User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1016 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    This is the game that convinced me to buy an XBox 360. At the time, the visuals just blew me away as I had not sen anything like it before. The main quest is rather short, but the realm is huge with tons of exploration. Cyrodill is just extremely beautiful and a marvel to behold. NPCs are a bit flat and the leveling system a bit unbalanced, but other than that this game is fantastic.This is the game that convinced me to buy an XBox 360. At the time, the visuals just blew me away as I had not sen anything like it before. The main quest is rather short, but the realm is huge with tons of exploration. Cyrodill is just extremely beautiful and a marvel to behold. NPCs are a bit flat and the leveling system a bit unbalanced, but other than that this game is fantastic. Overall: A fantastic game and a wonderful introduction to the 360 for me. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    well when you compare it to Morrowind its better in some ways and worse then others. the better would be its WAAAAAY less buggy and gltchy . the combat system has been improved to make it more fun . the graphics look great. fast travel makes getting around alot easier . nav points make doing quests alot easier . it has a diffucult setting for newer gamers to the series. the not as goodwell when you compare it to Morrowind its better in some ways and worse then others. the better would be its WAAAAAY less buggy and gltchy . the combat system has been improved to make it more fun . the graphics look great. fast travel makes getting around alot easier . nav points make doing quests alot easier . it has a diffucult setting for newer gamers to the series. the not as good would be ... robbing people houeses isnt near as fun no loot ever worth steeling . less magic spells and they took out the ability to fly!!! WHY!? enimys and new gear lvl up with you which i didnt like . i liked the feel of never knowing what i was walking into when exploring in morrowind. made more of a fun challange and making me wonder what i was gona find for loot. .now i know all the enimys will be my lvl and the loot will always be near what my lvl is... sucks. not as much to do as in morrowin eather although im not complaining i still spent 160+ hours doing just about every thing to do in this game which is way longer then just about 99.9% of games out there but morrowing was 400+ hours. regaurdless of all that bethesda still made a great game and i am very happy with it . Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    It could be stupid to say that this game is bad or boring. I don't think so , i think this is a great example on what an a RPG explore based game could offer. Yeah it has some glitches, old graphics but that doesn't mean its bad. I think that the game its almost perfect simply because you can do whatever you wanna do , making you free on your decision. The complex story ties with the lastIt could be stupid to say that this game is bad or boring. I don't think so , i think this is a great example on what an a RPG explore based game could offer. Yeah it has some glitches, old graphics but that doesn't mean its bad. I think that the game its almost perfect simply because you can do whatever you wanna do , making you free on your decision. The complex story ties with the last games . The world is very big, full of mysteries waiting to be discovered . Oh... and yeah its almost perfect. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Ok after Skyrim hiting my No.1 game of all time I had to try Oblivion. Oblivion is a amazing game that should not be given a zero for graphics for a 6 year old game(Graphes are not everything peeps). Now im a huge fan of the Elder Scrolls series. As soon as I compete this gae in getting Morrow Wind. The Elder Scrolls IV: Obivion 9.5/10
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Though this has aged over the past 6 years,it's still one of the best games ever.In anticipation for Skyrim,I began again and put another hundred or so hours into it and despite some tech issues and somewhat dated graphics,I can still recommend it.Seriously,if you call yourself a gamer and have never played this,you are mistaken.
  6. May 30, 2013
    9
    One of the greatest RPG's of all time. Oblivion is a gem. A large open world, lots of literature to read, many quests and things to do and a wonderful combat system. Though it comes with its fair share of glitches, it's no excuse to not play this game. You thought Skyrim was good? Well you haven't played Oblivion. Just go! Buy this game and thank me later!
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Bought this game first day, never played any game in this genre before this. Amazing controls, alot of detail in the environment, massive map with tons of freedom. The AI is slightly stupid in some situations. The game has a **** load of minor glitches. Some big glitches present that require you to load previous saves, others completely freezing the system. These would otherwise renter aBought this game first day, never played any game in this genre before this. Amazing controls, alot of detail in the environment, massive map with tons of freedom. The AI is slightly stupid in some situations. The game has a **** load of minor glitches. Some big glitches present that require you to load previous saves, others completely freezing the system. These would otherwise renter a game unplayable or discourage you from playing it but this game is addicting and will definitely keep you locked away from the real world for a couple hundred hours or so. Collapse
  8. May 27, 2013
    10
    I haven't played this game in a few years but I am going back and retroactivly scoring them. While it is not as beautiful as Skyrim is today. For it's time it was an amazing game. It felt like a living breathing word which you happened upon. The fighting and magic were well done. Most of the quests were entertaining. My only complaing was that 3rd person looked atrocious, but since theI haven't played this game in a few years but I am going back and retroactivly scoring them. While it is not as beautiful as Skyrim is today. For it's time it was an amazing game. It felt like a living breathing word which you happened upon. The fighting and magic were well done. Most of the quests were entertaining. My only complaing was that 3rd person looked atrocious, but since the game is meant to be played in first person, I'll let it slide. Expand
  9. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is simply the most comprehensive game and experience on the Xbox 360 to date. While a few other games on the system might do one or two things as good or slightly better than Oblivion, none of them come close to overwhelming experience that is Oblivion. Simply put, it is the one Xbox 360 game that everyone should own.
  10. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    I reviewed Skyrim before I reviewed Oblivion, however, I played Oblivion first. All I can say about this game is that it is just amazing. It is not as good as Skyrim, but it is still quite good. Oblivion was the game that brought me into this amazing franchise, and is now one of my favorite video games of all time. The graphics of this game are quite beautiful. Of course they are notI reviewed Skyrim before I reviewed Oblivion, however, I played Oblivion first. All I can say about this game is that it is just amazing. It is not as good as Skyrim, but it is still quite good. Oblivion was the game that brought me into this amazing franchise, and is now one of my favorite video games of all time. The graphics of this game are quite beautiful. Of course they are not as good as Skyrim (not quite as realistic), but they are beautiful enough to get the job done. There is quite a bit of detail in the graphics, and it really was a graphical achievement back in 2006 when this was released. Even today, the game's graphics are still very good. The sound is good too. It's not quite as realistic as I would have hoped, however, once again, it is realistic enough to get the job done. The sound effects and voice acting are done well enough, however, the best sound in this game is the game's music. Along with this game's sequel Skyrim, this game ties with the best soundtrack I have ever heard from a video game. The soundtrack to both of these games perfectly fit the environment you are in, and add a very beautiful touch to an already beautiful game. Once again, there are several quests to do in Oblivion that each have their own story. However, I think the main quest of Oblivion might just be a tiny bit better than Skyrim. Skyrim's main quest is a bit of a cliched apocalypse prevention scenario, however, Oblivion's story has gates from Oblivion (basically hell in The Elder Scrolls lore) opening, unleashing demons. It is up to you to seal these gateways, and stop the demons from appearing. One thing that is unique about this game's story is that you are not the chosen one. Instead, you are helping out the chosen one. This may sound boring, however, it really is well done, and much more original than most video games about a chosen one (ones where your character is the chosen one). This changed back to you being the chosen one in Skyrim however. As for the gameplay, it is not Skyrim, but it is good enough. This game is also open world, just like Skyrim, and you can literally do just about anything that you want. You can even choose not to do quests if you wish. The gameplay is not much different from Skyrim at all, however, I would say that it is not quite as good. Despite combat being good, it does feel a little like you are waving your sword at thin air. It is also weird the way non-player characters change the look on their face from sad to glad mere seconds after reminding them of something bad then good. Leveling up is also quite mixed if you ask me. At the very beginning of the game, you have to choose your birthsign. You really have to be careful with this, because once you pick a birthsign, you keep it throughout the rest of the game. So there is no way you can change it in the middle of the game like in Skyrim. Despite these flaws, I can safely say that this game is fantastic. It is not as good as Skyrim, however, it is good enough to be worthy of recognition throughout the gaming community. That is why I award Oblivion with an outstanding 9 out of 10! Expand
  11. May 25, 2015
    10
    Who wouldn't give The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion a 10/10?. This game has aged very well from it's release in 2006. The story is just as engaging as Skyrims and the gameplay too. Oblivion is not only just a great game in general, it has bought many memories to the minds of many gamers. Do I even have to mention the soundtrack? the soundtrack is awesome. The characters are as memorable asWho wouldn't give The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion a 10/10?. This game has aged very well from it's release in 2006. The story is just as engaging as Skyrims and the gameplay too. Oblivion is not only just a great game in general, it has bought many memories to the minds of many gamers. Do I even have to mention the soundtrack? the soundtrack is awesome. The characters are as memorable as ever. Oblivion is a masterpiece. must-but now. Expand
  12. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is an extraordinary experience and is hands down my favourite game of all time. If you like any RPG what so ever then Oblivion is right for you. The quests are amazing and exciting to play and the story itself is epic. The customization of your character and game play feels so unique because there are so many choices and paths you can take with yourThe Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is an extraordinary experience and is hands down my favourite game of all time. If you like any RPG what so ever then Oblivion is right for you. The quests are amazing and exciting to play and the story itself is epic. The customization of your character and game play feels so unique because there are so many choices and paths you can take with your character. The environment is very bright and colourful and the graphics are pretty decent for being released in 2006. The music of this game is absolutely breathtaking, it's the best game score that I have ever heard, and I enjoy listening to it during my adventure. The only flaw is that there are not that many voice actors, so you hear a lot of the same voices from different NPCs. Oblivion is my favourite RPG and my favourite game overall. It would be a mistake if you didn't ever play this. Expand
  13. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is one of the best games I have ever played. With over 200 hours of game play it is almost like living another life. The world of Cyrodil is a huge world with beautiful landscapes and cities, and a great amount of characters. There is not another game with an open world that is as good as the one found in the elder scrolls oblivion. so if you are ever in the need of aIn my opinion this is one of the best games I have ever played. With over 200 hours of game play it is almost like living another life. The world of Cyrodil is a huge world with beautiful landscapes and cities, and a great amount of characters. There is not another game with an open world that is as good as the one found in the elder scrolls oblivion. so if you are ever in the need of a good video game, you should pick up this one. Expand
  14. May 6, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of yourOblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of your own. Too many rpg games since oblivion are banging out incredible graphics at the expense of having a good solid storyline. Many developers out there should be looking at oblivion and realising that you have to get the storyline and plot interesting in order for in rpg game to be good. The weapon functionality in terms of upgrading your equipment (armour and swords) is fantastic you are always on the lookout for better gear, this is one thing that oblivion done briliantly. To many recent rpgs have very little focus on this aspect eg the witcher.

