Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. 100
    Consistently slick in almost every regard: animation, level design, and combat. Stylish and memorable. [July 2011, p.119]
  2. Apr 25, 2011
    94
    The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile is one of the best Arcade titles of the year so far, and one unlikely to be surpassed by many other releases in 2011. Its mix of pure arcade fun and pitch-perfect difficulty, likably-sinister art direction, complimentary angry-rock soundtrack and wallet-pleasing lifespan make it a must for anyone with a connection to Xbox LIVE. In a word: essential.
  3. Aug 7, 2011
    92
    Even with its few faults, this title serves as a shining example of its genre, and I wish game companies would make more of this type of game.
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    92
    Overall I'm not just impressed with the game as it's presented, but I'm also impressed knowing that one guy did pretty much all of it. That blows me away as I'm sure it will do to you too when you get a true feeling of the style, the story, the over-the-top action and replayability that lies beyond the opening menu.
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    91
    One of the best XBLA games we've seen so far this year, topping the original with bigger levels, more carnage, varied gameplay, a new character, co-op support and a slick presentation. Kudos to you, Mr. Silva, and the good people at Ska Studios for keeping us slicing and dicing.
  6. May 18, 2011
    90
    Beautiful and bountifully bloody, The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile is thoroughly enjoyable hack & slash entertainment at its finest, with plenty of crimson-colored co-op craziness to extend the gameplay hours even more.
  7. Apr 27, 2011
    90
    Dishwasher: Vampire Smile has more than enough content for its cost, absolutely amazing gameplay, and some impressive visuals. The plot is completely irrelevant to the experience, but it's certainly not bad. If players want a fast paced action game with a surprising amount of depth, Dishwasher 2 is certainly worth checking out.
  8. Apr 25, 2011
    90
    The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile is an improvement over an already very good videogame, and for 800MSP this is an absolute no-brainer for anyone who loves games like Bayonetta, God Hand and Devil May Cry. Instead of re-working tried and tested features for the sake of a follow up, everything about the first game has simply been done better. James Silva and SKA Games are now big players in the indie scene, and it is certainly going to be interesting to see what they have to offer next.
  9. Apr 20, 2011
    90
    A fast, brutal and demanding beat'em up that is Dishwasher: Vampire Smile, proves that taking a few ideas from old games, expanding them and making them look and sound modern can give an excellent result. Basic gameplay mode is accompanied by two more, that provide many hours of fun - either alone or with company (using one console or a network).
  10. Apr 18, 2011
    90
    One of the finest games available on Xbox Live Arcade, and a fantastic value for 2D slasher fans.
  11. Apr 15, 2011
    90
    What you do have here though is a game that doesn't hide what it is. It is pure unadulterated violence and it makes sure you are having fun with it, you come out the other end covered in blood and loving the feeling.
  12. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile goes straight for the jugular, rips out the voice box and releases a deafening roar. Why? Because it can, and because it's awesome.
  13. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Vampire Smile is a work with solid and entertaining gameplay, mature content, bloody and gory style, and pure dark energy everywhere. Every aspect of its predecessor has been improved, accompanied by the introduction of a new beautifully disturbed character: a true masterpiece from Ska Studios.
  14. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    As I stated starting out, you've got to like side-scrolling action games in the first place to enjoy The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile, but if you do you'll love the love. It has so much style and character that you'll thoroughly enjoy your time spent with it.
  15. Apr 8, 2011
    90
    Though its main campaign may be a little on the short side, Vampire Smile squeezes more clever gameplay detours, edge-of-your-seat encounters, knowing nods to the wider world and hidden goodies than most full price retail releases.
  16. Vampire Smile is the product of just one man. Everything, from the slick lo-fi graphics layered with intense lighting effects, to the urgent, industrial music, is by James Silva....Don't be too quick to be jealous.
  17. Apr 5, 2011
    90
    Grimly gorgeous and violently entertaining, The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile is one of the finest games released so far this year.
  18. Apr 5, 2011
    90
    The level design leaves something to be desired, but with so much else going for it, it is easy to overlook. If you enjoy action games, and don't mind seeing pints of blood splashed across the screen, this game is a must have.
  19. 90
    Vampire Smile simply reasserts Ska Studios' placement on the top-tier rung of Xbox Arcade developers. [May 2011, p.80]
  20. Apr 4, 2011
    90
    A brilliantly executed, whirling dervish of a game that all but demands to be ripped open and played to death. Grab your kitty-cat, gas up your chainsaw-arm and sharpen your blades. It's gonna be a bloodbath.
  21. Apr 4, 2011
    88
    The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile did exactly what it needed to. It took all the visceral fun of the first game and honed it until it gleamed and glinted like the morning sun reflected off a sword blade.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Video Game Talk obviously barely played this game. Id be suprised if Nick Hartel played anything other than "Normal" difficulty which is basically Easy mode. 2 hours for the campaign? It takes a lot longer if youre on the right setting for you. He clearly didnt even brush the 50 levels of Arcade mode or the intense Dishwasher challenge mode. There are 2 single player story lines to run through and you can also run through the co op campaign and arcade levels with a friend off and online in co op. You can tell he didnt even try Pretty Princess difficulty either as he was definitely not pleased. Even if a reviewer doesnt fully like a game its their job and I wont trust one who hasnt even tried challenging himself with the difficulty or touched more than 1 mode in single and co op play.

    So far for me this is absolutely not only my game of the year but one of the best games you will get your hands on. Sure it takes getting used to but it is challenging, intense and fun to play with some really original weapons, a story which is really coming together over the past 2 games, some great modes and lots of hidden secrets. I dont care about achievements but it also has an achievement which is so genius it is the only one I have ever cared about earning.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    This game was amazing! The controls are nice and tight, and it's incredibly playable - frustrating at times, but that just makes it so much more satisfying when you finally get past a hard part. The action was very fast paced, but that just meant I wasn't able to put it down for a good four hours. The art style is very much a matter of personal taste, but it was satisfying to me. I do not regret buying this game, and if you like very action-y hack-'n-slash games, I highly recommend this one. Full Review »
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    The game is like taking part in a ballet, the battles like the most beautiful dance. The control is just *PERFECT* - not for a long while have i played a game where i have felt in control so finely. The game itself is amazing, keeps shocking you - and challenging you - so very hard - but never unfair.

    The graphics, while not very high resolution have an amazing charm about them, everything is so very atmospheric. The music just rocks, sometimes full metal, sometimes almost xtal method in style.

    Overall, this is a perfect package - it takes everything that was awesome about the first game - and makes it 10x better. If you dont own this, you are doing your xbox a disservice.
    Full Review »