User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 255 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 255

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2012
    3
    Why are vampires still hostile to me, when I'm part of a faction working to further the interests of my kind? Why does said faction share so many quests with its rival faction, the Dawnguard? Why is there never any kind of showdown with said faction? Why is this "expansion" sending me to dungeons I already cleared in the original game? Answer: Bethesda screwed up, and released a half-hearted, overpriced, wretched piece of DLC. I would be even more harsh if it wasn't for the fact that we've not had a decent vampire game of any sort since Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines. Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    4
    If you were expecting an Shivering Isles type expansion you're going to be disappointed, if you were hoping for a near bug free environment you should read the line that says it's made by Bethesda and if you were hoping to get your moneys worth you're really going to be disappointed. Don't get me wrong it would be fine as a 5-10$ DLC, but unless you some vampire Twilight Fanatic it can be passed over for 1600 Microsoft points. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2012
    4
    I had to un-install Dawnguard after a day due the bugs but much much more, the highly annoying random vampire attack system as they were decimating the population every 5 minutes with no let up what so ever! What started as a dynamic
  4. Aug 7, 2012
    0
    The main quest won't progress past the first quest, I can't even feed properly as a vampire. There seem to be no working fixes anywhere. i can barely walk through most doors as a towering floaty vampire. This is too broken to have even been released.
  5. Aug 26, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Predictable, bug-ridden fare. BUT IT IS SKYRIM, MUST BE GOOD
    -Reddit
    Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2012
    4
    This is an epic looking, well animated wasteland of boredom. In Skyrim, you can do or become everything, but the story is so thin and interaction is so poor, that I lost interest after about 10 hours. Whats the point running around in a world that does not keep you involved? Combat is fun, enemy types are, too. Enemy A.I. is poor, but sufficient. I enjoyed Fallout 3 / New Vegas and Fable II, but this one gets boring very fast. Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2012
    3
    The only reason im not giving this content a 1 is because i have yet to play it as dawnguard and have only played as a vampire so far. Fair enough Bethesda want fewer but longer content, im all game for that, but it felt it was dragged out a bit by making each portal very mazy. My biggest gripe with the content is not always being able to walk through a door, now it might sound petty but if you want to stay a vampire it can be infuriating, i had to change back to human and back to vampire to walk through and to walk up stairs. It only takes about 5 seconds to switch between the two, but it feels like forever. Rumours of the next expansion sound immense, so was this Bethesda just giving us something to stop our whinging? Big shames Expand
  8. Sep 23, 2012
    4
    This is a dissappointing addition to Elders Scrolls V: Skyrim. With some bugs, lack of content and repetetive dungeons and caves, I do not recommend this DLC.
  9. Jul 1, 2014
    4
    This DLC made me think of Bethesda's own "Horse Armor DLC" the whole time....

    The new characters are not memorable, the quests are just fetch quests, and nothing is here that we haven't seen beaten into the ground before.

    I bought this when it came out and paid the initial price of $20. I played it then and replayed just for this review so I was not reviewing something I played two
    years ago. This time I explored things more and disliked it even more than a first play through.

    Just... do NOT buy.
    Expand
  10. Jul 4, 2012
    0
    I had to un-install Dawnguard after a day due the bugs but much much more, the highly annoying random vampire attack system as they were decimating the population every 5 minutes with no let up what so ever! What started as a dynamic
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    95
    Dawnguard is much more substantial add-on than Hearthfire, adding on a full storyline centered on a war between the vampires and the Dawnguard.
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    85
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim – Dawnguard. Bethesda shows how a dlc should be done. Dawnguard's 20-euro price tag is quite steep, but the amount of quality content more than makes up for it. Also, playing as a vampire lord is a welcome distraction. [Sept 2012]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    50
    Predictable, bug-ridden fare. [Sept 2012, p.72]