The Darkness II Xbox 360

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 224
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    This is a great FPS, with a Dark theme (Darkness is based in a series of comics by the way), a nice change of style from the conventional FPS in the market. The game feature very nice and innovative cell-shaded graphics (like Borderlands, but in a sinister way), and you have other "weapons" than the usual guns, that being two "dark creatures", that can eat the soul of the enemies, but youThis is a great FPS, with a Dark theme (Darkness is based in a series of comics by the way), a nice change of style from the conventional FPS in the market. The game feature very nice and innovative cell-shaded graphics (like Borderlands, but in a sinister way), and you have other "weapons" than the usual guns, that being two "dark creatures", that can eat the soul of the enemies, but you have to manage the environment too, because you're vulnerable to light. For whom have played the original game, it's like the experience of the first one, but much more refined. The game also features a Multiplayer and "Horde" like mode. My score: 8,1 / 10,0 Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    The darkness 2 is a true sequel improving on almost every aspect of the first game, the combat is smooth and vicious, the graphics have a cell shaded look which fits brilliantly in this comic book adaptation and my personal favourite aspect; the riveting and emotional story. While the main campaign is initially short the newgame+ and co-op vendettas mode flesh the game out to be well worthThe darkness 2 is a true sequel improving on almost every aspect of the first game, the combat is smooth and vicious, the graphics have a cell shaded look which fits brilliantly in this comic book adaptation and my personal favourite aspect; the riveting and emotional story. While the main campaign is initially short the newgame+ and co-op vendettas mode flesh the game out to be well worth its asking price and whilst some reviewers have complained about bugs in the game during my time with the game I didn't notice a single one. Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Just started playing The Darkness 2, i have now about 5 hours of play , and this is a must buy !
    For those who played first darkness this is a day one buy for sure.
    The new graphics engine is fantastic, digital extreme was done an incridible job without any doubts. The story is still very good like the first game, the gameplay is alot improved, the OST is great... It is more linear then
    Just started playing The Darkness 2, i have now about 5 hours of play , and this is a must buy !
    For those who played first darkness this is a day one buy for sure.
    The new graphics engine is fantastic, digital extreme was done an incridible job without any doubts.
    The story is still very good like the first game, the gameplay is alot improved, the OST is great... It is more linear then the first, but you get to do whatever you want on your mansion, talk / do mini-games.
    Multiplayer is much better, you get a separte campaign, you can play in co-op mode too.
    The limited edition costs as much a regular edition of any new game, and its very good... the cover is 3D and you get a poster inside the box of the game, and the special content.

    My score is 9/10
    Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    The game is what we expected from a sequel. I can say I was disapointed by the story. it really didn't tie in together and in the end, killed itself because of an AWFUL ending. The game plays like butter, good variety of guns and enviromental objects to use as weapons. There is just no replay value at all. I rented it and beat it in a day. It's a good rental, but not a buy.
  5. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This was a very fun game with an interesting plot to boot, however the campaign is ungodly short, so I would recommend a rent rather than a buy because you won't get much time out of it.
  6. Feb 10, 2012
    9
    It is a fun game, simple as that. The shooting is fun, story line is very good, after all it is a video game; basically it is everything you want to do!
  7. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    It's true that The Darkness 2 detached itself from it's predecessor by a long run just leaving the open-world aspect and realistic graphics behind, but it also reminded us that the franchise is still solid no matter how perspective you look at it from, either its comic, gritty visuals, highly animated characters or more linear narrative. The Darkness 2 grows dependant with its addictiveIt's true that The Darkness 2 detached itself from it's predecessor by a long run just leaving the open-world aspect and realistic graphics behind, but it also reminded us that the franchise is still solid no matter how perspective you look at it from, either its comic, gritty visuals, highly animated characters or more linear narrative. The Darkness 2 grows dependant with its addictive gun play, fast paced gun-slash-run mechanics and beautiful comic-like art. Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    The Darkness 2 to me is different among other games it keeps you wanting more just like the creature inside Jackie the game play is fantastic and the story is riveting and quad wielding is something new and flows really well the graphics are great to me it reminds me of borderlands 2 i have already beat the game and im on my second play through and i could tell you this game is worth a buy
  9. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    I can only recommend this game, even if you don't like very much the first chapter, it's really different from the other generic shooters out at the moment, the campaign is a little short but has good replay value thanks to the upgrades and some really emotional moments that are worth a second playthrough, the co-op isn't great but it's fun and can also be played solo, the graphics areI can only recommend this game, even if you don't like very much the first chapter, it's really different from the other generic shooters out at the moment, the campaign is a little short but has good replay value thanks to the upgrades and some really emotional moments that are worth a second playthrough, the co-op isn't great but it's fun and can also be played solo, the graphics are original and well drawn. The darkness II will make you feel like a badass like no other recent fps, buy it with confidence and if you haven't got the first one buy it too, it's an experience you won't miss Expand
  10. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    This game to me was everything i wanted the game to be. Its bloody and violent and still keeps to the story line well in my opinion. All and all worth the buy if you can handle some of the gore.
  11. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    I adore. This. Game. Very few modern shooters manage to be so much FUN that it doesn't matter if the levels are repetitive and linear, which certainly wasn't the case here, but I don't want to talk about the level design: I want to talk about the gameplay, graphics, and story. Gameplay is insanely smooth. You have two human arms and two demon arms, each operable independently, butI adore. This. Game. Very few modern shooters manage to be so much FUN that it doesn't matter if the levels are repetitive and linear, which certainly wasn't the case here, but I don't want to talk about the level design: I want to talk about the gameplay, graphics, and story. Gameplay is insanely smooth. You have two human arms and two demon arms, each operable independently, but controlling this hydra of a character never feels overwhelming in the slightest. The upgrade system adds some wicked awesome powers and this great feeling of progression, and the use of light as a deterrent and weapon against your powers was a really cool feature. The graphics were, in a word, insane: Not quite as high poly as some other modern games, but the textures were flawless and pixel-free, the cell shading was a welcome addition, and the whole thing was optimized to a point and never once lagged on my machine. But the best part... the best part was the story. I don't want to spoil anything, but it's emotionally intense: I've never felt so compelled, so driven to move forward simply to find out what happens next simply because I'm wrapped up in the emotion before. It succeeds in planting the seeds of uncertainty into the player's mind as you progress so well that, by the end, you'll be completely unsure as to what's real and what isn't.

