Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Dec 7, 2012
    87
    With new environments, enemies, and weapons, Dragonborn really delivers an expansion pack worthy of the Skyrim legacy.
  2. 90
    This truly is a Skyrim expansion pack, and is a great purchase for any fan of the series who's hungry for a new adventure.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    90
    With discoveries around every corner, Dragonborn just gave Skyrim fans the perfect excuse to lose themselves in the wild for another winter.
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Depending on how you play, Dragonborn is a 10 to 25 hours ride offering fresher and more compelling material than Skyrim itself came up with. That might be because it is slightly more dense and compressed. But it's more likely that it is down to a new found courage of its designers and their willingness to show you some new corners of this own cosmos and fill those with some interesting dungeons.
  5. Dec 20, 2012
    90
    There's something about Solstheim. The island was the peak of my Morrowind experience ten years ago and now Dragonborn introduces it as the high point of Skyrim. A must-buy for any fan of the series.
  6. Dec 13, 2012
    90
    Bottom line, this DLC is well worth your time and money to check this out, especially if you're going though Skyrim withdrawal.
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    A marked return to form. [Feb 2013, p.85]
  8. Jan 2, 2013
    90
    Despite the DLC's sometimes repetitive experiences, occasional glitches, and underwhelming dragon mounts, Dragonborn is the first major expansion for the Elder Scrolls V, and is worth every penny you'll pay for it.
  9. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Dragonborn is a terrific DLC - perhaps even a better one that Bloodmoon, that it tries to recall. The game now features lots of novelties that - in connection with interesting quests, a big island to explore and dungeons to loot - create an impressive main course. The full potential has not been reached (riding dragons can be uncomfortable and the ending is kind of weak) but when compared to many contemporary expansions, Dragonborn is an excellent DLC and a must have for the fans of the series.
  10. Dec 14, 2012
    88
    There's enough new stuff here, highlighted by the spectacular island of Solstheim itself, to make Dragonborn the best piece of add-on content for Skyrim yet.
  11. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    The best Skyrim expansion yet. [Jan 2013]
  12. 90
    Dragonborn left me with the same inclination that Skyrim's main game left me with after I had finished with the main questline, and that's that I just want to explore and milk as much content out of it as I can. After 10 hours, there's still stuff I want to see and places I want to go. If you felt letdown by Dawnguard or Hearthfire, then try not to let that put you off, because what Bethesda have created here is exactly what Skyrim fans would have been crying out for… and that's an experience that captures the brilliance of the main game but in a much more bitesize manner. We can't recommend this piece of DLC enough.
  13. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    There is plenty of content for the money, and it's different enough to allow even those with over 100 hours in Skyrim to feel refreshed. It's easily the best piece of Skyrim expansion content yet, and well worthy of $20.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    1
    I cant believe the reviews Dragonborn has got. I mean could there be any lazier dlc for a game. Bloodmoon which added the Solstheim was the expansion for the Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind. Now the lazy developers of bethesda released allmost same expansion for Skyrim. Only that its buggy,boring and something we have allready seen. Also lets think this for a moment shall we, what we see in Skyrim is snow,ice,snow,ice and some more snow. So they release a dlc with more snow and ice. My recommedition is do not buy this dlc, use your money better. Buy the Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion for a good game, or if you want to see Solstheim buy Morrowind. Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Dragonborn is the best Skyrim DLC so far and it comes close to the standards Shivering Isles set, which is a massive task to beat. All who played Morrowind will find solace in this content. It is like a breath of fresh air, the game has that feel of magic and adventure that the main story of Skyrim had. There is plenty to explore and do. There is a variety of side quests and a wealth of items and armours to acquire. I remember running through town when I suddenly heard the Morrowind theme kick in, I had to stand still and breathe it in for a few minutes. The price was worth it for that single moment of nostalgia alone. I ask you not to let Dawnguard alter your views on Dragonborn, this is a step in the right direction and you would be a fool to miss it. Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Just started playing this addition and I loved it. I hope Bethesda comes out with more of this! I had beat both Dawnguard and Hearthfire when I had heard of this release and I researched it immediately. It is a great DLC and I suggest that any Elder Scrolls fan gets this DLC. Full Review »