User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    And alas, The Beatles Rockband... for Xbox 360. Ok, If you've read my review for the Wii version, you know that I don't own it for Xbox 360. But, my uncle bought this before me, and that's where I got a chance to try it on Xbox 360. Same as the Wii... Studio recordings, Online gameplay, DLC, wonderful dreamscapes... The only difference is the graphics. The Xbox 360 really brings out theAnd alas, The Beatles Rockband... for Xbox 360. Ok, If you've read my review for the Wii version, you know that I don't own it for Xbox 360. But, my uncle bought this before me, and that's where I got a chance to try it on Xbox 360. Same as the Wii... Studio recordings, Online gameplay, DLC, wonderful dreamscapes... The only difference is the graphics. The Xbox 360 really brings out the game with It's "fab" graphics and beautifully animated dreamscapes and characters (This includes the crowd). It will absolutely delight any Beatles fan out there. In the end, The Xbox 360 version receives an outstanding score of 10 from me. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the Beatles so much, and to make a Rock Band spin-off featuring them is great. This one works well and everything. I just think maybe MTV Games should make something like THE BEATLES: ROCK BAND 2 or THE BEATLES: ROCK BAND - UPDATE so that they can add a few more songs (I was surprised when I found that "Let It Be" and "Yesterday" were not on the track list, but they had just about every other one of their best songs), plus add the keyboard as a usable instrument. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    Brilliant, Harmonix doing this , is like declaring doomsday to the rival Gh. The legendary and classic British band, The Beatles finally has his own video game adaptation. The best songs are included here, the old videos,photos was important to give new comers the opportunity to know this band.
  4. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    Fun indeed, and entertaining for Beatle fans and newcomers alike. The games graphics and design are amazing (the opening cinematic is breathtaking). And the selection of songs is perfect: From big hits like Hard Days Night to rare gems such as Hey Bulldog; from power ballads such as Something, to hard rocker Helter Skelter. The games only flaw is being too short, forcing fans to downloadFun indeed, and entertaining for Beatle fans and newcomers alike. The games graphics and design are amazing (the opening cinematic is breathtaking). And the selection of songs is perfect: From big hits like Hard Days Night to rare gems such as Hey Bulldog; from power ballads such as Something, to hard rocker Helter Skelter. The games only flaw is being too short, forcing fans to download songs in order to extend the fun. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    If you're a Beatles lover like me or even if you have a Guitar Hero controller like I have, you should get this. Amazing look-a-likes of the Beatles characters. I can't decide which Beatle needs improving on, it's great to look at from the early years when they all had the same black-haired style back in the early 60s to something of their preference in the late 60s. Sadly, there aren'tIf you're a Beatles lover like me or even if you have a Guitar Hero controller like I have, you should get this. Amazing look-a-likes of the Beatles characters. I can't decide which Beatle needs improving on, it's great to look at from the early years when they all had the same black-haired style back in the early 60s to something of their preference in the late 60s. Sadly, there aren't enough songs (Well there are some good ones, but some of them are DLC) and the frame rate is somewhat spotty in the background (Not while the notes are coming down, which is pretty peculiar). However, to summarise it, good looks and a great learning curve in terms of difficulties. It's a pretty active and challenging musical game. Expand
  6. EJ
    Sep 22, 2009
    10
    Its amazing, I was getting tired of the guitar hero/rockband series, but the beatles music and the way the game was made makes it really good, its a perfect combination of difficulty/good music and nice visuals.
    And well, its almost impossible to just concentrate at playing an instrument because you WILL always want to be singing while playing =)
  7. JamesH
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    An excellent tribute to an influential band. A player's appreciation of the Beatles definitely affects how much he or she will enjoy the game, but quality of music aside, it is more visually engaging than any other music game yet produced. As a fan of the music, the only criticism I can level at the game is that it has a relatively short setlist, which is missing a few classics.
  8. DeanA
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    A wonderful and compelling presentation. Obviously any Beatles fan will find the replay value on this game to be very high. Unfortunately, I think it will be difficult for any other Rock Band game devoted to one band to be able to live up to the level of this title. For the person that claims 75% constitutes a B grade: I must be old, but I came from a time when anything below 70% was an A wonderful and compelling presentation. Obviously any Beatles fan will find the replay value on this game to be very high. Unfortunately, I think it will be difficult for any other Rock Band game devoted to one band to be able to live up to the level of this title. For the person that claims 75% constitutes a B grade: I must be old, but I came from a time when anything below 70% was an F. I don't feel bad for any students who are encouraged to perform at a higher level- I feel bad for those that can't get a decent education because the bar is set too low. Expand
  9. CalebH
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    If you love The Beatles, this is a great way to get into the phenomenon that is Rock Band. For everyone else, The Beatles: Rock Band is a showcase of all the innovations that will be made to future titles. If you ask me, the genius that is vocal harmonies is here to stay. My only gripe with this game is the lack of extra content minus downloadable songs. I expect a new era of Beatlemania If you love The Beatles, this is a great way to get into the phenomenon that is Rock Band. For everyone else, The Beatles: Rock Band is a showcase of all the innovations that will be made to future titles. If you ask me, the genius that is vocal harmonies is here to stay. My only gripe with this game is the lack of extra content minus downloadable songs. I expect a new era of Beatlemania on the way! Expand