    Finally i would like to sat that i hope oblivion skyrim is just as good if not better than oblivion, the omens are looking good because they say there will be dragons and dragon language. Now that soiunds goooood.
    Expand
  15. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    The best rpg EVER i read some comments like one moran user called WOWplayer and i say what the f* is wrong with u ? but ur name says it all wow... well it has the best graphics for a 2005 game and u can update it more with mods if u want to
    there are a LOT of questS in this game the main quest are not a lot but u still have a LOT to do in the game after the main quests....
    i have enjoy
    The best rpg EVER i read some comments like one moran user called WOWplayer and i say what the f* is wrong with u ? but ur name says it all wow... well it has the best graphics for a 2005 game and u can update it more with mods if u want to
    there are a LOT of questS in this game the main quest are not a lot but u still have a LOT to do in the game after the main quests....
    i have enjoy this game seens 2005 and now i will stop playing it coz of skyrim... :D
    Expand
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG'S i've ever played. I highly recommend playing this. I have 130 hours of gameplay on this without the DLC. This game is perfect and a must buy.
  17. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This game is loaded with bugs, frustrations, and flaws. But it is the best game I have ever played. I have never spent so much time within a game world, exploring each and every place, leveling my characters to the max, and replaying it every year or so again, just to experience the absolute beast of a game this is. Get this game.
  18. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it seems people really give up easily when playing games.

    I am rating this based off of when i played it, not when it came out, and not after playing skyrim nor am I comparing it to skyrim, since that is dumb to play skyrim 1st, then oblivion. you wouldnt watch the last star wars movie and then watch the 2nd one, thats dumb too.

    also EddieHokie complained that there were no houses to buy? there is one in every town and then the expansion lets you have a castle, a mages tower, some undergrown thief ship, so did you not look in any of the towns ever for a house to buy?(apparently he didnt) so yes there are lots of nice houses to buy and i preferred the castle.(the castle, tower and underground ship are DLC content)

    the oblivion gates were a chore but i liked the new areas and things to loot, so unless you hate these kinds of games to begin with or play skyrim 1st, then this was a fun game with things to do.

    I dont like being a vampire only cuz the sun constantly kills you otherwise vamp is fun and meeting vampires are fun cuz you can clearly tell someone is a vampire but they are hiding it and its fun to try and find evidence they are a vampire and all sorts of other stuff you will find and see if you simply play the game a normal amount of time and not whine like a child after 1-2 hours.
    Expand
  19. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever created. Massive world,massive amount of customization,amazing graphics, beautiful soundtrack and touching story makes Oblivion an experience of lifetime. Oblivion improves everything from Morrowind. Get ready to lose your social life
  20. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    Oblivion is easily one of the greatest games out there on the xbox 360! you will find yourself playing this game for hours and hours on end the story is great! the combat is good the graphics look amazing even for a 8 year old game! but at times the game lags and can affect you during combat. And the soundtrack is..... Freaking amazing. So if you can buy this for either console or pc getOblivion is easily one of the greatest games out there on the xbox 360! you will find yourself playing this game for hours and hours on end the story is great! the combat is good the graphics look amazing even for a 8 year old game! but at times the game lags and can affect you during combat. And the soundtrack is..... Freaking amazing. So if you can buy this for either console or pc get it it is worth our money! Expand
  21. May 27, 2011
    10
    If you want to know what R.P.G. means, get this game and play it. You will actually be playing a role. Although you can gain levels and customize your character in this game as well, most games that claim to be a R.ole P.laying G.ame are little more than leveling and choosing upgrades with no choice over the role your character plays in a story. Bottom line...Oblivion stands up thereIf you want to know what R.P.G. means, get this game and play it. You will actually be playing a role. Although you can gain levels and customize your character in this game as well, most games that claim to be a R.ole P.laying G.ame are little more than leveling and choosing upgrades with no choice over the role your character plays in a story. Bottom line...Oblivion stands up there with Mass Effect, Dragon Age, and Baldur's gate II (PC version) as the best R.P.G.'s ever. (P.S. don't go there Chrono Trigger fans. Although groundbreaking for its time, Its ancient history and not as good as any of these mentioned here.) Expand
  22. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    Oblivion can be a frustrating experience, you are presented with an intriguing setting that doesn't live up to its potential. I found myself wanting more out of the various regions in Cyrodill. The leveling system leaves much to be desired, you can quickly find yourself out-matched if you aren't careful. Despite this glaring flaw, Oblivion stands as a monumental achievement in gaming.
  23. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    Only it's successor Skyrim boasts a better Fantasy RPG experience.

    At the time it came out, simply one of the greatest games to ever hit the shelves and while it does have some flaws, especially related to certain combat mechanics, to this day it rivals most RPGs for quality.
  24. May 13, 2012
    9
    One of the best games on xbox 360. Hugely varied and interesting fantasy landscape with a plethora of things to do from alchemy to smithing to enchanting. The storyline is fantastic and the lead narration from Patrick Stewart sets the scene for an immersive epic from the very opening. Buying your own house to decorate and place your rare loots in never gets old, and the multitude of townsOne of the best games on xbox 360. Hugely varied and interesting fantasy landscape with a plethora of things to do from alchemy to smithing to enchanting. The storyline is fantastic and the lead narration from Patrick Stewart sets the scene for an immersive epic from the very opening. Buying your own house to decorate and place your rare loots in never gets old, and the multitude of towns with differing style makes picking a home for our characters unique and interesting on each play through. Couple this with the ability to buy a mount to explore the vast open landscapes for quests and caves and dungeons and you have an awesome freestyle play experience. The storywriting and voice acting are all top notch as is the gameplay and graphics.
    My only two complaints are as follows: the levelling system, which sees common enemies getting more powerful depending on your level (which kind of makes levelling up pointless) aka getting attacked by a common roadside bandit who has elite weapons and armor because of your level when you passed by the same road earlier in the game to be attacked by a barely dressed struggler with iron weapons; and the glitchiness inherent in the game, with slow load times and the occasional crashing. Overall a superb and ambitious title for the xbox 360.
    Expand
  25. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The attention to detail is amazing, I was speechless after I left the first dungeon and began to explore the world.
  26. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Not often do i give a game a perfect score. Oblivion offers a seamless world of fantasy and adventure. Add to that the ability to do whatever you want anytime and the choice to continue playing after you complete the game. This is truly a remarkable game, which can be enjoyed for countless hours even after you have beaten it.
  27. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    An absolute must have for RPG enthusiasts, this game is extremely deep and addictive, there is an entire world of quests and great story waiting for you. The class system is simliar to previous elder scrolls games, and the customization is very nice, you can really make a character that will play exactly how you want to play the game. The main story is cool, but the oblivion gates canAn absolute must have for RPG enthusiasts, this game is extremely deep and addictive, there is an entire world of quests and great story waiting for you. The class system is simliar to previous elder scrolls games, and the customization is very nice, you can really make a character that will play exactly how you want to play the game. The main story is cool, but the oblivion gates can get extremely repetetive, luckily there are many guilds to work for and many side quests that you can pick up along the way all with intricate and interesting stories behind them. This game will take you a great deal of time to completely beat, and its definitely worth it in the end. My only gripes in the game would be that the enemies scale with your level, so your feeling of getting buff after a long period of time never quite get fulfilled because the enemies get tougher right along with you, also the combat system, kind of like previous elder scrolls games can get very repetetive, but these facts are overshadowed by the epic scale of the game. In conclusion if you are looking for a great RPG experience, definitely pick this up and you will see why people sunk so much time into this game. Expand
  28. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    this game fuses action and exploration to the point where i wish i lived in this magical world. With amazingly beautiful music and the best graphics i have seen in a while this game is one of the best.
  29. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. There are some flaws like the world that doesn't seem to be actually living and some glitches, but it will never ruin the overall experience.
  30. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    Fantastic world to play in, very well done, you can see that the designers appreciate what they are making. Another game that steals hours of my time:)
  31. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I've played, and it has stood the test of time. In terms of amount of gameplay, only newer Elder Scrolls games can even compete. Shivering Isles was probably the best DLC released for any game ever, and added tons of hours to a game with already limitless playtime. The combat is fun, the story is huge, and it can keep you busy indefinitely.
  32. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Oblivion is an epic masterpiece that redefined the RPG genre. Cyrodil is incredibly vast, beautifully rendered and begs you to explore every nook and cranny. You can customize your character with incredible variety, making each playthrough a substantially different experience. It's easy to forget about the main quest line and get caught up in one of the many in-depth guild or factionOblivion is an epic masterpiece that redefined the RPG genre. Cyrodil is incredibly vast, beautifully rendered and begs you to explore every nook and cranny. You can customize your character with incredible variety, making each playthrough a substantially different experience. It's easy to forget about the main quest line and get caught up in one of the many in-depth guild or faction side quest lines, because they are each so fun and different. Oblivion is one of those games that you can play for hours and hours without noticing the time pass.

    There are a few drawbacks that prevent the perfect 10, however. My chief complaint is the level system, which is convoluted and can easily result in leveling without actually significantly improving your character. You level based on the use of your "major" skills, which you select at the game's outset. Most people, not knowing the system, will, choose the skills they plan to use the most. This is a mistake, because you will level very, very quickly, but only add 2 or 3 attribute points to a few stats. The enemies will quickly become stronger than you, because you have been "inefficiently" leveling. You really have to control your leveling, which is kind of a pain and can make the game feel very contrived. Also, there are very few voice actors, often resulting in two characters with the same voice having a conversation about a person who also has the same voice. It's just a little silly, but not a huge problem. The main quest line also has some slow points, like when you have to go around closing Oblivion gates outside every single city in Cyrodil. Not very engaging. Otherwise, the game is utterly fantastic.
    Expand
  33. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    A brilliant rpg with a massive amount to do. Looting is phenomenal, as is exploration and character customization. There are some flaws that people all too often point out, but overall the scale and freedom and fun of this game is absolutely amazing. I tried this game once, didn't like it, put it back. I watched some lets plays and decided to give it another try: best gaming decision IA brilliant rpg with a massive amount to do. Looting is phenomenal, as is exploration and character customization. There are some flaws that people all too often point out, but overall the scale and freedom and fun of this game is absolutely amazing. I tried this game once, didn't like it, put it back. I watched some lets plays and decided to give it another try: best gaming decision I have ever made. This game opened me up to The Elder Scrolls, and after 220 hours and a satisfying playthrough (before the expansion), I can safely say this game is soul-suckingly addicting and absorbs your existence right out of your eyes. 9 / 10 Expand
  34. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (few changes to an already enjoyable system, but not all for the better)
    Polish: 4 /5 (much improved graphics, but slightly less coherent aesthetic than Morrowind) Value: 5 /5 (as always, a huge open world with virtually unmatched replay potential) ---Review--- Yes, the game world is by all standards large and looks immensely better than that of Morrowind,
    ---Rating---
    Design: 4 /5 (few changes to an already enjoyable system, but not all for the better)
    Polish: 4 /5 (much improved graphics, but slightly less coherent aesthetic than Morrowind)
    Value: 5 /5 (as always, a huge open world with virtually unmatched replay potential)

    ---Review---
    Yes, the game world is by all standards large and looks immensely better than that of Morrowind, but at the same time I have found that Oblivion sorely lacks the sense of imminent danger and risk that made its predecessor such an exciting experience.

    Part of this might have to do with the loot and dungeon leveling system that I personally despised (but which might appeal to casual players and fans of more conventional dungeon crawls), but the ease of virtually unlimited fast travel and omnipresent quest markers also contribute to the suffocating odor of unnecessary streamlining.

    Even if such ease-and-efficiency-of-use oriented features seem to be somewhat at odds with TES' trademark free-roaming at-your-leisure exploration, the latter thankfully remains intact. The dungeons tend to be boring and repetitive, but the setting of Cyrodiil is rather interestingly varied if a bit lacking in overall cohesion.

    Of course the world itself isn't perfectly convincing, and neither is it entirely realistic in how it reacts to the player's actions, but for a game of Oblivion's scope that's asking quite a lot. There are many things that Oblivion does very impressively, such that most players should be able to overlook- if somewhat begrudgingly- its few but obvious flaws.
    Expand
  35. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game absorbed countless hours of my life. I put more time trying to complete everything that there was in this game. The scale of this ame is incredible, yet somehow it was never enough to fully keep me from wanting more. The amount of detail in each city, each guild and each person are impossible to overstate. For any little bug that someone could point to in this game, there areThis game absorbed countless hours of my life. I put more time trying to complete everything that there was in this game. The scale of this ame is incredible, yet somehow it was never enough to fully keep me from wanting more. The amount of detail in each city, each guild and each person are impossible to overstate. For any little bug that someone could point to in this game, there are countless things that easily outweigh that in my mind. This game was what really made me follow the works of Bethesda. Their games always have a scope that is simply unparalleled in any other game out there.I HIGHLY recommend this game to all gamers out there. The main story is only the tip of the ice burg for this one. Expand
  36. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    First off I would like to say this is one of my favourite games of all time, it took some getting used to (3rd time lucky) but after a few tries I really got into this game. This is the very first RPG I ever played, so it is likely that it took some getting used to because it is a HUGE game, there are a lot of quests to complete, areas to explore, etc. There is only one thing that is wrongFirst off I would like to say this is one of my favourite games of all time, it took some getting used to (3rd time lucky) but after a few tries I really got into this game. This is the very first RPG I ever played, so it is likely that it took some getting used to because it is a HUGE game, there are a lot of quests to complete, areas to explore, etc. There is only one thing that is wrong with this game, and that thing is in the title of the game: OBLIVION. So the world of oblivion is the main plot for this game, basically it is hell and the gates to oblivion have opened in Cyrodiil and you must stop it, that is the generalised plot of the game, I don't like the world of oblivion because it is very repetitive, there are some changes in how it looks in each gate but when you get to the tower, it is mostly the same and it gets very boring after the first few you enter, this wouldn't of been much of a problem but it is the main focus of the game, so it requires you to go through quite a few of them. Now moving onto the things I like and that is pretty much everything else, seriously, I love this game and thank goodness that 90% of the quests do not involve the gates of oblivion, anyway the best quests of the game are the guild quests, there are four major guilds in this game; fighters guild, thieves guild, mages guild and my favourite: The Dark Brotherhood. What is so good about these quests is that they are very fun to do, especially the dark brotherhood ones which require you to kill in anyway you want to. To summarise; if you can get past the frustration of the oblivion realm. then you will have a lot of fun in the world of Cyrodiil, with vibrant colours and massive areas, you will be hooked on Elder Scrolls 4 for hours upon hours upon hours. 9/10 Expand
  37. Mar 23, 2011
    9
    Simply the best RPG ever created for console. However the game has a couple flaws. At around level 30 the game is no longer difficult. Instead of making tougher monsters the designers begin throwing mobs that are easily defeated. Also the game designers decided to "level" all areas to your skill thereby making it possible to travel anywhere at anytime without fear of encountering aSimply the best RPG ever created for console. However the game has a couple flaws. At around level 30 the game is no longer difficult. Instead of making tougher monsters the designers begin throwing mobs that are easily defeated. Also the game designers decided to "level" all areas to your skill thereby making it possible to travel anywhere at anytime without fear of encountering a placed that is too difficult to you to overcome at any stage of character development. This being said other fantasy RPG designers use this game as a benchmark. The environment is simply stunning (esp for a 2006 game!), and the world has more content than any game I have ever played. After over 1000 hours on this game I still have not discovered every location and solved every quest. I often put the game down for a month or two but find myself returning. A MUST HAVE for any game collection. Footnote for achievement hunters: The achievements in oblivion are exceptionally east to attain. Simply beat the main quest and all faction quests to obtain all achievements. For once a game without the annoying item collection achievements! Expand
  38. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I don't really know why i love this game so much there is just something really good about it.
    I must of spent about 400 hours into it.
    After about 4 years i still go on and play it. The combat with a sword and shield is just block RT block but i still love it. There are many bad things about the game like the voice actors as they only had about 7 but because i loves the game so much i
    I don't really know why i love this game so much there is just something really good about it.
    I must of spent about 400 hours into it.
    After about 4 years i still go on and play it.
    The combat with a sword and shield is just block RT block but i still love it.
    There are many bad things about the game like the voice actors as they only had about 7 but because i loves the game so much i never took notice of it.
    i find the best thing to do is be sneaky have bow and arrow and the the dark brotherhood and thieves guild because there probably the best things to do.
    I don't know how but i already spent 20 hours on another character and all i did was knights of the nine and the arena but i don't know what else i did. Its as if i was put in a trance playing it or something.
    Game play is where its at go take a look at it. Or if you use PC get it for the mods.
    Expand
  39. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    While it gifts players a huge, stunning world to wander in and a ton of things to do, Oblivion also takes quite a humble approach, sticking to more conservative RPG values. Firstly, Oblivion is extremely pretty. The land of Cyrodiil is styled in the manner of a European fairy tale of a Knights-and-Dames age, largely covered in greenery and dotted with medieval towns and settlements. It isWhile it gifts players a huge, stunning world to wander in and a ton of things to do, Oblivion also takes quite a humble approach, sticking to more conservative RPG values. Firstly, Oblivion is extremely pretty. The land of Cyrodiil is styled in the manner of a European fairy tale of a Knights-and-Dames age, largely covered in greenery and dotted with medieval towns and settlements. It is scene which welcomes players warmly and embrace them in a feeling of familiarity. In other words, it is quite the perfect fantasy world. There is also a nice story added in, and many, many quests to do and places to explore. Basic gameplay is largely a mix of fighting, which is relatively simple and fun, and much travelling which for more cultured folks is quite a gorgeous experience. Oblivion gets many things right, and aside from offering a great game gives gamers another world to live in. Expand
  40. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Oblivion I think is Bethesda's masterpiece so far. It only really has funny bugs and that at the current update, possibly the last. In Skyrim I have found about 30 game crashing bugs, so I end up playing Oblivion way more.

    Boasting 16 miles squared (40km) of land, it is a pretty massive game. Of course Daggerfall was 487,000 square kilometres but that was randomly generated.
  41. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Now this is an RPG, at the up most finest. Oblivion is the greatest of all RPG. To not like Oblivion is the same as not liking air. It is clean flawless and just stunning. While having minor hicks like all games I had no problem running threw this game chopping up orc's and demons. One of the best games of all time I go as far to say and I am so excited for Skyrim. 10/10
  42. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I think this is my all time favorite game. The map was huge and there is no end to what you can do. The freedom of this game is what makes it amazing. To me it reminds me of old school DnD. you make your charater from the ground up and mold him//her to be whatever you want them to be. The ruler of Evil or the perfect image of good. Exploring the map never gets old. The fantasy creaturesI think this is my all time favorite game. The map was huge and there is no end to what you can do. The freedom of this game is what makes it amazing. To me it reminds me of old school DnD. you make your charater from the ground up and mold him//her to be whatever you want them to be. The ruler of Evil or the perfect image of good. Exploring the map never gets old. The fantasy creatures are impressive. As you level you encounter tougher and more exotic. The gods even ask you to help them those quest are the best, they are out of this world fun, the gear you get from it makes your charater unstoppable. I didn't even play the main story till i was done exploring the map. That was the beaty of this game, you didn't have to do it if you didn't want to! Great game I can't wait for th next one! Expand
  43. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Another Bethesda game that you simply must own. A gigantic world to explore, hundreds of quests, NPCs, items, dungeons, ect. 5 years after release and the game still holds up very well. An absolute masterpiece, I couldn't praise it enough.
  44. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    This is a great game. The things I hated about Morrowind is gone but the only problem I have with this game is the guide arrow & how the game feels so piecefull that if you want to get in a fight then you will have to go into a cave, ruins, ect.
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A 200+ hour campaign paired with the largest landscape and most in-depth character progression to date makes this installment in The Elder Scrolls series the greatest fantasy RPG to date.
  46. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Had the pleasure of stumbling upon this game when my friend decided he didn't want to play his xbox 360 anymore 5 years ago. It was the greatest game that could ever fall into my lap, I've put almost countless hours and starts into this game. It's one of my absolute favorite games and I always find my self popping it back in and playing it over and over again. Even though skyrim is out IHad the pleasure of stumbling upon this game when my friend decided he didn't want to play his xbox 360 anymore 5 years ago. It was the greatest game that could ever fall into my lap, I've put almost countless hours and starts into this game. It's one of my absolute favorite games and I always find my self popping it back in and playing it over and over again. Even though skyrim is out I still see my self playing it from time to time. An ageless classic. Expand
  47. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is the best that i have ever played im 80 hours in and havnt finished the main quest and only 1 of the guilds the sheer scale of it is stunning NPCs go about there daily buisness sleeping eating just walking around graphics are great theres so much good about i could go on for ages 5/5
  48. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Even on a console, this game looks and plays brilliantly! When you take your first steps out of the dungeon you start in and the whole, green world opens in front of you......it is one of my favourite gaming memories! A MUST have on the Xbox 360!
  49. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Morrowind never clicked for me, but this game was so groundbreaking and incredible.....Hours of fantastic stories, a good plot, and lots of hours of DLC.......It was ahead of its time.
  50. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". DownsidesAmazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". Downsides are minor and I do not even mind them much. Things like repetitive combat and bad AI at times. It does not ruin the game for me. Large scale area, multiple quests, and combat suited for a RPG. The graphics were amazing for 06, and the water is still beautiful to look at. The textures could use some work but that doesn't really hinder this game at all. Lets hope Bethesda makes Skyrim even better then all the other games combined. Oh and you can play after you beat the game....Fallout take notes. Expand
  51. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Even now, many years later, I still hold any game that claims to be open world to the Elder Scrolls standard. There are few games in my life that awed me. This was one of them. Now only 2 days from the list release of Skyrim, all I can think of is my past experience with Oblivion and I can't believe how excited I am. Elder Scrolls is the definition of western rpg.
  52. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This game always loomed around the video store unnoticed, until I picked it up one day by chance. I never looked back since then, it is one of my all time favorites, and I will always treasure the memories and experiences this game gave me. Absolute 10/10.
  53. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    Easily one of my most played games ever, Oblivion introduced me to the accessible open world RPG, and after many many hours of complete immersion amongst the amazing forest landscape, I finally realized that I had completed everything. Great fun.
  54. May 26, 2013
    10
    Oblivion is by far one of the best games of all time, hands down. Great attention to detail, interesting quests and multiple storylines, a massive world to explore, and a multitude of weapons and spells to unleash on your opponents. I'm struggling to find things Bethesda did wrong with this game... Perhaps the animations could be a bit smooter, the bugs ironed out, and the levelingOblivion is by far one of the best games of all time, hands down. Great attention to detail, interesting quests and multiple storylines, a massive world to explore, and a multitude of weapons and spells to unleash on your opponents. I'm struggling to find things Bethesda did wrong with this game... Perhaps the animations could be a bit smooter, the bugs ironed out, and the leveling system fixed, but these are now expeced with every Bethesda game, and cannot be avoided with a game this large.

    Overall, if you don't already own this game, you should probably do so. Even if you haven't played Morrowind, or any other Bethesda game for that matter, you owe it to yourself to buy this game.
    Expand
  55. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    This is simply the best game I've ever played...period! I've been playing PC / Console / mmorpg games since the late 80's and even now (Summer 2010), this game continues to be the benchmark against which I judge all other games. The story lines are engaging, the acting is excellent, the graphics are way ahead of their time and the game play is extraordinarily fun. I could get picky andThis is simply the best game I've ever played...period! I've been playing PC / Console / mmorpg games since the late 80's and even now (Summer 2010), this game continues to be the benchmark against which I judge all other games. The story lines are engaging, the acting is excellent, the graphics are way ahead of their time and the game play is extraordinarily fun. I could get picky and list this or that I would change, but none of my suggestions would really make the game much better than it already is. Expand
  56. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    probably the greatest game ever made (morrowind is its only rival). bigger than a night out with Charlie sheen.If you haven't played it I don't know what your damage is.
  57. May 7, 2011
    9
    Fantastic, but very boring. I can only play this game for approximately ten minuets and then I get bored. It's lame when you're a vampire and lame when you're hated. But weirdly somehow I love this game.
  58. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    Great game, can just about do anything and everything. Prefect RPG great game and has great story. Something about Oblivion just hook's you in and your stuck. Into a world or imagination and creativity. Absolutely stellar!
  59. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I really like this game, though I would have given it roughly an 8.5 due to all the bugs and lack of voice actors (roughly 10?) in this game. For all that you can explore, I was hoping I could do more than just quests. Here's hoping that Skyrim, improves on the genre!
  60. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Honestly the best game/RPG I have every played. I even happened to get all the achievements without trying to.... on all the DLC. That's how immersive this game was. The plot was so well written with great major twists and missions, followed by engaging side missions. Although, not every mission is fun ( ie. oblivion gates), usually a quick-paced adventure is waiting for you via the nextHonestly the best game/RPG I have every played. I even happened to get all the achievements without trying to.... on all the DLC. That's how immersive this game was. The plot was so well written with great major twists and missions, followed by engaging side missions. Although, not every mission is fun ( ie. oblivion gates), usually a quick-paced adventure is waiting for you via the next mission. I used to hate this game because of the level of difficulty. DON'T GIVE UP ON IT AT FIRST. Realize that some enemies you can't take on until much later in the game. Once you get to level 15 everything starts falling into place ( at least it did for me) from then on I absolutely loved that game, putting 300+ hours into one save game file. It is the single greatest game buy I have made to date. For both quality and quantity. Do yourself a favor and at least try this game out. PLEASE BETHESDA DONT SELL OUT LIKE BIOWARE!

    PS: You can wait to by hitting select ( it also heals you ) and you can fast-travel across the huge map ( hate to admit I didn't know that for the first 16 hours of playing the game)
    Expand
  61. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This game is great. At the time of release, there was nothing quite like it. Sure the inventory and menus were a the voice acting was terrible and every goddamn NPC was ugly. But never before has a game given someone so much freedom to do whatever you want. The game isn't for everyone, especially those with low attention spans, or little patience. Sometimes the game can be downrightThis game is great. At the time of release, there was nothing quite like it. Sure the inventory and menus were a the voice acting was terrible and every goddamn NPC was ugly. But never before has a game given someone so much freedom to do whatever you want. The game isn't for everyone, especially those with low attention spans, or little patience. Sometimes the game can be downright boring, and the bugs will make you lose up to 10 hours of gameplay, and yet its still a masterpiece. Expand
  62. Jul 23, 2014
    9
    This game is truly amazing. The graphics are stunning for 2006, and continue to amaze people. There are so many quests that you can find anywhere throughout the land, and exploring never gets old. The different guilds give a lot of content to enjoy, and the flow of the game is executed perfectly. While the game has many amazing points, the combat is somewhat repetitive, and the levelingThis game is truly amazing. The graphics are stunning for 2006, and continue to amaze people. There are so many quests that you can find anywhere throughout the land, and exploring never gets old. The different guilds give a lot of content to enjoy, and the flow of the game is executed perfectly. While the game has many amazing points, the combat is somewhat repetitive, and the leveling system is slightly annoying at times. I still love this game though, and if you're looking for a game that will give you nearly endless hours for your money: Try Oblivion. Expand
  63. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    As close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions andAs close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions and conjuration. Very refreshing! An immensely immersing game and a much better successor to Daggerfall than Morrowind was. The only thing missing is user generated content playable on the console. Expand
  64. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    You don't like RPGs? I wasn't that into them, and my friend hated them until we discovered Oblivion by accident. We bought it because best buy was out of a game... and all I remember is that we played for 2 days straight, all nighter included. You like RPGs? Don't have Oblivion? Get it. NOW!
  65. MTM
    Mar 5, 2011
    9
    One day in 2011 I decided that I wanted to play a new game for my Xbox 360. I wanted to get a game that was fun, but also had a great reviews. I was looking at my local BestBuy and found The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. The game was only $20 and I basically said why not. I bought it and fell in love with it. The graphics are outstanding even for 2011, the customization is endless.... thereOne day in 2011 I decided that I wanted to play a new game for my Xbox 360. I wanted to get a game that was fun, but also had a great reviews. I was looking at my local BestBuy and found The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. The game was only $20 and I basically said why not. I bought it and fell in love with it. The graphics are outstanding even for 2011, the customization is endless.... there are so many shops and so many things you can do. I'm about 6 hours into the game, understand that this game is over 100 hours long if you do everything that it has to offer. Don't listen to the haters, for a 2006 game it impresses gamers even from 2011 where we have Dead Space 2, Halo Reach, Killzone 3, and all the rest... Expand
  66. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    An all time classic of the genre, and the benchmark for all other console based RPGs. Perhaps a bit dated now, however still worthy of a playthrough if you haven't experienced it, especially considering how cheaply you can pick it up.
  67. May 28, 2011
    9
    Plot driven first person medieval rpg. I enjoyed it. was it the best game I have ever played? no. But it was still worth playing. And as for all the people who say this game is boring... Any game where you can rain flaming dogs from the sky, is not boring
  68. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    An spectacular game full of lots of things to do. The story may be bland and the game may be buggy but in terms of role playing and choice it is number 1, because choice isn't just a selection of speech options, it's to go where you want, when you want and do what you want. Simply amazing.
  69. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    An outstanding game. Most likely the best RPG that I've ever played. Some graphical hiccups and animations can barely detract from an amazing experience. Although the main quest line isn't the most engaging story, there are countless side quests and things to do, almost feeling like you're living in the world, and runs alot like a fantasy simulator with the way you affect things along withAn outstanding game. Most likely the best RPG that I've ever played. Some graphical hiccups and animations can barely detract from an amazing experience. Although the main quest line isn't the most engaging story, there are countless side quests and things to do, almost feeling like you're living in the world, and runs alot like a fantasy simulator with the way you affect things along with people. Definate recomendation for any Role-Playing Game fan. Expand
  70. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    Oblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you'veOblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you've got smiling innkeepers you can slaughter and poor guards who get caught in spike traps in the oblivion gates. Sure it looks a bit bad graphically now but for a game that came out in 2006 the graphics are impressive. It has great voice actors such as Sean bean and Patrick stewart ( if you ignore the fact that about four people voice the other few hundred characters). But one thing that sets oblivion apart is how clever it is. The AI are very good. They have a disposition system so that if they dislike a character they attack! One time I was in a town and I met a nice man who was a blacksmith and we talked about rumors ( which I had been told before by others in town)
    Anyway we parted ways and I did a quest and it turned out he was a spy and he attacked me and some guards but was put down. The quest I had done had lowered his disposition as he was in the faction called the mythic Dawn who I did the quest against! Good innit!! This happens alot and they aren't scripted events meaning they aren't meant to happen they just do. Which is cool. Another time I denied a quest from a little wood elf who promptly went home, got an axe and went on a killing spree! Anyway enough about the AI . They game has hundreds of weapons and thousands of spells that you can learn or create. There's just so much to do. You could live in this game if you could! Get it. GET IT NOW.
    Expand
  71. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    In terms of playing hours pumped into it, this is the most engrossing game I've ever played on any system. Not much more to say other than it's amazing and I cannot wait for Skyrim. It takes quite a lot to get me excited about games these days and the prospect of a new Elder Scrolls game makes me excited -.-
  72. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This game blew me away all those years ago.

    I cannot believe it's been this long. No matter how many people play this game, none of them will have the exact same adventure. Classic game.
  73. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Oblivion, like its older brothers, is a timeless classic. that's all that needs to be said on behalf of this masterpiece. but for curios people who don't know oblivion is one of those few games that bring the game play, storytelling and visuals to a whole new level. Bethesda truly set the bar for the Xbox 360's launch and to this day Oblivion still holds up in every way. simply put if youOblivion, like its older brothers, is a timeless classic. that's all that needs to be said on behalf of this masterpiece. but for curios people who don't know oblivion is one of those few games that bring the game play, storytelling and visuals to a whole new level. Bethesda truly set the bar for the Xbox 360's launch and to this day Oblivion still holds up in every way. simply put if you have never had the pleasure of playing this game now is as good a time as any especially with the next gen under-way you'll be able to get this game at a bargain and believe me it'll be worth every penny Expand
  74. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Great game, huge map to explore and countless quests to complete. Don't be fooled by the WoW nerds who are giving this game poor reviews to try to lower the score. The game is fun and you can easily spend 50+ hours on this game without even touching the main quest.
  75. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    My Favorite Game on Xbox! The dungeons are fun, the quests are unique and interesting. The lore is fantastic! Everything about this game is amazing! My only complaint is you spend a lot of time in your menu and quest journals.
  76. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Best game ever I LOVE IT it's better than skyrim it isn't just kill this kill that there is actual strategy like that dark brotherhood quest where you have to kill the shi captai n and instead of walking in and killing him you hide in a box and pop out
  77. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    One of the best games i ever played in my xbox 360. The ambiance of the game and the possibilities that have are fantastic. every fan of rpg, have to play this game! =]
  78. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Around this time this is one of the best games I've ever played hands down. The art work. Man every thing when I first found this game I was hooked love the idea. Yes there was a glitch or two but with how big this game was and a lot of play hours I could understand. Hands down one of the best games I've ever played... :))
  79. po0<livegamertag
    Apr 7, 2006
    9
    Not without its minor flaws but as said before by others the flaws dont impact the gameplay at all. Its totally addictive and i havent been able to not play it for a single day since release day. The game leaves you with a sense of achievement and to most gamers thats important (whats the point in investing your time if you get nothing back) and i have to say becoming guild master of theNot without its minor flaws but as said before by others the flaws dont impact the gameplay at all. Its totally addictive and i havent been able to not play it for a single day since release day. The game leaves you with a sense of achievement and to most gamers thats important (whats the point in investing your time if you get nothing back) and i have to say becoming guild master of the dark brotherhood has been the most rewarding moment so far, but even the minor quests leave you patting your own back. If you werent a Morrowind fan dont be put off (i couldnt get into Morrowind either) its easy to get into the hardest part is putting it down. Even if you get it for the pure fact it will last you more than the standard 5 - 8 hours that most games last its worth it. My one gripe is the lack of things to spend money on other than a house (i have 3 already) there is nothing worth purchasing as much better items can be found on quests or exploring?? Expand
  80. AB
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Greatest single player game of al time. A few small glitches, but nothing major
  81. CarlJ.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Wow! Nougaty and smooth visuals, powerful greaves and gauntlets, horses you can ride! Do yourself a favor and detach yourselves from the the things to which you are attached. Enormous rats and goblins! Lovely.
  82. KevinS.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Tired of cookie-cutter FedEx quests? Tired of braindead, linear roleplaying? Pick up this game for either the PC or the Xbox 360 (I've played both) and you will not be disappointed. Forget the graphics elitists - no other game has a draw distance this far and a free-roaming world this big (16 sq. miles). If you only play games for the graphics, go pick up Far Cry or Half-Life 2. But Tired of cookie-cutter FedEx quests? Tired of braindead, linear roleplaying? Pick up this game for either the PC or the Xbox 360 (I've played both) and you will not be disappointed. Forget the graphics elitists - no other game has a draw distance this far and a free-roaming world this big (16 sq. miles). If you only play games for the graphics, go pick up Far Cry or Half-Life 2. But if you want a virtual sandbox that allows you to do everything you can imagine and more - a world that allows you to create your own storyline - a world rich with lore, personality, and a sense of epic adventure...Oblivion is the game for you. I had my doubts upon first playing. I'd seen the E3 videos and noticed how some aspects had been trimmed in order to make the game playable on today's machines. One long 10-hour play session later and none of that matters. My Assassin is gaining reknown in Cyrodill as a dangerous thief. Woe to he who dares cross my path! Expand
  83. DarinB.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    If you like RPGs, stop reading now! Go get Oblivion. Fantastic visuals, engrossing gameplay, open-ended play all adds up to some addictive gaming that makes you wonder where all of your time went.
  84. Decompiler
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    I've sunk over 5 hours into this thing since it came out less than two weeks ago, but i've barely scratched the surface. massive seems like an understatement...
  85. DavidF
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    Finally a game that is worth buying on the 360.
  86. CiaranG.
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    I've never liked RPG games (because they all involve magic spells, witchcraft, dragons and awful cr*p like that) but Oblivion is one RPG I like! Oblivion is outstanding! The graphics are fantastic. On my first time playing it, I played it for 3 hours. After creating a character and watching the intro screens the game started. Basically, you start off in a prison cell where you have I've never liked RPG games (because they all involve magic spells, witchcraft, dragons and awful cr*p like that) but Oblivion is one RPG I like! Oblivion is outstanding! The graphics are fantastic. On my first time playing it, I played it for 3 hours. After creating a character and watching the intro screens the game started. Basically, you start off in a prison cell where you have to escape. This is part of the tutorial (although you wouldn't know it). The game is easy enough to navigate, the controls are easy enough but there is a lot of inventory screens etc. My character made his way through the sewers and then I managed to get out. It was night. You can see the stars in the sky, the moon and then all around you can see for miles. The best bit is that you can go to any of the places you see. The world is beautiful. There are load times but they don't really afftect gameplay. There also seems to be an unlimited amount of things to do. I had the choice to do whatever I wanted. You can buy things like horses and houses, you can walk into homes and steal people's possessions, grab some food or take a kip in their beds when they're not there. I can't imagine how long was spent making the game. You can just walk around in the countryside, over the hills and streams and meet other people. Animals spend their time all around the place. Also, random things happen like for example whilst exploring a fort in the middle of a forest, a highwayman runs in and asks for my money. I agreed to his demand but he decided he wanted to kill me anyway.. then you can either make a quick escape or stop and fight. The animals and NPC's all have ragdoll physics when they die. The combat system is good. etc. Expand
  87. MichaelF.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    its like a updated version of runescape.
  88. GeoffreyMaxwell
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    A Flawed Masterpiece. Hence 9 and not 10. The way in which this game manages to combine sheer brilliance with down right glitchyness reminds me of Knights of the Old Republic. But like KOTOR its just so good that it can be easily forgiven. To be more specific- sometimes the game pause for a few seconds to load, if this happens when you're being attacked by a wolf, it can get a bit A Flawed Masterpiece. Hence 9 and not 10. The way in which this game manages to combine sheer brilliance with down right glitchyness reminds me of Knights of the Old Republic. But like KOTOR its just so good that it can be easily forgiven. To be more specific- sometimes the game pause for a few seconds to load, if this happens when you're being attacked by a wolf, it can get a bit gittery, the sound can go for a few seconds. Sometimes it takes a while for my character to get off his horse when I tell him too but none of these things are too serious. Plus It has crashed twice with me in my 30 hours play so far. However this was not a problem because the game regularly autosaves so I lost very little. If you do buy it, I recommend saving regularly in a seperate file though. Anyway! enough about the negatives, this game is simply the most ambitious adventure game ever with a vast world, number of items, and levelling up system. Above all other things though this game is simply beautiful. The amount of time I have spent just enjoying the scenery. I can almost smell the flowers and feel the breeze blowing from my new HD TV. A must buy for any aventure gamer or rpg fan. Expand
  89. MerrillL.
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    First off, this is only the 2nd RPG I've ever played besides Jade Empire. With that said, this is one of the most fun and immersive games I've ever played! I've only been able to play about 4 hours so far but am definitely looking forward to many more. For non-RPGers, I would suggest renting this with an option to buy (like Gamefly) because this is a game that is definitely First off, this is only the 2nd RPG I've ever played besides Jade Empire. With that said, this is one of the most fun and immersive games I've ever played! I've only been able to play about 4 hours so far but am definitely looking forward to many more. For non-RPGers, I would suggest renting this with an option to buy (like Gamefly) because this is a game that is definitely worth the $60 and worth investing time in! Expand
  90. SeanR.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    The game is a blast to play, and the few problems it has, such as an inconsistent frame rate and frequent loading are overcome by the beauty of this game and how much work was put in to it. The best game on the 360, and the most enjoyable game in years.
  91. TonyL.
    May 9, 2006
    10
    The best game of all times (besides oblivion) i love this game i have a sorcerer with all stats at 100 lvl 82 and i have beaten the game. i will always continue to play this game long after it is outrated.
  92. LouiseD.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    This is the best RPG I've ever played- it gives you almost complete freedom and entertains for well over 100 hours. The graphics are fantastic and although the plot isn't as strong as some other RPGs, the gameplay more than makes up for it.
  93. KaieL.
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Oblivion 4 has to be the easiest game ever when it comes to user-friendliness. My boyfriend had bought the game before ever moved in, and in that time, lost the manual as well. I am not a big fan of computer games, but even I can play oblivion 4 without the instruction manual.
  94. B.S.
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Okay - the game is a little slow at times, the leveling system is worse than broken (just go read the various leveling guides out there to find some of the pitfalls), and there's a lot to do. The game has its shortfalls. However, it STILL marks the best reasonably current American RPG on the market, and that's worth something. You don't have to be an RPG fan - I have a Okay - the game is a little slow at times, the leveling system is worse than broken (just go read the various leveling guides out there to find some of the pitfalls), and there's a lot to do. The game has its shortfalls. However, it STILL marks the best reasonably current American RPG on the market, and that's worth something. You don't have to be an RPG fan - I have a friend who plays mostly shooters and this is the only RPG he likes - but you do have to have some degree of patience, which is what might be throwing some people. If you can take a game that doesn't rush you from point to point (a la Resident Evil or Gears of War, which are also excellent games), this is a must-have. Expand
  95. BobE.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    awsome, is about the only word that sums up this game it is massive. i know other people who have been playing for 6 months and still havent completed it yet.
  96. ChrisG.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    This game, I think, is the best 360 game ever made for the console. This game has everything you want for an RPG.
  97. AbdulM.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome. Everything you'd want from an rpg. Brilliant.
  98. AndrewBedgood
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Oblivion is the kind of game where you can lose many hours and your social life, but you won't care when doing so. There are so many things to do and places to explore that even nearly 3 years after it's release you won't be at a loss of new discoveries.
  99. Amaru
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    One of those game's you not only never forget, but one you can actually come back to over and over. collectivly, over 4 play through's, I've spent about 350 hours on this game and I still find new things. How many games can you say that about? Missions come out of nowhere that always take you by suprise, there's a hundred things to do in a hundred different ways, and One of those game's you not only never forget, but one you can actually come back to over and over. collectivly, over 4 play through's, I've spent about 350 hours on this game and I still find new things. How many games can you say that about? Missions come out of nowhere that always take you by suprise, there's a hundred things to do in a hundred different ways, and to top it off it has incredible music too. Bad points? Glitchy graphic at times, invisible walls, about 5 voice actors for about 500 characters...and...well, that's all I can think of. If you like adventure games, and you like games that have real substance and depth, then this is the game for you. Expand
  100. DeanS.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fabulous game. Stunning graphics, addictive gameplay, much improved combat system over Morrowind. Although Gamerfeed gave it only a 90, they were right when they said that this game alone is worth the purchase price of the Xbox 360.
  101. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Bought this game first day, never played any game in this genre before this. Amazing controls, alot of detail in the environment, massive map with tons of freedom. The AI is slightly stupid in some situations. The game has a **** load of minor glitches. Some big glitches present that require you to load previous saves, others completely freezing the system. These would otherwise renter aBought this game first day, never played any game in this genre before this. Amazing controls, alot of detail in the environment, massive map with tons of freedom. The AI is slightly stupid in some situations. The game has a **** load of minor glitches. Some big glitches present that require you to load previous saves, others completely freezing the system. These would otherwise renter a game unplayable or discourage you from playing it but this game is addicting and will definitely keep you locked away from the real world for a couple hundred hours or so. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.