User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3139 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm 24 hours into the game and so far it absolutely blown me away. I can easily see me beating the 120 odd hours i put into Oblivion. I've come across a few graphically glitches and been stuck in the middle of a mountain once but in a world this sized its excusable.
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The history and lore in this game is like no other, dragons make you poop your pants, Combat is very tense and exciting, dungeons have a human touch to them, graphics are eye candy, and the quests and amount of content is insane. I enjoy the bugs and glitches and i frequently laugh at silly things like placing a bucket on the head of a npc so that they don't see you steal there stuff in front of there face or being sent a mile in the air from a giant. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    To say Skyrim is a massive game would be an understatement. I have put around 50 hours into this fantastic piece of work and I feel i have only scratched the surface of this wonderfully crafted world. Bethesda was able to take the best components of Oblivion and Fallout 3 and combine them into one while leaving most(but not all) annoyances at the door. The visuals are outstanding, the amount of content can feel overwhelming at times but in a good way, the combat is much impoved over Oblivions clunky swinging at air style. Magic spells also perform much better, you can be shooting an enemy with flames from one hand while attacking them with your sword from the other at the same time. Any combination of two you can think of is possible and the favorites menu lets you swap fighting styles with ease any time you want. Skyrim isnt without flaws though the load times are often and sometimes long and enemies may float in the air from time to time but these minor bugs dont bring the game down enough to matter. If your looking for a game to occupy your time for the next say 100's of hours? Skyrim is your pick, distinguishing Skyrims world from your own may become a problem, but dont say i didnt warn you. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This truly is a great game,but you have to look past some flaws. the game suffers from long load times, very long in some cases. Animations are great, when they work, they often get spoiled by some bad AI( which thankfully does not translate to bad enemy AI, but it also needs some fine tuning). Auto saving becomes an issue when it doesn't save enough and if you die you are sent back to the beginning of a 5-10 minute trip. Textures aren't high quality when close up by any means. render distances get annoying when in an open area and being able to see grass "grow" ahead of you. Also some small issues, like mammoths flying in the air, and 3rd person issues (like usual). But don't let those deter you from this amazing game with very fun gameplay. The combat is very nice and actually provides excitement when fighting a dragon or boss and gives you a sense of accomplishment when you have won. The death animations the play are very nice and gruesome, though they often "break". The game, while frustrating, manages to be very rewarding. Somehow even after dying 2 times on an already 10 minute trip, once you reach your destination, the game still manages to feel rewarding. The plot, while at time generic, can add a fun "backbone" to the game. The music is beautifully compose and works well with the mood of the story. The RPG element takes a que from some complaints of Oblivion and offers a very dynamic experience. Every weapon/armor/ability/etc. you use will level up independently, once enough of those levels are reached then you level up giving you the choice to increase your magica/health/stamina. Also with every level up you unlock more points to spend on your "skill trees/constellation" these are specific to individual abilities and give you various advantages. This is a very simple mechanic and makes it so you don't have to spend hours buried in menus. Overall this game gets a 9 because its cons add up to a sometimes frustrating, but very fun experience. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    In one word: superb:)
    Yes, the game has it's bugs, glitches and somewhat low resolution textures (xbox360)... after my game started I was bitterly disappointed with graphics, until the gaming actually started:) and suddenly they didn't matter anymore:)
    If sandbox, rpg, free-rein games are your cup of tea, if you dream about killing dragons, swinging massive 2handers or burning your
    enemies with flames, lightning or ice this IS game you were waiting for...
    Amazing
    Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    absolutely amazing..the game is massive in size , i spent a week not following the story line and doing my own thing an still not reached the edges of the world .. when i go up the snowy mountains i actually feel cold lol
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece. The absolute pinnacle of gaming, allowing unparalleled freedom, amazing storytelling, and fantastic game play. All games should strive to be this immersive.
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim will have you hacking away the hours of your day with a sleek, brilliantly designed blade crafted in the legendary forge that is the Bethesda studio. As with the previous instalments of the Elder Scrolls series, Skyrim exceeds all expectations and never ceases to amaze with itâ
  9. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    This game is very hard to review, because if i were to review it part by part instead of as a whole i think i would get a bad review. Its a game with tons of glitches but if you can look passed them you will find a masterpiece of a game. I have played it like 30 hrs and have done absolutely nothing other than explore lol. This game also has some of the best music iv hard in a video game , and it aint hard on the eyes either . Fighting up close is improved but it still feels weird but this game is more about exploration. Its not perfect but do yourselves a favor and give a shot, you wont be disappointed Expand
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. And this is coming from someone who didn't like Oblivion much (probably because I played Fallout 3 first). The thing is, this game has everything going for it. The graphics and textures are amazing, the soundtrack is great, the gameplay is fun, and the story is engrossing. Combine these features with the limitless ways to play Skyrim, and you have an amazingly addictive game. There's just so much to see and do in this game. Want to be a mage? Got it. How about a warrior? Got it. How about a mage/warrior/archer/necromancer/potion-making blacksmith? Yeah, you get the picture. And the combat/differentiation in classes is very balanced as well, there's no one obvious style to use since they are all good. There are 10 races to choose from at the beginning as well, but fear not, as your choice does not effect the type of character you become, only your actions do that. Great game, overall. Expand
  11. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    I pre-ordered this game no daring to expect what I had heard. Several big titles in the past few years have been a huge letdown simply because of hype, and from my experience, not a single one lived up to it completely. At first, when the game started, the graphics seemed odd, and I dreaded, for a fleeting few minutes, that I was right, this game is overhyped and won't be as good as the past Elder Scrolls titles. But I gritted my teeth and pressed onward, and after the intro my complete immersion began. I immediately set off in the opposite direction of where it told me to go. I happened upon a butterfly, and decided to fire off a spell at it, it fell to the ground, clearly dead. I blinked, never before had aesthetic effects like butterflies been intractable in this manner, I found I was able to loot it, which again is a major thing (to me) for a game this immense to have. 40 hours later I hadn't looked back, this game completely consumed my free time. The story was amazing, the scope is so vast it is hard to grasp. When I tore away from the game to do a paper, I realized, I wasn't even 1/6 of the way through the game. And this is one character, in a game with so many unique play-styles and races.
    Worth mentioning is the random encounters. When I played the Fallout games I was very very happy with the random encounters, and in sky-rim, I won't spoil anything, but they get better and better, sometimes resulting in sequences of action that are non scripted, but resemble a multi million dollar blockbuster film. These events can do anything from giving you an item, or literally almost destroying a towns population.
    The attention to the natural scape is the first i've actually noticed in a game without someone else commenting on it. The jagged mountains jut haphazardly into the sky, sometimes draped in clouds or hidden by snow. And the best part? You can climb all of it. In conclusion many features from Oblivion have been removed, but the additions far outweigh the removals. What you are getting here is not only the game of the year, but perhaps the best game for many years to come, offering a completionist an Everest of a mountain to climb. Oh, and FINALLY, after all of Bethesda's games, STEALTH FINALLY IS USEABLE.
    Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    The Good: I love this game, lots of fun, so much to do, I found myself running around the forest for hours just looking for animals to skin.
    The Bad: I love this game, lots of fun, so much to do, I found myself running around the forest for hours just looking for animals to skin.
    But in all seriousness the game is lovely but there are some clipping and glitches that usually end with me
    dyeing and becoming aggregated. Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Best RPG I've ever played. I try to never over-hype games, because in doing so, the game might not live up to your expectations... I was clearly wrong, as up until the very last night I bought the game, I didn't give a crap about buying this, then it hit me. This game turned out to be better than I could ever imagine, just filled with endless content and mysteries. You've never explored or done everything. Though, the game does have its problems... I get annoyed at how I can't see where my follower is on my map at all times, and how when he/she dies, it doesn't notify me. I've also got blocked from continuing quests briefly, but somehow I always found a roundabout to continue it if the AI messed up, but still makes me very nervous.

    The quality 'and' quantity you get for only $60 overrules the bugs, every single one of 'em. This game gets a 10/10, and deserves nothing but a 10.
    Expand
  14. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing scope that pushes every interactive boundary. There is a reason that Bethesda owns the RPG genre. They have allowed users the flexibility to pursue game quests or simply wander the countryside to experience the sheer size of the rich world they created and interact with the creatures who inhabit it. Each new TES chapter advances the genre. It is understandable that The Elder Scrolls has become the reference work against which all others are measured. Kudos to Bethesda. Expand
  15. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I'm getting to play it slowly too because of work and other such comitments which just draws out this lucious experience. I've still not even scraped the main quest yet and it's already turning out to be every bit as awesome as Oblivions. The lore, the world, everything about the vibe of this game is excellent, with the Norse influences being a great backdrop. With civil war, dragons and a revamped magic system this game is just crazy good. It's just art as a video game, simple as. I'm not saying that it doesn't have it's flaws, but it's a masterpiece because of the care that was taken in the minutiae of the world. A great looking menu system, a familar UI and of course the ability to sprint. It's excellent. I love the smithing and enchanting, it's great. It's a real wonderful piece of gaming that just totally snapped all my expectations. Love it. Expand
  16. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    If you like open ended RPGs, that involve depth, backstory, exploring, dungeon-crawling, as well as bartering and wandering through towns, forests and mountainous caves, Skyrim reaches the peak. Expect to spend no less than 40 hours playing this game and you will have only barely just scratched the surface. Skyrim creates a world so palpable and full of interesting content that it puts other open world games to shame. There is a ton of variety in the quests, the voice acting is great and the graphics reflect the cold harsh yet beautiful environment of the northern parts of Tamriel. I can't recommend or gush about this game enough. It's certainly the best of its kind to come out, and I continue to expect great things from its developer down the line. It's worth every cent of the 60 dollar price tag - if you devote any amount of time to it, you *will* get more than your money's worth in quality entertainment. Expand
  17. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Ridiculously good. Can't wait for the DLC in the future, I spent a thoroughly unhealthy week long streak of Skyrim, and I want more. Not to say there was a lack of anything, I just splurged. Skyrim: Gamer Coke.
  18. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing GOTY. It made me **** This is better than Oblivion and it is the best RPG i have played, it does have some glitched but those glitched willl be patched soon. Expand
  19. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I am reviewing Skyrim on the Xbox 360 attached with composite cables to a 720p TV.
    The game was a little too dark on the screen at first, but I simply when to settings and increased the brightness (and increase the default difficulty, novice was a little too easy). Now the Game is very enjoyable experience!!! I can't keep my children off of it and we will frequently even enjoy watch the
    others play (which I consider a rarity in single player non-wii games). My daughter is very much enjoying her High Elf fighter.
    The game has virtually endless possibilities and each one of them enjoyable.
    Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    One of the best games have played in a while. There is always something to do, and the story lines are interesting. I've run into a few problems where the framerate would drop in a dungeon, but other than that the game as run well on the Xbox360. Some of my favorite moments are when the radiant AI does something totally unexpected. At one city a dragon attacked me on the way to a quest I was undertaking. The dragon strafed me, and hit some guards and horses at the stables. Next thing I know the horses aer attacking the dragon, drawing attention away from me and allowing me an easy kill. I also had a great experience in a dungeon that I was not leveled up high enough to really be in. by making clever use of some of my powers, I was able to get myself into some places where the bosses couldn't hurt me, so I could take them down. Felt pretty good to "out clever" the game a bit.

    Overall, definitely recommended.
    Expand
  21. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is one of those games that remains unforgettable through out the ages of gaming.The content that is offered in this game is over the top.It literally takes your life time for dozens hours to live in another world filled with amazing environment and breathtaking visuals.The story is very good but its not all,you have plenty of side quests to take that even influence the land of skyrim.Bethesda also streamlined the skill system and made an easier menu.This really helps people who are not familiar with rpgs and it didn't affect me at all,it actually helped me alot.Overall Skyrim is a must-buy and it will not dissapoint you.If you are looking for a non linear adventure or a breathing world filled with excitement.Then i say Skyrim is FOR you.This is definitely game of the year. Expand
  22. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is awesome all those people that gave it negative scores are just pricks with a stick up there ass. winnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn Expand
  23. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is most likely the best game of 2011. If you have ever played and Elder Scrolls game, or like RPGs in general, you'll love this game. Bethesda has improved everything from their previous game (Oblivion) and made it ten times better here. The new duel wielding works fantastic with the game making battles with enemies differ from making a quick kill, to dealing the most amount of damage possible. Also, with the content provided, this game will keep you busy for weeks on end, maybe months! Also, with the download-able content most likely coming out later, the possibilities for this game are inconceivable! Personally, I give this game a 10/10, but as of now there are a few graphical bugs (Ex: water not appearing in certain parts, see through parts of walls), along with some other very minor bugs that honestly don't effect the game at all, and will most likely be fixed with a future patch. All in all, if you are looking for a game to keep you busy, and have almost endless entertainment, then you definitely need to consider purchasing this game. Expand
  24. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    An absolutely amazing game! Has incredible graphics, excellent atmosphere, beautiful music and perfect gameplay! All shortcommings and glitches are massively overshadowed by what the game has to offer.
  25. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Never before have I used the adjective "majestic" to describe a game before. As someone who never played an Elder Scrolls game before, let this be a word to others who haven't - it is on par with the greatest video games ever made. All gameplay and design aside, the vast overworld of Skyrim simply makes you feel; it has an undeniable presence and beauty. Truly a masterpiece, it deserves the massive amounts of praise it has garnered. Expand
  26. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Can't begin to describe how big, immersive, beautiful, crazy and just in general how awesome this game is. If a game can capture not just your attention but your imagination it is well deserving of its score and praise of not more. The only thing I can say is.........listen to the music and look at the landscape......and try to tell me that this game isn't worth playing.
  27. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. TES - is a world, which create a ethernal hope in our souls. Soundtrack, gameplay, history - all of this - this is Morrowind 2! All of fans of the TES - this is our game. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The biggest problem with Skyrim is that I can't put if down once I start playing on it. One more shop to sell another weapon. One more mission started because a courier brought me the location of another dragon shout. One more fight because I just got pounced on by a lurking wolf. 6 hours later after you initially intended to stop playing you'll be trying to find a peaceful save spot from where you can restart the next time you play only to find yourself getting caught in a sudden attack from a dragon costing you another ten minutes of your life. A real productivity killer but a brilliant game. It has it's faults but they just make me chuckle. I've got 4 dead dragons littering riverwood and every time I fast travel there the bones are just being put into place a bit like a surprise birthday party that you arrived too early to where things weren't quite ready. The guards voices are brilliant too. The accents sounds like a Dutch Arnie it's quality listening to it. Best value for money game ever. Expand
  29. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I have never played a better game. This games is as far ahead of other games now as OoT was in 1998. Just a masterpiece. The only flaw is the hours you'll end up playing this instead of working/studying/living. GOTY for sure.
  30. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    THIS GAME IS AMAZING! The graphics are just pure awesome! The story line is so much better then Oblivion. The landscape is very nice looking. There is a lot of new wild life to! I've played this for over 10 hours so far! It is a very addictive game!! I would recommend this game to anyone!!!!
  31. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    this game is friggin AWESOME the graphics are great theres SO MANY SIDEQUESTS the world is decent size but absolutely packed with awesome **** THERES DRAGONS quick and easy interface/favs menu only reason i rated this 9 was cuz the melee combat is repetitive (magic is super fun tho) and the dungeons all look the same EPIIICCC GAAAMEEE HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!
  32. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is unbelievable. I've played a lot of good games, but this one might triumph them all. I'm 25 hours into this game, and I still don't feel like I've scratched the surface. The presentation is top notch. The graphics are excellent. The soundtrack is a piece of art, especially when fighting a dragon or finding a new Shout to learn. The world is HUGE. I don't know how many times I've intended to do a certain quest but get distracted by a dragon's nest, a dungeon, a new town, giants, or mammoths. Bethesda has created a masterpiece with this game. The story will keep you interested. The only gripe I have with this game is a few bugs here and there, but it does not hinder the game in any way. This game is a true 10/10. Expand
  33. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Possibly one of the best games of the year. This RPG is one for everyone. I had never played an Elder Scrolls game before, tried Fallout 3 but didn't like it too much. But Skyrim got me very excited. "See that mountain over there? Yeah, you can climb that mountain." That's one of the main attractions to the game - it's so large and full of adventure. The graphics are very good for a game so large and the dragon encounters are very fun. They appear randomly, which can shock you when they appear when you're not prepared, like they did for me in the middle of a city. But they all do essentially the same thing and can become repetitive. There are bugs but it doesn't affect the overall experience, most of them are good to laugh at. The bugs are forgivable mainly because they are to be expected in such a big game. But Bethesda have already patched the PS3 version, with a X-Box and PC patch coming tomorrow. I think most people will enjoy this game because you can play it anyway you want. Prefer to be stealthy and love Assassins Creed? Then go for archery and become a Dark Elf. Love melee and hate magic? Try the Khajiit or an Ork. Nobodies experience will be the same, rather like Minecraft. I encourage everyone to pick up this game. Expand
  34. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    my adventures in tamriel began in 2004 with morrowind, the game was an excellent RPG but too hardcore for the uncommitted gamer, oblivion was vast, fun, easily accessible, and up until recently, was my favourite Elder Scrolls game, but over all rather generic. but Skyrim. skyrim is everything oblivion and morrowind wanted to be. for me, it is role playing perfection, compelling visuals and almost total freedom. not every story told in skyrim is the most interesting, but skyrim's selling point is the sheer freedom the game affords the player. if i feel like it, i CAN go off the beaten path, if i see a character i CAN kill him/her, if i decide to betray someone, it may come back to bite me in the ass! you just don't know, and thats the reason why i play skyrim, freedom. i have sink 50 hours into the game this week, and every minute of it has been purely enthralling, it just doesn't get boring! and not to mention the stunning visuals, the game has scale on its mind; not everything is pretty up close, but the detain achieved on this scale is a remarkable achievement, even on consoles. if your an elder scrolls veteran, or a COD noob, get this game, its everything you've ever wanted, plus more! it is a digital masterpiece Expand
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a masterpiece. I am a person who was prejudiced against this game from before iteven came out. I do not like any previous Bethesda games really, with the massive world, detailed RPG elements and lack of a solid storyline unattractive qualities in a game. Skyrim is different. Easily accessablle menus and systems make the game seem less daunting, while also providing more content than there was to be had in previous game. Gorgeous graphics (especially in the constellation skill building system- wow!) and an astouding attention to detail are but one reason to play the hell out of this thing. It is more additive than any shooter I have played (and I have burned hundreds of hours playing CoD games alone) with the mind-boggling number of quests and options for customization allowing the player to make their own Skyrim. If you want to only play the main storyline, you can, but I can assure you, you will be missing out. The greatest achievement here is the choice given to the player- you can explore the universe however and as extensively as you want. A barebones playthrough, or an every-nook-and-cranny approach (or anything in between) are equally possible and fun. To me, storyline is the most important part of games, and this game has a respectable plotline. While certainly not up there with the Bioware games (Mass Effect, KOTOR, check them out, they are amazing) the gameplay is more than enough to make this a splendid experience for anyone. The only reason I give this a 9 instead of a 10 is the occaisional glitches and bugs. This is unfortunately an issue, and you will sometimes get stuck in a corner or have some other problem, but it is extremely ppolished in comparison to previous games, particularly the laggy and bug-ridden Fallout New Vegas. No matter what your thoughts on previous Bethesda titles are, GET SKYRIM. No matter what games you like, GET SKYRIM. I promise you you will love this game to death, and you might well be playing it for that long too. Expand
  36. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    http://alexknows1229.blogspot.com/ amazing reviews on mw3, combat arm, and skyrim! just go to my blog and read what i have you wont be disappointed not even one bit
  37. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is easily one of the best games I have ever played. The combat is great- certainly a lot better than Oblivion's. The aesthetics are amazing. As is the soundtrack. You could play this game for hundreds of hours and have it still feel fresh when you start it up again.
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game must get GOTY. I have been playing this game for nearly 2 weeks and now and I am still finding new things to do even having completed 5 quest lines! I know that there have been some issues with installing the game and losing graphics but from what I've seen the graphics look amazing. The main quest line is somewhat shorter than I imagined but that doesn't matter because when you complete that you can just roam around freely doing as you wish. I have to admit that some of the quest lines in the game such as the "Thieves Guild" are a little bit too tedious for my liking because I feel they have cheaply extended the play time by making you do more minor quests then you should need to but I suppose it adds to the adventure in the game. The story of the game is very well set out and it is even more amazing that they have put so much effort into the side quests of the game. One that I was particularly impressed with is not even a quest but when you have killed all of the 8 dragon priests and you put their masks in the statue at "Labrynthian" I thought that was something that they didn't have to put in but the fact that they didn't cut any corners earns a lot of respect from me. I have played a lot of games this year and this is definitely my favourite so far. Expand
  39. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Massive map, engaging story, excellent game-play layout. Acceptable graphics. good controls for genre. buggy and frame rate issues. acceptable acting although repetitive at times. Very excellent open world wRPG. *(non-fanboy opinion) * although character development and menu's are simpleminded the game keeps the progressive character build alive with level up perks. frame rate and texture problems with noticeable game effecting bugs are present. repetitive but addicting combat/ quest layout. non-perfect game-play but hugely engaging and one of the best open world wRPG's to date. overall (9.0 out of 10) Expand
  40. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    perfect game love it. will play forever. being playing now for 12 hours and barely scratched the surface. The graphic are so beautiful. have never been so sucked into a game before like this. Hours just fly by without me realizing it.
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    By far this game is the best I have played. I usually can't play RPGs like this but this game blew me away when I played it. The only thing I wish this game had is co-op.
  42. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    There's nothing like getting rewarded for clearing out another bandits den. Or taking down a big meaty dragon. Skyrim impresses on all fronts, from the long draw distances to the NPCs. The new snow efect or the random thunderstorms that roll across the pain the graphics are top notch, sometimes forgetting your even playing a game! They completely redid the combat making it more fluent, Whether dual wielding, two hand sword, or the old fashion sword and board you can take the combat to anything however you like. Borrowing from Bioshocks awesome magic system, you can dual wield magic combing one spell to make it stronger or have two completely different spells to wreck havoc with. Either making armor and weapons or enchanting new pieces with skills, Buying houses or just going with old school dungeon diving theres always something to do. With nearly Hundred, Thats right HUNDREDS of hours of things to do Skyrim will be in our Xboxs, PS3, And PCs for a long time to come. Expand
  43. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is first time for playing the elder scroll games ..it's awesome...I feel my heart beats dynamically..This elder scroll :skyrim is a great masterpiece...GREAT.....GAREAT............GREAT..........
  44. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It is a rare occurece that I give a perfect 10 to a game in a review. However, Skyrim is deservingve played few games with the ability to grab my attention so quickly and hold it for such a long time (with the exception of Diablo 2, WoW and COD:WaW). Skyrim achieves this and then some. The environmentss are meticulously detailed and unbelievably immersive. From small fish, crabs and critters to giants, dragons and mammoths; there are so many diferent encounters to be had it is nearly overwhelming. This game has a mind blowing number of Quests, sidequests, achievments, goals and loot to strive for and complete. But what is great is that it is done so well and made to feel VERY natural in its design so as not to take away from the feeling and submersion of the player into the game world. The characters all feel very unique and are a vast improvement from the previous elderscrolls games. their facial expressions and movements are more natural looking and they actually have routines they follow throughout each day. Animals and creatures interact with one another. You will be walking through a mist covered bog and hear creeks and chirps of various animals or beasts and streaks of light will barely be breaking through the tree tops above. And as you walk through the environment you hear a noise and look over to see 3 wolves chasing down a deer. The same occurs on some of the roads, you may find yourself walking along a trail one momnet and when you look over you see 3 armored elves with a nordsman in bonds. Do you free him? Do you free him and give him a weapon or armor so that he can fight his captors? Or do you simply observe and allow him to go to his fate. The choice is yours and this is only a small sample of an insanely free and open world, where you can do anything and your choices have an immediate and a long term affect on the characters and world around you. The game causes you to actually weigh out the pros and cons of your decisions and think in a broader spectrum rather than looking only at what is directly infront of you. For example: In most games you see a man being attacked by an orc and you kill him and rescuse the man and you get some loot and some praise. In Skyrim a man i being attacked by an orc, but do you help and save the man when it could possibly cause the orcs to dislik you and then prevent you from gathering materials or quests from their lands in the future? Or do you help the man only to find out that he was a murderer and you just killed an orc father claiming retribution for the death of his family. Was the coin worth the weight of your decision on your concience? Was it the right choice? These are the types of decision and thinking that this game produces and it does it very well and at a steady rate. The pacing of the game is yours to set. You want to go in and bash everyone in the dungeon to death and then slay a dragon and then kill a king? Fine. You want to sneak in with an invisibility potion and slip a poison into the guards pocket and watch him from the shadows as he dies a slow death, attracting all the nearby guards with his cries of agony. Thus allowing you to snipe them with your poisoned arrows from a distane? Fine. You want to go farm and collect herms and minerals to produce various potions and poisons? Craft the finest armors and weapons in the land? Spend you days gather exotic foods to cook in the home you purchased in the nearby capital city? You can do all of this and more in this game and it is all presented in a clean and neat yet unbelievably free and chaotic package. Skyrim is definetly a gaming experience that I will never forget and will replay time and time again. Because no two adventure will EVER be the same. Expand
  45. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Now I honestly can say I don't give many 10's, I feel like writing a 10 means it is the epitome of gaming. But simply put, this game has so many more positives than negatives I fail to say it deserves even a 9. The glitches are preeminent yes, but given the vast world given to us it should be expected. Although, this game took many years to make, you feel like they had ample enough time to fix all glitches, but this is too brash of an assumption to expect coders to decode every code they happened to mess up. Simply put, the glitches don't even hinder the gameplay. In all actuality, it sometimes helps ease my tensions of trying to play this game on Master. The immaculate story is possibly not the most creative, but it definitely isn't unoriginal. The execution of the story line is what beholds this into a masterpiece, and you may already be aware of all the quests that are available to you at almost all times. Now, this is what I call a game that is truly worth $60. Expand
  46. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    People need to f*** off and stop giving this bad reviews just because the score is high and they don't like that. Grow the **** up it's a great game so it's getting great reviews. " Oh, but there are glitches and it freezes" Lets see you make a game world this big and and full of stuff and catch every damn bug in the game before it's released. "Oh they changed leveling system so now it isn't a true RPG" You @$$hole$ are never happy are you, leveling was to hard in Morrowind and Oblivion and now this is too easy and more like Fallout so its accessible to more people, you want a suck leveling system like Final Fantasy, GO PLAY FINAL FANTASY!!! But anyway Skyrim is a great game, especially if the 65+ hours I've played are anything to go by. Massive world with tons and tons of quests, throw in Dragons that can show up at any time, and some amazing combat and yuo have a game that deserves a 10. Expand
  47. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Every Elder scrolls game is better than the previous one, and this is not an exception, skyrim have everything you want and more, is a an exceptional masterpiece, say goodbye to real life.
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A Truely great game but i'n need of a bit of patching not a perfect 10 but close I have played this game for nearly 20 hours now and can't believe how little i have completed regards to content i'n game this is a game that should set an example and a standard for all games i'n is genre.
