User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 176

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinW.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most original games i've played in a while, try it out, you`ll see what i mean.
  2. GabrielM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    The best game this summer, as a matter of fact, this year. The Darkness is an incredible achievement in interactive storytelling, one of the most emotianally moving games I've played IN THE DECADE superb Grraphics, intense firefights fantastic powers ( i could spend 15 minutes just throwing a dead corpse around a New York street using demon arm) AI is meh at some points, but most of The best game this summer, as a matter of fact, this year. The Darkness is an incredible achievement in interactive storytelling, one of the most emotianally moving games I've played IN THE DECADE superb Grraphics, intense firefights fantastic powers ( i could spend 15 minutes just throwing a dead corpse around a New York street using demon arm) AI is meh at some points, but most of the time they'll take cover and use teamwork. darklings are hilarous and all characters are brimming with personality. if this game LOOKS good to you, PLAYING it will be a blast. ( if you can stomach the blood-spewing, violence-ridden, HEART-DEVOURING) Fantastic game deserves "Universal Acclaim" Collapse
  3. CoreyM.
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    Its great u cant find a single gllich or loading screen in the game i dont know what yahoo are talkin about they must be playin the ps3 versoin because it so fun that games great buy it soo worth it.
  4. IainF.
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    THIS GAME IS AMAZING. The graphics are sublime and realistic, and above that the gameplay is phenomenal. There are loads of guns at your disposal, and creatures to kill our enemies with in the most gruesome ays imaginable. The gore is amazing, and the thought of introducing The Darkness, demon heads out of your back that have demonic powers, was original and brilliant. And don't get THIS GAME IS AMAZING. The graphics are sublime and realistic, and above that the gameplay is phenomenal. There are loads of guns at your disposal, and creatures to kill our enemies with in the most gruesome ays imaginable. The gore is amazing, and the thought of introducing The Darkness, demon heads out of your back that have demonic powers, was original and brilliant. And don't get me started about the story, which is enthralling and moving. Expand
  5. JamesK.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love this game. It shall sit on my Xbox 360 till either Stranglehold or Bioshock comes out. The reason why most gamers hate this is because they are unfamiliar with New York City. Well I am from LA and knowing NYC is easy! Just buy a map or call a New Yorker for directions.
  6. JoshuaK.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    The game is amazing, the art holds true to the comic, and the graphics look amazing. The gameplay is truly something to behold, with the Close combat moves being so flashy and the just everything comes together so perfectly.
  7. Coonami
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    If you like a strong narrative, great graphics, tight gameplay, and top notch voice acting this game is for you. A very cinematic game experience. A very strong follow up to starbreeze's last game Riddick.
  8. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite fps game. great graphics, very good story. Some bugs but the game is great. Waitng to se sequel!!
  9. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    One of my all time favorite games. This game all about the story line. It sucks you in and holds you there. Makes you fall in love and makes you HATE every enemy you come accrossed. I never yell at my TV so much as I killed groups of bad guys. Plus make sure you write down phone numbers you find. You will want to call them all.
  10. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Although short in terms of the games I usually play (Oblivion, Morrowind, Skyrim and the like), the Darkness proves that not all games have to be monumentally long to be superb. You really get a feel for the characters both dark and light. The game was a pleasure from start to finish.
  11. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    The creators did a good job emerging the player to the story and the characters, So much that it feels strangely like your in the game at some moments, even though it's just a videogame, This game emerged me into it like no other game ive ever played, Made me feel uncomfortable at times but there is some light to this game and not all of it was morbid, I wish more games could immerge thereThe creators did a good job emerging the player to the story and the characters, So much that it feels strangely like your in the game at some moments, even though it's just a videogame, This game emerged me into it like no other game ive ever played, Made me feel uncomfortable at times but there is some light to this game and not all of it was morbid, I wish more games could immerge there players like in this game instead of the typical shootemup. Expand
  12. EstherN.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    A game so good that it makes me realize how absolutely crappy so many releases have been of late. The atmosphere is wonderful, the facial models fantastic (although the lip movement is paralytic), the action is not only fun, but it gets very tense. The creative use of imps is a hoot.
  13. AlanD.
    Jul 14, 2007
    9
    This game is good overall, but the reason i gave it a 9 from the 8 it probably deserves: The summoned demon who says "I like penguins" and the eating of hearts.
  14. KevinMarquardt
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    The Darkness a one of a kind game that is a refreshing break from what the console world has to offer right. This game is one of the best looking, sounding, and story driven games I've played for a long time. When I first started playing it, i thought i wasnt going to like it very much, but after and hour I was really into it. The game has its flaws though, Jackie walks like a zombie,The Darkness a one of a kind game that is a refreshing break from what the console world has to offer right. This game is one of the best looking, sounding, and story driven games I've played for a long time. When I first started playing it, i thought i wasnt going to like it very much, but after and hour I was really into it. The game has its flaws though, Jackie walks like a zombie, there were some major anti-aliasing problems in the beginning, and more can be desired from the gun play, If you enjoyed Chronicles of Riddick, then you should play this cause it offers awesomeness aplenty. OH YEAH BEST GRAPHICS EVAR< EAT YOUR HEART OUT GEARS@!! Expand
  15. RonC.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    This game had an excellent single player experience. It was a little short, I bet it in three days. It had great voice acting, great charecters, great story, great gameplay ( you fell like a total bad ass by the end), and good graphics. That two out of two from Starbreeze. But, the multiplayer was horrible. Not, much thought was put into it. So, since the game is short also, this is a This game had an excellent single player experience. It was a little short, I bet it in three days. It had great voice acting, great charecters, great story, great gameplay ( you fell like a total bad ass by the end), and good graphics. That two out of two from Starbreeze. But, the multiplayer was horrible. Not, much thought was put into it. So, since the game is short also, this is a great rental. Expand
  16. PatrickS.
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    Good story, kept alive with the graphics and unique game play. Lots of fun, and the only thing keeping it form a 10 is the multiplayer and, at times graphics seem slightly lower quality than they could be. Overall a great game, everyone should at least try.
  17. JohnT.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    Excellent game - definitely a lot of 'wow' moments, and memorable experiences. There are occasional minor hiccups, but this game really exceeded any and all expectations I had for it. Number one tip - adjust the controls and sensitivity. There's pretty good customization available for these, and with a few tweaks you can sort the sluggishness out of movement and combat, and Excellent game - definitely a lot of 'wow' moments, and memorable experiences. There are occasional minor hiccups, but this game really exceeded any and all expectations I had for it. Number one tip - adjust the controls and sensitivity. There's pretty good customization available for these, and with a few tweaks you can sort the sluggishness out of movement and combat, and get focused on enjoying the game. Expand
  18. ChrisH.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    A highly unique and refreshing FPS, and one of the years best so far.
  19. Gott
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    This game is awesome. So original...the powers that you can use make the game a blast...you have many options when dealing with enemies...amazing game. Could have been a book the story is so good...
  20. GiancarloB.
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    Fantastic graphic
  21. TommyM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    This game deserves serious credit. Absorbing, intense and action packed. People complaining about loading times need to relax... it really isn't ever that long and the rewards outweigh the wait. I loved the use of "to kill a mockingbird" in your missus's apartment... i wanted to hang around and see how long it lasted but couldn't resist getting up to develop my Dark side. This game deserves serious credit. Absorbing, intense and action packed. People complaining about loading times need to relax... it really isn't ever that long and the rewards outweigh the wait. I loved the use of "to kill a mockingbird" in your missus's apartment... i wanted to hang around and see how long it lasted but couldn't resist getting up to develop my Dark side. You actually care about the characters and i really think this is very important in building your blood lust for revenge. I agree with Ryencoke.... there are some problems but whoever at yahoo wrote the review is an idiot with no soul and hence cant understand why this game is so damn good. Starbreese have done a great job and every 360 owner deserves to give this game some playtime. Expand
