The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1063 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    Just like Skyrim, the leveling system of this game is abysmal. Since enemies level up with you, there's a feeling of a lack of progress. Games which are this open have problems like this.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    The game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in theThe game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in the quality of the voice-overs which is poor at best, as well as the amount of actors that are involved in the process. There's about 12 of them. For like 120 characters. Seriously. The amount of quests is severely limited - at least cut in half (optimistically...). Another extremely annoying feature of this game is the fact that enemies level up with the player character which not only makes you feel like you're not leveling at all but on the higher levels you get weaker and weaker compared to enemies... But I could forgive all that if the exploration was more rewarding. And let me tell you - it is almost not rewarding at all. You wander into a a dungeon with enemies and loot generated to match your level, then to another which looks completely the same, then another... almost same dungeon? Yes. For real. Sadly. This means not only extreme boredom and no point at all to exploring dungeons. It means you will never encounter unique items and powerful artifacts in dungeons you explore - like it was in Morrowind. The only things that are actually improved since Morrowind are the combat system - which makes you feel like you're actually fighting and not just swinging a sword like a puppet - and special bonuses that you gain leveling the skills. Every 25 points up to 100 in a skill gives you a special ability your character can perform. Example: 100 in acrobatics means you will be able to jump on the water, 100 in swords will give you a special move etc. These things are nice but do not make up for all the setbacks mentioned, The plot. Well. The plot is just the most horrible abomination I have ever seen in a would-be RPG game - why would-be? because in RPG you actually have some choices which influence the world in some way, here your only choices are whether to complete a quest or when to do it, which are not choices at all. Anyway, the plot is linear as hell, you have no control over the outcome of the game. You are not even the main character of the game - you only help him while he takes all the credit for all that tedious dungeoncrawling! The factions are present as before - you do quests and make your way up in the chain of command. But these are pretty boring too. The only one I really enjoyed somehow was the Dark Brotherhood and, the Thieves Guild (but not as much). Overall - if you have too much time to waste you may as well take this game up, but it is nothing special. The bigger DLCs like Mehrunes Razor and Shivering Isles can improve the game's situation but I am rating the base game now so... It doesn't stand anywhere near Morrowind in terms of fun, content or the story line. Why would Bethesda simplify their game so much? I don't know. Nor I want to know. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    The graphics are great and the voice acting is great. The music is ok, but forgettable. The story is ok, but very generic. But where the game fails is gameplay. The leveling system is broken, and the gameplay is boring, so very boring.
  4. H3J4
    May 6, 2007
    7
    The thing about this game is, you have to be totally into RPG type games and you need to be happy with the face value the game has. I like to play a game thoroughly. I enjoy beating what the game has to offer and exploring every bit of land on here. BUT. The land is often very bland meters outside of the character. Repeating many people, I know I will be. But how many times will it take The thing about this game is, you have to be totally into RPG type games and you need to be happy with the face value the game has. I like to play a game thoroughly. I enjoy beating what the game has to offer and exploring every bit of land on here. BUT. The land is often very bland meters outside of the character. Repeating many people, I know I will be. But how many times will it take to get Bethesda to look at these things for the next game they put out? I got may character to a level thirty-one and the game craps out about two minutes after I load the game. I tried buying a new disc because maybe I played it out. WRONG. I can't even finishe looking for all the icons on the map or finishing random freeform quests before it stops reading the disc. The graphics are certainly better than most games, but I've seen quite a few glitches and jumpy loading areas. If you can fix this, I'd like to see it on XBL as a patch for the glitches that you seemed to