The Darkness Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 196
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    a intresting game with a really good story for a FPS game . this game was kind of a suprise to me . i really liked the powers you get and they are very useful and fun to wach in use. playing a villian i thought was a nice touch out to take down your uncle for trying to kill you. the graphics are very well done the story grabs you nicely . the gun play is a mixed bag the up close anda intresting game with a really good story for a FPS game . this game was kind of a suprise to me . i really liked the powers you get and they are very useful and fun to wach in use. playing a villian i thought was a nice touch out to take down your uncle for trying to kill you. the graphics are very well done the story grabs you nicely . the gun play is a mixed bag the up close and personal kills look great but range shooting is very iffy .the online is a giant mess and should never be played it was very tacked on . i would have liked to see a sequel to this game. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2016
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. The story is amazing and it takes you places you would never expect to go. This game does things like let you sit down and watch an entire movie on t.v. and makes you really feel things deeply. It is very special and not to be missed. Stay with this game to the end and you will be rewarded with a truly unique gaming experience.
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    First of all, it's gonna have to be a pretty bad game that can mess up a combination of trigger happy Mafioso style bloodlust and demonic evil-bound carnage. Thankfully this game far from messes it up and instead pulls it off and pulls it off in style! Itâ
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    This game was bought for me and from the cover art I was led to believe this was a B-movie level production but I gave it a chance and found one of the most compelling experiences the 360 has to offer. It has everything, fantastic art style (that even makes New York not boring for one of the only times this gen), solid gameplay, gripping story line and a great comic book presentation. TheThis game was bought for me and from the cover art I was led to believe this was a B-movie level production but I gave it a chance and found one of the most compelling experiences the 360 has to offer. It has everything, fantastic art style (that even makes New York not boring for one of the only times this gen), solid gameplay, gripping story line and a great comic book presentation. The story runs on the edge of gritty gang crime in New York and adds dark fantasy to the mix but the Darkness is based on a comic book, having not read any of the comics I can not tell you how well it captivates the general ideas, moods and characters. Overall a great videogame and well worth a play, not much replay value but a good chunky single player campaign that can be picked up for very cheap now. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    A great story. However, the gameplay is kinda meh. The targeting system seemed a little awkward to me. I liked using the darkness powers but it was kinda awkward with those too. I loved the story and the voice acting was top notch. I don't like metal music but I felt that the soundtrack was really good. I felt energized when I played it. Either way, a good game.
  6. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite fps game. great graphics, very good story. Some bugs but the game is great. Waitng to se sequel!!
  7. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    Sick of same old FPS? Then get this 5 years old game. Great graphics. Great story. A nice change in this often stale genre. The AI is a bit mixed. Sometimes the enemy will peak out from behind cars etc. Then will just walk by a dead body. Sometimes the controls can be slightly clunky. But all of this can be forgiven as the game is such a great overall experience. And I picked it up forSick of same old FPS? Then get this 5 years old game. Great graphics. Great story. A nice change in this often stale genre. The AI is a bit mixed. Sometimes the enemy will peak out from behind cars etc. Then will just walk by a dead body. Sometimes the controls can be slightly clunky. But all of this can be forgiven as the game is such a great overall experience. And I picked it up for £5. Absolute bargain. Expand
  8. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    The creators did a good job emerging the player to the story and the characters, So much that it feels strangely like your in the game at some moments, even though it's just a videogame, This game emerged me into it like no other game ive ever played, Made me feel uncomfortable at times but there is some light to this game and not all of it was morbid, I wish more games could immerge thereThe creators did a good job emerging the player to the story and the characters, So much that it feels strangely like your in the game at some moments, even though it's just a videogame, This game emerged me into it like no other game ive ever played, Made me feel uncomfortable at times but there is some light to this game and not all of it was morbid, I wish more games could immerge there players like in this game instead of the typical shootemup. Expand
  9. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    Wow this game was way better than I thought it was gonna be especially for buying it used at GameStop for only $6. The best thing about the game is it story involving the main character Jackie and the being he's fighting against the Darkness. For a game that came out in 2007 the graphics are decent and the gameplay is pretty good as well. Also the fact that you can watch whole tvWow this game was way better than I thought it was gonna be especially for buying it used at GameStop for only $6. The best thing about the game is it story involving the main character Jackie and the being he's fighting against the Darkness. For a game that came out in 2007 the graphics are decent and the gameplay is pretty good as well. Also the fact that you can watch whole tv episodes and old cartoons on the TVs in the game was a really nice touch and have never seen anything like that in a video game. So if you own an Xbox 360 this is a must own game for only $6. Expand
  10. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    Without a doubt, the first thing that will catch your eye after you slip The Darkness into your drive is the incredible job the folks at Starbreeze did on nailing all of the little details that immerse a player in a world. The presentation is top-notch, from the menus to the cutscenes, each of which happens in real-time. As you explore the world, you'll likely notice dozens of littleWithout a doubt, the first thing that will catch your eye after you slip The Darkness into your drive is the incredible job the folks at Starbreeze did on nailing all of the little details that immerse a player in a world. The presentation is top-notch, from the menus to the cutscenes, each of which happens in real-time. As you explore the world, you'll likely notice dozens of little things that catch your eye, be it the graffiti in the subway stations or the peeling paint in the abandoned buildings. There's no doubt about it: this is next-gen eye candy. Our only real qualms with the whole open-world thing is the fact that you need to travel across town using subway stations which, while very realistic, are just as much a pain in the ass as they are in the real world.

    The first half hour or so of the game feels like a fairly standard first-person shooter, albeit one that looks excellent. Jackie's weapons of choice are dual-wielded pistols, although you'll find plenty of old standbys (shotguns, rifles, etc.) as you progress through the game. When you're dual-wielding, each of the triggers fires a weapon, while the left trigger is used for melee attacks when using a single firearm. It's likely that you won't use the firearms that much once you unlock the Darkness powers, but it's always nice to have them handy. One of the coolest gunplay elements is the ability to pull off "execution-style" kills when you're close to a foe. It's a lot of nasty, noisy fun that fits in perfectly with game's twisted theme.

    Although the shooter is all well and good, it's the Darkness powers that really make the game special. After a little while, you'll gain the ability to send out a snake-like appendage called The Creeping Darkness. You can use this guy to sneak through vents (allowing you to open locked doors from the other side) or simply send it off to literally bite the faces off of your foes. They also have the ability to devour the hearts of your fallen enemies, which allows you to gain more power when you're in the dark. You'll also earn a tentacle that can impale foes and smash out lights, as well as Darkness-powered pistols that actually aren't quite as cool as they sound. You'll need to spend a bit of time in the shadows to fill up your stores of Darkness power.

    The most powerful of the Darkness powers is the Black Hole, which sucks anything within about 20 feet into a swirling vortex. While this power is impressive, it's actually too overpowered and makes the last few hours of the action a lesson in repetitive gameplay. Actually, all of the Darkness powers are like that, and you'll probably spend most of the game killing enemies in an area, breaking all of the lights to power back up, then moving on to the next batch of enemies. This "lather, rinse, repeat" style of gameplay gets old around the 5 hour mark, which is only about halfway through the game. Of course, you could always just fight your way through with the firearms at your disposal, but then you'll be missing out on the gory fun.

    While the Darkness powers add a nice bit of fun to the game, the "Darklings" that you can conjure are simultaneous awesome and annoying. When you're in Darkness mode, you can stand near any of the portals on the ground and create one of several mean little imps. The Darklings come in a variety of flavors, from the Berserkers that jump on your enemies to the Kamikazes that will act as suicide bombers (they can clear paths or kill baddies). The one that comes in most handy is probably the Lightkiller, who can enter a room and destroy any light that threatens you. Although the Darklings are a blast to watch (they'll urinate on your dead enemies or say some horribly inappropriate things), they can be extremely frustrating to control at times.

    Once you're done with the single-player campaign (which, unfortunately, has a disappointing ending), you can take the action online against your buddies. The Darkness features some fairly run-of-the-mill multiplayer gametypes, but the proceedings are improved by the fact that you can play as a human, a darkling, or a shapeshifter. This make the multiplayer fun for a while, but the action is ultimately hindered by poor controls and an unstable framerate. The maps are all surprisingly small, too, which theoretically keeps the action intense, but in reality just makes everything that much more confusing. If you don't have an Xbox Live account you can play via System Link, but there's no splitscreen mode or anything for single-box play.

    In the end, the development team may have been a little too ambitious, as the game tries some new things, succeeding in some areas and falling just short in others. The presentation and visuals are absolutely top-notch, but the gameplay ultimately becomes a bit too repetitive and the multiplayer feels tacked-on. Still, this is definitely a promising next-gen start for the folks at Starbreeze, and I can't wait to see what they've got in store for us next time.
    Expand
  11. Jun 22, 2016
    9
    I feel a bit silly writing a review for a 9 year old game, but conversation in another forum got me feeling nostalgic, so I figured “why the hell not?” In my humblest of opinions, “The Darkness” is easily one of the best games of the last gen that no one played; oddly enough, the few that did pretty much universally agree that it is a great game. You’d hope that kind of promise wouldI feel a bit silly writing a review for a 9 year old game, but conversation in another forum got me feeling nostalgic, so I figured “why the hell not?” In my humblest of opinions, “The Darkness” is easily one of the best games of the last gen that no one played; oddly enough, the few that did pretty much universally agree that it is a great game. You’d hope that kind of promise would spread its popularity, but if I recall correctly, it launched (under-hyped) as a new IP right around the time some fairly big and well-tried franchises were dropping titles, so to say it was overshadowed is an understatement. It saw a near immediate and dramatic price drop and was stacking up in the used bins faster than level 20 Tetris blocks. Seeing that, I took it as a sign of poor quality, discounted it entirely and forgot about it. Fast-forward some time into a personal gaming drought, I saw it in the used bin for $5 and decided to bite…

    I was convinced $5 was a steal within the first 30 minutes; nearly called Game Stop to offer them the other $55 I felt I owed them. From the beginning, “The Darkness” drew me in unlike any FPS prior to it or since. The world was dark and brooding, the characters incredibly deep and fleshed out and the Darkness Powers you unlock were a pure, brutal joy to use. Let me just say that had more people played it when it launched, the Darkness Tendrils could easily have been as iconic for the last gen as the “Gears of War” Chainsaw Gun; creeping along the floor and biting my enemies’ faces off right before ripping out and eating their still beating hearts never got old throughout my half-dozen or so playthroughs! As an FPS, “The Darkness” has some work to do; the gun work is mediocre at best, but the Darkness Powers are so much fun to use and so varied, more often than not, I found myself forgetting I even HAD guns preferring to move in closer for a bloody melee, using my tentacles to slither up unnoticed and rip enemies to pieces or casting a crushing black hole to clear entire areas of threats without breaking a sweat!

    However, the biggest draw that really makes “The Darkness” stand out for me still to this day would have to be the emotions it put me through. Without spoiling anything, the writers and voice actors made Jackie, his girlfriend Jenny and their relationship real enough to me that I became emotionally invested; that was unprecedented for me. The game opens up allowing the player (Jackie) to actively experience an intimate moment between the two young lovers, nothing sexual at all, just a very close moment that actively involves the player in a unique way, eschewing skippable cutscenes or annoying, clumsy quick-time events like other titles might have differed to. With Jackie and Jenny being so well written and voiced to that point, when that moment was over, it felt like I loved Jenny, which made the subsequent revenge-fueled visceral gore-fest of the 8-hour campaign extremely personal and satisfying for Jackie and me both. Not saying everyone did, will, could or should have the same emotionally intense experience as I, but I think most could, at least one some level, appreciate how the experience differs from the way most other games might attempt to tug at your heartstrings
    Expand
  12. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I know. Great storyline and great gameplay it also has an amazing sountrack that has made me find out about great artists. If you are going to buy this game BUY IT, it will be the best thing that will happen to you
  13. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    One of my all time favorite games. This game all about the story line. It sucks you in and holds you there. Makes you fall in love and makes you HATE every enemy you come accrossed. I never yell at my TV so much as I killed groups of bad guys. Plus make sure you write down phone numbers you find. You will want to call them all.
  14. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Although short in terms of the games I usually play (Oblivion, Morrowind, Skyrim and the like), the Darkness proves that not all games have to be monumentally long to be superb. You really get a feel for the characters both dark and light. The game was a pleasure from start to finish.
  15. MartinW.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most original games i've played in a while, try it out, you`ll see what i mean.
  16. GabrielM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    The best game this summer, as a matter of fact, this year. The Darkness is an incredible achievement in interactive storytelling, one of the most emotianally moving games I've played IN THE DECADE superb Grraphics, intense firefights fantastic powers ( i could spend 15 minutes just throwing a dead corpse around a New York street using demon arm) AI is meh at some points, but most of The best game this summer, as a matter of fact, this year. The Darkness is an incredible achievement in interactive storytelling, one of the most emotianally moving games I've played IN THE DECADE superb Grraphics, intense firefights fantastic powers ( i could spend 15 minutes just throwing a dead corpse around a New York street using demon arm) AI is meh at some points, but most of the time they'll take cover and use teamwork. darklings are hilarous and all characters are brimming with personality. if this game LOOKS good to you, PLAYING it will be a blast. ( if you can stomach the blood-spewing, violence-ridden, HEART-DEVOURING) Fantastic game deserves "Universal Acclaim" Expand
  17. CoreyM.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Its great u cant find a single gllich or loading screen in the game i dont know what yahoo are talkin about they must be playin the ps3 versoin because it so fun that games great buy it soo worth it.
  18. JeffA.
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    This game is one of a kind. It's storyline is one of the best to come out for this platform, although slightly confusing at first. The graphics are first rate. Long gone are the boxy characters of old FPS and this game pushes the envelope when it comes to character detail. Graphics and storyline aside, there is something immensly satisfying about eating someone's heart or This game is one of a kind. It's storyline is one of the best to come out for this platform, although slightly confusing at first. The graphics are first rate. Long gone are the boxy characters of old FPS and this game pushes the envelope when it comes to character detail. Graphics and storyline aside, there is something immensly satisfying about eating someone's heart or impaleing them and flinging their body across the screen. Although the world is somewhat small, there are various side quests to keep you occupied as you revisit old areas of the game. And the macabre aura the game puts off is excellet. It keeps your attention through the entire game. And all of the extra content is for the most part, worth picking up. Now the bad points. The game is very empty of reactive NPCs. Meaning all of the bystanders that should be filling the streets simply are not there. Sometimes there are lulls in between plot points that leave you feeling frustrated from having to go back and forth between the same small areas. And it would have been nice to have more diverse weaponry. Grenade launchers and such. Explosives. Things of that nature. Your special darkness powers keep the main guns slightly underpowered. Other then a few blemishes, this game is a great one to pick up. It's definately a game ill tell others to pick up, because hey, we all have a dark side to us, do we not? Expand
  19. EstherN.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    A game so good that it makes me realize how absolutely crappy so many releases have been of late. The atmosphere is wonderful, the facial models fantastic (although the lip movement is paralytic), the action is not only fun, but it gets very tense. The creative use of imps is a hoot.
  20. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    This game is good overall, but the reason i gave it a 9 from the 8 it probably deserves: The summoned demon who says "I like penguins" and the eating of hearts.
  21. KevinMarquardt
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    The Darkness a one of a kind game that is a refreshing break from what the console world has to offer right. This game is one of the best looking, sounding, and story driven games I've played for a long time. When I first started playing it, i thought i wasnt going to like it very much, but after and hour I was really into it. The game has its flaws though, Jackie walks like a zombie,The Darkness a one of a kind game that is a refreshing break from what the console world has to offer right. This game is one of the best looking, sounding, and story driven games I've played for a long time. When I first started playing it, i thought i wasnt going to like it very much, but after and hour I was really into it. The game has its flaws though, Jackie walks like a zombie, there were some major anti-aliasing problems in the beginning, and more can be desired from the gun play, If you enjoyed Chronicles of Riddick, then you should play this cause it offers awesomeness aplenty. OH YEAH BEST GRAPHICS EVAR< EAT YOUR HEART OUT GEARS@!! Expand
