User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3557 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    By force of habit, when a new game comes along the first thing I judge it on isn't by the graphics or the gameplay, but how much improvement is shown from teh last installment which of course meant Skyrim got an A+ in my book right off the bat. After 2 hours of gameplay I can say that it kept up with my first impression and continued to impress me though and through. Though the fightingBy force of habit, when a new game comes along the first thing I judge it on isn't by the graphics or the gameplay, but how much improvement is shown from teh last installment which of course meant Skyrim got an A+ in my book right off the bat. After 2 hours of gameplay I can say that it kept up with my first impression and continued to impress me though and through. Though the fighting system still feels rather uneven and their are a few bugs, though no game breaking ones, Skryim still mixes up the pot and throws in some new twists that I'm sure any fans of the series will enjoy. The odds of Skyrim winning GOTY this year is quite high as from what I've seen in the past few months is that it's only true competitor for the title is Batman: Arkham City. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The Game Is Amazing! Definately what I expected from Bethesda! It's Like Oblivion, Fallout, Fable and Dragon Age Combind! Except with more dragons of course! Definately Worth The Money. Epic both graphically and gameplay, so glad that its finaly here! Awesome!! 10/10
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Soundtrack is brilliant. Visuals are outstanding. Engine Performance is beastly. Gameplay is quite fun. This is pretty much the best of the best of the entire Elder Scrolls series. Bethesda and their developers have learned so much from their previous BRILLIANT games. Unlike Battlefield 3's direction, it keeps the AMAZINGLY LARGE COMPLETELY OPEN terrain and an entire world to explore. It'sSoundtrack is brilliant. Visuals are outstanding. Engine Performance is beastly. Gameplay is quite fun. This is pretty much the best of the best of the entire Elder Scrolls series. Bethesda and their developers have learned so much from their previous BRILLIANT games. Unlike Battlefield 3's direction, it keeps the AMAZINGLY LARGE COMPLETELY OPEN terrain and an entire world to explore. It's land is like World of Warcraft with less world loading. It. Is. Amazing. Again, it keeps with the gameplay elements of previous games, HUNDREDS of quests, and how you can choose to do almost whatever you want. Want to kill everyone in the town you live in? Check. Buy a house and live in it? Check. Go and loot every dungeon in the game? Check. Amazing. Go get it. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Went to the midnight release, practically sprinted back to my dorm room, and played it until my eyes couldn't stay open anymore. It starts off somewhat slow, but it's the game we've all been waiting for.
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful game. Again with astounding visuals and solid gameplay. Up untill now ive had almost no bugs, except for 2 CTD's. Knowing most game developers release games half finished nowadays, thats quite well. The dialog is improved over Oblivion's one. I find it even hard to see that it is a console port, so they ported it well.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Ten hours in, and I feel I have only just brushed on the surface of what this game has to offer. Never before, in a very long time have I been able to sit infront of a game for hours on end and just not get bored. In the end I found myself having to force myself to stop, I had work to do.

    The opening sequence is extremely linear, which is something you wont really be used to in a TES
    Ten hours in, and I feel I have only just brushed on the surface of what this game has to offer. Never before, in a very long time have I been able to sit infront of a game for hours on end and just not get bored. In the end I found myself having to force myself to stop, I had work to do.

    The opening sequence is extremely linear, which is something you wont really be used to in a TES game, but stick with it because once you have started questing and exploring the world this game really comes into its own. The environments are varied and exciting, the dungeons lost the cookie-cutter feel of Oblivion and so far, the quests I have taken part in have been very well written and intresting, and I've barely touched upon the main quest.

    Some people will dislike this game however, just as some people disliked previous games in the series. It has a bug or two, but nothing condemning. And somepeople may consider this "not a true rpg game" however, take this game for what it is, a TES game, and I promise you will enjoy this masterpiece.
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The six year wait is finally over, and the jury is out on the fifth installment of the TES franchise. Skyrim is the definitive 21st century Action RPG. This time the battle goes to Skyrim where your character is released into the open to fight dragons and fight a bloody civil war. The action is fun, smooth and bloody, with intuitive menus and controls that work wonderfully on an Xbox.The six year wait is finally over, and the jury is out on the fifth installment of the TES franchise. Skyrim is the definitive 21st century Action RPG. This time the battle goes to Skyrim where your character is released into the open to fight dragons and fight a bloody civil war. The action is fun, smooth and bloody, with intuitive menus and controls that work wonderfully on an Xbox. The progression system works well though I would've liked to see more class specialization.The graphics are much better this time around, but you really need a 1080p television to get the best textures and smoothest edges. There's also the occasion graphical bug or AI pathfinding issue. Overall, Skyrim has some small issues, but I still cannot think of any gamer I wouldn't recommend this to... 9.5/10! Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced.Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced. There is an infinite amount of quests (literally, the game makes new quests as you go) and they are all very fun to complete. Dragons in this game look stunning to say the least. Overall this is close to being the best game I have ever played, easy 10/10. The only thing I could wish for is a co-op mode because a lot of my friends have this game it's always more fun with friends. Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.
    Expand
  10. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I hated Morrowind and never got around to playing Oblivion so this game has been a revelation.

    It is simply magnificent. It would be easier to to list my few minor gripes: clunky and immersion-breaking console interface ported to the PC, Dragons seem a bit weak and there's a few CTD/minimizer bugs on the PC. 99% of the time I am just marvelling at the brilliance of this game and
    I hated Morrowind and never got around to playing Oblivion so this game has been a revelation.

    It is simply magnificent. It would be easier to to list my few minor gripes: clunky and immersion-breaking console interface ported to the PC, Dragons seem a bit weak and there's a few CTD/minimizer bugs on the PC.

    99% of the time I am just marvelling at the brilliance of this game and struggling to stop myself playing through the night.
    Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you.Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you. But any true gamer will appreciate this masterpiece. Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    + Huge world to explore. Many beautiful places. Good graphics and textures. (Mods will make even better) No need to have super modern PC. Quests are really interesting. Large content.
    - Some glitches, which are not affecting the gameplay. Only few do. Would like to have more non-magic spells.

