User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 997 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 997

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The attention to detail is amazing, I was speechless after I left the first dungeon and began to explore the world.
  2. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Not often do i give a game a perfect score. Oblivion offers a seamless world of fantasy and adventure. Add to that the ability to do whatever you want anytime and the choice to continue playing after you complete the game. This is truly a remarkable game, which can be enjoyed for countless hours even after you have beaten it.
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Though this has aged over the past 6 years,it's still one of the best games ever.In anticipation for Skyrim,I began again and put another hundred or so hours into it and despite some tech issues and somewhat dated graphics,I can still recommend it.Seriously,if you call yourself a gamer and have never played this,you are mistaken.
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    I'll give you a heads-up now, just because it's made by the same people who made Fallout 3 doesn't mean it's any good so don't waste your money!!!

    Firstly, the AI has hardly been touched. Yes, artificial intelligence is a difficult thing to program but really, when I murder the bandit on the left and the bandit on the right, the guy on the corpse should realize something is terribly
    I'll give you a heads-up now, just because it's made by the same people who made Fallout 3 doesn't mean it's any good so don't waste your money!!!

    Firstly, the AI has hardly been touched. Yes, artificial intelligence is a difficult thing to program but really, when I murder the bandit on the left and the bandit on the right, the guy on the corpse should realize something is terribly wrong, instead of wandering around hopelessly. Similarly, it is brutally and unforgiving when it comes to accidental thievery. Try to click on the bartender to talk to her, and likely you'll accidentally click on an alcohol bottle. THIEF!!! she cries out, and even if you put the bottle down immediately, a guard will escort you to the castle, where you'll have to pay a fine for touching a bottle on a bar. Character interaction is annoyingly weak. To get a character to like you, you'll need to, in a brief period of time, Boast, Joke, Admire, or Coerce him/her, repeatedly, via a mini-game. Bashing heads solves almost every quest, so the talking issues in the game are neatly covered up by massive bloodshed (although corpse cleanup isn't so good; this one poor shop has had 3 naked corpses in it for months now).

    Also, the main story line is, no fun. It's not just the "you start in a prison with no equipment or past" lameness that's been done so many times before. Opening up the gate from a hellish world all through the countryside, you're told things like, "You must save him RIGHT NOW" but we still have the theme of do whatever you want so the invasion or execution or whatever will patiently wait until you go off and become head of every guild, visit every city a dozen times, or do whatever else you feel like. The main quest just doesn't feel right in this context. You'll also need to close many gates, and the sense of accomplishment for doing so is a bit boring, as each close the gate quest is almost the same.

    Finally, we have an overall design flaw here. Usually, once your character gets above level 25 in any game, there is nothing left to challenge you, making the whole game extremely easy. Oblivion (tries) fixes this by making the monsters and treasures as your character does. So, a cave that would hold rats for your first level character holds trolls at a higher level. It sounds nice, but it creates new problems as well. First, the thrill of exploration drops off a bit; I know the monsters I meet and treasure I gather will all be set to my level, there's no danger in encountering something far too tough for me to defeat with a simple thumping, and there's no thrill of finding a great artifact far outside the power of my character. Second, the non-player characters generally aren't leveled. A number of missions grant you help from additional soldiers and such. If you're too high a level, the monsters you encounter will toss those soldiers around like confetti; leaving you all alone to deal with a horde of monsters (at least you can loot the soldiers corpses for extra gold). Curiously, the best counter to this is to design a character that does NOT go up levels. By basing your character around little used or unnecessary skills, you can get a character that goes up levels at a slow enough pace that you can see all the game has to offer; go up levels too quickly, and you'll miss many monsters that simply won't appear for high level characters.

    So like I told you at the beginning, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! (The only reason I gave it a 2 was because of the lovely graphics!)
    Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    The graphics are great and the voice acting is great. The music is ok, but forgettable. The story is ok, but very generic. But where the game fails is gameplay. The leveling system is broken, and the gameplay is boring, so very boring.
  6. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many games now a days are shooters so not many people consider an RPG to reach out to people as much as a shooter would but Oblivion does. Oblivion is one of the best games I have ever played it combines great graphics with amazing story telling and long lasting appeal I have been playing for almost a month now and I haven't even come close to being done with the first disc this game is HUGE. The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion takes place in the imaginary province of Cyrodiil where you are a prisoner who has an extraordinary destiny and that is all I am gonna tell you. If you want to learn more about the story then go and play this game it will not waste your time I promise you What are you still doing here reading this go on GO play the game already!!!!! Expand
  7. MTM
    Mar 5, 2011
    9
    One day in 2011 I decided that I wanted to play a new game for my Xbox 360. I wanted to get a game that was fun, but also had a great reviews. I was looking at my local BestBuy and found The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. The game was only $20 and I basically said why not. I bought it and fell in love with it. The graphics are outstanding even for 2011, the customization is endless.... thereOne day in 2011 I decided that I wanted to play a new game for my Xbox 360. I wanted to get a game that was fun, but also had a great reviews. I was looking at my local BestBuy and found The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. The game was only $20 and I basically said why not. I bought it and fell in love with it. The graphics are outstanding even for 2011, the customization is endless.... there are so many shops and so many things you can do. I'm about 6 hours into the game, understand that this game is over 100 hours long if you do everything that it has to offer. Don't listen to the haters, for a 2006 game it impresses gamers even from 2011 where we have Dead Space 2, Halo Reach, Killzone 3, and all the rest... Expand
  8. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". DownsidesAmazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". Downsides are minor and I do not even mind them much. Things like repetitive combat and bad AI at times. It does not ruin the game for me. Large scale area, multiple quests, and combat suited for a RPG. The graphics were amazing for 06, and the water is still beautiful to look at. The textures could use some work but that doesn't really hinder this game at all. Lets hope Bethesda makes Skyrim even better then all the other games combined. Oh and you can play after you beat the game....Fallout take notes. Expand
  9. May 6, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of yourOblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of your own. Too many rpg games since oblivion are banging out incredible graphics at the expense of having a good solid storyline. Many developers out there should be looking at oblivion and realising that you have to get the storyline and plot interesting in order for in rpg game to be good. The weapon functionality in terms of upgrading your equipment (armour and swords) is fantastic you are always on the lookout for better gear, this is one thing that oblivion done briliantly. To many recent rpgs have very little focus on this aspect eg the witcher.