  22. JohanO.
    Jul 2, 2007
    8
    This was one of the most enjoyable FPS I've played on the 360. Graphically it looks good, nothing amazing, but good. Enemies aren't sharp, but you're going to kill them anyways. Interactivity? You can flush a toilet, knock out the lights (essential to playing) and toss around objects in the environment. How is this not interactive? The multiplayer is mediocre, and the This was one of the most enjoyable FPS I've played on the 360. Graphically it looks good, nothing amazing, but good. Enemies aren't sharp, but you're going to kill them anyways. Interactivity? You can flush a toilet, knock out the lights (essential to playing) and toss around objects in the environment. How is this not interactive? The multiplayer is mediocre, and the environment and story is where The Darkness shines. It's a good FPS, it does have too much down time, but fun nonetheless. Expand
  23. RonC.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    This game had an excellent single player experience. It was a little short, I bet it in three days. It had great voice acting, great charecters, great story, great gameplay ( you fell like a total bad ass by the end), and good graphics. That two out of two from Starbreeze. But, the multiplayer was horrible. Not, much thought was put into it. So, since the game is short also, this is a This game had an excellent single player experience. It was a little short, I bet it in three days. It had great voice acting, great charecters, great story, great gameplay ( you fell like a total bad ass by the end), and good graphics. That two out of two from Starbreeze. But, the multiplayer was horrible. Not, much thought was put into it. So, since the game is short also, this is a great rental. Expand
  24. BrianW.
    Jul 5, 2007
    8
    Fun to kill people with tentacles ;).
  25. PatrickS.
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    Good story, kept alive with the graphics and unique game play. Lots of fun, and the only thing keeping it form a 10 is the multiplayer and, at times graphics seem slightly lower quality than they could be. Overall a great game, everyone should at least try.
  26. JohnT.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    Excellent game - definitely a lot of 'wow' moments, and memorable experiences. There are occasional minor hiccups, but this game really exceeded any and all expectations I had for it. Number one tip - adjust the controls and sensitivity. There's pretty good customization available for these, and with a few tweaks you can sort the sluggishness out of movement and combat, and Excellent game - definitely a lot of 'wow' moments, and memorable experiences. There are occasional minor hiccups, but this game really exceeded any and all expectations I had for it. Number one tip - adjust the controls and sensitivity. There's pretty good customization available for these, and with a few tweaks you can sort the sluggishness out of movement and combat, and get focused on enjoying the game. Expand
  27. IainF.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    THIS GAME IS AMAZING. The graphics are sublime and realistic, and above that the gameplay is phenomenal. There are loads of guns at your disposal, and creatures to kill our enemies with in the most gruesome ays imaginable. The gore is amazing, and the thought of introducing The Darkness, demon heads out of your back that have demonic powers, was original and brilliant. And don't get THIS GAME IS AMAZING. The graphics are sublime and realistic, and above that the gameplay is phenomenal. There are loads of guns at your disposal, and creatures to kill our enemies with in the most gruesome ays imaginable. The gore is amazing, and the thought of introducing The Darkness, demon heads out of your back that have demonic powers, was original and brilliant. And don't get me started about the story, which is enthralling and moving. Expand
  28. ChrisH.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    A highly unique and refreshing FPS, and one of the years best so far.
  29. Gott
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome. So original...the powers that you can use make the game a blast...you have many options when dealing with enemies...amazing game. Could have been a book the story is so good...
  30. dsega
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    VIOLENT! very violent . the darkness just looks awesome all the time . no HUD so it looks pretty on my plasma. Close combat kills. Heart ripping . impaling. very atmospheric a well written story . great unlockables . including the original comics . ((looks great on hd)) offers a lot of control of how the aiming works so you can fine tune it for yourself . go download the demo off xbox live.
  31. GiancarloB.
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    Fantastic graphic
  32. JamesK.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love this game. It shall sit on my Xbox 360 till either Stranglehold or Bioshock comes out. The reason why most gamers hate this is because they are unfamiliar with New York City. Well I am from LA and knowing NYC is easy! Just buy a map or call a New Yorker for directions.
