User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 61
  2. Negative: 5 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2015
    3
    Lets face it, Riddick was always a one trick pony who should have been retired at the end of Pitch Black. Continuing to trot out this character with his magic "eyeshine" (read night vision goggles) is introducing nothing new. The game play here is shonky at best and set in a wildly unconvincing universe with a premise as poor as the actor that plays him. Is this a stealth game or an actionLets face it, Riddick was always a one trick pony who should have been retired at the end of Pitch Black. Continuing to trot out this character with his magic "eyeshine" (read night vision goggles) is introducing nothing new. The game play here is shonky at best and set in a wildly unconvincing universe with a premise as poor as the actor that plays him. Is this a stealth game or an action game, as it delivers neither? I would suggest confining this to the bargain bin but with the death knell being sounded on the 360 console it may be better as mug coaster or something to entertain your budgerigar. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2015
    10
    FPS at its finest and shows that movie license games can be good. Hell, next to Xmen Origins and Spiderman 2 i'd say this is the best movie game ever made, so far at least. The reason I give this game a ten is because it already includes Escape From Butcher Bay given the HD treatment and for how cheap you can pick this game up for nowm it is well worth it. I've played both the 360 and PCFPS at its finest and shows that movie license games can be good. Hell, next to Xmen Origins and Spiderman 2 i'd say this is the best movie game ever made, so far at least. The reason I give this game a ten is because it already includes Escape From Butcher Bay given the HD treatment and for how cheap you can pick this game up for nowm it is well worth it. I've played both the 360 and PC versions and while the 360 version still has a few graphical glitches with models and stuff, it's still a great version as it has rumple support for the controller which is standard for consoles, but something the PC version doesn't have for its controller support, which I can't understand why they didn't include. The new content, Assault on dark athena is great on its own. While it's not as good as Escape From Butcher Bay, it is defiantly a worthy successor to it. I like the new space feel of it to begin with. The game also has a multiplayer mode but it's pretty dead. I was lucky enough today to find a match with two other people but I guess not many people play it anymore. Would be awesome if they made a next gen Riddick game, maybe continuing the story or taking place during the new movie or before it. Either way I trust Starbreeze Studios, if they ever make it, to make it once again badass. Starbreeze made Riddick one of my favorite sci fi franchises and I thank them for that. Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    Not quite as good as the first Riddick game, but still a very good FPS with a mix of melee and gunplay. Interesting story, good graphics and voice acting. I finished it in about 9 hours, not much point in playing it through again as there's not much in the way of side-quests, secondary objectives or other challenges. Be aware that the story is very dark and some of the content is a bitNot quite as good as the first Riddick game, but still a very good FPS with a mix of melee and gunplay. Interesting story, good graphics and voice acting. I finished it in about 9 hours, not much point in playing it through again as there's not much in the way of side-quests, secondary objectives or other challenges. Be aware that the story is very dark and some of the content is a bit needlessly sadistic IMO. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    Escape from butcher bay is a flawed but mightily impressive masterpiece filled with gritty action, near atmospheric perfection, and storytelling as complex as anything you'll find in the gaming world. It was one of the best shooters I've ever played. Its sequel on the other hand is perhaps barely above average. It starts out on par with Butcher Bay, but eventually the quality drops, andEscape from butcher bay is a flawed but mightily impressive masterpiece filled with gritty action, near atmospheric perfection, and storytelling as complex as anything you'll find in the gaming world. It was one of the best shooters I've ever played. Its sequel on the other hand is perhaps barely above average. It starts out on par with Butcher Bay, but eventually the quality drops, and by the time you leave the ship the only things it continues doing exceptionally are visual aspects. It's not bad but don't expect it to stand up to Butcher Bay, which did have some issues with backtracking, but remained a great game overall. Buy the package anyways and get a classic and a passable sequel for the price of one. Come to think of it, the price is only like $12.00 now. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    Both films are great and the video games are just as good! This one was a bit more "action" than "stealth", but I had fun playing Dark Athena and the makeover of Escape from Butcher Bay! 'Assault on Dark Athena' isn't better than 'Escape from Butcher Bay', but it's a great sequel non-the less.
  6. Apr 19, 2013
    9
    Two for the price of one. Anyone who's into FPS/Stealth type gaming needs to pick this up. It is a thuroughly enjoyable experience and a hidden gem on the 360. Gameplay is fantastic and while the stories might lack somewhat in intensity the voice acting of the narrative that IS there is brilliant. Vin Diesel and Lance Henriksen among many others delivers great performances.

    The only
    Two for the price of one. Anyone who's into FPS/Stealth type gaming needs to pick this up. It is a thuroughly enjoyable experience and a hidden gem on the 360. Gameplay is fantastic and while the stories might lack somewhat in intensity the voice acting of the narrative that IS there is brilliant. Vin Diesel and Lance Henriksen among many others delivers great performances.

