User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1016 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The attention to detail is amazing, I was speechless after I left the first dungeon and began to explore the world.
  2. HughM.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    This is the best game I have ever played.
  3. RedXIII
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    This game is perfect, there is absolutely nothing to complain about, the graphics are amazing, game play is flawless, sound is excellent, so many quests to complete, you can choose good or evil path, in depth customization, probably one of the best games I have ever played, this and final fantasy VII, if you don't have it run and buy it. If you like RPGs that is.
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Though this has aged over the past 6 years,it's still one of the best games ever.In anticipation for Skyrim,I began again and put another hundred or so hours into it and despite some tech issues and somewhat dated graphics,I can still recommend it.Seriously,if you call yourself a gamer and have never played this,you are mistaken.
  5. Sep 13, 2010
    10
    Not often do i give a game a perfect score. Oblivion offers a seamless world of fantasy and adventure. Add to that the ability to do whatever you want anytime and the choice to continue playing after you complete the game. This is truly a remarkable game, which can be enjoyed for countless hours even after you have beaten it.
  6. DerekM.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    Now, I've seen some pretty harsh reviews. Not to criticize anyone in particular, but some people weren't skilled enough to look at their chart to see that they had vampirism so they gave it a zero. grow up. the graphics were beautiful for the time of release. the compelling story pushes the player to do every quest and collect all the deadric items. I love the game mechanics Now, I've seen some pretty harsh reviews. Not to criticize anyone in particular, but some people weren't skilled enough to look at their chart to see that they had vampirism so they gave it a zero. grow up. the graphics were beautiful for the time of release. the compelling story pushes the player to do every quest and collect all the deadric items. I love the game mechanics more than morrowind, as the combat system doesnt make your sword slash pass through an enemy as if you weren't holding anything at all, but morrowind had an overall better main quest. The contrast from the beautiful rolling hills and meadows to the bleak, fiery hell of oblivion keeps the player from getting too tired of the scenery. all in all, this is just one of the better games to come out. Now quit whining and get into the game before you give it a 0. Expand
  7. AbramT.
    Dec 7, 2007
    0
    This "game" is an atrocity by each and every measure, and I am shocked, shocked, shocked to my poor little soul that everyone else isn't saying likewise! Are people really * that* susceptible to hype hypnosis?! Gameplay? Abysmal! The leveling system is utterly broken, and that's a baaad thing for an RPG! Bethesda decided to make it a scaling system, which was a horrible idea in This "game" is an atrocity by each and every measure, and I am shocked, shocked, shocked to my poor little soul that everyone else isn't saying likewise! Are people really * that* susceptible to hype hypnosis?! Gameplay? Abysmal! The leveling system is utterly broken, and that's a baaad thing for an RPG! Bethesda decided to make it a scaling system, which was a horrible idea in the first place, but they made it way worse than it had to be with their sub-sub-sub-amateur implementation! End result: stupid game gets harder and harder as you get more powerful. Elaboration for your elucidation: get beefy enough, and you'll be having mortal duels with mud crabs; stay level 1, and you'll beat the game as a steroid-enraged Conan would the proverbial red-headed stepchild. AI? Hair-tearingly heinous! Can't count the times it almost *disemboweled* my psyche with its mind-blasting +2 stupidity! Enemies chase you forever, friends can't fight with either the intelligence *or* efficacy of a rabies *and* syphilis-maddened toddler (yes, I know that makes me a bad man!), vampires don't care about sunlight though it totally burns their stupid asses, and a guard attacked me when I was assaulted by a witch before I had even done anything! No, I won't even mention the patch-work conversations between townspeople! I shan't go on, for the sake of my sanity, I shan't, I shan't! Bugs, bugs, the hellish bugs! Hung up many times when I backed up while shooting arrows, corpses never disappear (nobody ever notices them, either!), items left in the cabinets of a dead man's house magically turn into vegetables, every other side quest has a bug that makes you unable to finish it if you happen to run into it (and believe me, these bugs are loud proud and in your FACE, so you actually have to make an effort to avoid them!) and there are even reports of mega-bugs that, if encountered, explode your hopes of finishing the main quest into tiny, flaming pieces that smell like charred farts. Graphics? Fugly! Major building and tree pop-up! People all look related, even non-humans; humanoid characters have puddy-ish, discolored, Robot Chicken-esque necks! Way to go with character design, boys and girls! Uninspired city and town design! Story? Overly-simple and completely lacking in atmosphere. These can't be the same writers from Morrowind! You can just tell that they never, ever read! Altogether, an eye-melting Hell-fart of a game! Discerning and intelligent people should keep away, if they value their sanity! Do not, I repeat, do not listen to the legions of brainwiped, hype-notized fanboys who laud this thing like it was Jesus himself, back on earth and granting ten wishes to anybody who lays down 60 bucks! Disgustingly bad craftsmanship, Bethesda! You should be mortally ashamed, as should anyone who praises this thing! I consign this asbestos bag of captured demon flatus to. . . OBLIVION! Expand
  8. Johhnydepht
    Mar 22, 2006
    0
    Wow an amazing game that has absorped my life for the next twelf centuries!
  9. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many games now a days are shooters so not many people consider an RPG to reach out to people as much as a shooter would but Oblivion does. Oblivion is one of the best games I have ever played it combines great graphics with amazing story telling and long lasting appeal I have been playing for almost a month now and I haven't even come close to being done with the first disc this game is HUGE. The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion takes place in the imaginary province of Cyrodiil where you are a prisoner who has an extraordinary destiny and that is all I am gonna tell you. If you want to learn more about the story then go and play this game it will not waste your time I promise you What are you still doing here reading this go on GO play the game already!!!!! Expand
  10. MTM
    Mar 5, 2011
    9
    One day in 2011 I decided that I wanted to play a new game for my Xbox 360. I wanted to get a game that was fun, but also had a great reviews. I was looking at my local BestBuy and found The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. The game was only $20 and I basically said why not. I bought it and fell in love with it. The graphics are outstanding even for 2011, the customization is endless.... thereOne day in 2011 I decided that I wanted to play a new game for my Xbox 360. I wanted to get a game that was fun, but also had a great reviews. I was looking at my local BestBuy and found The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. The game was only $20 and I basically said why not. I bought it and fell in love with it. The graphics are outstanding even for 2011, the customization is endless.... there are so many shops and so many things you can do. I'm about 6 hours into the game, understand that this game is over 100 hours long if you do everything that it has to offer. Don't listen to the haters, for a 2006 game it impresses gamers even from 2011 where we have Dead Space 2, Halo Reach, Killzone 3, and all the rest... Expand
  11. Apr 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". DownsidesAmazing game. I would say all Elder Scrolls game after Arena are amazingly good. Daggerfall was huge in size, Morrowind was amazing for immersion, and Oblivion has superior gameplay. One of the most addicting games I've played, meaning that when I got this back in 07-08 I fell in love for my whole summer. Games like this should have warnings on them "Stay away, HIGHLY ADDICTIVE". Downsides are minor and I do not even mind them much. Things like repetitive combat and bad AI at times. It does not ruin the game for me. Large scale area, multiple quests, and combat suited for a RPG. The graphics were amazing for 06, and the water is still beautiful to look at. The textures could use some work but that doesn't really hinder this game at all. Lets hope Bethesda makes Skyrim even better then all the other games combined. Oh and you can play after you beat the game....Fallout take notes. Expand
  12. May 6, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of yourOblivion is without any shadow of a dought one of the best rpg games i have ever played. The graphics at the time of release where exceptional the gameplay more importantly was engrossing. There was also a development and leveling up system which was interesting and worthwhile putting the extra time into. The characters and the storyline left you feeling that you where in a world of your own. Too many rpg games since oblivion are banging out incredible graphics at the expense of having a good solid storyline. Many developers out there should be looking at oblivion and realising that you have to get the storyline and plot interesting in order for in rpg game to be good. The weapon functionality in terms of upgrading your equipment (armour and swords) is fantastic you are always on the lookout for better gear, this is one thing that oblivion done briliantly. To many recent rpgs have very little focus on this aspect eg the witcher.

    Finally i would like to sat that i hope oblivion skyrim is just as good if not better than oblivion, the omens are looking good because they say there will be dragons and dragon language. Now that soiunds goooood.
    Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    Just like Skyrim, the leveling system of this game is abysmal. Since enemies level up with you, there's a feeling of a lack of progress. Games which are this open have problems like this.
  14. MrMoby
    Mar 20, 2006
    0
    For £50 this version is so inferior to the £25 version found on the PC. just not worth spending £50 on but for those of you who do have a PC its a good game and the graphics are far superior to that next generation super computer called the XBOX 360
  15. PCMAN
    Mar 23, 2006
    0
    To Exspencive fo what it is. i mean you can either spend £50 on xbox 360 sub standard version or you can spend £20 on the vastly supirior version . still cant belive people are prepared to spend that sort of money when its available cheaper and better on another format
  16. JimG.
    Jul 29, 2008
    4
    This is a well made game, but with horrible, IRREDEEMABLE game design flaws. It's a sad indicator of the pitiful state of game reviewing that it has been universally praised. The three main flaws of the game are: 1) The optimum way to play a character type [i.e. mage, rogue, warrior] is to specialize in all the skills it SHOULD NOT have, and then tediously build up the actually This is a well made game, but with horrible, IRREDEEMABLE game design flaws. It's a sad indicator of the pitiful state of game reviewing that it has been universally praised. The three main flaws of the game are: 1) The optimum way to play a character type [i.e. mage, rogue, warrior] is to specialize in all the skills it SHOULD NOT have, and then tediously build up the actually desired skills, which are now minor skills that you're behind in and you improve more slowly, all the while being careful to get the exact number of skill levels before making character level in order to best improve your ability scores when making level, which you achieve by doing things that your character type shouldn't do [i.e. casting spells if you're a warrior]. If that sounds like a confusing, ridiculous, obnoxious headache, it's because it is. 2) The game generally rewards repetitious, sometimes unrealistic behavior to improve skills. 3) When my character initially was infected with vampirism, nowhere on my character sheet did it say so, therefore I was unaware and unable to nip it in the bud. Hence, it was impossible to figure out what was going on and why. Once you get bit you're either going back to an earlier save or you're dealing with it for hours of gameplay. For me, there's nothing fun about that. The same company bought the FALLOUT license, and are making FALLOUT 3. I finally understand why the diehard Fallout fans are furious. Shame on game reviewers. There's nothing 94/100 about it. [xbox 360 version played]. Expand
  17. DaveW.
    Jan 21, 2007
    2
    For what its worth, anyone new to RPG's and has never played morrowind will come to oblivion awestruck and amazed to see such a wanderful culmination of technology and talent in one tiny disc. I know, because the same happened to me when I played Morrowind (the game which came before oblivion), for the first time. But now I can see oblivion for what it really is. Another attempt at For what its worth, anyone new to RPG's and has never played morrowind will come to oblivion awestruck and amazed to see such a wanderful culmination of technology and talent in one tiny disc. I know, because the same happened to me when I played Morrowind (the game which came before oblivion), for the first time. But now I can see oblivion for what it really is. Another attempt at raking in the dollars by appealing to a market who only want pumped up graphics and hack and slash. Hate to say it, but Diablo 2 is more playable than oblivion. Firstly, aside from graphics requiring a chunky computer to run, The combat engine is almost always repetetive and somewhat unrealistic. I mean, if I hit a wolf with a 20 KG sword, you'd expect it to die. Furthermore, it is so clumsy come along another enemy, let alone 3 or more, just forget it. Diablo 2 lets you, WITH EASE, kill dozens. The magic system is completly the same as morrowind and is the alchemy. Items have a 1:1 functionality in that if you need to recharge an item with 800 charges, it will cost you 800 dollars in the game. Leveling up seems pointless however my biggest gripe with this game is that if you build yourself up to be a massive strong arm sword fighter (no magic), or an excellent shot with the bow, prepare to be dissapointed after 20 hours of play because suddenly all the creatures at your level require strong magic ability to destroy otherwise your sword or arrow passes right through the enemy without effect. If this is your first RPG, you may enjoy it for a long time, therefore giving the game a high score of 8. However, to the regular gamer who is not so easly taken in by all the eye candy, you will find a boring repetative game with really nothing to do and most of the gameplay carried over from morrowind, landing a pitiful and most dissapointing score of 2! A so I end this review. Expand
  18. BenG.
    Mar 28, 2007
    1
    This game is far too slow and has too many obscurities. I definitely did not enjoy it.
  19. ChristopherP.
    Jan 13, 2008
    3
    If you're really into open-world RPGs, don't be fooled by the ridiculously generous scores that Oblivion has received. Yes, it has a vast - albeit painfully generic and mostly barren - world to explore. Yes, there are plenty of things to do, see, and collect. Unfortunately, all of these things are undermined by the game's loot and enemy scaling. It's not just a little If you're really into open-world RPGs, don't be fooled by the ridiculously generous scores that Oblivion has received. Yes, it has a vast - albeit painfully generic and mostly barren - world to explore. Yes, there are plenty of things to do, see, and collect. Unfortunately, all of these things are undermined by the game's loot and enemy scaling. It's not just a little bit of scaling, mind you; it's a mind-boggling, almost painful amount of scaling. It has been done to such a degree that to describe it as anything less than Bethesda selling-out would be disingenuous. There is no incentive to crawl through dungeons or explore the countryside, as EVERY SINGLE enemy and treasure chest will be scaled. If your character is on his second level, expect to mostly be fighting rats and goblins. It doesn't matter where you go; that's what you will be running into until you level up. Every treasure chest and every bit of carried loot you come across will also be scaled. Finally leveled enough to where you can get your hands on some glass armour? Don't go feeling too accomplished, since every last dirt-licking, flea-ridden brigand will also be getting a shiny new set of glass armour along with you. When all is said and done, Oblivion is Morrowind with breast implants, a botox injection, and a lobotomy. Bethesda has removed their flagship series' soul for the sake of a wider audience, and there is nothing left but a dumbed-down husk. Expand
  20. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    I'll give you a heads-up now, just because it's made by the same people who made Fallout 3 doesn't mean it's any good so don't waste your money!!!

    Firstly, the AI has hardly been touched. Yes, artificial intelligence is a difficult thing to program but really, when I murder the bandit on the left and the bandit on the right, the guy on the corpse should realize something is terribly
    I'll give you a heads-up now, just because it's made by the same people who made Fallout 3 doesn't mean it's any good so don't waste your money!!!

    Firstly, the AI has hardly been touched. Yes, artificial intelligence is a difficult thing to program but really, when I murder the bandit on the left and the bandit on the right, the guy on the corpse should realize something is terribly wrong, instead of wandering around hopelessly. Similarly, it is brutally and unforgiving when it comes to accidental thievery. Try to click on the bartender to talk to her, and likely you'll accidentally click on an alcohol bottle. THIEF!!! she cries out, and even if you put the bottle down immediately, a guard will escort you to the castle, where you'll have to pay a fine for touching a bottle on a bar. Character interaction is annoyingly weak. To get a character to like you, you'll need to, in a brief period of time, Boast, Joke, Admire, or Coerce him/her, repeatedly, via a mini-game. Bashing heads solves almost every quest, so the talking issues in the game are neatly covered up by massive bloodshed (although corpse cleanup isn't so good; this one poor shop has had 3 naked corpses in it for months now).

    Also, the main story line is, no fun. It's not just the "you start in a prison with no equipment or past" lameness that's been done so many times before. Opening up the gate from a hellish world all through the countryside, you're told things like, "You must save him RIGHT NOW" but we still have the theme of do whatever you want so the invasion or execution or whatever will patiently wait until you go off and become head of every guild, visit every city a dozen times, or do whatever else you feel like. The main quest just doesn't feel right in this context. You'll also need to close many gates, and the sense of accomplishment for doing so is a bit boring, as each close the gate quest is almost the same.

    Finally, we have an overall design flaw here. Usually, once your character gets above level 25 in any game, there is nothing left to challenge you, making the whole game extremely easy. Oblivion (tries) fixes this by making the monsters and treasures as your character does. So, a cave that would hold rats for your first level character holds trolls at a higher level. It sounds nice, but it creates new problems as well. First, the thrill of exploration drops off a bit; I know the monsters I meet and treasure I gather will all be set to my level, there's no danger in encountering something far too tough for me to defeat with a simple thumping, and there's no thrill of finding a great artifact far outside the power of my character. Second, the non-player characters generally aren't leveled. A number of missions grant you help from additional soldiers and such. If you're too high a level, the monsters you encounter will toss those soldiers around like confetti; leaving you all alone to deal with a horde of monsters (at least you can loot the soldiers corpses for extra gold). Curiously, the best counter to this is to design a character that does NOT go up levels. By basing your character around little used or unnecessary skills, you can get a character that goes up levels at a slow enough pace that you can see all the game has to offer; go up levels too quickly, and you'll miss many monsters that simply won't appear for high level characters.

    So like I told you at the beginning, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! (The only reason I gave it a 2 was because of the lovely graphics!)
    Expand
  21. FrankM.
    May 5, 2006
    2
    This game is absolutely atrocious, i can't believe the way people r raving about it. it has nice graphix but ist incredible boring to travel around in the games world bashing wolfs and crabs, the combat system is a disaster to say the least.
  22. TiaV
    Jan 7, 2010
    3
    Every character seems to have a similar voicesimilar face. I've seen peasants that only distinguish themselves from the king by wearing crappy clothes. Face and voice variation is VERY limited. Gameplay is dull and repetitive. To top it all off, most of the characters are HIDEOUSLY UGLY. I mean, seriously, I know that the aim of the developers wasn't to be realistic, but did Every character seems to have a similar voicesimilar face. I've seen peasants that only distinguish themselves from the king by wearing crappy clothes. Face and voice variation is VERY limited. Gameplay is dull and repetitive. To top it all off, most of the characters are HIDEOUSLY UGLY. I mean, seriously, I know that the aim of the developers wasn't to be realistic, but did they really have to make everything so damn horrendous?! Some quests are somewhat unique and interesting, but that doesn't compensate for the lack of variation and the faces that make you appreciate realism more than fantasy. Expand
  23. DonS.
    Mar 23, 2006
    2
    What a disappointment - The so called "Radiant AI' does not exist. NPCs talk the same rumors over and over again, get stuck at each other and - The graphics are awesome... in a radius of 10 meters around the character. Texture lodding creates huge, ugly blobs on the ground in the distance. - Loading hitches every few meters. - Grass growing only in a 15 ft radius around the What a disappointment - The so called "Radiant AI' does not exist. NPCs talk the same rumors over and over again, get stuck at each other and - The graphics are awesome... in a radius of 10 meters around the character. Texture lodding creates huge, ugly blobs on the ground in the distance. - Loading hitches every few meters. - Grass growing only in a 15 ft radius around the character! - Cities are empty. No more than 5 NPCs in most places, half of which are guards and have the same voice and text - The translation (german version) is horrendous. The worst I have ever experienced in a game. A scroll of healing is listed as "Schr. d. schw. H." on the GUI. WTF?. The game also tells you outright wrong numbers when you try to buy a house - The game is totally unbalanced. My level 1 character can kill everyone by just getting them follow him and constantly casting spells. - The UI sucks. - Load times are horrendous. - The horses in the game are weak and die easily. That is very convenient, since Bethesda just announced that you will be able to buy horse armor from the XBL marketplace... great idea ... NOT! All in all this is a major disappointment. The game feels half finished and I can not recommend it to anyone. Maybe waiting for the platinum edition or maybe a patch through XBL. Expand
  24. AlexL.
    Mar 25, 2006
    3
    Nothing at all like it was hyped up to be. Graphics are decent, but not even close to the promo shots - scenery loads VERY frequently giving walking anywhere a very jumpy feel, and pop-up style terrain hides everything but your immediate vicinity. Hand-to-hand combat is lackluster and clunky, spells are not very visually interesting, my character (which remains level 1 no matter what I do Nothing at all like it was hyped up to be. Graphics are decent, but not even close to the promo shots - scenery loads VERY frequently giving walking anywhere a very jumpy feel, and pop-up style terrain hides everything but your immediate vicinity. Hand-to-hand combat is lackluster and clunky, spells are not very visually interesting, my character (which remains level 1 no matter what I do to raise my stats) has never failed to kill anything I've run across with minimal, if any, difficulty. Very little sense of achievement for doing anything, menu interface is clunky. My female character has a male voice, and I've heard other players with male characters have female voices. Overall not very challenging with a rather nondescript storyline, fails to be gripping on pretty much any level. Certainly not worth $60. Expand
  25. TimmyB.
    Dec 9, 2006
    4
    This game is really repetative with a uninteresting storyline the most frustrating save system ever, for people who don't save it every two seconds, spells are all the same, linear and limited weapon and armour choice.
  26. TuomasKoskela
    May 6, 2007
    0
    I have to gave it zero,because how bad this Xbox360 version is compared to it's far superior big brother PS3.XO version has lots of sloppy slowdown and framerate issues.Bottom line:Get this on PS3, and get ready for best version of Oblivion.
