The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1137 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2017
    9
    Oblivion will go down in video gaming's hall of fame. It is the first truly massive Western RPG with mass-market appeal on consoles. This game changed how I looked at games altogether. With a massive array of quests and campaigns and a main campaign that could easily be a Hollywood blockbuster this is a game you will not want to leave. I am still playing my original save after ten years.Oblivion will go down in video gaming's hall of fame. It is the first truly massive Western RPG with mass-market appeal on consoles. This game changed how I looked at games altogether. With a massive array of quests and campaigns and a main campaign that could easily be a Hollywood blockbuster this is a game you will not want to leave. I am still playing my original save after ten years. This is sadly where my only criticism of the game comes in, my original save is becoming unplayable on my Xbox 360 (however my Xbox One seems to be handling it better). This means I am 'rationing' the remaining play time before it becomes useless. I wonder if Bethesda could issue a patch? Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2017
    10
    Incredibly immersive and engaging, and a worthy successor to TES:III. Suffers from Bethesda's signature robotic combat which puts a damper on melee mechanics, but overwhelmingly compensates for this with its detailed world-building. Players can interact with nearly every object in the game, and have practically no limit to their options. It's easy to forget there's a real world outside of Cyrodil.
  3. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    This game blew me away when i first played it at a friends house and was the main reason i bought an Xbox 360. Up there with the best of the best, a masterpiece for the time and still holds up well over 10 years later.
  4. Mar 20, 2016
    10
    I'm not really into RPGs but I saw my friend playing it 10 years ago and it just looked so awesome, you can do everything you want, you got tons of quests and a good story. I also got a looting kinda playstile so there are tons of items and weapons and enchantments and so on to find. I also really like the leveling system, because new items are unlocked then so you don't face impossibleI'm not really into RPGs but I saw my friend playing it 10 years ago and it just looked so awesome, you can do everything you want, you got tons of quests and a good story. I also got a looting kinda playstile so there are tons of items and weapons and enchantments and so on to find. I also really like the leveling system, because new items are unlocked then so you don't face impossible enemies at level 1 but later when you get better equipment. The world is huge, really huge, I've played this game for over 200 hours and I still find new places and caves. The only flaw is that there are some bugs on the 360 version so get the PC one, the game is 10 years old so it should run on most PCs but nevertheless for me it's still the best-looking RPG (except maybe GTA V) I've played so far, I like it more than Skyrim because it's more colorful but Skyrim is by no means bad either, I recommend both games to you, and definitely check out the Shivering Isles DLC, I'd never expected so much content. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2015
    9
    One of the best games ever made. It has content to last you for literally 200 hundred hours or more. And thats with ONE character class. The leveling system is stupid though, but it's just a minor complain. PLAY THIS NOW on whatever console you can
  6. Aug 29, 2015
    10
    There are few games that you discover A sense of wonder and purpose than this Game.Not even later Bethesda games like Skyrim and Fallout 3 made me feel like I was in A world of awe and one where I truly had the freedom with nearly unlimited possibilities within A gorgeous package. Cyrodiil to me way outshines any other Elder Scrolls title.No matter how you play it is always A unique andThere are few games that you discover A sense of wonder and purpose than this Game.Not even later Bethesda games like Skyrim and Fallout 3 made me feel like I was in A world of awe and one where I truly had the freedom with nearly unlimited possibilities within A gorgeous package. Cyrodiil to me way outshines any other Elder Scrolls title.No matter how you play it is always A unique and special experience that you will be remembering for years to come.Replay-ability is so much fun,the action,the interactions with NPC,random adventures.exploration and A whole lot more await you.10/10 in my book! Expand
  7. May 25, 2015
    10
    Who wouldn't give The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion a 10/10?. This game has aged very well from it's release in 2006. The story is just as engaging as Skyrims and the gameplay too. Oblivion is not only just a great game in general, it has bought many memories to the minds of many gamers. Do I even have to mention the soundtrack? the soundtrack is awesome. The characters are as memorable asWho wouldn't give The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion a 10/10?. This game has aged very well from it's release in 2006. The story is just as engaging as Skyrims and the gameplay too. Oblivion is not only just a great game in general, it has bought many memories to the minds of many gamers. Do I even have to mention the soundtrack? the soundtrack is awesome. The characters are as memorable as ever. Oblivion is a masterpiece. must-but now. Expand
  8. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    One of the best games i ever played in my xbox 360. The ambiance of the game and the possibilities that have are fantastic. every fan of rpg, have to play this game! =]
  9. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Around this time this is one of the best games I've ever played hands down. The art work. Man every thing when I first found this game I was hooked love the idea. Yes there was a glitch or two but with how big this game was and a lot of play hours I could understand. Hands down one of the best games I've ever played... :))
  10. Nov 20, 2014
    8
    Its a great game, I never really beat it though. Honestly after a while all of the content is recycled. Like a lot of dungeons look the same, different layout but the same. Also the difficulty level goes from extremely easy to damn near impossible. I know you can lower the difficulty setting but I just wish they would have got it right. I think I should go back to this game and just do aIts a great game, I never really beat it though. Honestly after a while all of the content is recycled. Like a lot of dungeons look the same, different layout but the same. Also the difficulty level goes from extremely easy to damn near impossible. I know you can lower the difficulty setting but I just wish they would have got it right. I think I should go back to this game and just do a speed run through the main storyline, because I would just keep doing the side quests. Expand
  11. Sep 3, 2014
    8
    The fourth installment of the Elder Scrolls takes us back to Cyrodiil for the third time in the franchise and the first time since Daggerfall. It is a beautiful game that is definitely one of my favorite games of all time. The only problems with Oblivion is that it hasn't aged well. The graphical capabilities is way behind nowadays and compared to its spiritual successors( Fallout 3 andThe fourth installment of the Elder Scrolls takes us back to Cyrodiil for the third time in the franchise and the first time since Daggerfall. It is a beautiful game that is definitely one of my favorite games of all time. The only problems with Oblivion is that it hasn't aged well. The graphical capabilities is way behind nowadays and compared to its spiritual successors( Fallout 3 and Skyrim ) and the A.I. is not as good as it should've been.
    My last thoughts is that Bethesda must've opted for an easy way out by going back to Cyrodiil and creating an easily thought out game so they could make something as epic as the next installment in the series.
    Expand
  12. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    Best game ever if i wanted more adventure id have to be friends with peter pan and that's not possible one things is possible playing this game and its the one thing i wanna do for the rest of my life
  13. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    Oblivion is easily one of the greatest games out there on the xbox 360! you will find yourself playing this game for hours and hours on end the story is great! the combat is good the graphics look amazing even for a 8 year old game! but at times the game lags and can affect you during combat. And the soundtrack is..... Freaking amazing. So if you can buy this for either console or pc getOblivion is easily one of the greatest games out there on the xbox 360! you will find yourself playing this game for hours and hours on end the story is great! the combat is good the graphics look amazing even for a 8 year old game! but at times the game lags and can affect you during combat. And the soundtrack is..... Freaking amazing. So if you can buy this for either console or pc get it it is worth our money! Expand
  14. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is an extraordinary experience and is hands down my favourite game of all time. If you like any RPG what so ever then Oblivion is right for you. The quests are amazing and exciting to play and the story itself is epic. The customization of your character and game play feels so unique because there are so many choices and paths you can take with yourThe Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is an extraordinary experience and is hands down my favourite game of all time. If you like any RPG what so ever then Oblivion is right for you. The quests are amazing and exciting to play and the story itself is epic. The customization of your character and game play feels so unique because there are so many choices and paths you can take with your character. The environment is very bright and colourful and the graphics are pretty decent for being released in 2006. The music of this game is absolutely breathtaking, it's the best game score that I have ever heard, and I enjoy listening to it during my adventure. The only flaw is that there are not that many voice actors, so you hear a lot of the same voices from different NPCs. Oblivion is my favourite RPG and my favourite game overall. It would be a mistake if you didn't ever play this. Expand
  15. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    This game is truly amazing. The graphics are stunning for 2006, and continue to amaze people. There are so many quests that you can find anywhere throughout the land, and exploring never gets old. The different guilds give a lot of content to enjoy, and the flow of the game is executed perfectly. While the game has many amazing points, the combat is somewhat repetitive, and the levelingThis game is truly amazing. The graphics are stunning for 2006, and continue to amaze people. There are so many quests that you can find anywhere throughout the land, and exploring never gets old. The different guilds give a lot of content to enjoy, and the flow of the game is executed perfectly. While the game has many amazing points, the combat is somewhat repetitive, and the leveling system is slightly annoying at times. I still love this game though, and if you're looking for a game that will give you nearly endless hours for your money: Try Oblivion. Expand
  16. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it seems people really give up easily when playing games.

