User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1016 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    A true next-gen game. The graphics and sound are breathtaking and the game mechanics are better than Morrowind. This game defines what an RPG should be.
  2. SteveT.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    I finally got to sit down and play Oblivion last night. I suppose I will parrot everyone else when I say how amazing this game is. I spent about an hour just customizing a damn blue orc. After that I just got pulled into the game. The tutorial mode runs pretty straight forward, but after that the game just explodes. I spent the rest of the night travelling from the sewers to the imperial I finally got to sit down and play Oblivion last night. I suppose I will parrot everyone else when I say how amazing this game is. I spent about an hour just customizing a damn blue orc. After that I just got pulled into the game. The tutorial mode runs pretty straight forward, but after that the game just explodes. I spent the rest of the night travelling from the sewers to the imperial city. I found a cave on the way, killed everything that moved and scored some loot. I figured I would upgrade my gear before I moved on and headed to the city. I spent another couple of hours on a quest I picked up from the merchants who sold me stuff. It was crazy! I can't belive how involved you have to be to play this game. It will take a huge effort for me to stay focused at work and school the next couple of weeks. All I want to do is jam home and play this game. Don't wait, don't rent. Own it and then it will Pwn you Expand
  3. Nick
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    Best value for the gaming dollar EVER (aside from Baldur's Gate games, anyway)!
  4. WejRepus
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    The MUST HAVE GAME for the 360. This game is so amazing!
  5. MichaelC.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Best game ever. Amazing visuals and gameplay with great controls. Play this game. Do it now. You need to.
  6. NelsonP.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest games I have ever played. Period.
  7. GeraldH.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This is the best rpg ever made. Ive only had it for 3 days and Ive played 10 hours of it and iam not even halfway into the story! This game is detailed and the A.I. IS AMAZING.Gameplay is 100 tmes better than morrowind and the graphics are just eye candy. The sound is awsome especialy the musical score whichsounds like a mix of like the LOTR score and a an action movie score. So far its This is the best rpg ever made. Ive only had it for 3 days and Ive played 10 hours of it and iam not even halfway into the story! This game is detailed and the A.I. IS AMAZING.Gameplay is 100 tmes better than morrowind and the graphics are just eye candy. The sound is awsome especialy the musical score whichsounds like a mix of like the LOTR score and a an action movie score. So far its the best 360 game up to date. Expand
  8. NickDanger
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Everything is f....ing awseome. The thing that stands out the most are the quests. There's rarely any fetching quests. Even then they're lively and engaging.
  9. GregP.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This is just one hell of a game.
  10. DrewM.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    I don't know why all of these pure masterpieces of games have been getting all of these low scores by the press. I think either they're getting paid, or they just can't accept the fact that the '360 is actually beating everyone else. This is the game to own all others, and it will decimate your social life from day one. A must have for everyone. If you don't have I don't know why all of these pure masterpieces of games have been getting all of these low scores by the press. I think either they're getting paid, or they just can't accept the fact that the '360 is actually beating everyone else. This is the game to own all others, and it will decimate your social life from day one. A must have for everyone. If you don't have an Xbox 360 yet, go get one. Now. Expand
  11. CarcasGalactic
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Adicted Adicted Must keep playing game is so cool Cant sleep Must play.
  12. JP
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    If you liked Fable... This is Fable on Steroids multiplied by ten.
  13. ChrisS
    Dec 6, 2009
    6
    Oblivion is one of the most overated games I have ever played. It is in no way bad, It's just completely mediocre. Here are some flaws the critics have failed to see. The story is boring and predictable because there isn't a single plot turn or anything unexpected in it's entirety. Voice acting is appalling. During the game you'll meet hundreds of AI who have the exact Oblivion is one of the most overated games I have ever played. It is in no way bad, It's just completely mediocre. Here are some flaws the critics have failed to see. The story is boring and predictable because there isn't a single plot turn or anything unexpected in it's entirety. Voice acting is appalling. During the game you'll meet hundreds of AI who have the exact same voice actor. It feels like the citizens of cyrodiil are only voiced by eight people. And almost everything they have to say is unbelievable and cheesey. Especially the infinite usage of the phrase, "WELL PAY WITH YOUR BLOOD" used by the soldiers of cyrodiil. All of the main characters are cliched and lack a personality. Gameplay depends too much on combat. The leveling up system is poor. And the game is very glitchy. I just don't think Oblivion deserves all of the the perfect ratings it has recieved. Expand
  14. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    6
    Random dungeon crawls are entertaining for a while, but this game failed to convince me that my actions were important. It felt like being pushed around Disneyland in a wheelchair by a beautiful yet bored woman who's pretending to be interested in everything.
  15. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever created. Massive world,massive amount of customization,amazing graphics, beautiful soundtrack and touching story makes Oblivion an experience of lifetime. Oblivion improves everything from Morrowind. Get ready to lose your social life
  16. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    An all time classic of the genre, and the benchmark for all other console based RPGs. Perhaps a bit dated now, however still worthy of a playthrough if you haven't experienced it, especially considering how cheaply you can pick it up.
  17. Jun 1, 2011
    5
    I tried to get into this game, but it wouldn't let me in. It's too big for it's own good, you can walk for some time before finding anything to do, and it's menus were kind of confusing. It's story was bland, it's characters uninteresting and it's landscape as vast as it is familiar. I hope you liked that tree, because you will see it a lot. It's leveling system is odd and, with levelI tried to get into this game, but it wouldn't let me in. It's too big for it's own good, you can walk for some time before finding anything to do, and it's menus were kind of confusing. It's story was bland, it's characters uninteresting and it's landscape as vast as it is familiar. I hope you liked that tree, because you will see it a lot. It's leveling system is odd and, with level scaling enemies, kind of unnecessary. Many people like this game, but it didn't age well for me. Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2011
    6
    i liked the games concept and combat but i had huge issues with glitches and objective confusion to the piont where i couldn't continue playing the game. Typical Bethesda :(
  19. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 8 Characters: 7
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 6
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 10
    Fun Factor: 10