  10. EvanB.
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    Marco D., are you kidding me? 80-89% has always been a "B" grade, and I've gone to over 20 years of schooling as a student and a teacher! When has a 75% ever been a "B"? Can anyone else back me on this? That 1UP score should definitely be in the 80's range. What an amazing game...I play it every day!
  11. JohnSmith
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    Amazing! Capturing the magic that was the beatles in every aspect, a thoroughly enjoyable game that you can tell was a labour of love. If your a fan, which half the world already is... DON'T MISS THIS! And if your not a fan, prepare to be converted, I dare you to try and not smile while playing along to these songs.
  12. IanH
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    I'm a gamer and a musician, and for a while I'd had a chip on my shoulder about music games. I'd had a go at at GH at a friends, and wasn't too impressed, however when I saw the previews for Beatles rock band, and It looked so much fun I couldn't resist, so I did a bit of research. The in game footage and track listing looked really good, and all the feedback I I'm a gamer and a musician, and for a while I'd had a chip on my shoulder about music games. I'd had a go at at GH at a friends, and wasn't too impressed, however when I saw the previews for Beatles rock band, and It looked so much fun I couldn't resist, so I did a bit of research. The in game footage and track listing looked really good, and all the feedback I got about RB was positive, so I plunged in at the deep end and got the full pack with bass, drums and mic, and I can honestly say I'm very impressed. Its not like playing a real instrument in one sense as holding a button down is different to holding a string down, or playing a chord, or keeping a beat, however these games do encourage hand and brain co-ordination coupled with rhythm and thats the most important starting point for a good musician. The different levels of difficulty are good, they are challenging for guitar, bass and drums, I haven't done anything with the vocals yet, but am looking forward to exploring that. The learning curve is good, you can make it challenging if you want to develop your playing skills, or if you want to drink a case of beer and just sing along mashing buttons you can do that too, so its good fun in both situations, and I like that. The quality of the game overall is excellent, the Beatles were one of the most important bands of last century, and this game is really really good fun and a fitting tribute to the fab 4. The track mix is good, some classics and also some I was less familiar with, but I enjoyed it all. What I liked was that there was an update avaliable track wise almost instantly. Now you could argue, why wasn't it put in the game, well I don't know, however it was really cheap. This title is going to be massive, and its nice to see people giving us content without asking us to shell out loads for expansions, halo 3 and Gears of war 2 come to mind, grr : Anyway this game really is a class act. Expand
  13. MarcoD.
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    I felt propelled to write this since Evan B. clearly does not know what he is talking about. If you're a teacher and you believe a 85% is a "B", I feel sorry for your students. 75% is a "B"! 80% is an "A-"! 85% is an "A" 90% is an "A+".
  14. DarrenK
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    So amazing! This game not only marks a huge improvement in the aesthetics of music games, but the level of immersion in the music seems to have been raised as well. The vocal detection has been improved from RB2 and the addition of the vocal harmonies (and the related achievements) breathes new life into my personal least favorite instrument from the previous rock bands. This game more So amazing! This game not only marks a huge improvement in the aesthetics of music games, but the level of immersion in the music seems to have been raised as well. The vocal detection has been improved from RB2 and the addition of the vocal harmonies (and the related achievements) breathes new life into my personal least favorite instrument from the previous rock bands. This game more than any other makes me want to get my friends together and have a "band practice" and work on those harmonies! This takes social gaming to another level! Can't wait for all the DLC!!! Expand
  15. AdamM
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    Easily the best visuals/ graphics on a rhythm game to date. It's a must have for any Beatles fan or Rock Band fan. Though there is little reason to get the game if you are neither, but come on between the two there can't be many that wont enjoy this.