    PS. If you want Skyrim, you need to play on Master. If you don't, you won't have fun.
  13. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. In my 10+ years of gaming I can honestly say this is the best game I have ever played. I have already invested over 100 hours into this masterpiece of a game and I still feel like I have only scratched the surface of things to do. Not a single moment of this game felt boring or lazy. It is only a matter of time before this game is considered a drug because of how addictingFantastic game. In my 10+ years of gaming I can honestly say this is the best game I have ever played. I have already invested over 100 hours into this masterpiece of a game and I still feel like I have only scratched the surface of things to do. Not a single moment of this game felt boring or lazy. It is only a matter of time before this game is considered a drug because of how addicting and fun it is. Do yourself a favor and buy the game. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game is the best and it rocks. It's the least buggiest game to come out at this time. With BF3 being buggy and populated by non existent team work and no voice users, then the appalling user score of COD this is the game for you. The dragon fighting mechanics is awesome. Give it a go. It has such an awesome score for a reason.
  15. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Goddamn, this game is so awesome. This is my last game on my list for this year that I wanted to play and I am having an absolute blast playing this game. I was skeptical at first because Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion was a complete bore to me and I never got in to it even though I tried to. Skyrim, to me, is a complete revelation. Lush open world presentation, absolutely epic music,Goddamn, this game is so awesome. This is my last game on my list for this year that I wanted to play and I am having an absolute blast playing this game. I was skeptical at first because Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion was a complete bore to me and I never got in to it even though I tried to. Skyrim, to me, is a complete revelation. Lush open world presentation, absolutely epic music, accessible but complex menu system , deep RPG gameplay and absolutely endless replay value. Though even with the awesome features that has been improved from Oblivion, Skyrim still has bugs and glitches that other Bethesda games suffer from but that isn't enough to ruin the experience that completely immerses you into this new world of epicness. From the first time I put the disc in to my 360, I was hooked straight away. This is one the best games I have ever played this year and I suggest buying it RIGHT NOW Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Oblivion was the best game I've played and now Skyrim has taken over that title. I'm an RPG fan and the game offers an unparalled level of depth and immersion. The province of Skyrim is a beautiful place, with tumbling waterfalls and snow capped mountins. At one point I felt a lump in my throat as I stood looking out at a particularly awe inspiring view. Quests can be picked up from 80Oblivion was the best game I've played and now Skyrim has taken over that title. I'm an RPG fan and the game offers an unparalled level of depth and immersion. The province of Skyrim is a beautiful place, with tumbling waterfalls and snow capped mountins. At one point I felt a lump in my throat as I stood looking out at a particularly awe inspiring view. Quests can be picked up from 80 percent of NPCs - even random nobodies. I don't want to rant on about why this game's so great as I'll be here all day - just go out and buy it. You'll be playing it a few years from now, especially as there's bound to be loads od DLC. Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    An amazing game in scale and fun. To each their own but I can't even comprehend people who badmouth this game. Skyrim is so rich with great design and moments, that is shines far brighter then any other game that has come out this year. Those with poor reviews obviously did not actually play the game. If they would have they would have come to see how deep and enjoyable this game is truly.An amazing game in scale and fun. To each their own but I can't even comprehend people who badmouth this game. Skyrim is so rich with great design and moments, that is shines far brighter then any other game that has come out this year. Those with poor reviews obviously did not actually play the game. If they would have they would have come to see how deep and enjoyable this game is truly. Of course this kind of game is not for everyone, but if you like RPG's there is no denying that Skyrim is quite possibly the greatest RPG game ever made....so far! Expand
  18. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    With Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way toWith Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way to sum up Skyrim. While games like Uncharted 3 and Gears of War 3 just offer shallow, scripted events that are forgotten days after, Skyrim gives you a massive playground that eclipses any other in the digital realm, and gives you the tools to make your own fun, regardless of what kind of games you like to play. Without a doubt in my mind, the greatest video game ever created. Expand
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a huge improvement over Oblivion in nearly every way. First the setting. The land of Skyrim is huge, beautiful, and varied, unlike the ultimately 'pretty but boring' Cyrodiil of the previous Elder Scrolls game. Gone are the copy and pasted caves, forts, and ruins. Every single dungeon is hand crafted and it shows. Just like the exterior lands the dungeons are gorgeous to look atSkyrim is a huge improvement over Oblivion in nearly every way. First the setting. The land of Skyrim is huge, beautiful, and varied, unlike the ultimately 'pretty but boring' Cyrodiil of the previous Elder Scrolls game. Gone are the copy and pasted caves, forts, and ruins. Every single dungeon is hand crafted and it shows. Just like the exterior lands the dungeons are gorgeous to look at and compelling to explore. The level of detail given to character and item models is a HUGE step forward. The animation has been given a complete overhaul and at long last characters move naturally and believably in a Bethesda game. The combat has been improved as well. The ability to bind spells and weapons to each hand creates a much needed depth and customization to combat. The spell casting is much faster, more powerful, and more spectacular to look at. The sound design and music are similarly amazing. I'm trying hard to find things to dislike about this game, and the only thing I can come up with is the interface. The interface isn't horrible, but it take some getting used to. I've played the game for about ten hours now, and I haven't seen a glitch or had my game crash, which is also a plus considering this is a Bethesda game. All in all, I'll be playing Skyrim for a very long time, and I think this is easily the game of the year. Expand
  20. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Bethesda has created an incredibly immersive and realized fictional world in the fifth game in the Elder Scrolls. NPC's interact realistically, with improved animation and voice acting. Although the total number of skill categories has been reduced, the game does not suffer. In fact, cutting away the excess fat of past games put Skyrim ahead of its predecessors. Combat has been streamlinedBethesda has created an incredibly immersive and realized fictional world in the fifth game in the Elder Scrolls. NPC's interact realistically, with improved animation and voice acting. Although the total number of skill categories has been reduced, the game does not suffer. In fact, cutting away the excess fat of past games put Skyrim ahead of its predecessors. Combat has been streamlined and improved so that the player can switch between different weapons and magic easily. The menu and inventory systems have been given a similar treatment, with the primary focus being on making it easier for the player. The game is also very well balanced. Wielding swords, bows, magic or taking a more stealthy approach are equally emphasized and all seem like viable ways to play the game. Expand
  21. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    It is true, Skyrim has issues, bugs, glitches and, if you're really unlucky, dragons that fly backwards. I have not yet seen the latter, but just about everything else - not all in the first playthrough, though.

    Yes, this is one of those titles where you can zip through the main story in around fifty hours, but the average time is about twice as much, and it is said there is enough
    It is true, Skyrim has issues, bugs, glitches and, if you're really unlucky, dragons that fly backwards. I have not yet seen the latter, but just about everything else - not all in the first playthrough, though.

    Yes, this is one of those titles where you can zip through the main story in around fifty hours, but the average time is about twice as much, and it is said there is enough content to keep you busy for 300 to 400 hours. While I still miss a proper, decent revival of old-school RPG adventuring titles like Eye of the Beholder, Wizardry or even Dungeon Master, Skyrim is the best I've seen in quite some time. While that in itself is an easy accomplishment, simply for the lack of there being no competition whatsoever, it has to be said that a game that makes one forgive and forget the many, many flaws really must do some of the more important things right.

    Mind you, this game really is not without flaw, and I sincerely hope Bethesda will get rid of the underlying problems big and small, but I found my visit to Skyrim to be interesting, refreshing and very, very inspiring. It's one of those few games where starting over with a completely different character makes sense, to see how things would have turned out if you had chosen a different path, sided with 'that other side'. It is true that there are not quite enough of those game-changing options that have an impact on the whole game world. But, seeing as how exponentially complicated these things easily and quickly get, I was happy with what we got. If you manage to resist the temptation of exploiting any levelling shortcut or other cheating, Skyrim offers an astonishing amount of story and background, with an unequalled freedom to do as you please. Classes are not a one-time choice, you get better at whatever you choose to do by doing it. So your rogue could conjure up a tank or a decoy, or your mage could very well resort to maces or axes if things get rough and you find yourself in a closed quarters combat situation. Even your destruction mage could eventually be sneaky enough to silently pick off single foes with a deadly arrow before shooting fire and ice and lightning bolts, which makes for quite some diversified action. I admit: I really did not want to like this, but I ended up loving it.
    Expand
  22. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Takes a crap on both Oblivion & Morrowind. It is what Oblivion wished it was. With all the improvements and added content that Oblivion left out. Skyrim is a complete game.
  23. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Liked oblivion? This improves. Ten-fold. Leveling is now a fluid masterpiece, being able to form your character from your play style is new and unrestricted. No more guessing at the beginning of the game of what you will like, it is all what you use through out.
  24. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Im sorry, but this game is one of the closest games ive ever even thought of considering as a 10/10 game..but as we all know, there is no such thing. Anyway, back to the game, if you're a guy who doesnt get what the hype is all about then i can give you some advice, GET THIS GAME, as soon as you can. It is worth every penny and more and i can guarantee you it is going to be the game of theIm sorry, but this game is one of the closest games ive ever even thought of considering as a 10/10 game..but as we all know, there is no such thing. Anyway, back to the game, if you're a guy who doesnt get what the hype is all about then i can give you some advice, GET THIS GAME, as soon as you can. It is worth every penny and more and i can guarantee you it is going to be the game of the year

    Why am i so confident in this game, well, like its predecessor, the game developers worked hard day and night for many years. These guys dont just release titles for sake of t unlike otehr game companies, these guys make games with the aim of getting the highest possible success, you can look at all their games and see for yourself. With that said, It comes as no surprise as to why the world had to stand still in awe when the game hit and why everyone is such a fan.