    Score: 8.4/10 = A-
  20. Feb 14, 2013
    3
    Enemies scale to your level stupidity. I remember dying in a cave so I left it, leveled up, came across the same cave later on and entered it again expecting to kick some butt. But I died again because the enemies leveled up as well. Stupid. Apparently leveling up my character is POINTLESS in this game. The game world is extremely bland and repetitive. Oh look, the same ruins I've seenEnemies scale to your level stupidity. I remember dying in a cave so I left it, leveled up, came across the same cave later on and entered it again expecting to kick some butt. But I died again because the enemies leveled up as well. Stupid. Apparently leveling up my character is POINTLESS in this game. The game world is extremely bland and repetitive. Oh look, the same ruins I've seen the last 10 times. Everything is so picture perfect it feels like I'm walking in an urban park. No grit or realism in the world. Caves are pointless to explore all enemies and loot are scaled to me anyway. When you're exploring everything feels spreadsheety. Oh look, I see somebody in the distance I wonder who they are? Oh wait, sigh, they're an enemy that simply charges at me when they see me. No witty or interesting conversation to be had here. NPCs are robotic and major immersion breakers. There are guards hiding in every closet and basement, just watching and waiting to see if you'll steal that spoon, and then they'll get on their laptops and enter your name in a database, flagged as most wanted, putting every guard in the enter realm on high alert and hunt you down like you're OBL. Oblivion gates are ok the first time. But after the first one, ugh. Bethesda doesn't understand what immersion is so I'm walking on the main road to Kavatch when I see a cave just off the road, along with a big "you have discovered such and such cave", well no sh-t, you put it on the main road like a gas station. Don't want to make this next gen gamer have to go out of their way and discover the cave for themselves they might get frustrated and not buy our next game. Who cares about mystery and exploration when we can just put our dungeons and ruins on the main road like tourist attractions. Along the same road was a goblin encampment. At first I thought they must be friendly goblins being so close to the road and all but no, they attacked me on sight (just like every. single. last. enemy. in. this. game.) Someone should probably tell that guard I just saw that THERE'S A GOBLIN ENCAMPMENT JUST OFF THE MAIN ROAD! If you're looking for a good role playing game then pick up Gothic 3 Enhanced Edition. It's a game where you actually have to buy the world map IN GAME, imagine that Bethesda! Expand
  21. Aug 7, 2013
    5
    Crazy Overrated. Skyrim proves why this game is such a dud.

    1) The World is big but ITS ALL THE SAME. The whole place is lush green, towns are similar, and NPC's are static with the same voice actors 2) Persuading NPC's is not intuitive and all luck which severely affects quest outcomes, payment for items, etc 3) Dungeons are repetitive maps 4) Oblivion Gates are chores to get
    Crazy Overrated. Skyrim proves why this game is such a dud.

    1) The World is big but ITS ALL THE SAME. The whole place is lush green, towns are similar, and NPC's are static with the same voice actors

    2) Persuading NPC's is not intuitive and all luck which severely affects quest outcomes, payment for items, etc

    3) Dungeons are repetitive maps

    4) Oblivion Gates are chores to get through with no relief. They are get in get out affairs and rush back home to relax

    5) Those are horses? they act like coast rugs with little value

    6) No houses to buy, no women to marry, nothing to do but join a couple guilds and fetch this for some money you don't wanna spend on anything cause there is nothing to buy

    This game is a bore. Morrowind was geographically interesting although flawed. Skyrim gets everything right except the voice acting.

    I think people just wanted to love some of the early xbox 360 games that were released because this game doesn't stand the test of time.

    Want Proof? Ask anyone that has played Skyrim or Oblivion which game they would rather play It will be Skyrim everytime which means this game can't be a 10 and shouldn't even be in green numbers
    Expand
  22. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    At this point Oblivion is SUPER outdated. I bought it recently to see what all the fuss was about. I have played Skyrim and I must say that Bethesda did a really good job with it, so I expected nothing less than excellent from Oblivion. I was honestly somewhat bored with it just like how I was really bored with Skyrim until I began to understand the mechanics and what the game really hadAt this point Oblivion is SUPER outdated. I bought it recently to see what all the fuss was about. I have played Skyrim and I must say that Bethesda did a really good job with it, so I expected nothing less than excellent from Oblivion. I was honestly somewhat bored with it just like how I was really bored with Skyrim until I began to understand the mechanics and what the game really had to offer. I didn't really find that in Oblivion. I played through the main story line and didn't really find much value in playing it again. I had some fun playing it like I have fun playing most Role Playing Games but I didn't find myself completely immersed in it like a lot of people did. I guess it's my fault for playing Skyrim first :P Expand
  23. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can I say about Oblivion? Cheap, dull, and weird. Pretty much sums up Oblivion. The sequel to Morrowind, and the ugly step child of all the Elder Scroll series. In the game you start off as the Hero of Cyrodiil, the Empire's homeland of Tamriel where the entire game takes place. You are a prisoner who, by fate of the Nine Gods, meets Uriel Septim, the Emperor of all Tamriel, who notices you are the person from his dreams and that he knows his death is near. You are given freedom soon after you follow them from a secret passage way they end up taking. This is the games tutorial area, and character building area. As the weapons and skills you use define who you are, though you can change them near the end of it. Once released from the sewers you are allowed to roam all of Cyrodiil and see all the sights and wonders. The game fits well with what it is, but where it breaks is characters, as they seem lifeless and just ugly looking. The combat is ok, but lacks any type of diversity, making you settle for the same character skill set for the entire game. Quest are fun and diverse though, as you can be an assassin, a fighter, and even a mage from certain guilds. But this is the bad thing: The Dark Brotherhood quest can fit any role, but the Fighter's Guild and Mage's Guild fit only for a certain character that may or may not be your own (Unless you want to do it the hard way).

    The story can be really boring, unless you want to be apart of the lore which then can make you understand what is going on. But it's also tedious to close all the Oblivion Gates, as the area just seems the same through and through. It's a challenge no less, as the Daedra fight both with sword, bow, and spell. It gets pretty tense as the fate of all Nirn rest on you... but it breaks the immersion that you know your going to succeed.

    Graphics are just as it was going for a cartoon-like setting, but it makes a poor choice for a game like this as it was to immerse you and make you the gritty Hero from the Divine Gods. But the colorful expression made it ok.