    Finally i would like to sat that i hope oblivion skyrim is just as good if not better than oblivion, the omens are looking good because they say there will be dragons and dragon language. Now that soiunds goooood.
    Expand
  10. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    The game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in theThe game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in the quality of the voice-overs which is poor at best, as well as the amount of actors that are involved in the process. There's about 12 of them. For like 120 characters. Seriously. The amount of quests is severely limited - at least cut in half (optimistically...). Another extremely annoying feature of this game is the fact that enemies level up with the player character which not only makes you feel like you're not leveling at all but on the higher levels you get weaker and weaker compared to enemies... But I could forgive all that if the exploration was more rewarding. And let me tell you - it is almost not rewarding at all. You wander into a a dungeon with enemies and loot generated to match your level, then to another which looks completely the same, then another... almost same dungeon? Yes. For real. Sadly. This means not only extreme boredom and no point at all to exploring dungeons. It means you will never encounter unique items and powerful artifacts in dungeons you explore - like it was in Morrowind. The only things that are actually improved since Morrowind are the combat system - which makes you feel like you're actually fighting and not just swinging a sword like a puppet - and special bonuses that you gain leveling the skills. Every 25 points up to 100 in a skill gives you a special ability your character can perform. Example: 100 in acrobatics means you will be able to jump on the water, 100 in swords will give you a special move etc. These things are nice but do not make up for all the setbacks mentioned, The plot. Well. The plot is just the most horrible abomination I have ever seen in a would-be RPG game - why would-be? because in RPG you actually have some choices which influence the world in some way, here your only choices are whether to complete a quest or when to do it, which are not choices at all. Anyway, the plot is linear as hell, you have no control over the outcome of the game. You are not even the main character of the game - you only help him while he takes all the credit for all that tedious dungeoncrawling! The factions are present as before - you do quests and make your way up in the chain of command. But these are pretty boring too. The only one I really enjoyed somehow was the Dark Brotherhood and, the Thieves Guild (but not as much). Overall - if you have too much time to waste you may as well take this game up, but it is nothing special. The bigger DLCs like Mehrunes Razor and Shivering Isles can improve the game's situation but I am rating the base game now so... It doesn't stand anywhere near Morrowind in terms of fun, content or the story line. Why would Bethesda simplify their game so much? I don't know. Nor I want to know. Expand
  11. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    Just like Skyrim, the leveling system of this game is abysmal. Since enemies level up with you, there's a feeling of a lack of progress. Games which are this open have problems like this.
  12. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is simply the most comprehensive game and experience on the Xbox 360 to date. While a few other games on the system might do one or two things as good or slightly better than Oblivion, none of them come close to overwhelming experience that is Oblivion. Simply put, it is the one Xbox 360 game that everyone should own.
  13. Sep 4, 2010
    8
    This is classic Bethesda. Brilliant characters, decent mechanics, an excellent plot. Downsides are the same as in most Bethesda games: things start to look the same quickly. Every Aeylid dungeon uses the same tiny texture palate, every indoors location in a given city looks the same. The outdoors is kept fresh and interesting, a notable difference from Fallout 3, but the textures reallyThis is classic Bethesda. Brilliant characters, decent mechanics, an excellent plot. Downsides are the same as in most Bethesda games: things start to look the same quickly. Every Aeylid dungeon uses the same tiny texture palate, every indoors location in a given city looks the same. The outdoors is kept fresh and interesting, a notable difference from Fallout 3, but the textures really bug me, it drags down an otherwise excellent game. Still gets an 8/10, but loses points for textures, odd physics engines, and the infinitely annoying Mage's Guild entry level quest ring. Expand
  14. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    well when you compare it to Morrowind its better in some ways and worse then others. the better would be its WAAAAAY less buggy and gltchy . the combat system has been improved to make it more fun . the graphics look great. fast travel makes getting around alot easier . nav points make doing quests alot easier . it has a diffucult setting for newer gamers to the series. the not as goodwell when you compare it to Morrowind its better in some ways and worse then others. the better would be its WAAAAAY less buggy and gltchy . the combat system has been improved to make it more fun . the graphics look great. fast travel makes getting around alot easier . nav points make doing quests alot easier . it has a diffucult setting for newer gamers to the series. the not as good would be ... robbing people houeses isnt near as fun no loot ever worth steeling . less magic spells and they took out the ability to fly!!! WHY!? enimys and new gear lvl up with you which i didnt like . i liked the feel of never knowing what i was walking into when exploring in morrowind. made more of a fun challange and making me wonder what i was gona find for loot. .now i know all the enimys will be my lvl and the loot will always be near what my lvl is... sucks. not as much to do as in morrowin eather although im not complaining i still spent 160+ hours doing just about every thing to do in this game which is way longer then just about 99.9% of games out there but morrowing was 400+ hours. regaurdless of all that bethesda still made a great game and i am very happy with it . Expand
  15. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    As close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions andAs close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions and conjuration. Very refreshing! An immensely immersing game and a much better successor to Daggerfall than Morrowind was. The only thing missing is user generated content playable on the console. Expand
  16. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    You don't like RPGs? I wasn't that into them, and my friend hated them until we discovered Oblivion by accident. We bought it because best buy was out of a game... and all I remember is that we played for 2 days straight, all nighter included. You like RPGs? Don't have Oblivion? Get it. NOW!
  17. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    This is simply the best game I've ever played...period! I've been playing PC / Console / mmorpg games since the late 80's and even now (Summer 2010), this game continues to be the benchmark against which I judge all other games. The story lines are engaging, the acting is excellent, the graphics are way ahead of their time and the game play is extraordinarily fun. I could get picky andThis is simply the best game I've ever played...period! I've been playing PC / Console / mmorpg games since the late 80's and even now (Summer 2010), this game continues to be the benchmark against which I judge all other games. The story lines are engaging, the acting is excellent, the graphics are way ahead of their time and the game play is extraordinarily fun. I could get picky and list this or that I would change, but none of my suggestions would really make the game much better than it already is. Expand
  18. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    Oblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you'veOblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you've got smiling innkeepers you can slaughter and poor guards who get caught in spike traps in the oblivion gates. Sure it looks a bit bad graphically now but for a game that came out in 2006 the graphics are impressive. It has great voice actors such as Sean bean and Patrick stewart ( if you ignore the fact that about four people voice the other few hundred characters). But one thing that sets oblivion apart is how clever it is. The AI are very good. They have a disposition system so that if they dislike a character they attack! One time I was in a town and I met a nice man who was a blacksmith and we talked about rumors ( which I had been told before by others in town)
    Anyway we parted ways and I did a quest and it turned out he was a spy and he attacked me and some guards but was put down. The quest I had done had lowered his disposition as he was in the faction called the mythic Dawn who I did the quest against! Good innit!! This happens alot and they aren't scripted events meaning they aren't meant to happen they just do. Which is cool. Another time I denied a quest from a little wood elf who promptly went home, got an axe and went on a killing spree! Anyway enough about the AI . They game has hundreds of weapons and thousands of spells that you can learn or create. There's just so much to do. You could live in this game if you could! Get it. GET IT NOW.
    Expand
  19. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    this game fuses action and exploration to the point where i wish i lived in this magical world. With amazingly beautiful music and the best graphics i have seen in a while this game is one of the best.
  20. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    Oblivion is overall a very fun and immersive game. Bethesda's sandbox world is immense and beautiful. The level of freedom you have in forging your unique character is amazing. It is a very easy thing in this game to lose track of the main quest...which is not a bad thing. I particularly enjoyed the Dark Brotherhood quest line even though the writing and voice acting was often campy.Oblivion is overall a very fun and immersive game. Bethesda's sandbox world is immense and beautiful. The level of freedom you have in forging your unique character is amazing. It is a very easy thing in this game to lose track of the main quest...which is not a bad thing. I particularly enjoyed the Dark Brotherhood quest line even though the writing and voice acting was often campy. There are three main issues I had that really held the game back from being truly awesome. The first two is the dialogue (especially between NPCs) and the voice acting. The dialogue in general can be awkward and non sensical at times, but the more significant issue is that they only used a handful of voice actors for the many (maybe over a hundred) speaking characters. Even if you were to just stick to the main campaign you will hear the same voice for several critical characters you will encounter throughout the game. For me that, along with the downright ugly characters (PC players at least have the opportunity to reskin via a mod), kept me from fully becoming lost in Oblivion. Expand
  21. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    The Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion is one of, if not the best game i've ad the pleasure to play. The world map may not seem big, but with hundreds of of locations to be discovered, dozens of guilds to join, an enthralling main quest and many quests that can be bought on by talking to strangers. On the downside, the game is slightly repetitive and occasionaly predictable. The character maker atThe Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion is one of, if not the best game i've ad the pleasure to play. The world map may not seem big, but with hundreds of of locations to be discovered, dozens of guilds to join, an enthralling main quest and many quests that can be bought on by talking to strangers. On the downside, the game is slightly repetitive and occasionaly predictable. The character maker at the beginning is'nt the easiest to use and once completed there's nothing really to do. Expand
  22. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is the best that i have ever played im 80 hours in and havnt finished the main quest and only 1 of the guilds the sheer scale of it is stunning NPCs go about there daily buisness sleeping eating just walking around graphics are great theres so much good about i could go on for ages 5/5
  23. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    probably the greatest game ever made (morrowind is its only rival). bigger than a night out with Charlie sheen.If you haven't played it I don't know what your damage is.
  24. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This game is loaded with bugs, frustrations, and flaws. But it is the best game I have ever played. I have never spent so much time within a game world, exploring each and every place, leveling my characters to the max, and replaying it every year or so again, just to experience the absolute beast of a game this is. Get this game.
  25. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a piece of art; it captures the very essence of fantasy and burns it in your brain. "Oblivion is freedom", Oblivion has over 300 hours of game play to an average Joe.
    Oblivion offers more than 5 hours of game play to each of the following guilds... The Dark Brotherhood, The Thieves Guild, The Mages Guild or The Fighters Guild and addition to the main quest
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a piece of art; it captures the very essence of fantasy and burns it in your brain. "Oblivion is freedom", Oblivion has over 300 hours of game play to an average Joe.
    Oblivion offers more than 5 hours of game play to each of the following guilds... The Dark Brotherhood, The Thieves Guild, The Mages Guild or The Fighters Guild and addition to the main quest which can offer up to 15+ hours, now thatâ
    Expand
  26. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever created. Massive world,massive amount of customization,amazing graphics, beautiful soundtrack and touching story makes Oblivion an experience of lifetime. Oblivion improves everything from Morrowind. Get ready to lose your social life
  27. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Even on a console, this game looks and plays brilliantly! When you take your first steps out of the dungeon you start in and the whole, green world opens in front of you......it is one of my favourite gaming memories! A MUST have on the Xbox 360!
  28. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Morrowind never clicked for me, but this game was so groundbreaking and incredible.....Hours of fantastic stories, a good plot, and lots of hours of DLC.......It was ahead of its time.
  29. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    Simply the best RPG ever created for console. However the game has a couple flaws. At around level 30 the game is no longer difficult. Instead of making tougher monsters the designers begin throwing mobs that are easily defeated. Also the game designers decided to "level" all areas to your skill thereby making it possible to travel anywhere at anytime without fear of encountering aSimply the best RPG ever created for console. However the game has a couple flaws. At around level 30 the game is no longer difficult. Instead of making tougher monsters the designers begin throwing mobs that are easily defeated. Also the game designers decided to "level" all areas to your skill thereby making it possible to travel anywhere at anytime without fear of encountering a placed that is too difficult to you to overcome at any stage of character development. This being said other fantasy RPG designers use this game as a benchmark. The environment is simply stunning (esp for a 2006 game!), and the world has more content than any game I have ever played. After over 1000 hours on this game I still have not discovered every location and solved every quest. I often put the game down for a month or two but find myself returning. A MUST HAVE for any game collection. Footnote for achievement hunters: The achievements in oblivion are exceptionally east to attain. Simply beat the main quest and all faction quests to obtain all achievements. For once a game without the annoying item collection achievements! Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Oblivion is an epic masterpiece that redefined the RPG genre. Cyrodil is incredibly vast, beautifully rendered and begs you to explore every nook and cranny. You can customize your character with incredible variety, making each playthrough a substantially different experience. It's easy to forget about the main quest line and get caught up in one of the many in-depth guild or factionOblivion is an epic masterpiece that redefined the RPG genre. Cyrodil is incredibly vast, beautifully rendered and begs you to explore every nook and cranny. You can customize your character with incredible variety, making each playthrough a substantially different experience. It's easy to forget about the main quest line and get caught up in one of the many in-depth guild or faction side quest lines, because they are each so fun and different. Oblivion is one of those games that you can play for hours and hours without noticing the time pass.

