User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1016 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SimonK.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Eight hours in and still not really done any story. I want to live in Tamriel. I can cope with the stutter in games, if they all offered as much as this one does.
  2. BruinsFan
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    First of all I wouldnt consider myself to be an RPG fan at all. Howver I did really enjoy Morrowind. So I figured, what the hell, Ill spend $60 on this. I coudlnt bemore happy that I did. Now if you are truely the most anal of gamers when it comes to minor glitches and hiccops then this game may annoy you (like I have seen from some of the anal reviewers in this page). Yes there are MINOR First of all I wouldnt consider myself to be an RPG fan at all. Howver I did really enjoy Morrowind. So I figured, what the hell, Ill spend $60 on this. I coudlnt bemore happy that I did. Now if you are truely the most anal of gamers when it comes to minor glitches and hiccops then this game may annoy you (like I have seen from some of the anal reviewers in this page). Yes there are MINOR hiccops when loading things like grass and trees as you wonder the country side, And I do mean minor. It in no way hampers your ability to play the game. The game is all consuming and hard as hell to put down. I still havent completely figured out some of the RPG elements yet but ill get there. Expand
  3. PaulC.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    As a player of computer (as opposed to console) games for 24 years (i'm 38 now), this game is my current no1. Beating Atic Atak, Lords Of MIdnight, Elite, X-Com, and the rest over the years. It's an RPG - that means taking time and effort to develop both your charachter and the feel for the locations. IF that's not your cup of tea then don't buy the game (Why buy As a player of computer (as opposed to console) games for 24 years (i'm 38 now), this game is my current no1. Beating Atic Atak, Lords Of MIdnight, Elite, X-Com, and the rest over the years. It's an RPG - that means taking time and effort to develop both your charachter and the feel for the locations. IF that's not your cup of tea then don't buy the game (Why buy something you know you're not going to like ?) It's as close to open ended as you will get (though it's predeccessor "Morrowind" perhaps had the edge in that) If you don't like games that let you find your own way - then don't buy this game (Why buy something you're not going to like ?) If you think massive freeform immersive gaming is your thing - then this is THE best game available for XBOX 360 - and in the top 2 for PC (Again, perhaps MW was better - not sure yet) Take the minimum specs for PC with a pinch of salt - this game WILL eat everything your dual core processor and SLI graphics can provide. Having said that - a top end PC outperforms the XBOX360 by some margin (I have both) This is particualrly true of load times as you travel across open areas. A 2 gigabyte PC with fast SATA drives gives you smooth movement (you only realise it is loading a new area of wilderness because it tells you - if it didn't tell you you wouldn't know) However entering or leaving a city still has a small (5-8 second) load time - Normally just about the time I need to think about what I'm going to do next :-) gameplay is slightly simpler than MW (some say dumbed down - maybe that's so) Displayed stats are reduced a little - though they are obviously chugging away in the background. Menu scaling and moving is also nerfed from MW (as is moving multiple menus around the screen to get your ideal GUI) but again not a massive issue for me. Left graphics till last .... Rememer seeing 3dMark 2004 and going "Yeah - great demo - but you won't see those sort of graphics in games for a couple of years. Well here they are ... (as long as your PC is pretty much a beast) this game looks fabulous, and plays beautifully. It has flaws, but achieves so much. The free (and small to download) dev kit will add hundreds of hours of life to the PC version, User content for MW means even after 4 years it still has a huge community - Oblivion will go the same way, and , barring a miracle, will be just about everyone's "GAME OF THE YEAR". Expand
  4. PatrickI.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    I finally found the RPG I've been looking for since 1981... I fully own and celebrate my own geekness (as does my wife, the former cheerleader)... an amazing view into the future of gaming and RPGs. Next stop, Elder Scrolls online?
  5. IanM.
    Mar 29, 2006
    9
    Just a short note - because I want to get back to the game. My life would be a bleaker place if this game didn't exist. No idea where "FPS Master" is coming from with his criticism (though his name suggests that this type of game isn't his cup of tea anyway). Dunno about 360 version - PC plays beautifully, though does have a few crash problems. (had it crash maybe 6 times in 40 Just a short note - because I want to get back to the game. My life would be a bleaker place if this game didn't exist. No idea where "FPS Master" is coming from with his criticism (though his name suggests that this type of game isn't his cup of tea anyway). Dunno about 360 version - PC plays beautifully, though does have a few crash problems. (had it crash maybe 6 times in 40 odd hours gameplay. Normally crashes a couple of times early in a session then runs fine for 6-8 hours - had IRQ_NOT_LESS_THAN_OR_EQUAL BSOD and a couple of freezes) some games, that would have meant shelving till a patch - not this one - it's just too damn good ! Expand
  6. ChrisC
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    A definite must have for any 360 owner! I wasn't really into Elder Scrolls III : Morrowind, but Oblivion is great!
  7. MichaelD.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Beyond the eye-candy, beyond the stellar story-lines. This is a completely immersive environment where you can spend all your time collecting ingredients and making potions, or kicking butt in the Arena, or actually following the main quest and side quests to completion. This game will keep you glued to your machine and off the porn sites for a very long time.
  8. ColinC.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    Okay, like a few others, I'd give this game a 9.8 if I could, because I too feel there's no such thing as a perfect game. But for right now, today, this game comes awfully close. For the record, I played and finished Morrowind on the Xbox. I've always refered to that game as the game that ate my life. Oblivion is a lot like Morrowind, only better (in some cases, stunningly Okay, like a few others, I'd give this game a 9.8 if I could, because I too feel there's no such thing as a perfect game. But for right now, today, this game comes awfully close. For the record, I played and finished Morrowind on the Xbox. I've always refered to that game as the game that ate my life. Oblivion is a lot like Morrowind, only better (in some cases, stunningly better.) It's simply the most immersive game I've ever played. But it's not for everyone. FPS twitch shooter junkies will probably be bored stiff by this game, as exploration plays a large part of it. (Although the new map system that allows you to instantly jump to any place you've ever been speeds things up remarkably.) If you're unsure about this game at all, don't simply not get it. You could be missing out on one the best gaming experiences you'll have in the next several years. Instead, rent it. If you love, buy it. For me, I'd have paid a $100 for this game and considered it well spent. Expand
  9. AlexG.
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    Pretty good effort by bethesda, enjoyable game to play with strong visuals. sure there are some technical issues here and there, but just look at the trees in the forrest, the most detailed ever seen. and to john s, are you serious? you having a laugh?the original xbox could not handle a game like oblivion, the forrests and just about everything you see would have been so much worse Pretty good effort by bethesda, enjoyable game to play with strong visuals. sure there are some technical issues here and there, but just look at the trees in the forrest, the most detailed ever seen. and to john s, are you serious? you having a laugh?the original xbox could not handle a game like oblivion, the forrests and just about everything you see would have been so much worse graphically. possibly the worst comment ive ever seen. unbelieveable. Expand
  10. R.Williams
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    I can't stop playing Oblivion. Please help.