    You can replay this game may times if you like it, but can get old after the first ten characters. Play as Monk or a Hand-to-hand. It can get funny and fun.
    Expand
  24. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    Don't know why, but I just couldn't get into Oblivion. Dated graphics, uninteresting gameplay and repetitive missions. It was a chore to beat. I didn't like it, which is weird considering I love Skyrim.
  25. MerrillL.
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    First off, this is only the 2nd RPG I've ever played besides Jade Empire. With that said, this is one of the most fun and immersive games I've ever played! I've only been able to play about 4 hours so far but am definitely looking forward to many more. For non-RPGers, I would suggest renting this with an option to buy (like Gamefly) because this is a game that is definitely First off, this is only the 2nd RPG I've ever played besides Jade Empire. With that said, this is one of the most fun and immersive games I've ever played! I've only been able to play about 4 hours so far but am definitely looking forward to many more. For non-RPGers, I would suggest renting this with an option to buy (like Gamefly) because this is a game that is definitely worth the $60 and worth investing time in! Expand
  26. TonyL.
    May 9, 2006
    10
    The best game of all times (besides oblivion) i love this game i have a sorcerer with all stats at 100 lvl 82 and i have beaten the game. i will always continue to play this game long after it is outrated.
  27. LouiseD.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    This is the best RPG I've ever played- it gives you almost complete freedom and entertains for well over 100 hours. The graphics are fantastic and although the plot isn't as strong as some other RPGs, the gameplay more than makes up for it.
  28. KaieL.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Oblivion 4 has to be the easiest game ever when it comes to user-friendliness. My boyfriend had bought the game before ever moved in, and in that time, lost the manual as well. I am not a big fan of computer games, but even I can play oblivion 4 without the instruction manual.
  29. B.S.
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Okay - the game is a little slow at times, the leveling system is worse than broken (just go read the various leveling guides out there to find some of the pitfalls), and there's a lot to do. The game has its shortfalls. However, it STILL marks the best reasonably current American RPG on the market, and that's worth something. You don't have to be an RPG fan - I have a Okay - the game is a little slow at times, the leveling system is worse than broken (just go read the various leveling guides out there to find some of the pitfalls), and there's a lot to do. The game has its shortfalls. However, it STILL marks the best reasonably current American RPG on the market, and that's worth something. You don't have to be an RPG fan - I have a friend who plays mostly shooters and this is the only RPG he likes - but you do have to have some degree of patience, which is what might be throwing some people. If you can take a game that doesn't rush you from point to point (a la Resident Evil or Gears of War, which are also excellent games), this is a must-have. Expand
  30. ScottE.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Your $60 will go far! Easily the best RPG so far this year. Beautiful graphics, massive world to explore and awesome gameplay make this a must own title for the 360.
  31. GabeC.
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    If you didn't like Morrowind... don't buy this game. This game is an Action/HackNSlash game on top of an Explore Everything game. The experience that you get from this is what you make for yourself. There is no single game that has what this game has. It is truly a Next Gen game. People will complain about single aspects of this game being better somewhere else... But to do what If you didn't like Morrowind... don't buy this game. This game is an Action/HackNSlash game on top of an Explore Everything game. The experience that you get from this is what you make for yourself. There is no single game that has what this game has. It is truly a Next Gen game. People will complain about single aspects of this game being better somewhere else... But to do what they've done in a single game is amazing. Whoever complains about this game should tell everybody the game that exists that does all that Oblivion does (Yes, I'm pointing at you FPS Master)... Bravo Bethesda! Brilliant! Expand
  32. BrandonE.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    The best game I've ever played. Starts out slow, but then really picks up. Massive game and the more you play, the less load time it takes. It seems you could get a side quest from almost any person you talk to. The graphics just blew me away. I've been playing about triple the amount of hours on this game than I did before I had it.
  33. CorbinC.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    This game, is litterally, THE BEST i have EVER seen in graphics and storyline.
  34. GuangmianK.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    This game is extremely beautiful, with little objects and items and arts in every town and room, and together with the warm glow of the lighting everywhere in the game, really makes it feel like a real world. The gameplay is very interesting and only gets boring after about like... 100++ hours?
  35. Syc
    Nov 8, 2006
    5
    Gives the illusion of loads to do wonderfully and the gameworld looks great. Get to the meat of any quests though and you'll find they are uninspired, linear and often dull to a degree that would be frowned upon in any other game. boring combat, an uninteresting story and bugs galore round this game out as one of the biggest disappointments of the year.
  36. KelR.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    I think that if you're going to be extremely anal you might find few tiny "problems" with the game. However, in the grand sceme of things this game is simply the most amazing RPG that that has ever come out on any console. So, take of your critic hat and enjoy the game!
  37. AnonymousMC
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    I'm not sure how i even was able to get away from my 360 long enough to give this a 10 on metacritic. Maybe because it deserves it? Seriously. This game is literally like having a whole 'nother life. Except in this one you can set rich snobby dudes on fire. Yummy. A MUST BUY. you never get bored in this game. you don't even have to follow the regular story at all to get aI'm not sure how i even was able to get away from my 360 long enough to give this a 10 on metacritic. Maybe because it deserves it? Seriously. This game is literally like having a whole 'nother life. Except in this one you can set rich snobby dudes on fire. Yummy. A MUST BUY. you never get bored in this game. you don't even have to follow the regular story at all to get a good 30-40 hours out of it. Expand
  38. MikeW.
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    This has Game of the Year written all over it. Open ended storytelling, compelling quests, character development, all exceed expectations here. This is really not a game, it is a true immersive experience, someone may balk at $60 for a game, but you will thank yourself for getting it, I spent over 8 hours just messing around in the capitol city before even setting foot into the This has Game of the Year written all over it. Open ended storytelling, compelling quests, character development, all exceed expectations here. This is really not a game, it is a true immersive experience, someone may balk at $60 for a game, but you will thank yourself for getting it, I spent over 8 hours just messing around in the capitol city before even setting foot into the countryside. This game is not for the faint hearted or ADHD impaired. Do yourself a favor and buy this one. Expand
  39. DaveR.
    Mar 26, 2006
    5
    Oblivion offers a hugh environment with very little excitement and adventure. The graphics are phenomenal, except for the many instances of area loading, poor draw distance, pop-up fillin, and framerate stutter. The gameplay is extremely boring after the first 10 hours. The battle sequences are engaging, yet lack enough frequency. The AI is truly pitiful. The lockpicking puzzles lack Oblivion offers a hugh environment with very little excitement and adventure. The graphics are phenomenal, except for the many instances of area loading, poor draw distance, pop-up fillin, and framerate stutter. The gameplay is extremely boring after the first 10 hours. The battle sequences are engaging, yet lack enough frequency. The AI is truly pitiful. The lockpicking puzzles lack intrigue and become rather repetitive and annoying. I wholeheartedly agree that this is the most overhyped RPG of all time. I am seriously considering selling my XBOX 360 and returning to the PC world. Expand
  40. Adam
    Mar 26, 2006
    9
    Only had it a day, so far so great. just had to say that in response to Alex L.'s review regarding his comments about his character staying at level 1 no matter what he does to raise his stats, this is because you haven't gone to "sleep". you acumulate stats and lvl up when you sleep at an inn. I understand how this can be confusing since it's only told to you in the Only had it a day, so far so great. just had to say that in response to Alex L.'s review regarding his comments about his character staying at level 1 no matter what he does to raise his stats, this is because you haven't gone to "sleep". you acumulate stats and lvl up when you sleep at an inn. I understand how this can be confusing since it's only told to you in the instruction manual and during the in game tutorial. Just didn't want one person that didn't know what they were doing to sway people from purchasing a great game. Expand
  41. Ruben
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    The 4th release of the best RPG on xbox and now on xbox 360.everything been improved 500 hours of gameplay...what are you waiting for? go buy it!!!
  42. SeanD.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Great game, need a good computer, but as long as you have minimum specs you should be able to run this and it will still look a lot better than morrowind. Leveling up is fair and I have had some close calls with enemies. It's much nicer to see groups of enemies than just a single enemy like in Morrowind. Fast travel is kind of weak but needed, you will have to run around and find the Great game, need a good computer, but as long as you have minimum specs you should be able to run this and it will still look a lot better than morrowind. Leveling up is fair and I have had some close calls with enemies. It's much nicer to see groups of enemies than just a single enemy like in Morrowind. Fast travel is kind of weak but needed, you will have to run around and find the little places but the big places are always there for you if you need them. I love how you can see just about forever, weather is spectacular and so is the wildlife. I can't put the game down. Very life like, if you're a theif, it will be hard at first but easier as you level up. Great lock picking game, adds a sence of personal skill to the game. Expand
  43. J
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Oblivion will undoubtedly be the best game of the year. Three good reasons are: The graphics are amazing to say the least. The gameplay is second to none. There is so much to do you will never get bored. The worst part, which would probably be the loading, isn
  44. SimonK.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Eight hours in and still not really done any story. I want to live in Tamriel. I can cope with the stutter in games, if they all offered as much as this one does.
  45. BruinsFan
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    First of all I wouldnt consider myself to be an RPG fan at all. Howver I did really enjoy Morrowind. So I figured, what the hell, Ill spend $60 on this. I coudlnt bemore happy that I did. Now if you are truely the most anal of gamers when it comes to minor glitches and hiccops then this game may annoy you (like I have seen from some of the anal reviewers in this page). Yes there are MINOR First of all I wouldnt consider myself to be an RPG fan at all. Howver I did really enjoy Morrowind. So I figured, what the hell, Ill spend $60 on this. I coudlnt bemore happy that I did. Now if you are truely the most anal of gamers when it comes to minor glitches and hiccops then this game may annoy you (like I have seen from some of the anal reviewers in this page). Yes there are MINOR hiccops when loading things like grass and trees as you wonder the country side, And I do mean minor. It in no way hampers your ability to play the game. The game is all consuming and hard as hell to put down. I still havent completely figured out some of the RPG elements yet but ill get there. Expand
  46. FPSMaster
    Mar 27, 2006
    5
    Since so many people were disappointed with Halo 2, mainly the people that kept overhyping it for themselves(myself being one of them), I decided not to get caught up into the hype for this game like every other person on every game board across the world. Especially seeing as this is not the kind of game everyone can just jump into, like Halo 2, but more of a hardcore type of RPG that Since so many people were disappointed with Halo 2, mainly the people that kept overhyping it for themselves(myself being one of them), I decided not to get caught up into the hype for this game like every other person on every game board across the world. Especially seeing as this is not the kind of game everyone can just jump into, like Halo 2, but more of a hardcore type of RPG that only a select few RPG players can actually get into and even less that can stay into it for a few months or years until they've seen everything. Most of those people overhyping this never played any of the other Elder Scrolls games and have no idea what they're in for. They just wanted a new game on the 360, and got caught up in this hype just because there is still nothing on the 360 we haven't already seen a million times before on last gen consoles(yes, I'm pointing at you GRAW). But it didn't matter to me either way. I hated Morrowind, not because it was bad, but because it was more of a walking simulator with no direction, too much talking and too overwhelming for anyone that has anything else going on in their lives that would keep them from being able to sit down for 18 hours a day to actually become good at that game. Oblivion is the same game, with slightly better graphics, more features and more of what Fable was supposed to do but the Xbox couldn't handle. It still has a lot of pop-up, way more than it had last year in the original supposed in-game videos, the framerates are really bad outdoors, loading screens pop-up every 2 minutes creating a jerky atmosphere almost always, the fighting and menu systems are still clunky as Hell and make you feel like you're not always in control and it still has no direction meaning you will be wandering a map the size of the state of Texas never knowing what the Hell is going on and only hoping you happen to stumble across something of importance. Night time completely sucks, as do dark caves, since I have to turn the game brightness all the way up to see anything farther than 2 feet in front of me. Which brings me to the in-game clock: it's way too fast just like the Ocarina of Time. Why not put it on an actual 24 hour clock like WoW instead of a 24 hour period lasting for maybe an hour in real-time? The A.I. is terrible, so they are either really stupid or you can kill someone with no one around, travel 20 miles away and still have a guard arrest you that was never at the place where you broke the law to begin with. You can't get away with anything in this game, which is what made Morrowind what is was...freedom. That's gone now when it comes to doing what you want when you want, other than walking all over the place and seeing the sights(which is the ony decent part of the game now). Leveling up seems to either just happen randomly or is impossible for some gamers, meaning some will be able to fight anythign without trying early on and others will not be able to kill a damn wolf without dying several times 10 hours inot the game. Another overhyped game that is still good, but nothing like what I expected coming from the 360 hardware. Pop-up and draw-in should have died during the 32 bit era, but still reared it's ugly head last gen and now is rearing it's ugly head again this gen in just about every game with any type of outdoor environs, even when lesser powerd PCs with the same games have none of these issues. I wonder what this game could have been if they had not rushed it out so early in the 360's life when the hardware is still mythical and no one is really sure what to do with it. I guess we'll never know, that is until they put out some promised graphical and gameplay downloads for it that we have to pay extra for down the road even after we spent $70 on the game itself. No thanks. Bethesda is now the same to me as Bungie, id, Valve and Lionhead...studios with talent that don't actually put it to good use but still use their names to hype their games farther than any game will actualy be able to surpass. To me, this game is just as big of a lie as every other overhyped game that didn't deliver. It's just like Halo 2 in that respect: highly unbalanced and strictly average at best. A huge I'LL PASS. Expand
  47. PaulC.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    As a player of computer (as opposed to console) games for 24 years (i'm 38 now), this game is my current no1. Beating Atic Atak, Lords Of MIdnight, Elite, X-Com, and the rest over the years. It's an RPG - that means taking time and effort to develop both your charachter and the feel for the locations. IF that's not your cup of tea then don't buy the game (Why buy As a player of computer (as opposed to console) games for 24 years (i'm 38 now), this game is my current no1. Beating Atic Atak, Lords Of MIdnight, Elite, X-Com, and the rest over the years. It's an RPG - that means taking time and effort to develop both your charachter and the feel for the locations. IF that's not your cup of tea then don't buy the game (Why buy something you know you're not going to like ?) It's as close to open ended as you will get (though it's predeccessor "Morrowind" perhaps had the edge in that) If you don't like games that let you find your own way - then don't buy this game (Why buy something you're not going to like ?) If you think massive freeform immersive gaming is your thing - then this is THE best game available for XBOX 360 - and in the top 2 for PC (Again, perhaps MW was better - not sure yet) Take the minimum specs for PC with a pinch of salt - this game WILL eat everything your dual core processor and SLI graphics can provide. Having said that - a top end PC outperforms the XBOX360 by some margin (I have both) This is particualrly true of load times as you travel across open areas. A 2 gigabyte PC with fast SATA drives gives you smooth movement (you only realise it is loading a new area of wilderness because it tells you - if it didn't tell you you wouldn't know) However entering or leaving a city still has a small (5-8 second) load time - Normally just about the time I need to think about what I'm going to do next :-) gameplay is slightly simpler than MW (some say dumbed down - maybe that's so) Displayed stats are reduced a little - though they are obviously chugging away in the background. Menu scaling and moving is also nerfed from MW (as is moving multiple menus around the screen to get your ideal GUI) but again not a massive issue for me. Left graphics till last .... Rememer seeing 3dMark 2004 and going "Yeah - great demo - but you won't see those sort of graphics in games for a couple of years. Well here they are ... (as long as your PC is pretty much a beast) this game looks fabulous, and plays beautifully. It has flaws, but achieves so much. The free (and small to download) dev kit will add hundreds of hours of life to the PC version, User content for MW means even after 4 years it still has a huge community - Oblivion will go the same way, and , barring a miracle, will be just about everyone's "GAME OF THE YEAR". Expand
  48. PatrickI.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    I finally found the RPG I've been looking for since 1981... I fully own and celebrate my own geekness (as does my wife, the former cheerleader)... an amazing view into the future of gaming and RPGs. Next stop, Elder Scrolls online?
  49. IanM.
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    Just a short note - because I want to get back to the game. My life would be a bleaker place if this game didn't exist. No idea where "FPS Master" is coming from with his criticism (though his name suggests that this type of game isn't his cup of tea anyway). Dunno about 360 version - PC plays beautifully, though does have a few crash problems. (had it crash maybe 6 times in 40 Just a short note - because I want to get back to the game. My life would be a bleaker place if this game didn't exist. No idea where "FPS Master" is coming from with his criticism (though his name suggests that this type of game isn't his cup of tea anyway). Dunno about 360 version - PC plays beautifully, though does have a few crash problems. (had it crash maybe 6 times in 40 odd hours gameplay. Normally crashes a couple of times early in a session then runs fine for 6-8 hours - had IRQ_NOT_LESS_THAN_OR_EQUAL BSOD and a couple of freezes) some games, that would have meant shelving till a patch - not this one - it's just too damn good ! Expand
  50. ChrisC
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    A definite must have for any 360 owner! I wasn't really into Elder Scrolls III : Morrowind, but Oblivion is great!
  51. MichaelD.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Beyond the eye-candy, beyond the stellar story-lines. This is a completely immersive environment where you can spend all your time collecting ingredients and making potions, or kicking butt in the Arena, or actually following the main quest and side quests to completion. This game will keep you glued to your machine and off the porn sites for a very long time.
  52. ColinC.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    Okay, like a few others, I'd give this game a 9.8 if I could, because I too feel there's no such thing as a perfect game. But for right now, today, this game comes awfully close. For the record, I played and finished Morrowind on the Xbox. I've always refered to that game as the game that ate my life. Oblivion is a lot like Morrowind, only better (in some cases, stunningly Okay, like a few others, I'd give this game a 9.8 if I could, because I too feel there's no such thing as a perfect game. But for right now, today, this game comes awfully close. For the record, I played and finished Morrowind on the Xbox. I've always refered to that game as the game that ate my life. Oblivion is a lot like Morrowind, only better (in some cases, stunningly better.) It's simply the most immersive game I've ever played. But it's not for everyone. FPS twitch shooter junkies will probably be bored stiff by this game, as exploration plays a large part of it. (Although the new map system that allows you to instantly jump to any place you've ever been speeds things up remarkably.) If you're unsure about this game at all, don't simply not get it. You could be missing out on one the best gaming experiences you'll have in the next several years. Instead, rent it. If you love, buy it. For me, I'd have paid a $100 for this game and considered it well spent. Expand
  53. AlexG.
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    Pretty good effort by bethesda, enjoyable game to play with strong visuals. sure there are some technical issues here and there, but just look at the trees in the forrest, the most detailed ever seen. and to john s, are you serious? you having a laugh?the original xbox could not handle a game like oblivion, the forrests and just about everything you see would have been so much worse Pretty good effort by bethesda, enjoyable game to play with strong visuals. sure there are some technical issues here and there, but just look at the trees in the forrest, the most detailed ever seen. and to john s, are you serious? you having a laugh?the original xbox could not handle a game like oblivion, the forrests and just about everything you see would have been so much worse graphically. possibly the worst comment ive ever seen. unbelieveable. Expand
  54. RobJ.
    Mar 31, 2006
    8
    At first look (20+ hours) this is a wonderfully crafted jewel, but closer scrutiny shows some flaws. A comparison with the prequel, Morrowind, is obvious. The game mechanics are very similar, so people having played MW will feel very much at home. Combat system has been improved and feels more visceral this time around. It absolutely shines in terms of visuals, musical score, and voiced At first look (20+ hours) this is a wonderfully crafted jewel, but closer scrutiny shows some flaws. A comparison with the prequel, Morrowind, is obvious. The game mechanics are very similar, so people having played MW will feel very much at home. Combat system has been improved and feels more visceral this time around. It absolutely shines in terms of visuals, musical score, and voiced dialogues. I have one significant complaint, which unfortunately concerns a fundamental design decision. It's called level scaling. Basically the game world (NPCs, creatures, loot) changes with your level. This may not sound all that bad but leads to some oddities, and, personally, I've taken a strong disliking to it. For a start, levelling is actually contraproductive, especially for a non-combat oriented char. Caves, shrines etc are nearly irrelevant, since they will always contain stuff that you already have, and opposition that is exactly matched to you (if you're a fighter). You can finish main quest lines, become guild master etc at level 1. While, at high levels, the simplest bandit will routinely kick ... just like a master fighter, and will more often than not drop armour and weapons that are supposedly very rare and expensive. This not only breaks the economy, but feels ridiculous and affects immersion. The level scaling as such is not a bad idea, but it's been poorly implemented here. That said, I still can't stop playing, and expect to spend some hundred hours with this game. It probably won't be a game that I will return to repeatedly over the next few years, as Morrowind was, but it's easily the best RPG available on any console today. Expand
  55. R.Williams
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    I can't stop playing Oblivion. Please help.
  56. RavenX301
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    I think you have to be a total jerk--off to not give this atleast a 9. Even if you dont like the game for playing, you can't deny its amazment. you have to be a total fool to put this game down lower then a 9. total fool.
  57. JonM.
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    If you used to play FF books, warhammer frp or D&D then you are going to love this game. If not, then you are going to love this game. Nearly a perfect game, stunningly beautiful on HDTV's.
  58. MichaelS.
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    I'm 30 + hours in. Of that, perhaps one or two hours have been spent on the main quest. One of the best RPGs I've ever played. A 9 only for very infrequent crashes that force me to restart and a save system that becomes unintuitive. For example, once I reached 115 saves (I'm cautious what can I say!), newly saved games (115+) stopped automatically bumping to the top of my I'm 30 + hours in. Of that, perhaps one or two hours have been spent on the main quest. One of the best RPGs I've ever played. A 9 only for very infrequent crashes that force me to restart and a save system that becomes unintuitive. For example, once I reached 115 saves (I'm cautious what can I say!), newly saved games (115+) stopped automatically bumping to the top of my list. (360 version). Expand
  59. Ben
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    I don't even know what to say. This may be the best singleplayer game ever. Seriously. This game has endless possibilities, unbelievably intelligent human AI, thousands of side missions, 5 groups, about ten races, a ton of houses to buy, hundreds of ways to make money{including break-ins and gambling] It still maintains a level of art, too. I only have two complaints. There areI don't even know what to say. This may be the best singleplayer game ever. Seriously. This game has endless possibilities, unbelievably intelligent human AI, thousands of side missions, 5 groups, about ten races, a ton of houses to buy, hundreds of ways to make money{including break-ins and gambling] It still maintains a level of art, too. I only have two complaints. There are invisible walls as the perimeter of the game area[ which may just be because they are planning on adding new areas on an expansion] and there a long load times in cities. This game rocks, and that's coming from someone who generally hates RPGs. Expand
  60. JeremyL.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Even for an RPG sceptic this has totally gripped me and taken over my life like a deep love, almost. You can not stop thinking about this game and how you are going to progress. Its the only game since Elite back in the 80's that you can not tear yourself away from. It is a total addiction that i have found myself taking time off work to play and one of the only games you can Even for an RPG sceptic this has totally gripped me and taken over my life like a deep love, almost. You can not stop thinking about this game and how you are going to progress. Its the only game since Elite back in the 80's that you can not tear yourself away from. It is a total addiction that i have found myself taking time off work to play and one of the only games you can actually play all night without batting an eyelid . Then come home from work and start playing again and go all through the night again. I just want to complete every task , upgrade my character to the max and complete the main quest. I have played for 40 hours and feel i am just scraping the surface . Even the great GTA serious i had traded in by this time . It is a gaming masterpiece that has surpassed the best like Resi 4, Shenmue , GTA etc with still fuel in the tank. This is the benchmark that all next gen games will be measured. True value for money and every moment is an absolute pleasure to experience. Without question the best game i have ever played . The bar has been moved even higher. Expand
  61. Balthamos
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    Very fun game. If you liked Morrowind, then you will like this game; basically the same thing. The depth of this game is incredible; it will literally keep you occupied for months. I have played over 40 hours already and I still haven't even scratched the surface of this game. If your looking for a game that will keep you busy, then this game will definitely get the job done. A must Very fun game. If you liked Morrowind, then you will like this game; basically the same thing. The depth of this game is incredible; it will literally keep you occupied for months. I have played over 40 hours already and I still haven't even scratched the surface of this game. If your looking for a game that will keep you busy, then this game will definitely get the job done. A must for RPG fans. Only downfalls of this game are the glitches. Sometimes you will get stuck in a wall or something like that, or you can see through "cracks" where pieces of the world come together. Just little things that bring an awesome game down a little bit. Expand
  62. NickGordenstein
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Best game ive ever played! you cant get bored of this, fun for kids and adults. this is a never ending adventure with so many ways to play. It really lets you customize the Eyebrow size, or chin length ect. I also like the fact you can lift items and just play around with them. So many possabilites.
  63. ErikN.
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Excellent and expansive game. While the complaints about level scaling may be valid to an extent, it has the alternate effect of opening the entire world up to a player from the beignning to the end, creating a much greater feeling of discovery and exploration.
  64. AugustoE.
    May 26, 2006
    8
    This is a great RPG, no doubt about it. A little bit more work in the radiant A.I., and a more compelling storyline whould have made it one of the greatest rpg of all time. p.s.: when are they gonna make a versiona of the arena online?
  65. Nahyo
    Jun 10, 2006
    8
    A very high '8.' Amazing visuals. Engrossing and lenghty game. 1 of the few reasons to own the 360. Interesting plot with so-so ending. Lose a few weeks of your life. Play this game
  66. JackJ.
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    Entertained me hours after I competed the story.
  67. CamW.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    it has great grapics and rollplaying.
  68. AdamB.
    Jul 12, 2006
    7
    This game is amazingly deep, and posesses stunning, tech-demo-quality graphics, but it's nothing fundamentally different gameplay-wise than the previous Scrolls game, Morrowind. Where is the Bioware-quality dialog engine? The online multiplayer? The silky-smooth combat mechanics with intelligent enemy AI? Extremely over-hyped, clunky controls, huge load times, and a bit slow moving, This game is amazingly deep, and posesses stunning, tech-demo-quality graphics, but it's nothing fundamentally different gameplay-wise than the previous Scrolls game, Morrowind. Where is the Bioware-quality dialog engine? The online multiplayer? The silky-smooth combat mechanics with intelligent enemy AI? Extremely over-hyped, clunky controls, huge load times, and a bit slow moving, but worth a play, especially for fans of Morrowind. Expand
  69. Alex
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    incredible game. there's just so much to do. from the main quest line to the arena to the dark brotherhood to the sub-quests, there's enough stuff here to keep you addicted for a LONG time. the voice acting is excellent, even if the Emporer sounds like Patrick Stewart. the graphics are clean and crisp, but suffer from severe pop-up. however, the pop-up is understandable, since incredible game. there's just so much to do. from the main quest line to the arena to the dark brotherhood to the sub-quests, there's enough stuff here to keep you addicted for a LONG time. the voice acting is excellent, even if the Emporer sounds like Patrick Stewart. the graphics are clean and crisp, but suffer from severe pop-up. however, the pop-up is understandable, since this game is HUGE. the world of Cyrodiil takes a long time to cross, even on a horse. the game isn't without flaws, however. the combat system takes a while to master, and the menu system takes some getting used to. but, if you want a game to take up your lonely hours locked in your parent's basement, then Oblivion should be your first choice. 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  70. mr.poo
    Aug 23, 2006
    7
    + awesome graphix; huge, interesting world; fantastic atmosphere, music, effects; brilliant design; great depth in pretty much everything