    There are a few drawbacks that prevent the perfect 10, however. My chief complaint is the level system, which is convoluted and can easily result in leveling without actually significantly improving your character. You level based on the use of your "major" skills, which you select at the game's outset. Most people, not knowing the system, will, choose the skills they plan to use the most. This is a mistake, because you will level very, very quickly, but only add 2 or 3 attribute points to a few stats. The enemies will quickly become stronger than you, because you have been "inefficiently" leveling. You really have to control your leveling, which is kind of a pain and can make the game feel very contrived. Also, there are very few voice actors, often resulting in two characters with the same voice having a conversation about a person who also has the same voice. It's just a little silly, but not a huge problem. The main quest line also has some slow points, like when you have to go around closing Oblivion gates outside every single city in Cyrodil. Not very engaging. Otherwise, the game is utterly fantastic.
    Expand
  31. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    An all time classic of the genre, and the benchmark for all other console based RPGs. Perhaps a bit dated now, however still worthy of a playthrough if you haven't experienced it, especially considering how cheaply you can pick it up.
  32. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    It could be stupid to say that this game is bad or boring. I don't think so , i think this is a great example on what an a RPG explore based game could offer. Yeah it has some glitches, old graphics but that doesn't mean its bad. I think that the game its almost perfect simply because you can do whatever you wanna do , making you free on your decision. The complex story ties with the lastIt could be stupid to say that this game is bad or boring. I don't think so , i think this is a great example on what an a RPG explore based game could offer. Yeah it has some glitches, old graphics but that doesn't mean its bad. I think that the game its almost perfect simply because you can do whatever you wanna do , making you free on your decision. The complex story ties with the last games . The world is very big, full of mysteries waiting to be discovered . Oh... and yeah its almost perfect. Expand
  33. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    The fourth in the longing running PC series Oblivion is the first to be designed primarily for console gaming. Fortunately however, while it is more accessible than its predecessors, it retains all of the depth with well in excess of 150 hours of gameplay available. Designed to be an open ended single player experience Oblivions huge world is virtually unparalleled in video games andThe fourth in the longing running PC series Oblivion is the first to be designed primarily for console gaming. Fortunately however, while it is more accessible than its predecessors, it retains all of the depth with well in excess of 150 hours of gameplay available. Designed to be an open ended single player experience Oblivions huge world is virtually unparalleled in video games and everything is open right from the start, allowing the player to take things at their own pace. The main quest involves the usual RPG theme of saving the world from impending doom. This is done by entering a number of 'Oblivion Gates' that transport you to a hellish dimension where the gate can be shut down. Truth be told these gates are probably the least interesting aspect of the game. Thanks to the simplistic combat and almost identical looking dimensions trolling through the repetitive enemies can become tiresome on occasions.

    Those that stick primarily to the main plot will however miss a huge amount of interesting content. The three guilds (Magic, Fighters and Dark Brotherhood) for instance offer some excellent side quests that give the player choices in how they should be completed. A handy map makes it easy to keep track of any quests you have started and as well as allowing quick travel to any locations you have already visited. As with any RPG worth its salt the player is also able to level-up and customise their character. Having selected a race and gender during the games opening it is possible to specialise in different handheld weapons, ranged weapons or even magic. Skills such as lock picking and charisma also affect the way in which the game is played. One controversial feature however does see the enemies around the world level up in relation to your character. This can be frustrating when you are killed by an enemy you thought you could easily overpower but does ensure the game remains a challenge. Just be sure to save often!

    Anyone after a game in which they can really invest their time won't find many better RPG's available on the current generation of consoles.
    Expand
  34. May 7, 2011
    9
    Fantastic, but very boring. I can only play this game for approximately ten minuets and then I get bored. It's lame when you're a vampire and lame when you're hated. But weirdly somehow I love this game.
  35. May 27, 2011
    10
    If you want to know what R.P.G. means, get this game and play it. You will actually be playing a role. Although you can gain levels and customize your character in this game as well, most games that claim to be a R.ole P.laying G.ame are little more than leveling and choosing upgrades with no choice over the role your character plays in a story. Bottom line...Oblivion stands up thereIf you want to know what R.P.G. means, get this game and play it. You will actually be playing a role. Although you can gain levels and customize your character in this game as well, most games that claim to be a R.ole P.laying G.ame are little more than leveling and choosing upgrades with no choice over the role your character plays in a story. Bottom line...Oblivion stands up there with Mass Effect, Dragon Age, and Baldur's gate II (PC version) as the best R.P.G.'s ever. (P.S. don't go there Chrono Trigger fans. Although groundbreaking for its time, Its ancient history and not as good as any of these mentioned here.) Expand
  36. May 28, 2011
    9
    Plot driven first person medieval rpg. I enjoyed it. was it the best game I have ever played? no. But it was still worth playing. And as for all the people who say this game is boring... Any game where you can rain flaming dogs from the sky, is not boring
  37. Jun 1, 2011
    5
    I tried to get into this game, but it wouldn't let me in. It's too big for it's own good, you can walk for some time before finding anything to do, and it's menus were kind of confusing. It's story was bland, it's characters uninteresting and it's landscape as vast as it is familiar. I hope you liked that tree, because you will see it a lot. It's leveling system is odd and, with levelI tried to get into this game, but it wouldn't let me in. It's too big for it's own good, you can walk for some time before finding anything to do, and it's menus were kind of confusing. It's story was bland, it's characters uninteresting and it's landscape as vast as it is familiar. I hope you liked that tree, because you will see it a lot. It's leveling system is odd and, with level scaling enemies, kind of unnecessary. Many people like this game, but it didn't age well for me. Expand
  38. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    An spectacular game full of lots of things to do. The story may be bland and the game may be buggy but in terms of role playing and choice it is number 1, because choice isn't just a selection of speech options, it's to go where you want, when you want and do what you want. Simply amazing.
  39. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    An absolute must have for RPG enthusiasts, this game is extremely deep and addictive, there is an entire world of quests and great story waiting for you. The class system is simliar to previous elder scrolls games, and the customization is very nice, you can really make a character that will play exactly how you want to play the game. The main story is cool, but the oblivion gates canAn absolute must have for RPG enthusiasts, this game is extremely deep and addictive, there is an entire world of quests and great story waiting for you. The class system is simliar to previous elder scrolls games, and the customization is very nice, you can really make a character that will play exactly how you want to play the game. The main story is cool, but the oblivion gates can get extremely repetetive, luckily there are many guilds to work for and many side quests that you can pick up along the way all with intricate and interesting stories behind them. This game will take you a great deal of time to completely beat, and its definitely worth it in the end. My only gripes in the game would be that the enemies scale with your level, so your feeling of getting buff after a long period of time never quite get fulfilled because the enemies get tougher right along with you, also the combat system, kind of like previous elder scrolls games can get very repetetive, but these facts are overshadowed by the epic scale of the game. In conclusion if you are looking for a great RPG experience, definitely pick this up and you will see why people sunk so much time into this game. Expand
  40. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    An outstanding game. Most likely the best RPG that I've ever played. Some graphical hiccups and animations can barely detract from an amazing experience. Although the main quest line isn't the most engaging story, there are countless side quests and things to do, almost feeling like you're living in the world, and runs alot like a fantasy simulator with the way you affect things along withAn outstanding game. Most likely the best RPG that I've ever played. Some graphical hiccups and animations can barely detract from an amazing experience. Although the main quest line isn't the most engaging story, there are countless side quests and things to do, almost feeling like you're living in the world, and runs alot like a fantasy simulator with the way you affect things along with people. Definate recomendation for any Role-Playing Game fan. Expand
  41. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is one of the best games I have ever played. With over 200 hours of game play it is almost like living another life. The world of Cyrodil is a huge world with beautiful landscapes and cities, and a great amount of characters. There is not another game with an open world that is as good as the one found in the elder scrolls oblivion. so if you are ever in the need of aIn my opinion this is one of the best games I have ever played. With over 200 hours of game play it is almost like living another life. The world of Cyrodil is a huge world with beautiful landscapes and cities, and a great amount of characters. There is not another game with an open world that is as good as the one found in the elder scrolls oblivion. so if you are ever in the need of a good video game, you should pick up this one. Expand
  42. Jul 7, 2011
    8
    Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion has an immerse open-world that will keep the gamer playing for a lot of hours. The storyline was very broken and it didn't suck you in , but it doesn't stop this game from being great.
  43. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    In terms of playing hours pumped into it, this is the most engrossing game I've ever played on any system. Not much more to say other than it's amazing and I cannot wait for Skyrim. It takes quite a lot to get me excited about games these days and the prospect of a new Elder Scrolls game makes me excited -.-
  44. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Now this is an RPG, at the up most finest. Oblivion is the greatest of all RPG. To not like Oblivion is the same as not liking air. It is clean flawless and just stunning. While having minor hicks like all games I had no problem running threw this game chopping up orc's and demons. One of the best games of all time I go as far to say and I am so excited for Skyrim. 10/10
  45. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I think this is my all time favorite game. The map was huge and there is no end to what you can do. The freedom of this game is what makes it amazing. To me it reminds me of old school DnD. you make your charater from the ground up and mold him//her to be whatever you want them to be. The ruler of Evil or the perfect image of good. Exploring the map never gets old. The fantasy creaturesI think this is my all time favorite game. The map was huge and there is no end to what you can do. The freedom of this game is what makes it amazing. To me it reminds me of old school DnD. you make your charater from the ground up and mold him//her to be whatever you want them to be. The ruler of Evil or the perfect image of good. Exploring the map never gets old. The fantasy creatures are impressive. As you level you encounter tougher and more exotic. The gods even ask you to help them those quest are the best, they are out of this world fun, the gear you get from it makes your charater unstoppable. I didn't even play the main story till i was done exploring the map. That was the beaty of this game, you didn't have to do it if you didn't want to! Great game I can't wait for th next one! Expand
  46. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    Great game, can just about do anything and everything. Prefect RPG great game and has great story. Something about Oblivion just hook's you in and your stuck. Into a world or imagination and creativity. Absolutely stellar!
  47. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I don't really know why i love this game so much there is just something really good about it.
    I must of spent about 400 hours into it.
    After about 4 years i still go on and play it. The combat with a sword and shield is just block RT block but i still love it. There are many bad things about the game like the voice actors as they only had about 7 but because i loves the game so much i
    I don't really know why i love this game so much there is just something really good about it.
    I must of spent about 400 hours into it.
    After about 4 years i still go on and play it.
    The combat with a sword and shield is just block RT block but i still love it.
    There are many bad things about the game like the voice actors as they only had about 7 but because i loves the game so much i never took notice of it.
    i find the best thing to do is be sneaky have bow and arrow and the the dark brotherhood and thieves guild because there probably the best things to do.
    I don't know how but i already spent 20 hours on another character and all i did was knights of the nine and the arena but i don't know what else i did. Its as if i was put in a trance playing it or something.
    Game play is where its at go take a look at it. Or if you use PC get it for the mods.
    Expand
  48. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    The best rpg EVER i read some comments like one moran user called WOWplayer and i say what the f* is wrong with u ? but ur name says it all wow... well it has the best graphics for a 2005 game and u can update it more with mods if u want to
    there are a LOT of questS in this game the main quest are not a lot but u still have a LOT to do in the game after the main quests....
    i have enjoy
    The best rpg EVER i read some comments like one moran user called WOWplayer and i say what the f* is wrong with u ? but ur name says it all wow... well it has the best graphics for a 2005 game and u can update it more with mods if u want to
    there are a LOT of questS in this game the main quest are not a lot but u still have a LOT to do in the game after the main quests....
    i have enjoy this game seens 2005 and now i will stop playing it coz of skyrim... :D
    Expand
  49. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Even now, many years later, I still hold any game that claims to be open world to the Elder Scrolls standard. There are few games in my life that awed me. This was one of them. Now only 2 days from the list release of Skyrim, all I can think of is my past experience with Oblivion and I can't believe how excited I am. Elder Scrolls is the definition of western rpg.
  50. Sep 8, 2011
    6
    i liked the games concept and combat but i had huge issues with glitches and objective confusion to the piont where i couldn't continue playing the game. Typical Bethesda :(
  51. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 8 Characters: 7
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 6
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 10
    Fun Factor: 10

    Score: 8.4/10 = A-
  52. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    I reviewed Skyrim before I reviewed Oblivion, however, I played Oblivion first. All I can say about this game is that it is just amazing. It is not as good as Skyrim, but it is still quite good. Oblivion was the game that brought me into this amazing franchise, and is now one of my favorite video games of all time. The graphics of this game are quite beautiful. Of course they are notI reviewed Skyrim before I reviewed Oblivion, however, I played Oblivion first. All I can say about this game is that it is just amazing. It is not as good as Skyrim, but it is still quite good. Oblivion was the game that brought me into this amazing franchise, and is now one of my favorite video games of all time. The graphics of this game are quite beautiful. Of course they are not as good as Skyrim (not quite as realistic), but they are beautiful enough to get the job done. There is quite a bit of detail in the graphics, and it really was a graphical achievement back in 2006 when this was released. Even today, the game's graphics are still very good. The sound is good too. It's not quite as realistic as I would have hoped, however, once again, it is realistic enough to get the job done. The sound effects and voice acting are done well enough, however, the best sound in this game is the game's music. Along with this game's sequel Skyrim, this game ties with the best soundtrack I have ever heard from a video game. The soundtrack to both of these games perfectly fit the environment you are in, and add a very beautiful touch to an already beautiful game. Once again, there are several quests to do in Oblivion that each have their own story. However, I think the main quest of Oblivion might just be a tiny bit better than Skyrim. Skyrim's main quest is a bit of a cliched apocalypse prevention scenario, however, Oblivion's story has gates from Oblivion (basically hell in The Elder Scrolls lore) opening, unleashing demons. It is up to you to seal these gateways, and stop the demons from appearing. One thing that is unique about this game's story is that you are not the chosen one. Instead, you are helping out the chosen one. This may sound boring, however, it really is well done, and much more original than most video games about a chosen one (ones where your character is the chosen one). This changed back to you being the chosen one in Skyrim however. As for the gameplay, it is not Skyrim, but it is good enough. This game is also open world, just like Skyrim, and you can literally do just about anything that you want. You can even choose not to do quests if you wish. The gameplay is not much different from Skyrim at all, however, I would say that it is not quite as good. Despite combat being good, it does feel a little like you are waving your sword at thin air. It is also weird the way non-player characters change the look on their face from sad to glad mere seconds after reminding them of something bad then good. Leveling up is also quite mixed if you ask me. At the very beginning of the game, you have to choose your birthsign. You really have to be careful with this, because once you pick a birthsign, you keep it throughout the rest of the game. So there is no way you can change it in the middle of the game like in Skyrim. Despite these flaws, I can safely say that this game is fantastic. It is not as good as Skyrim, however, it is good enough to be worthy of recognition throughout the gaming community. That is why I award Oblivion with an outstanding 9 out of 10! Expand
  53. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. There are some flaws like the world that doesn't seem to be actually living and some glitches, but it will never ruin the overall experience.
  54. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Another Bethesda game that you simply must own. A gigantic world to explore, hundreds of quests, NPCs, items, dungeons, ect. 5 years after release and the game still holds up very well. An absolute masterpiece, I couldn't praise it enough.
  55. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    While it gifts players a huge, stunning world to wander in and a ton of things to do, Oblivion also takes quite a humble approach, sticking to more conservative RPG values. Firstly, Oblivion is extremely pretty. The land of Cyrodiil is styled in the manner of a European fairy tale of a Knights-and-Dames age, largely covered in greenery and dotted with medieval towns and settlements. It isWhile it gifts players a huge, stunning world to wander in and a ton of things to do, Oblivion also takes quite a humble approach, sticking to more conservative RPG values. Firstly, Oblivion is extremely pretty. The land of Cyrodiil is styled in the manner of a European fairy tale of a Knights-and-Dames age, largely covered in greenery and dotted with medieval towns and settlements. It is scene which welcomes players warmly and embrace them in a feeling of familiarity. In other words, it is quite the perfect fantasy world. There is also a nice story added in, and many, many quests to do and places to explore. Basic gameplay is largely a mix of fighting, which is relatively simple and fun, and much travelling which for more cultured folks is quite a gorgeous experience. Oblivion gets many things right, and aside from offering a great game gives gamers another world to live in. Expand
  56. Nov 7, 2011
    8
    Bethesda studios created one of the best open-world RPG for Xbox360. The game included features and quests to make the player play for a long time. Introducing this on a console removed to countless cheat features presented on the PC forcing the player to explore around without the need for them. Oblivion included a difficulty feature for players to change the experience of the gameBethesda studios created one of the best open-world RPG for Xbox360. The game included features and quests to make the player play for a long time. Introducing this on a console removed to countless cheat features presented on the PC forcing the player to explore around without the need for them. Oblivion included a difficulty feature for players to change the experience of the game whenever they want. Although, raising the difficulty mid-game would create enemies that would take 5,000 slashes and creates a pointless thought of even raising the difficulty. Once you get to roam around this huge landscape, you'll begin to forget about the main quest... And that it existed in the first place. Expand
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I really like this game, though I would have given it roughly an 8.5 due to all the bugs and lack of voice actors (roughly 10?) in this game. For all that you can explore, I was hoping I could do more than just quests. Here's hoping that Skyrim, improves on the genre!
  58. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A 200+ hour campaign paired with the largest landscape and most in-depth character progression to date makes this installment in The Elder Scrolls series the greatest fantasy RPG to date.
  59. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game absorbed countless hours of my life. I put more time trying to complete everything that there was in this game. The scale of this ame is incredible, yet somehow it was never enough to fully keep me from wanting more. The amount of detail in each city, each guild and each person are impossible to overstate. For any little bug that someone could point to in this game, there areThis game absorbed countless hours of my life. I put more time trying to complete everything that there was in this game. The scale of this ame is incredible, yet somehow it was never enough to fully keep me from wanting more. The amount of detail in each city, each guild and each person are impossible to overstate. For any little bug that someone could point to in this game, there are countless things that easily outweigh that in my mind. This game was what really made me follow the works of Bethesda. Their games always have a scope that is simply unparalleled in any other game out there.I HIGHLY recommend this game to all gamers out there. The main story is only the tip of the ice burg for this one. Expand
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG'S i've ever played. I highly recommend playing this. I have 130 hours of gameplay on this without the DLC. This game is perfect and a must buy.
  61. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Bought this game first day, never played any game in this genre before this. Amazing controls, alot of detail in the environment, massive map with tons of freedom. The AI is slightly stupid in some situations. The game has a **** load of minor glitches. Some big glitches present that require you to load previous saves, others completely freezing the system. These would otherwise renter aBought this game first day, never played any game in this genre before this. Amazing controls, alot of detail in the environment, massive map with tons of freedom. The AI is slightly stupid in some situations. The game has a **** load of minor glitches. Some big glitches present that require you to load previous saves, others completely freezing the system. These would otherwise renter a game unplayable or discourage you from playing it but this game is addicting and will definitely keep you locked away from the real world for a couple hundred hours or so. Expand
  62. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Had the pleasure of stumbling upon this game when my friend decided he didn't want to play his xbox 360 anymore 5 years ago. It was the greatest game that could ever fall into my lap, I've put almost countless hours and starts into this game. It's one of my absolute favorite games and I always find my self popping it back in and playing it over and over again. Even though skyrim is out IHad the pleasure of stumbling upon this game when my friend decided he didn't want to play his xbox 360 anymore 5 years ago. It was the greatest game that could ever fall into my lap, I've put almost countless hours and starts into this game. It's one of my absolute favorite games and I always find my self popping it back in and playing it over and over again. Even though skyrim is out I still see my self playing it from time to time. An ageless classic. Expand
  63. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    Its a great game, I never really beat it though. Honestly after a while all of the content is recycled. Like a lot of dungeons look the same, different layout but the same. Also the difficulty level goes from extremely easy to damn near impossible. I know you can lower the difficulty setting but I just wish they would have got it right. I think I should go back to this game and just do aIts a great game, I never really beat it though. Honestly after a while all of the content is recycled. Like a lot of dungeons look the same, different layout but the same. Also the difficulty level goes from extremely easy to damn near impossible. I know you can lower the difficulty setting but I just wish they would have got it right. I think I should go back to this game and just do a speed run through the main storyline, because I would just keep doing the side quests. Expand
  64. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This game always loomed around the video store unnoticed, until I picked it up one day by chance. I never looked back since then, it is one of my all time favorites, and I will always treasure the memories and experiences this game gave me. Absolute 10/10.
  65. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    I got Oblivion for Christmas and until then, I never heard of Oblivion or the Elder Scrolls but after a few hours playing, I knew about Bethesda and The Elder Scrolls. And my god, I'm glad I did! The story is absolutely amazing, the world is incredible, the speech could be better but in all it's a FANTASTIC game! There are a few glitches but they don't bother me much. Well Done Bethesda,I got Oblivion for Christmas and until then, I never heard of Oblivion or the Elder Scrolls but after a few hours playing, I knew about Bethesda and The Elder Scrolls. And my god, I'm glad I did! The story is absolutely amazing, the world is incredible, the speech could be better but in all it's a FANTASTIC game! There are a few glitches but they don't bother me much. Well Done Bethesda, Skyrim for Christmas. Excited! Expand
  66. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    Enemies scale to your level stupidity. I remember dying in a cave so I left it, leveled up, came across the same cave later on and entered it again expecting to kick some butt. But I died again because the enemies leveled up as well. Stupid. Apparently leveling up my character is POINTLESS in this game. The game world is extremely bland and repetitive. Oh look, the same ruins I've seenEnemies scale to your level stupidity. I remember dying in a cave so I left it, leveled up, came across the same cave later on and entered it again expecting to kick some butt. But I died again because the enemies leveled up as well. Stupid. Apparently leveling up my character is POINTLESS in this game. The game world is extremely bland and repetitive. Oh look, the same ruins I've seen the last 10 times. Everything is so picture perfect it feels like I'm walking in an urban park. No grit or realism in the world. Caves are pointless to explore all enemies and loot are scaled to me anyway. When you're exploring everything feels spreadsheety. Oh look, I see somebody in the distance I wonder who they are? Oh wait, sigh, they're an enemy that simply charges at me when they see me. No witty or interesting conversation to be had here. NPCs are robotic and major immersion breakers. There are guards hiding in every closet and basement, just watching and waiting to see if you'll steal that spoon, and then they'll get on their laptops and enter your name in a database, flagged as most wanted, putting every guard in the enter realm on high alert and hunt you down like you're OBL. Oblivion gates are ok the first time. But after the first one, ugh. Bethesda doesn't understand what immersion is so I'm walking on the main road to Kavatch when I see a cave just off the road, along with a big "you have discovered such and such cave", well no sh-t, you put it on the main road like a gas station. Don't want to make this next gen gamer have to go out of their way and discover the cave for themselves they might get frustrated and not buy our next game. Who cares about mystery and exploration when we can just put our dungeons and ruins on the main road like tourist attractions. Along the same road was a goblin encampment. At first I thought they must be friendly goblins being so close to the road and all but no, they attacked me on sight (just like every. single. last. enemy. in. this. game.) Someone should probably tell that guard I just saw that THERE'S A GOBLIN ENCAMPMENT JUST OFF THE MAIN ROAD! If you're looking for a good role playing game then pick up Gothic 3 Enhanced Edition. It's a game where you actually have to buy the world map IN GAME, imagine that Bethesda! Expand
  67. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    I am coming back to review this having invested time in the newly released Elder Scrolls game, Skyrim. While Skyrim is amazing, one can't help but look back at Oblivion. Thus, this review comes.

    I played Morrowind, the game before Oblivion. Unfortunately, I did so after playing Oblivion, and I could clearly see how flawed the game is in comparison to Oblivion. First, though, let me
    I am coming back to review this having invested time in the newly released Elder Scrolls game, Skyrim. While Skyrim is amazing, one can't help but look back at Oblivion. Thus, this review comes.