    It's short, but sweet: quality over quantity is a mantra the developers embraced with warmth. If you want a sprawling adventure that lasts for a long, long time, go play Skyrim or Human Revolution - but if you want to be taken along by an epic rollercoaster ride of emotion, play this game, however you can.
    Expand
  12. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    this game have a perfect gameplay and is good graphic cell shade an texture is good and etc but sound not very perfect the darkness is good game the story about jackie escado and game tell good say for people and this game have a co_op it is very fun
  13. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    WOW. I actually thought I was renting Prototype II and was thinking about returning the game before playing it - but I got hooked in the first ten minutes of gameplay. Very short (playthrough in a day), but incredible good direction and fine storytelling. Getting used to using two arms and two tentacles is also super-addictive. It's a refreshing new take on gaming, sort of like comparing aWOW. I actually thought I was renting Prototype II and was thinking about returning the game before playing it - but I got hooked in the first ten minutes of gameplay. Very short (playthrough in a day), but incredible good direction and fine storytelling. Getting used to using two arms and two tentacles is also super-addictive. It's a refreshing new take on gaming, sort of like comparing a crisp action movie with a multi-episode television series. The cellshading actually works real well, the music was moving and the game keeps being entertaining instead of falling into the traps of repetitiveness. Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    Quite an amazing game, and a great follow up to the first game. Its also easy to pick up since you don't need to have had to play the first game (all though I highly recommend you do) The game has a fantastic cell shaded look that reminds me of the comics. Game play in the Darkness 2 is bloody, fast paced, and extremely fun. The storyline is great and succeeds to hook you in and refuse toQuite an amazing game, and a great follow up to the first game. Its also easy to pick up since you don't need to have had to play the first game (all though I highly recommend you do) The game has a fantastic cell shaded look that reminds me of the comics. Game play in the Darkness 2 is bloody, fast paced, and extremely fun. The storyline is great and succeeds to hook you in and refuse to let you go I'll the games end. The darkness 2 is a little bit too linear unlike the first game and the level designs arnt very vast and there isnt mutch to explore or find either. But if you pick up the limited edition you get a great value. You get a nice double sided poster, a download of the first 2 darkness comics and some exclusive in game stuff. Expand
  15. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    The darkness 2 is a different experience than the first game and that's not a bad thing. First thing that stood out to me in the game was the comic book visuals. I think the new look fits great with the darkness considering the first game had a much more dark and dingy look. Once again you play as Jackie and after the events in the first game you start off as a mob boss this time. TheThe darkness 2 is a different experience than the first game and that's not a bad thing. First thing that stood out to me in the game was the comic book visuals. I think the new look fits great with the darkness considering the first game had a much more dark and dingy look. Once again you play as Jackie and after the events in the first game you start off as a mob boss this time. The game play has really been refined this time around, it's a blast to shoot and rip goons apart in this game. The story is good but, it did leave me feeling like I wanted something more out of it. Overall the darkness 2 is a great game and i'm sure many fans of the series will enjoy the game just as much as I did. Expand
  16. Xon
    Aug 11, 2013
    10
    LET'S DO SOME RANDOM MISCHIEF!

    I love comics, I love games which inject humour and add a decent dollop of story combined with solid gameplay. And The Darkness 2 had it all. I'm a busy father who doesn't have 200 hours to invest in a game. The Darkness 2 kept me entertained, didn't overstay it's welcome and wrapped up the main story while opening the door to a sequel, which sadly we
    LET'S DO SOME RANDOM MISCHIEF!

    I love comics, I love games which inject humour and add a decent dollop of story combined with solid gameplay. And The Darkness 2 had it all.

    I'm a busy father who doesn't have 200 hours to invest in a game. The Darkness 2 kept me entertained, didn't overstay it's welcome and wrapped up the main story while opening the door to a sequel, which sadly we might not be seeing anytime soon.

    THANKS MONKEY!
    Expand
  17. Mar 13, 2012
    9
    Not quite what expected from a sequel to the original Darkness game, but still very fun. Awesome gameplay, pretty cool story, and fun co-op come together to form a worthy game.
  18. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    The first Darkness game is my first FPS game on Xbox360 and also one of my all time favorite shooters. Even though the Darkness 2 is a bit different from the first game, it's still as fun as ever except that this time it got better gameplay along with more interesting story and narration.

    Even though the semi-open world aspect from the first game is gone, an experience point based upgrade
    The first Darkness game is my first FPS game on Xbox360 and also one of my all time favorite shooters. Even though the Darkness 2 is a bit different from the first game, it's still as fun as ever except that this time it got better gameplay along with more interesting story and narration.

    Even though the semi-open world aspect from the first game is gone, an experience point based upgrade system, brutal finishers and dual-wielding were introduced. The cell shaded graphics will remind as of the game's graphic novel origins.