    - can be too big so loses interest; path in missions seems too defined - hard to 'screw up'; not enough mental thought needed; strong U.S. accents in fantasy world are off-putting; i agree with previous review level scaling sux. if its a
    + awesome graphix; huge, interesting world; fantastic atmosphere, music, effects; brilliant design; great depth in pretty much everything

    - can be too big so loses interest; path in missions seems too defined - hard to 'screw up'; not enough mental thought needed; strong U.S. accents in fantasy world are off-putting; i agree with previous review level scaling sux. if its a hard dungeon, just don't go in there! wait til you're strong enuff!
    Expand
  71. BrettS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    WOW! Best game put out for the 360 yet!
  72. MikeC.
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Although I didn't get into the campaign as much as my buddys did, you still have to apreciate the sheer scale, you can wonder around the world for 3 hours and still have a blast doing it. An incredible game.
  73. AlanA.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Oblivion Honestly Ranks up there among the best games ever made. Literally 100's of hours of game play and a great Plus those 100's of hours are some of the best I've ever personally played. The world of Cyrodiil is truly amazing the graphics wont let you down There GREAT. From Quests to Guilds Cyrodill Offers a lot. Oblivian ROCKS.
  74. LarsB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Wonderful. depp storyline with thousand of sidequests... non-linear but fair to going through the main storyline. unbelievable graphics and effects. a lot of loading times and most dungeons look same. but it is GREAT!!!
  75. CallumF.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    A truly breath taking game, one of the best I have ever seen. Theres just so much to do if you want to kill people you can ( all though watch out for the guards ) if you want to do quests you can and its never ending depending on your character the storys up to you.
  76. RichardL.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    when i played this games i was amazed buy the graphics. I love rpgs when I got the 360 I already had Elder Scrolls IV for my pc and I loved it so I decided to go out and buy it just like the pc it was amazing but srory line was a little out there but I'll say it is the best RPG I've evered played so those ppl how like rpg, magic, medevil, mystic creatures, and knights you better when i played this games i was amazed buy the graphics. I love rpgs when I got the 360 I already had Elder Scrolls IV for my pc and I loved it so I decided to go out and buy it just like the pc it was amazing but srory line was a little out there but I'll say it is the best RPG I've evered played so those ppl how like rpg, magic, medevil, mystic creatures, and knights you better by this game cause it is so fun! Expand
  77. EstebanF.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Please ignore the previous review by Abarm T. Don't get fooled by its lenght, it is just pointless game bashing from a linear-JRPG-fan. This game is probably one of the greatest gaming experiences you will find. First, you won't need POWERLEVELING. The game will adjust to your needs. If you don't want to level up, you don't need to (you still can reach the max. level Please ignore the previous review by Abarm T. Don't get fooled by its lenght, it is just pointless game bashing from a linear-JRPG-fan. This game is probably one of the greatest gaming experiences you will find. First, you won't need POWERLEVELING. The game will adjust to your needs. If you don't want to level up, you don't need to (you still can reach the max. level of all your skills without the need to raise your basic level if you don't sleep, but instead wait). Also, you can change difficulty at ANY time. If it is getting too though, you can just use the difficulty-changing tool and make it easier or harder. I could go on a long time talking about this game, but it isn't necessary. It has it flaws, but its great anyways, just read the 95% of the reviews and you'll see that. Expand
  78. JohnC.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    This game is amazing, the graphics are sweet, fluid and responsive combat, good character creation, plenty of quests. Easily 150 hours of play to be had - then start again with another created character. If you like RPG and you own a X360 then this is a must have.
  79. ImasI.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    This game is the best rpg so far that has been released the only down point is you don't have the option of 2 player.
  80. JamesA.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    LONG, pack almost (I think) about 200-350 hours if all missions are beaten, every room is entered, etc. Endless things to do. Download missions is kewl. Expansion pack will come out adding another 200 hrs to game (written 2/19/07). This game is really the only game you would ever need.
  81. JosephK.
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    Everything present is perfect. The only downside would be the lack of multi-player (online or otherwise). Hopefully the next game will be closer the World of Tamriel rather than prettier same-ol' same-ol'.
  82. NateC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Oh...my...God. Best game ever period. Period! Graphics, gameplay, design, and story perfect in every way. I have have spent at least 36 hours on this game. It is amazing! I own Morrowind on the original Xbox, but WOW. Props Bethesda, you have done it. The only problem I have is it is taking up all of my time. Thank you GOD!
  83. PaulO.
    Feb 6, 2007
    7
    Well, as one other review said, this is not as good as Baldur's Gate 2- the best game ever- it is also not worth 10. This game is good, but not brilliant and more than any other game really has me in two totally different minds. It is addictive and does amaze on HD- despite load times and some graphical hitches. It does reward eventually and you do get a sense of satisfaction at Well, as one other review said, this is not as good as Baldur's Gate 2- the best game ever- it is also not worth 10. This game is good, but not brilliant and more than any other game really has me in two totally different minds. It is addictive and does amaze on HD- despite load times and some graphical hitches. It does reward eventually and you do get a sense of satisfaction at these rewards. The Arena and Dark Brotherhood ideas are fantastic and fun (but need more audience members in the arena!). The towns are well designed and buying houses is a treat. But it is a frustrating game in a lot of ways because on the one hand it offers so much and on the other hand can be very annoying, very slow and not varied enough. The crashes, frequent load times and comments from NPC's when you try to persuade them just make you want to kick in your television sometimes. Also, as has been said, there are not enough NPC's and general life and activity in the towns- most noticeable due to the other outstanding aspects of the game. The spells are not visually stunning and there are limitations to the combat system but with improved skills this does get better. Persistence is the key. I have spent many stolen hours going through this game, so there must be something in it- addiction is definately the word and my girlfriend hates it. In the end, it seems that the game developers have tried to do everything and built on a strong tradition of RPG's to make a masterpiece. Maybe, in the end, they have been too ambitious and not been able to avoid the trap of leaving us wanting in some respects. I have played this for more hours than other 360 games, so I guess you could call it value for money. But it still is not my favorite 360 game... Expand
  84. Pidgeman
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable. Everything about this game is so good it makes other games look half hearted. You can just tell this was a labor of love. The graphics are the best you will find on xbox 360, you will find yourself wandering around just taking in the scenery. Forget final fantasy this is the best RPG ever. There are one or two minor glitches but that is to be expected on a game of this epic Unbelievable. Everything about this game is so good it makes other games look half hearted. You can just tell this was a labor of love. The graphics are the best you will find on xbox 360, you will find yourself wandering around just taking in the scenery. Forget final fantasy this is the best RPG ever. There are one or two minor glitches but that is to be expected on a game of this epic scale and they do not detract from the gameplay. As close to perfect as you will find. Expand
  85. DE
    Apr 23, 2007
    8
    A few very annoying glitches. Accidentally did something to make a key character refuse to tallk to me. And later in the story I needed to get something from this character for the main story to continue. I had to start a new file. Other than that it's a really great game for RPG fans and will keep you playing for 100+ hours.
  86. PallaK.
    May 12, 2007
    7
    I agree with Jace N. comment. This game is a huge empty world. If only they could attach little story or quest to all the places found in game, doesn't matter if these quests were specified or not but at least give us some motivation for visitng 100's of non-quest places. EMPTy.
  87. matthoward
    May 30, 2007
    10
    givin a huge 10, because 1. thomas kosela is an idiot for giving it a 0 by trying to make himself feel better for spending so much money on a ps3. and 2) because it is a very large very rewarding game. do agree, it does feel in places empty, and therefore had idiot boy not made his stupid vote, i would of given it a solid 9. by the way its a review site, not a compare site.
  88. AlastairM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Truly an amazing game. Great graphics. Well done high dynamic range lighting. Good leveling system. More of an adventure than RPG. Morrowind was fun but this blows that away. Fast travel is back from Daggerfall!! No Mages' Guilds portals though. And by the way Tuomas Koskela PS3 version sucks compared to Pc. Pc can have better graphics with right graphics card and processor and u can Truly an amazing game. Great graphics. Well done high dynamic range lighting. Good leveling system. More of an adventure than RPG. Morrowind was fun but this blows that away. Fast travel is back from Daggerfall!! No Mages' Guilds portals though. And by the way Tuomas Koskela PS3 version sucks compared to Pc. Pc can have better graphics with right graphics card and processor and u can download user-made mods from sites such as TESSource or Planet Elder Scrolls. Expand
  89. EthanS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    I would give it a 10 because it is addictive but once you get to playing it about 80 hours or so, thats all it is, addictive. But it is one of the greatest gaming experiences I've had.
  90. RobC.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Beautifully made game with a few minor annoyances. But the sheer quality of this game takes them away. It does complicate things a bit at times but also it is very enjoyable.
  91. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    8
    This is probably the most over-rated 360 games so far. It is fun at first but swinging a weapon around over and over again just gets annoying and out of the maximum 50 levels you can grow to, the enemies stop getting harder and the weapons stop getting stronger at around level 20. Most of the caves and dungeons you travel through look the same and I am suprised they didn't include a This is probably the most over-rated 360 games so far. It is fun at first but swinging a weapon around over and over again just gets annoying and out of the maximum 50 levels you can grow to, the enemies stop getting harder and the weapons stop getting stronger at around level 20. Most of the caves and dungeons you travel through look the same and I am suprised they didn't include a multiplayer arena mode or something like that. There are many good things about this game though. The spells are fun to use and customize and the downloaded content is cool. The graphics are good and the quests are fun. This game is worth a buy but it isn't the best game for the 360 like some people say. Expand
  92. killbuzz
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    The graphics are the sweetest ever maybe even better then halo 3.... 10/10
  93. DarrenD.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Still the biggest and best game on the 360 so far. The combat improves massivley on Morrowind and there's loads to do with easily over 100 hours of gameplay.
  94. loganw
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    ok..ok..ok i just got fable 2 like 4 days ago and already beat the main quest!!!the fighting isnt as "free" as oblivion.u lock on 2 the enemy if u aim...also thy have guns..and 1 bow in the whole game!and u have 2 do a bunch of crap 2 get it....it a great game but oblivion is better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hoping TES 5:shadowrealm comes out soon and hasok..ok..ok i just got fable 2 like 4 days ago and already beat the main quest!!!the fighting isnt as "free" as oblivion.u lock on 2 the enemy if u aim...also thy have guns..and 1 bow in the whole game!and u have 2 do a bunch of crap 2 get it....it a great game but oblivion is better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hoping TES 5:shadowrealm comes out soon and has multiplayer!!!!!but thts a rumor so far Expand
  95. MattN.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Superb game i spent a long time playing this. My favourite bit was the side missions especially the dark brotherhood. Buy this Game Now!
  96. ThomasS.
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    Although it is a superb game, it does has its flaws. However, any TRUE fan has to realize a game like this will have its flaws and if you remember this was one of the earlier games on the 360. I found a few flaws myself I couldn't get around but that didn't really make me hate the game. So, I say congrats, Bethesda, you made a winner
  97. MikeG
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    (4/5/08) Just bought the original version as a budget title a little over a week ago. I love this game. I've been playing for over 30 hours and I haven't started the main quests yet.
  98. NickC.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Oblivion is a breathtakingly epic game. Action packed and very well thought out, you can pretty much create a character and live another life in another world. It has quite a few according to the 120 hours I've been playing, but I would still recommend it to any RPG fan out there.
  99. TonyS
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    The world is huge but uninspired. Everything is the same. The combat is boring (click click click click!), you can't even see how much damage you're doing.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.