Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    88
    There's enough new stuff here, highlighted by the spectacular island of Solstheim itself, to make Dragonborn the best piece of add-on content for Skyrim yet.
  2. 64
    Sure, it comes with a ton of bugs, and some of those bugs are damn near game-breaking, but if you can give Bethesda yet another (probably undeserved) pass here, Dragonborn has a ton of content to enjoy.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    85
    Dragonborn delivers a great adventure that rarely apes content from the core game. The dungeon designs are inventive – especially the water temple – and flow nicely from quest to quest. Solstheim is a fun island to explore, offering a wealth of side content and locales to uncover. The dragon-riding and battle against Miraak in the final act are rough, but the story stays strong and is tied to one of of Skyrim's most enjoyable quest lines.
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    90
    With discoveries around every corner, Dragonborn just gave Skyrim fans the perfect excuse to lose themselves in the wild for another winter.
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    Bottom line, this DLC is well worth your time and money to check this out, especially if you're going though Skyrim withdrawal.
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    A marked return to form. [Feb 2013, p.85]
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    85
    A great example of what a DLC should be: it's deep and expands the features of the huge original experience. Actually, it's so good that we can't wait to see the next one.
  8. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    There is plenty of content for the money, and it's different enough to allow even those with over 100 hours in Skyrim to feel refreshed. It's easily the best piece of Skyrim expansion content yet, and well worthy of $20.
  9. 75
    Dragonborn gives players plenty more of what they loved about Skyrim, and is worth buying for that fact alone, but it could've and should've been so much more.
  10. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    The magic of exploratory freedom is rife here, and not even the weaknesses of the main plot manage to excessively taint what is top-quality DLC.
  11. Dec 7, 2012
    87
    With new environments, enemies, and weapons, Dragonborn really delivers an expansion pack worthy of the Skyrim legacy.
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    We expected dragon riding to be quite better, but Dragonborn remains a great expansion pack, rich in content and epic scope. Especially if you played Morrowind.
  13. Dec 26, 2012
    80
    Dragonborn is great for those who have exhausted as much as possible in Skyrim.
  14. Jan 2, 2013
    90
    Despite the DLC's sometimes repetitive experiences, occasional glitches, and underwhelming dragon mounts, Dragonborn is the first major expansion for the Elder Scrolls V, and is worth every penny you'll pay for it.
  15. Dec 8, 2012
    85
    There are also a heap of new items, armor pieces, and crafting options to collect, so those of you who pick up add-ons just to gear up and buff their character will still be pretty satisfied with Dragonborn.
  16. Dec 19, 2012
    69
    The "epic" quest felt like it was cut for time and the dragon riding was nowhere near what I wanted it to be. The questing here will surely be enjoyed by tons of players, but the missed opportunities made this my least favorite Skyrim expansion yet.
  17. Jan 2, 2013
    60
    It's a massive chunk of more of the same, basically. If that's what you're looking for you'll be more than satisfied, but lapsed players shouldn't expect anything intriguing enough to drag them back in.
  18. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    The best Skyrim expansion yet. [Jan 2013]
  19. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    Despite the fact that the Dragon flying aspect is a huge disappointment, Dragonborn still offers a lot of new, great content for Skyrim fans. New quests, new items and enemies will keep players coming back to the land of Solstheim for hours and hours.
  20. Dec 10, 2012
    75
    Whoever spent dozens, or even hundreds of hours playing Skyrim, and still wants more, Dragonborn offers a great solution. A new area offers about fifteen hours of great entertainment of the same high quality we're used to from the original game. A lack of new elements and a few disappointing moments do bring it down a notch.
  21. 80
    By far the best Skyrim expansion so far, and although the dragon-riding is disappointing, having a whole new world (or at least island) to explore is almost as good.
  22. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    Once again this is a quality piece of downloadable content for Skyrim which adds at least another ten to twenty hours worth of playtime. It would be nice to see some more interesting quest types than simple dungeon crawls through the same environments and more emphasis put upon Solstheim and its inhabitants. Dragonborn is worth the price if you just can't get enough from the Elder Scroll's universe.
  23. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    Dragonborn is the largest Skyrim DLC. The return to Morrowind is a fantastic journey where we will face a blood brother and the dragons are absolute protagonists of the action.
  24. 80
    The pack feels both more adventurous and more complete - a differently styled distillation of the things Skyrim does best which should last you well into Christmas.
  25. Dec 17, 2012
    80
    Dragonborn is recommended additional content for anyone who has lost himself for dozens of hours in the world of Skyrim. Besides, it offers a good value for the money asked.
  26. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Dragonborn is a lengthy and epic piece of adventure with everything that makes Skyrim so great included, despite being somewhat unpolished.
  27. Dec 19, 2012
    85
    A must for Skyrim fans.
  28. Feb 6, 2013
    85
    Bethesda’s games were never perfect but they made up for their flaws with a promise of a grand adventure. It’s not different this time – Dragonborn reminds us why we loved Skyrim. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.54]
  29. Dec 14, 2012
    80
    Dragonborn's most impressive achievement is the new and exciting island that offers plenty of new opportunities for adventure and stories to tell. Bethesda clearly focused on their strengths, and the result is their best Skyrim DLC so far.
  30. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Depending on how you play, Dragonborn is a 10 to 25 hours ride offering fresher and more compelling material than Skyrim itself came up with. That might be because it is slightly more dense and compressed. But it's more likely that it is down to a new found courage of its designers and their willingness to show you some new corners of this own cosmos and fill those with some interesting dungeons.
  31. Dec 20, 2012
    90
    There's something about Solstheim. The island was the peak of my Morrowind experience ten years ago and now Dragonborn introduces it as the high point of Skyrim. A must-buy for any fan of the series.
  32. 90
    Dragonborn left me with the same inclination that Skyrim's main game left me with after I had finished with the main questline, and that's that I just want to explore and milk as much content out of it as I can. After 10 hours, there's still stuff I want to see and places I want to go. If you felt letdown by Dawnguard or Hearthfire, then try not to let that put you off, because what Bethesda have created here is exactly what Skyrim fans would have been crying out for… and that's an experience that captures the brilliance of the main game but in a much more bitesize manner. We can't recommend this piece of DLC enough.
  33. 90
    This truly is a Skyrim expansion pack, and is a great purchase for any fan of the series who's hungry for a new adventure.
  34. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    Dragon taming doesn't feel very engaging, but because of the story's depth and the host of new items and abilities, Dragonborn is still a thoroughly charming experience.
  35. Dec 11, 2012
    75
    While "Dragonborn" is certainly a worthy addition to what I consider one of the best games of last year, the rewards don't justify a return trip for an adventurer who's already moved on.
  36. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Dragonborn is a terrific DLC - perhaps even a better one that Bloodmoon, that it tries to recall. The game now features lots of novelties that - in connection with interesting quests, a big island to explore and dungeons to loot - create an impressive main course. The full potential has not been reached (riding dragons can be uncomfortable and the ending is kind of weak) but when compared to many contemporary expansions, Dragonborn is an excellent DLC and a must have for the fans of the series.
  37. Dec 6, 2012
    80
    Dragonborn is a creepy descent into madness set in a mini Morrowind that isn't quite as epic as Dawnguard, but it compensates for that with a wealth of new items, shouts, and spells.
  38. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    While it's true that dragon riding promises so much and delivers so little, and antagonist Maarik is somewhat underdeveloped as a villain, 'Dragonborn' is exactly what Skyrim fans have been waiting for since exhausting the main campaign. Solstheim is a fantastic location, packed with interesting landmarks, challenging enemies and a wide variety of quests, and reigniting that initial sense of awe.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    1
    I cant believe the reviews Dragonborn has got. I mean could there be any lazier dlc for a game. Bloodmoon which added the Solstheim was theI cant believe the reviews Dragonborn has got. I mean could there be any lazier dlc for a game. Bloodmoon which added the Solstheim was the expansion for the Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind. Now the lazy developers of bethesda released allmost same expansion for Skyrim. Only that its buggy,boring and something we have allready seen. Also lets think this for a moment shall we, what we see in Skyrim is snow,ice,snow,ice and some more snow. So they release a dlc with more snow and ice. My recommedition is do not buy this dlc, use your money better. Buy the Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion for a good game, or if you want to see Solstheim buy Morrowind. Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Dragonborn is the best Skyrim DLC so far and it comes close to the standards Shivering Isles set, which is a massive task to beat. All whoDragonborn is the best Skyrim DLC so far and it comes close to the standards Shivering Isles set, which is a massive task to beat. All who played Morrowind will find solace in this content. It is like a breath of fresh air, the game has that feel of magic and adventure that the main story of Skyrim had. There is plenty to explore and do. There is a variety of side quests and a wealth of items and armours to acquire. I remember running through town when I suddenly heard the Morrowind theme kick in, I had to stand still and breathe it in for a few minutes. The price was worth it for that single moment of nostalgia alone. I ask you not to let Dawnguard alter your views on Dragonborn, this is a step in the right direction and you would be a fool to miss it. Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Just started playing this addition and I loved it. I hope Bethesda comes out with more of this! I had beat both Dawnguard and Hearthfire whenJust started playing this addition and I loved it. I hope Bethesda comes out with more of this! I had beat both Dawnguard and Hearthfire when I had heard of this release and I researched it immediately. It is a great DLC and I suggest that any Elder Scrolls fan gets this DLC. Full Review »