    The Darkness 2 is easily one of the best comic book adaptation video games I'd ever played.
    Expand
  19. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    A TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so thanA TRULY FUN ATMOSPHERIC GAME OOZING WITH 90's NOSTALGIA AND NYC STYLE. This game carves out its own interesting mythology that is very fascinating with the darkness and the angelus. The atmosphere is engrossing and dark and anyone who experienced the 90's for real will love the what 90's nyc has to offer from dialogue to Jane's addiction playing on the radio in the backround. More so than that this game tells a great story that will have you questioning your (Jackie Estacado)'s sanity more than once. It has great plot twists and leaves room for a sequel (fingers crossed) though i doubt it as it under sold due to people playing truly unique story driven shooters instead like Call of Doody (because the difference from modern warfare2 to modernwarfare 3 is so immense that admittedly they use the same exact game engine year to year hence the graphics neeever improving, where as look at how beautifully battlefield's graphics improve,frostbite1-gorgeous frostbite2 )so anyway back to FPS's that are actually fun, the Darkness 2 has the most fun and unique combat i have ever played in a FPS more so than bioshock. To what turns out to be a kind of quad wielding with regular satisfying dual wielding guns and two beautifully hideous snake like demon arms with demon heads on them growing out of your back in the dark (which is most of the game). The demon arms can flatout destroy and they steal the show with a multitude of capabilities from slashing a man in two to lacerating to eating a man's head to pick up objects like barrels and men and throwing them to grabbing car doors and using them as a shield they are simply amazing. They have a variety of finishing moves and they can even be used to throw your monkey like(even though he calls you monkey) demon pet at enemies and watch him rip them apart. Granted it is linear and it is rather short, it should be played on hard otherwise it is too easy. Jackie has multiple skill trees as well with unique upgradable powers and new abilities. The short single player campaign is more than tolerable considering there is a plethora of story advancing play to be had after the regular campaign. They have a vendetta campaign with 4 other playable characters which you can play alone or in coop. Either way it is very enjoyable playing and advancing other unique darkness empowered characters and further advancing the story. These are fully fleshed out characters with large skill trees, unique weapons, and distinct personalities. This mode extends the main story and is about half the length of the main story but with 4 different characters to try out. If that wasn't enough the game has a hitlist mode where you are placed in large semi levels tasked with ultimately taking out a boss like target after dispatching his henchmen. They have many of these hitlist missions and they can be played with friends as well and as any of the 4 new characters. All together there is MORE than enough content and Vendetta campaign and hitlists are not tacked on they are fully fleshed out and fun. Overall this is a very enjoyable FPS and it deserved more in sales and more from the reviewers i.e. game informer giving it a 7. something this game deserves better and it is Not a seven. I played the 360 version and experience ZERO bugs, stylish cell shaded graphics (after all it is a comic book) (see top cow) and an overall great time. 9.25/10 the Darkness 2 Expand
  20. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    Thought the game was amazing!!! Really liked the voice acting and characters in the game and the gameplay was especially great as well. The use of dual guns and the darkness as weapons makes for a good fun time. With the use of re-gaining health by eating enemies hearts along with the brutal ways you can kill with the darkness to obtain more health and more ammo adds to what makes thisThought the game was amazing!!! Really liked the voice acting and characters in the game and the gameplay was especially great as well. The use of dual guns and the darkness as weapons makes for a good fun time. With the use of re-gaining health by eating enemies hearts along with the brutal ways you can kill with the darkness to obtain more health and more ammo adds to what makes this game great and just flat out just fun to play. So if you want to play a game that's cheap and is fun too play definitely get this game. It's only $12 used at Gamestop now so great price and worth it. Expand
  21. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    After getting my hands on 'The Darkness 2' I have managed to complete all of the online Vendetta mode and even made a start with Don mode in the single player storyline. When I started up the Vendetta mode I had no idea what to expect. It was new and very different from the single player. I was happy to see that it could be played online or offline, making achievements for the those whoAfter getting my hands on 'The Darkness 2' I have managed to complete all of the online Vendetta mode and even made a start with Don mode in the single player storyline. When I started up the Vendetta mode I had no idea what to expect. It was new and very different from the single player. I was happy to see that it could be played online or offline, making achievements for the those who still don't have online, gold or who don't find it enjoyable to go online feel right at home.

    I began my first play through on 'Hit List' mode, picking medium difficulty and the Voodoo character - JP Dumond. Right off the bat you have facing two enemies and no signs of a tutorial and even though this confused me at first I preferred the direct input of you just learning as you go. The only problem I had was that while you do get a gun in your right hand, I was wanting to use my dark staff more to perform executes and powerful moves, however this really wasn't the case. I could simply throw one man into the air but had to wait a few seconds for him to come down or even for my weapon to be used again, not something that I was heavily impressed with. On the other hand I did still have the right hand gun and a two handed weapon ready for use, but it's like when you were a kid and you got a new toy, you always want to use the best bits as much as you can.

    As I progressed further into the first hit list challenge I found the gameplay to get more and more difficult with each enemy killed. The level was very short but still somehow satisfying with the boss able to be reached within about 3 - 5 minutes and the boss fight lasting around 3 minutes, providing a kind of sample of what to expect in later hit list missions. The last fight was rather difficult with the character I had picked, the enemies could take a large amount of damage without really phasing them, however I didn't manage to die and in fact found a nice method for using the gun to weaken opponents before unleashing a spine twisting finisher for a boost of health and more experience points. I had a massive amount of fun with this but still found it very difficult to say I was only on the second difficulty setting.

    I did manage to try each of the characters out and here is my breakdown of each and what to expect after playing both offline and co-op with others online --

    - JP Dumond, an African master of the dark arts with his hand crafted staff. He has the ability to suspend and single enemy in the air whilst blasting nearby enemies in a small radius away (with upgrades). His Black Hole ability allows to hold people in place as they struggle to hold on or drags them in, allowing for moderate exp point allowance.

    - Jimmy Wilson, a Scot whose axe can rip through enemies with a single throw, he also has the ability to summon darklings which will attach themselves to nearby enemies and explode. His axe can also be returned if the throw misses, allowing to knockdown any enemies it hits.

    - Shoshanna, a female gunslinger with very powerful darkness based gun. She has the ability to shoot any enemy with either individual blasts or a single charged shot, allowing you to practically obliterate your opponent with a single hit. Her special ability also allows for her to see through walls and blast enemies with auto aim, all without using a single bullet in the clip.

    - Inugami, a Japanese swordsman with a very powerful samurai weapon. This character has a great deal of damage when getting close and allowing him to easily slice through a great deal of enemies before they can return the favour. His special power gives him the ability to shoot a swarm of locust to all those on the screen, rendering them useless in combat.

    Finally I got to the single player storyline. I began on Don mode, something that I knew I would struggle with to some degree and I was right. As a bit of an achievement hunter I felt Don would give me a nice back bone of achievements before being able to blow the smaller achievements away on my second play through. Even though the difficulty added to some stress in the game I was finding myself having a massive amount of fun with Jackie and The Darkness. I found the storyline to be full of depth whilst allowing enough room for you to simply dissect your opponents with bars lying around, car doors, enemy shields and much much more. A game that deserves all the credit it gets. Without ruining any of the storyline I just want to say it will be a treat, carrying on nicely from where the last game left off, and for those who read the comic books, you wont find yourself getting any massive changes as Top Cow worked very heavily with 2k and Digital Extremes to make this game what it should be, just as it did with the first.
    Expand
  22. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    If your looking for a unique shooting game look away from the crowded military shooter crowd and look towards The Darkness 2. The game has few to none glitches, epic boss battles, and load of bloody combat. Along with engaging combat, The Darkness 2 also has a strong story. I would recommend renting for the campagin is short and the online co-op won't hold your attention for long.
  23. Mar 18, 2012
    9
    I was never a comic book person, then again Iâ
  24. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Bad ass. A fantastic game. I had high hopes for this having enjoyed the first Darkness but being frustrated by its fatal flaws and the Darkness 2 delivers with gusto. The art style change was a bold move but the right one, it works well with the gore and adds a comic book feel to it. The violence of course is fantastic and the shooting and other combat is totally overhauled and isBad ass. A fantastic game. I had high hopes for this having enjoyed the first Darkness but being frustrated by its fatal flaws and the Darkness 2 delivers with gusto. The art style change was a bold move but the right one, it works well with the gore and adds a comic book feel to it. The violence of course is fantastic and the shooting and other combat is totally overhauled and is excellent and satisfying. The story is in my opinion solid and well told, the voice acting is superb and convincing and the sections involving Jenny really tugged at my heartstrings. This game is refined and violent but also draws me in to the storyline and makes me really feel Jackie's frustration and sadness. The only flaws are the occasionally samey enemies and the not perfect multiplayer but apart from that, the Drakness 2 is well worth a try to any who love a violent and epic love story. Expand
  25. May 6, 2012
    10
    This game is epic. It's gory, has an alright storyline, and it is incredibly easy. Sometimes you just love a game that you can rampage through.
    Even after watching my little brother play the demo, it was awesome. Ill buy this for $200 if I have to.
  26. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I never played The Darkness 1 so i'm new in the series. And I can say it was a hell of a ride for me. The gameplay is perfect in it. The campaign was very good but too short for me. And one thing, don't do stay with Jenny ending or the end will suck
    Do the other ending, it's so much better. Coop is good and fun but not 2k's best coop game ever.
    Campaign 8/10 Coop 8/10 The Darkness 2 8.1/10
    Expand
  27. May 17, 2012
    9
    I hated the first Darkness game so when this was announced I had no interest. Then I saw the reviews and more on it and started having interest. I rented it from Red Box and loved it. The gameplay is so much fun and the story and characters are all great. I love the art style and the voice acting as well. If you did not like the first game don't let that sway your judgment in playing this one.
  28. Sep 30, 2015
    8
    My god, this game is absolutely fantastic. The Darkness is such a fun rewarding game: the atmosphere, the environment, the pacing and the overall story is just so fantastic that its a shame this games biggest weakness is the fact that its just to painfully short. Every about this game screams Comic Book, its just so sad that its way to short and for $60 dollars you are definitely notMy god, this game is absolutely fantastic. The Darkness is such a fun rewarding game: the atmosphere, the environment, the pacing and the overall story is just so fantastic that its a shame this games biggest weakness is the fact that its just to painfully short. Every about this game screams Comic Book, its just so sad that its way to short and for $60 dollars you are definitely not getting your moneys worth. If only the game was longer and you actually had more control of the darkness, it would definitely be a solid 10/10. But as it stands, a very short FPS with an incredible, heartbreaking, story with beautiful graphics and easily the most comic book feeling game since the Batman Arkham franchise, i definitely recommend checking out this game if it is one sale. Expand
  29. Sep 12, 2012
    8
    Game was real good it was pretty easy to get all the achievements thankfully none are online good story and solid game play definitely has replay value
  30. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    I haven't played the first one, but now I really want to. I've to say my opinion is just based on the campaign.
    The game is quite enjoyable, with a very nice gameplay that makes you feel unstoppable, and actually you are. After all, the darkness is a really serious and you are its herald.
    Just a few hours, about 4-5 hours, to complete a nice, gory and dark campaign that it really make
    I haven't played the first one, but now I really want to. I've to say my opinion is just based on the campaign.
    The game is quite enjoyable, with a very nice gameplay that makes you feel unstoppable, and actually you are. After all, the darkness is a really serious and you are its herald.
    Just a few hours, about 4-5 hours, to complete a nice, gory and dark campaign that it really make me want to read the comic.
    Expand
  31. May 11, 2013
    9
    Improved demonic controlls, improved gunplay, improved visual style, iproved AI, and improved story: the Darkness 2 is everything a good sequel has to be with an ejoyable campaign. The only flaw is the low replayability and the lack ofcontect (singleplayer and multiplayer, that's about it).
  32. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    I'm always a sucker for games (and films) that take the Bible and throw a twist on it (think Darksiders). While I wouldn't submit this game as theologically sound, I think it raises some interesting questions and gives some insight for those looking to glean that from their playthrough. However, to those just looking for the entertainment value- the game doesn't shy away from being brutalI'm always a sucker for games (and films) that take the Bible and throw a twist on it (think Darksiders). While I wouldn't submit this game as theologically sound, I think it raises some interesting questions and gives some insight for those looking to glean that from their playthrough. However, to those just looking for the entertainment value- the game doesn't shy away from being brutal at times, but has a LOT of great gameplay mechanics that suck you into the tale it has to tell, and the fight mechanics are very exceptional! Expand
  33. Sep 24, 2014
    8
    This game is very good. Definitely worth a look. It's a first person shooter done in the style of a comic book and has the story telling to match. It has an almost perfect balance of story and action. While this game can be slightly offensive it does have a heart to it. You will very much enjoy yourself, playing as the main character Jackie, trying to control the force of evil that livesThis game is very good. Definitely worth a look. It's a first person shooter done in the style of a comic book and has the story telling to match. It has an almost perfect balance of story and action. While this game can be slightly offensive it does have a heart to it. You will very much enjoy yourself, playing as the main character Jackie, trying to control the force of evil that lives within you, and being head of a mafia. Expand
  34. Apr 21, 2014
    8
    dark, gory, great story, awesome characters and beautiful art design. unfortuently it feels too short, and the enemies all look the same and there is no big change up in combat, which wouldn't be such a huge deal if the focus of the games wasn't on the combat. It is a great experience and for the experience alone it deserves a 10, but because of some issues in gameplay I can only give itdark, gory, great story, awesome characters and beautiful art design. unfortuently it feels too short, and the enemies all look the same and there is no big change up in combat, which wouldn't be such a huge deal if the focus of the games wasn't on the combat. It is a great experience and for the experience alone it deserves a 10, but because of some issues in gameplay I can only give it an 8 because I feel like Im just here for the story now and the gameplay feels second fiddle although that's where the focus is Expand
  35. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    Wow! Anazing game. If youre looking for your next first person shooter this is not it. This is more than customization and large maps. If you want a game with an intrguing story, great mob characters, lore galore, and artistic style similar to borderlands... please love this game. Oh and the gore is great! If you like that.
  36. Feb 16, 2017
    8
    I had the pleasure to play and finish the Darkness II and I was pleasantly surprised by how entertaining this game was.

    I have never played the first Darkness game, so I thought I would find myself lost; however, this game has a nice recap that puts you up to date from the get go. I found the story telling very interesting, intriguing, and captivating. I always wanted to know what would
    I had the pleasure to play and finish the Darkness II and I was pleasantly surprised by how entertaining this game was.

    I have never played the first Darkness game, so I thought I would find myself lost; however, this game has a nice recap that puts you up to date from the get go. I found the story telling very interesting, intriguing, and captivating. I always wanted to know what would happen to Jackie Estacado, his family, friends, and loved ones.

    The gameplay is a mixture between FPS and role playing game (Skyrimish when it comes to the Darkness skills). I think it's a great combination, and I hope that they would emphasize the role playing aspect more in future games. I strongly believe that this franchise has the potential to make way more money if they shift the balance from FPS with a little RPG elements, to RPG with FPS elements. Especially that the story telling is pretty good! Additional quests/subquests would make it more appealing to a larger audience in my humble opinion.

    I had a great time playing this game and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to explore the Darkness universe. Finally, I would like to thanks the developers for making this game, and I hope to see more coming from you guys! :)

    Verdict: B+
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    84
    An average shooter wrapped in an entertaining story.
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    78
    I haven't played a game to completion twice in a single sitting since Portal 2, which should roughly hint at the quality of experience that awaits: It's short and sweet, with a decent cooperative multiplayer side-story for added value. And by "sweet," I mean you can hang a thug upside-down and rip their intestines out through their ass.
  3. Games Master UK
    Mar 13, 2012
    83
    Drastically improved combat means entry two is far from the disappointment many predicted. [Apr 2012, p.70]