The Darkness II Xbox 360

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
Buy On
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    Levels are linear and predictable, focused on ushering you from one straightforward encounter to another so that you can go crazy with those deranged arms of yours. If you are a fan of the original game, bear this in mind: The Darkness II is a fun, very short FPS without the authentic atmosphere and subtle touches that made its predecessor so intriguing. Still, if you've got a lust for virtual blood, The Darkness II leaks enough of it to satiate you.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    Ultimately, it's this unique style that makes The Darkness 2 worth your time. After years of chest-beating military domination, the FPS genre is starting to show signs of life in more eccentric ways. Everything old is new again, so by concentrating on character, story and giddy comic-book excess, The Darkness 2 is a more compelling offering in 2012 than it would have been in 2008.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    70
    If The Darkness III were to combine the best of the first and second games, we'd have ourselves a winner for the ages – as it stands, we have a game definitely worth a playthrough, but probably not worth tripping over yourself to slap down the cash for.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    It's derivative, gratuitous and needlessly profane, but beneath the gruesome veneer lies a tale of – believe it or not – genuine tenderness.
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    It's a promising start, but the game's commendable mechanics are matched by numerous wonky moments, an awkward cast of characters and some wearying repetition. The Darkness II has plenty of heart, but it needs more soul.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    74
    The Darkness still packs plenty of gut appeal, with limbs being sheared and torsos torn asunder. Alas, players cannot sustain themselves on gore alone. Ultimately, the ultra violence will whet your appetite for bloodlust, but fail to slake your thirst for a truly great game.
  7. Feb 10, 2012
    60
    The Darkness II is a good FPS, but that's thanks to its atmosphere and storytelling, clearly not to its gameplay itself. It's violent and brutal, but not really smart (the AI being really poor), and the campaign is rather short. Online, the experience lacks this storytelling appeal, even though it remains solid.
  8. Feb 23, 2012
    70
    The Darkness II is in a way both better and worse than its predecessor. The story is great but short and the gunfights are varied but sometimes becomes too messy.
  9. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    There's no doubting that The Darkness II is a fun game, but it could have been so much more than that. Improved pacing could have solved the second act woes and defining a more meaningful way of communicating the narrative would have made the plot and character development more engaging.
  10. Feb 9, 2012
    70
    The Darkness II is fun while it lasts, but sadly doesn't last very long.
  11. Feb 27, 2012
    70
    Overall, Digital Extremes has created a sequel to a game they did not make and have successfully made it their own. The Darkness 2 is built on strong foundations, bringing you an experience that is not weakened by half arsed values (with exception to the multiplayer). If you enjoy being led down a corridor blasting everything that gets in your way all the while being given a little sprinkle of RPG style level unlock mechanics then you will not be disappointed by this trip into The Darkness.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    The darkness 2 is a true sequel improving on almost every aspect of the first game, the combat is smooth and vicious, the graphics have a cellThe darkness 2 is a true sequel improving on almost every aspect of the first game, the combat is smooth and vicious, the graphics have a cell shaded look which fits brilliantly in this comic book adaptation and my personal favourite aspect; the riveting and emotional story. While the main campaign is initially short the newgame+ and co-op vendettas mode flesh the game out to be well worth its asking price and whilst some reviewers have complained about bugs in the game during my time with the game I didn't notice a single one. Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    The Darkness 2 to me is different among other games it keeps you wanting more just like the creature inside Jackie the game play is fantasticThe Darkness 2 to me is different among other games it keeps you wanting more just like the creature inside Jackie the game play is fantastic and the story is riveting and quad wielding is something new and flows really well the graphics are great to me it reminds me of borderlands 2 i have already beat the game and im on my second play through and i could tell you this game is worth a buy Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This was a very fun game with an interesting plot to boot, however the campaign is ungodly short, so I would recommend a rent rather than aThis was a very fun game with an interesting plot to boot, however the campaign is ungodly short, so I would recommend a rent rather than a buy because you won't get much time out of it. Full Review »