  33. TommyM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    This game deserves serious credit. Absorbing, intense and action packed. People complaining about loading times need to relax... it really isn't ever that long and the rewards outweigh the wait. I loved the use of "to kill a mockingbird" in your missus's apartment... i wanted to hang around and see how long it lasted but couldn't resist getting up to develop my Dark side. This game deserves serious credit. Absorbing, intense and action packed. People complaining about loading times need to relax... it really isn't ever that long and the rewards outweigh the wait. I loved the use of "to kill a mockingbird" in your missus's apartment... i wanted to hang around and see how long it lasted but couldn't resist getting up to develop my Dark side. You actually care about the characters and i really think this is very important in building your blood lust for revenge. I agree with Ryencoke.... there are some problems but whoever at yahoo wrote the review is an idiot with no soul and hence cant understand why this game is so damn good. Starbreese have done a great job and every 360 owner deserves to give this game some playtime. Expand
  34. AlexanderL.
    Aug 3, 2007
    8
    Really polished, but the controls take getting used to and the general experience of the game is less than other FPS's on the market.
  35. RobertN.
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    Thought this game was great. The action is repetitive and you'll likely not play it again once finished, but for the 30-40 hours it lasts, it was a blast. Graphics and sound were great and the story was good as well. The streets are kind of deserted and it gets kind of depressing wandering the streets at night all by yourself, but once the action starts, it's fun trying to Thought this game was great. The action is repetitive and you'll likely not play it again once finished, but for the 30-40 hours it lasts, it was a blast. Graphics and sound were great and the story was good as well. The streets are kind of deserted and it gets kind of depressing wandering the streets at night all by yourself, but once the action starts, it's fun trying to decide which hours you'll use, given the conditions. All in all, an enjoyable game and one of the best released this summer. Come Fall there'll be better slternatives to this, but over the summer it was fun. Expand
  36. DickS
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    The excellent story makes up for virtually all the clunkiness of the engine. Defiantly one of my top two favorite games. Starbreeze has a nice engine that delivers realistic game play but it needs a MAJOR upgrade to compete with todays games and fix the unrefinement that bogs the game down.
  37. AndyP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Superbly produced game with excellent graphics. Do not believe the reviews that claim next to no optional quests, there are tons! Also working out what is required for and actually achieving the achievements is great fun in itself. Highly recommended.
  38. JoshuaK.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    The game is amazing, the art holds true to the comic, and the graphics look amazing. The gameplay is truly something to behold, with the Close combat moves being so flashy and the just everything comes together so perfectly.
  39. Coonami
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    If you like a strong narrative, great graphics, tight gameplay, and top notch voice acting this game is for you. A very cinematic game experience. A very strong follow up to starbreeze's last game Riddick.
  40. FPSMaster
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    If you loved Riddick, you'll love this. Not because it plays the same, but because it gives the same type of feeling and Starbreeze is king with making an atmoshere in a video game that even Valve, Bungie, Infinity Ward, Epic and id have yet to pull off. The menus, the pacing, the upbeat music that starts when a firefight is about to happen, the voice acting and character gestures, If you loved Riddick, you'll love this. Not because it plays the same, but because it gives the same type of feeling and Starbreeze is king with making an atmoshere in a video game that even Valve, Bungie, Infinity Ward, Epic and id have yet to pull off. The menus, the pacing, the upbeat music that starts when a firefight is about to happen, the voice acting and character gestures, to the overall astonishing look of the graphics, lighiting, environments, textures and even your fluid CGI-like arm movements bring back those memories of playing Riddick 3 years ago because they put the same amount of effort into this. The gore and gruesomeness of the kills, especially the hand-to-hand kills (much like the cool ones in Riddick) look very hardcore as do the darkness power kills. Blood and bodies are all over the place to say the least. This plays like a first person shooter, but you also have the darkness powers to utilize but you don't have to if you don't want to. They just make it a hell of a lot easier, and sometimes feel a bit gimmicky, but not as bad as reviewers like the one from IGN would have you believe. The only downsides are you move a little slow and some of the controls are a little loose and clunky for the darkness powers and you have to constantly shoot