User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 167

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    Just started playing this addition and I loved it. I hope Bethesda comes out with more of this! I had beat both Dawnguard and Hearthfire when I had heard of this release and I researched it immediately. It is a great DLC and I suggest that any Elder Scrolls fan gets this DLC.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Dragonborn is the best Skyrim DLC so far and it comes close to the standards Shivering Isles set, which is a massive task to beat. All who played Morrowind will find solace in this content. It is like a breath of fresh air, the game has that feel of magic and adventure that the main story of Skyrim had. There is plenty to explore and do. There is a variety of side quests and a wealth ofDragonborn is the best Skyrim DLC so far and it comes close to the standards Shivering Isles set, which is a massive task to beat. All who played Morrowind will find solace in this content. It is like a breath of fresh air, the game has that feel of magic and adventure that the main story of Skyrim had. There is plenty to explore and do. There is a variety of side quests and a wealth of items and armours to acquire. I remember running through town when I suddenly heard the Morrowind theme kick in, I had to stand still and breathe it in for a few minutes. The price was worth it for that single moment of nostalgia alone. I ask you not to let Dawnguard alter your views on Dragonborn, this is a step in the right direction and you would be a fool to miss it. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Holy crap is all I can say. This expansion is epic, anyone who played morrowind will love this expansion pack even more! I started with the elder scrolls III morrowind and played it when I was young, I spent many hours there and getting the chance to come back to a piece of it is more exciting for me than anything else. In this island (which you got to go to via a morrowind DLC as well!)Holy crap is all I can say. This expansion is epic, anyone who played morrowind will love this expansion pack even more! I started with the elder scrolls III morrowind and played it when I was young, I spent many hours there and getting the chance to come back to a piece of it is more exciting for me than anything else. In this island (which you got to go to via a morrowind DLC as well!) captures almost everything that was morrowind, the three great houses ( I loved the telvanni tower!) the architecture, the armors, the feel of the red mountain ash again, and on top of it all they kept the island largely the same as in the morrowind expansion which I loved! But probably one of my favorite things is the music. Its the music straight from morrowind and it brings back a ton of great nostalgia. This expansion delivers even for people who have never played morrowing though and gives alot of background story into it. (you can ask alot of people questions about morrowind that if you played the game you will know the answer too but for new people it gives you a small insight into what morrowind was). The content is rich and great as well as the new armors and weapons it brings. The depth of side quests is crazy, you think your just doing a simple errand and it becomes something so much more. All in all a 10/10 for the content itself with a 11/10 for nostalgia. You wont be disappointed in this DLC Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This is the "best" Skyrim DLC. But that's not saying much since Dawnguard was a disappointment. This DLC makes up for that. It captures the sense of adventure found in the main game.
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    This is possibly one of the best dlc's I have ever played. I can't seem to put my controller down. I cannot wait for the next downloadable content patch!
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Dragonborn is an impressive DLC, introducing a whole new area, with new and interesting friends, enemies, and incentives to keep one busy for an extended period of time. My character started Dragonborn at level 81, therefore, my experience would have been more enjoyable had I still been developing my character; this gives me reason to begin a brand new character. However, because I was 81,Dragonborn is an impressive DLC, introducing a whole new area, with new and interesting friends, enemies, and incentives to keep one busy for an extended period of time. My character started Dragonborn at level 81, therefore, my experience would have been more enjoyable had I still been developing my character; this gives me reason to begin a brand new character. However, because I was 81, I had the privilege to face the Ebony Warrior. The main quest of Dragonborn offers environments that remind me of an old school first person shooter atmosphere, like the Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This is a proper expansion,massive,alot to do. probably one of the best elder scrolls dlcs so far. I didnt think it would be this good,its really worth the money,old morrowind fans will love this. this is a perfect example of what a dlc should be like
  8. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is the best Skyrim DLC so far. This game introduces new armor, weapons, shouts and hours of gameplay as a whole. however the only criticism i have is that i finished the Dragonborn DLC within a couple of hours. However it makes up for this by giving many more side quests and a new area to explore.