    You're probably thinking "what a biased review" and to that I say "GET THE GAME and you'll see what I'm talking about" If you've never played this game or are even considering getting it, this will be one of those amazing games that you'll never forget and be grateful you bought, you have my word for it.
    Expand
  25. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    The game isn't flawless, but what game is? It's got its bugs, some small, some big, but even they can't take away from the experience I took away after playing this masterpiece. It's the first time I've ever seen a game live up to such hype. I love the combat, the plot, the lore, everything. Bethesda has raised the bar here and created the game that all RPGs will be judged by. It'll beThe game isn't flawless, but what game is? It's got its bugs, some small, some big, but even they can't take away from the experience I took away after playing this masterpiece. It's the first time I've ever seen a game live up to such hype. I love the combat, the plot, the lore, everything. Bethesda has raised the bar here and created the game that all RPGs will be judged by. It'll be tough to beat. Buy Skyrim. Expand
  26. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! If you are a fan of Rpg's you will love this game! I would write a longer review but you should go rent/buy it and I will let the game do the talking.
  27. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Being 80 in game, all I can say is: This game, is so epic, that it kicks your ass so hard that diarrhea comes out of your dick! World is absolutely huge, very many things and places to explore and discover. Beatiful sights when you are at the top of the mountain. Obtaining dragon's soul feels epic - you can feel your blood circulating a bit faster. A lot of skills to level up, it will takeBeing 80 in game, all I can say is: This game, is so epic, that it kicks your ass so hard that diarrhea comes out of your dick! World is absolutely huge, very many things and places to explore and discover. Beatiful sights when you are at the top of the mountain. Obtaining dragon's soul feels epic - you can feel your blood circulating a bit faster. A lot of skills to level up, it will take months of gameplay to actually get your skills to 100. Not a super huge armor and weapon choice, but they look very good and feel very powerful. There are guilds, companies, parties to join, call them how you want. I personally joined the Thieves Guild, because I can make a lot of coin for me and guild, and level up skills that usually aren't going up as fast as direct combat skills. Skills like sneak, lockpicking, pickpocketing. Huge amount of side-quests. Big choose of races, every race has it's own pros (no cons). For example, Redguards can't be harmed with poison; they are immune of it. Nords are 50% resistant to cold. Khajii't pickpocket and sneak better. I absolutely love this game, this the Game of The Year, the Decade, the Century and the Millennium! You are a fool if you don't try this game. Expand
  28. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    'The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim' is a game that only happens once every 10-15 years. Like 'Ocarina of Time' before it, Skyrim sets a new standard in video games and blurs the line of "Virtual-reality". From the onset, you have the ability to change anything and everything about your character (except height and weight). The game starts off like previous games in the Elder Scrolls series,'The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim' is a game that only happens once every 10-15 years. Like 'Ocarina of Time' before it, Skyrim sets a new standard in video games and blurs the line of "Virtual-reality". From the onset, you have the ability to change anything and everything about your character (except height and weight). The game starts off like previous games in the Elder Scrolls series, with you taking the place of a nameless prisoner. From there, you choose: the race, sex, origin, and name of your character. Then, the story starts; and it never stops. The game is massive, and every side quest, miscellaneous quest, and main-story quest all have their unique dialog, story, and characters. The game also doesn't take any shortcuts on content. Almost every chest is filled with goodies to loot, every person has their own personality, every city has a unique layout, and their are no two vistas that share common form. Everything in this game is detailed, from the buildings and roads, to the people and mountains; everything has been giving some area of uniqueness. The game will also keep you busy for a while; with the main storyline lasting about 10-15 hours and side quests/misc quests lasting well over 100 hours. It is possible to beat Skyrim in 10 hours, but chances are you won't want to. I am 50+ hours into the game, and maybe 10% through the main storyline. The game is massive, expansive, and highly detailed; which leads to some of the few flaws in the game. The game, very rarely will chug when multiple enemies (5+) are all fighting on screen. The game will also render in front of you and texture pop also happens. But, keep in mind; I have only experienced these issues 3 times in 50 hours.

    'The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim' is the ultimate game. A game for RPG fans, hack-n-slash fans, and action-adventure games; Skyrim is a game for everyone. And, like The Ocarina of Time before it, Skyrim is the best game this gen; and in my opinion, all-time.
    Expand
  29. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I'm a big fan of TES games, been playing them since Daggerfall
    I just wanna say that Skyrim is the best TES game, the best RPG ever, and IMO the best game ever.
    I've never been so hyped up for a video game, and Skyrim surpasses my expectations. GOTY 2011
  30. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Without out a doubt one of the greatest if not THE greatest RPG of all time. Bethesda soft-works has created the most alive, fleshed out, deep and interesting world i have ever played in, quests and dialogue from NPC are fluent and realistic and even the most minuscule of quests have a sense of satisfaction and reality to them.

    The diversity in content is amazing, literally hundreds of
    Without out a doubt one of the greatest if not THE greatest RPG of all time. Bethesda soft-works has created the most alive, fleshed out, deep and interesting world i have ever played in, quests and dialogue from NPC are fluent and realistic and even the most minuscule of quests have a sense of satisfaction and reality to them.

    The diversity in content is amazing, literally hundreds of engaging and challenging quests ranging from taking or defending cities for the Imperials or Stormcloaks, taking contract killings, stealing Skyrim's most precious artefacts and tonnes of other personal or faction related quests, there is a lot to do.

    Combat, although similar to Oblivion's, is great. Character movements and attacks feel weighted and realistic and the combinations between martial and magic is amazing. Going in thinking i was going to play a pure 'barbarian' character simply didn't happen because of the fun of spell casting.

    This truly is one of the greatest games of the generation. It is hard to place scrutiny or criticism on anything in this amazingly hand-crafted open world experience. Game of the year.
    Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    A massive amount of content, a beautiful world, and an endless ride of combat, customization, and just a great game. There are a few minor flaws here, but they can be easily overlooked. Get this game, and get it immediately.
  32. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I had to write a review after playing the game and seeing the haters giving scores of zero. It's amazing, it's really a lot of fun, a beautiful huge game. As for the glitches, hardly noticed them and you know what? A game with 100+ hours of amazing content might have a few glitches here and there. I've played a lot smaller games with a lot more glitches that actually interfere withI had to write a review after playing the game and seeing the haters giving scores of zero. It's amazing, it's really a lot of fun, a beautiful huge game. As for the glitches, hardly noticed them and you know what? A game with 100+ hours of amazing content might have a few glitches here and there. I've played a lot smaller games with a lot more glitches that actually interfere with your game play experience, these glitches do not interfere. I'd give it a 9.5 for the glitches but the slider doesn't do that so I'm rounding up to a 10! Expand
  33. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    one of the greatest game of all time keep your BF3 and that other shooter game Skyrim deserved all it awards and then some.
  34. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Magical is really the best word to describe this game. Sure, the close combat is not that great, but everything else is amazing. They really improved on the magic and I love that. The menu system takes a little time to get used to for those of us who have played Oblivion, but it's so simple once you do. The graphics are astonishing. You can tell they really tried with all the littleMagical is really the best word to describe this game. Sure, the close combat is not that great, but everything else is amazing. They really improved on the magic and I love that. The menu system takes a little time to get used to for those of us who have played Oblivion, but it's so simple once you do. The graphics are astonishing. You can tell they really tried with all the little details. There are some bugs, but what do you expect? Every game has bugs. If you're a fan of RPG's, this game is a must and even if you are not, you should try it. Expand
  35. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing! The gameplay shines, the audio will blow your head up and the visuals will make your eyes bloodshot. And this is all in a good way. The story will suck you like a whirlpool and not let go. There is so much to discover, so much to do. You can not just play this game once, otherwise you would be missing out on a lot of things. If you will excuse me, gotta go kill someAbsolutely amazing! The gameplay shines, the audio will blow your head up and the visuals will make your eyes bloodshot. And this is all in a good way. The story will suck you like a whirlpool and not let go. There is so much to discover, so much to do. You can not just play this game once, otherwise you would be missing out on a lot of things. If you will excuse me, gotta go kill some creatures in Skyrim. Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Everything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go outEverything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go out and buy it already. Expand
  37. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is very similar in mechanics to other Bethesda games like Oblivion and the Fallout series. So if you enjoyed those games, you will enjoy this one. But this game runs on a brand new engine and just looks amazing. This is what video games are about, new and exciting .

    I've only played 6 hours of the game so far, but in that time I've never felt like more of a badass. Even a simple
    This game is very similar in mechanics to other Bethesda games like Oblivion and the Fallout series. So if you enjoyed those games, you will enjoy this one. But this game runs on a brand new engine and just looks amazing. This is what video games are about, new and exciting .

    I've only played 6 hours of the game so far, but in that time I've never felt like more of a badass. Even a simple retrieve an artifact quest can feel entirely epic. Coming from Oblivion its nice to see the Archery mechanics improved as well as magic getting a significant graphical overhaul. I already had high expectations for this game, but they were exceeded when I actually played it. A lot of game of the year contenders this year, but this is in a whole class of its own. There are good games and there are great games, and then there is Skyrim.
    Expand
  38. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I am usually not into RPGs, but Skyrim is special, it does the series justice. The game lets you form your character to your wishes, whether good or evil. The very foundations of your character is personal, there are various races to choose from. It does not feature classes, you level up as you use a specific skill. The graphics are completely astounding. The music is perfect, they reallyI am usually not into RPGs, but Skyrim is special, it does the series justice. The game lets you form your character to your wishes, whether good or evil. The very foundations of your character is personal, there are various races to choose from. It does not feature classes, you level up as you use a specific skill. The graphics are completely astounding. The music is perfect, they really outdid themselves on that part. You'll have no problems spending ridiculous amounts of time in this game. The game is an incredible experience, without a doubt. Expand
  39. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Ok, After Playing this game for about 5 hours I think I can give a honest review. The games looks awesome in some areas but there is lack of detail in others. To some this would not be a big deal but for me it was considering I thought they re wrote the whole engine. Anyways lets get to gameplay. The game is a little slow getting started but once you get in to skyrim you really get intoOk, After Playing this game for about 5 hours I think I can give a honest review. The games looks awesome in some areas but there is lack of detail in others. To some this would not be a big deal but for me it was considering I thought they re wrote the whole engine. Anyways lets get to gameplay. The game is a little slow getting started but once you get in to skyrim you really get into the game. The battle animations are really cool and the dungeons are very interesting to explore.Needless to say this game is worth $60 with endless hours of gameplay! But this game falls short of a 10 so I will give it a 8. Expand
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The best RPG, period. It has the absolute best of everything - storytelling, gameplay, and even the graphics. Do not miss out on this game, even if you have to rip it from somebody's cold, dead hands.
  41. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    cant even explain how good this game is , only reason you wouldnt like it is if you only play games that have you move in a straight line and hold your hand through the thing e.g. most fps .
    the game involves having a brain to play not just hack and salsh from end of a map to the other.
  42. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Improves upon Oblivion in every aspect, and utterly beautiful to look at. I can not express how good this game is. If you enjoy RPG's and even if you do not you defiantly need to check this one out. A timeless classic that is not to be missed. If you are a true gamer this will be on your shelf.
  43. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Bugs? Sure but i still love this game. Big Mammoths, Giants are the best (Dragons are weak). Love the gameplay, love the graphics. Overall great game. A must buy for everyone!
  44. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome !!!!! This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!
  45. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    A very fitting addition to the TES stable. A truly stunning game that draws you into it's open world, Skyrim is perhaps the best RPG I have ever had the pleasure to play. The music is epic, the game play is believable, the world is beautiful and harsh. This was well worth the wait for me!
  46. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Game of the year candidate and probably winner unless there is another game that can top this, and besides uncharted 3 there is nothing even remotely close, zilch.

    Best game I have played in so many years
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. I haven't taken it our of my disk drive for two days, and I won't for a VERY long time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll love this! When you consider that MW3 was released the same week, and that could have been DLC, Skyrim is astounding value for money. The Enemy design is great. Zombies that felt a little odd have been replaced with the more powerful Dragur, andThis game is incredible. I haven't taken it our of my disk drive for two days, and I won't for a VERY long time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll love this! When you consider that MW3 was released the same week, and that could have been DLC, Skyrim is astounding value for money. The Enemy design is great. Zombies that felt a little odd have been replaced with the more powerful Dragur, and Trolls actually look scary now. Skyrim is like a cake. The sponge is Oblivion, but with all of those burnt bits cut off, and with an improved recipie. The filling is a whole abundance of new features and total immersion, that's so gloriously delicious that you'll be licking it from the plate. It's all iced with some beautiful graphics that really do look astonishing at times, and have actually made me walk around for five minutes looking at the beauty of the night sky... Plus it's all sprinkled with some Fallout sprinkles. For example, Oblivion Lockpicking is out, Fallout one is in, and the finishing moves are very VATS-esque. And you can't have a small slice of this cake, oh no. You'll have the whole thing and then curl up and cry when it's all gone 100+ hours later. If you don't buy this game NOW, you're not even human. Expand
  48. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply AWESOME! This game brings all the features we love from the older games and then brings in so many new features that just set it apart from any other adventure RPG game out there. Combine a massive world of creative genius with an endless span of possibilities, beautiful graphics, an epic tale and fire/ice-breathing Dragons and you have Perfection = The Game of the Year = Skyrim.
  49. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is one of a select few games that drag you in from the start. I dont know what it is, it could be the gorgeous mountains waiting to be scaled, it could be the epic soundtrack, or it could be that it is so huge that it feels at least as of now that it could be played for months without it ever getting stale.
  50. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    OMG SKYRIM FUSRODAH DRAGONz! - - - - - - - - -
    Okay, I just had to get that out of my system. On to the review!
    Content: 9.5 Undeniably the greatest RPG gaming content available on the market to date! - - - - - - - - - Graphics 9.0 The graphics run smoothly with minimal hardware requirements and are comparable to other current generation games. The character models and animations are
    OMG SKYRIM FUSRODAH DRAGONz! - - - - - - - - -
    Okay, I just had to get that out of my system. On to the review!

