Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragonborn is the latest addition to The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. journey off the coast of Morrowind to the island of Solstheim. Confront new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with new shouts that bend theDragonborn is the latest addition to The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. journey off the coast of Morrowind to the island of Solstheim. Confront new towns, dungeons, and quests, as you traverse the ash wastes and glacial valleys of this new land. Become more powerful with new shouts that bend the will of your enemies and even tame dragons. Your fate, and the fate of Solstheim, hangs in the balance as you face off against your deadliest adversary – the first Dragonborn. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    A marked return to form. [Feb 2013, p.85]
  2. 90
    Dragonborn left me with the same inclination that Skyrim's main game left me with after I had finished with the main questline, and that's that I just want to explore and milk as much content out of it as I can. After 10 hours, there's still stuff I want to see and places I want to go. If you felt letdown by Dawnguard or Hearthfire, then try not to let that put you off, because what Bethesda have created here is exactly what Skyrim fans would have been crying out for… and that's an experience that captures the brilliance of the main game but in a much more bitesize manner. We can't recommend this piece of DLC enough.
  3. 90
    This truly is a Skyrim expansion pack, and is a great purchase for any fan of the series who's hungry for a new adventure.
  4. 80
    By far the best Skyrim expansion so far, and although the dragon-riding is disappointing, having a whole new world (or at least island) to explore is almost as good.
  5. Dec 26, 2012
    80
    Dragonborn is great for those who have exhausted as much as possible in Skyrim.
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    Dragon taming doesn't feel very engaging, but because of the story's depth and the host of new items and abilities, Dragonborn is still a thoroughly charming experience.
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    60
    It's a massive chunk of more of the same, basically. If that's what you're looking for you'll be more than satisfied, but lapsed players shouldn't expect anything intriguing enough to drag them back in.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    another great addon. takes you to another island with lots of quest to do and the main story is interesting. new armour and weapons, a newanother great addon. takes you to another island with lots of quest to do and the main story is interesting. new armour and weapons, a new house with lots of space for items. well worth the points to get, you could say something bad about it but it least it isnt 4 s%^ty maps that suck anyway. this is a game addon that actually adds on Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    Easily my favorite DLC for Skyrim. It adds a huge new island with tons of new content, abilities and stories. The area with the mushrooms isEasily my favorite DLC for Skyrim. It adds a huge new island with tons of new content, abilities and stories. The area with the mushrooms is particularly cool. I also like the main storyline and alternate world. If you're going to get one expansion for this game, get this one. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Dragonborn is the best Skyrim DLC so far and it comes close to the standards Shivering Isles set, which is a massive task to beat. All whoDragonborn is the best Skyrim DLC so far and it comes close to the standards Shivering Isles set, which is a massive task to beat. All who played Morrowind will find solace in this content. It is like a breath of fresh air, the game has that feel of magic and adventure that the main story of Skyrim had. There is plenty to explore and do. There is a variety of side quests and a wealth of items and armours to acquire. I remember running through town when I suddenly heard the Morrowind theme kick in, I had to stand still and breathe it in for a few minutes. The price was worth it for that single moment of nostalgia alone. I ask you not to let Dawnguard alter your views on Dragonborn, this is a step in the right direction and you would be a fool to miss it. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    If you're still in love with the land of Skyrim but have done all you can in the land, then Dragonborn is right up your ally. The story is notIf you're still in love with the land of Skyrim but have done all you can in the land, then Dragonborn is right up your ally. The story is not important but what is is the fact that you get to explore a land that is basically a $20.00 version of Skyrim. The loading times and slow down are a bother but when you see the incredible amount of work put into this DLC, you'll be satisfied. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    [8.5] Enjoyable, well-made, and massive, Bethesda creates another DLC that adds more than enough to the game. Although it doesn't introduce[8.5] Enjoyable, well-made, and massive, Bethesda creates another DLC that adds more than enough to the game. Although it doesn't introduce many features, it doesn't need to because of previous DLC. Adding a whole new island is more than enough to add another month of play time. Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    Dragonborn for Skyrim is a huge step forward from Dawnguard. Not only does it improve on being a better polished DLC, it also improves onDragonborn for Skyrim is a huge step forward from Dawnguard. Not only does it improve on being a better polished DLC, it also improves on entertainment and game play. Dragonborn is well worth the twenty dollar pay. From the beginning of Dragonborn you feel as if your money was well spent. Now you have a new area to explore, new enemies, new weapons, new armor, new shouts, new skills, and of course, new quests. Returning to Morrowind is also a pleasant surprise for people who have played Elder Scrolls 3. New material like Stahlrim allows for stronger armor for those who do not have Daedric or Dragon armor. Many enemies like lurkers add a new feeling to the experience although some enemies, like burnt spriggans, feel like a rehash. Some more advanced players may find a challenge in a new enemy named Karstaag who is one of the most difficult bosses I've ever fought in a Bethesda game. The only disappointments about this DLC would have to be the main story quests and dragon riding. While the story is interesting, it feels rush and is very short, showing me that Bethesda has relied on side quests to help keep the player entertained, which is a shame. Dragon riding is practically useless. The dragon flies in a very small circular pattern and you cannot control the beast whatsoever. Controls for riding the dragon are awkward and hard to remember. Overall, Dragonborn is a major success for Skyrim showing there is potential for the DLC. If you are looking for a true expansion that will hardly disappoint you, I suggest buying Dragonborn the first chance you have twenty dollars to spend. Collapse
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    0
    If there is one time I would ever smack money away from a developer, it's now. I LOVE you, Bethesda, so why did you do this to me???If there is one time I would ever smack money away from a developer, it's now. I LOVE you, Bethesda, so why did you do this to me??? Dragonborn is sorry. Pure and simple, sorry. You get to go see new crap, kill it, and ride a dragon right? Nope. You get to get MORE GLITCHES, more bugs, and 2, count em, 2 game ENDING bugs that make you completely restart a game if you didn't really carefully space out your save files. To wit: You get to a Nord village, and hear the Matron and her buddy yak. Cool yeah? If ANYTHING INTERRUPTS THEM, GAME OVER. You can never complete a quest, which makes Achievement Whoring die right there, PLUS it crashes your game later. Consistently. (and yeah, if YOU walk up to them too closely, they stop talking and that does it too. That's what I did.) Also, go fight the boss. The big, cheap, piece of crap story driven you can't kill me boss. By the way, you CAN'T kill him. If you do, game over. He uses the Ethereal shout and sits in the center of the arena laughing while you impotently try to kill him with ANYTHING. Also? Dragonriding is LAME. Whoo hoo, I summon me a dragon! Whoo Hoo! I go flying. Whoo wait, I go in a freakin circle until I either fast travel or lock onto a (hopefully appearing somewhere) random enemy??? WTF man, I was told FLY A DRAGON. The DLC said nothing about being a Dragon Nascar Driver. How fun, we're making another left turn. Beyond that bs, in Skyrim itself, you will get lots of bugs and glitches due to this turd, like screwups when you upgrade your houses, both in city and Hearthfire, enemies, weapons, and "disappearing" gear. Ok. Thanks. All in all, this DLC reeks of being rushed and not Beta'd. Again, an incomplete. And what do you score an Incomplete effort? A Zero. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews