The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1095 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. matthoward
    May 30, 2007
    10
    givin a huge 10, because 1. thomas kosela is an idiot for giving it a 0 by trying to make himself feel better for spending so much money on a ps3. and 2) because it is a very large very rewarding game. do agree, it does feel in places empty, and therefore had idiot boy not made his stupid vote, i would of given it a solid 9. by the way its a review site, not a compare site.
  2. AlastairM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Truly an amazing game. Great graphics. Well done high dynamic range lighting. Good leveling system. More of an adventure than RPG. Morrowind was fun but this blows that away. Fast travel is back from Daggerfall!! No Mages' Guilds portals though. And by the way Tuomas Koskela PS3 version sucks compared to Pc. Pc can have better graphics with right graphics card and processor and u can Truly an amazing game. Great graphics. Well done high dynamic range lighting. Good leveling system. More of an adventure than RPG. Morrowind was fun but this blows that away. Fast travel is back from Daggerfall!! No Mages' Guilds portals though. And by the way Tuomas Koskela PS3 version sucks compared to Pc. Pc can have better graphics with right graphics card and processor and u can download user-made mods from sites such as TESSource or Planet Elder Scrolls. Expand
  3. killbuzz
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    The graphics are the sweetest ever maybe even better then halo 3.... 10/10
  4. DarrenD.
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Still the biggest and best game on the 360 so far. The combat improves massivley on Morrowind and there's loads to do with easily over 100 hours of gameplay.
  5. loganw
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    ok..ok..ok i just got fable 2 like 4 days ago and already beat the main quest!!!the fighting isnt as "free" as oblivion.u lock on 2 the enemy if u aim...also thy have guns..and 1 bow in the whole game!and u have 2 do a bunch of crap 2 get it....it a great game but oblivion is better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hoping TES 5:shadowrealm comes out soon and hasok..ok..ok i just got fable 2 like 4 days ago and already beat the main quest!!!the fighting isnt as "free" as oblivion.u lock on 2 the enemy if u aim...also thy have guns..and 1 bow in the whole game!and u have 2 do a bunch of crap 2 get it....it a great game but oblivion is better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hoping TES 5:shadowrealm comes out soon and has multiplayer!!!!!but thts a rumor so far Expand
  6. MattN.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Superb game i spent a long time playing this. My favourite bit was the side missions especially the dark brotherhood. Buy this Game Now!
  7. MikeG
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    (4/5/08) Just bought the original version as a budget title a little over a week ago. I love this game. I've been playing for over 30 hours and I haven't started the main quests yet.
  8. CrimD
    Jul 2, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be completed. The overal depth of the game in terms of gameplay is pretty special too. So many skills to train, items to mess around with, places to visit and enemies to kill. It really is the perfect game. This game is incredible. The amounts of missions and side quests are simply overwhelming, meaning that this game will effectively last several months or yes even years, before it can be completed. The overal depth of the game in terms of gameplay is pretty special too. So many skills to train, items to mess around with, places to visit and enemies to kill. It really is the perfect game. Regarding flaws which have been brought up by many reviewers, i have to agree with "Thomas S" because with a game like this it is understandable, the world is absolutely HUGE so it would be extremely difficult to pick them out and get the dev's to fix them. This is a true masterpiece that all RPG fans should embrace. Fantastic achievement by Bethesda! Expand
  9. JF.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Oblivion is a game that should be experienced by every 360 owner, period. The story, soundtrack, and superb attention to detail makes this game stand out from the rest. Although the game's main storyline is brilliant and captivating on its on, you are unrestrictedly free to roam about the world to do anything you want. With an abundance of side quests, factions, and things that make Oblivion is a game that should be experienced by every 360 owner, period. The story, soundtrack, and superb attention to detail makes this game stand out from the rest. Although the game's main storyline is brilliant and captivating on its on, you are unrestrictedly free to roam about the world to do anything you want. With an abundance of side quests, factions, and things that make you stop and say "Wow!", this game will keep you thoroughly entertained and satisfied for months to come. Expand
  10. mitchh
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    I am a frequent rpg'er and i feel like this is one of the best i have ever played. The world is amazing graphics-wise and i was surprised to read that some didnt feel the same. The main story is excellent, but i actually had more fun working for different guilds.
  11. MikeR.
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    The first greatest RPG XBOX 360 game ever! Been waiting for a long time! Great sword fight and nice original magic spells!
  12. GregM.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    To give this game anything less than a 10 would be ridiculous. I've been waiting two years for this game and I bought it last night and played it for four hours without breathing. It's as good as the hype, and I'm generally overly critical. It's breathtaking and amazing and I can't wait to get the hell out of work to play it all night again tonight. I'm sick. To give this game anything less than a 10 would be ridiculous. I've been waiting two years for this game and I bought it last night and played it for four hours without breathing. It's as good as the hype, and I'm generally overly critical. It's breathtaking and amazing and I can't wait to get the hell out of work to play it all night again tonight. I'm sick. The graphics are beautiful and the gameplay magnificent. If you own an Xbox but not this game, return your Xbox because you don't deserve to have it. If you haven't got an Xbox, you should buy one immediately or cry yourself to sleep at night. Expand
  13. JustinD.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    I can't leave my controller, I'm so addicted to this game.
  14. RobertP.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    As someone that never played the previous Elder Scrolls games i've gotta say im blown away not just visually & sonically but also at the overall user friendliness of the game in general. i've currently racked up around 12 hours of playtime, in which i really have barely scratched the surface. if your budgets tight and you want one great game to last you a good few months this is it.
  15. SeanT.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    This game rocks.
  16. Megatron
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    I won't try repeating what everybody else says that the this game is far above anythng we've seen and olayed in years...only that its impossible for bethesda or anyone else to make a virtually better place....just buy it,and forget reality and all its problems,cause reality sucks,compared to this artwork..every one should at least give it a try,but be prepared to neglect personalI won't try repeating what everybody else says that the this game is far above anythng we've seen and olayed in years...only that its impossible for bethesda or anyone else to make a virtually better place....just buy it,and forget reality and all its problems,cause reality sucks,compared to this artwork..every one should at least give it a try,but be prepared to neglect personal real life needs...enough said ...just buy the damn thing!! Expand
  17. Sn1ck3rz
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Take the Oblivion compatability survey: 1) Do you have an Xbox 360? 2) Do you have $60? 3) Do you have enough discipline to maintain a personal hygiene, social and work schedule in the face of overwhelming forces of graphical goodness and soul-possessing gameplay? If you answered yes to the above questions you have already wasted a minute of time that could have been spent playing the Take the Oblivion compatability survey: 1) Do you have an Xbox 360? 2) Do you have $60? 3) Do you have enough discipline to maintain a personal hygiene, social and work schedule in the face of overwhelming forces of graphical goodness and soul-possessing gameplay? If you answered yes to the above questions you have already wasted a minute of time that could have been spent playing the game. GET IT NOW! Expand
  18. Andyman
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Heh, if I was so inept as to be stuck at level 1, I'd probably give this game a 3 too... and then I would quit playing games, because I suck at life. Simply put, this is the best game I've played, on any system, ever, period. You don't PLAY the game so much as you LIVE it. So much to do, so much to see, and it all looks and sounds incredible. Even if you didn't like Heh, if I was so inept as to be stuck at level 1, I'd probably give this game a 3 too... and then I would quit playing games, because I suck at life. Simply put, this is the best game I've played, on any system, ever, period. You don't PLAY the game so much as you LIVE it. So much to do, so much to see, and it all looks and sounds incredible. Even if you didn't like Morrowind (I didn't), you'll love Oblivion. It is next-gen gaming at its absolute finest. OK, enough time spent on this review... back to the game! Expand
  19. Mike
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Incredible. Can't stop playing it. To Alex L below who rated it a 3 because he can't figure out that in order to level up you need to SLEEP in a BED, I think you should stop playing the game because it is apparently too dificult for you. (When the game says "You've learned new skills in Blade work. Meditate upon what you have learned by sleeping" it means take a friggin nap)
  20. FakeyM.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Wow! What more can I say? Spectacular must-have RPG.
  21. NeilV.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    This is an incredible game. I loved Fable and Jade Empire a great deal as well and this has the potential to be the best of the bunch. I'm just shy of 20 hours into the game (and RPGs are NOT my primary/fave genre as a sidenote), and I've just scratched the surface. Another sidenote, I could not get into Morrowwind at all (played it for maybe 4 hours, never touched it again). This is an incredible game. I loved Fable and Jade Empire a great deal as well and this has the potential to be the best of the bunch. I'm just shy of 20 hours into the game (and RPGs are NOT my primary/fave genre as a sidenote), and I've just scratched the surface. Another sidenote, I could not get into Morrowwind at all (played it for maybe 4 hours, never touched it again). This is superior in all ways and so far, I have yet to run into any glitches (fingers crossed) Expand
  22. NovaShade
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    I never thought I would say this again.....This IS the greatest game made bar none...Well....to me it is.......Before this game came along there was no other game to match my love for Baldur's Gate 2. I have played almost every game avabile...yes i said EVERY......I have owed every Xbox game (worth buying that is...) and playstation 2, and Gamecube game....Yes i am a game I never thought I would say this again.....This IS the greatest game made bar none...Well....to me it is.......Before this game came along there was no other game to match my love for Baldur's Gate 2. I have played almost every game avabile...yes i said EVERY......I have owed every Xbox game (worth buying that is...) and playstation 2, and Gamecube game....Yes i am a game addict.....(mainly buying meanign at deals and trading them when i was done.) I have also owned every RPG I could get my hands on for the computer, also FPS's. This game beats every game i have ever played. However, I am not so proud of playing almost every game in the North Amercia market before finally finding a game worth more than i payed for it. Like i said only Bulders Gate 2 was worth more before this one. This game does not replace that game but I cant denie that it is unbeileveable. Morrowind I brought about 4 times (once for the computer, couldnt run it, then for the Xbox, then the GOTY came out and i got that, Then i traded that in and bouaght it again a couple years later.) I did love that game but every time I polayed it i felt alittle underwhelemd. not that is wasnt great but the werid combat really ruin it for me. it just took some fun out of it. I thought FABLE was suppose to be what this game is but Fable just turned into a cute adventure game (with its own little touchs of a colourful world) But it just got boring. The towns had nothing to do in them. You could buy a house (which to me a so cool) but like GTA theyt were useless. (not that you can use houses that much but...) Also there are Horses in this game, and nothing is cooler than becoming artifical bond to your loyal house. Not everyone well find it that way but i did. And you can.....what?....sit down? Thats odd....You can REALLY sit down. Not a highlight but i have to admit that i always wanted to do something to simple like sit in a chair in a game. it just adds that wierd believeable-ness to the game. Things like that mean alot to me. all those tiny things that dont really make it worth buying but in the whole makes the real experience more real. I agree with RavenX301, you have to be a totally fool not to give this atleast a nine. Expand
  23. AZA
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Absolute perfection, the longest most involving game in ages and extremely close to being the 360s first KILLER APP. even if you do not like rpg's it should be illegal not to give oblivion a chance.
  24. DaveK.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    One of the best FPS RPG's ever made. This game has been entertaining me for over 120 hours now and still fresh and exciting. A must play for any fan of RPGs.
  25. RobN
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    This game is one of the best games I've EVER played. The gameplay is great, the graphics are stunning, the audio is fantastic, and the best part is that you can do whatever you want, whenever you want. You can start a new mission whenever you want, just by talking to someone who has something for you to do, you can do the main missions (quests), or, if you really want to, you can go This game is one of the best games I've EVER played. The gameplay is great, the graphics are stunning, the audio is fantastic, and the best part is that you can do whatever you want, whenever you want. You can start a new mission whenever you want, just by talking to someone who has something for you to do, you can do the main missions (quests), or, if you really want to, you can go on a rampage and become a bloodthirsty thief. This game offers 200+ hours of gameplay. The expansion, Nights of the Nine adds even more gameplay, and the upcoming expansion, shivering isles, will also add 40+ hours. You can also download extra missions from Xbox Live, which are well worth the small amount of money they charge for them. I highly suggest this game to anyone who owns a 360! Expand
  26. DustinA.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    Provides hours upon hours of non-stop action, a brilliant RPG, if you like the Diablo series you will absolutely love Oblivion!
  27. RyanM.
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best games ever made. Anyone who gave this game a zero is either 4 years old or needs to open their eyes while they are playing it. There are glitches in the game but it is expected with a game of this size, and many glitches can be fixed with downloadable patches. Some reviews here talked about how bad the leveling system was, but the point was so a person This is one of the best games ever made. Anyone who gave this game a zero is either 4 years old or needs to open their eyes while they are playing it. There are glitches in the game but it is expected with a game of this size, and many glitches can be fixed with downloadable patches. Some reviews here talked about how bad the leveling system was, but the point was so a person couldn't make a perfect character with level 100 in every skill and attribute. This RPG is much better than the other turn-based RPG's and can be played for many hours, with many different things to experience. Expand
  28. AndyM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    If there's something wrong with this game, there's something wrong with you.
  29. AnthonyH.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    DO NOT listen to Abram T. and Christopher P. This game is brilliant, full stop. I didn't like RPG's until I played this game. BUY THIS GAME!!!
  30. Sasha
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    first, AMAZING! must buy game for all hardcore gamers. second, any one who is bashing the level up system, please realize the idea is you level up from doing the skills that u picked and as u use those skills more often, the better u become at those skills. this game is great(but not without minor bugs). the people's faces do look kinda bad and there's only about 10 voices used, first, AMAZING! must buy game for all hardcore gamers. second, any one who is bashing the level up system, please realize the idea is you level up from doing the skills that u picked and as u use those skills more often, the better u become at those skills. this game is great(but not without minor bugs). the people's faces do look kinda bad and there's only about 10 voices used, not including Sheogorath in the shivering isles, who is probably the only character who has his own, unique and different voice from the rest of the people in the huge-gantic country! the dungeons and and caves do look similar but so are Fallout 3s'. also, ur skill choices in the beginning are important, so chose wisely. i ended up with about a dozen different characters until i found the perfect skills to use. if u don't want to level scale and want to level up fast, create a custom class and make one of ur skills Restoration or illusion(u don't need both) and just use a spell on ur self constantly and ull level up quick all in all one of the best games ever made!!! Expand
  31. ScottA.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    This is an excellent game and with so many inexpensive addons available over xbox live market place the fun just doesn't end!
  32. JohnC
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    This is easily the best RPG ever!!!!! This game has amazing graphics and a great variety of spells, weapons + apparel. Hundreds of hours of gameplay. Many different characters and classes to choose from. I found that just exploring the land provided me with great fun for long periods of time. This game will go down in history forever. Definetly a must have for all xbox 360 owners.
  33. OrcF.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Nice review, Abram. I'll dispense with the number of errors and misconceptions in your review, to avoid it being as long and pretentious as yours (and a clear cry for attention to boot) and just say this: it's not fault of this incredible game that you don't like it, and that you suck at it. Come back when you get some hair on your sac and kiss a girl and give it another Nice review, Abram. I'll dispense with the number of errors and misconceptions in your review, to avoid it being as long and pretentious as yours (and a clear cry for attention to boot) and just say this: it's not fault of this incredible game that you don't like it, and that you suck at it. Come back when you get some hair on your sac and kiss a girl and give it another go. You may not learn to love it, but maybe you'll spare us another review as useless as the Cleveland steamer you just dropped on this site. Expand
  34. TaylorL
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Elder Scrolls Oblivion is nothing short of pixilated perfection, seamlessly blending a phenomal story arc with intuitive controls and infinite hours of gameplay. The world of Cyrodiil comes alive before our very eyes, utterly enveloping the player, as its denizens prepare for a final apocalyptic showdown. It is not often that a game transcends genre and changes the way we play our Elder Scrolls Oblivion is nothing short of pixilated perfection, seamlessly blending a phenomal story arc with intuitive controls and infinite hours of gameplay. The world of Cyrodiil comes alive before our very eyes, utterly enveloping the player, as its denizens prepare for a final apocalyptic showdown. It is not often that a game transcends genre and changes the way we play our consoles. Oblivion is certainly an exception to this rule. Whether you prefer turn based or live action RPGs, hack-and-slash or FPS, Oblivion has something for everyone. Do not deny yourself one of the most impressive, ambitious games of all time. Expand
  35. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    As close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions andAs close to role playing perfection as one can get. Epic storyline that unfolds like a high-budget movie. Amazing visuals with lifelike characters. An open-ended world with lots of interesting possibilities to explore. Highly customizable class and skill system that allows many different styles of play. Most objectives can be reached in a non-violent manner through stealth, illusions and conjuration. Very refreshing! An immensely immersing game and a much better successor to Daggerfall than Morrowind was. The only thing missing is user generated content playable on the console. Expand
  36. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    You don't like RPGs? I wasn't that into them, and my friend hated them until we discovered Oblivion by accident. We bought it because best buy was out of a game... and all I remember is that we played for 2 days straight, all nighter included. You like RPGs? Don't have Oblivion? Get it. NOW!
  37. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    this game fuses action and exploration to the point where i wish i lived in this magical world. With amazingly beautiful music and the best graphics i have seen in a while this game is one of the best.
  38. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The attention to detail is amazing, I was speechless after I left the first dungeon and began to explore the world.
  39. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Not often do i give a game a perfect score. Oblivion offers a seamless world of fantasy and adventure. Add to that the ability to do whatever you want anytime and the choice to continue playing after you complete the game. This is truly a remarkable game, which can be enjoyed for countless hours even after you have beaten it.
  40. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    This game is the best that i have ever played im 80 hours in and havnt finished the main quest and only 1 of the guilds the sheer scale of it is stunning NPCs go about there daily buisness sleeping eating just walking around graphics are great theres so much good about i could go on for ages 5/5
  41. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    probably the greatest game ever made (morrowind is its only rival). bigger than a night out with Charlie sheen.If you haven't played it I don't know what your damage is.
  42. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This game is loaded with bugs, frustrations, and flaws. But it is the best game I have ever played. I have never spent so much time within a game world, exploring each and every place, leveling my characters to the max, and replaying it every year or so again, just to experience the absolute beast of a game this is. Get this game.
  43. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a piece of art; it captures the very essence of fantasy and burns it in your brain. "Oblivion is freedom", Oblivion has over 300 hours of game play to an average Joe.
    Oblivion offers more than 5 hours of game play to each of the following guilds... The Dark Brotherhood, The Thieves Guild, The Mages Guild or The Fighters Guild and addition to the main quest
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is a piece of art; it captures the very essence of fantasy and burns it in your brain. "Oblivion is freedom", Oblivion has over 300 hours of game play to an average Joe.
    Oblivion offers more than 5 hours of game play to each of the following guilds... The Dark Brotherhood, The Thieves Guild, The Mages Guild or The Fighters Guild and addition to the main quest which can offer up to 15+ hours, now thatâ
    Expand
  44. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best games ever created. Massive world,massive amount of customization,amazing graphics, beautiful soundtrack and touching story makes Oblivion an experience of lifetime. Oblivion improves everything from Morrowind. Get ready to lose your social life
  45. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    Even on a console, this game looks and plays brilliantly! When you take your first steps out of the dungeon you start in and the whole, green world opens in front of you......it is one of my favourite gaming memories! A MUST have on the Xbox 360!
  46. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many games now a days are shooters so not many people consider an RPG to reach out to people as much as a shooter would but Oblivion does. Oblivion is one of the best games I have ever played it combines great graphics with amazing story telling and long lasting appeal I have been playing for almost a month now and I haven't even come close to being done with the first disc this game is HUGE. The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion takes place in the imaginary province of Cyrodiil where you are a prisoner who has an extraordinary destiny and that is all I am gonna tell you. If you want to learn more about the story then go and play this game it will not waste your time I promise you What are you still doing here reading this go on GO play the game already!!!!! Expand
  47. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    Morrowind never clicked for me, but this game was so groundbreaking and incredible.....Hours of fantastic stories, a good plot, and lots of hours of DLC.......It was ahead of its time.
  48. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Though this has aged over the past 6 years,it's still one of the best games ever.In anticipation for Skyrim,I began again and put another hundred or so hours into it and despite some tech issues and somewhat dated graphics,I can still recommend it.Seriously,if you call yourself a gamer and have never played this,you are mistaken.
  49. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    An all time classic of the genre, and the benchmark for all other console based RPGs. Perhaps a bit dated now, however still worthy of a playthrough if you haven't experienced it, especially considering how cheaply you can pick it up.
  50. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". DownsidesAmazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". Downsides are minor and I do not even mind them much. Things like repetitive combat and bad AI at times. It does not ruin the game for me. Large scale area, multiple quests, and combat suited for a RPG. The graphics were amazing for 06, and the water is still beautiful to look at. The textures could use some work but that doesn't really hinder this game at all. Lets hope Bethesda makes Skyrim even better then all the other games combined. Oh and you can play after you beat the game....Fallout take notes. Expand
  51. May 6, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of yourOblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of your own. Too many rpg games since oblivion are banging out incredible graphics at the expense of having a good solid storyline. Many developers out there should be looking at oblivion and realising that you have to get the storyline and plot interesting in order for in rpg game to be good. The weapon functionality in terms of upgrading your equipment (armour and swords) is fantastic you are always on the lookout for better gear, this is one thing that oblivion done briliantly. To many recent rpgs have very little focus on this aspect eg the witcher.

    Finally i would like to sat that i hope oblivion skyrim is just as good if not better than oblivion, the omens are looking good because they say there will be dragons and dragon language. Now that soiunds goooood.
    Expand
  52. May 27, 2011
    10
    If you want to know what R.P.G. means, get this game and play it. You will actually be playing a role. Although you can gain levels and customize your character in this game as well, most games that claim to be a R.ole P.laying G.ame are little more than leveling and choosing upgrades with no choice over the role your character plays in a story. Bottom line...Oblivion stands up thereIf you want to know what R.P.G. means, get this game and play it. You will actually be playing a role. Although you can gain levels and customize your character in this game as well, most games that claim to be a R.ole P.laying G.ame are little more than leveling and choosing upgrades with no choice over the role your character plays in a story. Bottom line...Oblivion stands up there with Mass Effect, Dragon Age, and Baldur's gate II (PC version) as the best R.P.G.'s ever. (P.S. don't go there Chrono Trigger fans. Although groundbreaking for its time, Its ancient history and not as good as any of these mentioned here.) Expand
  53. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    An outstanding game. Most likely the best RPG that I've ever played. Some graphical hiccups and animations can barely detract from an amazing experience. Although the main quest line isn't the most engaging story, there are countless side quests and things to do, almost feeling like you're living in the world, and runs alot like a fantasy simulator with the way you affect things along withAn outstanding game. Most likely the best RPG that I've ever played. Some graphical hiccups and animations can barely detract from an amazing experience. Although the main quest line isn't the most engaging story, there are countless side quests and things to do, almost feeling like you're living in the world, and runs alot like a fantasy simulator with the way you affect things along with people. Definate recomendation for any Role-Playing Game fan. Expand
  54. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is one of the best games I have ever played. With over 200 hours of game play it is almost like living another life. The world of Cyrodil is a huge world with beautiful landscapes and cities, and a great amount of characters. There is not another game with an open world that is as good as the one found in the elder scrolls oblivion. so if you are ever in the need of aIn my opinion this is one of the best games I have ever played. With over 200 hours of game play it is almost like living another life. The world of Cyrodil is a huge world with beautiful landscapes and cities, and a great amount of characters. There is not another game with an open world that is as good as the one found in the elder scrolls oblivion. so if you are ever in the need of a good video game, you should pick up this one. Expand
  55. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    In terms of playing hours pumped into it, this is the most engrossing game I've ever played on any system. Not much more to say other than it's amazing and I cannot wait for Skyrim. It takes quite a lot to get me excited about games these days and the prospect of a new Elder Scrolls game makes me excited -.-
  56. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Now this is an RPG, at the up most finest. Oblivion is the greatest of all RPG. To not like Oblivion is the same as not liking air. It is clean flawless and just stunning. While having minor hicks like all games I had no problem running threw this game chopping up orc's and demons. One of the best games of all time I go as far to say and I am so excited for Skyrim. 10/10
  57. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I think this is my all time favorite game. The map was huge and there is no end to what you can do. The freedom of this game is what makes it amazing. To me it reminds me of old school DnD. you make your charater from the ground up and mold him//her to be whatever you want them to be. The ruler of Evil or the perfect image of good. Exploring the map never gets old. The fantasy creaturesI think this is my all time favorite game. The map was huge and there is no end to what you can do. The freedom of this game is what makes it amazing. To me it reminds me of old school DnD. you make your charater from the ground up and mold him//her to be whatever you want them to be. The ruler of Evil or the perfect image of good. Exploring the map never gets old. The fantasy creatures are impressive. As you level you encounter tougher and more exotic. The gods even ask you to help them those quest are the best, they are out of this world fun, the gear you get from it makes your charater unstoppable. I didn't even play the main story till i was done exploring the map. That was the beaty of this game, you didn't have to do it if you didn't want to! Great game I can't wait for th next one! Expand
  58. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I don't really know why i love this game so much there is just something really good about it.
    I must of spent about 400 hours into it.
    After about 4 years i still go on and play it. The combat with a sword and shield is just block RT block but i still love it. There are many bad things about the game like the voice actors as they only had about 7 but because i loves the game so much i
    I don't really know why i love this game so much there is just something really good about it.
    I must of spent about 400 hours into it.
    After about 4 years i still go on and play it.
    The combat with a sword and shield is just block RT block but i still love it.
    There are many bad things about the game like the voice actors as they only had about 7 but because i loves the game so much i never took notice of it.
    i find the best thing to do is be sneaky have bow and arrow and the the dark brotherhood and thieves guild because there probably the best things to do.
    I don't know how but i already spent 20 hours on another character and all i did was knights of the nine and the arena but i don't know what else i did. Its as if i was put in a trance playing it or something.
    Game play is where its at go take a look at it. Or if you use PC get it for the mods.