  22. RobertN.
    Sep 10, 2007
    9
    Thought this game was great. The action is repetitive and you'll likely not play it again once finished, but for the 30-40 hours it lasts, it was a blast. Graphics and sound were great and the story was good as well. The streets are kind of deserted and it gets kind of depressing wandering the streets at night all by yourself, but once the action starts, it's fun trying to Thought this game was great. The action is repetitive and you'll likely not play it again once finished, but for the 30-40 hours it lasts, it was a blast. Graphics and sound were great and the story was good as well. The streets are kind of deserted and it gets kind of depressing wandering the streets at night all by yourself, but once the action starts, it's fun trying to decide which hours you'll use, given the conditions. All in all, an enjoyable game and one of the best released this summer. Come Fall there'll be better slternatives to this, but over the summer it was fun. Expand
  23. DickS
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    The excellent story makes up for virtually all the clunkiness of the engine. Defiantly one of my top two favorite games. Starbreeze has a nice engine that delivers realistic game play but it needs a MAJOR upgrade to compete with todays games and fix the unrefinement that bogs the game down.
  24. AndyP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Superbly produced game with excellent graphics. Do not believe the reviews that claim next to no optional quests, there are tons! Also working out what is required for and actually achieving the achievements is great fun in itself. Highly recommended.
  25. FPSMaster
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    If you loved Riddick, you'll love this. Not because it plays the same, but because it gives the same type of feeling and Starbreeze is king with making an atmoshere in a video game that even Valve, Bungie, Infinity Ward, Epic and id have yet to pull off. The menus, the pacing, the upbeat music that starts when a firefight is about to happen, the voice acting and character gestures, If you loved Riddick, you'll love this. Not because it plays the same, but because it gives the same type of feeling and Starbreeze is king with making an atmoshere in a video game that even Valve, Bungie, Infinity Ward, Epic and id have yet to pull off. The menus, the pacing, the upbeat music that starts when a firefight is about to happen, the voice acting and character gestures, to the overall astonishing look of the graphics, lighiting, environments, textures and even your fluid CGI-like arm movements bring back those memories of playing Riddick 3 years ago because they put the same amount of effort into this. The gore and gruesomeness of the kills, especially the hand-to-hand kills (much like the cool ones in Riddick) look very hardcore as do the darkness power kills. Blood and bodies are all over the place to say the least. This plays like a first person shooter, but you also have the darkness powers to utilize but you don't have to if you don't want to. They just make it a hell of a lot easier, and sometimes feel a bit gimmicky, but not as bad as reviewers like the one from IGN would have you believe. The only downsides are you move a little slow and some of the controls are a little loose and clunky for the darkness powers and you have to constantly shoot out lights to make the game work properly and stay alive which does grate after a while and feels slightly gimmicky. The optional stuff like sitting with your girlfriend and watching tv to helping bums that want to play harmonica but are being harassed about it by street thugs are a big plus and help keep the atmoshere feeling realistic and less linear. The multiplayer is also a little gimmicky and short lived (even the developer says it's not to be taken seriously), but like Riddick I don't care about the multiplayer with a single player mode with this much quality and effort put into it. The fact that the loading screens show your main character talking about things you are about to do like a flashback make this feel like a big budget movie like Payback. It's sort of Max Payne-esque when it comes to your character's dialog, just not cheesy like that game but instead very serious. You can actually walk around and explore looking for hidden pieces of paper that give you phone numbers to call unlocking concept stuff just like the hidden cigarette packs did in Riddick so some free roaming and exploring do exist here. With this game, Starbreeze has shown me once again if given the time they can make a great single player game where other developers just get by and move on to putting all their time into multiplayer. I gave it a 9 instead of 10 for some minor framerate and control issues but it really deserves a 10 for effort but no game is perfect. iIf you never played Riddick, you owe it to yourself to see why Starbreeze is considered one of the best development studioes of our time that also gets very little credit for it. Riddick is being remade for 360 this winter, so give it a try if you never did before and see what the fuss about this developer is all about. Or just play this and see now. Expand
  26. DeeCee
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    This game is simply amazing! It looks supurb! The lighting, ambience, character mocap, models, and even Framing during scenes are incredible! It feels so real... unlike most FPS'. Worth a purchase, it's truely a great gaming experience.
