Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dawnguard is the 1st official game add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. The Vampire Lord Harkon has returned to power. By using the Elder Scrolls, he seeks to do the unthinkable - to end the sun itself. Will you join the ancient order of the Dawnguard and attempt to stop him? Or will you become a Vampire Lord yourself? Featuring an all new faction questline and locations, the ultimate choice will be yours. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    95
    Dawnguard is much more substantial add-on than Hearthfire, adding on a full storyline centered on a war between the vampires and the Dawnguard.
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    85
    Bethesda went the extra mile to tweak existing quests in order to fully integrate the experience, and their effort shows. The constant treks across Skyrim do get a bit old after a while, but the wealth of new powers, information, and intrigue you'll find along the way more than makes up for the long walks.
  3. Aug 6, 2012
    85
    Dawnguard adds more of what made Skyrim great, without feeling like it was tacked on at the last minute.
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    73
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    Playing as a Vampire Lord is too buggy and clumsy to be fun for long. And that's a shame, because with more attention to the design of this form, Dawnguard could have been a better piece of software.
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    70
    The vampire powers are a nice game changer and the overall story is engaging. The game still suffers from the typical Elder Scrolls quirkiness, but that's not necessarily a bad thing depending on your point of view.
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    50
    "More" doesn't equal "satisfying" or "memorable." "Dawnguard" isn't the journey to a strange realm that made "Shivering Isles" and "Point Lookout." It's not a break from the norm, it's a staycation. You're still in your apartment, doing the same things you always did, and once it's over, you'll feel like it was all pretty much a waste of time.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 63
  2. Negative: 12 out of 63
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    First off, Fort Dawnguard looks breathtaking! You get a werewolf/vampire skill tree, crossbows and 10-20 hours of content. With many new games today releasing with only around 10-15 hours of total content, we get this awesome expansion for arguably the best game of all time and it only cost $20. While dawnguard is not as extensive as, say, Shivering Isles, it's a great deal and it's the first DLC I've ever stayed up all night for. Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    Woah woah woah. Whats with all the negative reviews. I found this DLC very enjoyable-much more content then some call of duty DLC. Even more so, this dlc got me back into skyrim. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    Lets be honest the frost giant an vampire lord modes are enough to add 30 more hours to skyrim. I did not like the expansion for awhile but some of the side quests like a new and fresh dwemer ruin(s), Dragon bone weapons and skooma smoking den turned my frown upside down. It is a bit better than Nights of Nine but come on Bethesda! do better, its still good though that's why I give it a hate out of ten lolz! Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    A good reason to play Skyrim again, quite entertaining but not enough to get me to play any more after the quest line was complete. A good add-on for any vampires or vampire slayers. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    For the most part, the only complaints I have are that the dang bloodsuckers eat critical characters if you aren't careful. Oi. Only install this if you are lvl 15 or higher, or you WILL have some issues with the enemies slaying folks you may need in-game. Otherwise, DL it and save it for later. It IS a fun DLC, making Werewolf play actually WORTH it, and Vampire play fun as well. It also hosts a serious hottie in your traveling companion, and a fun story, Vamps or Humies. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    6
    Overpriced, and fairly disappointing when I played it. Vampire attacks become so common it becomes just plain irritating. Good items had been added, but for what it is, just seemed a but of a waste of money. Lag and bugs were so common I had to get rid of the software. Collapse
  7. Aug 7, 2012
    0
    The main quest won't progress past the first quest, I can't even feed properly as a vampire. There seem to be no working fixes anywhere. i can barely walk through most doors as a towering floaty vampire. This is too broken to have even been released. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews