The Baconing Xbox 360


Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    The Baconing is a fun game for fans of the series but it doesn't improve upon the original game.
  2. 54
    It doesn't live up to previous DeathSpank games.
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    For fans of the DeathSpank games, The Baconing will be 1200 Microsoft points well spent and continues on exactly where the second game left off but this doesn't mean new players will have to play the previous games to understand what's going on. If you like your bacon and thongs sprinkled with some fantastic humour, then look no further than The Baconing!
  4. Sep 13, 2011
    The Baconing is undoubtedly a solid, entertaining addition to the series, but over-saturation has made this once brash and energetic adventure feel slightly predictable.
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    With three DeathSpank games in a period of one year, Hothead Games wore out the formula very quickly. This hero needs some rest.
  6. Sep 19, 2011
    If you haven't already delved into the Deathspank universe, The Baconing is definitely worth checking out for its humour and zany cartoony feel. However, those already familiar with Spanktopia should be advised that they have already played this game, it just went by a different name.
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    The Baconing is a good game, but a lack of innovation or worthwhile improvements stop it from being a much better one.
  8. Sep 23, 2011
    You should ask yourself if you are satisfied with more of the same. Were the two adventures of DeathSpank enough for you? The small changes can't cover up the signs of weariness that's creeping in this series.
  9. 50
    The Baconing is practically the same game as the Deathspank ones, but without Ron Gilberts surrealistic writing, it just isn't as much fun anymore.
  10. Sep 6, 2011
    The Baconing, while funny and entertaining, is not the strongest game of the trilogy. However the loot and combat combined with the price can make this a worthy purchase for many action-RPG fans.
  11. games(TM)
    Oct 18, 2011
    Fun, but not quite funny enough, and it leaves us still yearning for the hearty chuckles and charm that came so effortlessly before. [Nov 2011, p.120]
  12. Sep 1, 2011
    A strong sense of deja vu and poorly balanced combat loom over The Baconing, but smart puzzles and humorous dialogue entertain throughout.
  13. Sep 20, 2011
    The Baconing sags limply in a puddle of its own stale grease when it should sizzle: reheated leftovers from the previous two games, liberally seasoned with humour to mask the aging ingredients, in danger of becoming inedible.
  14. Sep 27, 2011
    DeathSpank: The Baconing can't quite keep up with it's predecessors. The fresh wind of justice has grown a bit stale with a 'more of the same' stink. Various blemishes can't entirely disfigure the heroic face of justice: it's still a solid game at the core.
  15. Sep 1, 2011
    If all you want to do is play more DeathSpank, then this will certainly do the trick. For me, once was apparently enough.
  16. Sep 2, 2011
    Still, it's a generally fun romp, so let's close on a high note: the ending sets the stage for a sequel with plenty of scope for fantastic areas. If Hothead continues to work on the gameplay side of things and gets the environment back up to par, we'll be in for something truly spectacular next time.
  17. Sep 30, 2011
    Funny characters and plot but repetitive and combat that lacks finesse.
  18. Sep 8, 2011
    Virtually no changes have been made between this game and the last in the series. While not wholly bad, unfortunate omissions like online play and a revamped combat system will leave fans of the series (and of action RPGs in general), wanting more. DeathSpank has a penchant for the epic, but so far his games have been average.
  19. Sep 7, 2011
    Well-designed puzzles mixed with a never seen combat difficulty: if all you want to do is play more DeathSpank action, then this will certainly do the job.
  20. Sep 12, 2011
    If you want more DeathSpank, or if you haven't tried him before, then The Baconing is old fashioned gaming with a comedic twist. But, if you've played the other games, don't expect too much different.
  21. 60
    It has some excellent bits, but we're exhausted by the series' rapid-fire release schedule. [Oct 2011, p.82]
  22. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Oct 20, 2011
    It'd make a great TV show, though. [Nov 2011, p.107]
  23. Sep 1, 2011
    It's a fun game that fans of the original two are sure to enjoy, but there's absolutely no reason for anyone not fond of the first ones to play The Baconing, nor is there any reason for new players to jump in at The Baconing rather than the original game.
  24. Sep 18, 2011
    Questing and combat problems aside, there are some truly inspired environments here, like the interior of an obsolete super-computer and the home of a literally nuclear family. Those, combined with more tip-top voice acting courtesy of Michael Dobson, are enough to give some punch to this parody, even if the joke's starting to wear a little thin.
  25. Sep 6, 2011
    The Baconing's witty, daft and fun, but also doesn't do enough to improve on the faults of the previous entries in the series, and in some cases pushes those issues to the forefront. The bacon is now well cooked and about to burn.
  26. Sep 2, 2011
    Its gameplay gets repetitive soon, and doesn't improve upon the original game, and the story is not as good, but it can still be enjoyable by fans of the original.
  27. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Nov 14, 2011
    It's just so uninspired in so many ways. [Issue#77, p.101]
  28. Sep 9, 2011
    Overall the quirky storyline and the witty dialogue help push The Baconing above the label of 'Another boring button masher'. Those that played the first two games may feel that they have had their fill of Spanktopia; but as a first time visitor, I found it to be a very enjoyable game.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    The Baconning is a Deathspank game. Things haven't degraded or improved much at all. I LOVE these games they filled to the brim with stupidThe Baconning is a Deathspank game. Things haven't degraded or improved much at all. I LOVE these games they filled to the brim with stupid nonsense that makes me laugh. Their influence lightens the garbage in my head and makes me happier for weeks. The gameplay is OK hack it up as a delivery method for loads of random and cynical humor. Two early weapons: Unicorn Head, description "Taste the rainbow, HARD" , Hand Claws, description "Makes you the best at what you do, but nobody else does it" You are everybody's quest **** "genocide must occur", hero for damn near anything. Try the demo, the game is just like that for 10 hours. 7 for quality/price. 9 for me. NEIN!!! Full Review »
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    I just wanted to throw in my two cents on a game that somehow only has one other user review but i just wanted to remind people that if i loveI just wanted to throw in my two cents on a game that somehow only has one other user review but i just wanted to remind people that if i love deathspank (1 or 2) then they'll love this too. i suppose at this point the critics are trying to mark it down simply for using the same formula 3 times in a row, but these are $10-15 games not 60 dollar cash grabs. they are definitely among the funniest games on xbla and psn, the action won't blow your mind but the entire package is too charming and hilarious to completely dismiss. the first two games scored in the high 70's on metacritic and this one is holding in the 60's range but the only reason i can think of is that it's simply the same formula. and anyone who truly loves deathspank isn't playing it for the visceral combat or brutal violence or intensity. it's just a hilarious change of pace that i definitely appreciate. a 4th one in a row just like this might possibly be pushing it, but that doesn't mean the first 3 are bad in the least. Full Review »