    Content: 9.5 Undeniably the greatest RPG gaming content available on the market to date!
    - - - - - - - - -
    Graphics 9.0 The graphics run smoothly with minimal hardware requirements and are comparable to other current generation games. The character models and animations are all very well done.
    - - - - - - - - -
    Interface: 2.0
    Extremely frustrating to use - not at all the 'fast and intuitive' design it was hyped as. It might function moderately for consoles, but it is nowhere near up to par for computer gaming. I will list 10 fatal flaws with this interface on just the inventory alone: (the other parts would be too large a wall of text)
    1. The style of the interface looks Sci-fi instead of rugged medieval.
    2. Items lack any visual indication for what they are. (the previous title, Oblivion, had a distinguishing icon for every item.) This is such a necessary requirement as Skyrim contains many many thousands of items you will have to sort through.
    3. In order to find items in the inventory, you must manually scroll through not one, not two, but three separate menus that clump items together with no discerning order.
    4. Hotkeyed items seem to be bugged such that they randomly are de-hotkeyed if you make inventory changes.
    5. You cannot sort the inventory to list items in order of weight, gold value, or any other attribute. 6. Item attributes can only be viewed if you select that particular item, thus making it impossible to quickly scan and compare large numbers of similar items. (Yes, Bethesda, spreadsheets ARE the most functional tools for comparing data.)
    7. There is no inventory paperdoll so when you equip an item, you are forced to exit the menu and then pan the camera around your character in order to actually see what that equipment looks like on your character.
    8. On higher resolutions, it becomes incredibly difficult to read the text as it becomes very tiny, especially on smaller monitors.
    9. The small font issue also applies to viewing what items you currently have equipped, as the only indication for equipped items is a monochromatic arrow next to the item's name.
    10. The window used for viewing the 3D model of each item is utterly massive and takes up OVER HALF of the inventory screen, thus dwarfing all of the other (more important) elements.
    - - - - - - - - -
    Overall score: 8.0
    I highly recommend this game to everyone who enjoys a good hack and slash RPG. However, just be forewarned that unless you have a truckload of patience, expect to be thoroughly frustrated as you will likely be spending more time hacking your way through the interface than through any of those mudcrabs.
    Expand
  51. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Great game, really addictive. The World of Skyrim is well drawn and one can wander around for hours. The dialogues are well thought and the weapons are more user friendly than before. But there are some problems, bugs and annoying puzzles. This game is one of the best of this year.
  52. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I've already put 30 hours of gameplay into Skyrim and I'm still finding it just as fun as when I began. The dialogue is good, I'm enjoying the quests, the dragons are beautiful and the dungeons are absolutely stunning. What more is there to ask for?
  53. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Already played it 30+ hours, Only level 20 and Still freaking loving it! The world of Skyrim is great to explore, the armour has had major improvements from Oblivion, as well as graphics gameplay, options, the Ridiculous amount of quests, the Perk system and what the tree's can give you and many other major improvements that feels great every moment. I think My main problems is that, theyAlready played it 30+ hours, Only level 20 and Still freaking loving it! The world of Skyrim is great to explore, the armour has had major improvements from Oblivion, as well as graphics gameplay, options, the Ridiculous amount of quests, the Perk system and what the tree's can give you and many other major improvements that feels great every moment. I think My main problems is that, they simplified it too much. although in situations like the "Major and Minor Skills" it's in a way an exception. But when you remove the attributes and use Health, stamina or Magica as your attributes, it's just Absurd! the weapon arsenal like in Oblivion feels Limited in terms of what you could be using, Cause I'd like to tomahawk someone in the face, or execute someone with a halberd! allot of the soundtrack is a Copy and paste from Oblivion and Morrowing, Except for the battle Songs. In certain areas, it does feel like it is moving away from elder scrolls and going to a fallout feel. And finally, I don't know if it's just me, or is the options Interface usually unresponsive for a short time, because it can get frustrating sometimes! Either way, Skyrim is still absolutely fun as hell, and you should get it only for the fact that it's a Elder scrolls game!!! Expand
  54. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, the game play is superb, and the new leveling system is by far better then old one. The new leveling system really lets you customize your character to your play style. Interactions with NPCs are also more organic and actually make the NPCs feel like real people. In addition the soundtrack is one of the best I have ever heard for aThis game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, the game play is superb, and the new leveling system is by far better then old one. The new leveling system really lets you customize your character to your play style. Interactions with NPCs are also more organic and actually make the NPCs feel like real people. In addition the soundtrack is one of the best I have ever heard for a game. Bethesda has really out done themselves and Skyrim is major contender for GOTY. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  55. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I'm more than willing to wait 5 years in between TES titles if everyone is a masterpiece such as this one. The overwhelming feeling you get when you're thrown out into the open world is nostalgic. The new class and level systems are refreshing and free, allowing you to develop into the character you want without the race or class restrictions. Every aspect of the game world, from townfolkI'm more than willing to wait 5 years in between TES titles if everyone is a masterpiece such as this one. The overwhelming feeling you get when you're thrown out into the open world is nostalgic. The new class and level systems are refreshing and free, allowing you to develop into the character you want without the race or class restrictions. Every aspect of the game world, from townfolk to butterflies to the smelly dog in the town street is interactive. Having played over 30 hours, I've already gotten my $60 worth. Many gamers play a game that is 20 hours long and feel they got their money's worth. This takes it to a whole new level. I will easily put 150+ hours into this campaign alone and then come back for more. The miscellaneous objectives are intriguing and beg for you to follow them through out of sheer lust for exploration. Just walking around in this world is an experience that will wow even non-gamers like my wife. "ITS SO PRETTY!" Expand
  56. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game is probably the single greatestt RPG ever created. People that are saying Dark Souls is better are kidding themselves. That game cannot even keep its FPS above 10. I have been playing Skyrim nearly non-stop since it has come out and have not had a single graphical/fps issue, so the stability of the game is fine. The gameplay is ASTOUNDING. I cannot see myself getting bored withThis game is probably the single greatestt RPG ever created. People that are saying Dark Souls is better are kidding themselves. That game cannot even keep its FPS above 10. I have been playing Skyrim nearly non-stop since it has come out and have not had a single graphical/fps issue, so the stability of the game is fine. The gameplay is ASTOUNDING. I cannot see myself getting bored with this much content anytime soon. I haven't even touched the main quest yet!! If you're on the fence about this game, ignore the trolls and nay-Sayers, and do yourself a favor, buy this game!! Expand
  57. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Epic game! go adventuring in the land of Skyrim and play with the freedom to be the character you want to be. Battle Dragons or other fantasy creatures. Explore the land and find new things in all the far reaches of the world
  58. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    I've been playing this game for 1 week. In that time I've put in about 30 hours. On a typical week I might play a total of 5 hours of video gaming so that says an awful lot in and of itself. Of those 30 hours, I've loved every single one, and the amazing thing is I've barely scratched the surface. It's actually too good. It genuinely makes me appreciate your run of the mill games that youI've been playing this game for 1 week. In that time I've put in about 30 hours. On a typical week I might play a total of 5 hours of video gaming so that says an awful lot in and of itself. Of those 30 hours, I've loved every single one, and the amazing thing is I've barely scratched the surface. It's actually too good. It genuinely makes me appreciate your run of the mill games that you can finish off in 8 hours and get on with your life. This thing takes over.

    Believe the hype.
    Expand
  59. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    First off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a hugeFirst off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a huge step up from the previous Bethesda games. This is a amazing game, and is a perfect 10/10. Expand
  60. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):(: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):(: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ) Expand
  61. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    An awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small letAn awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small let down was the main story line. The ending wasn't as huge as i was expecting it to be. But all in all the other Quests like Dark Brotherhood and the civil war amazing. I think this game deserves the game of the year award. Expand
  62. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is seriously amazing! i dont understand what type of person would rate this game negatively?? The sound, graphics, gameplay - its all pure beauty. Best money i have ever spent!
  63. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Unfortunately I haven't got to play this game as much as I would have liked to but so far I enjoy what I've seen. I didn't buy this game for Xbox I only borrowed it but I guarantee you the first chance I get I will be purchasing this game for PC (sry I love to mod). What I found ingenious is the use of some mods from Oblivion used in the game instead of having to add them on. The size ofUnfortunately I haven't got to play this game as much as I would have liked to but so far I enjoy what I've seen. I didn't buy this game for Xbox I only borrowed it but I guarantee you the first chance I get I will be purchasing this game for PC (sry I love to mod). What I found ingenious is the use of some mods from Oblivion used in the game instead of having to add them on. The size of the map is a little daunting at first but as soon as you unlock a few fast travel locations it becomes easy to navigate across the entire map. Some of the early bosses seem to throw you in the deep end others seem to be pushovers with very little in the middle but otherwise it is a very very good game. Expand
  64. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    There's a reason we need bad games. It makes us greatly appreciate fantastically well crafted and near perfect games such as this even more. Thank you Bethesda, for allowing me to sacrifice a relatively small chunk of my paycheck for an amazing adventure I will remember for years to come.
  65. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is, by far, the best game in the Elder Scrolls series so far. Of course this should be expected, what with the current state of game engines, graphics and innovation, literally expanding rapidly on what is possible to realize in a game - and doing so in a convincing fashion.

