Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With this add-on to The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, you may purchase land and build your home from the ground up - from a simple one-room cottage to a sprawling compound complete with an armory, alchemy laboratory, stable, garden, and more. Use all-new tools like the drafting table and carpenter’s workbench to transform quarried stone, clay, and sawn logs into structures and furnishings. Even transform your house into a home by adopting children. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Feb 25, 2013
    85
    Considering that this is a smaller piece of Skyrim DLC than Dawnguard, though, that nitpick doesn’t deter me from saying that Hearthfire is worth the price of admission. Customizing a home and populating it with kids fits perfectly into the premise of making the Skyrim world your own, and it’s certainly provided some fun add-on entertainment.
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    68
    Hearthfire, though relatively inexpensive, isn't a DLC I can recommend for everyone. More casual Skyrim players (if those exist) may not enjoy the low-key vibe of this new content, and even the most civic-minded player might find the lack of real options in construction too limited to be much fun.
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    Hearthfire does have a couple fun new features to play around with, but home building and child rearing just isn't interactive enough to feel genuinely personal.
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    50
    Hearthfire is too superficial and linear to fit in a deep and complex game as Skyrim. And it's a shame, because the personal life of a Dragonborn would have been a great addition to this game.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    50
    Overall, the entire endeavor is extremely costly and a good chunk of playtime is necessary to amass enough money to trick out the small mansion after blowing thousands on the initial structure. Yet this is perhaps the true quality of Hearthfire-the ability to simply get players back into the world of Skyrim after abandoning it after exhausting the main quest or slaying through the Dawnguard expansion.
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    50
    Hearthfire offers you a great home for your stuff, but won't allow you to customize it in any meaningful way.
  7. Sep 7, 2012
    40
    Despite the whopping size of your new stately mansions, Hearthfire feels cold and empty.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    I found this DLC to be fantastic. It just added to the atmosphere of the game which is great. Great immersion and I actually enjoyed this more than dawnguard. Heres hoping for a shivering isles like expansion. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This DLC is well worth £3.50 but perhaps not as good as i was expecting. With this DLC i was expecting a bit more customisation with your house. however introducing three plots of land to choose from the add on kept me interested. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    Hearthfire was a wonderful, low key addition to a game where you sometimes felt the need to just get away from it all. I loved the drafting and building process and enjoyed the challenge of trying to collect enough resources to get everything done, it turned every dungeon crawl into a treasure hunt. At the end of hard day of adventuring, it was nice to come home, drop off my stuff, and indulge in a fantasy where I am father and husband and handyman. I am a Father and Husband, the handyman part is the fantasy, and maybe that's why I enjoyed this expansion so much. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    Hearthfire isn't really a DLC,its more a little Plugin.People who think they've seen everything in Skyrim and are bored,can get a few Hours of Fun with this DLC Plugin,but don't expect too much.For its low price of 5 Dollars Euros ,it doesn't offer Content like in Dawnguard or Dragonborn.But if you enjoyed playing Skyrim,and feel bored now,you can get a few more hours of fun... Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    5
    1) It's apparently acceptable for Bethesda to make console players pay for a dumbed-down creation kit, which is free and much more feature-ladden on PC. 2) You can't even share your own creations. 3) Bethesda laughs all the way to the bank. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2012
    4
    I'm a huge TES fan, I loved Skyrim, I even liked Dawnguard (yeah, it wasnt' as great as I thought it would, but nonetheless it brought me several hours of entertainment), but Hearthfire just isn't worth it. I expected a deal more customization (on the trailer it seemed you could do an awful lot more of stuff). I would say it is a complete disappointment and something unthinkable from Bethesda, but then I remembered the fortress things DLCs for Oblivion and guess you could call Hearthfire something akin to them. I guess not everything are Shivering Isles. The 5$ price is OK, but only if you are still playing Skyrim for itself, it will add some depth, albeit not much, and Hearthfire homes are better than the ones you could buy being thane at the big cities. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    Well so far everything Skyrim and Dawnguard cannot even come close to how down right garbage this expansion was. When I first thought of building my house and having children. I was like "YES! now I can build my evil wizard tower!" I than load up the game to find out just how limited you are. You get to choose the location, and the North, West, and East parts of the house. And you are stuck with a cottage. So no wizard tower for me. And to top that there is no choice of design in the furniture. It is simple and boring. So I was like "Forget building a house!" So I decided to adopt some children and have them live in one of my existing houses. But guess what, there are no Khajiit children! So I can only have human children and I am a freaking Khajiit. Not a Nord, Redguard, Imperial or Breton. This expansion is a slap to the face to all Elder Scroll fans. It is not worth $5 or any money at all. This should have been free. Because I can go out and get a mod FOR FREE! So far Bethesda has completely disappointed me with DLC and Skyrim itself. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews