User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Negative: 4 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    Not quite as good as the first Riddick game, but still a very good FPS with a mix of melee and gunplay. Interesting story, good graphics and voice acting. I finished it in about 9 hours, not much point in playing it through again as there's not much in the way of side-quests, secondary objectives or other challenges. Be aware that the story is very dark and some of the content is a bit needlessly sadistic IMO. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Escape from butcher bay is a flawed but mightily impressive masterpiece filled with gritty action, near atmospheric perfection, and storytelling as complex as anything you'll find in the gaming world. It was one of the best shooters I've ever played. Its sequel on the other hand is perhaps barely above average. It starts out on par with Butcher Bay, but eventually the quality drops, and by the time you leave the ship the only things it continues doing exceptionally are visual aspects. It's not bad but don't expect it to stand up to Butcher Bay, which did have some issues with backtracking, but remained a great game overall. Buy the package anyways and get a classic and a passable sequel for the price of one. Come to think of it, the price is only like $12.00 now. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    Both films are great and the video games are just as good! This one was a bit more "action" than "stealth", but I had fun playing Dark Athena and the makeover of Escape from Butcher Bay! 'Assault on Dark Athena' isn't better than 'Escape from Butcher Bay', but it's a great sequel non-the less.
  4. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Two for the price of one. Anyone who's into FPS/Stealth type gaming needs to pick this up. It is a thuroughly enjoyable experience and a hidden gem on the 360. Gameplay is fantastic and while the stories might lack somewhat in intensity the voice acting of the narrative that IS there is brilliant. Vin Diesel and Lance Henriksen among many others delivers great performances.

    The only
    thing that bugged me a little was the steep field of view. I got somewhat used to it eventually but there needs to be a slider for a setting like that.

    All in all a GREAT title and well worth the measly few bucks it costs these days.
    Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    You can't go wrong picking up Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena. While you might feel a little shorted on the single-player story for Dark Athena, your mood will soon improve when you realize that you can just boot up Butcher Bay and relive that experience. Getting two games for the price of one is something that you shouldn't pass up. Just steer clear of the multiplayer and it should be an enjoyable experience. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    Assault on Dark Athena is a great game. I enjoyed most of it and respect the parts that I didn't. I loved the stealth in this game, hiding in the dark watching your enemies and waiting for the perfect moment to strike was by far the best part, and the strong point of the game. The not so strong point is the shooter part of it. While I didn't mind taking out a few enemies here and there with a gun, I didn't feel that they had the mechanics worked out well enough to just gun down a lot of enemies. Riddick himself has no armor or regenerating health, so I found myself trapped in situations where I had very little health and multiple enemies, with nothing to do but die over and over again. The story in Dark Athena is very well done, and I enjoyed moving along to see what would happen next, the voice acting was also top notch! I loved that Vin Diesel did the voice of Riddick as it should be. So over all I liked this game, I thought it did some things really well and I am excited to see what the next one has to offer. Expand
  7. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Though the Riddick films are so under appreciated (it's a crime) I speak for real si-fi fans when I say that the Riddick series (video games included) is one of the greatest series of its genre.
  8. Mar 3, 2011
    7
    I got this game recently in the bargain bin at a mere $12.00, and I must say that for a measly $12.00, this game was highly worth the purchase. I averaged for the final score, with me giving Butcher Bay an 8 and Dark Athena a 6. Butcher Bay is clearly the superior game, showing how the Riddick series is supposed to be played, while Dark Athena seems like it began to cave into the modern shooters where the majority of the campaign relies on you running and gunning. But that's not bad, it's just that Dark Athena doesn't have very tight gunplay, resulting in many irritating deaths that were not your fault in the slightest. Butcher Bay is appropriate to start with, since it's first in the series. The environments never get old, ranging from old prison areas to futuristic cryochambers. Your primary means of combat is using a melee weapon or your fists, and stealth. If you cannot master the melee combat mixed in with proper tactical sense, you won't beat the game. My friend found it an extremely difficult learning curve, coupled with some glitchy points in the game where unless you have pinpoint stealth, an enemy soldier will spy you 50 yards away hiding in the shadows behind boxes. The mechanics usually work, but many of the situations require you to think extremely strategically, resulting in gamers being shyed away. Voice acting is also great, and the NPC's throughout the game are extremely believable and hilarious. The game is constantly throwing you new curves, like fighting to the death in prison fights against guards. There's not much help when you encounter boss fights later on, so you might find yourself stuck at some parts without knowing how to kill an enemy. Hint: shoot him in the back. Overall, glitches aside, Butcher Bay is a treat to play. Dark Athena's story wasn't as engrossing as Butcher Bay, even if they are similar concepts. The voice acting in both games is excellent, and Vin Diesel definitely does a fantastic job playing Riddick. I felt that in Dark Athena, stealth was entirely thrown out the window after the first hour, and instead your left facing overwhelming numbers of enemies with an assault rifle that is sometimes utterly inaccurate. I found myself missing entire clips while the crosshairs were on my target, all because the bullet spray decided it didn't want to kill the enemy drone. The guns are only in the game to serve the purpose of having a gun. Example: the name of the shotgun is Shotgun, the name of the pistol is Gun (I'm not even joking either), and the name of the assault rifle is Assault Rifle. There are a few exceptions, but these are few and far between. Boss fights are a little on the stale side, consisting of the same robots you face in Butcher Bay, but larger and more difficult. Graphics are excellent and the lighting is very good. However, it's the exact same controls, even the same HUD as in Butcher Bay, so in reality it may as well be an expansion pack. The game's multiplayer has no one on it, so I cannot comment about that. In conclusion, Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena pack is definitely a great deal, consisting of two full-fledged games that are both enjoyable, with the first one being superior. If you dislike learning curves and prefer a run-n-gun shooter, than this is not for you. If you desire a stealth-oriented game that has a great story, great mechanics, and great graphics, than I would definitely pick this up, especially since it's now in the bargain bin for such a small fee. Expand
  9. Sep 21, 2010
    7
    Another great example of the great talent at Starbreeze, and how their lack of refinement dwarfed what could've been an amazing game. Biggest issue I had was overly insane difficulty curves and the fact that they didn't fix those PISS POORLY placed loading areas in butcher bay. But as always I give Starbreeze an extra point because I think they work on a small budget.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. There's plenty to be getting excited about, despite a slight lack of originality and visual finesse. Make no mistake, Dark Athena is first class stealth/action game with a double dose of top-notch entertainment that competently unites elements of "Mirror's Edge" and the "Splinter Cell" series. [Mar 2009, p.84]
  2. Despite the name on the box, AODA's latter half makes it a supporting act to Butcher's Bay's main attraction. It doesn't matter how many triple twists and double somersaults a gymnast pulls if he smashes his face on the landing, and AODA crash lands pretty bloody hard. Fortunately, it's a broken nose limited to a small part of a packed box. [Apr 2009, p.82]
  3. The allure of this package is irresistible. [May 2009, p.70]