  16. DevilDan
    Sep 11, 2009
    7
    This game is getting praised as amazing all over the place and after playing it... it's good, but i felt a little, meh. at the end of the game. I am a HUUUGE Beatles fan and a HUUUUGE Rock Band fan so for me this was an easy purchase. I played it. It had a great visual and Rock Band experience. However, the tracklist seems minimal. I know it's not, but maybe since everything is This game is getting praised as amazing all over the place and after playing it... it's good, but i felt a little, meh. at the end of the game. I am a HUUUGE Beatles fan and a HUUUUGE Rock Band fan so for me this was an easy purchase. I played it. It had a great visual and Rock Band experience. However, the tracklist seems minimal. I know it's not, but maybe since everything is from one band it had an odd limited feel to me. The songs chosen also seemed odd. The actual songlist too had some great stuff but also a lot of, "Really?! That's what you went with here?" moments. No tieback to Rock Band 2 sealed it for me. I want to play these in a set with other stuff. Why can't I? Finally, game designers have to stop thinking that pictures and videos are really that much fun to unlock. "Wow! I unlocked a picture of John Lennon. He's only one of the most famous musicians of the modern era. I DO KNOW WHAT HE LOOKS LIKE!!!" I just feel like game designers think sometimes that the equivalent of prizes in cereal are enough to keep us amused nowadays. Don't get me wrong. If you like The Beatles and Rock Band this is a fun game. Vocal harmonies almost make the criticisms I have almost obsolete... almost. If you are looking for a fun, yet, short experience? This is good. I don't see it being something we pull out as much as RB2, It won't have the longevity. Especially since not everyone is a Beatles fan. It is not, however, the next great Rock Band. Expand
  17. CarlosB
    Sep 11, 2009
    10
    This game is how all other music games for a single band should be. I got Guitar hero Aerosmith and I wish that it would have been done close like this! Beatles rockband is just a kick ass ride thru major events of the greatest group of all time!
  18. WaxDeluxe
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    Absolutely fab! I am not a Beatles fan but this really shows how it should be done when you give a band its own game. Its à bit easy for the rock veteran, but the flair of the game makes you want to sit and play all day. Look no further, here comes the sun.
  19. HarveyB.
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    unlike the guitar hero band eccentric title Guitar hero Metallica, the beatles rock band doesn't in any way disrespect the band nor does it in the process look like "milking" a franchise. The beatles rock band captures the essence of the band in the purest form. For people like me who grew up listening to John,Paul,George and Ringo rock out in the 60's its a great way to look unlike the guitar hero band eccentric title Guitar hero Metallica, the beatles rock band doesn't in any way disrespect the band nor does it in the process look like "milking" a franchise. The beatles rock band captures the essence of the band in the purest form. For people like me who grew up listening to John,Paul,George and Ringo rock out in the 60's its a great way to look back at the golden years. This is a must buy for any music game lover. now if only Neversoft had that kind of respect for Kurt Cobain R.I.P. Expand
  20. JamesM.
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    I can assure anyone out there who isn't a Beatles fan (like me) will be amazed by what is done here. This is one of the biggest gaming surprises I've experienced in 2009. Un-freaking-believable. You don't have to be a Beatles fan to appreciate an amazing game.
  21. ChristianR
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    An amazing achievement by Harmonix. You can easily tell how much work was put into this game from the first song in. The game truly captures The Beatles in the best way possible. Every song is fun to play, I'll gladly take quality over quantity anyday. Thank you Harmonix.
  22. DanielleD.
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    Fanboy antics aside, there is plenty to be enjoyed from Rock Band: The Beatles from an objective standpoint. It's incredible to see so much love and care put into the overall package, and delivers vigorously on the aesthetic express. Most expert players will complain that the game fails to deliver enough of a challenge, which is a valid complaint for many seasoned veterans of rhythm Fanboy antics aside, there is plenty to be enjoyed from Rock Band: The Beatles from an objective standpoint. It's incredible to see so much love and care put into the overall package, and delivers vigorously on the aesthetic express. Most expert players will complain that the game fails to deliver enough of a challenge, which is a valid complaint for many seasoned veterans of rhythm games. Those who have already done metal tours on expert guitar and drummed through the caddywompus rolls of progressive rock packs will see The Beatles' catalog as a casual stroll in the park. But the complaint is easily overlooked, as the less strenuous note tracks allow players to not worry about their life bar and high scores, and open their senses to just the musical splendor and eye candy Harmonix delivers. Worry not about failing, just bob and sway with the melodic trademarks that solidified The Beatles' place is history. Get into the groove of it, let your senses loose, feel the music, it's just oh so much easier to let the harmony and dazzling visuals envelop you when your knuckles aren't complaining. When it comes to who should play it, it's a question of what kind of gamer they are. Do you enjoy a pleasant, straightforward game inviting to all audiences, and is a great way to unwind, socialize, and gain a new appreciation for your auditory ancestry? Then check out Rock Band: The Beatles. Prefer a challenge, competing for top scores, shredding voraciously, and love nothing more than the sensation of frenzied fingertips melting plastic fret buttons? Try it anyway. Play the guitar with your feet, use spoons for drumsticks, sing while drinking a glass of water; do whatever you like to compensate for the game's lack of grueling difficulty. Because it's not a calamitous hailstorm of notes that will bring players to their knees, but the creative art direction, awesome song selection, and jaw-dropping presentation that will. It doesn't add much regarding gameplay mechanics, and plays almost identical to its predecessors from 2007. But who cares? It's not about revolutionary game design, it's a tasteful and brilliant homage to one of the best music groups of all time, adapted beautifully to the Rock Band medium, and comes together splendidly. Expand
  23. MattG
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Awesome songs, and Awesome visuals! If you don't think their are enough songs then buy some Microsoft point cards to round out the Beatles Catelouge! But hey, at least if you buy this game you'll love all the songs versus guitar hero 5 where you'll onlyl ove 30. (As solid as the guitar hero 5 set list is)
  24. JohnS
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Amazing! Capturing the magic that was the beatles in every aspect, a thoroughly enjoyable game that you can tell was a labour of love. If your a fan, which half the world already is... DON'T MISS THIS! And if your not a fan, prepare to be converted, I dare you to try and not smile while playing along to these songs.