  27. WoWPlayer
    Jun 24, 2007
    0
    If you have ever played a good RPG, you will be disappointed. Very disappointed. The game is probably worth a 2, I gave it a 0 to try and curb the obvious Overhype. 1) Leveling is a bad thing - You actually can lvl up in a corner, by yourself, just casting light (flashlight), which you will do, ALOT, because the game is constantly in the dark. When you lvl, the enemies lvl, automatically. If you have ever played a good RPG, you will be disappointed. Very disappointed. The game is probably worth a 2, I gave it a 0 to try and curb the obvious Overhype. 1) Leveling is a bad thing - You actually can lvl up in a corner, by yourself, just casting light (flashlight), which you will do, ALOT, because the game is constantly in the dark. When you lvl, the enemies lvl, automatically. You're better off staying at a lower lvl, which you get to by Powerlvling - by yourself - in the corner. 2) The graphics are gorgeous. Wait - why is that bad - because you rarely get to enjoy them. 1/2 time its dark, 1/4 it's dusk or tinted by something into a red or blue color, 1/4 you are in the corner powerlvling on a summon. 3) This should be on a PC. You have many abilities and can even create your own. But 4 little buttons (directional pad) means you are constantly pausing to change your spells and always pressing the wrong thing. My opinion, the quests, etc are buggy and uninteresting. Gonna sell mine back to EB cause I havent played for 6 mths or more. Expand
  28. TomW.
    Mar 21, 2006
    3
    The game offended me and I got scared but I enjoyed it. thank you
  29. Daz
    Apr 24, 2006
    4
    I'm going to get lots of stick for writing this review!!
    Played the game for 4 hours then sold it on ebay. I'm not a rpg type of gamer but i did see loads of positive reviews so i thought i'd give it a go. Combat was especially dull and after 4 hours i got bored and turned back to burnout and battlefront and i haven't regretted it. If you like this kind of game then
    I'm going to get lots of stick for writing this review!!
    Played the game for 4 hours then sold it on ebay. I'm not a rpg type of gamer but i did see loads of positive reviews so i thought i'd give it a go. Combat was especially dull and after 4 hours i got bored and turned back to burnout and battlefront and i haven't regretted it. If you like this kind of game then fine, you'll think it's brill. If you're not sure i recommend you rent first.. Not for me
    Expand
  30. FishboundComments
    Nov 26, 2008
    0
    With mainstream developers continuing to use persuasive techniques, in order to make their games popular, the gaming industry is oh so bleak, bethesda is just another developer like this, and oblivion is just another game that got popular this way.
  31. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    The game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in theThe game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in the quality of the voice-overs which is poor at best, as well as the amount of actors that are involved in the process. There's about 12 of them. For like 120 characters. Seriously. The amount of quests is severely limited - at least cut in half (optimistically...). Another extremely annoying feature of this game is the fact that enemies level up with the player character which not only makes you feel like you're not leveling at all but on the higher levels you get weaker and weaker compared to enemies... But I could forgive all that if the exploration was more rewarding. And let me tell you - it is almost not rewarding at all. You wander into a a dungeon with enemies and loot generated to match your level, then to another which looks completely the same, then another... almost same dungeon? Yes. For real. Sadly. This means not only extreme boredom and no point at all to exploring dungeons. It means you will never encounter unique items and powerful artifacts in dungeons you explore - like it was in Morrowind. The only things that are actually improved since Morrowind are the combat system - which makes you feel like you're actually fighting and not just swinging a sword like a puppet - and special bonuses that you gain leveling the skills. Every 25 points up to 100 in a skill gives you a special ability your character can perform. Example: 100 in acrobatics means you will be able to jump on the water, 100 in swords will give you a special move etc. These things are nice but do not make up for all the setbacks mentioned, The plot. Well. The plot is just the most horrible abomination I have ever seen in a would-be RPG game - why would-be? because in RPG you actually have some choices which influence the world in some way, here your only choices are whether to complete a quest or when to do it, which are not choices at all. Anyway, the plot is linear as hell, you have no control over the outcome of the game. You are not even the main character of the game - you only help him while he takes all the credit for all that tedious dungeoncrawling! The factions are present as before - you do quests and make your way up in the chain of command. But these are pretty boring too. The only one I really enjoyed somehow was the Dark Brotherhood and, the Thieves Guild (but not as much). Overall - if you have too much time to waste you may as well take this game up, but it is nothing special. The bigger DLCs like Mehrunes Razor and Shivering Isles can improve the game's situation but I am rating the base game now so... It doesn't stand anywhere near Morrowind in terms of fun, content or the story line. Why would Bethesda simplify their game so much? I don't know. Nor I want to know. Collapse
  32. PatrikM
    Sep 1, 2008
    4
    1. Character models and animations are uninspired and stale. 2. I killed an innocent bystander, then teleported to a different city. The police there instantly recognised me. This happened at night, to boot. I didn't know they had telephones and night vision goggles in the middle ages. 3. The game felt repetitive and.. well, boring. I didn't feel compelled to continute playing.
  33. Nov 5, 2010
    6
    The graphics are great and the voice acting is great. The music is ok, but forgettable. The story is ok, but very generic. But where the game fails is gameplay. The leveling system is broken, and the gameplay is boring, so very boring.
  34. AlexB.
    May 5, 2008
    3
    This is a very very very very bad game. The world isn't "living" it's just there... the game could have been better, but the not breathing world ruins it all... no working people, no hunting monsters and no real... twist.
  35. po0<livegamertag
    Apr 7, 2006
    9
    Not without its minor flaws but as said before by others the flaws dont impact the gameplay at all. Its totally addictive and i havent been able to not play it for a single day since release day. The game leaves you with a sense of achievement and to most gamers thats important (whats the point in investing your time if you get nothing back) and i have to say becoming guild master of theNot without its minor flaws but as said before by others the flaws dont impact the gameplay at all. Its totally addictive and i havent been able to not play it for a single day since release day. The game leaves you with a sense of achievement and to most gamers thats important (whats the point in investing your time if you get nothing back) and i have to say becoming guild master of the dark brotherhood has been the most rewarding moment so far, but even the minor quests leave you patting your own back. If you werent a Morrowind fan dont be put off (i couldnt get into Morrowind either) its easy to get into the hardest part is putting it down. Even if you get it for the pure fact it will last you more than the standard 5 - 8 hours that most games last its worth it. My one gripe is the lack of things to spend money on other than a house (i have 3 already) there is nothing worth purchasing as much better items can be found on quests or exploring?? Expand
  36. AB
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Greatest single player game of al time. A few small glitches, but nothing major
  37. CarlJ.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Wow! Nougaty and smooth visuals, powerful greaves and gauntlets, horses you can ride! Do yourself a favor and detach yourselves from the the things to which you are attached. Enormous rats and goblins! Lovely.
  38. KevinS.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Tired of cookie-cutter FedEx quests? Tired of braindead, linear roleplaying? Pick up this game for either the PC or the Xbox 360 (I've played both) and you will not be disappointed. Forget the graphics elitists - no other game has a draw distance this far and a free-roaming world this big (16 sq. miles). If you only play games for the graphics, go pick up Far Cry or Half-Life 2. But Tired of cookie-cutter FedEx quests? Tired of braindead, linear roleplaying? Pick up this game for either the PC or the Xbox 360 (I've played both) and you will not be disappointed. Forget the graphics elitists - no other game has a draw distance this far and a free-roaming world this big (16 sq. miles). If you only play games for the graphics, go pick up Far Cry or Half-Life 2. But if you want a virtual sandbox that allows you to do everything you can imagine and more - a world that allows you to create your own storyline - a world rich with lore, personality, and a sense of epic adventure...Oblivion is the game for you. I had my doubts upon first playing. I'd seen the E3 videos and noticed how some aspects had been trimmed in order to make the game playable on today's machines. One long 10-hour play session later and none of that matters. My Assassin is gaining reknown in Cyrodill as a dangerous thief. Woe to he who dares cross my path! Expand
  39. JonS.
    Mar 30, 2006
    8
    Dont get me wrong, I love this game, but it really should have been released as the last great game on the Xbox rather than a full 360 release. It just doesnt give me that next gen feeling! In itself though, its still a great game just on the wrong console.
  40. DarinB.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    If you like RPGs, stop reading now! Go get Oblivion. Fantastic visuals, engrossing gameplay, open-ended play all adds up to some addictive gaming that makes you wonder where all of your time went.
  41. Decompiler
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    I've sunk over 5 hours into this thing since it came out less than two weeks ago, but i've barely scratched the surface. massive seems like an understatement...
  42. DavidF
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    Finally a game that is worth buying on the 360.
  43. CiaranG.
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    I've never liked RPG games (because they all involve magic spells, witchcraft, dragons and awful cr*p like that) but Oblivion is one RPG I like! Oblivion is outstanding! The graphics are fantastic. On my first time playing it, I played it for 3 hours. After creating a character and watching the intro screens the game started. Basically, you start off in a prison cell where you have I've never liked RPG games (because they all involve magic spells, witchcraft, dragons and awful cr*p like that) but Oblivion is one RPG I like! Oblivion is outstanding! The graphics are fantastic. On my first time playing it, I played it for 3 hours. After creating a character and watching the intro screens the game started. Basically, you start off in a prison cell where you have to escape. This is part of the tutorial (although you wouldn't know it). The game is easy enough to navigate, the controls are easy enough but there is a lot of inventory screens etc. My character made his way through the sewers and then I managed to get out. It was night. You can see the stars in the sky, the moon and then all around you can see for miles. The best bit is that you can go to any of the places you see. The world is beautiful. There are load times but they don't really afftect gameplay. There also seems to be an unlimited amount of things to do. I had the choice to do whatever I wanted. You can buy things like horses and houses, you can walk into homes and steal people's possessions, grab some food or take a kip in their beds when they're not there. I can't imagine how long was spent making the game. You can just walk around in the countryside, over the hills and streams and meet other people. Animals spend their time all around the place. Also, random things happen like for example whilst exploring a fort in the middle of a forest, a highwayman runs in and asks for my money. I agreed to his demand but he decided he wanted to kill me anyway.. then you can either make a quick escape or stop and fight. The animals and NPC's all have ragdoll physics when they die. The combat system is good. etc. Expand
  44. MichaelF.
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    its like a updated version of runescape.
  45. GeoffreyMaxwell
    Apr 3, 2006
    9
    A Flawed Masterpiece. Hence 9 and not 10. The way in which this game manages to combine sheer brilliance with down right glitchyness reminds me of Knights of the Old Republic. But like KOTOR its just so good that it can be easily forgiven. To be more specific- sometimes the game pause for a few seconds to load, if this happens when you're being attacked by a wolf, it can get a bit A Flawed Masterpiece. Hence 9 and not 10. The way in which this game manages to combine sheer brilliance with down right glitchyness reminds me of Knights of the Old Republic. But like KOTOR its just so good that it can be easily forgiven. To be more specific- sometimes the game pause for a few seconds to load, if this happens when you're being attacked by a wolf, it can get a bit gittery, the sound can go for a few seconds. Sometimes it takes a while for my character to get off his horse when I tell him too but none of these things are too serious. Plus It has crashed twice with me in my 30 hours play so far. However this was not a problem because the game regularly autosaves so I lost very little. If you do buy it, I recommend saving regularly in a seperate file though. Anyway! enough about the negatives, this game is simply the most ambitious adventure game ever with a vast world, number of items, and levelling up system. Above all other things though this game is simply beautiful. The amount of time I have spent just enjoying the scenery. I can almost smell the flowers and feel the breeze blowing from my new HD TV. A must buy for any aventure gamer or rpg fan. Expand
  46. SeanR.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    The game is a blast to play, and the few problems it has, such as an inconsistent frame rate and frequent loading are overcome by the beauty of this game and how much work was put in to it. The best game on the 360, and the most enjoyable game in years.
  47. H3J4
    May 6, 2007
    7
    The thing about this game is, you have to be totally into RPG type games and you need to be happy with the face value the game has. I like to play a game thoroughly. I enjoy beating what the game has to offer and exploring every bit of land on here. BUT. The land is often very bland meters outside of the character. Repeating many people, I know I will be. But how many times will it take The thing about this game is, you have to be totally into RPG type games and you need to be happy with the face value the game has. I like to play a game thoroughly. I enjoy beating what the game has to offer and exploring every bit of land on here. BUT. The land is often very bland meters outside of the character. Repeating many people, I know I will be. But how many times will it take to get Bethesda to look at these things for the next game they put out? I got may character to a level thirty-one and the game craps out about two minutes after I load the game. I tried buying a new disc because maybe I played it out. WRONG. I can't even finishe looking for all the icons on the map or finishing random freeform quests before it stops reading the disc. The graphics are certainly better than most games, but I've seen quite a few glitches and jumpy loading areas. If you can fix this, I'd like to see it on XBL as a patch for the glitches that you seemed to have not seen other than the first patch that automatically gets put on your game when purchasing expansions on the game. Another conflict is, when purchasing all the packs, vile layer conflicts with knights of the Nine for me and people I know have also found that to be a problem. I ended up having to delete one of them before the other would work. It was quite a shame and a waste of money for something I can't even use. And with the leveled thing, ya know, how other characters level with you and the armor and such... How does a penniless bandit who steals to live come across glass, elven, daedric and mithril armor. Don't let me forget the random orcish pieces. Have they gone into Oblivion before me? Highly unlikely unless they were to run in have someone chase them out kill them (also highly unlikely) and steal their armor? Think it over guys. Keep going Bethesda, the gameplay only gets better as more games come out! And I'm sure I'd like to see more of these games. Just.. Don't get lazy on the details. It's a hard job but come on. You get payed for it. I've only covered some of the problems, but, I'd still buy the next game to come out. Expand
  48. BobE.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    awsome, is about the only word that sums up this game it is massive. i know other people who have been playing for 6 months and still havent completed it yet.
  49. ChrisG.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    This game, I think, is the best 360 game ever made for the console. This game has everything you want for an RPG.
  50. AbdulM.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome. Everything you'd want from an rpg. Brilliant.
  51. AndrewBedgood
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Oblivion is the kind of game where you can lose many hours and your social life, but you won't care when doing so. There are so many things to do and places to explore that even nearly 3 years after it's release you won't be at a loss of new discoveries.
  52. Amaru
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    One of those game's you not only never forget, but one you can actually come back to over and over. collectivly, over 4 play through's, I've spent about 350 hours on this game and I still find new things. How many games can you say that about? Missions come out of nowhere that always take you by suprise, there's a hundred things to do in a hundred different ways, and One of those game's you not only never forget, but one you can actually come back to over and over. collectivly, over 4 play through's, I've spent about 350 hours on this game and I still find new things. How many games can you say that about? Missions come out of nowhere that always take you by suprise, there's a hundred things to do in a hundred different ways, and to top it off it has incredible music too. Bad points? Glitchy graphic at times, invisible walls, about 5 voice actors for about 500 characters...and...well, that's all I can think of. If you like adventure games, and you like games that have real substance and depth, then this is the game for you. Expand
  53. DeanS.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fabulous game. Stunning graphics, addictive gameplay, much improved combat system over Morrowind. Although Gamerfeed gave it only a 90, they were right when they said that this game alone is worth the purchase price of the Xbox 360.
  54. TedB.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    beautiful just beautiful a must have and proof that RPG's on 360 are going to be a most wonderful thing this time around. pure eye candy.
  55. PlixikWhommings
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    This is the best game ive played in a long time. its addicting as hell and worth a lot more than your $60
  56. LyleB.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Incredible. 12 hours into the game and I can't put it down. Morrowind was fun and this improves and expands on that game by leaps and bounds. THE GOOD: visuals and technical "wow" factor (for the sake of immersion) - storyline that makes you care - combat - scope/size (never feel lost though) - moral choices - adventure elements - horses - great voice acting - it's fun (a lot of Incredible. 12 hours into the game and I can't put it down. Morrowind was fun and this improves and expands on that game by leaps and bounds. THE GOOD: visuals and technical "wow" factor (for the sake of immersion) - storyline that makes you care - combat - scope/size (never feel lost though) - moral choices - adventure elements - horses - great voice acting - it's fun (a lot of games forget about this) THE BAD: Some framerate hiccups (usually on horseback in the wilderness) and jumping off the horse to fight is awkward. THE VERDICT: it's heading up my best game ever list. Expand
  57. JackH.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    Just WOW! Buy this game today!
  58. Catraven
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    Sheer beauty- I was awestruck! This game was definitely worth the wait. I would recommend this beauty to anyone who is an RPG fan! The music is incredible, the graphics are exquisite and the interface is a vast improvement over Morrowind.
  59. TimZ.
    Mar 23, 2006
    7
    I am getting bored after 2 hors of playing. It is nothing that has not been overplayed on the PC and it plays kinda clunky. No challenge and no strategy needed.
  60. JohnnyA.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    If I could rate higher I would. I was very new to this series and optimistic to all the hype about this game. But oh my gosh this game is insane!!! I played it for 6 hours straight and it felt like 10 minutes passed. I will not lie it starts off slow like one person said but after you hit the wilderness, look out. This game went beyond all my expectations. I am floored by how deep and how If I could rate higher I would. I was very new to this series and optimistic to all the hype about this game. But oh my gosh this game is insane!!! I played it for 6 hours straight and it felt like 10 minutes passed. I will not lie it starts off slow like one person said but after you hit the wilderness, look out. This game went beyond all my expectations. I am floored by how deep and how much this game has to offer. This game is a must have and if you dont have it, Buy it! This game is almost overwhelming in a good way with all the possiblilities. I kind of trailed off and started deer hunting for a while but made my way back to the trail. This game is Freakin amazing. I was never in to RPG but after this I cant put it down. What a sweet game!! Expand
  61. MikeB.
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    A very well rounded game, with an extremely open ended quest system as well as numerous locations for said quests. Somewhat limited selection of items.
  62. Aaron
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Don't Rent this game, You will have hundreds of dollars of overdue fines
  63. MiguelG.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    This can't be described in words. Developer should win a Nobel.
  64. JianyM.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Best ever, IGN this deserves more than 9.3
  65. KidSix
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    Ignore the haters. If you like RPG's and actually want to take the time to put some thought and effort into the games you play, Oblivion is a great game. Haters just don't like it because they only focus on the negatives. Granted, there are a few, but not enough to take away from the overall game experience. I only gave it a nine because I don't think there has ever been a Ignore the haters. If you like RPG's and actually want to take the time to put some thought and effort into the games you play, Oblivion is a great game. Haters just don't like it because they only focus on the negatives. Granted, there are a few, but not enough to take away from the overall game experience. I only gave it a nine because I don't think there has ever been a perfect game and I can't give it a 9.7. Expand
  66. JordanM.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Amazing. Truly an RPG masterpiece. This game offers such an amazing escape from the reoccuring quests in other rpgs. Amazing storytelling, and voiceovers give every character in the game such a great depth. Hours and hours will be spent on this game in years to come. You can either play it the linear way (which i dont know how it is possible) and go from mission to mission and ignore the Amazing. Truly an RPG masterpiece. This game offers such an amazing escape from the reoccuring quests in other rpgs. Amazing storytelling, and voiceovers give every character in the game such a great depth. Hours and hours will be spent on this game in years to come. You can either play it the linear way (which i dont know how it is possible) and go from mission to mission and ignore the HUMONGOUS expansive environment that is just waiting for you, which will take you around 20+ hours. Or, you can explore everything and see what just how much content there is that never gets boring that offers over 200+ hours of gameplay. And dont worry, you can always use instant travel, which enables you to get everywhere quickly with no boring travels. Or if youd like, you can travel it on foot or by horse or whatever :D. Greatness, and so many ways to play it in so many different ways depending on your character type. Ill be enjoying this for years to come! Expand
  67. GeoffH.
    Mar 28, 2006
    9
    I can only assume those with popup are playing on a 360 - On a good PC with the draw distance turned up, you can see for chuffing MILES. Those moaning about load times Are you playing on a 360 ? ON a good PC they are virtually non existant. Conclusion. Oblivion = fantastic XBOX360 = Already supersceded by top of the range PC (and games cost 40% for a "worse" experience and no free add ons I can only assume those with popup are playing on a 360 - On a good PC with the draw distance turned up, you can see for chuffing MILES. Those moaning about load times Are you playing on a 360 ? ON a good PC they are virtually non existant. Conclusion. Oblivion = fantastic XBOX360 = Already supersceded by top of the range PC (and games cost 40% for a "worse" experience and no free add ons from the community). Expand
  68. LaurensM.
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    This is like it's previous another splendid work from Bethesda. Unbelievable how they improve theirselves once again. You can't give it lower than a 9, yes, it has a few bugs, but they are no so disturbing you can't play any further. My eyes hurt from playing this game. No words can explain this.
  69. monkey.butter
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    FANTASTIC! This game is the best I have ever played! Sure, there are annoyances like the hurendous load times that seem to pop up everywhere but these can be soothed (not totaly fixed though) by emptying the 360's cache (hold "a" when starting machine). Another problem that is easily be fixed is the SOUTHPAW controls. Just edit the controler settings in the xbox dashboard-it'sFANTASTIC! This game is the best I have ever played! Sure, there are annoyances like the hurendous load times that seem to pop up everywhere but these can be soothed (not totaly fixed though) by emptying the 360's cache (hold "a" when starting machine). Another problem that is easily be fixed is the SOUTHPAW controls. Just edit the controler settings in the xbox dashboard-it's that easy! The last fix I can offer is the sound glitch. Sound seems to cut out every few seconds on cut scenes. Again, change the settings on the xbox itself will fix this. Change the hz from standard 50 to 60 and all will become clear!
    Now I'm not a huge RPG fan but this game changed all that! I'm completely addicted to it and can't stop playing!
    BONUS: a superb gaming experience that any gamer (RPG buff or not) cannot afford to miss
    DOWNSIDES: The continueous lagging that sometimes happens will the 360 tries to load all the immense data. Thankfully (as stated earlier) this can be helped.
    Expand
  70. PaulM.
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    I'm into games, but I'm skittish - I'll play for an hour then move on. But once in a while a game like this happens, and you just want to sue the creators for ruining your life. It's not just the time you'll spend on it - it's the fact that it makes the real world seem utterly dull by comparison.
  71. KeithD.
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Just a top quaility game!
  72. ElectricMonk
    May 10, 2006
    10
    An absolute masterpiece! If there was ever a question regarding whether or not video games have a place in the world of art (i.e. motion pictures, music albums, books, paintings, etc.), "Oblivion" should--in every possible way--dismiss the negativists and clear the field of cynics and critics. This is not only art, it is fine art, as well as one heck of an RPG, one whose character An absolute masterpiece! If there was ever a question regarding whether or not video games have a place in the world of art (i.e. motion pictures, music albums, books, paintings, etc.), "Oblivion" should--in every possible way--dismiss the negativists and clear the field of cynics and critics. This is not only art, it is fine art, as well as one heck of an RPG, one whose character development alone will immerse your mind in creative juices for hours and hours. Expand
  73. UwePoll
    May 2, 2006
    7
    A flawed game that can't live up to its own ambitions. Simply put, when you try to make a believable game world like this, the inconsistencies tend to stick out and become very obvious. Still very compelling, but certainly not the masterpiece it's made out to be.
  74. DavidS.
    May 8, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome game... putting loadtimes aside... the fact that the game wont end thanks to expansions over the xbox marketplace is the best idea... at first its a lil confusing but youll get the hang of it.
  75. KyleM.
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    graphics;amazing, storyline;amazing, everything; amzaing. enough said!
  76. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    It's as fast or as mellow as you want it to be.. Watch the sun set over the water while listening to the birds chirping, or delve into a nasty cave to beat-down some nasties and get some loot in the process... The sheer scale of the world, and the hours that could be spent playing this one is amazing.
  77. ColinP.
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    This game built on all the things that Elder Scrolls 3 lacks. Graphics, Gameplay, they simplified traveling, added a compass with a director pointing you toward your next stop in your quest. Overall an EXCELLENT game! I recommend it to anyone and everyone, rookies and vets to RPGs alike!
  78. DanielP.
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    This game is great. It has a good and unique leveling system, tons of stuff to do, and hundreds of hours of main quest and side quest.
  79. Kirana
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    it's a fantastic game! i could literally make any character - the face adjustment software is great. and it allows you to customise your class, and so do anything you want! i'll definitely still have this game for a long, long time. replayability is magnificent, and definitely incredible value for money. excellent for RPG gamers, maybe not so much for gamers that prefer a it's a fantastic game! i could literally make any character - the face adjustment software is great. and it allows you to customise your class, and so do anything you want! i'll definitely still have this game for a long, long time. replayability is magnificent, and definitely incredible value for money. excellent for RPG gamers, maybe not so much for gamers that prefer a linear, to-the-point structure, but hey, they already have so many other games! Expand
  80. DarrenForster
    Jun 22, 2007
    10
    An excellent game, the game is so huge, unlike some games there is no going over and over the same thing to try and get further on in the game. It keeps going with new challenges all the time and constantly finding new places to explore, you just can't wait to find out what task you'll be given next or what new suprise you'll find out next.
  81. Matt
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    Oblivion isn
  82. ChrisC.
    Aug 9, 2007
    8
    The good: It's obviously so expansive, and they obviously put a lot of hard work into making it a really diverse experience. The bad: If you're not used to playing western-style RPGs it's a lot less accessible. The game just sort of throws you in the world, assuming you are used to the way these sorts of games play. The good but other people have called bad: The way it The good: It's obviously so expansive, and they obviously put a lot of hard work into making it a really diverse experience. The bad: If you're not used to playing western-style RPGs it's a lot less accessible. The game just sort of throws you in the world, assuming you are used to the way these sorts of games play. The good but other people have called bad: The way it penalizes you for powerleveling. Powerleveling is lame. It's boring and it rewards you for just wasting a lot of time doing easy stuff over and over instead of successfully doing anything hard. Games *ought* to penalize you for just walking around doing rote tasks over and over. It's about time. Expand
  83. JoeM.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    A good game, what stops it from getting a ten is its occasional performance issues, which I dont understand, given the power of the 360.
  84. I.L.
    Sep 4, 2007
    10
    One of thte true masterpiecs of the last 5 years. Considering the size of the game, the few problems are instantly forgivable.
  85. JoE
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    OMG! This game has consumed up easy 500 hours of my life ( I kid you not, I've counted ) So much to do and you can almost always find a quest to do. yes a game with this much in it is bound to have its glitches. I found one the other day where you can walk on air! but still the small flaws in the game match nothing up to its... Everything... OMG!
  86. ChristianC.
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    This game is the best RPG I've played in my life. Oblivion has incredible graphics, sounds and music. Absorving stories and almost an infinite world. You play the way you want, the game follows your pace and it's never linear. I've got 300 hours playing this game and still have things to do! (and still enjoying it). If you don't like this game... that's because This game is the best RPG I've played in my life. Oblivion has incredible graphics, sounds and music. Absorving stories and almost an infinite world. You play the way you want, the game follows your pace and it's never linear. I've got 300 hours playing this game and still have things to do! (and still enjoying it). If you don't like this game... that's because you don't like RPGs, period. Expand
  87. maxs
    Oct 11, 2009
    9
    I love how Abram T. just kept on rambling about how the game sucks and how it is so horrible when in actuallity it ism one of the best games on the 360.. Wow, it is just so funny, wait here i will try. Oblivion the worst game ive ever played. It is horrible that I kept throwing up whenever i ran into a person when it poped up in the game and had to go to the emergency room because an I love how Abram T. just kept on rambling about how the game sucks and how it is so horrible when in actuallity it ism one of the best games on the 360.. Wow, it is just so funny, wait here i will try. Oblivion the worst game ive ever played. It is horrible that I kept throwing up whenever i ran into a person when it poped up in the game and had to go to the emergency room because an enemy kept chasing me to hell. I broke five of my controllers when I died, and the level system ended up making me start cutting myself and I went insane, killing my whole family, and now because of oblivion, i am in s mental institution! Expand
  88. ZackR
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played! Mainly because there is no way to do everything in the game with one charactor. But the game is also very complex. Unless you just go on the internet and everything before hand. Personally I did everything I could before even looking it up on the internet.
  89. MattM
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    Possibly the single greatest game i have ever played. having played many *Perfect* games before i have always found myself coming back to Oblivion. This game has reset my expectations for all other rpgs. sure there are a few bugs here and there but considering the size on oblivion i am suprised there arent more.A game as important to its genre as wow is to the MMO's or Total war is Possibly the single greatest game i have ever played. having played many *Perfect* games before i have always found myself coming back to Oblivion. This game has reset my expectations for all other rpgs. sure there are a few bugs here and there but considering the size on oblivion i am suprised there arent more.A game as important to its genre as wow is to the MMO's or Total war is to strategy. As close to perfect as i could ever hope: 100/100. Expand
  90. MattC
    Jul 22, 2009
    8
    Great game on it's design and scope. The story and interactivity with NPCs and items in the game are incredible. The character customization is also very well done. The biggest downfall of the game is the repetitve combat, and ridiculously long loading screens. Traveling around in a big city and long distances can take almost a minute in the load screen. I know that doesn't Great game on it's design and scope. The story and interactivity with NPCs and items in the game are incredible. The character customization is also very well done. The biggest downfall of the game is the repetitve combat, and ridiculously long loading screens. Traveling around in a big city and long distances can take almost a minute in the load screen. I know that doesn't sound like much, but after reading this, stare at a clock for 60 seconds and tell me that isn't a long time to wait on a regular basis. But what can you expect from such a huge game. It's definitely a must play. Expand
  91. AnthonyV.
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    One of the greatest games ever made - as long as you don't look too deeply into its flaws and just enjoy it at face value. Yeah, there's pop-in and occasional loading hiccups - they're not game breakers. What are game breakers are the various exploits that can be utilized, such as enchanting all of your clothing with a chameleon spell, allowing you to spend the rest of the One of the greatest games ever made - as long as you don't look too deeply into its flaws and just enjoy it at face value. Yeah, there's pop-in and occasional loading hiccups - they're not game breakers. What are game breakers are the various exploits that can be utilized, such as enchanting all of your clothing with a chameleon spell, allowing you to spend the rest of the game invisible to do whatever the heck you want with no repercussions (there goes all the challenge). The leveling system is also horribly flawed and uneven, a problem which can be remedied by a difficulty slider. Other than that, if you're willing to just explore the 300+ hours of material in this game and not focus on the nitpicky negative stuff and occasional (and unavoidable) glitches, this game is a blast. Expand
  92. FredB.
    Oct 16, 2006
    9
    This game is great, the graphics a perfect and the wide open world is amazing, but I can see where a person can get overwhelmed by how open it is. The game is great.
  93. NickP
    Mar 21, 2006
    7
    If you played Morrowind you know exactly what to expect. The visuals are incredible and the minor tweaks and improvements over Morrowind are notable although not so much so that Obilivion reinvents itself. It is nice to see that the game is challenging when the difficulty meter is maxed. I just wish something more was done with the combat and magic systems.
  94. Vusta
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    Very polished and solid game. Bethesda's extra time has been well spent. The open ended gameplay really lets you play the game how you want. Graphics are pretty awe inspiring (character art still isn't to good though) and the draw distance is amazing. CC is fantastic and allows for some varied looking characters. Some minor issues with graphical draw-in and pop-up, and some Very polished and solid game. Bethesda's extra time has been well spent. The open ended gameplay really lets you play the game how you want. Graphics are pretty awe inspiring (character art still isn't to good though) and the draw distance is amazing. CC is fantastic and allows for some varied looking characters. Some minor issues with graphical draw-in and pop-up, and some blurry mip'd textures, but in no way does it take anything away from this incredible experience. Expand
  95. JeffT.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    Amazing. Cast a fireball across two pillars and a statue.... blew me away. The new combat system rocks, too.
  96. JMac.
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    Not a single flaw.
  97. MarkA.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    WOW!!!, i cannot begin to describe this AMAZING game. Few flaws......gameplay- AMAZING!!!
  98. IanH.
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    Having played all the previous ones in the series, I can definetely says this is one is the best. Incredible draw distance, combat has been hugely improved also. Simply a must buy!
  99. Rol
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    Don S. gives it a 2. If Oblivion is 2 out of 10 then everything he says should be ignored. There are compromises with the graphics and AI but it is called a game, remember that Don S. Like morrowind then you'll love this, hate morrowind then in the long run you won't enjoy this. Easily the most ambitious and content filled game on the 360 and this for me gives it a 10. But theDon S. gives it a 2. If Oblivion is 2 out of 10 then everything he says should be ignored. There are compromises with the graphics and AI but it is called a game, remember that Don S. Like morrowind then you'll love this, hate morrowind then in the long run you won't enjoy this. Easily the most ambitious and content filled game on the 360 and this for me gives it a 10. But the good thing is the idiots who whinge about this game are in the minority and you can easily ignore their dumb preconceptions of what a game should be because they clearly don't know. Expand
  100. T.H.
    Mar 23, 2006
    10
    I've only played the game for about three hours, but can't wait to get back to it. The initial character creation was a little cumbersome. Too many ways to shift a cheek bone and not enough with adjusting body types, tatoos/markings, etc. Wasn't overly impressed with the initial dungeon/sewer escape scene either. But since it was designed to be a tutorial, I guess I can I've only played the game for about three hours, but can't wait to get back to it. The initial character creation was a little cumbersome. Too many ways to shift a cheek bone and not enough with adjusting body types, tatoos/markings, etc. Wasn't overly impressed with the initial dungeon/sewer escape scene either. But since it was designed to be a tutorial, I guess I can overlook that. Once I exited the sewer I was smacked right square in the face with an amazing environment to explore. The draw distance detail isn't that great - yada yada yada. But what do you expect for a world that big. The up-close detail is incredible. Elevations are also done quite well. As you climb upward on steep terrain, you do feel a sense of height. One of the truly breath taking views I came across was climbing up to the top of a snowcapped mountain by horseback and overlooking the entire kingdom as the sun was setting. It was truly amazing to watch the sun set behind the mountains and create that pink/purple-ish glow illuminating from behind the mountain range. Even the clouds reflected the colors of the sunset against the black star-filled sky as the final evidence of daylight disappeared for the night. That scene combined with the great soundtrack playing in the background created one of those truly epic moments you've always hoped could be achieved someday in gaming. If you've ever enjoyed playing RPGs, whether hard core or casual, you MUST get this game. Expand
  101. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    The game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in theThe game is a huge setback comparing to TeS III: Morrowind. Many of the skills from the previous game are gone - either gone for good or merged with the existing ones for some mysterious reason. The overall amount of writing is about 100 times smaller than in TeS III. Why? Because they wanted a complete voice-over but didn't quite like to spend money on it. This is reflected both in the quality of the voice-overs which is poor at best, as well as the amount of actors that are involved in the process. There's about 12 of them. For like 120 characters. Seriously. The amount of quests is severely limited - at least cut in half (optimistically...). Another extremely annoying feature of this game is the fact that enemies level up with the player character which not only makes you feel like you're not leveling at all but on the higher levels you get weaker and weaker compared to enemies... But I could forgive all that if the exploration was more rewarding. And let me tell you - it is almost not rewarding at all. You wander into a a dungeon with enemies and loot generated to match your level, then to another which looks completely the same, then another... almost same dungeon? Yes. For real. Sadly. This means not only extreme boredom and no point at all to exploring dungeons. It means you will never encounter unique items and powerful artifacts in dungeons you explore - like it was in Morrowind. The only things that are actually improved since Morrowind are the combat system - which makes you feel like you're actually fighting and not just swinging a sword like a puppet - and special bonuses that you gain leveling the skills. Every 25 points up to 100 in a skill gives you a special ability your character can perform. Example: 100 in acrobatics means you will be able to jump on the water, 100 in swords will give you a special move etc. These things are nice but do not make up for all the setbacks mentioned, The plot. Well. The plot is just the most horrible abomination I have ever seen in a would-be RPG game - why would-be? because in RPG you actually have some choices which influence the world in some way, here your only choices are whether to complete a quest or when to do it, which are not choices at all. Anyway, the plot is linear as hell, you have no control over the outcome of the game. You are not even the main character of the game - you only help him while he takes all the credit for all that tedious dungeoncrawling! The factions are present as before - you do quests and make your way up in the chain of command. But these are pretty boring too. The only one I really enjoyed somehow was the Dark Brotherhood and, the Thieves Guild (but not as much). Overall - if you have too much time to waste you may as well take this game up, but it is nothing special. The bigger DLCs like Mehrunes Razor and Shivering Isles can improve the game's situation but I am rating the base game now so... It doesn't stand anywhere near Morrowind in terms of fun, content or the story line. Why would Bethesda simplify their game so much? I don't know. Nor I want to know. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. A refreshing, immersive, massive, satisfying and hugely impressive game.
  2. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  3. Oblivion is so deep it is hard to escape its grasp. Few things keep it down, such as loading times, and a few problems with visuals and sound, but the gameplay, the most important piece is dead-on.