    I played Morrowind, the game before Oblivion. Unfortunately, I did so after playing Oblivion, and I could clearly see how flawed the game is in comparison to Oblivion.

    First, though, let me praise Oblivion. As one of the best RPGs on the 360, and considering its age, Oblivion is just a blast to play, with so much replayability in it that one could play for hours on end. The combat, much improved from Morrowind, is fun; however, sometimes, usually in the melee combat, it feels floaty and the mechanics aren't perfect. Despite these hiccups, combat is still quite enjoyable, even if you want to be a mage or, like me, a sneaky thief/assassin. The quests are usually fun; there are many that fall flat, those being parts of the main quest or the Fighter's Guild. The Dark Brotherhood and Thieves Guild quests are still fun, no matter how many times I play them.

    Now, on to the flaws. First and foremost is the voice acting. It is great in that every line of dialogue is spoken clearly but...I can only hear the same voice so many times. You will end up hearing the generic Orc, Nord, Imperial, etc. voice many times throughout your adventure. Also, there are problems with the AI. In some instances in the game, where you fight alongside town guards, you'll end up accidentally hitting them; this leads to confusion at the end of the battle, when one will come up to you and demand to take you to jail for assaulting (or killing) a guard. This takes away from the experience.

    Another complaint would be the textures. They sometimes don't load, and you will notice that many of the caves, forts, and ruins do start to look very, very similar. The skill system is also kind of complicated, with major skills going to your level, and minor skills not affecting it at all. This really placed an emphasis on what you choose at the start of the game, narrowing down the freedom as it limits your character's growth.

    Even though it's not perfect, Oblivion is still a good game, and has aged rather well. Skyrim is much improved, but Oblivion will still entangle you. I doubt you'll get as much play time out of it as I did (100+ hours, all achievements) now that there are better RPGs out there, but I still recommend it if you have played Skyrim and want to see some of its origins (and understand some of the references) or you just enjoy fantasy RPGs where you make all the choices.
    Expand
  68. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This game blew me away all those years ago.

    I cannot believe it's been this long. No matter how many people play this game, none of them will have the exact same adventure. Classic game.
  69. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    Undoubtedly, this game is the worst excuse for a piece of electronic data. I had the game for one a matter of hours before deciding to return it the next day. It is worse than all the other washed-up shooters, redundant role-playing-games, and stupid strategy games. It is so very bland, boring, redundant, purpose-defeating, sad, and foreboding in story. I will never buy such an atrocityUndoubtedly, this game is the worst excuse for a piece of electronic data. I had the game for one a matter of hours before deciding to return it the next day. It is worse than all the other washed-up shooters, redundant role-playing-games, and stupid strategy games. It is so very bland, boring, redundant, purpose-defeating, sad, and foreboding in story. I will never buy such an atrocity and leave such a statement for others to view and heed. Expand
  70. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I've played, and it has stood the test of time. In terms of amount of gameplay, only newer Elder Scrolls games can even compete. Shivering Isles was probably the best DLC released for any game ever, and added tons of hours to a game with already limitless playtime. The combat is fun, the story is huge, and it can keep you busy indefinitely.
  71. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Honestly the best game/RPG I have every played. I even happened to get all the achievements without trying to.... on all the DLC. That's how immersive this game was. The plot was so well written with great major twists and missions, followed by engaging side missions. Although, not every mission is fun ( ie. oblivion gates), usually a quick-paced adventure is waiting for you via the nextHonestly the best game/RPG I have every played. I even happened to get all the achievements without trying to.... on all the DLC. That's how immersive this game was. The plot was so well written with great major twists and missions, followed by engaging side missions. Although, not every mission is fun ( ie. oblivion gates), usually a quick-paced adventure is waiting for you via the next mission. I used to hate this game because of the level of difficulty. DON'T GIVE UP ON IT AT FIRST. Realize that some enemies you can't take on until much later in the game. Once you get to level 15 everything starts falling into place ( at least it did for me) from then on I absolutely loved that game, putting 300+ hours into one save game file. It is the single greatest game buy I have made to date. For both quality and quantity. Do yourself a favor and at least try this game out. PLEASE BETHESDA DONT SELL OUT LIKE BIOWARE!

    PS: You can wait to by hitting select ( it also heals you ) and you can fast-travel across the huge map ( hate to admit I didn't know that for the first 16 hours of playing the game)
    Expand
  72. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    A great game marred by poor design decisions. I'll admit I might have rated this a 9 if I hadn't finished Skyrim before writing this review. It's incredibly fun and addicting, but it never is that immersive. It is almost insistent on yanking the player out the world constantly be it from glitches, meta gaming, or just annoying controls. Still really fun and I recommend playing ,even if theA great game marred by poor design decisions. I'll admit I might have rated this a 9 if I hadn't finished Skyrim before writing this review. It's incredibly fun and addicting, but it never is that immersive. It is almost insistent on yanking the player out the world constantly be it from glitches, meta gaming, or just annoying controls. Still really fun and I recommend playing ,even if the ending is a bit anti-climatic. Expand
  73. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    A brilliant rpg with a massive amount to do. Looting is phenomenal, as is exploration and character customization. There are some flaws that people all too often point out, but overall the scale and freedom and fun of this game is absolutely amazing. I tried this game once, didn't like it, put it back. I watched some lets plays and decided to give it another try: best gaming decision IA brilliant rpg with a massive amount to do. Looting is phenomenal, as is exploration and character customization. There are some flaws that people all too often point out, but overall the scale and freedom and fun of this game is absolutely amazing. I tried this game once, didn't like it, put it back. I watched some lets plays and decided to give it another try: best gaming decision I have ever made. This game opened me up to The Elder Scrolls, and after 220 hours and a satisfying playthrough (before the expansion), I can safely say this game is soul-suckingly addicting and absorbs your existence right out of your eyes. 9 / 10 Expand
  74. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Oblivion I think is Bethesda's masterpiece so far. It only really has funny bugs and that at the current update, possibly the last. In Skyrim I have found about 30 game crashing bugs, so I end up playing Oblivion way more.

