The Baconing Xbox 360

Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 10, 2011
    85
    Deathspank's third adventure is full of crazy comedy, wicked dialog and witty locations. Despite the obvious design flaws, this game is really refresing experience, when compared to other representatives of the action RPG genre. The catch of this game is the script. The somewhat outdated game mechanics are there just to back it up. [Oct 2011]
  2. Sep 2, 2011
    83
    Though The Baconing is more or less just another DeathSpank title, with an okay story and final boss, it shows the franchise is consistently at the top of its game. Its silly brand of humor and graphics are iconic and show off the action RPG genre, which is privy to generic hack-and-slashery.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    80
    The gameplay hasn't really changed, but it's more than serviceable and will keep you entertained as you make your way from punchline to punchline. If you're in the market for some cheap laughs, this game is an easy recommendation.
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    80
    The Baconing should be top of any gamers list if they are looking for a fun and amusing hack n slash game to fill their time.
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    80
    For the third time in a row, the DeathSpank franchise proves that there's much laughter to be had in a dungeon crawler, aside from the massive monster slaughting. If you can look past the lack of originality, you will immerse in a fifteen hour adventure that's both addictive and humorous.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    The Baconning is a Deathspank game. Things haven't degraded or improved much at all. I LOVE these games they filled to the brim with stupidThe Baconning is a Deathspank game. Things haven't degraded or improved much at all. I LOVE these games they filled to the brim with stupid nonsense that makes me laugh. Their influence lightens the garbage in my head and makes me happier for weeks. The gameplay is OK hack it up as a delivery method for loads of random and cynical humor. Two early weapons: Unicorn Head, description "Taste the rainbow, HARD" , Hand Claws, description "Makes you the best at what you do, but nobody else does it" You are everybody's quest **** "genocide must occur", hero for damn near anything. Try the demo, the game is just like that for 10 hours. 7 for quality/price. 9 for me. NEIN!!! Full Review »
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    I just wanted to throw in my two cents on a game that somehow only has one other user review but i just wanted to remind people that if i loveI just wanted to throw in my two cents on a game that somehow only has one other user review but i just wanted to remind people that if i love deathspank (1 or 2) then they'll love this too. i suppose at this point the critics are trying to mark it down simply for using the same formula 3 times in a row, but these are $10-15 games not 60 dollar cash grabs. they are definitely among the funniest games on xbla and psn, the action won't blow your mind but the entire package is too charming and hilarious to completely dismiss. the first two games scored in the high 70's on metacritic and this one is holding in the 60's range but the only reason i can think of is that it's simply the same formula. and anyone who truly loves deathspank isn't playing it for the visceral combat or brutal violence or intensity. it's just a hilarious change of pace that i definitely appreciate. a 4th one in a row just like this might possibly be pushing it, but that doesn't mean the first 3 are bad in the least. Full Review »