Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 977 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Oblivion is a single-player game that takes place in Tamriel's capital province, Cyrodiil. You are given the task of finding the hidden heir to a throne that sits empty, the previous emperor having been killed by an unknown assassin. With no true Emperor, the gates to Oblivion (the equivalent of hell in the world of Tamriel) open, and demons begin to invade Cyrodiil and attack its people and towns. It's up to you to find the lost heir to the throne and unravel the sinister plot that threatens to destroy all of Tamriel. In keeping with the Elder Scrolls tradition, players have the option to experience the main quest at their own pace, and there are plenty of opportunities to explore the vast world and make your own way. Numerous factions can be joined, such as the thieves or mages guilds, and each contains its own complete storyline and the chance to rise to the head of the faction and reap further rewards. Oblivion features a groundbreaking new AI system, called Radiant AI, which gives non-player characters (NPCs) the ability to make their own choices based on the world around them. They decide where to eat or who to talk to and what they say. They sleep, go to church, and even steal items, all based on their individual characteristics. Full facial animations and lip-synching, combined with full speech for all dialog, allows NPCs to come to life like never before. [Bethesda] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. 100
    Due to the diversity and individuality presented to the player in the game, it's not possible to adequately explain just how involving and rewarding the experience of Oblivion is, or put over the immense scope of the living, breathing world on offer. Bethesda richly deserves incredible success in producing something so captivating.
  2. 100
    For those used to linear, Japanese-style role-playing games, Oblivion will seem like a revelation. All the games in this series have been known for their sheer vastness and freedom of choice, but the Elder Scrolls IV takes that concept and runs with it.
  3. Oblivion not only raises the bar in the visual and audio modules but also in the gameplay and presentation department, making it easily one of the most recommendable titles to anyone who has ever enjoyed the thought of truly doing whatever they want in a video game, in a world where actions actually mean something.
  4. There is so much you can do on this game that will keep any player coming back for more even after you have completed the main quest.
  5. Keeping with the tradition of earlier Elder Scrolls games, there are quite literally miles of terrain to explore. Thankfully Oblivion has a built in teleport option which allows you to instantly travel to any area you’ve uncovered.
  6. It's heavily steeped in RPG tradition, however, its appeal stretches far beyond the hardcore RPG demographic thanks to its ease of play, boundless ambition and focused attention to detail. [May 2006, p.112]
  7. There are sections of the game where you hit invisible walls -- presumably to make way for more expansion packs, although at the time of writing the only expansion available for Xbox 360 owners is some rather expensive downloadable horse armor -- and some wacky bugs that'll sometimes see you floating on air when you dismount a horse.

See all 90 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 330
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Oblivion is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The attention to detail is amazing, I was speechless after I left the first dungeon and began to explore the world. Collapse
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game absorbed countless hours of my life. I put more time trying to complete everything that there was in this game. The scale of this ame is incredible, yet somehow it was never enough to fully keep me from wanting more. The amount of detail in each city, each guild and each person are impossible to overstate. For any little bug that someone could point to in this game, there are countless things that easily outweigh that in my mind. This game was what really made me follow the works of Bethesda. Their games always have a scope that is simply unparalleled in any other game out there.I HIGHLY recommend this game to all gamers out there. The main story is only the tip of the ice burg for this one. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    My favorite game of all time. The amount of options and possibilities in this game makes it so unique, apart from other RPG's. Skyrim is a very good game, but I have never enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed Oblivion. Just running around in the beautiful cities and landscapes, to explore all the amazing things in this game (while gaining levels, yeah). You never have a dull moment, at least I didn't, in Oblivion! PERIOD! Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    Oblivion is the second greatest RPG in history after fallout 3. What oblivion lacks is characters that you get to know or care for if they die. Mostly I sat back in the battles and saw my allies get slaughtered by monsters and found it funny. But that's what's good about it. Oblivion is fun and hilarious without realising. It's trying to be a serious rpg with a mythical setting but you've got smiling innkeepers you can slaughter and poor guards who get caught in spike traps in the oblivion gates. Sure it looks a bit bad graphically now but for a game that came out in 2006 the graphics are impressive. It has great voice actors such as Sean bean and Patrick stewart ( if you ignore the fact that about four people voice the other few hundred characters). But one thing that sets oblivion apart is how clever it is. The AI are very good. They have a disposition system so that if they dislike a character they attack! One time I was in a town and I met a nice man who was a blacksmith and we talked about rumors ( which I had been told before by others in town)
    Anyway we parted ways and I did a quest and it turned out he was a spy and he attacked me and some guards but was put down. The quest I had done had lowered his disposition as he was in the faction called the mythic Dawn who I did the quest against! Good innit!! This happens alot and they aren't scripted events meaning they aren't meant to happen they just do. Which is cool. Another time I denied a quest from a little wood elf who promptly went home, got an axe and went on a killing spree! Anyway enough about the AI . They game has hundreds of weapons and thousands of spells that you can learn or create. There's just so much to do. You could live in this game if you could! Get it. GET IT NOW.
    Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    Fantastic world to play in, very well done, you can see that the designers appreciate what they are making. Another game that steals hours of my time:) Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    A brilliant rpg with a massive amount to do. Looting is phenomenal, as is exploration and character customization. There are some flaws that people all too often point out, but overall the scale and freedom and fun of this game is absolutely amazing. I tried this game once, didn't like it, put it back. I watched some lets plays and decided to give it another try: best gaming decision I have ever made. This game opened me up to The Elder Scrolls, and after 220 hours and a satisfying playthrough (before the expansion), I can safely say this game is soul-suckingly addicting and absorbs your existence right out of your eyes. 9 / 10 Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    Undoubtedly, this game is the worst excuse for a piece of electronic data. I had the game for one a matter of hours before deciding to return it the next day. It is worse than all the other washed-up shooters, redundant role-playing-games, and stupid strategy games. It is so very bland, boring, redundant, purpose-defeating, sad, and foreboding in story. I will never buy such an atrocity and leave such a statement for others to view and heed. Expand

See all 330 User Reviews