  25. EvanB.
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Note to Editor: Since when is a "B" a 75%? As a teacher, when I give a "B" to a student, I give them 85%, and you did this to both Shadow Complex and Beatles RockBand - you gave them both a 75/100 for a "B" score on 1UP! Please change both scores to 85, and I will be a happy Metacritic reader. Thank you!
  26. DF.
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing! This game is almost perfect. The art direction is phenomenal! I haven't been this impressed with a game intro before. Game play is stellar and the slight improvements to the Rock Band aesthetics are for the better. Must have for Beatles fans, must have for Rock Band fans.
  27. LiquidSolidus
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    The game is entitled Rock Band Beatles and that is what you get and then some. Those who have reviewed this game with less than this score gripe about DLC and game length as if it has anything to do with the core experience. IT does what a game of this nature is supposed to do which is to immerse you into the Beatles with amazing success. If you want to start comparing song lists because The game is entitled Rock Band Beatles and that is what you get and then some. Those who have reviewed this game with less than this score gripe about DLC and game length as if it has anything to do with the core experience. IT does what a game of this nature is supposed to do which is to immerse you into the Beatles with amazing success. If you want to start comparing song lists because of lack of diversity, then you need not look any further than Guitar Hero 5. There are many songs on this game and although the games presentation is fine , the list consists of what I would consider to be third rate bands in comparison to the many superstars which exist today. Sure its great to have 400 songs but what does it matter if you only like 10 of them . I would rather have a shorter songlist and love every single one of them. In all , this game is perfect and when you wake up and realize that you've spent months and months playing the same songs and great hits from DLC of the Beatles, you'll realize where your 60 dollars went and youll "feel fine". Expand
  28. bobbyj
    Sep 9, 2009
    10
    The greatest band of all time gets the treatment it rightfully deserves. "The Beatles: Rock Band" is a fantastic game for any beatles loving fan. The care and love put into making this game is apparent as soon as it begins with the beatles altered menu screen and training sessions as well as a beautifully told story mode that puts you in the beatles shoes at pivotal points in their The greatest band of all time gets the treatment it rightfully deserves. "The Beatles: Rock Band" is a fantastic game for any beatles loving fan. The care and love put into making this game is apparent as soon as it begins with the beatles altered menu screen and training sessions as well as a beautifully told story mode that puts you in the beatles shoes at pivotal points in their careers. The animations are smooth and the crowd looks great. More then any other music game i would lose points for missing notes because i was staring at what's happening in the background in a song like "I am the Walrus" or laughing at the screaming insanity of girls during "Paperback Writer." My only negative is that it should have had a little more selection in songs since the game only has 45 songs on disc, but that's easily remedied by the fact that harmonix has promised the entire beatles catalogue will be available online for dlc. Even if you just like ont or two of the beatles song, my recommendation is to PICK THIS GAME UP! Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. Harmonix has done a remarkable job of bringing the Beatles' music to life in an interactive setting, devoting enormous attention to the details of history and authenticity that Beatles fans demand. The developers also added their own flair to the game, making this the most aesthetically beautiful music game to yet release. [Sept 2009, p.80]
  2. I don't think I've ever seen a game do such a great job of catering to its target audience, and at every step Harmonix displays a deep understanding and appreciation for the Beatles license.
  3. The Beatles were fascinated by the number nine. 09/09/09 is no coincidence. So it's only fitting that the game gets...