    Boasting 16 miles squared (40km) of land, it is a pretty massive game. Of course Daggerfall was 487,000 square kilometres but that was randomly generated.
  75. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Ok after Skyrim hiting my No.1 game of all time I had to try Oblivion. Oblivion is a amazing game that should not be given a zero for graphics for a 6 year old game(Graphes are not everything peeps). Now im a huge fan of the Elder Scrolls series. As soon as I compete this gae in getting Morrow Wind. The Elder Scrolls IV: Obivion 9.5/10
  76. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Morrowind had all the style and lacked solid gameplay whereas Skyrim had solid gameplay but lacked any style. Oblivion in reflection had a decent balance of both style and gameplay. A near perfect RPG experience marred only by a few bugs and some odd frame rate issues.
  77. May 13, 2012
    9
    One of the best games on xbox 360. Hugely varied and interesting fantasy landscape with a plethora of things to do from alchemy to smithing to enchanting. The storyline is fantastic and the lead narration from Patrick Stewart sets the scene for an immersive epic from the very opening. Buying your own house to decorate and place your rare loots in never gets old, and the multitude of townsOne of the best games on xbox 360. Hugely varied and interesting fantasy landscape with a plethora of things to do from alchemy to smithing to enchanting. The storyline is fantastic and the lead narration from Patrick Stewart sets the scene for an immersive epic from the very opening. Buying your own house to decorate and place your rare loots in never gets old, and the multitude of towns with differing style makes picking a home for our characters unique and interesting on each play through. Couple this with the ability to buy a mount to explore the vast open landscapes for quests and caves and dungeons and you have an awesome freestyle play experience. The storywriting and voice acting are all top notch as is the gameplay and graphics.
    My only two complaints are as follows: the levelling system, which sees common enemies getting more powerful depending on your level (which kind of makes levelling up pointless) aka getting attacked by a common roadside bandit who has elite weapons and armor because of your level when you passed by the same road earlier in the game to be attacked by a barely dressed struggler with iron weapons; and the glitchiness inherent in the game, with slow load times and the occasional crashing. Overall a superb and ambitious title for the xbox 360.
    Expand
  78. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    First off I would like to say this is one of my favourite games of all time, it took some getting used to (3rd time lucky) but after a few tries I really got into this game. This is the very first RPG I ever played, so it is likely that it took some getting used to because it is a HUGE game, there are a lot of quests to complete, areas to explore, etc. There is only one thing that is wrongFirst off I would like to say this is one of my favourite games of all time, it took some getting used to (3rd time lucky) but after a few tries I really got into this game. This is the very first RPG I ever played, so it is likely that it took some getting used to because it is a HUGE game, there are a lot of quests to complete, areas to explore, etc. There is only one thing that is wrong with this game, and that thing is in the title of the game: OBLIVION. So the world of oblivion is the main plot for this game, basically it is hell and the gates to oblivion have opened in Cyrodiil and you must stop it, that is the generalised plot of the game, I don't like the world of oblivion because it is very repetitive, there are some changes in how it looks in each gate but when you get to the tower, it is mostly the same and it gets very boring after the first few you enter, this wouldn't of been much of a problem but it is the main focus of the game, so it requires you to go through quite a few of them. Now moving onto the things I like and that is pretty much everything else, seriously, I love this game and thank goodness that 90% of the quests do not involve the gates of oblivion, anyway the best quests of the game are the guild quests, there are four major guilds in this game; fighters guild, thieves guild, mages guild and my favourite: The Dark Brotherhood. What is so good about these quests is that they are very fun to do, especially the dark brotherhood ones which require you to kill in anyway you want to. To summarise; if you can get past the frustration of the oblivion realm. then you will have a lot of fun in the world of Cyrodiil, with vibrant colours and massive areas, you will be hooked on Elder Scrolls 4 for hours upon hours upon hours. 9/10 Expand
  79. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    Easily one of my most played games ever, Oblivion introduced me to the accessible open world RPG, and after many many hours of complete immersion amongst the amazing forest landscape, I finally realized that I had completed everything. Great fun.
  80. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    After spending 50h+ into this game im more than delighted by the quality of today's so often almost mindless games. Yes i am playing Bf3 and CoD and enjoying them too but neither of those titles can give me the feel as when you fight your way through the dark plains of the Oblivion realm, finding that new great enchanted glass-sword or just simply exploring the beautiful world for newAfter spending 50h+ into this game im more than delighted by the quality of today's so often almost mindless games. Yes i am playing Bf3 and CoD and enjoying them too but neither of those titles can give me the feel as when you fight your way through the dark plains of the Oblivion realm, finding that new great enchanted glass-sword or just simply exploring the beautiful world for new dungeons or even ingredients. It was released in 2006 and i would say that it looks better than the most games released just one or two years ago, and not because of the details in the textures but by the design of everything in the game. From the wooden houses of Bruma to the dark and red of towers in the Oblivion dimension. It looks great, its all created with such creative joy which is easily noticed throughout the whole game. The story is intriguing if you just put some time into actually listening to what the people have to say, and with all the side-quests it's a game that would last for days after days. Everything about this game makes you want to play it for hours upon hours. It does contain its flaws though. The Ai might be a bit jerky sometimes and the faces might look goofy but that isn't but that is never something that ruins the overall experience of the game. Oblivion offers a lot of variety, and often a lot of twists to the regular gameplay. I would recommend this game to anyone who wants a great immersive singleplayer-game that will only leave you with the urge to find that last gem for your jewellery-collection or that one missing piece of armor. I cant promise that everyone would appreciate the qualities of this game though, but give it a try even though your not a huge rpg player it still delivers a great experience. Expand
  81. May 27, 2013
    10
    I haven't played this game in a few years but I am going back and retroactivly scoring them. While it is not as beautiful as Skyrim is today. For it's time it was an amazing game. It felt like a living breathing word which you happened upon. The fighting and magic were well done. Most of the quests were entertaining. My only complaing was that 3rd person looked atrocious, but since theI haven't played this game in a few years but I am going back and retroactivly scoring them. While it is not as beautiful as Skyrim is today. For it's time it was an amazing game. It felt like a living breathing word which you happened upon. The fighting and magic were well done. Most of the quests were entertaining. My only complaing was that 3rd person looked atrocious, but since the game is meant to be played in first person, I'll let it slide. Expand
  82. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    This is the game that convinced me to buy an XBox 360. At the time, the visuals just blew me away as I had not sen anything like it before. The main quest is rather short, but the realm is huge with tons of exploration. Cyrodill is just extremely beautiful and a marvel to behold. NPCs are a bit flat and the leveling system a bit unbalanced, but other than that this game is fantastic.This is the game that convinced me to buy an XBox 360. At the time, the visuals just blew me away as I had not sen anything like it before. The main quest is rather short, but the realm is huge with tons of exploration. Cyrodill is just extremely beautiful and a marvel to behold. NPCs are a bit flat and the leveling system a bit unbalanced, but other than that this game is fantastic. Overall: A fantastic game and a wonderful introduction to the 360 for me. Expand
  83. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    Oblivion can be a frustrating experience, you are presented with an intriguing setting that doesn't live up to its potential. I found myself wanting more out of the various regions in Cyrodill. The leveling system leaves much to be desired, you can quickly find yourself out-matched if you aren't careful. Despite this glaring flaw, Oblivion stands as a monumental achievement in gaming.
  84. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This game is great. At the time of release, there was nothing quite like it. Sure the inventory and menus were a the voice acting was terrible and every goddamn NPC was ugly. But never before has a game given someone so much freedom to do whatever you want. The game isn't for everyone, especially those with low attention spans, or little patience. Sometimes the game can be downrightThis game is great. At the time of release, there was nothing quite like it. Sure the inventory and menus were a the voice acting was terrible and every goddamn NPC was ugly. But never before has a game given someone so much freedom to do whatever you want. The game isn't for everyone, especially those with low attention spans, or little patience. Sometimes the game can be downright boring, and the bugs will make you lose up to 10 hours of gameplay, and yet its still a masterpiece. Expand
  85. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    Fantastic world to play in, very well done, you can see that the designers appreciate what they are making. Another game that steals hours of my time:)
  86. Aug 7, 2013
    5
    Crazy Overrated. Skyrim proves why this game is such a dud.

    1) The World is big but ITS ALL THE SAME. The whole place is lush green, towns are similar, and NPC's are static with the same voice actors 2) Persuading NPC's is not intuitive and all luck which severely affects quest outcomes, payment for items, etc 3) Dungeons are repetitive maps 4) Oblivion Gates are chores to get
    Crazy Overrated. Skyrim proves why this game is such a dud.

    1) The World is big but ITS ALL THE SAME. The whole place is lush green, towns are similar, and NPC's are static with the same voice actors

    2) Persuading NPC's is not intuitive and all luck which severely affects quest outcomes, payment for items, etc

    3) Dungeons are repetitive maps

    4) Oblivion Gates are chores to get through with no relief. They are get in get out affairs and rush back home to relax

    5) Those are horses? they act like coast rugs with little value

    6) No houses to buy, no women to marry, nothing to do but join a couple guilds and fetch this for some money you don't wanna spend on anything cause there is nothing to buy

    This game is a bore. Morrowind was geographically interesting although flawed. Skyrim gets everything right except the voice acting.

    I think people just wanted to love some of the early xbox 360 games that were released because this game doesn't stand the test of time.

    Want Proof? Ask anyone that has played Skyrim or Oblivion which game they would rather play It will be Skyrim everytime which means this game can't be a 10 and shouldn't even be in green numbers
    Expand
  87. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    At this point Oblivion is SUPER outdated. I bought it recently to see what all the fuss was about. I have played Skyrim and I must say that Bethesda did a really good job with it, so I expected nothing less than excellent from Oblivion. I was honestly somewhat bored with it just like how I was really bored with Skyrim until I began to understand the mechanics and what the game really hadAt this point Oblivion is SUPER outdated. I bought it recently to see what all the fuss was about. I have played Skyrim and I must say that Bethesda did a really good job with it, so I expected nothing less than excellent from Oblivion. I was honestly somewhat bored with it just like how I was really bored with Skyrim until I began to understand the mechanics and what the game really had to offer. I didn't really find that in Oblivion. I played through the main story line and didn't really find much value in playing it again. I had some fun playing it like I have fun playing most Role Playing Games but I didn't find myself completely immersed in it like a lot of people did. I guess it's my fault for playing Skyrim first :P Expand
  88. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can I say about Oblivion? Cheap, dull, and weird. Pretty much sums up Oblivion. The sequel to Morrowind, and the ugly step child of all the Elder Scroll series. In the game you start off as the Hero of Cyrodiil, the Empire's homeland of Tamriel where the entire game takes place. You are a prisoner who, by fate of the Nine Gods, meets Uriel Septim, the Emperor of all Tamriel, who notices you are the person from his dreams and that he knows his death is near. You are given freedom soon after you follow them from a secret passage way they end up taking. This is the games tutorial area, and character building area. As the weapons and skills you use define who you are, though you can change them near the end of it. Once released from the sewers you are allowed to roam all of Cyrodiil and see all the sights and wonders. The game fits well with what it is, but where it breaks is characters, as they seem lifeless and just ugly looking. The combat is ok, but lacks any type of diversity, making you settle for the same character skill set for the entire game. Quest are fun and diverse though, as you can be an assassin, a fighter, and even a mage from certain guilds. But this is the bad thing: The Dark Brotherhood quest can fit any role, but the Fighter's Guild and Mage's Guild fit only for a certain character that may or may not be your own (Unless you want to do it the hard way).