    Having said that, I doubt that anyone could ever stand on a monutain in Skyrim, and not have their breath
    Skyrim is, by far, the best game in the Elder Scrolls series so far. Of course this should be expected, what with the current state of game engines, graphics and innovation, literally expanding rapidly on what is possible to realize in a game - and doing so in a convincing fashion.

    Having said that, I doubt that anyone could ever stand on a monutain in Skyrim, and not have their breath taken away by the impressive vista. The misty slopes, the ever expanding horizon - and the knowledge, that one can literally go and visit any location in sight. The graphics, especially on the PC's highest setting, are nothing short of stunningly beautiful.

    In terms of gameplay, Skyrim has definately seen some improvements since its' predecessor; Oblivion. The universal acclaimed UI improvements have not been exaggerated, and as I'm sure any Oblivion veteran will instantly agree with, the leveling / perk menu is by far one of the biggest improvements in Skyrim. It's simple, easily understood to even the most inexperienced of gamers. The fact that the menu itself is also an animated version of all three "major" star constellations in the game, doesn't hurt either.

    While Skyrim definately has a high replay value, assuming that one ever manages to complete every quest and faction accessible, there are some issues that would deter one from doing so. While one could argue that these are all minor issues, they add up into a sense of frustration.

    The facial animations are stiff, and somewhat bereft of life. While this might be blamed on the fact that I recently played LA Noire, this seems to be a consistent issue in the Elder Scrolls series. The bugs and glitches. I've seen people do a semi-Kitty Pride trick with doors and walls. While not a major issue in terms of progression, it does remove a lot from the sense of immersion. And speaking of that...

    The AI. While the AI on NPC's has been upgraded somewhat since Oblivion, there are still moments of complete and utter.. annoyance. This has, in my case, included companions running against a pillar (and getting stuck there), dragons using the same, rather plain tactic in terms of fighting and -worst of all- important people tied to quests, willingly walking off from cliffs, walls and even the rare mountain.

    All in all, the above issues come down to nitpicking. Like I said however, they do add up, and in the end the player is repeatedly reminded of the fact that it's a game, rather than an immersive experience. And the less is said about the state of PS3 owners, the better... In the end, Skyrim makes for a great experience. Its' breathtaking world, the dozens and dozens of intriguing storylines and the reasonably smooth gameplay, all in all makes for a gaming experience that will make you forget about the real world in a heartbeat. Get ready to kiss your friends, jobs and everyday life goodbye - it'll happen if you buy this game.

    9/10 - the bugs, glitches and somewhat simple AI being the only things that keep this game from perfection.
    Expand
  66. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    i didn't like oblivion very much,so i had low expectations but upon starting the game i loved it! the quests are fun and not all the same,enemies and npc's are smart and don't just stand there when being attacked but the best thing buy far is the dragons,one on its own isn't hard,but when 3 attack at once it gets hard,and even then it's pretty cool because people nearby join in andi didn't like oblivion very much,so i had low expectations but upon starting the game i loved it! the quests are fun and not all the same,enemies and npc's are smart and don't just stand there when being attacked but the best thing buy far is the dragons,one on its own isn't hard,but when 3 attack at once it gets hard,and even then it's pretty cool because people nearby join in and help,game of the year in my book,10/10 Expand
  67. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    out of this world its simply amazing so much to do places to go and people to talk to 100 hours plus with out any problem and dragons big flying fire breathing monsters what else do you want oh grate story's every were
  68. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    While i really like this kind of game (RPG Elements, exploring, some kind of immersive epic story) it feels a bit incomplete. Skyrim falls in the same pit of other rpg's (you will find a lot of repetitive quests, non charismatic npc's). In my lust to do everything in the game i already lost the interest without advancing the main quest. Another thing that has been bothering is the horribleWhile i really like this kind of game (RPG Elements, exploring, some kind of immersive epic story) it feels a bit incomplete. Skyrim falls in the same pit of other rpg's (you will find a lot of repetitive quests, non charismatic npc's). In my lust to do everything in the game i already lost the interest without advancing the main quest. Another thing that has been bothering is the horrible textures found in the game, for this year of 2011 i would expect some much better than what i saw. Elder Scrolls has the potential to be a excellent game, but it lacks a lot of polishment. Expand
  69. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    If I had to use one word to describe Skyrim, it would probably have to be "generous". It's a game that utterly immerses you in its setting. Oblivion was a game with a fairly cut-and-paste landscape in which you could create a classed character organically and in your own mould. Fallout 3, ironically enough, was game that *featured* more mould in a more fleshed-out albeit manky world,butIf I had to use one word to describe Skyrim, it would probably have to be "generous". It's a game that utterly immerses you in its setting. Oblivion was a game with a fairly cut-and-paste landscape in which you could create a classed character organically and in your own mould. Fallout 3, ironically enough, was game that *featured* more mould in a more fleshed-out albeit manky world,but characters tended to be some combination of "punch man", "shoot man", "pick lock" and "fix computer". Skyrim's world is built of vastly distinct biomes ranging from verdant tundra to snowy wastes to REALLY freaking snowy wastes. Its character development is three dimensional; in fact it's more like seven dimensional. It's a vast, freeform in quality of what could increasingly be called a genre of its own, the "Bethesda RPG" - which was already a watchword in If there's a solid criticism of the game, it's the melee combat; Bethesda's yet to find a first-person melee system that really works; up-close skirmishing just doesn't work through a restricted point of view and with limited manipulation of your pointy things. Dead Island's oar-swingy system may have played like a drunk remote control retard, but it could at least be said to be pushing the boundaries.

    Apart from dodgy manpunching, Skyrim deserves the title of Instant Classic just for the seemingly bottomless grab-bag of interesting, unique missions handsculpted from its immersive continent. When you've poured in two weeks of nightly gameplay are still being surprised with new enemies and weapons, and you've just run into Max Von Sydow, it's really hard to complain about value for money, even having paid the premium fourty pounds on release. When the price comes down, there should be no-one with facial hair who hasn't played, and loved, this game.
    Expand
  70. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Absolutely one of the most beautiful and amazing free world RPGs I've ever played. It may not be the most stable games out there... but you have to remember just the INSANE amount of content this game has. And for all that, you get beautiful graphics, a chilling soundtrack, and great gameplay. I never really got that much into Oblivion, but there's just something special about Skyrim whenAbsolutely one of the most beautiful and amazing free world RPGs I've ever played. It may not be the most stable games out there... but you have to remember just the INSANE amount of content this game has. And for all that, you get beautiful graphics, a chilling soundtrack, and great gameplay. I never really got that much into Oblivion, but there's just something special about Skyrim when you are traveling across the tundra. Or when you enter a dungeon and you sneak behind a group of bandits. Or when you fend off against angry townspeople. Skyrim isn't just a game... it's an experience. Expand
  71. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    SKYRIM IS A MASTERPIECE,

    This is one of the greatest games ever made.I have played many rpg's in my 30 years and this game is by far the best rpg yet,the story,graphics,game play is epic all in it's own and the voice acting is much better then it was in oblivion although oblivion is a great game as well.Skyrim get's a perfect 10.however I can not say the same thing for the ps3 version
    SKYRIM IS A MASTERPIECE,