  9. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Easily my favorite DLC for Skyrim. It adds a huge new island with tons of new content, abilities and stories. The area with the mushrooms is particularly cool. I also like the main storyline and alternate world. If you're going to get one expansion for this game, get this one.
  10. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    utterly fantastic dlc. this is what dlc should be. in fact i would call this an expansion pack not dlc. Captures the magic of discovery that made skyrim so great. Only problem is that im not sure if this or shivering isles is better.
  11. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    This is a must buy for all Skyrim fans. While Dawnguard and Hearthfire were a little underwhelming I have to say, this is the expansion I've been waiting for. An entirely new world to explore and a great main quest left me with a strong impression. This expansion also comes with 4 new types of armor and weapons. The main quest was interesting and had a good amount of variation. There wereThis is a must buy for all Skyrim fans. While Dawnguard and Hearthfire were a little underwhelming I have to say, this is the expansion I've been waiting for. An entirely new world to explore and a great main quest left me with a strong impression. This expansion also comes with 4 new types of armor and weapons. The main quest was interesting and had a good amount of variation. There were also quite a few side quests that were fun and variable.
    For the bad, there's not much to really put here. I will say that the Dragon riding experience was a little less than what I was expecting but still cool. There are a number of glitches, none of them game-breaking, though. I'm sure these will be hammered out in a few weeks. If you are planning on picking up some Microsoft Points, this isn't a bad way to spend 'em. This is the expansion we've been waiting for. Hopefully Bethesda will deliver more!
    Expand
  12. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Bethesda, after releasing the much anticipated and disappointing Dawnguard as well as the insult to the Elder Scrolls community "Hearthfire", redeems themselves with this magnificent "expansion". I hesitate to call it an "expansion", however, as it is no where near as large as Shivering Isles, but I digress. The amount of content and attention detail is incredible, especially between withBethesda, after releasing the much anticipated and disappointing Dawnguard as well as the insult to the Elder Scrolls community "Hearthfire", redeems themselves with this magnificent "expansion". I hesitate to call it an "expansion", however, as it is no where near as large as Shivering Isles, but I digress. The amount of content and attention detail is incredible, especially between with the amount of time spent on it. The story gives you that same feeling of adventure as the main quest line. The armor and weapons are fantastic, and the new enemies are fun to fight. I look forward to the real, expansion-sized DLC that Bethesda has planned for Skyrim. Expand
  13. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    another great addon. takes you to another island with lots of quest to do and the main story is interesting. new armour and weapons, a new house with lots of space for items. well worth the points to get, you could say something bad about it but it least it isnt 4 s%^ty maps that suck anyway. this is a game addon that actually adds on
  14. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    If you're still in love with the land of Skyrim but have done all you can in the land, then Dragonborn is right up your ally. The story is not important but what is is the fact that you get to explore a land that is basically a $20.00 version of Skyrim. The loading times and slow down are a bother but when you see the incredible amount of work put into this DLC, you'll be satisfied.
  15. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    After the mediocre hearthfire and short but sweet Dawnguard.... The large and expansive Skyrim needed a large and expansive DLC, Dragonborn is that DLC....oh and the only reason I'm not giving it a 1010 is because dragon mounts are useless
  16. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    The Skyrim Dragonborn DLC is a great addition. While it is relatively short (around 3 hours), there are a lot of side missions and interesting ones at that. The DLC takes place in Soltheim, an island off coast of Morrowind. When you arrive, you find out that the locals are being mysteriously brain controlled. This eventually leads to an epic adventure that leads you to new villages,The Skyrim Dragonborn DLC is a great addition. While it is relatively short (around 3 hours), there are a lot of side missions and interesting ones at that. The DLC takes place in Soltheim, an island off coast of Morrowind. When you arrive, you find out that the locals are being mysteriously brain controlled. This eventually leads to an epic adventure that leads you to new villages, dungeons, and even another realm as you try to find and kill the second dragonborn. You can even tame and ride dragons! Although you can't control where they fly, it is still pretty awesome. The island itself is about a fifth the size of Skyrim itself, so it isn't very big. If you're a fan of the old Morrowind game like me, you should get this expansion. I loved seeing the netch and other creatures again after so long. Expand
  17. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Dragonborn is a great buy for $20. A new continent to explore, new types of armor, and a few new missions. Almost gave it a 9, but I spent about 10 hours playing this addition, so if you do the math, Dragonborn is worth the $2 per hour I spent! I can't wait until Elder Scrolls 6 arrives!
