User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 75
  2. Negative: 24 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2013
    5
    I did like the content added in this pack, but in the end it was too unfinished and added far too many glitches to be good. I was hoping patches would solve many of the issues, however, with BethSoft moving on to 'newer projects', it's clear that won't be happening, so I am forced to render my judgement.
  2. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    Hearthfire is relatively up front about what it intends to do and how it intends to do it. Point blank and period, it's about giving the player the chance to put together a home of his or her own, customized to match individual preference. On the positive side, it does enable one to create a home that feels more your own than any other you can buy in the game. You are given options on how the house is to be built and what is to go inside. And, if you are so inclined, you can build your house largely without expense; it's possible to gather and make the necessary components yourself (more on that in a tick). Now, on the flip side, the negatives. First, there are a lot of glitches. Little bugs that should be squished during the next update, but it's a little unnerving that Bethesda QA let so many errors slip through. One such bug prevents expense-free construction, even if you do everything right, which is frustrating to self-sufficient game styles. But bigger than that is the mutual-exclusion construction model -- if you want this room, then you can't have these two no matter what. Frankly, for the size house you're putting together, being limited to three wings without any possible compromise seems like an artificial limit. Realistically, I can see limiting buildings to three wings and two towers. There are also precious few options beyond "do you want this or not?" You get no say in what furniture is installed or where, just whether you want to use the offerings hard-coded into the system, there are no aesthetic options, either interior or exterior. In short, there's very little flexibility. Options are the key in add-ons like this, and Hearthfire has enough to make it worth buying, but not nearly enough to make it a 10. Add in the bugs, and 7-8 is a reasonable (possibly slightly generous) score. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    Hearthfire was a wonderful, low key addition to a game where you sometimes felt the need to just get away from it all. I loved the drafting and building process and enjoyed the challenge of trying to collect enough resources to get everything done, it turned every dungeon crawl into a treasure hunt. At the end of hard day of adventuring, it was nice to come home, drop off my stuff, and indulge in a fantasy where I am father and husband and handyman. I am a Father and Husband, the handyman part is the fantasy, and maybe that's why I enjoyed this expansion so much. Expand
  4. Sep 8, 2012
    4
    nothing mods can't do, and if you're into mods, you have a PC. There's no reason why this DLC should exist. The game is fine as it is, and this is simply not even worth considering, I guess the intention of Bethesda was good, but this is simply not worth the time
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Take Minecraft, mix it with Skyrim and water the whole thing down and you'll get Hearthfire. It doesn't offer as much customization as I thought it would, though creating your own house and designing it as you see fit is fairly fun. After building your first house, though, building the rest just feels like manual labor.

    Overall, not worth the price tag, but a nice diversion from the
    action in the rest of the game. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    Well so far everything Skyrim and Dawnguard cannot even come close to how down right garbage this expansion was. When I first thought of building my house and having children. I was like "YES! now I can build my evil wizard tower!" I than load up the game to find out just how limited you are. You get to choose the location, and the North, West, and East parts of the house. And you are stuck with a cottage. So no wizard tower for me. And to top that there is no choice of design in the furniture. It is simple and boring. So I was like "Forget building a house!" So I decided to adopt some children and have them live in one of my existing houses. But guess what, there are no Khajiit children! So I can only have human children and I am a freaking Khajiit. Not a Nord, Redguard, Imperial or Breton. This expansion is a slap to the face to all Elder Scroll fans. It is not worth $5 or any money at all. This should have been free. Because I can go out and get a mod FOR FREE! So far Bethesda has completely disappointed me with DLC and Skyrim itself. Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    7
    This is a really fun add-on, and while I can't consciously give it above a 7, it DOES deserve a positive review. Skyrim takes the "really live in this world" thing that the Elder Scrolls have been bringing us and really immerses you, and Hearthfire does a great job of that! You don't like a city life? Well, go make your own house! That is awesome to me, and fun. The customizing is pretty good, some bugginess, but not too much, and the detail is great. I really like each plot having it's own special thingy, like a fishery or beehive. That was really neat to discover. Plus, it's fun to "come home" to a couple of kids, a wife, and sit down to a dinner you cook in game. There isn't much to it other than this, but it's neat enough to warrant a purchase! Expand
  8. Sep 6, 2012
    4
    State ancora vagando per le terre dei Nord oppure avete completato tutto quello che il gioco aveva da offrire e volete una buona scusa per rimettere Skyrim nella vostra 360? Eccovi un nuovo DLC in esclusiva, almeno per il momento, per la console Microsoft.


    L'espansione parte come molte delle missioni originali del gioco: camminando per le strade di una città qualsiasi, un
    messaggero vi lascierà una missiva, dandovi una scusa per fare visita all'orfanotrofio. Qua avrete la possibilità di adottare un bambino ovviamente, ma dove metterlo? Bè qua arriva il lato "Minecraftiano" del DLC: avrete adesso la possibilità di costruire da zero la vostra casa dei sogni, con tanto di arredamenti, stalla, orto etc. etc. Il terreno da costruire vi costerà 5000 monete d'oro e per iniziare avrete qualche materiale grezzo da poter plasmare.

    Ferro, legname, pietra, paglia, conundrum e così via: con queste materie e il vostro banco da lavoro potrete creare tutto quello che volete. O meglio, quasi tutto: gli oggetti da creare sono veramente molti ma sono tutti già presenti nell'editor di gioco. Non potrete dare sfogo alla vostra fantasia per creare un oggetto che vi renderà delle icone del design di Skyrim nè potrete scegliere la collocazione delle cose. Tutto quello che costruirete si posizionerà magicamente al suo posto, come deciso dai programmatori Bethesda. La cosa lascia un po' l'amaro in bocca anche perchè l'unica cosa che possiamo fare è recuperare le materie, dovendone comprare la maggior parte, e basta. Dare ai giocatori qualche variabile sulla costruzione sarebbe stata un'aggiunta gradevole, e aggiungerei quasi obbligata. La volontà da parte di Bethesda di creare un DLC per "sviluppare" la parte sociale del proprio alter-ego sembra, così com'è, una forzatura bella e buona. Non c'è un vero e proprio motivo per mettersi a creare una casa quando in ogni città ce n'è una disponibile all'acquisto praticamente identica. L'espansione oltretutto non aggiunge una virgola alla storia e tutto quello che vi ritroverete a fare sarà viaggiare dal vostro appezzamento di terreno al più vicino emporio per comprare quello che vi serve. Stop.




    Il DLC è venduto a 400 MSP che al cambio diventano 5
    Expand
  9. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This DLC is well worth £3.50 but perhaps not as good as i was expecting. With this DLC i was expecting a bit more customisation with your house. however introducing three plots of land to choose from the add on kept me interested.
  10. Apr 16, 2013
    6
    Just adds what should have been in Skyrim from the beginning, they could just patched it instead, and it adds more glitches than before. It doesn't ruin the game experience though, and that's good enough for me.
  11. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    I would like to enjoy this DLC more, but it is marred with glitches. So far I've only been able to access one plot of land to build on from the Jarl of Morthal. I have traveled to the two others, Dawnstar, and Falkreath several times, but the courier has yet to arrive. Moreover, It does not have as much freedom of creation as I expected. There is only one building style for your manor; I would like my three homes' facades at least to look different from one another. Further, your home is built in a fixed location, as well as the decor. I would have rated this DLC higher, had I been able to enjoy it properly, because for the most part it is cool. But Hearthfire deserves a 6 (perhaps even lower) because of what a crappy job Bethesda did with all of the glitches, AT LEAST MAKE IT PLAYABLE! Further, if I was a PS3 owner, I would certainly feel betrayed. Expand
  12. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    I found this DLC to be fantastic. It just added to the atmosphere of the game which is great. Great immersion and I actually enjoyed this more than dawnguard. Heres hoping for a shivering isles like expansion.
  13. Sep 14, 2012
    7
    I play Skyrim on the Xbox360 and I've been waiting for an add-on like this for a very long time, I understand why a pc user wouldn'tt like this dlc because they have mods where you can get bigger houses with more content - but for the Xbox360 this is great, you can customise your very own house! and adopt children so for a role-player like me this game is perfect. I have to admit though walking around looking for people who can offer wood and other items for your house is annoying unless you have a lot of gold. But it's great being able to have a real home all to your self in this amazing game. Collapse
  14. Oct 18, 2013
    0
    Gay marriage is one thing but same sex couples adopting the children is absolutely horrifying. This was going to be in the base game but they removed it because people objected. They were afraid of reduced sales. Then they release this DLC.

    You might argue, that orphanages today will let singles and gays adopt but that does not make it right. It is a corruption at high levels that has
    allowed this. Even though most people objected, they still went ahead with it. They will bang on "its the 21 century and get with the program". Or scream about their RIGHT to adopt based on equality, but what about the RIGHTS of the child? Its the wrong environment to raise a child.

    I suppose its in the game to fool youngsters or weak-minded into thinking it perfectly normal. Social engineering has oiled its way into gaming and poisoning many games with this trash. Buyers had better be aware of it. SHAME ON YOU. BETHESDA, SHAME ON YOU.
    Expand
  15. Sep 4, 2012
    5
    1) It's apparently acceptable for Bethesda to make console players pay for a dumbed-down creation kit, which is free and much more feature-ladden on PC. 2) You can't even share your own creations. 3) Bethesda laughs all the way to the bank.
  16. Jan 10, 2013
    9
    Strangely Addictive.

    I get that this DLC isn't action packed or doesn't really add any "adventure" to the Skyrim experience, but if you are a fan of this enormous RPG you should love this add-on too.

    After completing all of the quests my warrior was ready to settle down and build him a house. I love the fact I can store everything and display it in my own Armory. After all that hard
    work it's nice to see those weapons and armor you worked so hard to obtain on display for all to see.

    I would give it a 10 if not for a few minor bugs. However, this add-on is affordable and a lot of fun if you are like me and have a need to organize all your loot.
    Expand
  17. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    Hearthfire isn't really a DLC,its more a little Plugin.People who think they've seen everything in Skyrim and are bored,can get a few Hours of Fun with this DLC Plugin,but don't expect too much.For its low price of 5 Dollars Euros ,it doesn't offer Content like in Dawnguard or Dragonborn.But if you enjoyed playing Skyrim,and feel bored now,you can get a few more hours of fun...
  18. Sep 5, 2012
    3
    Okay, I just made an account here, specifically to express my opinion on this DLC. First, PC-players should steer clear. This DLC does not add anything that is not already available through plug-ins made by other players.
    As for XBOX360 owners, I reckon that even a big Skyrim fan might be disappointed by this DLC. The house building mechanic is fun and such, but the customizability is
    exaggerated in the trailer, it's actually quite limited. As far as I am concerned, this DLC does not live up to my expectations for it, just like Dawnguard has been a disappointment for most. Seriously Bethesda, I thought you were going for DLC-content that actually adds something to the game, instead of a vampire chicken monster and SimSkyrim. Now stop kidding and make something that really adds to the game. Sincerely, a TES fan. Expand
  19. Sep 6, 2012
    6
    Does it add to the game play? Not really...Bandit/Kidnapper/Troll attacks are meh. Does it add to the immersion? Yes. Love building my own estate with all the fixins. Could it have been more customizable and robust? Sure, but remember it only a $4 add on and gives you one less loading screen to access you're own house (versus entering a city, then entering your house). If you're a collector of stuff or alchemist these estates with their greenhouse, trophy room, armory and gardens area must have. Haven't tried the adoption thing and find it hard to believe its anything but tedious but whatevs...6/10 not bad, fairly priced and a definite buy if you still wander the realm of the Dovakiin Expand
  20. Sep 8, 2012
    4
    I'm a huge TES fan, I loved Skyrim, I even liked Dawnguard (yeah, it wasnt' as great as I thought it would, but nonetheless it brought me several hours of entertainment), but Hearthfire just isn't worth it. I expected a deal more customization (on the trailer it seemed you could do an awful lot more of stuff). I would say it is a complete disappointment and something unthinkable from Bethesda, but then I remembered the fortress things DLCs for Oblivion and guess you could call Hearthfire something akin to them. I guess not everything are Shivering Isles. The 5$ price is OK, but only if you are still playing Skyrim for itself, it will add some depth, albeit not much, and Hearthfire homes are better than the ones you could buy being thane at the big cities. Expand
  21. Sep 14, 2012
    0
    I play Skyrim on the Xbox360 and I've been waiting for an add-on like this for a very long time, I understand why a pc user wouldn'tt like this dlc because they have mods where you can get bigger houses with more content - but for the Xbox360 this is great, you can customise your very own house! and adopt children so for a role-player like me this game is perfect. I have to admit though walking around looking for people who can offer wood and other items for your house is annoying unless you have a lot of gold. But it's great being able to have a real home all to your self in this amazing game. Collapse
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    85
    Considering that this is a smaller piece of Skyrim DLC than Dawnguard, though, that nitpick doesn’t deter me from saying that Hearthfire is worth the price of admission. Customizing a home and populating it with kids fits perfectly into the premise of making the Skyrim world your own, and it’s certainly provided some fun add-on entertainment.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    50
    Overall, the entire endeavor is extremely costly and a good chunk of playtime is necessary to amass enough money to trick out the small mansion after blowing thousands on the initial structure. Yet this is perhaps the true quality of Hearthfire-the ability to simply get players back into the world of Skyrim after abandoning it after exhausting the main quest or slaying through the Dawnguard expansion.
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    62
    Hearthfire is a cosmetic add-on that enables you to build three houses and adopt children. Although relatively cheap (400 MSP), there is no story to speak of and the house building options are very limited. [Oct 2012]