    This is one of the greatest games ever made.I have played many rpg's in my 30 years and this game is by far the best rpg yet,the story,graphics,game play is epic all in it's own and the voice acting is much better then it was in oblivion although oblivion is a great game as well.Skyrim get's a perfect 10.however I can not say the same thing for the ps3 version since it's plagued by crashes,bug's and frame rate problems.but seeing as how this is the xbox 360 version review I must say it's the more stable version.
    Expand
  72. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Simply put the best RPG of the decade. Over 300+ hours of gameplay and a vast, open world where you can explore to your heart's desire. Only bad part is that the game is that there are some glitches that can ruin the experience. For example, while trying to enter the Mage College, I couldn't because of the test glitch. But even with these bugs Skyrim still is epic in the finest sense ofSimply put the best RPG of the decade. Over 300+ hours of gameplay and a vast, open world where you can explore to your heart's desire. Only bad part is that the game is that there are some glitches that can ruin the experience. For example, while trying to enter the Mage College, I couldn't because of the test glitch. But even with these bugs Skyrim still is epic in the finest sense of the word. One of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  73. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    100 hours in and still not fed up, its the game that just keeps giving. Its my GOTY without a doubt, perhaps even the game of this generation. If you dont have it and you like rpg's you are doing yourself a disservice by not playing this.
  74. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    A brilliant masterpiece. Bethesda keeps getting better and better. A massive, beautiful rpg with an interesting story backdrop and a beautiful musical score that is truly epic. The statistics are there, and the detail is amazing. 150 hours in and maybe halfway done. One of the best games I have ever played.
  75. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game exceeds the gaming world to date the amazing graphics fighting character models the easter eggs and of course the arrow to the knee joke i am getting this game for christmas but my uncle had it i didnt come out for a day or two
  76. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    You know a game is good when I can get my wife addicted to it. Now instead of watching TV we just play Skyrim. The graphics are amazing, the story is awesome, and the content seems to never end. This may be the greatest game ever made.
  77. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    EPIC IT IS SUCH A COOL GAME. THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO FIGHT, HUNT, PUT POTS OVER PEOPLES HEAD AND STEAL ALL THERE STUFF, THERE IS JUST SO MUCH TO Do. and if you don't like it, I don't like you
  78. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is an RPG adventure game, and is the next game to be released in the series from Oblivion. Skyrim is set in the Tamerial County in a place that is self explanatory called Skyrim, by lore Skyrim belongs to the Nords but as the same as the others there are also many different races that roam the lands. Character customisation has been widened to what it was in Oblivion, you have the exact same races but they have all been altered to look more lifelike and are very detailed and you are free to chose which ever race you like, another thing that I found good is that different races can sometimes cause NPCs to say different dialogues to you as the player which I found interesting and I liked the idea. Other new customisations allow you to add face paint option and chose you style and colour, how muscular is your character.

    When you have finished creating and finalising him/her, you are born into the world of Skyrim and are immediately are shown the graphics and how hard Bethesda have worked to create this beautiful landscape.

    You start off as a prisoner which is the exact same in previous elder scrolls game they really do just change the scenario from being in a dungeon and rescued
    Expand
  79. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It's rare that a game comes along to not only improve on previous games of its kind but exceeds them. Skyrim improves in nearly all areas from oblivion from graphics to Talking to the characters and their interaction. The menu system and the leveling up system is also improved. But the most amazing thing IMO is EVERY object you collect from food to weapons can be looked at in high detailIt's rare that a game comes along to not only improve on previous games of its kind but exceeds them. Skyrim improves in nearly all areas from oblivion from graphics to Talking to the characters and their interaction. The menu system and the leveling up system is also improved. But the most amazing thing IMO is EVERY object you collect from food to weapons can be looked at in high detail in a 3d area. People giving this game a 0 are either brain dead or work for competing game companies Expand
  80. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The pinnacle of open world RPG design. This game takes the best of Morrowind and Oblivion, and even earlier games (random quests from Daggerfall, for example) and takes it to an entirely new level. The world is beautifully designed and very interactive.

    One of the best games I've played in a long, long time.
  81. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    About 10 hours into this game, and having a blast. If you enjoy RPG's of any sort, you will absolutely love this game. Bethesda, as always, impresses with their latest release.
  82. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Epic, incredible how much depth there is this game. To be fair its not without the usual Bethesda glitches and random freezes every now and then. It doesn't really effect the gameplay that much because the game is breathtaking and highly addictive. I WA playing it for something like 14 hours yesterday and didn't even really notice that the time had past.
  83. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Is one of those games you will remember in your life. the graphics are beautiful. the world is big. if you never played a rpg in your life this is the game. best $60.00 i ever spent.
  84. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is simply the greatest game I have ever played. If you are a fan, in any way, of RPG's you should play this. If you enjoyed Morrowind, Oblivion, Fallout 3, Fallout NV, you will love this game. It is so good that there are already thousands of reviews saying as much so I will leave you to them. Just rest assured, it is a god among games.
  85. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing whoever is giving it bad ratings should not be playing video games. The graphics are great the fighting and magic are great, and the story is on point.
  86. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Simply amazing! In my opinion clearly the best in the series and my personal GOTY. The limitless freedom of exploration returns and lets you experience an unique adventure that is setting milestones in the RPG genre. You have the complete freedom in what you do, there is not even a real class you choose: You build up your complete own in the flow of the game. The huge environment invitesSimply amazing! In my opinion clearly the best in the series and my personal GOTY. The limitless freedom of exploration returns and lets you experience an unique adventure that is setting milestones in the RPG genre. You have the complete freedom in what you do, there is not even a real class you choose: You build up your complete own in the flow of the game. The huge environment invites you to explore every single part of it with beautiful landscapes, an amazing soundtrack and interesting sidequests around every corner. It has been a long time since I was this satisfied with a game. Expand
  87. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I will never see the sun again nuff said