    Expand
  59. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    The best rpg EVER i read some comments like one moran user called WOWplayer and i say what the f* is wrong with u ? but ur name says it all wow... well it has the best graphics for a 2005 game and u can update it more with mods if u want to
    there are a LOT of questS in this game the main quest are not a lot but u still have a LOT to do in the game after the main quests....
    i have enjoy
    The best rpg EVER i read some comments like one moran user called WOWplayer and i say what the f* is wrong with u ? but ur name says it all wow... well it has the best graphics for a 2005 game and u can update it more with mods if u want to
    there are a LOT of questS in this game the main quest are not a lot but u still have a LOT to do in the game after the main quests....
    i have enjoy this game seens 2005 and now i will stop playing it coz of skyrim... :D
    Expand
  60. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Even now, many years later, I still hold any game that claims to be open world to the Elder Scrolls standard. There are few games in my life that awed me. This was one of them. Now only 2 days from the list release of Skyrim, all I can think of is my past experience with Oblivion and I can't believe how excited I am. Elder Scrolls is the definition of western rpg.
  61. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time. There are some flaws like the world that doesn't seem to be actually living and some glitches, but it will never ruin the overall experience.
  62. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Another Bethesda game that you simply must own. A gigantic world to explore, hundreds of quests, NPCs, items, dungeons, ect. 5 years after release and the game still holds up very well. An absolute masterpiece, I couldn't praise it enough.
  63. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    While it gifts players a huge, stunning world to wander in and a ton of things to do, Oblivion also takes quite a humble approach, sticking to more conservative RPG values. Firstly, Oblivion is extremely pretty. The land of Cyrodiil is styled in the manner of a European fairy tale of a Knights-and-Dames age, largely covered in greenery and dotted with medieval towns and settlements. It isWhile it gifts players a huge, stunning world to wander in and a ton of things to do, Oblivion also takes quite a humble approach, sticking to more conservative RPG values. Firstly, Oblivion is extremely pretty. The land of Cyrodiil is styled in the manner of a European fairy tale of a Knights-and-Dames age, largely covered in greenery and dotted with medieval towns and settlements. It is scene which welcomes players warmly and embrace them in a feeling of familiarity. In other words, it is quite the perfect fantasy world. There is also a nice story added in, and many, many quests to do and places to explore. Basic gameplay is largely a mix of fighting, which is relatively simple and fun, and much travelling which for more cultured folks is quite a gorgeous experience. Oblivion gets many things right, and aside from offering a great game gives gamers another world to live in. Expand
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A 200+ hour campaign paired with the largest landscape and most in-depth character progression to date makes this installment in The Elder Scrolls series the greatest fantasy RPG to date.
  65. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game absorbed countless hours of my life. I put more time trying to complete everything that there was in this game. The scale of this ame is incredible, yet somehow it was never enough to fully keep me from wanting more. The amount of detail in each city, each guild and each person are impossible to overstate. For any little bug that someone could point to in this game, there areThis game absorbed countless hours of my life. I put more time trying to complete everything that there was in this game. The scale of this ame is incredible, yet somehow it was never enough to fully keep me from wanting more. The amount of detail in each city, each guild and each person are impossible to overstate. For any little bug that someone could point to in this game, there are countless things that easily outweigh that in my mind. This game was what really made me follow the works of Bethesda. Their games always have a scope that is simply unparalleled in any other game out there.I HIGHLY recommend this game to all gamers out there. The main story is only the tip of the ice burg for this one. Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG'S i've ever played. I highly recommend playing this. I have 130 hours of gameplay on this without the DLC. This game is perfect and a must buy.
  67. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Had the pleasure of stumbling upon this game when my friend decided he didn't want to play his xbox 360 anymore 5 years ago. It was the greatest game that could ever fall into my lap, I've put almost countless hours and starts into this game. It's one of my absolute favorite games and I always find my self popping it back in and playing it over and over again. Even though skyrim is out IHad the pleasure of stumbling upon this game when my friend decided he didn't want to play his xbox 360 anymore 5 years ago. It was the greatest game that could ever fall into my lap, I've put almost countless hours and starts into this game. It's one of my absolute favorite games and I always find my self popping it back in and playing it over and over again. Even though skyrim is out I still see my self playing it from time to time. An ageless classic. Expand
  68. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This game always loomed around the video store unnoticed, until I picked it up one day by chance. I never looked back since then, it is one of my all time favorites, and I will always treasure the memories and experiences this game gave me. Absolute 10/10.
  69. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This game blew me away all those years ago.

    I cannot believe it's been this long. No matter how many people play this game, none of them will have the exact same adventure. Classic game.
  70. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I've played, and it has stood the test of time. In terms of amount of gameplay, only newer Elder Scrolls games can even compete. Shivering Isles was probably the best DLC released for any game ever, and added tons of hours to a game with already limitless playtime. The combat is fun, the story is huge, and it can keep you busy indefinitely.
  71. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Honestly the best game/RPG I have every played. I even happened to get all the achievements without trying to.... on all the DLC. That's how immersive this game was. The plot was so well written with great major twists and missions, followed by engaging side missions. Although, not every mission is fun ( ie. oblivion gates), usually a quick-paced adventure is waiting for you via the nextHonestly the best game/RPG I have every played. I even happened to get all the achievements without trying to.... on all the DLC. That's how immersive this game was. The plot was so well written with great major twists and missions, followed by engaging side missions. Although, not every mission is fun ( ie. oblivion gates), usually a quick-paced adventure is waiting for you via the next mission. I used to hate this game because of the level of difficulty. DON'T GIVE UP ON IT AT FIRST. Realize that some enemies you can't take on until much later in the game. Once you get to level 15 everything starts falling into place ( at least it did for me) from then on I absolutely loved that game, putting 300+ hours into one save game file. It is the single greatest game buy I have made to date. For both quality and quantity. Do yourself a favor and at least try this game out. PLEASE BETHESDA DONT SELL OUT LIKE BIOWARE!

    PS: You can wait to by hitting select ( it also heals you ) and you can fast-travel across the huge map ( hate to admit I didn't know that for the first 16 hours of playing the game)
    Expand
  72. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    Oblivion I think is Bethesda's masterpiece so far. It only really has funny bugs and that at the current update, possibly the last. In Skyrim I have found about 30 game crashing bugs, so I end up playing Oblivion way more.

    Boasting 16 miles squared (40km) of land, it is a pretty massive game. Of course Daggerfall was 487,000 square kilometres but that was randomly generated.
  73. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    First off I would like to say this is one of my favourite games of all time, it took some getting used to (3rd time lucky) but after a few tries I really got into this game. This is the very first RPG I ever played, so it is likely that it took some getting used to because it is a HUGE game, there are a lot of quests to complete, areas to explore, etc. There is only one thing that is wrongFirst off I would like to say this is one of my favourite games of all time, it took some getting used to (3rd time lucky) but after a few tries I really got into this game. This is the very first RPG I ever played, so it is likely that it took some getting used to because it is a HUGE game, there are a lot of quests to complete, areas to explore, etc. There is only one thing that is wrong with this game, and that thing is in the title of the game: OBLIVION. So the world of oblivion is the main plot for this game, basically it is hell and the gates to oblivion have opened in Cyrodiil and you must stop it, that is the generalised plot of the game, I don't like the world of oblivion because it is very repetitive, there are some changes in how it looks in each gate but when you get to the tower, it is mostly the same and it gets very boring after the first few you enter, this wouldn't of been much of a problem but it is the main focus of the game, so it requires you to go through quite a few of them. Now moving onto the things I like and that is pretty much everything else, seriously, I love this game and thank goodness that 90% of the quests do not involve the gates of oblivion, anyway the best quests of the game are the guild quests, there are four major guilds in this game; fighters guild, thieves guild, mages guild and my favourite: The Dark Brotherhood. What is so good about these quests is that they are very fun to do, especially the dark brotherhood ones which require you to kill in anyway you want to. To summarise; if you can get past the frustration of the oblivion realm. then you will have a lot of fun in the world of Cyrodiil, with vibrant colours and massive areas, you will be hooked on Elder Scrolls 4 for hours upon hours upon hours. 9/10 Expand
  74. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    After spending 50h+ into this game im more than delighted by the quality of today's so often almost mindless games. Yes i am playing Bf3 and CoD and enjoying them too but neither of those titles can give me the feel as when you fight your way through the dark plains of the Oblivion realm, finding that new great enchanted glass-sword or just simply exploring the beautiful world for newAfter spending 50h+ into this game im more than delighted by the quality of today's so often almost mindless games. Yes i am playing Bf3 and CoD and enjoying them too but neither of those titles can give me the feel as when you fight your way through the dark plains of the Oblivion realm, finding that new great enchanted glass-sword or just simply exploring the beautiful world for new dungeons or even ingredients. It was released in 2006 and i would say that it looks better than the most games released just one or two years ago, and not because of the details in the textures but by the design of everything in the game. From the wooden houses of Bruma to the dark and red of towers in the Oblivion dimension. It looks great, its all created with such creative joy which is easily noticed throughout the whole game. The story is intriguing if you just put some time into actually listening to what the people have to say, and with all the side-quests it's a game that would last for days after days. Everything about this game makes you want to play it for hours upon hours. It does contain its flaws though. The Ai might be a bit jerky sometimes and the faces might look goofy but that isn't but that is never something that ruins the overall experience of the game. Oblivion offers a lot of variety, and often a lot of twists to the regular gameplay. I would recommend this game to anyone who wants a great immersive singleplayer-game that will only leave you with the urge to find that last gem for your jewellery-collection or that one missing piece of armor. I cant promise that everyone would appreciate the qualities of this game though, but give it a try even though your not a huge rpg player it still delivers a great experience. Expand
  75. May 27, 2013
    10
    I haven't played this game in a few years but I am going back and retroactivly scoring them. While it is not as beautiful as Skyrim is today. For it's time it was an amazing game. It felt like a living breathing word which you happened upon. The fighting and magic were well done. Most of the quests were entertaining. My only complaing was that 3rd person looked atrocious, but since theI haven't played this game in a few years but I am going back and retroactivly scoring them. While it is not as beautiful as Skyrim is today. For it's time it was an amazing game. It felt like a living breathing word which you happened upon. The fighting and magic were well done. Most of the quests were entertaining. My only complaing was that 3rd person looked atrocious, but since the game is meant to be played in first person, I'll let it slide. Expand
  76. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This game is great. At the time of release, there was nothing quite like it. Sure the inventory and menus were a the voice acting was terrible and every goddamn NPC was ugly. But never before has a game given someone so much freedom to do whatever you want. The game isn't for everyone, especially those with low attention spans, or little patience. Sometimes the game can be downrightThis game is great. At the time of release, there was nothing quite like it. Sure the inventory and menus were a the voice acting was terrible and every goddamn NPC was ugly. But never before has a game given someone so much freedom to do whatever you want. The game isn't for everyone, especially those with low attention spans, or little patience. Sometimes the game can be downright boring, and the bugs will make you lose up to 10 hours of gameplay, and yet its still a masterpiece. Expand
  77. May 26, 2013
    10
    Oblivion is by far one of the best games of all time, hands down. Great attention to detail, interesting quests and multiple storylines, a massive world to explore, and a multitude of weapons and spells to unleash on your opponents. I'm struggling to find things Bethesda did wrong with this game... Perhaps the animations could be a bit smooter, the bugs ironed out, and the levelingOblivion is by far one of the best games of all time, hands down. Great attention to detail, interesting quests and multiple storylines, a massive world to explore, and a multitude of weapons and spells to unleash on your opponents. I'm struggling to find things Bethesda did wrong with this game... Perhaps the animations could be a bit smooter, the bugs ironed out, and the leveling system fixed, but these are now expeced with every Bethesda game, and cannot be avoided with a game this large.

    Overall, if you don't already own this game, you should probably do so. Even if you haven't played Morrowind, or any other Bethesda game for that matter, you owe it to yourself to buy this game.
    Expand
  78. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all time. The amount of options and possibilities in this game makes it so unique, apart from other RPG's. Skyrim is a very good game, but I have never enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Oblivion. Just running around in the beautiful cities and landscapes, to explore all the amazing things in this game (while gaining levels, yeah). You never have a dull moment, at least IMy favorite game of all time. The amount of options and possibilities in this game makes it so unique, apart from other RPG's. Skyrim is a very good game, but I have never enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Oblivion. Just running around in the beautiful cities and landscapes, to explore all the amazing things in this game (while gaining levels, yeah). You never have a dull moment, at least I didn't, in Oblivion! PERIOD! Expand
  79. Feb 6, 2014
    10
    Oblivion, like its older brothers, is a timeless classic. that's all that needs to be said on behalf of this masterpiece. but for curios people who don't know oblivion is one of those few games that bring the game play, storytelling and visuals to a whole new level. Bethesda truly set the bar for the Xbox 360's launch and to this day Oblivion still holds up in every way. simply put if youOblivion, like its older brothers, is a timeless classic. that's all that needs to be said on behalf of this masterpiece. but for curios people who don't know oblivion is one of those few games that bring the game play, storytelling and visuals to a whole new level. Bethesda truly set the bar for the Xbox 360's launch and to this day Oblivion still holds up in every way. simply put if you have never had the pleasure of playing this game now is as good a time as any especially with the next gen under-way you'll be able to get this game at a bargain and believe me it'll be worth every penny Expand
  80. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    My Favorite Game on Xbox! The dungeons are fun, the quests are unique and interesting. The lore is fantastic! Everything about this game is amazing! My only complaint is you spend a lot of time in your menu and quest journals.
  81. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Best game ever I LOVE IT it's better than skyrim it isn't just kill this kill that there is actual strategy like that dark brotherhood quest where you have to kill the shi captai n and instead of walking in and killing him you hide in a box and pop out
  82. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. it seems people really give up easily when playing games.

    I am rating this based off of when i played it, not when it came out, and not after playing skyrim nor am I comparing it to skyrim, since that is dumb to play skyrim 1st, then oblivion. you wouldnt watch the last star wars movie and then watch the 2nd one, thats dumb too.

    also EddieHokie complained that there were no houses to buy? there is one in every town and then the expansion lets you have a castle, a mages tower, some undergrown thief ship, so did you not look in any of the towns ever for a house to buy?(apparently he didnt) so yes there are lots of nice houses to buy and i preferred the castle.(the castle, tower and underground ship are DLC content)

    the oblivion gates were a chore but i liked the new areas and things to loot, so unless you hate these kinds of games to begin with or play skyrim 1st, then this was a fun game with things to do.

    I dont like being a vampire only cuz the sun constantly kills you otherwise vamp is fun and meeting vampires are fun cuz you can clearly tell someone is a vampire but they are hiding it and its fun to try and find evidence they are a vampire and all sorts of other stuff you will find and see if you simply play the game a normal amount of time and not whine like a child after 1-2 hours.
    Expand
  83. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is an extraordinary experience and is hands down my favourite game of all time. If you like any RPG what so ever then Oblivion is right for you. The quests are amazing and exciting to play and the story itself is epic. The customization of your character and game play feels so unique because there are so many choices and paths you can take with yourThe Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion is an extraordinary experience and is hands down my favourite game of all time. If you like any RPG what so ever then Oblivion is right for you. The quests are amazing and exciting to play and the story itself is epic. The customization of your character and game play feels so unique because there are so many choices and paths you can take with your character. The environment is very bright and colourful and the graphics are pretty decent for being released in 2006. The music of this game is absolutely breathtaking, it's the best game score that I have ever heard, and I enjoy listening to it during my adventure. The only flaw is that there are not that many voice actors, so you hear a lot of the same voices from different NPCs. Oblivion is my favourite RPG and my favourite game overall. It would be a mistake if you didn't ever play this. Expand
  84. Aug 22, 2014
    10
    Best game ever if i wanted more adventure id have to be friends with peter pan and that's not possible one things is possible playing this game and its the one thing i wanna do for the rest of my life
  85. Apr 22, 2015
    10
    One of the best games i ever played in my xbox 360. The ambiance of the game and the possibilities that have are fantastic. every fan of rpg, have to play this game! =]
  86. Feb 25, 2015
    10
    Around this time this is one of the best games I've ever played hands down. The art work. Man every thing when I first found this game I was hooked love the idea. Yes there was a glitch or two but with how big this game was and a lot of play hours I could understand. Hands down one of the best games I've ever played... :))
  87. May 25, 2015
    10
    Who wouldn't give The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion a 10/10?. This game has aged very well from it's release in 2006. The story is just as engaging as Skyrims and the gameplay too. Oblivion is not only just a great game in general, it has bought many memories to the minds of many gamers. Do I even have to mention the soundtrack? the soundtrack is awesome. The characters are as memorable asWho wouldn't give The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion a 10/10?. This game has aged very well from it's release in 2006. The story is just as engaging as Skyrims and the gameplay too. Oblivion is not only just a great game in general, it has bought many memories to the minds of many gamers. Do I even have to mention the soundtrack? the soundtrack is awesome. The characters are as memorable as ever. Oblivion is a masterpiece. must-but now. Expand
  88. Aug 29, 2015
    10
    There are few games that you discover A sense of wonder and purpose than this Game.Not even later Bethesda games like Skyrim and Fallout 3 made me feel like I was in A world of awe and one where I truly had the freedom with nearly unlimited possibilities within A gorgeous package. Cyrodiil to me way outshines any other Elder Scrolls title.No matter how you play it is always A unique andThere are few games that you discover A sense of wonder and purpose than this Game.Not even later Bethesda games like Skyrim and Fallout 3 made me feel like I was in A world of awe and one where I truly had the freedom with nearly unlimited possibilities within A gorgeous package. Cyrodiil to me way outshines any other Elder Scrolls title.No matter how you play it is always A unique and special experience that you will be remembering for years to come.Replay-ability is so much fun,the action,the interactions with NPC,random adventures.exploration and A whole lot more await you.10/10 in my book! Expand
  89. Mar 20, 2016
    10
    I'm not really into RPGs but I saw my friend playing it 10 years ago and it just looked so awesome, you can do everything you want, you got tons of quests and a good story. I also got a looting kinda playstile so there are tons of items and weapons and enchantments and so on to find. I also really like the leveling system, because new items are unlocked then so you don't face impossibleI'm not really into RPGs but I saw my friend playing it 10 years ago and it just looked so awesome, you can do everything you want, you got tons of quests and a good story. I also got a looting kinda playstile so there are tons of items and weapons and enchantments and so on to find. I also really like the leveling system, because new items are unlocked then so you don't face impossible enemies at level 1 but later when you get better equipment. The world is huge, really huge, I've played this game for over 200 hours and I still find new places and caves. The only flaw is that there are some bugs on the 360 version so get the PC one, the game is 10 years old so it should run on most PCs but nevertheless for me it's still the best-looking RPG (except maybe GTA V) I've played so far, I like it more than Skyrim because it's more colorful but Skyrim is by no means bad either, I recommend both games to you, and definitely check out the Shivering Isles DLC, I'd never expected so much content. Expand
  90. po0<livegamertag
    Apr 7, 2006
    9
    Not without its minor flaws but as said before by others the flaws dont impact the gameplay at all. Its totally addictive and i havent been able to not play it for a single day since release day. The game leaves you with a sense of achievement and to most gamers thats important (whats the point in investing your time if you get nothing back) and i have to say becoming guild master of theNot without its minor flaws but as said before by others the flaws dont impact the gameplay at all. Its totally addictive and i havent been able to not play it for a single day since release day. The game leaves you with a sense of achievement and to most gamers thats important (whats the point in investing your time if you get nothing back) and i have to say becoming guild master of the dark brotherhood has been the most rewarding moment so far, but even the minor quests leave you patting your own back. If you werent a Morrowind fan dont be put off (i couldnt get into Morrowind either) its easy to get into the hardest part is putting it down. Even if you get it for the pure fact it will last you more than the standard 5 - 8 hours that most games last its worth it. My one gripe is the lack of things to spend money on other than a house (i have 3 already) there is nothing worth purchasing as much better items can be found on quests or exploring?? Expand
  91. GeoffreyMaxwell
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    A Flawed Masterpiece. Hence 9 and not 10. The way in which this game manages to combine sheer brilliance with down right glitchyness reminds me of Knights of the Old Republic. But like KOTOR its just so good that it can be easily forgiven. To be more specific- sometimes the game pause for a few seconds to load, if this happens when you're being attacked by a wolf, it can get a bit A Flawed Masterpiece. Hence 9 and not 10. The way in which this game manages to combine sheer brilliance with down right glitchyness reminds me of Knights of the Old Republic. But like KOTOR its just so good that it can be easily forgiven. To be more specific- sometimes the game pause for a few seconds to load, if this happens when you're being attacked by a wolf, it can get a bit gittery, the sound can go for a few seconds. Sometimes it takes a while for my character to get off his horse when I tell him too but none of these things are too serious. Plus It has crashed twice with me in my 30 hours play so far. However this was not a problem because the game regularly autosaves so I lost very little. If you do buy it, I recommend saving regularly in a seperate file though. Anyway! enough about the negatives, this game is simply the most ambitious adventure game ever with a vast world, number of items, and levelling up system. Above all other things though this game is simply beautiful. The amount of time I have spent just enjoying the scenery. I can almost smell the flowers and feel the breeze blowing from my new HD TV. A must buy for any aventure gamer or rpg fan. Expand
  92. MerrillL.
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    First off, this is only the 2nd RPG I've ever played besides Jade Empire. With that said, this is one of the most fun and immersive games I've ever played! I've only been able to play about 4 hours so far but am definitely looking forward to many more. For non-RPGers, I would suggest renting this with an option to buy (like Gamefly) because this is a game that is definitely First off, this is only the 2nd RPG I've ever played besides Jade Empire. With that said, this is one of the most fun and immersive games I've ever played! I've only been able to play about 4 hours so far but am definitely looking forward to many more. For non-RPGers, I would suggest renting this with an option to buy (like Gamefly) because this is a game that is definitely worth the $60 and worth investing time in! Expand
  93. B.S.
    May 30, 2007
    9
    Okay - the game is a little slow at times, the leveling system is worse than broken (just go read the various leveling guides out there to find some of the pitfalls), and there's a lot to do. The game has its shortfalls. However, it STILL marks the best reasonably current American RPG on the market, and that's worth something. You don't have to be an RPG fan - I have a Okay - the game is a little slow at times, the leveling system is worse than broken (just go read the various leveling guides out there to find some of the pitfalls), and there's a lot to do. The game has its shortfalls. However, it STILL marks the best reasonably current American RPG on the market, and that's worth something. You don't have to be an RPG fan - I have a friend who plays mostly shooters and this is the only RPG he likes - but you do have to have some degree of patience, which is what might be throwing some people. If you can take a game that doesn't rush you from point to point (a la Resident Evil or Gears of War, which are also excellent games), this is a must-have. Expand
  94. MikeB.
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    A very well rounded game, with an extremely open ended quest system as well as numerous locations for said quests. Somewhat limited selection of items.
  95. GabeC.
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    If you didn't like Morrowind... don't buy this game. This game is an Action/HackNSlash game on top of an Explore Everything game. The experience that you get from this is what you make for yourself. There is no single game that has what this game has. It is truly a Next Gen game. People will complain about single aspects of this game being better somewhere else... But to do what If you didn't like Morrowind... don't buy this game. This game is an Action/HackNSlash game on top of an Explore Everything game. The experience that you get from this is what you make for yourself. There is no single game that has what this game has. It is truly a Next Gen game. People will complain about single aspects of this game being better somewhere else... But to do what they've done in a single game is amazing. Whoever complains about this game should tell everybody the game that exists that does all that Oblivion does (Yes, I'm pointing at you FPS Master)... Bravo Bethesda! Brilliant! Expand
  96. KidSix
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    Ignore the haters. If you like RPG's and actually want to take the time to put some thought and effort into the games you play, Oblivion is a great game. Haters just don't like it because they only focus on the negatives. Granted, there are a few, but not enough to take away from the overall game experience. I only gave it a nine because I don't think there has ever been a Ignore the haters. If you like RPG's and actually want to take the time to put some thought and effort into the games you play, Oblivion is a great game. Haters just don't like it because they only focus on the negatives. Granted, there are a few, but not enough to take away from the overall game experience. I only gave it a nine because I don't think there has ever been a perfect game and I can't give it a 9.7. Expand
  97. GeoffH.
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    I can only assume those with popup are playing on a 360 - On a good PC with the draw distance turned up, you can see for chuffing MILES. Those moaning about load times Are you playing on a 360 ? ON a good PC they are virtually non existant. Conclusion. Oblivion = fantastic XBOX360 = Already supersceded by top of the range PC (and games cost 40% for a "worse" experience and no free add ons I can only assume those with popup are playing on a 360 - On a good PC with the draw distance turned up, you can see for chuffing MILES. Those moaning about load times Are you playing on a 360 ? ON a good PC they are virtually non existant. Conclusion. Oblivion = fantastic XBOX360 = Already supersceded by top of the range PC (and games cost 40% for a "worse" experience and no free add ons from the community). Expand
  98. Kirana
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    it's a fantastic game! i could literally make any character - the face adjustment software is great. and it allows you to customise your class, and so do anything you want! i'll definitely still have this game for a long, long time. replayability is magnificent, and definitely incredible value for money. excellent for RPG gamers, maybe not so much for gamers that prefer a it's a fantastic game! i could literally make any character - the face adjustment software is great. and it allows you to customise your class, and so do anything you want! i'll definitely still have this game for a long, long time. replayability is magnificent, and definitely incredible value for money. excellent for RPG gamers, maybe not so much for gamers that prefer a linear, to-the-point structure, but hey, they already have so many other games! Expand
  99. JoeM.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    A good game, what stops it from getting a ten is its occasional performance issues, which I dont understand, given the power of the 360.
  100. maxs
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    I love how Abram T. just kept on rambling about how the game sucks and how it is so horrible when in actuallity it ism one of the best games on the 360.. Wow, it is just so funny, wait here i will try. Oblivion the worst game ive ever played. It is horrible that I kept throwing up whenever i ran into a person when it poped up in the game and had to go to the emergency room because an I love how Abram T. just kept on rambling about how the game sucks and how it is so horrible when in actuallity it ism one of the best games on the 360.. Wow, it is just so funny, wait here i will try. Oblivion the worst game ive ever played. It is horrible that I kept throwing up whenever i ran into a person when it poped up in the game and had to go to the emergency room because an enemy kept chasing me to hell. I broke five of my controllers when I died, and the level system ended up making me start cutting myself and I went insane, killing my whole family, and now because of oblivion, i am in s mental institution! Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.