    I am rating this based off of when i played it, not when it came out, and not after playing skyrim nor am I comparing it to skyrim, since that is dumb to play skyrim 1st, then oblivion. you wouldnt watch the last star wars movie and then watch the 2nd one, thats dumb too.

    also EddieHokie complained that there were no houses to buy? there is one in every town and then the expansion lets you have a castle, a mages tower, some undergrown thief ship, so did you not look in any of the towns ever for a house to buy?(apparently he didnt) so yes there are lots of nice houses to buy and i preferred the castle.(the castle, tower and underground ship are DLC content)

    the oblivion gates were a chore but i liked the new areas and things to loot, so unless you hate these kinds of games to begin with or play skyrim 1st, then this was a fun game with things to do.

    I dont like being a vampire only cuz the sun constantly kills you otherwise vamp is fun and meeting vampires are fun cuz you can clearly tell someone is a vampire but they are hiding it and its fun to try and find evidence they are a vampire and all sorts of other stuff you will find and see if you simply play the game a normal amount of time and not whine like a child after 1-2 hours.
    Expand
  17. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    Fantastic world to play in, very well done, you can see that the designers appreciate what they are making. Another game that steals hours of my time:)
  18. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    The leveling system is broken, the graphics haven't aged well, everything looks generic, the combat system is atrocious, ... yet I love this game and its freedom & magical atmosphere. Daggerfall & Morrowind are true classics, Skyrim is better in nearly every way, but Oblivion has so much heart.
  19. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Oblivion, like its older brothers, is a timeless classic. that's all that needs to be said on behalf of this masterpiece. but for curios people who don't know oblivion is one of those few games that bring the game play, storytelling and visuals to a whole new level. Bethesda truly set the bar for the Xbox 360's launch and to this day Oblivion still holds up in every way. simply put if youOblivion, like its older brothers, is a timeless classic. that's all that needs to be said on behalf of this masterpiece. but for curios people who don't know oblivion is one of those few games that bring the game play, storytelling and visuals to a whole new level. Bethesda truly set the bar for the Xbox 360's launch and to this day Oblivion still holds up in every way. simply put if you have never had the pleasure of playing this game now is as good a time as any especially with the next gen under-way you'll be able to get this game at a bargain and believe me it'll be worth every penny Expand
  20. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Best game ever I LOVE IT it's better than skyrim it isn't just kill this kill that there is actual strategy like that dark brotherhood quest where you have to kill the shi captai n and instead of walking in and killing him you hide in a box and pop out
  21. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    Only it's successor Skyrim boasts a better Fantasy RPG experience.

    At the time it came out, simply one of the greatest games to ever hit the shelves and while it does have some flaws, especially related to certain combat mechanics, to this day it rivals most RPGs for quality.
  22. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    My Favorite Game on Xbox! The dungeons are fun, the quests are unique and interesting. The lore is fantastic! Everything about this game is amazing! My only complaint is you spend a lot of time in your menu and quest journals.
  23. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Great game, huge map to explore and countless quests to complete. Don't be fooled by the WoW nerds who are giving this game poor reviews to try to lower the score. The game is fun and you can easily spend 50+ hours on this game without even touching the main quest.
  24. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    This is a great game. The things I hated about Morrowind is gone but the only problem I have with this game is the guide arrow & how the game feels so piecefull that if you want to get in a fight then you will have to go into a cave, ruins, ect.
  25. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (few changes to an already enjoyable system, but not all for the better)
    Polish: 4 /5 (much improved graphics, but slightly less coherent aesthetic than Morrowind) Value: 5 /5 (as always, a huge open world with virtually unmatched replay potential) ---Review--- Yes, the game world is by all standards large and looks immensely better than that of Morrowind,
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (few changes to an already enjoyable system, but not all for the better)
    Polish: 4 /5 (much improved graphics, but slightly less coherent aesthetic than Morrowind)
    Value: 5 /5 (as always, a huge open world with virtually unmatched replay potential)

    ---Review---
    Yes, the game world is by all standards large and looks immensely better than that of Morrowind, but at the same time I have found that Oblivion sorely lacks the sense of imminent danger and risk that made its predecessor such an exciting experience.

    Part of this might have to do with the loot and dungeon leveling system that I personally despised (but which might appeal to casual players and fans of more conventional dungeon crawls), but the ease of virtually unlimited fast travel and omnipresent quest markers also contribute to the suffocating odor of unnecessary streamlining.

    Even if such ease-and-efficiency-of-use oriented features seem to be somewhat at odds with TES' trademark free-roaming at-your-leisure exploration, the latter thankfully remains intact. The dungeons tend to be boring and repetitive, but the setting of Cyrodiil is rather interestingly varied if a bit lacking in overall cohesion.

    Of course the world itself isn't perfectly convincing, and neither is it entirely realistic in how it reacts to the player's actions, but for a game of Oblivion's scope that's asking quite a lot. There are many things that Oblivion does very impressively, such that most players should be able to overlook- if somewhat begrudgingly- its few but obvious flaws.
    Expand
  26. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This game is great. At the time of release, there was nothing quite like it. Sure the inventory and menus were a the voice acting was terrible and every goddamn NPC was ugly. But never before has a game given someone so much freedom to do whatever you want. The game isn't for everyone, especially those with low attention spans, or little patience. Sometimes the game can be downrightThis game is great. At the time of release, there was nothing quite like it. Sure the inventory and menus were a the voice acting was terrible and every goddamn NPC was ugly. But never before has a game given someone so much freedom to do whatever you want. The game isn't for everyone, especially those with low attention spans, or little patience. Sometimes the game can be downright boring, and the bugs will make you lose up to 10 hours of gameplay, and yet its still a masterpiece. Expand
  27. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This game always loomed around the video store unnoticed, until I picked it up one day by chance. I never looked back since then, it is one of my all time favorites, and I will always treasure the memories and experiences this game gave me. Absolute 10/10.
  28. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all time. The amount of options and possibilities in this game makes it so unique, apart from other RPG's. Skyrim is a very good game, but I have never enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Oblivion. Just running around in the beautiful cities and landscapes, to explore all the amazing things in this game (while gaining levels, yeah). You never have a dull moment, at least IMy favorite game of all time. The amount of options and possibilities in this game makes it so unique, apart from other RPG's. Skyrim is a very good game, but I have never enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Oblivion. Just running around in the beautiful cities and landscapes, to explore all the amazing things in this game (while gaining levels, yeah). You never have a dull moment, at least I didn't, in Oblivion! PERIOD! Expand
  29. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    even though I have mixed feelings about Skyrim I loved oblivion. it is one of the best RPGs ever in my opinon and you should get it and i will tell you why
    pros: Story and characters, memorable dynamic storys you make on your own or through the quests, oblivion gates, Daedra are really cool villains, combat is good for a 2006 game, large amount of interesting content, the guilds have
    even though I have mixed feelings about Skyrim I loved oblivion. it is one of the best RPGs ever in my opinon and you should get it and i will tell you why
    pros: Story and characters, memorable dynamic storys you make on your own or through the quests, oblivion gates, Daedra are really cool villains, combat is good for a 2006 game, large amount of interesting content, the guilds have interesting storys and actvities and help power up your skills in each respective class (fighter= warrior mages guild= wizards thieves guild= theives duh dark brotherhood= assasins arena= whatever you dang want) spell creating
    cons= level up system (level up wrong and lose every fight after) kind of disappointing main story climax, character models are poorly designed, in the dialogue system the camera zooms in onto the NPCs face as time stops for everything else and you basically select the subject of the conversation rather then what you say
    all in all oblivion is an amazing game worth every penny of its purchase price and with expansions like the shivering isles and knights of the nine there is plenty of content once you finish all of the original game (which i doubt would happen)
    Expand
  30. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    I reviewed Skyrim before I reviewed Oblivion, however, I played Oblivion first. All I can say about this game is that it is just amazing. It is not as good as Skyrim, but it is still quite good. Oblivion was the game that brought me into this amazing franchise, and is now one of my favorite video games of all time. The graphics of this game are quite beautiful. Of course they are notI reviewed Skyrim before I reviewed Oblivion, however, I played Oblivion first. All I can say about this game is that it is just amazing. It is not as good as Skyrim, but it is still quite good. Oblivion was the game that brought me into this amazing franchise, and is now one of my favorite video games of all time. The graphics of this game are quite beautiful. Of course they are not as good as Skyrim (not quite as realistic), but they are beautiful enough to get the job done. There is quite a bit of detail in the graphics, and it really was a graphical achievement back in 2006 when this was released. Even today, the game's graphics are still very good. The sound is good too. It's not quite as realistic as I would have hoped, however, once again, it is realistic enough to get the job done. The sound effects and voice acting are done well enough, however, the best sound in this game is the game's music. Along with this game's sequel Skyrim, this game ties with the best soundtrack I have ever heard from a video game. The soundtrack to both of these games perfectly fit the environment you are in, and add a very beautiful touch to an already beautiful game. Once again, there are several quests to do in Oblivion that each have their own story. However, I think the main quest of Oblivion might just be a tiny bit better than Skyrim. Skyrim's main quest is a bit of a cliched apocalypse prevention scenario, however, Oblivion's story has gates from Oblivion (basically hell in The Elder Scrolls lore) opening, unleashing demons. It is up to you to seal these gateways, and stop the demons from appearing. One thing that is unique about this game's story is that you are not the chosen one. Instead, you are helping out the chosen one. This may sound boring, however, it really is well done, and much more original than most video games about a chosen one (ones where your character is the chosen one). This changed back to you being the chosen one in Skyrim however. As for the gameplay, it is not Skyrim, but it is good enough. This game is also open world, just like Skyrim, and you can literally do just about anything that you want. You can even choose not to do quests if you wish. The gameplay is not much different from Skyrim at all, however, I would say that it is not quite as good. Despite combat being good, it does feel a little like you are waving your sword at thin air. It is also weird the way non-player characters change the look on their face from sad to glad mere seconds after reminding them of something bad then good. Leveling up is also quite mixed if you ask me. At the very beginning of the game, you have to choose your birthsign. You really have to be careful with this, because once you pick a birthsign, you keep it throughout the rest of the game. So there is no way you can change it in the middle of the game like in Skyrim. Despite these flaws, I can safely say that this game is fantastic. It is not as good as Skyrim, however, it is good enough to be worthy of recognition throughout the gaming community. That is why I award Oblivion with an outstanding 9 out of 10! Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.