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    After coming off the the heels of the very successful "Fallout 3" Bethesda Studios has come back to their roots with the next installment of the Elder Scroll series in "The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim". Were to begin this game is almost the perfect games with beautiful graphics fun gameplay an interesting story and hundreds of hours of playability. But its not perfect to begin lets start with the graphics, there great, astonishing and lovely but like all open world RPGs there's always some form of framrate issues and texture pop ins and Skyrim is no exception. Gameplay wise Skrim is plain old fun. Whether it be slaying dragons hunting prey or living it up in the towns there's always something to do here. But to be a nitpicker I had very few issues were the game would jerk around during combat or even crash. Now like every RPG the main story is the most important part, but it really didnt feel like it. It feels like the kid in the back of the car hes there but there's other thing to pay attention to. If you to compare Skyrim to a cake the story would be the icing on it. Not to say that the story is bad (which it isn't) but there is so much to do you might not get to the story immediately. Like every games in the world there is audio and let me say its top of the line from the sounds of the environment, the voice acting, and the splendid soundtrack I have no major complaints what so ever. They only negative remark I will say about it it that characters tend to repeat lines a lot. Now for the final part of this analysis the replayability/ length. One can invest days upon weeks in this game its huge mind blowingly huge. You could be doing nothing but the main quest, or the guilds. Maybe you prefer roaming the world you can do that too. As of this time I'm currently 60+ hours in and have no meaning to stop now. Do yourself a favor pick up this game if you and RPG fan you wont regret it I give this game a 9.75/10.
    (I'm no literary genius so please ignore any errors.)
    Expand
  50. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    OVERVIEW: Skyrim follows through on one of Bethesda's "Massive RPG's" and it is just that, a game that will keep you busy, which is a good thing.

    PROS: With hundreds of unique quests, a huge map, and a satisfying storyline, this game will take a long time to complete and then be completely different the next play through, which is a great thing to have. Flexibility of this game is very
    appealing, how you can do anything you want and how every decision is a factor into the world, whether it be going to jail for stealing or an invitation to the Dark Brotherhood with your exceptional assassin skills. With so many cities, enemies, and dungeons, the great graphics and immense detail make the game that much better. The main storyline is somewhat intriguing but what surprised me was the amount of side stories there were; other quests are not just meaningless and random, they offer some very cool and interactive stories that you can't turn down.

    CONS: Being that it carries the same style of gameplay as other Bethesda games, the combat is a little dry. Although their is a lot of variety in the type of weapon, each individual weapon acts the same as the others in its subcategory. And, of course, the big issue is the bugs. The bugs are disturbing and can ruin a moment, like falling under the map or screen freezes (both frustrating events have happened to me a few times). However, this is being patch so hopefully the problem will go away.

    GRAPHICS: 9 out of 10; Amazing scenery and world is full of detail, however animations and voice overs need some work.
    STORYLINE: 9 out of 10; Main plot is not as exciting as the numerous side stories, but it is much longer.
    GAMEPLAY: 8 out of 10; Fun with so many styles and tactics to use, but gets repetitive.
    LASTING APPEAL: 10 out of 10; This is what this game is all about, thousands of things to do and then thousands of different ways to do them.
    OVERALL: 9 out of 10

    CONCLUSION: This is game lives up to the hype and will definitely keep you busy, but still contains familiar flaws like combat and bugs.
    Expand
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I am a die hard video game fan. Sony, Nintendo, Microsoft, even PC if I can. And I have played much more than my fair share of video games. Real-Time Strategies, First-Person and Third-Person Shooters, RPGs, Puzzle, Action, Adventure, Fighting, you name it, I've played, and most likely beaten it. And Skyrim is, by far, one of my absolute favorite games I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I have read other user reviews for this game. They complain about trivial, and quite highly exaggerated, problems that don't even affect game play or the appeal of the game. Some even complain about there being no online play. Online play is the default for a game that can't stand on its own two legs from story alone. And Skyrim doesn't just stand on its own two legs, it runs a marathon in an hour. I can honestly say that playing Skyrim has soured my opinion on almost every other RPG I have ever played. Every hour spent playing the game improves my views on it and I don't see any way that this game will stop amazing me, for a very long time. Especially with the announcement that all DLC being released will be massive. Much like the Shivering Isles download for Oblivion. For all those who have played Oblivion and loved it, this game will blow your mind. Anyone who is a fan of RPGs, this game will make you wonder what you liked about the others so much. A must buy for everyone who is a fan of role playing and free roam. Even if you have never picked up an RPG title before(somehow), you must grab this game. And for all those who are giving this game a low rating, go back to CoD and keep pretending that you are a hardcore gamer. (P.S. sorry for the TL;DR) Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Greatest game i've played. The map is huge! Plenty of quests to do, and the graphics are amazing. The skill menu is well made, it gives you a choice on which direction to take on a certain skill
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Great story, leveling up is addicting, fighting dragons is just as good as fighting a big daddy (bioshock), and i think the best thing of all is exploring the game world. Hope this helped.
  54. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    An intense experience in one of the games that defines the media as an art form. Beautiful scenery and wonderful textures along with fun and interesting gameplay make this a game for the ages. The dungeons are tricky and offer a rewarding 'Ah hah!' when completed, the bosses require strategy, and the game provides an easy difficulty for the casual gamers. The only issue are the early release bugs, including texture glitches on character's clothing and weapons. This is to be expected and will definitely be released in an upcoming patch. All in all, a wonderful game. Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    i have only played a few hours but i love the game. yeah i wish the map and journal were a little easier to access but that won't break a game for me. scrolling through the reviews i see so many 9 and 10 it is hard to understand how it has a 8.7 user score. Don't give a great RPG a 3 because you don't like RPGs. this game is meant for people who like RPGs. If you are a FPS fan and you didn't like fallout or oblivion this game probably isn't for you. the graphics are great considering how much content it has to load and the fighting system is WAY better than fallout in my opinion. there is a ton of content in the game and i haven't even scratched the surface yet. you are in control of your game. If you don't want to take the time to do some small tasks in order to be able to progress than go to a faster paced game like Assassins Creed and Batman they are both great open world game with a lot less demand on time. this game was meant to take dozens of hours to beat. great job Bathesda! i cant wait to play your next-gen game after i beat this one a dozen times! Expand
  56. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    A beautiful game, and no matter what you say, undeserving of a 0/10. Ignore the teeny CoD fanboys who are raging that this game is getting a way better userscore. It is simply awesome. CoD fanboys are raging and butthurt that their favorite franchise got shat on.
  57. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is better than a 9 yet not a 10. Iâ
  58. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Great game and graphics. I would highly recommend to any gamer. I'm not a huge RPG gamer but this game keeps things interesting. Fighting dragons is a really good touch and keeps you on your toes at all times.
  59. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is an awesome game. I have put 30 hours into it and I still have the urge to play it all the time. There is so much to do in the game and something to do for everyone no matter the play style. The melee system is a lot better than in Oblivion, but it still feels a little lacking. Don't get me wrong, it still is good, but it could have been a little better. One of the bigger complaints I have heard about this game is its graphics. The graphics are not excellent, but they are far from bad. It is exactly what I expected from and open world RPG. This game has a ton of stuff to do, so you will never get bored. All of the guilds are entertaining and the dungeons are not a bore. If you liked Oblivion, you will like Skyrim. If you didn't like Oblivion, you still might like Skyrim. I understand Skyrim is not a game for everyone. I respect that. Expand
  60. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Skyrim is one of the best games ever made from everything to characters, environment, graphics, quests its simply the best. i wasn't even a fan of the elder scroll series since i never played the first one on 360. but i am a big fan of Bethesda s fallout series and now this. i knew a year ago when it was announced it would be EPIC. your never gonna be short of anything to do in Skyrim the game just keeps on going. its huge i can rant about it for hours but i cant be bothered. of course there are some glitches etc but anyone complaining about the game is a whiny spoiled **** and can go **** themselves in my opinion. game of the year definitively game of the decade maybe you have to be a true gaming fan to appreciate this and not just someone that picks up the controller one day a year. Expand
  61. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Beyond Fantastic. I wish this scale had 15 because I would rate it there if i could. This game will last me YEARS, or until the next Elder Scrolls is released. Great game play, visuals are very appealing, best use of $60 this year. BUY IT!
  62. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is probably the best action RPG of all time, period ! Incredible design and gameplay, nice graphics, amazing story. Why are you still reading this? Go buy your copy.
  63. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Beautiful master piece. one of the GOTY I've played. I which I could have a better pc to play it on but, PS3 still awesome and perfect. My only complain is that you can' t attack riding horses and you can' t ride dragons. Those two things will be a perfect 10.
  64. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing! If you not 12 years old, buy Skyrim, not Zelda, come on this isn't grade school anymore! The graphics will leave you breathless, the game is challenging, as well as entertaining. The full retail price of this game was a bit much for me, I never get games right away, but I bit the bullet for Skyrim. Maybe, wait till the price goes down, but you will be missing out on the game of the decade. Expand
  65. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    A living breathing entity, separate from anything else and of it's own operations and workings is how i would describe the world of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Few games can truly make you feel like you living out your character in a believable world and yet Skyrim is able to just that. Skyrim is one of the greatest accomplishments for gaming recent times and is one of the strongest contenders for game of the year. Play this game. Expand
  66. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I think the elder scrolls skyrim is an amazing pinnacle of gaming the graphics and story line are amazing but even if you dont want to stick to the main storyline there is many hours of fun to be had exploring the massive map and completing the side quests. On a scale of 1-10 this game is an 11 -Xbox360Critic
  67. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I think its been said multiple times by now, this game is perfect. Glitches and ugly faces aside, Skyrim has some of the best and most memorable gameplay of the year. Absolute masterpiece. I will be playing this game for many months to come
  68. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This is so far the best game I've played on the holidays. I have played for several days and have only scratched the surface of this wonderful game. The graphics are polished and nice. The gameplay is fun, i particularly like casting spells feels like I'm playing bioshock. The story for both the main quests and side quests like the guilds are a blast. I'm definitely going to replay this game a lot. Oh and I forgot the glitches, it can't be a bethseda game without any hilarious glitches. Expand
  69. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Some like coke, some like pepsi, the thing is, with Skyrim there is really nothing to compare it to. Having not played Oblivion, I can not say how big of an improvment it is, but I can say how big of an adventer it is. It is a game that you can only say you have completed it when you have at least a hundred hours in it. I personaly have over 20 hours logged in it, and have just barely scratched the surface of the story line. Wheather you are looking to explore, go through a dungeon, do a quest, or best of all, kill a dragon, every minuet in Skyrim is well spent. You can costumize your character in each and every trait. You can be a Archer, Mage, Warrior, or some of each. You can have a spell in one hand, and a battle axe in the other. You can pull out your bow and quiver in times when you want to engage combat, while keeping your distance. No matter what classes you choose, the game expierience will be just as thrilling. There were times when I almost peed my pants in fear from even the slightest noise in a creepy dungeon. There were times when I would just want to just in my screen and live in the Province of Skyrim. In Skyrim you can almost literally live a second life, you can buy a horse, buy a house, get married, make money from stolen goods, get a drink at the local pub, kill a guy for no good reason and go to jail. You can do anything and that is the beauty of it all. Sure there can be some graphical glitches, blurred textures sometimes, and maybe you can even get stuck somewhere. But in a game like Skyrim the good, very much, out weighs the bad Expand
  70. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I represent 'www.BreakMyGame.com'. SKYRIM has been given our hands down! It's a new stepping stone for a new Creation game engine for new titles to come out! Graphics is not to high end and enough to wow players, the score they generated for the game is a step up to give an exact life to the world, an excellent successor and worthy hands-on for new and old players for the series. Overall hour and hours of pure possibilities in how a High Exploring and Story Driven RPG game should be. Expand
  71. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    After having played oblivion for almost 5 years, my expectations of Skyrim was sky high! yet somehow Bethesda game studios managed to surprise me. This game is beyond great, it is a Masterpiece, and more. Easily the best game ever made and it will probably stay that way for a couple of years, this game gets top score from me because of it's huge open world, hundreds of quests and infinite game play time! Expand
  72. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    I agree with eIras, this is a masterpiece. I only started played the Elder Scrolls w/ Oblivion, so I am somewhat of a Elder Scrolls noob, but I love this game. It has made some great improvements since Oblivion. I am 20 hours in and have not even started on the main quest. An easy 10 here and my vote for GOTY
  73. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    I would love to give this game 10/10 but that would mean that it was perfect and as much as i love Skyrim its not a perfect game. That being said however it is still the best rpg i have played since oblivion and it holds what makes the elder scrolls series great. Graphicly its amazing, the game play is brilliant and the dragons are scary as hell. Besides a few minor graphical glitches and the occasional bug this game is perfect, its a must by for anyone who is a fan of open world rpgs. Expand
  74. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Absolutely BRILLIANT. Skyrim is a massive improvement on its amazing predecessor Oblivion. The menu system is visually stunning, clean and easy to manage/follow. Combat animation has improved dramatically and the cut scene animations are just the icing on the cake. The quests and guilds are new, exiting and have a lot of twists and turns which keep you involved and immersed in the story. The Main Quest was great but the sweet thing is knowing this game isn't just a 2/3 hour and then get bored game, it is a truly massive free-roam environment in which there are hours upon hours of things to do keeping the player stuck to the TV and provides them with what feels like a truly graphically rich , deep, living world. The levelling and character management system feels so much better and more effective in shaping and helping to distinguish your own personal character without pinning him down to just one speciality. The audio of the game only adds to the experience and makes everything that much sweeter in such a huge landscape. The 3rd person camera angle and jumping are better animated and makes that type of play-style feel so much more believable and realistic. The amount of work that has gone into this game is breathtaking and shows how much Bethesda love making games, how dedicated they are, how much they listen to fan feedback and how far they are willing to go to create some so big and enjoyable for everyone (I loved how they even went as far as to use a choir for the audio, its breathtaking). I for one as a student study to become a games programmer take inspiration from games like these, Bethesda have done a great job. Did I mention the game also have dragons? Completely unscripted which only adds to the re-playability of the game, the fact that even the developers don't know when a dragon might come up is just great. Yes, this review is incredibly favourable because the game in terms of a multimedia product only helps further blur the lines between film and games, and further shows what games can achieve and how technology/incredibly dedicated people can create such stunning masterpieces. However be warned, there are many bugs with this game which does hinder the experience as well as the same voices being recycled on different characters, NPC characters being idiots, etc. However with something so big its worth it. (I feel I must also mention how unlike Oblivion there is not constant lag on a horse and loads of pausing while the loading icon appears). This is my favourite game (could you tell :P) . I can't wait for future DLC to see what else Bethesda have in store. Anyone on the edge about buying this, don't be. Go and get it, I am very sure you won't be disappointed. 10/10.(First time I have ever rated a game this high, I am also a huge Gears of War fan yet wouldn't even rate number 3 this high) Expand
  75. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This as pure a video game as us gamers will ever get. Full of content and exploration, this entry into the Elder Scrolls combines the best of what made Morrowind and Oblivion great.
