Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. 70
    Vampire Smile is a tempting proposal with the "indie" label, especially for fans of the beat-em'-up genre.
  2. May 6, 2011
    70
    Bleak, beautiful and violent, Vampire Smile provides great and atmospheric sidescrolling action. The lack of variety makes me only play in relatively short burts, but I keep coming back for more.
  3. May 6, 2011
    73
    This fast paced, gore filled, side-scroller is a game for any mature gamers who want to get addicted to game for a while and dive into a exciting game.
  4. Apr 12, 2011
    70
    Dishwasher: Vampire Smile is a nice 2D, side scrolling beat 'em up that stands out for its art direction and sharp controls. Unfortunately, its repetitive nature has a negative impact on the overall experience.
  5. Apr 12, 2011
    70
    The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile splashes blood all over the Xbox Live marketplace again, this time with more tools and balance than in Dead Samurai. A valuable 2D beat'em up at a valuable price.
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    70
    Vampire Smile doesn't add much to the concept of the previous game. For 800 Microsoft Points you'll get a fun sidescroller that will keep you entertained for a couple of hours, until you'll get bored with the repetitiousness of it all.
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    60
    The unremitting bleakness has a certain stylistic charm, but such is the relentlessness of it all, Vampire Smile is too intense to digest for more than a few levels at a time. It's an-all-you-can eat banquet at gunpoint.
  8. Apr 7, 2011
    50
    Fans of hand cramp-inducing button mashing or extensive weapon combos might find a lot to like here, but for everyone else there's just a pretty face and some scattered body parts.
  9. Apr 6, 2011
    65
    Its goofy violence and goofier character design, married to its bleak aesthetic, are almost enough to keep players' interest on their own and are complimented well by tightly-designed combat. It's unfortunate that the game doesn't live up to its own potential, though -- the convoluted story wastes the potential of the rad premise, and Silva doesn't do enough to keep the combat fresh for the duration of the game.
  10. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 20, 2011
    70
    A violent blast to play, but it could do with a little punctuation to break up the insanity. [Issue#72, p.100]
  11. Edge Magazine
    May 8, 2011
    70
    Builds on the gothy charm of its predecessor, refining its hit-chaining combat and dialling up the scope of its artistic ambition. [June 2011, p.102]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    Video Game Talk obviously barely played this game. Id be suprised if Nick Hartel played anything other than "Normal" difficulty which isVideo Game Talk obviously barely played this game. Id be suprised if Nick Hartel played anything other than "Normal" difficulty which is basically Easy mode. 2 hours for the campaign? It takes a lot longer if youre on the right setting for you. He clearly didnt even brush the 50 levels of Arcade mode or the intense Dishwasher challenge mode. There are 2 single player story lines to run through and you can also run through the co op campaign and arcade levels with a friend off and online in co op. You can tell he didnt even try Pretty Princess difficulty either as he was definitely not pleased. Even if a reviewer doesnt fully like a game its their job and I wont trust one who hasnt even tried challenging himself with the difficulty or touched more than 1 mode in single and co op play.

    So far for me this is absolutely not only my game of the year but one of the best games you will get your hands on. Sure it takes getting used to but it is challenging, intense and fun to play with some really original weapons, a story which is really coming together over the past 2 games, some great modes and lots of hidden secrets. I dont care about achievements but it also has an achievement which is so genius it is the only one I have ever cared about earning.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2011
    9
    This game was amazing! The controls are nice and tight, and it's incredibly playable - frustrating at times, but that just makes it so muchThis game was amazing! The controls are nice and tight, and it's incredibly playable - frustrating at times, but that just makes it so much more satisfying when you finally get past a hard part. The action was very fast paced, but that just meant I wasn't able to put it down for a good four hours. The art style is very much a matter of personal taste, but it was satisfying to me. I do not regret buying this game, and if you like very action-y hack-'n-slash games, I highly recommend this one. Full Review »
  3. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    The game is like taking part in a ballet, the battles like the most beautiful dance. The control is just *PERFECT* - not for a long while haveThe game is like taking part in a ballet, the battles like the most beautiful dance. The control is just *PERFECT* - not for a long while have i played a game where i have felt in control so finely. The game itself is amazing, keeps shocking you - and challenging you - so very hard - but never unfair.

    The graphics, while not very high resolution have an amazing charm about them, everything is so very atmospheric. The music just rocks, sometimes full metal, sometimes almost xtal method in style.

    Overall, this is a perfect package - it takes everything that was awesome about the first game - and makes it 10x better. If you dont own this, you are doing your xbox a disservice.
    Full Review »