    The only thing that bugged me a little was the steep field of view. I got somewhat used to it eventually but there needs to be a slider for a setting like that.

    All in all a GREAT title and well worth the measly few bucks it costs these days.
    Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    You can't go wrong picking up Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena. While you might feel a little shorted on the single-player story for Dark Athena, your mood will soon improve when you realize that you can just boot up Butcher Bay and relive that experience. Getting two games for the price of one is something that you shouldn't pass up. Just steer clear of the multiplayer and itYou can't go wrong picking up Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena. While you might feel a little shorted on the single-player story for Dark Athena, your mood will soon improve when you realize that you can just boot up Butcher Bay and relive that experience. Getting two games for the price of one is something that you shouldn't pass up. Just steer clear of the multiplayer and it should be an enjoyable experience. Expand
  8. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    Assault on Dark Athena is a great game. I enjoyed most of it and respect the parts that I didn't. I loved the stealth in this game, hiding in the dark watching your enemies and waiting for the perfect moment to strike was by far the best part, and the strong point of the game. The not so strong point is the shooter part of it. While I didn't mind taking out a few enemies here and thereAssault on Dark Athena is a great game. I enjoyed most of it and respect the parts that I didn't. I loved the stealth in this game, hiding in the dark watching your enemies and waiting for the perfect moment to strike was by far the best part, and the strong point of the game. The not so strong point is the shooter part of it. While I didn't mind taking out a few enemies here and there with a gun, I didn't feel that they had the mechanics worked out well enough to just gun down a lot of enemies. Riddick himself has no armor or regenerating health, so I found myself trapped in situations where I had very little health and multiple enemies, with nothing to do but die over and over again. The story in Dark Athena is very well done, and I enjoyed moving along to see what would happen next, the voice acting was also top notch! I loved that Vin Diesel did the voice of Riddick as it should be. So over all I liked this game, I thought it did some things really well and I am excited to see what the next one has to offer. Expand
  9. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Though the Riddick films are so under appreciated (it's a crime) I speak for real si-fi fans when I say that the Riddick series (video games included) is one of the greatest series of its genre.
  10. Mar 3, 2011
    7
    I got this game recently in the bargain bin at a mere $12.00, and I must say that for a measly $12.00, this game was highly worth the purchase. I averaged for the final score, with me giving Butcher Bay an 8 and Dark Athena a 6. Butcher Bay is clearly the superior game, showing how the Riddick series is supposed to be played, while Dark Athena seems like it began to cave into the modernI got this game recently in the bargain bin at a mere $12.00, and I must say that for a measly $12.00, this game was highly worth the purchase. I averaged for the final score, with me giving Butcher Bay an 8 and Dark Athena a 6. Butcher Bay is clearly the superior game, showing how the Riddick series is supposed to be played, while Dark Athena seems like it began to cave into the modern shooters where the majority of the campaign relies on you running and gunning. But that's not bad, it's just that Dark Athena doesn't have very tight gunplay, resulting in many irritating deaths that were not your fault in the slightest. Butcher Bay is appropriate to start with, since it's first in the series. The environments never get old, ranging from old prison areas to futuristic cryochambers. Your primary means of combat is using a melee weapon or your fists, and stealth. If you cannot master the melee combat mixed in with proper tactical sense, you won't beat the game. My friend found it an extremely difficult learning curve, coupled with some glitchy points in the game where unless you have pinpoint stealth, an enemy soldier will spy you 50 yards away hiding in the shadows behind boxes. The mechanics usually work, but many of the situations require you to think extremely strategically, resulting in gamers being shyed away. Voice acting is also great, and the NPC's throughout the game are extremely believable and hilarious. The game is constantly throwing you new curves, like fighting to the death in prison fights against guards. There's not much help when you encounter boss fights later on, so you might find yourself stuck at some parts without knowing how to kill an enemy. Hint: shoot him in the back. Overall, glitches aside, Butcher Bay is a treat to play. Dark Athena's story wasn't as engrossing as Butcher Bay, even if they are similar concepts. The voice acting in both games is excellent, and Vin Diesel definitely does a fantastic job playing Riddick. I felt that in Dark Athena, stealth was entirely thrown out the window after the first hour, and instead your left facing overwhelming numbers of enemies with an assault rifle that is sometimes utterly inaccurate. I found myself missing entire clips while the crosshairs were on my target, all because the bullet spray decided it didn't want to kill the enemy drone. The guns are only in the game to serve the purpose of having a gun. Example: the name of the shotgun is Shotgun, the name of the pistol is Gun (I'm not even joking either), and the name of the assault rifle is Assault Rifle. There are a few exceptions, but these are few and far between. Boss fights are a little on the stale side, consisting of the same robots you face in Butcher Bay, but larger and more difficult. Graphics are excellent and the lighting is very good. However, it's the exact same controls, even the same HUD as in Butcher Bay, so in reality it may as well be an expansion pack. The game's multiplayer has no one on it, so I cannot comment about that. In conclusion, Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena pack is definitely a great deal, consisting of two full-fledged games that are both enjoyable, with the first one being superior. If you dislike learning curves and prefer a run-n-gun shooter, than this is not for you. If you desire a stealth-oriented game that has a great story, great mechanics, and great graphics, than I would definitely pick this up, especially since it's now in the bargain bin for such a small fee. Expand
  11. Sep 21, 2010
    7
    Another great example of the great talent at Starbreeze, and how their lack of refinement dwarfed what could've been an amazing game. Biggest issue I had was overly insane difficulty curves and the fact that they didn't fix those PISS POORLY placed loading areas in butcher bay. But as always I give Starbreeze an extra point because I think they work on a small budget.
  12. hudnolt
    May 2, 2009
    10
    i never played the first one, i loved both movies and now the games. riddick is easily the coolest character in any movie or game. escape from butcher bay id give a 9.5/10 and athena 10/10 campain was easily the best campain ive ever played and butcher bay was a close second. Yes the multiplayer did suck but i didnt buy this game for that.
  13. PatrickR
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    I liked (I didnt LOVE) 'Pitch Black'. I hated (HATED) 'The Chronicals of Riddick'. 'Escape from Butcher Bay' Is THE exception to the rule. Not only is it a movie licensed game thats actually better than the movies it's based on, but its downright amazing, especially back when it first released. So here we are, 5 years later. Honestly, i would have bought I liked (I didnt LOVE) 'Pitch Black'. I hated (HATED) 'The Chronicals of Riddick'. 'Escape from Butcher Bay' Is THE exception to the rule. Not only is it a movie licensed game thats actually better than the movies it's based on, but its downright amazing, especially back when it first released. So here we are, 5 years later. Honestly, i would have bought "Assualt" alone, based soley on it being a sequal to one of the best games i've ever played.... but i would have been disapointed. 'Assault' really feels more like an expansion than anything else. Same controls and basic gameplay with very little changes or innovations, in fact its overall worse than the original... but the fact that they packaged the original makes alll the difference. amazing game then, amazing game now, and just because 'Assault' cant live up to the first in no way makes this a bad game. I give Butcher Bay a 10, Assault an 8, over all package an 18 out of 10. Expand
  14. NancyBoop
    Apr 19, 2009
    10
    The signature Species of the Southern Hemisphere (Antarctica) - the mascot if you will - is the penguin. There are not one and no fewer than seventeen species of penguins. Penguins are flightless birds in which several factors are contributing to the reduction of the penguin population. These contributing factors are both man-made and naturally occurring.
  15. KevinO
    Apr 10, 2009
    8
    First off I was someone who bought this game because it included EFBB and I could see why someone who had played the original might be a bit disappointed with the whole package. However if you are like me and hadnt played the original before i cant strongly recommend this game enough just to play Butcher Bay because it's worth it by itself. Most reviewers will point to the Dark First off I was someone who bought this game because it included EFBB and I could see why someone who had played the original might be a bit disappointed with the whole package. However if you are like me and hadnt played the original before i cant strongly recommend this game enough just to play Butcher Bay because it's worth it by itself. Most reviewers will point to the Dark Athena campaign as a major flaw here but really one should look at it as a bonus that comes with EFBB. And in all honesty the first 2/3 of the Dark Athena campaign is as good as the original and only in the last third does it fall short...albeit extremely short. Both are not incredibly long (maybe 12 hours each if you really plod through) but along with multiplayer this game should seriously be considered if you havent played the original Escape from Butcher Bay. Expand
  16. NathanL.
    Apr 9, 2009
    9
    The Good: Great fusion of stealth, melee combat, shooting, platforming, and storytelling. Two really good games in one package. The Bad: The black spots that popped up on character models in the original Butcher Bay are still present in this remastered version, lackluster multiplayer, enemies that are a bit too accurate with a gun. The Ugly: Spider drones.
  17. ColynB.
    Apr 8, 2009
    10
    A very well done remake, as well as an excellent addition. This game is very challenging, very original, and just overall very good.
  18. JeremyR.
    Apr 8, 2009
    9
    Excellent remake of Butcher Bay,with Dark Athena this is an awesome game
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. There's plenty to be getting excited about, despite a slight lack of originality and visual finesse. Make no mistake, Dark Athena is first class stealth/action game with a double dose of top-notch entertainment that competently unites elements of "Mirror's Edge" and the "Splinter Cell" series. [Mar 2009, p.84]
  2. Despite the name on the box, AODA's latter half makes it a supporting act to Butcher's Bay's main attraction. It doesn't matter how many triple twists and double somersaults a gymnast pulls if he smashes his face on the landing, and AODA crash lands pretty bloody hard. Fortunately, it's a broken nose limited to a small part of a packed box. [Apr 2009, p.82]
  3. The allure of this package is irresistible. [May 2009, p.70]