    Also this game is amazing..... i don't want to unleash my wave of how awesome this game is..... i end there... OOOOMMMGGG no don't do it. hahaha im not going to do it. im gonna hold in my excitement. everytime i think about this game. it makes me happy
  88. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Patch arrived and my issues are fixed. As promised, an updated review. Skyrim is just huge you can spend countless hour walking around and finding things to do virtually everywhere you go. The simplified systems make character creation fast and not nearly so easy to mess up. Visuals are stunning at every turn. The lack of acrobatics/athletic skill takes any reward from walking from placePatch arrived and my issues are fixed. As promised, an updated review. Skyrim is just huge you can spend countless hour walking around and finding things to do virtually everywhere you go. The simplified systems make character creation fast and not nearly so easy to mess up. Visuals are stunning at every turn. The lack of acrobatics/athletic skill takes any reward from walking from place to place, but not everything is instantly lit up on the map either so you get in some good foot time and that's good for the immersion. Combat is refined and magic is now fixed. You even get your fallout combat moments every now and then, albeit they are less gory and explody but still epic. The thing that keeps this from a 10 (Perfect) is a coop. Because even with all that they add. There is always that thought in the back of your head of how many more times amazing it would be if you could blast a real player with magic or share with them your equipment. Expand
  89. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The game is absolutely mind blowing from the scenary , to the sound , to the graphics. The game is packed with overwhelming content that would take your life away. I see there are 48 minority trolls who are votingdown the game they are nobodies.
  90. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I loved Morrowind and i loved Oblivion. Even though the last one got criticised a lot for things i do understand. But Skyrim... this... this game is just so incredibly good i have no words for it. Got the game on monday too, around 30 hours in now and i have only seen the tip of the iceberg. There is so ridiculously much content, the world design is so well done and feels alive , theI loved Morrowind and i loved Oblivion. Even though the last one got criticised a lot for things i do understand. But Skyrim... this... this game is just so incredibly good i have no words for it. Got the game on monday too, around 30 hours in now and i have only seen the tip of the iceberg. There is so ridiculously much content, the world design is so well done and feels alive , the combat is so much more fun, the radiant ai is so much better, i could keep going. And the atmosphere... oh my god. I was afraid too buy the xbox version, as i always bought the pc versions. But since my pc isn't up to date anymore i went for the xbox version. How they can manage to squeeze such beauty out of so dated hardware is beyond me. anyway, i give the game a 10. It is NOT glitch free. There are definately some issues, but it's easily forgivable once you're several hours in and see how ambitious and great this game is. I have played hundreds of games and loads of rpg's, but this just might be one of the best gamign experience of my life. I see myself sinking hundreds of hours in this game and playing it for years to come. It is not overhyped. The only bad reviews are coming from people who are experiencing bugs or people who have always hate bethesda anyway. Expand
  91. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is an amazing, jaw-droppingly vast RPG, with spells, swords, axes, quests and monsters galore. It isn't perfect (but what is?) thanks to repeated phrases and voice actors. And like all Bethesda game, it's got a crap-ton of glitches. BUT, Skyrim is very, very big, and it's only matched by it's quality. A trip down a forest with a talking dog. A quest reminiscent of The Hangover. EpicSkyrim is an amazing, jaw-droppingly vast RPG, with spells, swords, axes, quests and monsters galore. It isn't perfect (but what is?) thanks to repeated phrases and voice actors. And like all Bethesda game, it's got a crap-ton of glitches. BUT, Skyrim is very, very big, and it's only matched by it's quality. A trip down a forest with a talking dog. A quest reminiscent of The Hangover. Epic Dark Brotherhood questlines. Skyrim packs a lifetime of content into one game-giving astonishing value for money. The Xbox 360 game of the year. Expand
  92. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    Having never played an Elder Scrolls game outside of a demo back when the 360 was released, I had only the reputation and high remarks for the game to set any kind of expectation. After around 50 hours invested into Skyrim, and having done only 7 of the main store quests at the moment, I can safely say Skyrim is the game of the year for me. Other titles were good this year, but for aHaving never played an Elder Scrolls game outside of a demo back when the 360 was released, I had only the reputation and high remarks for the game to set any kind of expectation. After around 50 hours invested into Skyrim, and having done only 7 of the main store quests at the moment, I can safely say Skyrim is the game of the year for me. Other titles were good this year, but for a single-player experience, Skyrim really knocks all the others out of the park when it comes to quality. Even with several noticeable bugs scattered throughout the game, it still supremely impresses over and over again. It may not be for everyone, but if you enjoy action/adventure games and are looking to get lost in a big world full of customization and plenty of bunny trails to divert from the main objective: Skyrim is more than worth a look. Expand
  93. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    If you were new to the Bethesda RPG games, this game would be a ten because you'll be amazed out how this game is so huge. If you have already experienced and loved the Elder Scroll series, then this game is a nine because basically it is Oblivion tweaked. Graphics aren't really that much updated or revolutionary; nothing we haven't seen since 2008 from other AAA games. The characters areIf you were new to the Bethesda RPG games, this game would be a ten because you'll be amazed out how this game is so huge. If you have already experienced and loved the Elder Scroll series, then this game is a nine because basically it is Oblivion tweaked. Graphics aren't really that much updated or revolutionary; nothing we haven't seen since 2008 from other AAA games. The characters are not as hideous looking as before and the girls actually look attractive this time around. But I swear, Bethesda and Bioware must have a running bet on who can make the ugliest elves in their games. The storyline is just as long as Oblivion's, and the numerous sidequests are about on the same level and uniqness. The combat is as unimpressive as before with the exception you now get, more often than not, pretty cool finishing moves. That's kind of disappointing because today it is possible for some RPG franchises to blend in well the combat action into their RPG games without turning them into hack-n-slashes; Fable and the Witcher come to mind. I was really hoping for an epic battle against a dragon in this game, but it was not so. But those are just small issues considering how impressive Oblivion was five years ago that this game's overall experience is far from dissappointing. Expand
  94. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    So i worte a short text because of hate Steam. But now about game. I really like this Skyrim!!!! It is a wonderfull game, i promise dont use graphics mods for it. :) It is really perfect to world... Everything fine. The people(emo's, fan of manga guess dont see so hehe) Sure it is a console port and everything really simple but work so perfectly. The fatalities are good and system ofSo i worte a short text because of hate Steam. But now about game. I really like this Skyrim!!!! It is a wonderfull game, i promise dont use graphics mods for it. :) It is really perfect to world... Everything fine. The people(emo's, fan of manga guess dont see so hehe) Sure it is a console port and everything really simple but work so perfectly. The fatalities are good and system of fight good too. Only speed and lucks miss to perfect rpg feeling. And guess some things miss for example when i use imperial armor the rebels should attack me as it happen in Fallout new vegas. But i put 10 to this game because it is a really universum and i really like it :) Expand
  95. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Astounding. Lifted to a work of art. A contender for the best video game ever made, this is stratospheric. I've never been so invested or enthalled. If in any doubt, just buy it
  96. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    One word : Masterpiece. Love the story/setting/combat and the sound effects are incredible. Only issue is the PS3 version has some terrible shadows which should have been turned off but otherwise this is one of those games that comes along and shatters everything else. Worth the money definitely. My only hope is Bethesda re-releases this for next-generation consoles...would love to playOne word : Masterpiece. Love the story/setting/combat and the sound effects are incredible. Only issue is the PS3 version has some terrible shadows which should have been turned off but otherwise this is one of those games that comes along and shatters everything else. Worth the money definitely. My only hope is Bethesda re-releases this for next-generation consoles...would love to play with better graphics without investing in a new PC. Morrowind was excellent, Oblivion was rushed and un-interesting, but Skyrim reigns supreme. Expand
  97. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Wow. No wonder the Elder Scrolls only comes out with a new game every few years. This is completley brilliant and well, virtually stunning. It has it's awkward moments, but that's nothing too strange. It's one of those games you will NEVER forget. The lack of multiplayer might break an easy addiction, but this is something that you must at least test. Skyrim is already becoming a big hitWow. No wonder the Elder Scrolls only comes out with a new game every few years. This is completley brilliant and well, virtually stunning. It has it's awkward moments, but that's nothing too strange. It's one of those games you will NEVER forget. The lack of multiplayer might break an easy addiction, but this is something that you must at least test. Skyrim is already becoming a big hit and will break sales records like the also recommended Modern Warfare 3, and perhaps Battlefield will catch up someday. Expand
  98. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    My girlfriend HATES Skyrim. Why? Because I want to play it every free moment I have. I have to force myself to shut off the XBOX or the consequences could have a detrimental impact on my sex life. What makes this game Crack for nerds can be summarized in one word. Immersion. You will be utterly helpless as the incredible world of Skyrim becomes more engaging with every hour you play.My girlfriend HATES Skyrim. Why? Because I want to play it every free moment I have. I have to force myself to shut off the XBOX or the consequences could have a detrimental impact on my sex life. What makes this game Crack for nerds can be summarized in one word. Immersion. You will be utterly helpless as the incredible world of Skyrim becomes more engaging with every hour you play. Skyrim will likely win Game of the Year for 2011 even though there were some amazing games released this year. Expand
  99. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is officially one of the best games ever created. This flawless RPG may be the start of a new generation of beautiful graphics, epic fighting, neverending adventures, and the freedom to do whatever you want. They created a masterpiece of dragon killing, human raping, and more. This game should receive 10 from ever gamer, those who give a 0 are most likely idiots or losers weThis game is officially one of the best games ever created. This flawless RPG may be the start of a new generation of beautiful graphics, epic fighting, neverending adventures, and the freedom to do whatever you want. They created a masterpiece of dragon killing, human raping, and more. This game should receive 10 from ever gamer, those who give a 0 are most likely idiots or losers we outcast. Such an improvement from Oblivion and other Bethesda games. I SAY THIS GAME IS THE GAME OF THE YEAR!!!! LIKE THIS IF YOU AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Props to Bethesda and Prima game ~~~ Expand
  100. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Holy **** this game is so ****ing amazing, i have been playing it for 10 ****ing minutes and i ****ing love it, i'd give it a ****ing infinity out of 10 if could, if you don't buy this ****ing game right now, i'm going to track your IP address and ****ing kill you.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.