out lights to make the game work properly and stay alive which does grate after a while and feels slightly gimmicky. The optional stuff like sitting with your girlfriend and watching tv to helping bums that want to play harmonica but are being harassed about it by street thugs are a big plus and help keep the atmoshere feeling realistic and less linear. The multiplayer is also a little gimmicky and short lived (even the developer says it's not to be taken seriously), but like Riddick I don't care about the multiplayer with a single player mode with this much quality and effort put into it. The fact that the loading screens show your main character talking about things you are about to do like a flashback make this feel like a big budget movie like Payback. It's sort of Max Payne-esque when it comes to your character's dialog, just not cheesy like that game but instead very serious. You can actually walk around and explore looking for hidden pieces of paper that give you phone numbers to call unlocking concept stuff just like the hidden cigarette packs did in Riddick so some free roaming and exploring do exist here. With this game, Starbreeze has shown me once again if given the time they can make a great single player game where other developers just get by and move on to putting all their time into multiplayer. I gave it a 9 instead of 10 for some minor framerate and control issues but it really deserves a 10 for effort but no game is perfect. iIf you never played Riddick, you owe it to yourself to see why Starbreeze is considered one of the best development studioes of our time that also gets very little credit for it. Riddick is being remade for 360 this winter, so give it a try if you never did before and see what the fuss about this developer is all about. Or just play this and see now. Collapse
  41. JackE.
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    This game is innovative, entertaining and just plain fun for those who can stomach it. Darkness/darkling powers are practical and engaging, especially creeping darkness, though not without minor control issues and gunplay, which you'll still rely on to a large degree, is fairly standard. But the exceptional production values, attention to detail and interesting story and gameplay This game is innovative, entertaining and just plain fun for those who can stomach it. Darkness/darkling powers are practical and engaging, especially creeping darkness, though not without minor control issues and gunplay, which you'll still rely on to a large degree, is fairly standard. But the exceptional production values, attention to detail and interesting story and gameplay elements will keep you coming back to see what happens next. Expand
  42. DeeCee
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    This game is simply amazing! It looks supurb! The lighting, ambience, character mocap, models, and even Framing during scenes are incredible! It feels so real... unlike most FPS'. Worth a purchase, it's truely a great gaming experience.
  43. Ryencoke
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    This game is really awesome. One of the best FPS for 360 by far. Some glitches, some things they missed/didn't want to do. Other then that awesome. The person who wrote the review at Yahoo! is a complete moron. This game doesn't have mass loading screens in any way, loads fast don't load very often either. Well done to the creators.
  44. RikardW.
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    This isn't just an action game, it's an action game with a whole lot of depth, great characters and atmosphere. I have a hard time understanding how this game could dissapoint anyone.
  45. Shadowman007G.
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    Awesome Game! Nothing like it since resident evil. Online play needs work, but still worth it.
  46. Daz
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    Don't be too nitpicky this is a great game! The story is obviously its strongest point, it feels like the story all comes together at the end, the graphic bar GoW are the best i've seen on the 360, gritty realistic but added with the macabre style of the darkness worlds ( THE HILLS!) make the atmosphere excellent too. The aiming is alittle annoying but nothing bad, and once you Don't be too nitpicky this is a great game! The story is obviously its strongest point, it feels like the story all comes together at the end, the graphic bar GoW are the best i've seen on the 360, gritty realistic but added with the macabre style of the darkness worlds ( THE HILLS!) make the atmosphere excellent too. The aiming is alittle annoying but nothing bad, and once you get the black hole you could say it makes pretty much all otehr powers obselete, in most ways, it kills,breaks lights and knocks away scenery. Good game. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. The back-and-forth structure is tedious, and the narrative needed to be much more fleshed-out. Too bad great loading-screen treatments can't make up for overall shortcomings.
  2. Part of The Darkness’s charm is its wealth of extravagant, often irrelevant detail.
  3. 85
    A fantastic game with an engaging story that only manages to slip up towards the end. The unforgiving amounts of violence are enjoyable and the demonic powers more than make up for its lack of innovation in the gunplay department.