The Darkness Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 196
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarcyD.
    Jul 4, 2007
    4
    A massive disappointment for me. Excellent graphics and voice acting, but what happened to the gameplay? Plus the narrative barely makes sense. The writing is an embarrassment to the comics. In the comics we are properly introduced to the power of the Darkness - the writers take time to show Jackie's reactions as he comes to terms with it. In the game everything is completely rushed A massive disappointment for me. Excellent graphics and voice acting, but what happened to the gameplay? Plus the narrative barely makes sense. The writing is an embarrassment to the comics. In the comics we are properly introduced to the power of the Darkness - the writers take time to show Jackie's reactions as he comes to terms with it. In the game everything is completely rushed with none of the character depth of the comics - OK I didn't expect pages of dialogue but I expected Jackie to at least say something along the lines of "What the **** is happening?' Instead he says absolutely nothing like this until about an hour or two after he's received the power. Weird. This should have been a classic but it just didn't come together. Still looking forward to the next Riddick game though - hopefully Vin Diesel's involvement will ensure the same kind of quality gaming we had in the first game. Expand
  2. GaryW.
    Jun 28, 2007
    3
    Do NOT be fooled, this game is pathetic. You character leisurely strolls around the fight scenes. No interactivity with objects (oo you can smash the odd window). The baddies are a mixture of psychic and completely stupid. They spot you within a millisecond and start shooting, but just stand there. The game auto aims for you. (to an extent) Some doors you can open, some you cant, but they Do NOT be fooled, this game is pathetic. You character leisurely strolls around the fight scenes. No interactivity with objects (oo you can smash the odd window). The baddies are a mixture of psychic and completely stupid. They spot you within a millisecond and start shooting, but just stand there. The game auto aims for you. (to an extent) Some doors you can open, some you cant, but they all look identical. Great. The graphics are subpar. Weve all seen Doom 3 and Chronicles Of Riddick ,they look far better graphically and theyre donkeys years old. It really does feel like playing a psone game with some shadows dumped around the scene. Think 'dead to rights' but with a silly story and terrible AI and gameplay. Why did I give it a generous 3? god only knows. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    2
    This game is BORING AS HELL. I mean the story is confusing and the graphics and game-play are really stupid and cheap also the main character looks a lot older than a actual 21 year old.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Aug 9, 2007
    4
    The gameplay is so clunky and slow that i wanted to cry because everything else about it is so amazing. after playing halo so long i can't go back to something this sluggish and tedious.
  5. ICUH8N
    Jul 2, 2007
    2
    I was really looking forward to this release, and like Gary W. I was let down by the poor A.I., bland level designs, auto aiming and dated controls/gameplay. While I thought the graphics were good, the physics felt like a 6-8 year old game. Gears of War and F.E.A.R were much more enjoyable because of how intense the fighting was, the physics and how real the A.I. reacted. This game is I was really looking forward to this release, and like Gary W. I was let down by the poor A.I., bland level designs, auto aiming and dated controls/gameplay. While I thought the graphics were good, the physics felt like a 6-8 year old game. Gears of War and F.E.A.R were much more enjoyable because of how intense the fighting was, the physics and how real the A.I. reacted. This game is basically walking around for blocks on end, find some guy shooting at you while standing still, kill him and then move on. I don't get how this game can be so much worse than the Chronicles of Riddick, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Expand
  6. CarlosZ.
    Jul 12, 2007
    3
    Bad graphics, bad history, bad game for me.
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    4
    I wanted to like this game, but the controls were way too frustrating and nothing was pulling me forward to keep playing the game. The beginning grabbed me in with its atmosphere, dark music, and the voice of the darkness...but the shoot outs are terrible, the game feels like it wasn't finished. The environments are very bland and there's barely anything to interact with. One thing II wanted to like this game, but the controls were way too frustrating and nothing was pulling me forward to keep playing the game. The beginning grabbed me in with its atmosphere, dark music, and the voice of the darkness...but the shoot outs are terrible, the game feels like it wasn't finished. The environments are very bland and there's barely anything to interact with. One thing I enjoyed about the game was the humor, but even that can't save this game. I payed 5 dollars for this game and it still wasn't worth playing. Expand
  8. Feb 22, 2016
    0
    It's hard to someone in 2015 find this game fun. But if we think that Bioshock, which is a GREAT GAME even TODAY, was released in the same year that The Darkness we can see how terrible this game is. The problem is not the graphics or history but, mainly, the game play. Every thing is so hard, even to take aim, is really, really bad. The movements is much unnaturally, like a lego videogameIt's hard to someone in 2015 find this game fun. But if we think that Bioshock, which is a GREAT GAME even TODAY, was released in the same year that The Darkness we can see how terrible this game is. The problem is not the graphics or history but, mainly, the game play. Every thing is so hard, even to take aim, is really, really bad. The movements is much unnaturally, like a lego videogame (Oh sorry, lego video games are more realistic than The Darkness)

    The second game is very cool, but is sadly you might try to play the first before. Do not worth to play.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. The back-and-forth structure is tedious, and the narrative needed to be much more fleshed-out. Too bad great loading-screen treatments can't make up for overall shortcomings.
  2. Part of The Darkness’s charm is its wealth of extravagant, often irrelevant detail.
  3. 85
    A fantastic game with an engaging story that only manages to slip up towards the end. The unforgiving amounts of violence are enjoyable and the demonic powers more than make up for its lack of innovation in the gunplay department.