  11. RavenX301
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    I think you have to be a total jerk--off to not give this atleast a 9. Even if you dont like the game for playing, you can't deny its amazment. you have to be a total fool to put this game down lower then a 9. total fool.
  12. JonM.
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    If you used to play FF books, warhammer frp or D&D then you are going to love this game. If not, then you are going to love this game. Nearly a perfect game, stunningly beautiful on HDTV's.
  13. MichaelS.
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    I'm 30 + hours in. Of that, perhaps one or two hours have been spent on the main quest. One of the best RPGs I've ever played. A 9 only for very infrequent crashes that force me to restart and a save system that becomes unintuitive. For example, once I reached 115 saves (I'm cautious what can I say!), newly saved games (115+) stopped automatically bumping to the top of my I'm 30 + hours in. Of that, perhaps one or two hours have been spent on the main quest. One of the best RPGs I've ever played. A 9 only for very infrequent crashes that force me to restart and a save system that becomes unintuitive. For example, once I reached 115 saves (I'm cautious what can I say!), newly saved games (115+) stopped automatically bumping to the top of my list. (360 version). Expand
  14. Ben
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    I don't even know what to say. This may be the best singleplayer game ever. Seriously. This game has endless possibilities, unbelievably intelligent human AI, thousands of side missions, 5 groups, about ten races, a ton of houses to buy, hundreds of ways to make money{including break-ins and gambling] It still maintains a level of art, too. I only have two complaints. There areI don't even know what to say. This may be the best singleplayer game ever. Seriously. This game has endless possibilities, unbelievably intelligent human AI, thousands of side missions, 5 groups, about ten races, a ton of houses to buy, hundreds of ways to make money{including break-ins and gambling] It still maintains a level of art, too. I only have two complaints. There are invisible walls as the perimeter of the game area[ which may just be because they are planning on adding new areas on an expansion] and there a long load times in cities. This game rocks, and that's coming from someone who generally hates RPGs. Expand
  15. JeremyL.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    Even for an RPG sceptic this has totally gripped me and taken over my life like a deep love, almost. You can not stop thinking about this game and how you are going to progress. Its the only game since Elite back in the 80's that you can not tear yourself away from. It is a total addiction that i have found myself taking time off work to play and one of the only games you can Even for an RPG sceptic this has totally gripped me and taken over my life like a deep love, almost. You can not stop thinking about this game and how you are going to progress. Its the only game since Elite back in the 80's that you can not tear yourself away from. It is a total addiction that i have found myself taking time off work to play and one of the only games you can actually play all night without batting an eyelid . Then come home from work and start playing again and go all through the night again. I just want to complete every task , upgrade my character to the max and complete the main quest. I have played for 40 hours and feel i am just scraping the surface . Even the great GTA serious i had traded in by this time . It is a gaming masterpiece that has surpassed the best like Resi 4, Shenmue , GTA etc with still fuel in the tank. This is the benchmark that all next gen games will be measured. True value for money and every moment is an absolute pleasure to experience. Without question the best game i have ever played . The bar has been moved even higher. Expand
  16. Balthamos
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    Very fun game. If you liked Morrowind, then you will like this game; basically the same thing. The depth of this game is incredible; it will literally keep you occupied for months. I have played over 40 hours already and I still haven't even scratched the surface of this game. If your looking for a game that will keep you busy, then this game will definitely get the job done. A must Very fun game. If you liked Morrowind, then you will like this game; basically the same thing. The depth of this game is incredible; it will literally keep you occupied for months. I have played over 40 hours already and I still haven't even scratched the surface of this game. If your looking for a game that will keep you busy, then this game will definitely get the job done. A must for RPG fans. Only downfalls of this game are the glitches. Sometimes you will get stuck in a wall or something like that, or you can see through "cracks" where pieces of the world come together. Just little things that bring an awesome game down a little bit. Expand
  17. NickGordenstein
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Best game ive ever played! you cant get bored of this, fun for kids and adults. this is a never ending adventure with so many ways to play. It really lets you customize the Eyebrow size, or chin length ect. I also like the fact you can lift items and just play around with them. So many possabilites.
  18. ErikN.
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Excellent and expansive game. While the complaints about level scaling may be valid to an extent, it has the alternate effect of opening the entire world up to a player from the beignning to the end, creating a much greater feeling of discovery and exploration.
  19. JackJ.
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    Entertained me hours after I competed the story.
  20. CamW.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    it has great grapics and rollplaying.
  21. Alex
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    incredible game. there's just so much to do. from the main quest line to the arena to the dark brotherhood to the sub-quests, there's enough stuff here to keep you addicted for a LONG time. the voice acting is excellent, even if the Emporer sounds like Patrick Stewart. the graphics are clean and crisp, but suffer from severe pop-up. however, the pop-up is understandable, since incredible game. there's just so much to do. from the main quest line to the arena to the dark brotherhood to the sub-quests, there's enough stuff here to keep you addicted for a LONG time. the voice acting is excellent, even if the Emporer sounds like Patrick Stewart. the graphics are clean and crisp, but suffer from severe pop-up. however, the pop-up is understandable, since this game is HUGE. the world of Cyrodiil takes a long time to cross, even on a horse. the game isn't without flaws, however. the combat system takes a while to master, and the menu system takes some getting used to. but, if you want a game to take up your lonely hours locked in your parent's basement, then Oblivion should be your first choice. 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  22. BrettS.
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    WOW! Best game put out for the 360 yet!
  23. MikeC.
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Although I didn't get into the campaign as much as my buddys did, you still have to apreciate the sheer scale, you can wonder around the world for 3 hours and still have a blast doing it. An incredible game.
  24. AlanA.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Oblivion Honestly Ranks up there among the best games ever made. Literally 100's of hours of game play and a great Plus those 100's of hours are some of the best I've ever personally played. The world of Cyrodiil is truly amazing the graphics wont let you down There GREAT. From Quests to Guilds Cyrodill Offers a lot. Oblivian ROCKS.
  25. LarsB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Wonderful. depp storyline with thousand of sidequests... non-linear but fair to going through the main storyline. unbelievable graphics and effects. a lot of loading times and most dungeons look same. but it is GREAT!!!
  26. CallumF.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    A truly breath taking game, one of the best I have ever seen. Theres just so much to do if you want to kill people you can ( all though watch out for the guards ) if you want to do quests you can and its never ending depending on your character the storys up to you.
  27. RichardL.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    when i played this games i was amazed buy the graphics. I love rpgs when I got the 360 I already had Elder Scrolls IV for my pc and I loved it so I decided to go out and buy it just like the pc it was amazing but srory line was a little out there but I'll say it is the best RPG I've evered played so those ppl how like rpg, magic, medevil, mystic creatures, and knights you better when i played this games i was amazed buy the graphics. I love rpgs when I got the 360 I already had Elder Scrolls IV for my pc and I loved it so I decided to go out and buy it just like the pc it was amazing but srory line was a little out there but I'll say it is the best RPG I've evered played so those ppl how like rpg, magic, medevil, mystic creatures, and knights you better by this game cause it is so fun! Expand
  28. EstebanF.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Please ignore the previous review by Abarm T. Don't get fooled by its lenght, it is just pointless game bashing from a linear-JRPG-fan. This game is probably one of the greatest gaming experiences you will find. First, you won't need POWERLEVELING. The game will adjust to your needs. If you don't want to level up, you don't need to (you still can reach the max. level Please ignore the previous review by Abarm T. Don't get fooled by its lenght, it is just pointless game bashing from a linear-JRPG-fan. This game is probably one of the greatest gaming experiences you will find. First, you won't need POWERLEVELING. The game will adjust to your needs. If you don't want to level up, you don't need to (you still can reach the max. level of all your skills without the need to raise your basic level if you don't sleep, but instead wait). Also, you can change difficulty at ANY time. If it is getting too though, you can just use the difficulty-changing tool and make it easier or harder. I could go on a long time talking about this game, but it isn't necessary. It has it flaws, but its great anyways, just read the 95% of the reviews and you'll see that. Expand
  29. JohnC.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    This game is amazing, the graphics are sweet, fluid and responsive combat, good character creation, plenty of quests. Easily 150 hours of play to be had - then start again with another created character. If you like RPG and you own a X360 then this is a must have.
  30. ImasI.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    This game is the best rpg so far that has been released the only down point is you don't have the option of 2 player.
  31. JamesA.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    LONG, pack almost (I think) about 200-350 hours if all missions are beaten, every room is entered, etc. Endless things to do. Download missions is kewl. Expansion pack will come out adding another 200 hrs to game (written 2/19/07). This game is really the only game you would ever need.
  32. JosephK.
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    Everything present is perfect. The only downside would be the lack of multi-player (online or otherwise). Hopefully the next game will be closer the World of Tamriel rather than prettier same-ol' same-ol'.
  33. NateC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Oh...my...God. Best game ever period. Period! Graphics, gameplay, design, and story perfect in every way. I have have spent at least 36 hours on this game. It is amazing! I own Morrowind on the original Xbox, but WOW. Props Bethesda, you have done it. The only problem I have is it is taking up all of my time. Thank you GOD!
  34. Pidgeman
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable. Everything about this game is so good it makes other games look half hearted. You can just tell this was a labor of love. The graphics are the best you will find on xbox 360, you will find yourself wandering around just taking in the scenery. Forget final fantasy this is the best RPG ever. There are one or two minor glitches but that is to be expected on a game of this epic Unbelievable. Everything about this game is so good it makes other games look half hearted. You can just tell this was a labor of love. The graphics are the best you will find on xbox 360, you will find yourself wandering around just taking in the scenery. Forget final fantasy this is the best RPG ever. There are one or two minor glitches but that is to be expected on a game of this epic scale and they do not detract from the gameplay. As close to perfect as you will find. Expand
  35. matthoward
    May 30, 2007
    10
    givin a huge 10, because 1. thomas kosela is an idiot for giving it a 0 by trying to make himself feel better for spending so much money on a ps3. and 2) because it is a very large very rewarding game. do agree, it does feel in places empty, and therefore had idiot boy not made his stupid vote, i would of given it a solid 9. by the way its a review site, not a compare site.
  36. AlastairM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Truly an amazing game. Great graphics. Well done high dynamic range lighting. Good leveling system. More of an adventure than RPG. Morrowind was fun but this blows that away. Fast travel is back from Daggerfall!! No Mages' Guilds portals though. And by the way Tuomas Koskela PS3 version sucks compared to Pc. Pc can have better graphics with right graphics card and processor and u can Truly an amazing game. Great graphics. Well done high dynamic range lighting. Good leveling system. More of an adventure than RPG. Morrowind was fun but this blows that away. Fast travel is back from Daggerfall!! No Mages' Guilds portals though. And by the way Tuomas Koskela PS3 version sucks compared to Pc. Pc can have better graphics with right graphics card and processor and u can download user-made mods from sites such as TESSource or Planet Elder Scrolls. Expand
  37. EthanS.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    I would give it a 10 because it is addictive but once you get to playing it about 80 hours or so, thats all it is, addictive. But it is one of the greatest gaming experiences I've had.
  38. RobC.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    Beautifully made game with a few minor annoyances. But the sheer quality of this game takes them away. It does complicate things a bit at times but also it is very enjoyable.
  39. killbuzz
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    The graphics are the sweetest ever maybe even better then halo 3.... 10/10
  40. DarrenD.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Still the biggest and best game on the 360 so far. The combat improves massivley on Morrowind and there's loads to do with easily over 100 hours of gameplay.
  41. loganw
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    ok..ok..ok i just got fable 2 like 4 days ago and already beat the main quest!!!the fighting isnt as "free" as oblivion.u lock on 2 the enemy if u aim...also thy have guns..and 1 bow in the whole game!and u have 2 do a bunch of crap 2 get it....it a great game but oblivion is better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hoping TES 5:shadowrealm comes out soon and hasok..ok..ok i just got fable 2 like 4 days ago and already beat the main quest!!!the fighting isnt as "free" as oblivion.u lock on 2 the enemy if u aim...also thy have guns..and 1 bow in the whole game!and u have 2 do a bunch of crap 2 get it....it a great game but oblivion is better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hoping TES 5:shadowrealm comes out soon and has multiplayer!!!!!but thts a rumor so far Expand
  42. MattN.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Superb game i spent a long time playing this. My favourite bit was the side missions especially the dark brotherhood. Buy this Game Now!
  43. MikeG
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    (4/5/08) Just bought the original version as a budget title a little over a week ago. I love this game. I've been playing for over 30 hours and I haven't started the main quests yet.
  44. NickC.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Oblivion is a breathtakingly epic game. Action packed and very well thought out, you can pretty much create a character and live another life in another world. It has quite a few according to the 120 hours I've been playing, but I would still recommend it to any RPG fan out there.
  45. CrimD
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be completed. The overal depth of the game in terms of gameplay is pretty special too. So many skills to train, items to mess around with, places to visit and enemies to kill. It really is the perfect game. This game is incredible. The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be completed. The overal depth of the game in terms of gameplay is pretty special too. So many skills to train, items to mess around with, places to visit and enemies to kill. It really is the perfect game. Regarding flaws which have been brought up by many reviewers, i have to agree with "Thomas S" because with a game like this it is understandable, the world is absolutely HUGE so it would be extremely difficult to pick them out and get the dev's to fix them. This is a true masterpiece that all RPG fans should embrace. Fantastic achievement by Bethesda! Expand
  46. LoganW.
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    this game would be a 10.dont get me wrong i love it and play it non-stop.but ive beat just about every quest on the game and also on shivering isles and the 9.so now there is nothing for me 2 do.this game would be amazingly amazing if it were multiplayer.they should make the next game elder scrolls 5:shadow realm online!
  47. JF.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is a game that should be experienced by every 360 owner, period. The story, soundtrack, and superb attention to detail makes this game stand out from the rest. Although the game's main storyline is brilliant and captivating on its on, you are unrestrictedly free to roam about the world to do anything you want. With an abundance of side quests, factions, and things that make Oblivion is a game that should be experienced by every 360 owner, period. The story, soundtrack, and superb attention to detail makes this game stand out from the rest. Although the game's main storyline is brilliant and captivating on its on, you are unrestrictedly free to roam about the world to do anything you want. With an abundance of side quests, factions, and things that make you stop and say "Wow!", this game will keep you thoroughly entertained and satisfied for months to come. Expand
  48. KhristianR.
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    The only down point I have is that, in all of the locations, 99% of the Tombs, Churches, Caves, Ayleid Ruins look very similar to each other. They look great but sometimes you can get easily lost or confused. There are so many positives, the depth, the graphics, the sheer size of Oblivion is enough to stop you from going out and having a social life for a while. Oblivion is a brilliant The only down point I have is that, in all of the locations, 99% of the Tombs, Churches, Caves, Ayleid Ruins look very similar to each other. They look great but sometimes you can get easily lost or confused. There are so many positives, the depth, the graphics, the sheer size of Oblivion is enough to stop you from going out and having a social life for a while. Oblivion is a brilliant game. All the various aspects from magicka, to making your own spells and potions. Becoming a master of particular fighting styles, welding your own weapons. This game has a hell of a lot to do on it. The great music by Jeremy Soule. This is a true RPG experience. SCORE : 93%. Expand
  49. TimothyD
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    Elder Scrolls... Elder Scrolls... You never fail to dissapoint. From flying 500 feet into the air with a scroll in Morrowind to Waiting 15 hours straight to activate a quest that only starts when you're there are a certain time in Oblivion. The game is no longer tedious. The new teleport function (thats been here for years!) and wait system saves me a lot of time. The fixed combat Elder Scrolls... Elder Scrolls... You never fail to dissapoint. From flying 500 feet into the air with a scroll in Morrowind to Waiting 15 hours straight to activate a quest that only starts when you're there are a certain time in Oblivion. The game is no longer tedious. The new teleport function (thats been here for years!) and wait system saves me a lot of time. The fixed combat from Morrowind feels much more fun to backslash an oblivious Imperial Guard. No pun intended. Great character growth and customization. The game never seems to end, I gurantee you won't finish this game 100% in 24 hours. Well, unless your diet consists of hot pockets and mountain dew, then you might, and if you do, Why are you reading this?! Go play the game silly! Expand
  50. DannyY
    Apr 14, 2009
    9
    One word...Mods. When I first played oblivion I didn't think it was that great. The level scaling, the pathetic magic system, and the crappy UI were all turn offs for me. I threw it on the side and didn't take another glance. Then the wonderful Mod community started churning out mods from the woodworks. These Mods fixed thousands of problems in the Vanilla Game. It added many One word...Mods. When I first played oblivion I didn't think it was that great. The level scaling, the pathetic magic system, and the crappy UI were all turn offs for me. I threw it on the side and didn't take another glance. Then the wonderful Mod community started churning out mods from the woodworks. These Mods fixed thousands of problems in the Vanilla Game. It added many fixes like the UI problem, and added much more content to the game. If you are buying this game BUY IT FOR THE PC! The X-box and PS3 versions pale into comparison to the modded version of the game. Unless you want to be infuriated by level scaling and the horrible UI. Expand
  51. mitchh
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    I am a frequent rpg'er and i feel like this is one of the best i have ever played. The world is amazing graphics-wise and i was surprised to read that some didnt feel the same. The main story is excellent, but i actually had more fun working for different guilds.
  52. MikeR.
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    The first greatest RPG XBOX 360 game ever! Been waiting for a long time! Great sword fight and nice original magic spells!
  53. GregM.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    To give this game anything less than a 10 would be ridiculous. I've been waiting two years for this game and I bought it last night and played it for four hours without breathing. It's as good as the hype, and I'm generally overly critical. It's breathtaking and amazing and I can't wait to get the hell out of work to play it all night again tonight. I'm sick. To give this game anything less than a 10 would be ridiculous. I've been waiting two years for this game and I bought it last night and played it for four hours without breathing. It's as good as the hype, and I'm generally overly critical. It's breathtaking and amazing and I can't wait to get the hell out of work to play it all night again tonight. I'm sick. The graphics are beautiful and the gameplay magnificent. If you own an Xbox but not this game, return your Xbox because you don't deserve to have it. If you haven't got an Xbox, you should buy one immediately or cry yourself to sleep at night. Expand
  54. ScottV.
    Mar 23, 2006
    9
    This game is huge and the graphics are beautiful. Load times between buildings are occasionally annoying but the whole load time and frame rate issue has been way overstated, at least on the 360 version. I haven't seen it stutter or slow to unplayable levels once. And blurred textures in the distance, maybe--but compared to what? I've never seen any other game that shows wide This game is huge and the graphics are beautiful. Load times between buildings are occasionally annoying but the whole load time and frame rate issue has been way overstated, at least on the 360 version. I haven't seen it stutter or slow to unplayable levels once. And blurred textures in the distance, maybe--but compared to what? I've never seen any other game that shows wide open 3D wilderness in this kind of detail. Anyway, it's tempting, as in most Elder Scrolls games, to stray off the plot but unlike most of them the plot is actually very engaging. That's a real first--it's not just good for an Elder Scrolls game, it's good for an RPG in general. Someone stated the first two hours were boring which is true--but stick with it, it really starts to pick up steam from there. Expand
  55. JustinD.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    I can't leave my controller, I'm so addicted to this game.
  56. RobertP.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    As someone that never played the previous Elder Scrolls games i've gotta say im blown away not just visually & sonically but also at the overall user friendliness of the game in general. i've currently racked up around 12 hours of playtime, in which i really have barely scratched the surface. if your budgets tight and you want one great game to last you a good few months this is it.
  57. SeanT.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This game rocks.
  58. Megatron
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    I won't try repeating what everybody else says that the this game is far above anythng we've seen and olayed in years...only that its impossible for bethesda or anyone else to make a virtually better place....just buy it,and forget reality and all its problems,cause reality sucks,compared to this artwork..every one should at least give it a try,but be prepared to neglect personalI won't try repeating what everybody else says that the this game is far above anythng we've seen and olayed in years...only that its impossible for bethesda or anyone else to make a virtually better place....just buy it,and forget reality and all its problems,cause reality sucks,compared to this artwork..every one should at least give it a try,but be prepared to neglect personal real life needs...enough said ...just buy the damn thing!! Expand
  59. Sn1ck3rz
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Take the Oblivion compatability survey: 1) Do you have an Xbox 360? 2) Do you have $60? 3) Do you have enough discipline to maintain a personal hygiene, social and work schedule in the face of overwhelming forces of graphical goodness and soul-possessing gameplay? If you answered yes to the above questions you have already wasted a minute of time that could have been spent playing the Take the Oblivion compatability survey: 1) Do you have an Xbox 360? 2) Do you have $60? 3) Do you have enough discipline to maintain a personal hygiene, social and work schedule in the face of overwhelming forces of graphical goodness and soul-possessing gameplay? If you answered yes to the above questions you have already wasted a minute of time that could have been spent playing the game. GET IT NOW! Expand
  60. Andyman
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Heh, if I was so inept as to be stuck at level 1, I'd probably give this game a 3 too... and then I would quit playing games, because I suck at life. Simply put, this is the best game I've played, on any system, ever, period. You don't PLAY the game so much as you LIVE it. So much to do, so much to see, and it all looks and sounds incredible. Even if you didn't like Heh, if I was so inept as to be stuck at level 1, I'd probably give this game a 3 too... and then I would quit playing games, because I suck at life. Simply put, this is the best game I've played, on any system, ever, period. You don't PLAY the game so much as you LIVE it. So much to do, so much to see, and it all looks and sounds incredible. Even if you didn't like Morrowind (I didn't), you'll love Oblivion. It is next-gen gaming at its absolute finest. OK, enough time spent on this review... back to the game! Expand
  61. Mike
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Incredible. Can't stop playing it. To Alex L below who rated it a 3 because he can't figure out that in order to level up you need to SLEEP in a BED, I think you should stop playing the game because it is apparently too dificult for you. (When the game says "You've learned new skills in Blade work. Meditate upon what you have learned by sleeping" it means take a friggin nap)
  62. FakeyM.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Wow! What more can I say? Spectacular must-have RPG.
  63. NeilV.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    This is an incredible game. I loved Fable and Jade Empire a great deal as well and this has the potential to be the best of the bunch. I'm just shy of 20 hours into the game (and RPGs are NOT my primary/fave genre as a sidenote), and I've just scratched the surface. Another sidenote, I could not get into Morrowwind at all (played it for maybe 4 hours, never touched it again). This is an incredible game. I loved Fable and Jade Empire a great deal as well and this has the potential to be the best of the bunch. I'm just shy of 20 hours into the game (and RPGs are NOT my primary/fave genre as a sidenote), and I've just scratched the surface. Another sidenote, I could not get into Morrowwind at all (played it for maybe 4 hours, never touched it again). This is superior in all ways and so far, I have yet to run into any glitches (fingers crossed) Expand
  64. NovaShade
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    I never thought I would say this again.....This IS the greatest game made bar none...Well....to me it is.......Before this game came along there was no other game to match my love for Baldur's Gate 2. I have played almost every game avabile...yes i said EVERY......I have owed every Xbox game (worth buying that is...) and playstation 2, and Gamecube game....Yes i am a game I never thought I would say this again.....This IS the greatest game made bar none...Well....to me it is.......Before this game came along there was no other game to match my love for Baldur's Gate 2. I have played almost every game avabile...yes i said EVERY......I have owed every Xbox game (worth buying that is...) and playstation 2, and Gamecube game....Yes i am a game addict.....(mainly buying meanign at deals and trading them when i was done.) I have also owned every RPG I could get my hands on for the computer, also FPS's. This game beats every game i have ever played. However, I am not so proud of playing almost every game in the North Amercia market before finally finding a game worth more than i payed for it. Like i said only Bulders Gate 2 was worth more before this one. This game does not replace that game but I cant denie that it is unbeileveable. Morrowind I brought about 4 times (once for the computer, couldnt run it, then for the Xbox, then the GOTY came out and i got that, Then i traded that in and bouaght it again a couple years later.) I did love that game but every time I polayed it i felt alittle underwhelemd. not that is wasnt great but the werid combat really ruin it for me. it just took some fun out of it. I thought FABLE was suppose to be what this game is but Fable just turned into a cute adventure game (with its own little touchs of a colourful world) But it just got boring. The towns had nothing to do in them. You could buy a house (which to me a so cool) but like GTA theyt were useless. (not that you can use houses that much but...) Also there are Horses in this game, and nothing is cooler than becoming artifical bond to your loyal house. Not everyone well find it that way but i did. And you can.....what?....sit down? Thats odd....You can REALLY sit down. Not a highlight but i have to admit that i always wanted to do something to simple like sit in a chair in a game. it just adds that wierd believeable-ness to the game. Things like that mean alot to me. all those tiny things that dont really make it worth buying but in the whole makes the real experience more real. I agree with RavenX301, you have to be a totally fool not to give this atleast a nine. Expand
  65. ShaneS.
    May 12, 2006
    9
    (I give it 9.4) This is a really nice RPG. There are five major questlines in this game, and each one is about as long as an entire game. Then on top of that there's 80 hours of sidequests, and hundreds of hours of random dungeon delving. The combat system isn't spectacular, but it tops Jade Empire, Fable, and KoTor. The combat isn't superb but it's better than most (I give it 9.4) This is a really nice RPG. There are five major questlines in this game, and each one is about as long as an entire game. Then on top of that there's 80 hours of sidequests, and hundreds of hours of random dungeon delving. The combat system isn't spectacular, but it tops Jade Empire, Fable, and KoTor. The combat isn't superb but it's better than most RPGs which is nothing to sneeze at. The leveling system is unique, and well balanced. Your character is assigned seven different skills. in order to progress in a skill you practice it. There are no level points in this game. To level up you simply gain progress ten times in any number of your seven skills in any order. The funny thing is your character ultimatly reflects how you play it. You can make a combat character, but if you play him as a mage or a stealth character then that's what he'll wind up being by the end of the game. The game is lengthy, fun, and a graphical wonder, but it does have it's flaws. The biggest flaw in this game is that everything in the game is scaled to your level. So you cannot walk into a high level area only to get massacred, and you cannot walk into a low level area as a high level and pwn your enemies. This takes a lot of the fun out of the game because every dungeon has the same amount of loot, and the same difficulty of opponents. I remember in Morrowwind I discovered a Vampire Lair. All the vampires were 25 levels ahead of my character. For twelve long hours I struggled to make it through that dungeon. But when I finally came out alive I had looted high level armor, and high level alchemy equipment. This in turn allowed me to face opponents above my level and level up faster. I took a risk and I was rewarded for it. Sadly in oblivion this is not the case. Every dungeon is the same, so there are no risks, and there is no pwning of low level characters. Expand
  66. AZA
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Absolute perfection, the longest most involving game in ages and extremely close to being the 360s first KILLER APP. even if you do not like rpg's it should be illegal not to give oblivion a chance.
  67. DaveK.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    One of the best FPS RPG's ever made. This game has been entertaining me for over 120 hours now and still fresh and exciting. A must play for any fan of RPGs.
  68. RobN
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the best games I've EVER played. The gameplay is great, the graphics are stunning, the audio is fantastic, and the best part is that you can do whatever you want, whenever you want. You can start a new mission whenever you want, just by talking to someone who has something for you to do, you can do the main missions (quests), or, if you really want to, you can go This game is one of the best games I've EVER played. The gameplay is great, the graphics are stunning, the audio is fantastic, and the best part is that you can do whatever you want, whenever you want. You can start a new mission whenever you want, just by talking to someone who has something for you to do, you can do the main missions (quests), or, if you really want to, you can go on a rampage and become a bloodthirsty thief. This game offers 200+ hours of gameplay. The expansion, Nights of the Nine adds even more gameplay, and the upcoming expansion, shivering isles, will also add 40+ hours. You can also download extra missions from Xbox Live, which are well worth the small amount of money they charge for them. I highly suggest this game to anyone who owns a 360! Expand
  69. DustinA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Provides hours upon hours of non-stop action, a brilliant RPG, if you like the Diablo series you will absolutely love Oblivion!
  70. RyanM.
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made. Anyone who gave this game a zero is either 4 years old or needs to open their eyes while they are playing it. There are glitches in the game but it is expected with a game of this size, and many glitches can be fixed with downloadable patches. Some reviews here talked about how bad the leveling system was, but the point was so a person This is one of the best games ever made. Anyone who gave this game a zero is either 4 years old or needs to open their eyes while they are playing it. There are glitches in the game but it is expected with a game of this size, and many glitches can be fixed with downloadable patches. Some reviews here talked about how bad the leveling system was, but the point was so a person couldn't make a perfect character with level 100 in every skill and attribute. This RPG is much better than the other turn-based RPG's and can be played for many hours, with many different things to experience. Expand
  71. AndyM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    If there's something wrong with this game, there's something wrong with you.
  72. AnthonyH.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    DO NOT listen to Abram T. and Christopher P. This game is brilliant, full stop. I didn't like RPG's until I played this game. BUY THIS GAME!!!
  73. DavidM.
    Sep 22, 2008
    9
    Minor flaws aside, Oblivion is one of the best, if not the best American RPG I've ever played. The scope of the game is breathtaking and it takes you literally hundreds of hours to see and do everything. If you're looking for a game you can really get into then this is your title.
  74. Sasha
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    first, AMAZING! must buy game for all hardcore gamers. second, any one who is bashing the level up system, please realize the idea is you level up from doing the skills that u picked and as u use those skills more often, the better u become at those skills. this game is great(but not without minor bugs). the people's faces do look kinda bad and there's only about 10 voices used, first, AMAZING! must buy game for all hardcore gamers. second, any one who is bashing the level up system, please realize the idea is you level up from doing the skills that u picked and as u use those skills more often, the better u become at those skills. this game is great(but not without minor bugs). the people's faces do look kinda bad and there's only about 10 voices used, not including Sheogorath in the shivering isles, who is probably the only character who has his own, unique and different voice from the rest of the people in the huge-gantic country! the dungeons and and caves do look similar but so are Fallout 3s'. also, ur skill choices in the beginning are important, so chose wisely. i ended up with about a dozen different characters until i found the perfect skills to use. if u don't want to level scale and want to level up fast, create a custom class and make one of ur skills Restoration or illusion(u don't need both) and just use a spell on ur self constantly and ull level up quick all in all one of the best games ever made!!! Expand
  75. MikkoP.
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    Great. Simply great. With a but. Problem: It tries to be 3 games in 1 package. Do you choose to be a fighter, mage or stealth? No matter what you choose, 2/3 of the content is irrelevant to your character. So if you want to experience everything, you have to play it 3 times, at least. And as, for example, a stealth based game, it´s good but not great. So, if you want stealth, play Great. Simply great. With a but. Problem: It tries to be 3 games in 1 package. Do you choose to be a fighter, mage or stealth? No matter what you choose, 2/3 of the content is irrelevant to your character. So if you want to experience everything, you have to play it 3 times, at least. And as, for example, a stealth based game, it´s good but not great. So, if you want stealth, play Splinter Cell. Oblivion is a masterpiece but it tries to be a little too much, and everything suffers from it. Its cool to play as mage, warrior or thief, but you cannot be all in the same time, and they are not that spectacular on their own. Also, the game has severe framerate issues on bigger battles. It really eats out the otherwisely great immersion. Looks nice when there´s no action, but action is what games are about. Expand
  76. ScottA.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    This is an excellent game and with so many inexpensive addons available over xbox live market place the fun just doesn't end!
  77. JohnC
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    This is easily the best RPG ever!!!!! This game has amazing graphics and a great variety of spells, weapons + apparel. Hundreds of hours of gameplay. Many different characters and classes to choose from. I found that just exploring the land provided me with great fun for long periods of time. This game will go down in history forever. Definetly a must have for all xbox 360 owners.
  78. OrcF.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Nice review, Abram. I'll dispense with the number of errors and misconceptions in your review, to avoid it being as long and pretentious as yours (and a clear cry for attention to boot) and just say this: it's not fault of this incredible game that you don't like it, and that you suck at it. Come back when you get some hair on your sac and kiss a girl and give it another Nice review, Abram. I'll dispense with the number of errors and misconceptions in your review, to avoid it being as long and pretentious as yours (and a clear cry for attention to boot) and just say this: it's not fault of this incredible game that you don't like it, and that you suck at it. Come back when you get some hair on your sac and kiss a girl and give it another go. You may not learn to love it, but maybe you'll spare us another review as useless as the Cleveland steamer you just dropped on this site. Expand
  79. TaylorL
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Elder Scrolls Oblivion is nothing short of pixilated perfection, seamlessly blending a phenomal story arc with intuitive controls and infinite hours of gameplay. The world of Cyrodiil comes alive before our very eyes, utterly enveloping the player, as its denizens prepare for a final apocalyptic showdown. It is not often that a game transcends genre and changes the way we play our Elder Scrolls Oblivion is nothing short of pixilated perfection, seamlessly blending a phenomal story arc with intuitive controls and infinite hours of gameplay. The world of Cyrodiil comes alive before our very eyes, utterly enveloping the player, as its denizens prepare for a final apocalyptic showdown. It is not often that a game transcends genre and changes the way we play our consoles. Oblivion is certainly an exception to this rule. Whether you prefer turn based or live action RPGs, hack-and-slash or FPS, Oblivion has something for everyone. Do not deny yourself one of the most impressive, ambitious games of all time. Expand
  80. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is simply the most comprehensive game and experience on the Xbox 360 to date. While a few other games on the system might do one or two things as good or slightly better than Oblivion, none of them come close to overwhelming experience that is Oblivion. Simply put, it is the one Xbox 360 game that everyone should own.
  81. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    well when you compare it to Morrowind its better in some ways and worse then others. the better would be its WAAAAAY less buggy and gltchy . the combat system has been improved to make it more fun . the graphics look great. fast travel makes getting around alot easier . nav points make doing quests alot easier . it has a diffucult setting for newer gamers to the series. the not as goodwell when you compare it to Morrowind its better in some ways and worse then others. the better would be its WAAAAAY less buggy and gltchy . the combat system has been improved to make it more fun . the graphics look great. fast travel makes getting around alot easier . nav points make doing quests alot easier . it has a diffucult setting for newer gamers to the series. the not as good would be ... robbing people houeses isnt near as fun no loot ever worth steeling . less magic spells and they took out the ability to fly!!! WHY!? enimys and new gear lvl up with you which i didnt like . i liked the feel of never knowing what i was walking into when exploring in morrowind. made more of a fun challange and making me wonder what i was gona find for loot. .now i know all the enimys will be my lvl and the loot will always be near what my lvl is... sucks. not as much to do as in morrowin eather although im not complaining i still spent 160+ hours doing just about every thing to do in this game which is way longer then just about 99.9% of games out there but morrowing was 400+ hours. regaurdless of all that bethesda still made a great game and i am very happy with it . Expand
  82. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    As close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions andAs close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions and conjuration. Very refreshing! An immensely immersing game and a much better successor to Daggerfall than Morrowind was. The only thing missing is user generated content playable on the console. Expand
  83. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    You don't like RPGs? I wasn't that into them, and my friend hated them until we discovered Oblivion by accident. We bought it because best buy was out of a game... and all I remember is that we played for 2 days straight, all nighter included. You like RPGs? Don't have Oblivion? Get it. NOW!
  84. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    This is simply the best game I've ever played...period! I've been playing PC / Console / mmorpg games since the late 80's and even now (Summer 2010), this game continues to be the benchmark against which I judge all other games. The story lines are engaging, the acting is excellent, the graphics are way ahead of their time and the game play is extraordinarily fun. I could get picky andThis is simply the best game I've ever played...period! I've been playing PC / Console / mmorpg games since the late 80's and even now (Summer 2010), this game continues to be the benchmark against which I judge all other games. The story lines are engaging, the acting is excellent, the graphics are way ahead of their time and the game play is extraordinarily fun. I could get picky and list this or that I would change, but none of my suggestions would really make the game much better than it already is. Expand
  85. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    Oblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you'veOblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you've got smiling innkeepers you can slaughter and poor guards who get caught in spike traps in the oblivion gates. Sure it looks a bit bad graphically now but for a game that came out in 2006 the graphics are impressive. It has great voice actors such as Sean bean and Patrick stewart ( if you ignore the fact that about four people voice the other few hundred characters). But one thing that sets oblivion apart is how clever it is. The AI are very good. They have a disposition system so that if they dislike a character they attack! One time I was in a town and I met a nice man who was a blacksmith and we talked about rumors ( which I had been told before by others in town)
    Anyway we parted ways and I did a quest and it turned out he was a spy and he attacked me and some guards but was put down. The quest I had done had lowered his disposition as he was in the faction called the mythic Dawn who I did the quest against! Good innit!! This happens alot and they aren't scripted events meaning they aren't meant to happen they just do. Which is cool. Another time I denied a quest from a little wood elf who promptly went home, got an axe and went on a killing spree! Anyway enough about the AI . They game has hundreds of weapons and thousands of spells that you can learn or create. There's just so much to do. You could live in this game if you could! Get it. GET IT NOW.
    Expand
  86. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    this game fuses action and exploration to the point where i wish i lived in this magical world. With amazingly beautiful music and the best graphics i have seen in a while this game is one of the best.
  87. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is the best that i have ever played im 80 hours in and havnt finished the main quest and only 1 of the guilds the sheer scale of it is stunning NPCs go about there daily buisness sleeping eating just walking around graphics are great theres so much good about i could go on for ages 5/5
  88. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    probably the greatest game ever made (morrowind is its only rival). bigger than a night out with Charlie sheen.If you haven't played it I don't know what your damage is.
  89. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This game is loaded with bugs, frustrations, and flaws. But it is the best game I have ever played. I have never spent so much time within a game world, exploring each and every place, leveling my characters to the max, and replaying it every year or so again, just to experience the absolute beast of a game this is. Get this game.
  90. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a piece of art; it captures the very essence of fantasy and burns it in your brain. "Oblivion is freedom", Oblivion has over 300 hours of game play to an average Joe.
    Oblivion offers more than 5 hours of game play to each of the following guilds... The Dark Brotherhood, The Thieves Guild, The Mages Guild or The Fighters Guild and addition to the main quest
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a piece of art; it captures the very essence of fantasy and burns it in your brain. "Oblivion is freedom", Oblivion has over 300 hours of game play to an average Joe.
    Oblivion offers more than 5 hours of game play to each of the following guilds... The Dark Brotherhood, The Thieves Guild, The Mages Guild or The Fighters Guild and addition to the main quest which can offer up to 15+ hours, now thatâ
    Expand
  91. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Even on a console, this game looks and plays brilliantly! When you take your first steps out of the dungeon you start in and the whole, green world opens in front of you......it is one of my favourite gaming memories! A MUST have on the Xbox 360!
  92. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Morrowind never clicked for me, but this game was so groundbreaking and incredible.....Hours of fantastic stories, a good plot, and lots of hours of DLC.......It was ahead of its time.
  93. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    Simply the best RPG ever created for console. However the game has a couple flaws. At around level 30 the game is no longer difficult. Instead of making tougher monsters the designers begin throwing mobs that are easily defeated. Also the game designers decided to "level" all areas to your skill thereby making it possible to travel anywhere at anytime without fear of encountering aSimply the best RPG ever created for console. However the game has a couple flaws. At around level 30 the game is no longer difficult. Instead of making tougher monsters the designers begin throwing mobs that are easily defeated. Also the game designers decided to "level" all areas to your skill thereby making it possible to travel anywhere at anytime without fear of encountering a placed that is too difficult to you to overcome at any stage of character development. This being said other fantasy RPG designers use this game as a benchmark. The environment is simply stunning (esp for a 2006 game!), and the world has more content than any game I have ever played. After over 1000 hours on this game I still have not discovered every location and solved every quest. I often put the game down for a month or two but find myself returning. A MUST HAVE for any game collection. Footnote for achievement hunters: The achievements in oblivion are exceptionally east to attain. Simply beat the main quest and all faction quests to obtain all achievements. For once a game without the annoying item collection achievements! Collapse
  94. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Oblivion is an epic masterpiece that redefined the RPG genre. Cyrodil is incredibly vast, beautifully rendered and begs you to explore every nook and cranny. You can customize your character with incredible variety, making each playthrough a substantially different experience. It's easy to forget about the main quest line and get caught up in one of the many in-depth guild or factionOblivion is an epic masterpiece that redefined the RPG genre. Cyrodil is incredibly vast, beautifully rendered and begs you to explore every nook and cranny. You can customize your character with incredible variety, making each playthrough a substantially different experience. It's easy to forget about the main quest line and get caught up in one of the many in-depth guild or faction side quest lines, because they are each so fun and different. Oblivion is one of those games that you can play for hours and hours without noticing the time pass.

    There are a few drawbacks that prevent the perfect 10, however. My chief complaint is the level system, which is convoluted and can easily result in leveling without actually significantly improving your character. You level based on the use of your "major" skills, which you select at the game's outset. Most people, not knowing the system, will, choose the skills they plan to use the most. This is a mistake, because you will level very, very quickly, but only add 2 or 3 attribute points to a few stats. The enemies will quickly become stronger than you, because you have been "inefficiently" leveling. You really have to control your leveling, which is kind of a pain and can make the game feel very contrived. Also, there are very few voice actors, often resulting in two characters with the same voice having a conversation about a person who also has the same voice. It's just a little silly, but not a huge problem. The main quest line also has some slow points, like when you have to go around closing Oblivion gates outside every single city in Cyrodil. Not very engaging. Otherwise, the game is utterly fantastic.
    Expand
  95. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    It could be stupid to say that this game is bad or boring. I don't think so , i think this is a great example on what an a RPG explore based game could offer. Yeah it has some glitches, old graphics but that doesn't mean its bad. I think that the game its almost perfect simply because you can do whatever you wanna do , making you free on your decision. The complex story ties with the lastIt could be stupid to say that this game is bad or boring. I don't think so , i think this is a great example on what an a RPG explore based game could offer. Yeah it has some glitches, old graphics but that doesn't mean its bad. I think that the game its almost perfect simply because you can do whatever you wanna do , making you free on your decision. The complex story ties with the last games . The world is very big, full of mysteries waiting to be discovered . Oh... and yeah its almost perfect. Expand
  96. May 7, 2011
    9
    Fantastic, but very boring. I can only play this game for approximately ten minuets and then I get bored. It's lame when you're a vampire and lame when you're hated. But weirdly somehow I love this game.
  97. May 27, 2011
    10
    If you want to know what R.P.G. means, get this game and play it. You will actually be playing a role. Although you can gain levels and customize your character in this game as well, most games that claim to be a R.ole P.laying G.ame are little more than leveling and choosing upgrades with no choice over the role your character plays in a story. Bottom line...Oblivion stands up thereIf you want to know what R.P.G. means, get this game and play it. You will actually be playing a role. Although you can gain levels and customize your character in this game as well, most games that claim to be a R.ole P.laying G.ame are little more than leveling and choosing upgrades with no choice over the role your character plays in a story. Bottom line...Oblivion stands up there with Mass Effect, Dragon Age, and Baldur's gate II (PC version) as the best R.P.G.'s ever. (P.S. don't go there Chrono Trigger fans. Although groundbreaking for its time, Its ancient history and not as good as any of these mentioned here.) Expand
  98. May 28, 2011
    9
    Plot driven first person medieval rpg. I enjoyed it. was it the best game I have ever played? no. But it was still worth playing. And as for all the people who say this game is boring... Any game where you can rain flaming dogs from the sky, is not boring
  99. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    An spectacular game full of lots of things to do. The story may be bland and the game may be buggy but in terms of role playing and choice it is number 1, because choice isn't just a selection of speech options, it's to go where you want, when you want and do what you want. Simply amazing.
  100. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    An absolute must have for RPG enthusiasts, this game is extremely deep and addictive, there is an entire world of quests and great story waiting for you. The class system is simliar to previous elder scrolls games, and the customization is very nice, you can really make a character that will play exactly how you want to play the game. The main story is cool, but the oblivion gates canAn absolute must have for RPG enthusiasts, this game is extremely deep and addictive, there is an entire world of quests and great story waiting for you. The class system is simliar to previous elder scrolls games, and the customization is very nice, you can really make a character that will play exactly how you want to play the game. The main story is cool, but the oblivion gates can get extremely repetetive, luckily there are many guilds to work for and many side quests that you can pick up along the way all with intricate and interesting stories behind them. This game will take you a great deal of time to completely beat, and its definitely worth it in the end. My only gripes in the game would be that the enemies scale with your level, so your feeling of getting buff after a long period of time never quite get fulfilled because the enemies get tougher right along with you, also the combat system, kind of like previous elder scrolls games can get very repetetive, but these facts are overshadowed by the epic scale of the game. In conclusion if you are looking for a great RPG experience, definitely pick this up and you will see why people sunk so much time into this game. Expand
  101. Mar 23, 2011
    0
    Simply the best RPG ever created for console. However the game has a couple flaws. At around level 30 the game is no longer difficult. Instead of making tougher monsters the designers begin throwing mobs that are easily defeated. Also the game designers decided to "level" all areas to your skill thereby making it possible to travel anywhere at anytime without fear of encountering aSimply the best RPG ever created for console. However the game has a couple flaws. At around level 30 the game is no longer difficult. Instead of making tougher monsters the designers begin throwing mobs that are easily defeated. Also the game designers decided to "level" all areas to your skill thereby making it possible to travel anywhere at anytime without fear of encountering a placed that is too difficult to you to overcome at any stage of character development. This being said other fantasy RPG designers use this game as a benchmark. The environment is simply stunning (esp for a 2006 game!), and the world has more content than any game I have ever played. After over 1000 hours on this game I still have not discovered every location and solved every quest. I often put the game down for a month or two but find myself returning. A MUST HAVE for any game collection. Footnote for achievement hunters: The achievements in oblivion are exceptionally east to attain. Simply beat the main quest and all faction quests to obtain all achievements. For once a game without the annoying item collection achievements! Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.