  18. t_h
    Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Loved this DLC for Skyrim! It was a much needed adrenaline spike after playing the lukewarm Dawnguard and silly Hearthfire. In addition to new content and enemies, Dragonborn hit me hard with a wave of nostalgia and brought back cherished memories from Morrowind: Bloodmoon. The recognizable soundtrack from the past games, the familiar enemies and faces, it's just awesome. The final battleLoved this DLC for Skyrim! It was a much needed adrenaline spike after playing the lukewarm Dawnguard and silly Hearthfire. In addition to new content and enemies, Dragonborn hit me hard with a wave of nostalgia and brought back cherished memories from Morrowind: Bloodmoon. The recognizable soundtrack from the past games, the familiar enemies and faces, it's just awesome. The final battle with Miraak at the end of the main questline left me feeling a bit empty inside but the side quests are thrilling and deep (Ahzidal's armor, Deathbrand hunting, Tel Mithryn etc). Regardless of the super minor shortcomings, it was worth every penny to download. Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Although a solid and safe expansion, I'd hoped for some sort of time traveling Dwemer adventure involving their fall.In saying that,I'm happy with this as it basically adds a tenth hold,a main quest/side quest evolution and the expected(and beloved) loot/enemies associated with an ES DLC.I could argue all day whether this is better than Shivering Isles (really really) and not come to aAlthough a solid and safe expansion, I'd hoped for some sort of time traveling Dwemer adventure involving their fall.In saying that,I'm happy with this as it basically adds a tenth hold,a main quest/side quest evolution and the expected(and beloved) loot/enemies associated with an ES DLC.I could argue all day whether this is better than Shivering Isles (really really) and not come to a concordance.Very,very good and worthwhile. Expand
  20. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Dragon-born is the best of the Skyrim expansions by a mile, especially if you have put a decent amount of time into Morrowind. I found nostalgia and flashback behind every rock and tree and loved every minute of it. The music and environment are terrific and having the old plants and houses back was great. The story line was good, if a little short and the dragon riding was quite poor.Dragon-born is the best of the Skyrim expansions by a mile, especially if you have put a decent amount of time into Morrowind. I found nostalgia and flashback behind every rock and tree and loved every minute of it. The music and environment are terrific and having the old plants and houses back was great. The story line was good, if a little short and the dragon riding was quite poor. Apart from that, a must have expansion for the Elderscrolls enthusiast. Expand
  21. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The last two DLCs had been a dissapointment. But when I arrived to Raven Rock and I started walking its streets and the Morrowind score kicked in I swear I felt goose bumps crawling all over me - magical moment. This third DLC, Dragonborn, is a step in the right direction. Aboslutely loved the Telvanni mushroom tower . The mechanics of the black books are excellent with th perks they giveThe last two DLCs had been a dissapointment. But when I arrived to Raven Rock and I started walking its streets and the Morrowind score kicked in I swear I felt goose bumps crawling all over me - magical moment. This third DLC, Dragonborn, is a step in the right direction. Aboslutely loved the Telvanni mushroom tower . The mechanics of the black books are excellent with th perks they give you.

    Please, can someone make a Morrowind remake for the consoles? :)
    Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    85
    Bethesda’s games were never perfect but they made up for their flaws with a promise of a grand adventure. It’s not different this time – Dragonborn reminds us why we loved Skyrim. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.54]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    The best Skyrim expansion yet. [Jan 2013]
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    Once again this is a quality piece of downloadable content for Skyrim which adds at least another ten to twenty hours worth of playtime. It would be nice to see some more interesting quest types than simple dungeon crawls through the same environments and more emphasis put upon Solstheim and its inhabitants. Dragonborn is worth the price if you just can't get enough from the Elder Scroll's universe.