    The story can be really boring, unless you want to be apart of the lore which then can make you understand what is going on. But it's also tedious to close all the Oblivion Gates, as the area just seems the same through and through. It's a challenge no less, as the Daedra fight both with sword, bow, and spell. It gets pretty tense as the fate of all Nirn rest on you... but it breaks the immersion that you know your going to succeed.

    Graphics are just as it was going for a cartoon-like setting, but it makes a poor choice for a game like this as it was to immerse you and make you the gritty Hero from the Divine Gods. But the colorful expression made it ok.

    You can replay this game may times if you like it, but can get old after the first ten characters. Play as Monk or a Hand-to-hand. It can get funny and fun.
    Expand
  89. May 26, 2013
    10
    Oblivion is by far one of the best games of all time, hands down. Great attention to detail, interesting quests and multiple storylines, a massive world to explore, and a multitude of weapons and spells to unleash on your opponents. I'm struggling to find things Bethesda did wrong with this game... Perhaps the animations could be a bit smooter, the bugs ironed out, and the levelingOblivion is by far one of the best games of all time, hands down. Great attention to detail, interesting quests and multiple storylines, a massive world to explore, and a multitude of weapons and spells to unleash on your opponents. I'm struggling to find things Bethesda did wrong with this game... Perhaps the animations could be a bit smooter, the bugs ironed out, and the leveling system fixed, but these are now expeced with every Bethesda game, and cannot be avoided with a game this large.

    Overall, if you don't already own this game, you should probably do so. Even if you haven't played Morrowind, or any other Bethesda game for that matter, you owe it to yourself to buy this game.
    Expand
  90. May 12, 2013
    8
    Oblivion sets you up in a world to fend for yourself. Nobody holds your hand. For someone who hasn't played many open world RPGs, this is not good news. You really have to have previous knowledge to get started in this game. I found myself, a newbie to the open-world RPGs, frustrated at every corner. I suggest it's sequel, Skyrim, to people who haven't played games like this before. It isOblivion sets you up in a world to fend for yourself. Nobody holds your hand. For someone who hasn't played many open world RPGs, this is not good news. You really have to have previous knowledge to get started in this game. I found myself, a newbie to the open-world RPGs, frustrated at every corner. I suggest it's sequel, Skyrim, to people who haven't played games like this before. It is ever-so-slightly more newbie-friendly.

    That aside, it's a great game. It's legendary. When I found out it was released in 2006 I couldn't believe it. The graphics are lovely, the gameplay is lovely, the map is lovely. However, I cannot give this game a high rating just because of how unfriendly it is to new players.
    Expand
  91. May 30, 2013
    9
    One of the greatest RPG's of all time. Oblivion is a gem. A large open world, lots of literature to read, many quests and things to do and a wonderful combat system. Though it comes with its fair share of glitches, it's no excuse to not play this game. You thought Skyrim was good? Well you haven't played Oblivion. Just go! Buy this game and thank me later!
  92. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    Don't know why, but I just couldn't get into Oblivion. Dated graphics, uninteresting gameplay and repetitive missions. It was a chore to beat. I didn't like it, which is weird considering I love Skyrim.
  93. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    even though I have mixed feelings about Skyrim I loved oblivion. it is one of the best RPGs ever in my opinon and you should get it and i will tell you why
    pros: Story and characters, memorable dynamic storys you make on your own or through the quests, oblivion gates, Daedra are really cool villains, combat is good for a 2006 game, large amount of interesting content, the guilds have
    even though I have mixed feelings about Skyrim I loved oblivion. it is one of the best RPGs ever in my opinon and you should get it and i will tell you why
    pros: Story and characters, memorable dynamic storys you make on your own or through the quests, oblivion gates, Daedra are really cool villains, combat is good for a 2006 game, large amount of interesting content, the guilds have interesting storys and actvities and help power up your skills in each respective class (fighter= warrior mages guild= wizards thieves guild= theives duh dark brotherhood= assasins arena= whatever you dang want) spell creating
    cons= level up system (level up wrong and lose every fight after) kind of disappointing main story climax, character models are poorly designed, in the dialogue system the camera zooms in onto the NPCs face as time stops for everything else and you basically select the subject of the conversation rather then what you say
    all in all oblivion is an amazing game worth every penny of its purchase price and with expansions like the shivering isles and knights of the nine there is plenty of content once you finish all of the original game (which i doubt would happen)
    Expand
  94. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all time. The amount of options and possibilities in this game makes it so unique, apart from other RPG's. Skyrim is a very good game, but I have never enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Oblivion. Just running around in the beautiful cities and landscapes, to explore all the amazing things in this game (while gaining levels, yeah). You never have a dull moment, at least IMy favorite game of all time. The amount of options and possibilities in this game makes it so unique, apart from other RPG's. Skyrim is a very good game, but I have never enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Oblivion. Just running around in the beautiful cities and landscapes, to explore all the amazing things in this game (while gaining levels, yeah). You never have a dull moment, at least I didn't, in Oblivion! PERIOD! Expand
  95. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    Oblivion is easily one of the greatest games out there on the xbox 360! you will find yourself playing this game for hours and hours on end the story is great! the combat is good the graphics look amazing even for a 8 year old game! but at times the game lags and can affect you during combat. And the soundtrack is..... Freaking amazing. So if you can buy this for either console or pc getOblivion is easily one of the greatest games out there on the xbox 360! you will find yourself playing this game for hours and hours on end the story is great! the combat is good the graphics look amazing even for a 8 year old game! but at times the game lags and can affect you during combat. And the soundtrack is..... Freaking amazing. So if you can buy this for either console or pc get it it is worth our money! Expand
  96. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (few changes to an already enjoyable system, but not all for the better)
    Polish: 4 /5 (much improved graphics, but slightly less coherent aesthetic than Morrowind) Value: 5 /5 (as always, a huge open world with virtually unmatched replay potential) ---Review--- Yes, the game world is by all standards large and looks immensely better than that of Morrowind,
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (few changes to an already enjoyable system, but not all for the better)
    Polish: 4 /5 (much improved graphics, but slightly less coherent aesthetic than Morrowind)
    Value: 5 /5 (as always, a huge open world with virtually unmatched replay potential)

    ---Review---
    Yes, the game world is by all standards large and looks immensely better than that of Morrowind, but at the same time I have found that Oblivion sorely lacks the sense of imminent danger and risk that made its predecessor such an exciting experience.

    Part of this might have to do with the loot and dungeon leveling system that I personally despised (but which might appeal to casual players and fans of more conventional dungeon crawls), but the ease of virtually unlimited fast travel and omnipresent quest markers also contribute to the suffocating odor of unnecessary streamlining.

    Even if such ease-and-efficiency-of-use oriented features seem to be somewhat at odds with TES' trademark free-roaming at-your-leisure exploration, the latter thankfully remains intact. The dungeons tend to be boring and repetitive, but the setting of Cyrodiil is rather interestingly varied if a bit lacking in overall cohesion.

    Of course the world itself isn't perfectly convincing, and neither is it entirely realistic in how it reacts to the player's actions, but for a game of Oblivion's scope that's asking quite a lot. There are many things that Oblivion does very impressively, such that most players should be able to overlook- if somewhat begrudgingly- its few but obvious flaws.
    Expand
  97. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Oblivion, like its older brothers, is a timeless classic. that's all that needs to be said on behalf of this masterpiece. but for curios people who don't know oblivion is one of those few games that bring the game play, storytelling and visuals to a whole new level. Bethesda truly set the bar for the Xbox 360's launch and to this day Oblivion still holds up in every way. simply put if youOblivion, like its older brothers, is a timeless classic. that's all that needs to be said on behalf of this masterpiece. but for curios people who don't know oblivion is one of those few games that bring the game play, storytelling and visuals to a whole new level. Bethesda truly set the bar for the Xbox 360's launch and to this day Oblivion still holds up in every way. simply put if you have never had the pleasure of playing this game now is as good a time as any especially with the next gen under-way you'll be able to get this game at a bargain and believe me it'll be worth every penny Expand
  98. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    This is a great game. The things I hated about Morrowind is gone but the only problem I have with this game is the guide arrow & how the game feels so piecefull that if you want to get in a fight then you will have to go into a cave, ruins, ect.
  99. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Great game, huge map to explore and countless quests to complete. Don't be fooled by the WoW nerds who are giving this game poor reviews to try to lower the score. The game is fun and you can easily spend 50+ hours on this game without even touching the main quest.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.