Spider-Man adventure in years isn't quite what it should've been. Developer Beenox actually crams too much into the package, cluttering what could've been a landmark tale for Marvel's wall-crawler.
  3. 80
    The web swinging is better, and the combat system is much more effective (not to mention some awesome Signature Moves).
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    70
    Beenox has set a standard for Spider-Man games. Even though it has a few quirks, The Amazing Spider-Man is one of the best renditions of the superhero yet.
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    70
    Spider-Man's landed himself in one more somewhat cockamamie story that doesn't quite work, but a slick movement system and a fun combat scheme do a lot to make up for it.
  6. Aug 3, 2012
    60
    It's fun to swing around the city but the rest of the game is rather bleak and feels like an attempt to copy Batman Arkham City.
  7. Jul 9, 2012
    20
    It's all such an uninspired riff on Rocksteady's Batman masterpiece, with the stink of a mandate from a boardroom to make it like that Batman game that did so well. But Arkaham City was built from the ground up because it suited the character. The Amazing Spider-Man is entirely borrowed.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Simply AMAZING...nothing about this game got annoying. Collecting comic books and then reading them was a brilliant treat for those of us who like collecting. The graphix are as lose to next Gen as I've seen this cycle. Having both linear and open world aspects really makes the game feel whole. It is a must buy for me.

    WARNING!!!!! '' renting this game will cause an intense need to purchase it ''
    Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    The Amazing Spider-Man is a great epilouge of a video game which comes right after the Amazing Spider-man film left off. Plot: After the defeat of The Lizard, Dr. Connors is locked in an asylum as Alistor Symthe has led Oscorp industries in an era of robotics. When Gwen sneaks Peter into the lab, they witness that there are cross species being quarantined within the lab. They react to Peter's own cross species nature and begin to break out and attempt to spread the infection throughout New York. To make matters worse, Symthe has programed the robots to eliminate all cross species involving Peter! Peter breaks Connors out of Prison in the hopes they can create an antidote to the newly infectious virus. My opinion: This is a well done movie tie in, and I reccomend this to anybody who enjoyed the movie or anyone who wants to plain well feel the adrenaline of being the masked web crawler. Web Rush: at any moment within the game, a first person view into Spider-Man's mask will let you slow down time and co-ordinate any angle at which you want to aim your webs. This is by far the best Spider Man game out there with no time paradoxes and a classic feel on the Spider Man video game franchise. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    I think we can resume the game with one word that summarize everything: AMAZING!!! The web swinging mechanic might be a little bit simplistic but overall the game is exactly what I was looking for. Nice Story plot too. I'm not a Marvel fanboy but I did really enjoyed my experience so far. Thanks Beenox. Keep the good work coming!

    **I keep reading something I have to clearify here: Alot of people think that once the Main Story is over, there is nothing else to do as some people were saying Manhattan become empty as you finish the story. I can state that it is far from being true. Completing the main story represent about 30% of the game. Once you finish the game, there are side-missions/petty crimes and collectibles to collect throughout Manhattan. One of my favorite collectible so far are the "Comic book pages" which the player can collect in order to build complete old school Spider-Man comic books!!**

    Once again, good job Beenox!! I can't wait to see your next ASM title!!

    A must have!!
    Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    8
    Remember the plot from Web of Shadows? It's here again except that it's now mutant animal cross species zombies. The plot while decent offers a nice gallery of villains even if the boss fights are pretty average at best. I never knew outside the final few bosses how close I was to victory due to no health bar for them or myself for that matter, and the final bosses were all just the typical 3 strikes your out which was fine and all, but why not mix it up with 4 or 5 strikes?

    The combat is fine if not slightly broken. I managed to hit a 84 hit combo on one guy before getting bored and only got 150xp for my efforts. The Stealth is nowhere near as good as it was in Shattered Dimensions but it worked well enough. The upgrade system however broke and I had to start a new game to get all the achievements. Only one photo in the game is miss-able and when you find out to late that you can't get 100% you'll probably be ticked off.

    The web swinging changes from indoor to outdoor environments, but Outside and inside you'll be using Web Rush anyway. It makes you fell more like the Spider-man of the films in those cheesy final shots in each film, but it takes the fun out of it when it's just simple point and click.

    The post game is just rounding up collectibles and finishing off petty crimes, but after that you are left to either swing around or replay missions. It's a solid movie title that has several problems major and minor that hold it back from being perfect.
    Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    Have to be totally fair on this one, I'm someone who doesn't like spending top dollar on new games when I want them, so you can imagine my surprise at buying spiderman, especially when all indications point toward another crappy movie tie, but wait, there's more.......spiderman is less like 2,3 and web of shadows and more like the very first spiderman game on the xbox. the world looks better, spidey is bigger and the inside sections are better designed, now throw in a bit of arkham asylum's predator system and some good music and you got the amazing spiderman. the game takes place AFTER the movie and introduces more enemies mutated by the same experiments lizard used. Scorpion, rhino and more make an appearance but sadly have lost what it means to be a supervillain and act more like mindless beasts. In fact, the first encounter was more like several sex starved rapists sniffing out their next victims. Spidey himself retains his natural laugh in the face of danger quirkiness as he fights off hordes of mental patients, mutated creatures and robots. The combat has reverted back to the age of last gen and web swinging is simplified with a simple press and hold system,kind of eliminating the fun and challenge. The combat is a bit one touch too with a second button acting as a subdue or finisher.it seems they've finally sorted the sticky hands problem and now you can walk near walls without attaching to it like a virgin's sheets, that said, wall crawling is now nicer and you don't need to stand on your head to understand where you're going. Enemy ai is pretty standard and the few battles I've encountered so far were fun but not challenging. Anyone looking for a challenge may be disappointed and would highly recommend putting the difficulty on hard. Overall, the amazing spiderman does for spidey what arkham done for batman, sadly though, beenox have been limited by the movie and anyone who played shattered dimensions will know what they are capable of. Despite many usual flaws and it being a movie tie in, TAS is still an enjoyable game, its just a pity its set in new York, the most common gaming setting ever. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    6
    I'd like this review to give you a very good idea of what you'll be getting into if you decide to play The Amazing Spider-Man. -Overall- Spider-man is back in the sandbox where he belongs swinging from skyscrapers and webbing up bad guys. A slick new fighting mechanic and nice visuals make this a fun game to play. The game also had a decent level of challenge to it which is nice. However, the game is way too short and has next to no replay value. I'll be honest, when I first picked up the game I was hoping for a fusion of Spider-man 2 and Spider-man: Web of Shadows. This is not the game I was hoping for. -Story- The story is mildly entertaining. Its just there to move you through the boss battles. It wont be winning any awards and you'll promptly forget it after you finish it and move on to the next game. -Gameplay- There is fun to be had in spider-man the swinging mechanic is done nicely and Beenox has added something called "Web Rush" which is their take on web zip. The web rush is a nice idea, I can see how they wanted to show the insane agility of spider-man, but it isn't fluid enough. It shouldn't freeze time it should just flow like spidey parkour . I found myself using it sparingly. The combat is fun and can be a challenge, but there just isn't enough enemy variety to keep me coming back for more. I also have to say that while the combat was decent, it just wasn't as good as Arkham City. Unfortunately this comparison has to be made, simply because this is a superhero game, and Arkham City has rasied the bar dramatically when it comes to hand-to-hand fighting mechanics. The boss battles are very cool though, but much like the entire game they come up just shy of being awesome. -Summary- The graphics of the city are beautiful, and swinging around will make you feel like a pimp. Yes, there are some challenging parts of the game the length is unacceptable. This game does not deserve a $60 price tag. It is a rental at best. Or wait until it comes down in price dramatically. To be perfectly honest it doesn't seem like Beenox listened to the fans, maybe next time they will. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    0
    This game is so incredibly bad, I don't understand why all the reviews are good, it has taken me this long to play this game in short spurts in hopes of just completing it. The combat is such a horrible knockoff of the Batman Arkham series, webslinging is basically one button, that was the most enjoyable part of Spiderman 2. The missions are so very very very bad, they are just annoying, it must be 4 year olds playing this game to think that it has polish and give it good reviews, as a long time Spiderman fan, please give the rights to Rocksteady because Beenox should not be allowed to make another game, PLEASE!! Collapse

See all 55 User Reviews