have not seen other than the first patch that automatically gets put on your game when purchasing expansions on the game. Another conflict is, when purchasing all the packs, vile layer conflicts with knights of the Nine for me and people I know have also found that to be a problem. I ended up having to delete one of them before the other would work. It was quite a shame and a waste of money for something I can't even use. And with the leveled thing, ya know, how other characters level with you and the armor and such... How does a penniless bandit who steals to live come across glass, elven, daedric and mithril armor. Don't let me forget the random orcish pieces. Have they gone into Oblivion before me? Highly unlikely unless they were to run in have someone chase them out kill them (also highly unlikely) and steal their armor? Think it over guys. Keep going Bethesda, the gameplay only gets better as more games come out! And I'm sure I'd like to see more of these games. Just.. Don't get lazy on the details. It's a hard job but come on. You get payed for it. I've only covered some of the problems, but, I'd still buy the next game to come out. Expand
  5. TimZ.
    Mar 23, 2006
    7
    I am getting bored after 2 hors of playing. It is nothing that has not been overplayed on the PC and it plays kinda clunky. No challenge and no strategy needed.
  6. UwePoll
    May 2, 2006
    7
    A flawed game that can't live up to its own ambitions. Simply put, when you try to make a believable game world like this, the inconsistencies tend to stick out and become very obvious. Still very compelling, but certainly not the masterpiece it's made out to be.
  7. NickP
    Mar 21, 2006
    7
    If you played Morrowind you know exactly what to expect. The visuals are incredible and the minor tweaks and improvements over Morrowind are notable although not so much so that Obilivion reinvents itself. It is nice to see that the game is challenging when the difficulty meter is maxed. I just wish something more was done with the combat and magic systems.
  8. ChrisS
    Dec 6, 2009
    6
    Oblivion is one of the most overated games I have ever played. It is in no way bad, It's just completely mediocre. Here are some flaws the critics have failed to see. The story is boring and predictable because there isn't a single plot turn or anything unexpected in it's entirety. Voice acting is appalling. During the game you'll meet hundreds of AI who have the exact Oblivion is one of the most overated games I have ever played. It is in no way bad, It's just completely mediocre. Here are some flaws the critics have failed to see. The story is boring and predictable because there isn't a single plot turn or anything unexpected in it's entirety. Voice acting is appalling. During the game you'll meet hundreds of AI who have the exact same voice actor. It feels like the citizens of cyrodiil are only voiced by eight people. And almost everything they have to say is unbelievable and cheesey. Especially the infinite usage of the phrase, "WELL PAY WITH YOUR BLOOD" used by the soldiers of cyrodiil. All of the main characters are cliched and lack a personality. Gameplay depends too much on combat. The leveling up system is poor. And the game is very glitchy. I just don't think Oblivion deserves all of the the perfect ratings it has recieved. Expand
  9. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    6
    Random dungeon crawls are entertaining for a while, but this game failed to convince me that my actions were important. It felt like being pushed around Disneyland in a wheelchair by a beautiful yet bored woman who's pretending to be interested in everything.
  10. Jun 1, 2011
    5
    I tried to get into this game, but it wouldn't let me in. It's too big for it's own good, you can walk for some time before finding anything to do, and it's menus were kind of confusing. It's story was bland, it's characters uninteresting and it's landscape as vast as it is familiar. I hope you liked that tree, because you will see it a lot. It's leveling system is odd and, with levelI tried to get into this game, but it wouldn't let me in. It's too big for it's own good, you can walk for some time before finding anything to do, and it's menus were kind of confusing. It's story was bland, it's characters uninteresting and it's landscape as vast as it is familiar. I hope you liked that tree, because you will see it a lot. It's leveling system is odd and, with level scaling enemies, kind of unnecessary. Many people like this game, but it didn't age well for me. Expand
  11. Sep 8, 2011
    6
    i liked the games concept and combat but i had huge issues with glitches and objective confusion to the piont where i couldn't continue playing the game. Typical Bethesda :(
  12. Aug 7, 2013
    5
    Crazy Overrated. Skyrim proves why this game is such a dud.

    1) The World is big but ITS ALL THE SAME. The whole place is lush green, towns are similar, and NPC's are static with the same voice actors 2) Persuading NPC's is not intuitive and all luck which severely affects quest outcomes, payment for items, etc 3) Dungeons are repetitive maps 4) Oblivion Gates are chores to get
    Crazy Overrated. Skyrim proves why this game is such a dud.

    1) The World is big but ITS ALL THE SAME. The whole place is lush green, towns are similar, and NPC's are static with the same voice actors

    2) Persuading NPC's is not intuitive and all luck which severely affects quest outcomes, payment for items, etc

    3) Dungeons are repetitive maps

    4) Oblivion Gates are chores to get through with no relief. They are get in get out affairs and rush back home to relax

    5) Those are horses? they act like coast rugs with little value

    6) No houses to buy, no women to marry, nothing to do but join a couple guilds and fetch this for some money you don't wanna spend on anything cause there is nothing to buy

    This game is a bore. Morrowind was geographically interesting although flawed. Skyrim gets everything right except the voice acting.

    I think people just wanted to love some of the early xbox 360 games that were released because this game doesn't stand the test of time.

    Want Proof? Ask anyone that has played Skyrim or Oblivion which game they would rather play It will be Skyrim everytime which means this game can't be a 10 and shouldn't even be in green numbers
    Expand
  13. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    At this point Oblivion is SUPER outdated. I bought it recently to see what all the fuss was about. I have played Skyrim and I must say that Bethesda did a really good job with it, so I expected nothing less than excellent from Oblivion. I was honestly somewhat bored with it just like how I was really bored with Skyrim until I began to understand the mechanics and what the game really hadAt this point Oblivion is SUPER outdated. I bought it recently to see what all the fuss was about. I have played Skyrim and I must say that Bethesda did a really good job with it, so I expected nothing less than excellent from Oblivion. I was honestly somewhat bored with it just like how I was really bored with Skyrim until I began to understand the mechanics and what the game really had to offer. I didn't really find that in Oblivion. I played through the main story line and didn't really find much value in playing it again. I had some fun playing it like I have fun playing most Role Playing Games but I didn't find myself completely immersed in it like a lot of people did. I guess it's my fault for playing Skyrim first :P Expand
  14. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can I say about Oblivion? Cheap, dull, and weird. Pretty much sums up Oblivion. The sequel to Morrowind, and the ugly step child of all the Elder Scroll series. In the game you start off as the Hero of Cyrodiil, the Empire's homeland of Tamriel where the entire game takes place. You are a prisoner who, by fate of the Nine Gods, meets Uriel Septim, the Emperor of all Tamriel, who notices you are the person from his dreams and that he knows his death is near. You are given freedom soon after you follow them from a secret passage way they end up taking. This is the games tutorial area, and character building area. As the weapons and skills you use define who you are, though you can change them near the end of it. Once released from the sewers you are allowed to roam all of Cyrodiil and see all the sights and wonders. The game fits well with what it is, but where it breaks is characters, as they seem lifeless and just ugly looking. The combat is ok, but lacks any type of diversity, making you settle for the same character skill set for the entire game. Quest are fun and diverse though, as you can be an assassin, a fighter, and even a mage from certain guilds. But this is the bad thing: The Dark Brotherhood quest can fit any role, but the Fighter's Guild and Mage's Guild fit only for a certain character that may or may not be your own (Unless you want to do it the hard way).

    The story can be really boring, unless you want to be apart of the lore which then can make you understand what is going on. But it's also tedious to close all the Oblivion Gates, as the area just seems the same through and through. It's a challenge no less, as the Daedra fight both with sword, bow, and spell. It gets pretty tense as the fate of all Nirn rest on you... but it breaks the immersion that you know your going to succeed.

    Graphics are just as it was going for a cartoon-like setting, but it makes a poor choice for a game like this as it was to immerse you and make you the gritty Hero from the Divine Gods. But the colorful expression made it ok.

    You can replay this game may times if you like it, but can get old after the first ten characters. Play as Monk or a Hand-to-hand. It can get funny and fun.
    Expand
  15. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    Don't know why, but I just couldn't get into Oblivion. Dated graphics, uninteresting gameplay and repetitive missions. It was a chore to beat. I didn't like it, which is weird considering I love Skyrim.
  16. Syc
    Nov 8, 2006
    5
    Gives the illusion of loads to do wonderfully and the gameworld looks great. Get to the meat of any quests though and you'll find they are uninspired, linear and often dull to a degree that would be frowned upon in any other game. boring combat, an uninteresting story and bugs galore round this game out as one of the biggest disappointments of the year.
  17. DaveR.
    Mar 26, 2006
    5
    Oblivion offers a hugh environment with very little excitement and adventure. The graphics are phenomenal, except for the many instances of area loading, poor draw distance, pop-up fillin, and framerate stutter. The gameplay is extremely boring after the first 10 hours. The battle sequences are engaging, yet lack enough frequency. The AI is truly pitiful. The lockpicking puzzles lack Oblivion offers a hugh environment with very little excitement and adventure. The graphics are phenomenal, except for the many instances of area loading, poor draw distance, pop-up fillin, and framerate stutter. The gameplay is extremely boring after the first 10 hours. The battle sequences are engaging, yet lack enough frequency. The AI is truly pitiful. The lockpicking puzzles lack intrigue and become rather repetitive and annoying. I wholeheartedly agree that this is the most overhyped RPG of all time. I am seriously considering selling my XBOX 360 and returning to the PC world. Expand
  18. FPSMaster
    Mar 27, 2006
    5
    Since so many people were disappointed with Halo 2, mainly the people that kept overhyping it for themselves(myself being one of them), I decided not to get caught up into the hype for this game like every other person on every game board across the world. Especially seeing as this is not the kind of game everyone can just jump into, like Halo 2, but more of a hardcore type of RPG that Since so many people were disappointed with Halo 2, mainly the people that kept overhyping it for themselves(myself being one of them), I decided not to get caught up into the hype for this game like every other person on every game board across the world. Especially seeing as this is not the kind of game everyone can just jump into, like Halo 2, but more of a hardcore type of RPG that only a select few RPG players can actually get into and even less that can stay into it for a few months or years until they've seen everything. Most of those people overhyping this never played any of the other Elder Scrolls games and have no idea what they're in for. They just wanted a new game on the 360, and got caught up in this hype just because there is still nothing on the 360 we haven't already seen a million times before on last gen consoles(yes, I'm pointing at you GRAW). But it didn't matter to me either way. I hated Morrowind, not because it was bad, but because it was more of a walking simulator with no direction, too much talking and too overwhelming for anyone that has anything else going on in their lives that would keep them from being able to sit down for 18 hours a day to actually become good at that game. Oblivion is the same game, with slightly better graphics, more features and more of what Fable was supposed to do but the Xbox couldn't handle. It still has a lot of pop-up, way more than it had last year in the original supposed in-game videos, the framerates are really bad outdoors, loading screens pop-up every 2 minutes creating a jerky atmosphere almost always, the fighting and menu systems are still clunky as Hell and make you feel like you're not always in control and it still has no direction meaning you will be wandering a map the size of the state of Texas never knowing what the Hell is going on and only hoping you happen to stumble across something of importance. Night time completely sucks, as do dark caves, since I have to turn the game brightness all the way up to see anything farther than 2 feet in front of me. Which brings me to the in-game clock: it's way too fast just like the Ocarina of Time. Why not put it on an actual 24 hour clock like WoW instead of a 24 hour period lasting for maybe an hour in real-time? The A.I. is terrible, so they are either really stupid or you can kill someone with no one around, travel 20 miles away and still have a guard arrest you that was never at the place where you broke the law to begin with. You can't get away with anything in this game, which is what made Morrowind what is was...freedom. That's gone now when it comes to doing what you want when you want, other than walking all over the place and seeing the sights(which is the ony decent part of the game now). Leveling up seems to either just happen randomly or is impossible for some gamers, meaning some will be able to fight anythign without trying early on and others will not be able to kill a damn wolf without dying several times 10 hours inot the game. Another overhyped game that is still good, but nothing like what I expected coming from the 360 hardware. Pop-up and draw-in should have died during the 32 bit era, but still reared it's ugly head last gen and now is rearing it's ugly head again this gen in just about every game with any type of outdoor environs, even when lesser powerd PCs with the same games have none of these issues. I wonder what this game could have been if they had not rushed it out so early in the 360's life when the hardware is still mythical and no one is really sure what to do with it. I guess we'll never know, that is until they put out some promised graphical and gameplay downloads for it that we have to pay extra for down the road even after we spent $70 on the game itself. No thanks. Bethesda is now the same to me as Bungie, id, Valve and Lionhead...studios with talent that don't actually put it to good use but still use their names to hype their games farther than any game will actualy be able to surpass. To me, this game is just as big of a lie as every other overhyped game that didn't deliver. It's just like Halo 2 in that respect: highly unbalanced and strictly average at best. A huge I'LL PASS. Expand
  19. AdamB.
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    This game is amazingly deep, and posesses stunning, tech-demo-quality graphics, but it's nothing fundamentally different gameplay-wise than the previous Scrolls game, Morrowind. Where is the Bioware-quality dialog engine? The online multiplayer? The silky-smooth combat mechanics with intelligent enemy AI? Extremely over-hyped, clunky controls, huge load times, and a bit slow moving, This game is amazingly deep, and posesses stunning, tech-demo-quality graphics, but it's nothing fundamentally different gameplay-wise than the previous Scrolls game, Morrowind. Where is the Bioware-quality dialog engine? The online multiplayer? The silky-smooth combat mechanics with intelligent enemy AI? Extremely over-hyped, clunky controls, huge load times, and a bit slow moving, but worth a play, especially for fans of Morrowind. Expand
  20. mr.poo
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    + awesome graphix; huge, interesting world; fantastic atmosphere, music, effects; brilliant design; great depth in pretty much everything

    - can be too big so loses interest; path in missions seems too defined - hard to 'screw up'; not enough mental thought needed; strong U.S. accents in fantasy world are off-putting; i agree with previous review level scaling sux. if its a
    + awesome graphix; huge, interesting world; fantastic atmosphere, music, effects; brilliant design; great depth in pretty much everything

    - can be too big so loses interest; path in missions seems too defined - hard to 'screw up'; not enough mental thought needed; strong U.S. accents in fantasy world are off-putting; i agree with previous review level scaling sux. if its a hard dungeon, just don't go in there! wait til you're strong enuff!
    Expand
  21. PaulO.
    Feb 6, 2007
    7
    Well, as one other review said, this is not as good as Baldur's Gate 2- the best game ever- it is also not worth 10. This game is good, but not brilliant and more than any other game really has me in two totally different minds. It is addictive and does amaze on HD- despite load times and some graphical hitches. It does reward eventually and you do get a sense of satisfaction at Well, as one other review said, this is not as good as Baldur's Gate 2- the best game ever- it is also not worth 10. This game is good, but not brilliant and more than any other game really has me in two totally different minds. It is addictive and does amaze on HD- despite load times and some graphical hitches. It does reward eventually and you do get a sense of satisfaction at these rewards. The Arena and Dark Brotherhood ideas are fantastic and fun (but need more audience members in the arena!). The towns are well designed and buying houses is a treat. But it is a frustrating game in a lot of ways because on the one hand it offers so much and on the other hand can be very annoying, very slow and not varied enough. The crashes, frequent load times and comments from NPC's when you try to persuade them just make you want to kick in your television sometimes. Also, as has been said, there are not enough NPC's and general life and activity in the towns- most noticeable due to the other outstanding aspects of the game. The spells are not visually stunning and there are limitations to the combat system but with improved skills this does get better. Persistence is the key. I have spent many stolen hours going through this game, so there must be something in it- addiction is definately the word and my girlfriend hates it. In the end, it seems that the game developers have tried to do everything and built on a strong tradition of RPG's to make a masterpiece. Maybe, in the end, they have been too ambitious and not been able to avoid the trap of leaving us wanting in some respects. I have played this for more hours than other 360 games, so I guess you could call it value for money. But it still is not my favorite 360 game... Expand
  22. PallaK.
    May 12, 2007
    7
    I agree with Jace N. comment. This game is a huge empty world. If only they could attach little story or quest to all the places found in game, doesn't matter if these quests were specified or not but at least give us some motivation for visitng 100's of non-quest places. EMPTy.
  23. TonyS
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    The world is huge but uninspired. Everything is the same. The combat is boring (click click click click!), you can't even see how much damage you're doing.
  24. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    7
    *sigh* I cant deny how EPIC this game feels and how much effort that has been put into it. Buts its so damn hard to actually enjoy, it actualyl feels like a job. Look I know most RPG's arnt all about the fun but more about a feeling of accomplishment, and i admit when u do level up in this game it takes so damn long it does give a feeling of achievement. But to be honest its really *sigh* I cant deny how EPIC this game feels and how much effort that has been put into it. Buts its so damn hard to actually enjoy, it actualyl feels like a job. Look I know most RPG's arnt all about the fun but more about a feeling of accomplishment, and i admit when u do level up in this game it takes so damn long it does give a feeling of achievement. But to be honest its really not work your time. I do enjoy playing it to a certain degree but if someone presented me with Fable: Lost Chapters or Dues Ex (If you havnt tried this game, its my 2nd favoruate game and I would very much recommend it to everyone) then i would much rather choose them. The classing and skills, although complex, ur actual development is only really noticable after a extreme shedload of leveling up. and it just doesnt feel like it was worth it. You know something, if your game crashed and you havnt saved for a good couple of levels, i can guarentee youll just say "ah I cant be arsed!" And turn it off and do something more creative Expand
  25. ChristopherP
    Jun 8, 2009
    7
    Interesting for its scale and scope, but not so much for its gameplay or story. Combat is stiff, boring, and repetitive; environments are overly similar; many of the character models are disgustingly ugly; the "level scaling" system is more annoying than fun; the omnipotent and all-seeing guards are frustrating; the game-world is far from seeming living and natural; and there is an almost Interesting for its scale and scope, but not so much for its gameplay or story. Combat is stiff, boring, and repetitive; environments are overly similar; many of the character models are disgustingly ugly; the "level scaling" system is more annoying than fun; the omnipotent and all-seeing guards are frustrating; the game-world is far from seeming living and natural; and there is an almost endless variety of small problems that add up to hinder the experience. But, for some reason, it's hard to stop playing in favor of doing just one more quest. Now that it's cheap, it may be worth playing for Western RPG fans, but because of its massive list of annoying design choices, it isn't anywhere near the game it could have been. Expand
  26. AnonymousMC
    Dec 18, 2006
    5
    This game has great potential, but Bethesda screwed up. Level scaling defeats the entire point of levelling up and kills the realism the Elder Scrolls boasts so much. The plot is okay, but the ending is very disappointing. There's really not much to do with the main quest and the few town quests and guild missions. The boasted 'huge world' populated with 'caves andThis game has great potential, but Bethesda screwed up. Level scaling defeats the entire point of levelling up and kills the realism the Elder Scrolls boasts so much. The plot is okay, but the ending is very disappointing. There's really not much to do with the main quest and the few town quests and guild missions. The boasted 'huge world' populated with 'caves and ruins' is true, but thanks to the TSEditor system it's all built from the same pieces and there's no variation whatsoever. Every dungeon is the same at heart. Before you hit level 10 you can Expand
  27. MikoM.
    Mar 26, 2006
    5
    While the sandbox-type openness of the world is compelling, it also makes the game feel aimless and unrewarding. Add reams of horrible bugs, fairly dull combat, extremely dull persuasion and lockpicking subgames, and some of the worst NPC AI known to man, and you have a recipe for the most horribly overhyped game since Daikatana.
  28. JaceN.
    Jun 29, 2006
    7
    The fourth game in the Elder Scrolls series is something of a mixed bag of technology, time/effort saving pre-made software tools and bad ol' fashioned design idiotics! Ill admit while Speedtree generates fantastic dense forests for players to explore and Radiant AI produces life in otherwise dull automaton townsfolk...the entire package is undermined by the level scaling game The fourth game in the Elder Scrolls series is something of a mixed bag of technology, time/effort saving pre-made software tools and bad ol' fashioned design idiotics! Ill admit while Speedtree generates fantastic dense forests for players to explore and Radiant AI produces life in otherwise dull automaton townsfolk...the entire package is undermined by the level scaling game mechanic. As you improve and grow as a character...so do the enemeies you fight. Would have been okay if it were just that...but it affects loot and store stock too. This has the effect of killing any motivation to do just about...anything! From ignoring an ancient ruin cause you know youll fight through 50 zombies...only to pick a top rated lock on a chest and find 5 gold and a copy of "Summon Zombie" inside...to leaving behind a full set of Daedric armor (the most rare and valuable kind in the entire world) because youve already got 12 and cant be bothered lugging them back to town...to sell for more worthless money...thats only worthless now that youre farming weapons and equipment from Bandits that is ten times better than anything you could possibly buy in a shop!...or not bothering to complete a quest after you realise youll go through hell...suffer badly...and get a suspiciously underpowered spell/aritfact as a reward! Suspicious because it too has been level scaled down in power/ability so you dont get anything powerful early in the game. But the really infuriating part comes when you see said item/spell remains underpowered forever...it doesnt grow to reflect your current power/skill. I know it was done so the "Power Gamer" exploits of past games could be clamped and the series could reach a wider and less patient audience and wow those that have never played an Elder Scrolls series before, but sooner or later (id say about 20 hours) they too...in their blissful ignorance will feel the effects of problems veterans complained about from day one! Leaving all of us with a game thats easy to admire...but hard to love! Expand
  29. AlexT.
    Jan 15, 2007
    7
    Its a great game, for the first 20 hours of gameplay, but theres 1 thing. The leveling system is all screwed up. I could be a lvl 1 and kick a** with an iron longsword then be a lvl 40 wiht full daedric and get my a** kicked by a dog.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.