  27. Ryencoke
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    This game is really awesome. One of the best FPS for 360 by far. Some glitches, some things they missed/didn't want to do. Other then that awesome. The person who wrote the review at Yahoo! is a complete moron. This game doesn't have mass loading screens in any way, loads fast don't load very often either. Well done to the creators.
  28. RikardW.
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    This isn't just an action game, it's an action game with a whole lot of depth, great characters and atmosphere. I have a hard time understanding how this game could dissapoint anyone.
  29. Shadowman007G.
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    Awesome Game! Nothing like it since resident evil. Online play needs work, but still worth it.
  30. Daz
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    Don't be too nitpicky this is a great game! The story is obviously its strongest point, it feels like the story all comes together at the end, the graphic bar GoW are the best i've seen on the 360, gritty realistic but added with the macabre style of the darkness worlds ( THE HILLS!) make the atmosphere excellent too. The aiming is alittle annoying but nothing bad, and once you Don't be too nitpicky this is a great game! The story is obviously its strongest point, it feels like the story all comes together at the end, the graphic bar GoW are the best i've seen on the 360, gritty realistic but added with the macabre style of the darkness worlds ( THE HILLS!) make the atmosphere excellent too. The aiming is alittle annoying but nothing bad, and once you get the black hole you could say it makes pretty much all otehr powers obselete, in most ways, it kills,breaks lights and knocks away scenery. Good game. Expand
  31. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    First of all, it's gonna have to be a pretty bad game that can mess up a combination of trigger happy Mafioso style bloodlust and demonic evil-bound carnage. Thankfully this game far from messes it up and instead pulls it off and pulls it off in style! Itâ
  32. Apr 8, 2012
    9
    Sick of same old FPS? Then get this 5 years old game. Great graphics. Great story. A nice change in this often stale genre. The AI is a bit mixed. Sometimes the enemy will peak out from behind cars etc. Then will just walk by a dead body. Sometimes the controls can be slightly clunky. But all of this can be forgiven as the game is such a great overall experience. And I picked it up forSick of same old FPS? Then get this 5 years old game. Great graphics. Great story. A nice change in this often stale genre. The AI is a bit mixed. Sometimes the enemy will peak out from behind cars etc. Then will just walk by a dead body. Sometimes the controls can be slightly clunky. But all of this can be forgiven as the game is such a great overall experience. And I picked it up for £5. Absolute bargain. Expand
  33. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I know. Great storyline and great gameplay it also has an amazing sountrack that has made me find out about great artists. If you are going to buy this game BUY IT, it will be the best thing that will happen to you
  34. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    This game was bought for me and from the cover art I was led to believe this was a B-movie level production but I gave it a chance and found one of the most compelling experiences the 360 has to offer. It has everything, fantastic art style (that even makes New York not boring for one of the only times this gen), solid gameplay, gripping story line and a great comic book presentation. TheThis game was bought for me and from the cover art I was led to believe this was a B-movie level production but I gave it a chance and found one of the most compelling experiences the 360 has to offer. It has everything, fantastic art style (that even makes New York not boring for one of the only times this gen), solid gameplay, gripping story line and a great comic book presentation. The story runs on the edge of gritty gang crime in New York and adds dark fantasy to the mix but the Darkness is based on a comic book, having not read any of the comics I can not tell you how well it captivates the general ideas, moods and characters. Overall a great videogame and well worth a play, not much replay value but a good chunky single player campaign that can be picked up for very cheap now. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. The back-and-forth structure is tedious, and the narrative needed to be much more fleshed-out. Too bad great loading-screen treatments can't make up for overall shortcomings.
  2. Part of The Darkness’s charm is its wealth of extravagant, often irrelevant detail.
  3. 85
    A fantastic game with an engaging story that only manages to slip up towards the end. The unforgiving amounts of violence are enjoyable and the demonic powers more than make up for its lack of innovation in the gunplay department.