User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 165

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    1
    I cant believe the reviews Dragonborn has got. I mean could there be any lazier dlc for a game. Bloodmoon which added the Solstheim was the expansion for the Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind. Now the lazy developers of bethesda released allmost same expansion for Skyrim. Only that its buggy,boring and something we have allready seen. Also lets think this for a moment shall we, what we see in Skyrim is snow,ice,snow,ice and some more snow. So they release a dlc with more snow and ice. My recommedition is do not buy this dlc, use your money better. Buy the Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion for a good game, or if you want to see Solstheim buy Morrowind. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Just started playing this addition and I loved it. I hope Bethesda comes out with more of this! I had beat both Dawnguard and Hearthfire when I had heard of this release and I researched it immediately. It is a great DLC and I suggest that any Elder Scrolls fan gets this DLC.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Dragonborn is the best Skyrim DLC so far and it comes close to the standards Shivering Isles set, which is a massive task to beat. All who played Morrowind will find solace in this content. It is like a breath of fresh air, the game has that feel of magic and adventure that the main story of Skyrim had. There is plenty to explore and do. There is a variety of side quests and a wealth of items and armours to acquire. I remember running through town when I suddenly heard the Morrowind theme kick in, I had to stand still and breathe it in for a few minutes. The price was worth it for that single moment of nostalgia alone. I ask you not to let Dawnguard alter your views on Dragonborn, this is a step in the right direction and you would be a fool to miss it. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Holy crap is all I can say. This expansion is epic, anyone who played morrowind will love this expansion pack even more! I started with the elder scrolls III morrowind and played it when I was young, I spent many hours there and getting the chance to come back to a piece of it is more exciting for me than anything else. In this island (which you got to go to via a morrowind DLC as well!) captures almost everything that was morrowind, the three great houses ( I loved the telvanni tower!) the architecture, the armors, the feel of the red mountain ash again, and on top of it all they kept the island largely the same as in the morrowind expansion which I loved! But probably one of my favorite things is the music. Its the music straight from morrowind and it brings back a ton of great nostalgia. This expansion delivers even for people who have never played morrowing though and gives alot of background story into it. (you can ask alot of people questions about morrowind that if you played the game you will know the answer too but for new people it gives you a small insight into what morrowind was). The content is rich and great as well as the new armors and weapons it brings. The depth of side quests is crazy, you think your just doing a simple errand and it becomes something so much more. All in all a 10/10 for the content itself with a 11/10 for nostalgia. You wont be disappointed in this DLC Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Dragonborn is an impressive DLC, introducing a whole new area, with new and interesting friends, enemies, and incentives to keep one busy for an extended period of time. My character started Dragonborn at level 81, therefore, my experience would have been more enjoyable had I still been developing my character; this gives me reason to begin a brand new character. However, because I was 81, I had the privilege to face the Ebony Warrior. The main quest of Dragonborn offers environments that remind me of an old school first person shooter atmosphere, like the Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This is the "best" Skyrim DLC. But that's not saying much since Dawnguard was a disappointment. This DLC makes up for that. It captures the sense of adventure found in the main game.
  7. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    A very good piece of DLC. Interesting story, new worlds to explore, cool items, and giant mushrooms. What's not to love? The bugs. As with every Bethesda game before it there are numerous bugs that often result in complete system crashes. Others just kill you by falling through the floor or ruin atmospheres by incorrectly displaying textures. That being said, I prefer to have the content in my hand sooner rather than later, but some of the bugs are just too massive and annoying to ignore. Expand
  8. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    This is possibly one of the best dlc's I have ever played. I can't seem to put my controller down. I cannot wait for the next downloadable content patch!
  9. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    As a long time fan of the Elder Scrolls series (I've been playing since Daggerfall) I have conflicted feelings about Skyrim and it's DLC. Morrowind is one of my favourite games of all time, I felt Oblivion (which was very good) was kind of disappointing, and Skyrim to be better than Oblivion in some ways, and about the same in others. For some reason, Skyrim and it's DLC just didn't hook me the way that Morrowind and even Fallout 3 did. That said, Dragonborn is a fantastic step in the right direction. The island of Solshiem (probably misspelled) is a great re-creation of the one found in the Bloodmoon expansion for Morrowind, and the music.... oh sweet mercy the old Morrowind music is some of the best every composed. Definitely the best music on the Skyrim Soundtrack (don't get me wrong, the music in Skyrim is very good) That being said, the big selling feature (riding dragons) feels a little clunky to me. Overall, if you're a fan of Skyrim give this DLC a shot! Expand
  10. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    The last two DLCs had been a dissapointment. But when I arrived to Raven Rock and I started walking its streets and the Morrowind score kicked in I swear I felt goose bumps crawling all over me - magical moment. This third DLC, Dragonborn, is a step in the right direction. Aboslutely loved the Telvanni mushroom tower . The mechanics of the black books are excellent with th perks they give you.

    Please, can someone make a Morrowind remake for the consoles? :)
    Expand
  11. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    Skyrim is my favourite game of all time and getting my xbox live back I had to get this. So how did it turn out? Great! You go to a Island witch has tons of stuff to explore. Story is good and is fun to pkay through. A ton of side missions for hours and hours of gameplay. Few things I did not like. Falling out the map glitchs n3ver happend to me until now, witch isbreally annoying and the second thing is how you cant fly dragons how you want to butvstill is cool as hell. Overall, I'v put 25 hours into this and I still got side missions to complete and its a dlc for your money. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim-Dragonborn 8.8/10 Expand
  12. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best Skyrim DLC so far. This game introduces new armor, weapons, shouts and hours of gameplay as a whole. however the only criticism i have is that i finished the Dragonborn DLC within a couple of hours. However it makes up for this by giving many more side quests and a new area to explore.
  13. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This is a proper expansion,massive,alot to do. probably one of the best elder scrolls dlcs so far. I didnt think it would be this good,its really worth the money,old morrowind fans will love this. this is a perfect example of what a dlc should be like
  14. Feb 11, 2013
    8
    Dragonborn is superior to Dawnguard, but that isn't a massive achievement. I enjoyed Dragonborn and all of the next content it has to offer, such as the new environments, weapons, armor, and characters. At the end of the campaign, you can get some pretty cool armor which I found interesting. I don't think Dragonborn is a poor DLC, I think I am just sick of Skyrim because I played it so much when it first released. I don't think I will be purchasing the next Skyrim DLC if their is any, but that doesn't take away from what an outstanding game it is and the decent job they did with Dragonborn. If you crave more skyrim it's worth your money. Expand
  15. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    [8.5] Enjoyable, well-made, and massive, Bethesda creates another DLC that adds more than enough to the game. Although it doesn't introduce many features, it doesn't need to because of previous DLC. Adding a whole new island is more than enough to add another month of play time.
  16. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Easily my favorite DLC for Skyrim. It adds a huge new island with tons of new content, abilities and stories. The area with the mushrooms is particularly cool. I also like the main storyline and alternate world. If you're going to get one expansion for this game, get this one.
  17. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    another great addon. takes you to another island with lots of quest to do and the main story is interesting. new armour and weapons, a new house with lots of space for items. well worth the points to get, you could say something bad about it but it least it isnt 4 s%^ty maps that suck anyway. this is a game addon that actually adds on
  18. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Although a solid and safe expansion, I'd hoped for some sort of time traveling Dwemer adventure involving their fall.In saying that,I'm happy with this as it basically adds a tenth hold,a main quest/side quest evolution and the expected(and beloved) loot/enemies associated with an ES DLC.I could argue all day whether this is better than Shivering Isles (really really) and not come to a concordance.Very,very good and worthwhile. Expand
  19. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    utterly fantastic dlc. this is what dlc should be. in fact i would call this an expansion pack not dlc. Captures the magic of discovery that made skyrim so great. Only problem is that im not sure if this or shivering isles is better.
  20. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Dragon-born is the best of the Skyrim expansions by a mile, especially if you have put a decent amount of time into Morrowind. I found nostalgia and flashback behind every rock and tree and loved every minute of it. The music and environment are terrific and having the old plants and houses back was great. The story line was good, if a little short and the dragon riding was quite poor. Apart from that, a must have expansion for the Elderscrolls enthusiast. Expand
  21. Jan 13, 2013
    7
    This is a solid installment for Skyrim. It was great revisiting Solstheim, but it was shame you don't revisit Morrwind again. The story incorporates elements from Morrowind which is a nice touch, with all the armours and weapons and the exposition of lore from regarding Red Mountain, Dagoth Ur and Neverine, the main story quest was great but rather underwhelming, it felt short, even for a DLC add on. However, besides some faults this is still a worthy purchase. Expand
  22. Feb 13, 2013
    5
    Ok, ive heard alot positive reviews about this dlc and now that i have finally completed the main storyline and explored some Solstheim i can finally start stating out the flaws of this dlc. First of all the story wasn't interesting at all and the main bad guy "Miraak" was one heck of boring guy. Hell, there isn't even almost any good loot, weapons or armors in this dlc. I found a few new enemies quite interesting for example ash spawns and rieklings. [Sidequests are once again complete bull****, there even was one quest where you had to find certain item but it ended up being just in front of the cave's entrance. WHAT KINDA QUEST IS THAT?]

    Im seriously kinda dissapointed how Bethesda developers are little by little cashing in with successful franchise dlc's and they don't put almost any effort to their games.
    Expand
  23. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    This is a must buy for all Skyrim fans. While Dawnguard and Hearthfire were a little underwhelming I have to say, this is the expansion I've been waiting for. An entirely new world to explore and a great main quest left me with a strong impression. This expansion also comes with 4 new types of armor and weapons. The main quest was interesting and had a good amount of variation. There were also quite a few side quests that were fun and variable.
    For the bad, there's not much to really put here. I will say that the Dragon riding experience was a little less than what I was expecting but still cool. There are a number of glitches, none of them game-breaking, though. I'm sure these will be hammered out in a few weeks. If you are planning on picking up some Microsoft Points, this isn't a bad way to spend 'em. This is the expansion we've been waiting for. Hopefully Bethesda will deliver more!
    Expand
  24. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    Dragonborn for Skyrim is a huge step forward from Dawnguard. Not only does it improve on being a better polished DLC, it also improves on entertainment and game play. Dragonborn is well worth the twenty dollar pay. From the beginning of Dragonborn you feel as if your money was well spent. Now you have a new area to explore, new enemies, new weapons, new armor, new shouts, new skills, and of course, new quests. Returning to Morrowind is also a pleasant surprise for people who have played Elder Scrolls 3. New material like Stahlrim allows for stronger armor for those who do not have Daedric or Dragon armor. Many enemies like lurkers add a new feeling to the experience although some enemies, like burnt spriggans, feel like a rehash. Some more advanced players may find a challenge in a new enemy named Karstaag who is one of the most difficult bosses I've ever fought in a Bethesda game. The only disappointments about this DLC would have to be the main story quests and dragon riding. While the story is interesting, it feels rush and is very short, showing me that Bethesda has relied on side quests to help keep the player entertained, which is a shame. Dragon riding is practically useless. The dragon flies in a very small circular pattern and you cannot control the beast whatsoever. Controls for riding the dragon are awkward and hard to remember. Overall, Dragonborn is a major success for Skyrim showing there is potential for the DLC. If you are looking for a true expansion that will hardly disappoint you, I suggest buying Dragonborn the first chance you have twenty dollars to spend. Expand
  25. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Bethesda, after releasing the much anticipated and disappointing Dawnguard as well as the insult to the Elder Scrolls community "Hearthfire", redeems themselves with this magnificent "expansion". I hesitate to call it an "expansion", however, as it is no where near as large as Shivering Isles, but I digress. The amount of content and attention detail is incredible, especially between with the amount of time spent on it. The story gives you that same feeling of adventure as the main quest line. The armor and weapons are fantastic, and the new enemies are fun to fight. I look forward to the real, expansion-sized DLC that Bethesda has planned for Skyrim. Expand
  26. Jan 18, 2013
    1
    This game is impossible to beat. I have tried multiple times to get past the opening sequence and keep getting killed by some firebreathing mofo that appears our of the sky. There is no good way to pick up weapons in this hurried up version of "get the hell out of here". And my character keeps getting charbroiled like a hamburger on a George Forman Grill, sealing in the flavor and not the fat. As far as this game goes I would have to say that it sucks "Goat Scroats" in the same fashion that Ruxin from the Leauge believes that Dre Town sucks "Goat Scroats". In conclusion, I'm glad this game came free with my system purchase because if I had laid down the $59.99 for it, I would probably hang myself from the nearest non-dragon charred tree. Expand
  27. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    If you're still in love with the land of Skyrim but have done all you can in the land, then Dragonborn is right up your ally. The story is not important but what is is the fact that you get to explore a land that is basically a $20.00 version of Skyrim. The loading times and slow down are a bother but when you see the incredible amount of work put into this DLC, you'll be satisfied.
  28. Jan 22, 2013
    6
    This is a really great expansion. Totally worth the money, although I'm giving it a lower rating because this game continues to be highly glitchy despite all their patches. During my playthrough of dragonborn, roughly 20 hrs, there wasn't a single play session that didn't lock up or glitch in some frustrating way. All in all, it was great to spend more time in this world.
  29. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    After the mediocre hearthfire and short but sweet Dawnguard.... The large and expansive Skyrim needed a large and expansive DLC, Dragonborn is that DLC....oh and the only reason I'm not giving it a 1010 is because dragon mounts are useless
  30. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Dragonborn is a great buy for $20. A new continent to explore, new types of armor, and a few new missions. Almost gave it a 9, but I spent about 10 hours playing this addition, so if you do the math, Dragonborn is worth the $2 per hour I spent! I can't wait until Elder Scrolls 6 arrives!
  31. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    The Skyrim Dragonborn DLC is a great addition. While it is relatively short (around 3 hours), there are a lot of side missions and interesting ones at that. The DLC takes place in Soltheim, an island off coast of Morrowind. When you arrive, you find out that the locals are being mysteriously brain controlled. This eventually leads to an epic adventure that leads you to new villages, dungeons, and even another realm as you try to find and kill the second dragonborn. You can even tame and ride dragons! Although you can't control where they fly, it is still pretty awesome. The island itself is about a fifth the size of Skyrim itself, so it isn't very big. If you're a fan of the old Morrowind game like me, you should get this expansion. I loved seeing the netch and other creatures again after so long. Expand
  32. t_h
    Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Loved this DLC for Skyrim! It was a much needed adrenaline spike after playing the lukewarm Dawnguard and silly Hearthfire. In addition to new content and enemies, Dragonborn hit me hard with a wave of nostalgia and brought back cherished memories from Morrowind: Bloodmoon. The recognizable soundtrack from the past games, the familiar enemies and faces, it's just awesome. The final battle with Miraak at the end of the main questline left me feeling a bit empty inside but the side quests are thrilling and deep (Ahzidal's armor, Deathbrand hunting, Tel Mithryn etc). Regardless of the super minor shortcomings, it was worth every penny to download. Collapse
  33. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    The story is BORING. HOLY This story made the Dawnguard storyline look like the Terminator movies. I personally HATED Dawnguard, but whatever. The story was complete It was boring and anticlimatic but! I will admit that in Apocrypha, the world of Forbidden knowledge it is a And that's the only really cool part of the story. Now for the new land to explore. Dragonborn take us to Solstheim, and if you've played Morrowind, that should sound familiar. And it shows! You can really see that they're trying to capture the good old Morrowind days in this new setting with the mushrooms and marshes and returning enemies from Morrowind. Even these little creatures called Rieklings that look like blue Gnomes from Harry Potter. The new landscape is a treat to explore and I really like it.

    The new weapons and armor and shouts are off the hook. The new Nordic weapons have sweet designs and are very effective in battle. They have similar stats to Daedric weapons. The Stahlrim set is good too. A lot of the armour sets are ugly as hell and have bad stats that DONT make up for it, like Heavy Chitin. The shouts are... ****INSANE. YOU CAN TAKE OVER DRAGONS AND FLY THEM HOLY It's. Sexy. You can even use the power of the Dragons! Not just the shouts, but the pure fighting power! There's more then I'm listing, and if you wanna see the rest, look it up on the Elder Scrolls wiki. So pretty much with the story sucking, the badass landscapes, and the awesome weapons I'm gonna say that it's NOT WORTH THE TWENTY DOLLARS. yeah, it was $20. It feels like it's worth at least 10. But if you want a new adventure, I would suggest checking it out if you're the exploring type.
    Expand
  34. Apr 30, 2013
    0
    If there is one time I would ever smack money away from a developer, it's now. I LOVE you, Bethesda, so why did you do this to me??? Dragonborn is sorry. Pure and simple, sorry. You get to go see new crap, kill it, and ride a dragon right? Nope. You get to get MORE GLITCHES, more bugs, and 2, count em, 2 game ENDING bugs that make you completely restart a game if you didn't really carefully space out your save files. To wit: You get to a Nord village, and hear the Matron and her buddy yak. Cool yeah? If ANYTHING INTERRUPTS THEM, GAME OVER. You can never complete a quest, which makes Achievement Whoring die right there, PLUS it crashes your game later. Consistently. (and yeah, if YOU walk up to them too closely, they stop talking and that does it too. That's what I did.) Also, go fight the boss. The big, cheap, piece of crap story driven you can't kill me boss. By the way, you CAN'T kill him. If you do, game over. He uses the Ethereal shout and sits in the center of the arena laughing while you impotently try to kill him with ANYTHING. Also? Dragonriding is LAME. Whoo hoo, I summon me a dragon! Whoo Hoo! I go flying. Whoo wait, I go in a freakin circle until I either fast travel or lock onto a (hopefully appearing somewhere) random enemy??? WTF man, I was told FLY A DRAGON. The DLC said nothing about being a Dragon Nascar Driver. How fun, we're making another left turn. Beyond that bs, in Skyrim itself, you will get lots of bugs and glitches due to this turd, like screwups when you upgrade your houses, both in city and Hearthfire, enemies, weapons, and "disappearing" gear. Ok. Thanks. All in all, this DLC reeks of being rushed and not Beta'd. Again, an incomplete. And what do you score an Incomplete effort? A Zero. Expand
  35. Sep 1, 2013
    7
    Dragonborn dlc is good but it doesn't worth the current price. The game has new armors and weapons, places and people and a new interesting story. On the other hand, more bugs have added on add-on, which we hadn't to see. Nevertheless, if you haven't the main game, it's better for you to buy the legendary edition and have it all.
  36. t_h
    Mar 6, 2013
    0
    Loved this DLC for Skyrim! It was a much needed adrenaline spike after playing the lukewarm Dawnguard and silly Hearthfire. In addition to new content and enemies, Dragonborn hit me hard with a wave of nostalgia and brought back cherished memories from Morrowind: Bloodmoon. The recognizable soundtrack from the past games, the familiar enemies and faces, it's just awesome. The final battle with Miraak at the end of the main questline left me feeling a bit empty inside but the side quests are thrilling and deep (Ahzidal's armor, Deathbrand hunting, Tel Mithryn etc). Regardless of the super minor shortcomings, it was worth every penny to download. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    85
    Bethesda’s games were never perfect but they made up for their flaws with a promise of a grand adventure. It’s not different this time – Dragonborn reminds us why we loved Skyrim. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.54]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    The best Skyrim expansion yet. [Jan 2013]
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    Once again this is a quality piece of downloadable content for Skyrim which adds at least another ten to twenty hours worth of playtime. It would be nice to see some more interesting quest types than simple dungeon crawls through the same environments and more emphasis put upon Solstheim and its inhabitants. Dragonborn is worth the price if you just can't get enough from the Elder Scroll's universe.