Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    85
    Considering that this is a smaller piece of Skyrim DLC than Dawnguard, though, that nitpick doesn’t deter me from saying that Hearthfire is worth the price of admission. Customizing a home and populating it with kids fits perfectly into the premise of making the Skyrim world your own, and it’s certainly provided some fun add-on entertainment.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    50
    Overall, the entire endeavor is extremely costly and a good chunk of playtime is necessary to amass enough money to trick out the small mansion after blowing thousands on the initial structure. Yet this is perhaps the true quality of Hearthfire-the ability to simply get players back into the world of Skyrim after abandoning it after exhausting the main quest or slaying through the Dawnguard expansion.
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    62
    Hearthfire is a cosmetic add-on that enables you to build three houses and adopt children. Although relatively cheap (400 MSP), there is no story to speak of and the house building options are very limited. [Oct 2012]
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    50
    Hearthfire is an expansion without new missions - it provides only a couple of options that should have been there from the beginning. Many players will be let down, but those that want to "play house" and deepen the experience of living in the game world, should consider buying this DLC. Dragonborn's motivation for saving the world becomes greater, but the problem is this - most of the player have already saved everything there was to save and getting a virtual family won't be enough for them to return to Skyrim.
  5. Sep 21, 2012
    85
    Hearthfire is an inexpensive add-on to the critically acclaimed Skyrim, and it provides its value for new and old players alike, but in different ways. The customization options will give characters an even deeper attachment to the game world, and establish a perfect retreat for those who have a hard time keeping track of every arcane enchanter and forge. More customization options would help to set each abode apart from the next, but Hearthfire rewards us with what we all want: more Skyrim.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    50
    Hearthfire offers you a great home for your stuff, but won't allow you to customize it in any meaningful way.
  7. 50
    You can live a long and happy life in Skyrim without ever getting familiar with Hearthfire.
  8. Sep 12, 2012
    40
    If you want to make the perfect home for your hero, look elsewhere. Hearthfire provides a very limited and clumsy building system and the pointless possibility of adoption. However, if you just need a larger and better storage container for your loot it might just be worth the low price.
  9. Sep 12, 2012
    68
    Hearthfire, though relatively inexpensive, isn't a DLC I can recommend for everyone. More casual Skyrim players (if those exist) may not enjoy the low-key vibe of this new content, and even the most civic-minded player might find the lack of real options in construction too limited to be much fun.
  10. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Hearthfire does have a couple fun new features to play around with, but home building and child rearing just isn't interactive enough to feel genuinely personal.
  11. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Hearthfire is an add-on that will be most useful to the first-time Skyrim player. If you're just starting to explore the world now, you're sure to find value in Hearthfire. For everyone else, it's a cosmetic addition that will have little impact on your adventure.
  12. 40
    Hearthfire is certainly a download that shatters preconceptions, but only in the sense that it never really allows you to do any of the things you thought it would.
  13. Sep 7, 2012
    40
    Despite the whopping size of your new stately mansions, Hearthfire feels cold and empty.
  14. Sep 7, 2012
    60
    At its best, it's a neat distraction and a welcome change of pace from all of the slaying and looting.
  15. Optional extras for your home include a garden, livestock, and even a live-in bard if you're suitably masochistic, and if you manage to build in all three available holds you get an Achievement. However, despite being a very nicely made, commendably affordable bit of DLC, Hearthfire is little more than a quirky cosmetic bolt-on that doesn't add anything exciting to the game. It does give a pretty good approximation of the frustration actual homeowners feel during the building process, though.
  16. Sep 6, 2012
    50
    Hearthfire is too superficial and linear to fit in a deep and complex game as Skyrim. And it's a shame, because the personal life of a Dragonborn would have been a great addition to this game.
  17. Sep 5, 2012
    50
    Despite the rugged, rough-hewn aesthetic of Skyrim, Hearthfire ultimately offers all the character and personality of an Ikea cupboard.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    3
    Okay, I just made an account here, specifically to express my opinion on this DLC. First, PC-players should steer clear. This DLC does not addOkay, I just made an account here, specifically to express my opinion on this DLC. First, PC-players should steer clear. This DLC does not add anything that is not already available through plug-ins made by other players.
    As for XBOX360 owners, I reckon that even a big Skyrim fan might be disappointed by this DLC. The house building mechanic is fun and such, but the customizability is exaggerated in the trailer, it's actually quite limited. As far as I am concerned, this DLC does not live up to my expectations for it, just like Dawnguard has been a disappointment for most. Seriously Bethesda, I thought you were going for DLC-content that actually adds something to the game, instead of a vampire chicken monster and SimSkyrim. Now stop kidding and make something that really adds to the game. Sincerely, a TES fan.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    I found this DLC to be fantastic. It just added to the atmosphere of the game which is great. Great immersion and I actually enjoyed this moreI found this DLC to be fantastic. It just added to the atmosphere of the game which is great. Great immersion and I actually enjoyed this more than dawnguard. Heres hoping for a shivering isles like expansion. Full Review »
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    Does it add to the game play? Not really...Bandit/Kidnapper/Troll attacks are meh. Does it add to the immersion? Yes. Love building my ownDoes it add to the game play? Not really...Bandit/Kidnapper/Troll attacks are meh. Does it add to the immersion? Yes. Love building my own estate with all the fixins. Could it have been more customizable and robust? Sure, but remember it only a $4 add on and gives you one less loading screen to access you're own house (versus entering a city, then entering your house). If you're a collector of stuff or alchemist these estates with their greenhouse, trophy room, armory and gardens area must have. Haven't tried the adoption thing and find it hard to believe its anything but tedious but whatevs...6/10 not bad, fairly priced and a definite buy if you still wander the realm of the Dovakiin Full Review »