  76. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a masterpiece that sucks you into a beautifully designed world full of little details that make it seem as real as it could ever be in a video game. This is once of those games that comes out once every few years that just blows you away. You'll spend countless hours exploring the land of Skyrim without even touching the main quest, but don't put it off for too long. What you'll find in the main quest is a great story with remarkable characters making it one of the best elder scrolls stories yet. Not only is Skyrim one of the best games of the year. It is one of the best games ever made. Expand
  77. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    A for Awesome.

    Well done Bethesda. Some devs still left in the industry with awesome imaginations, story telling skills and the talent to bring it all to life.
  78. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This is an extremely good game on all accounts. The first thing that comes to mind is that Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Games need to take a few pointers from Bethesda on the innovation front (and the 'generally how to make a good game' front). This is the first time I can safely say my expectations have been exceeded (and they were already sky high).
  79. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I have playing video games since 1979. I can honestly say that Skyrim is one of the all-time greatest games in the history of gaming. Kudos to Bethesda for staying tried and true to what they do best and improving almost everything in the game since Oblivion and/or Fallout 3. Each dungeon is unique and fun. The voice acting is much improved since the days of Oblivion. At least they now have more voice actors. What did Oblivion have...2 voice actors? The graphics and the scripting is also a huge step forward. The controls are near-perfect. I could play this game for 10 years and still discover new stuff. Absolutely awesome. This should battle Batman Arkham City for GOTY. Great job, Bethesda. You are one of the best dev teams. Keep up the great work! Gotto go. Dragon is on the loose. (oh wait...that's just my girlfriend). Expand
  80. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The first thing I am going to say is that Skyrim is the biggest most expansive games I have ever played, I have been playing daily since the day that it was released and I feel as if I have barely even scraped the surface. I have put easily 50+ hours in so far. The second thing I want to say is the customization, there is so much you can do to your character. Initially I spent around an hour tweaking all the different settings to make my character look just as I wanted, then when I got out into Skyrim I have been customizing my armour. Armour can be upgraded to give you more defense, it can be enchanted to give it mystical powers etc.

    To sum Skyrim up I would say, as a player of all the Elder Scrolls titles, that it is the best so far. Sure sometimes it gets a bit buggy like killing someone and there body doesn't fall properly, but these problems are so minor most people won't even notice them. Many people complain about graphics issues and the textures scaling down, this has been addresses by Bethesda and a patch is being released. So really the best game I have played, go buy it.
    Expand
  81. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    masterpiece is the best way to describe Skyrim. Bethesda have succeeded where many developers these days utterly fail. The delivery of a game that (again) surpasses its preceding installment in the Elder Scrolls series. The addition of dualwielding, in itself, was a huge step forward for the first person RPG. Crafting, a new perks system and other additions wanted by the players shows that they actually took the feedback into consideration. Good show on making a worthwhile game in this age of quick buck chasers. Expand
  82. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This is the best RPG game I have ever played . I believe it will receive game of the year. It should receive game of the decade, if there were such a reward. I honestly LOVE THIS GAME! I recommend it to anyone.
  83. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game is excellent.I absolutely love it.The amount of stuff to do in this game is over whelming.The only down side to this game is losing your social life because of it.
  84. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    In typical Bethesda fashion, another Elder Scrolls has been released after half of a decade. But is it worth the $60?

    Although I was initially very excited about the game upon its teaser trailer nearly a year ago, my confidence weakened as more details and screenshots were released. The 60 dollars was the first negative punch, but not really enough to get me worried. Screenshots from
    the Russian Elder Scrolls site, depicting the game to have pathetic graphics, landed another punch. Things gradually became worse as birthsigns were removed, skills were removed, and the reminders of previous lies told by the Bethesda team were brought up. The mediocre Elder Scrolls books by Greg Keyes only fueled my rage that this would be the blunder of Bethesda (a Dragon Age 2 of much larger proportions).

    I must say, I was decently surprised to find the game not only good, and met my original expectations, but it surpassed them greatly. Iâ
    Expand
  85. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Une note presque parfaite pour un jeu presque parfait selon moi. Je ne peux pas mettre 10 car tout jeu peut être amélioré mais celui ci se rapproche de la perfection. Ce jeu permet de jouer a notre façon , selon nos envies, et les possibilités sont très grandes quelque soit nos choix sur notre Role Play . Chaque façon de jouer est très travailler et aucune n'est lésé ni cheaté. C'est lâ Expand
  86. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games i've ever played. Great graphics, huge open world and awesome storyline. In my honest opinion The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is just perfect!
  87. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This addition to the Elder Scrolls Series is astonishing and mind-blowing! Bethesda's new Creation Engine has made the level of realism in this game more than one could ask for. Being able to view the mountains in the distance and having the random chance of fighting dragons whilst walking amongst the wilds give the player a sense of adventure even when they are not following a particular quest line. My player was out looking for herbs when there was a quake in the earth and then a cone of flames hit his backside. Dragons really can just drop out of nowhere. Between crafting armor, combining the casting of spells and weapons, and the storyline of having a war going on during the return of the dragons, Skyrim is beyond what anyone could've asked for. Expand
  88. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This game is beautiful. without a doubt one of the best games I have ever had the pleasure to buy and play. From the first few seconds you are thrown into a rich story line and beautiful graphics. This is a game that is perfect for any type of player. Whether you want to be a light armored archer or assassin. A heavily armored battle Mage or anything in between you can do it.
  89. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can only say that Bethesda has done a great great job!
    Skyrim´s world is so rich in many way, that will atracts pep even if they dont like RPG games.

    and experience that cant be pass out
  90. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Utter brilliance. It's easy to pick on bugs, glitches, or flaws, because they call our attention away from the pure genius of the game. It's like sitting in Central Park, listening to the Philharmonic, and being annoyed by a mosquito who finds you tasty. The mosquito is there, and he's persistent, but the more you focus on him, the more you miss the magic of the orchestra. Skyrim is that concert. The world is MASSIVE... I've easily surpassed eighty hours played and have just barely scratched the surface of the game. I've completed the main quest, and ONE of the faction quests (Mage guild / College of Winterhold). I'm eager to play through it again, now that I understand the mechanics, but to try a different play-style altogether (trying to decide between thief or warrior). The story is compelling and complex... there are different factions vying for your attention, and when you please one, you will upset several others, so no choices are clearly cut and dried. Even when I finished the main quest-line, I wondered if I could have gotten a better outcome by doing something differently. I aim to find out. The night before ES5 launched, I was playing ES4. That was a 5 year lifespan for Oblivion. I can very easily imagine myself playing ES5 the day before ES6 launches. The game deserves the high scores that it gets. I play on a 360, and the interface is fantastic... when my friends ask me which platform they should buy it for, I recommend the consoles; the pc users all complain about (and, those who rate the game poorly do so because of) the UI. Definitely a 10. Definitely worth my $60. Definitely worth the money I will gladly pay for DLC. Could not be happier. Expand
  91. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    An amazing game, though the game is not entirely bug free as is normally the case with bethesda role-playing games I have had very few issues and nothing that could be called a game-stopper. what the game does offer is a massive world with lot of things to do and a lot of freedom in how you design your character and how you explore the world. With the reduction of scope for most role-playing games in recent years (many feel short and channel you down a set game path) this is a breath of fresh air. Well worth a purchase. Expand
  92. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    After playing this game for about 2 weeks, Skyrim still manages to amaze me. It may not have the best graphics, or the best sound effects or the best non-glitchy gameplay, but by far it is an accomplishment in its own terms. The depth of this game is absolutely unparalleled. The landscapes are astonishing in detail. The musical score is exceptional. To me, this is definitely Game of the Year. There's an abundancy of quests to do, and a lot of new things that has been added to make this the best Elder Scrolls (possibly best Bethesda) title yet. Visually, the game features the best graphics of the series, and a huge scope of lands to explore. The voice acting is very well done, as well as the musical score which adds to the immense world. Down to mechanics, Skyrim gets everything right, from the intuitive interface and hand to hand combat. There are occasional glitches, but none large enough to render certain quests undoable or places impassable. Even if you aren't a huge RPG fan, Skyrim is a world to experience and is quite possibly one the best games ever created. Expand
  93. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    My favorite RPG of all time. I've only played about 10, but I still love this one. I have over 80 hours logged on this game, and I still have lots to do. There are a few bugs, but nothing that can't be patched. it's fun.
  94. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    i like this game a lot. there are tons of quests to do and the leveling up system is pretty cool. the map is huge and the graphics are good. the one thing ive seen is the giants are glichy when they hit you you into the air. but other than that it is a well made well rounded game.
  95. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I am currently on my second play through, having finished all of the main quest and most of the guilds, and I must say that this game is amazing! The graphics are most definitely an upgrade from the already beautiful oblivion. The addition of jobs and skill trees is a fresh change from the restricted leveling found in oblivion. The few minor things that I found don't even warrant to bring my rating down! This is possibly the most perfect game that I have ever played, and I plan to continue playing it for a long time to come Expand
  96. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    This is the best open-world RPG ever made. Bethesda has made another masterpiece. Just the sheer amount of things you can do in the game is incredible. Whether it is doing the main quest, the dark brotherhood quests, or the companions it is incredible. This is the only game I've been playing since its launch and i have not regretted a minute of it. Anybody who enjoys games will adore this game and hail it as a masterpiece. Expand
  97. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I would give a 9.5 if I could, but Skyrim is probably closer to a 10 than a 9. This game is simply fantastic. This is the best Bethesda-style RPG on the market. Everything from music to graphics to gameplay is improved from Oblvion and Fallout 3. The only problem is slight bugs popping up, though I haven't seen anything major. Also, the animation can be a little stiff as per the Bethesda usual, but this is greatly improved since Fallout 3. 100% must buy for anyone who enjoys Bethesda's work and should be heavily considered for anyone else at all interested in gaming. Expand
  98. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Just a terrific game. There are so many good things to say. Just go play the game. I've already put in about 50 hours and not only have I barely scratched the surface of content and experiences but I just can't put it down. The wife hates it because I'm monopolizing the tv. Sorry baby, it's just too good! The only downside I've seen is that there are some bugs, most of low concern but one or two of major concern (like companion getting stuck in a quest and becoming unusable or my horse forcing me to kill it because it gets hit with splash damage I deliver). But look, we all know that Bethesda ain't no Blizzard so it's going to have some bugs. The level of complexity of the game is unmatched and the bugs just simply must be looked past. It's just too good to avoid. There's plenty of perfection for everybody in this game. Are you still reading this? GO BUY IT! Expand
  99. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    The amount of content is astonishing and diverse. It seems like Bethesda has tried to balance quantity and quality, and has done so wonderfully in most cases. In some cases however, quantity seems to outbalance the depth. This seems to characterize the entire game, from the storylines, to both graphics and gameplay. However, the quantity creates its own sense of depth.

    Most areas are
    beautiful, while some are unimaginative, grey, and bland. The graphics engine, though a bit dated, is put to great use in most cases. Sometimes however, low-res textures stand out as contrasts to an otherwise high-res environment. The bland areas also complement the beautiful places. Wander through a grey and cold cavern and find a beautiful underground oasis with flowers, ponds, and sunlight shining through holes in the roof. Escape the snowy planes and discover a beautiful plane with rivers and massive giants traversing the landscape.

    Each gameplay component, swording and boarding, sneaking, and magic can be fun and exhilirating in their own right. However, rely on only one of these over a longer period of time, they might start to feel lacking, repetetive, and boring. Here, deep gameplay is not achieved through elaborate systems for each component, but through mixing them in unique ways and finding ways for one component to complement the other. Depth seem to be achieved through diversity. The way the game is constructed, with all its content, is affecting how it should be played. You want to sword and board your way through the game? Fine, but you will get bored. Make use of everything the game has to offer, and the gameplay feels a lot more rewarding. Mix all playstyles (warrior, thief, mage) and the fun never stops. When I first started playing, I used nothing but a shield and an axe. Around level 34, I got tired and bored. I then decided to start a new character, a warrior/thief hybrid making use of illusion magics to complement my playstyle. I have never had as much fun in a game since. Sniping one enemy with a bow, luring another one to me by making myself visible, casting invisibility, sneak-kill him, casting calm on a miniboss while talking another one out with a sword, then blast the miniboss with destruction magics. The options are endless. All in all, how fun this game is depends on how you play. Focus on only one aspect of the game and you will get bored. Make use of all the content this game has to offer, and you will find depth in the diversity. Some of the storylines are amazing, and could be the entire theme of other games. Other storylines are dull, and something you would only complete for the potential rewards. Some of the dull storylines complement the amazing ones, and help create a richer, more complete experience. This is a game I should dislike. I would take quality over quantity any day. I have always preferred balanced and polished content over anything else. This game is in no way balanced and polished. Glitches, bugs, non-elaborate gameplay systems. You come up with some bad, and this game has it. Still, quality seem to be achieved through the diversity. Name something good, and this game has plenty of that, too. This might not be a perfect game. It might have strayed away from some things that made it predecessors good. But it is still a damn good game. I It is a world. It is art.
    Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.