The Darkness II Xbox 360

The Darkness II Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 219 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Inspired by the comic book series, The Darkness II is a first-person shooter that thrusts you into the role of Jackie Estacado, don of a New York crime family and wielder of an ancient chaotic force known as The Darkness. It has been 2 years since Jackie used his power to kill the guysInspired by the comic book series, The Darkness II is a first-person shooter that thrusts you into the role of Jackie Estacado, don of a New York crime family and wielder of an ancient chaotic force known as The Darkness. It has been 2 years since Jackie used his power to kill the guys responsible for his girlfriend’s murder. He has been unable to free himself of the memory of Jenny’s death since bottling up The Darkness and now it wants out. A botched attempt to end Jackie’s life opens the door for The Darkness to reemerge and sets Jackie on a brutal journey as he unravels the mystery behind the attack and the motives of The Darkness. [2K Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    100
    It even looks fantastic, with an emphasis on cel-shaded splatter horror. The Darkness II plays as if it were an homage to the EC Comics of the 40s and 50s. It has that same grimly colorful and colorfully grim vibe in its approach to crucifixion, torture, madness, hell, and a demon who pees on bodies and farts in their dead faces.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    Better A.I. and combat mechanics than the first Darkness, gorgeously painted environments, and the same ol' omnipotent snake-headed dark force makes for one heck of a game play combination.
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    85
    The combat is intoxicating, and the level of gore is definitely satisfying.
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    Despite the anticlimactic ending, shoddy boss fights, and lackluster multiplayer, The Darkness 2 is an extremely impressive game. It oozes style, packs an emotional punch, and manages to be effectively balance bombastic violence with understated character development, ensuring that when the Darkness is unleashed you care.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    The Darkness II's less dour, more fantastical take on the shooter is a welcome change of pace to the string of samey combat scenarios publishers have assured us we can't get enough of over the past five years.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    In the end, it can feel like we're left with half a game, sort of like that bad guy we ripped the legs off of earlier. The Darkness II features a tight experience with exemplary voice-acting and wonderfully gory graphics. As a piece of storytelling it is one of the better games this generation.
  7. Feb 10, 2012
    60
    The Darkness II is a good FPS, but that's thanks to its atmosphere and storytelling, clearly not to its gameplay itself. It's violent and brutal, but not really smart (the AI being really poor), and the campaign is rather short. Online, the experience lacks this storytelling appeal, even though it remains solid.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    The darkness 2 is a true sequel improving on almost every aspect of the first game, the combat is smooth and vicious, the graphics have a cellThe darkness 2 is a true sequel improving on almost every aspect of the first game, the combat is smooth and vicious, the graphics have a cell shaded look which fits brilliantly in this comic book adaptation and my personal favourite aspect; the riveting and emotional story. While the main campaign is initially short the newgame+ and co-op vendettas mode flesh the game out to be well worth its asking price and whilst some reviewers have complained about bugs in the game during my time with the game I didn't notice a single one. Expand
  2. May 6, 2012
    10
    This game is epic. It's gory, has an alright storyline, and it is incredibly easy. Sometimes you just love a game that you can rampageThis game is epic. It's gory, has an alright storyline, and it is incredibly easy. Sometimes you just love a game that you can rampage through.
    Even after watching my little brother play the demo, it was awesome. Ill buy this for $200 if I have to.
    Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    I can only recommend this game, even if you don't like very much the first chapter, it's really different from the other generic shooters outI can only recommend this game, even if you don't like very much the first chapter, it's really different from the other generic shooters out at the moment, the campaign is a little short but has good replay value thanks to the upgrades and some really emotional moments that are worth a second playthrough, the co-op isn't great but it's fun and can also be played solo, the graphics are original and well drawn. The darkness II will make you feel like a badass like no other recent fps, buy it with confidence and if you haven't got the first one buy it too, it's an experience you won't miss Expand
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    8
    I haven't played the first one, but now I really want to. I've to say my opinion is just based on the campaign.
    The game is quite enjoyable,
    I haven't played the first one, but now I really want to. I've to say my opinion is just based on the campaign.
    The game is quite enjoyable, with a very nice gameplay that makes you feel unstoppable, and actually you are. After all, the darkness is a really serious and you are its herald.
    Just a few hours, about 4-5 hours, to complete a nice, gory and dark campaign that it really make me want to read the comic.
    Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    This is a great FPS, with a Dark theme (Darkness is based in a series of comics by the way), a nice change of style from the conventional FPSThis is a great FPS, with a Dark theme (Darkness is based in a series of comics by the way), a nice change of style from the conventional FPS in the market. The game feature very nice and innovative cell-shaded graphics (like Borderlands, but in a sinister way), and you have other "weapons" than the usual guns, that being two "dark creatures", that can eat the soul of the enemies, but you have to manage the environment too, because you're vulnerable to light. For whom have played the original game, it's like the experience of the first one, but much more refined. The game also features a Multiplayer and "Horde" like mode. My score: 8,1 / 10,0 Collapse
  6. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    Better than I expected. The game brings some interesting mechanics with the demon arms. It is quite amusing to pick a car door up as a shieldBetter than I expected. The game brings some interesting mechanics with the demon arms. It is quite amusing to pick a car door up as a shield and then hurl it at an enemy slicing him in half. The story is pretty interesting as well and having not played the first Darkness, the Darkness 2 makes we want to go back and check out the first game. There is also a leveling system that is quite deep and helps make combat more interesting. The game also rewards for killing enemies beyond the simple point and shoot mechanics. However I found myself getting bored after the novelty wore off and the story was the only thing keeping interested in the game. But overall a decent shooter! Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    3
    I don't think anyone reviewing this game who gave it a high rating and says it is an improvement over the first game can have played and lovedI don't think anyone reviewing this game who gave it a high rating and says it is an improvement over the first game can have played and loved the first game. They have taken a unique and engaging game and turned it into a very ordinary shooter. The shooting mechanics admittedly needed some work on the first game but other than that it was a very special and surprising change from any other game I have played. The Darkness I is one of my all time favourite games and this game is just so ordinary. I am an achievement hunter and could easily get a perfect score on this game but dislike the experience so much that I will not even try. I just want to leave it behind and never think about it again. It is nothing like the first game. If they had called it something else then maybe it would be an o.k. shooter but for someone who loves and respects what the game developers gave us in the first game it is a crying shame. So disappointing. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews