Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Cave is an adventure game from Monkey Island and Maniac Mansion creator Ron Gilbert, and Double Fine Productions, the studio behind Psychonauts and Brütal Legend. Assemble your team of 3 from seven unlikely adventurers, each with their own unique personalities and stories, then descend into the mysterious depths to explore locations including a subterranean amusement park and a medieval castle, not to mention a fully armed and ready-to-launch nuclear tipped ICBM. The Cave awaits. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 44
  2. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    91
    The Cave has a handful of faults, sure, but the overall experience is well worth checking out.
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    83
    Characters, puzzles, humor: The Cave bears the distinctive handwriting of its creator Ron Gilbert. But while this creative beauty was awakened after a 20-year-long slumber, it shows some facets that are not as pretty. The puzzles could be more elaborate, the level design more varied and the engine more fluent.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    A clever adventure puzzle game that reminds me of a simpler time in gaming. The guys at Double Fine do a great job in working with mechanics of yesteryear and make The Cave a compelling adventure from start to finish.
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    70
    Although it's not as funny as past Ron Gilbert games, The Cave still manages to charm through its visuals and honey-tongued narrator, but it falls flat when it comes to storytelling.
  5. The Cave is a game worth experiencing at least once. Truly funny games are rare, much less funny games that cover themes as diverse as sin, murder, redemption and desire. The fact that it covers these topics with a sense of style and ease (and without feeling like you’re being bludgeoned with a philosophy textbook) is praiseworthy.
  6. Jan 23, 2013
    70
    Maybe we were expecting too much, but it's alright. It's entertaining and will make us smile, but there's no evolution or surprises here. We know it's just warming up for what's yet to come, however, if you miss those classic adventure games probably you'll enjoy this.
  7. Jan 22, 2013
    40
    Given the pedigree of Ron Gilbert and Double Fine Productions' past works, a lot of people will be understandably excited by the prospect of The Cave. On paper, it sounds appealing, with its variety of characters and plethora of reasons to replay. It looks charming and, at first, the humour hits the spot. Problems lie with its inability to give you any great reason to replay it. It's just all too disappointingly shallow.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Quite a game should i say. Interesting, astonishing, with a splendid humor (even black humour sometimes), a great addition to those games created by Shafer and Gilbert. Lot of puzzles. Haven't seen such a game for a very long time. Oh, yeah, and there is also a bit of moral for every story you will hear from The Cave. Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    This game is the first game in a LONG time that the moment I finished it I wanted to instantly play through it again. See you can only pick 3 out of the 7 characters each time and each has different puzzles throughout. This game is brilliant, the puzzles are tough but dont require digging around online for solutions (if you think about it you can figure it out) and the humor is top-notch. A must pick up for puzzle/platformer fans. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    The Cave is incredibly fun. The puzzles can, at times, be ridiculously hard, but so few games have those kinds of puzzles any more, so it was a nice change. I thought all the playable characters are all great, even the ones that initially seemed boring. The narrator and characters you meet along the way are fun, well-written and interesting. The controls can occasionally be annoying but are otherwise good. And I loved the graphics and music! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes puzzle games. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    Me and my two boys played it, I would say 9 and up with some guidance is fine, I would suggest not using the twins pretty grim story. For teens and adults it is funny, clever and challenging. The puzzles make sense so with some thought are solvable. Great Great game. Says hell multiple times and Blood is splattered on walls. Fun to play around with a few people or solo. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    The cave is one of those games with a silly narrative and a narrator with an awesome voice that has lines that are well written and witty at times and kept me giggling through out the whole game. There's a bunch of characters to choose from (You play with three at a time) and depending on which ones you choose it changes the puzzles you face, my favorite was the hillbilly's carnival level which had me scratching my head one moment and then laughing the next, some puzzles are not as easy as they seem like the monk's water jug puzzle which gives you a link to a real website with the answer to the puzzle if you get stuck.

    This is one of those games that if you have the money/points that you NEED to pick up, no collection is complete without it.
    Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    I bought this game off Xbox Live Marketplace without expecting much: I'm not a fan of platforms, nor puzzle-based games. I just wanted something funny and not too hardcore to play with my girlfriend. Well, we ended up finishing the game with all available characters and I also found myself playing alone just to get all of the trophies/objectives. "The Cave" isn't extremely challenging since all of the puzzles can be solved without the need of looking for a walkthrough online, provided you have the patience to think about them and the will to experiment sometimes. This game is not intended for the "hardcore gamer" (whatever it means): if you're looking for an extreme challenge, look elsewhere. There's no difficulty level setting, that should tell you something. It's, however, very funny, full of jokes (even dark humor) and comedy I won't say anything about not to spoil them. Some of the puzzles will require you to stop and actually think, that is a nice variation from "grab the controller and smash buttons until everything in sight is dead". If you have kids, i mean small kids, even the easier puzzles will help them improve their logical skills while still being funny and entertaining. Again, if you're looking for a dark adventure, look elsewhere: this game is not to being taken seriously and if you can't get it, I suspect you fall in the "grown up kids" category that won't like "The Cave". Of course, you'll notice some flaws. First of all, you won't be playing much. The game can be finished really quickly and, once you completed it with all characters, there's not much to do apart looking for hidden/very hard objectives (like the full run without dying). Second, a couple of puzzles requires some out of the box thinking, and I mean *really out of the box*, to the point we get near nonsense. A better tutorial, especially regarding the characters' special powers would be a nice addition, since in the first runs it's not very clear how you use them and what they exactly do. Finally, the multiplayer mechanic is not great: the camera is always centered on one character, thus meaning (while playing in 2 like I do) even if you're both running in the same place, the player ahead has to stop sometimes not to leave the other one out of sight. I payed this game 1200 MSP, that is around 10€ where I live and I think I got what I've payed for: a nice, funny game to play with my girlfriend as a filler during my mighty campaign in Skyrim or whatever I am hooked at the moment. Take it for what it is Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2013
    3
    It tries really hard to be funny, it isn't.
    Overly short.
    Character abilities are near insignificant with few exceptions.
    Puzzles are
    underwhelming (there is the occasional moon logic one but those aren't hard to figure out either) Expand

See all 12 User Reviews