User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 165

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    1
    I cant believe the reviews Dragonborn has got. I mean could there be any lazier dlc for a game. Bloodmoon which added the Solstheim was the expansion for the Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind. Now the lazy developers of bethesda released allmost same expansion for Skyrim. Only that its buggy,boring and something we have allready seen. Also lets think this for a moment shall we, what we see in Skyrim is snow,ice,snow,ice and some more snow. So they release a dlc with more snow and ice. My recommedition is do not buy this dlc, use your money better. Buy the Elder Scrolls IV:Oblivion for a good game, or if you want to see Solstheim buy Morrowind. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    1
    This game is impossible to beat. I have tried multiple times to get past the opening sequence and keep getting killed by some firebreathing mofo that appears our of the sky. There is no good way to pick up weapons in this hurried up version of "get the hell out of here". And my character keeps getting charbroiled like a hamburger on a George Forman Grill, sealing in the flavor and not the fat. As far as this game goes I would have to say that it sucks "Goat Scroats" in the same fashion that Ruxin from the Leauge believes that Dre Town sucks "Goat Scroats". In conclusion, I'm glad this game came free with my system purchase because if I had laid down the $59.99 for it, I would probably hang myself from the nearest non-dragon charred tree. Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    The story is BORING. HOLY This story made the Dawnguard storyline look like the Terminator movies. I personally HATED Dawnguard, but whatever. The story was complete It was boring and anticlimatic but! I will admit that in Apocrypha, the world of Forbidden knowledge it is a And that's the only really cool part of the story. Now for the new land to explore. Dragonborn take us to Solstheim, and if you've played Morrowind, that should sound familiar. And it shows! You can really see that they're trying to capture the good old Morrowind days in this new setting with the mushrooms and marshes and returning enemies from Morrowind. Even these little creatures called Rieklings that look like blue Gnomes from Harry Potter. The new landscape is a treat to explore and I really like it.

    The new weapons and armor and shouts are off the hook. The new Nordic weapons have sweet designs and are very effective in battle. They have similar stats to Daedric weapons. The Stahlrim set is good too. A lot of the armour sets are ugly as hell and have bad stats that DONT make up for it, like Heavy Chitin. The shouts are... ****INSANE. YOU CAN TAKE OVER DRAGONS AND FLY THEM HOLY It's. Sexy. You can even use the power of the Dragons! Not just the shouts, but the pure fighting power! There's more then I'm listing, and if you wanna see the rest, look it up on the Elder Scrolls wiki. So pretty much with the story sucking, the badass landscapes, and the awesome weapons I'm gonna say that it's NOT WORTH THE TWENTY DOLLARS. yeah, it was $20. It feels like it's worth at least 10. But if you want a new adventure, I would suggest checking it out if you're the exploring type.
    Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    0
    If there is one time I would ever smack money away from a developer, it's now. I LOVE you, Bethesda, so why did you do this to me??? Dragonborn is sorry. Pure and simple, sorry. You get to go see new crap, kill it, and ride a dragon right? Nope. You get to get MORE GLITCHES, more bugs, and 2, count em, 2 game ENDING bugs that make you completely restart a game if you didn't really carefully space out your save files. To wit: You get to a Nord village, and hear the Matron and her buddy yak. Cool yeah? If ANYTHING INTERRUPTS THEM, GAME OVER. You can never complete a quest, which makes Achievement Whoring die right there, PLUS it crashes your game later. Consistently. (and yeah, if YOU walk up to them too closely, they stop talking and that does it too. That's what I did.) Also, go fight the boss. The big, cheap, piece of crap story driven you can't kill me boss. By the way, you CAN'T kill him. If you do, game over. He uses the Ethereal shout and sits in the center of the arena laughing while you impotently try to kill him with ANYTHING. Also? Dragonriding is LAME. Whoo hoo, I summon me a dragon! Whoo Hoo! I go flying. Whoo wait, I go in a freakin circle until I either fast travel or lock onto a (hopefully appearing somewhere) random enemy??? WTF man, I was told FLY A DRAGON. The DLC said nothing about being a Dragon Nascar Driver. How fun, we're making another left turn. Beyond that bs, in Skyrim itself, you will get lots of bugs and glitches due to this turd, like screwups when you upgrade your houses, both in city and Hearthfire, enemies, weapons, and "disappearing" gear. Ok. Thanks. All in all, this DLC reeks of being rushed and not Beta'd. Again, an incomplete. And what do you score an Incomplete effort? A Zero. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    85
    Bethesda’s games were never perfect but they made up for their flaws with a promise of a grand adventure. It’s not different this time – Dragonborn reminds us why we loved Skyrim. [CD-Action 02/2013, p.54]
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    87
    The best Skyrim expansion yet. [Jan 2013]
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    Once again this is a quality piece of downloadable content for Skyrim which adds at least another ten to twenty hours worth of playtime. It would be nice to see some more interesting quest types than simple dungeon crawls through the same environments and more emphasis put upon Solstheim and its inhabitants. Dragonborn is worth the price if you just can't get enough from the Elder Scroll's universe.