User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3127 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is quite possibly one of the best games I, personally, have ever played. I don't say that lightly. Ever.
    (Although, it should be noted that I also say this about Fallout 3.)

    Over the time between announcement and release, I had my fair share of change in skepticism, especially once the major hype-wagon hit. I couldn't help but feel like I'd get affected by the hype and then be
    disappointed when I initially played it on release. This was not the case.
    Of course, I see a few bad reviews on this website, but from what I've read (and I did not read all of them), the reviewers that scored it negatively were not fans previous to Skyrim, or even familiar with typical Bethesda RPGs, so perhaps a few did get caught in the hype web. If you are a fan of older TES games, though, or even the current Bethesda generation Fallout series, you shouldn't worry about Skyrim based off these reviews; as long as you are familiar with the gameplay and layout of these games, and you enjoy them for that layout and gameplay, you should enjoy Skyrim.

    Graphically, the game is incredibly beautiful. Months, years and decades beyond Oblivion in almost every way, except for maybe character movements. The gameplay has also been improved greatly, mainly spellcasting, to a point where I can hardly believe this is the next game in line after Oblivion and Fallout. Being able to duel wield spells and single handed weapons wasn't even this satisfying in Bioshock 2!
    It should also be noted that 3rd person is even more a viable option than it ever has been, though it still seems primarily a first person game. The only thing so far that I haven't seen much improvement on is the Sword combat. It still feels as though your whacking your opponent with a small plastic spoon instead of a large iron sword.

    I haven't gotten far enough in the main story to really score it in any way that would be fair.

    The sound is amazing, from everything to walking on cobblestone to the the flapping of giant dragon wings which are a sure sign of a battle to come. There are the occasional "broken record" moments when a certain sound is interrupted repeats a few times. It's nothing game breaking by ANY means, but it is rather noticeable if you use a Turtlebeach headset.

    There is no multiplayer which I really see no reason to downscore the game for.

    Overall, Skyrim is an incredible improvement over Oblivion and Fallout, so much so that it's hard to believe these were all released to the same console. I can't say enough good things about this game, and I've barely played much at all in comparison to what there is. Don't miss this game, and if you've never played a Bethesda RPG before, at least rent it and give it a try.
    Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    6
    I must admit that Skyrim has disappointed me. It didn't live up to my expectations. This game is an improved version of TES IV: Oblivion. It doesn't really show any innovation. Just improvements... What this game is only good for is exploring. And even if caves and ruins all differ, it still quickly gets repetitive. There's not enough types of opponents. Dragons on the other hand, I must admit, are epicly made. They are innovative.. But other than that... Well, ok, random events, these are fun as well. But besides that, the story and all of the side quests are really boring. I was seriously hoping that they'll make the story really entertaining... They had so many years to work on that. But all they've done is that they have improved few things, and added dragons. Graphic-wise they've done a good job. I really think this game is far too hyped up. Comparing it to oblivion, it just doesn't offer enough of new things. I got bored sooner than I expected. Oh, and also... "Romancing" is the most shallow in the history of games here. And the only purpose of having a wife is that she may start a shop, and give you money every once in a while... Pros: -Huge open world, which is fun to explore... until it gets boring. -Graphics. -Dragons. Cons: -Just doesn't offer a lot of new things, compared to Oblivion. -Boring main story and side quests. -Could use more types of enemies. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    Overhyped nonsense with outdated graphics, it's basically fallout with swords, so that means it's like fallout with a quater of the content. I don't understand the hype for this turd, super glitchy on day 1 and yet no one craps on it like every other game out there. It's ok fanboys you can have your moment.
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Simly put: the pros outweigh the cons. Biggest pro: Aesthetics. Biggest con: Magic Constrictions. Theres more if you're willing to read. I will start by saying my vote is based on a scale of 0-10, 0 meaning "unplayable", 5 equal to Oblivion (not inherently bad, just to compare Skyrim respectively), and 6+ is an overall improvement from Oblivion. Voice Acting (+1) has been greatly improved from 12 to 70+ actors, meaning you can play longer before you are driven insane by the repetitive voice of Jauffre. Aesthetics (+2) are greatly improved over Oblivion. The map itself is slightly smaller than Oblivion, but it's designed to feel 4x bigger, and it does. Filled with flowing creeks, ice caps, mountains, snow, and A LOT more. Graphics (+1) are improved, not by much tho. It looks better, for sure, but that's thanks to the aesthetics. As for clarity and detail of models, it's only a slight, but noticeable improvement. Skills (+1) have a better setup. Many people like that the skills were directly related to your use of them like in Oblivion, but perks make the game feel more survival/strategic based. They're done nicely. Professions (+1) are a wonderful addition that are a tie between skills and aesthetics, but is prominent enought to be listed as its own plus. While the only real mechanical upside of professions relates to smithing, it's still wonderful to be able to chop wood, mine ores, smelt ores, and so on to improve your gear. Dragons (+0) are an interesting replacement to Oblivion Gates. That's exactly what they are, a replacement. While epic within the story line, and fun to battle with their random characteristics, they are also as repetitive as Oblivion Gates. No matter how epic they are, I find myself only wanting to kill them only for their souls, but after the first 10, it starts to get old. That's why it's a plus zero, cause they're epic, but repetitive. Number of Places (+1) have been increased by about double, and to top it off you never feel like you explore the same place twice, unlike Oblivion. Magic (-2) has been drastically reduced... I'm not sure the number of spells in either game, but I do know they REALLY trimmed magic. They completely did away with Mysticism, and got rid of the ability to craft spells. Bethesda combated the lack of spells with the ability to dual wield spells, but it's not enough... They dropped the ball on this one. User Interface (-1) has always been a core downside for Bethesda's most recent games, even on consoles. I would have not listed UI as a downside, however I hate that they replaced the D-Pad hotkeys with a pausable favorites menu. While it's nice at first, it really pulls you away from combat when all you want to do is unequip your shield and equip a spell. So, to summarize, Oblivion is a 5 on the scale (not inherently bad, just to compare Skyrim respectively), and the improvements include Voice Acting +1 (6), Aesthetics +2 (8), Graphics +1 (9), Skills +1 (10), Professions +1 (11), Dragons +0 (11), Places +1 (12), and the downsides: Magic -2 (10), and UI -1 (9), so overall Skyrim is a +4 compared to Oblivion. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This truly is the most beautiful game I have ever seen. A masterpiece and an epic world for you to explore and discover. The is the definitive game for this generation of consoles.
  6. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Simply amazing! In my opinion clearly the best in the series and my personal GOTY. The limitless freedom of exploration returns and lets you experience an unique adventure that is setting milestones in the RPG genre. You have the complete freedom in what you do, there is not even a real class you choose: You build up your complete own in the flow of the game. The huge environment invites you to explore every single part of it with beautiful landscapes, an amazing soundtrack and interesting sidequests around every corner. It has been a long time since I was this satisfied with a game. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The six year wait is finally over, and the jury is out on the fifth installment of the TES franchise. Skyrim is the definitive 21st century Action RPG. This time the battle goes to Skyrim where your character is released into the open to fight dragons and fight a bloody civil war. The action is fun, smooth and bloody, with intuitive menus and controls that work wonderfully on an Xbox. The progression system works well though I would've liked to see more class specialization.The graphics are much better this time around, but you really need a 1080p television to get the best textures and smoothest edges. There's also the occasion graphical bug or AI pathfinding issue. Overall, Skyrim has some small issues, but I still cannot think of any gamer I wouldn't recommend this to... 9.5/10! Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    All people who hate this game need to stfu they are clearly the minority here. This game in my opinion is one of the best that we have seen in a awhile.
  9. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced. There is an infinite amount of quests (literally, the game makes new quests as you go) and they are all very fun to complete. Dragons in this game look stunning to say the least. Overall this is close to being the best game I have ever played, easy 10/10. The only thing I could wish for is a co-op mode because a lot of my friends have this game it's always more fun with friends. Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    GOTY and one of the best games I have ever played. The amount of quality that Bethesda put into this game is amazing. I went into this game with pretty high expectations but I was blown away by how much content was packed into this beautiful game. And its not just how much content but how good and enjoyable the content is. This is one of those games that just don't come along very often.
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Every game released in the past year has just been a filler. This is the game we all have been waiting so long for. Everything from the previous game has been refined and tuned to make one of the greatest RPG experiences to date. For every one thing Bethesda did right in this game, it did 100 things even righter. Visuals, sound, game play; what can be said about this game that has not already been said? Expand
  12. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    The UI alone makes this game not fun to play. Using gaming console interface cheapened up is bad, but add in the bugs and lack of consistent hot-key saving results in a recurring nightmare.
  13. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    One word. Skyrim. This game is simply the greatest game ever made for any console. Fanboys can be quiet because games like Metal Gear Solid and Uncharted have nothing on Skyrim. I waited about 2 weeks to post this to see if i would still be playing and am proud to say i am still playing. A lot. With about 90 hours in 2 weeks, that alone should show you how addictive and incredible this game is. The graphics are incredible with a few 2d frame here and there, but that does not take away form the epic scope of this game. The only "problem" with this game is the bugs. Personally, I have never had a game breaking glitch in this game and the only bugs are hilarious and add to the incredible-ness of this game. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is simply put, the single greatest game ever made. Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    An honest 9 for what it deserves, yes it could Easley be more however, a few graphical issues. Not problems or anything to disrupt your playing experience but I have to say why it doesn't get my "10" score, this is one that I don't feel is "perfect" but very good. Anyway the story I was instantly taken by, and a game to grab your attention like that IS what a game is alllll about! Yes graphics add to it, but like a film it doesn't matter if it's avatar pretty it all comes down to the story. And also why I mention the story it is a lot better then oblivion! Oblivion i was always 50/50 with. Skyrim has no bugs from what I have seen, and tbh if someone experiences one it's going to be something stupid which on a game of this scale is NOT a problem. Lifespan...all matters on your imagination. And while I have scored this high, I can honestly say that an RPG of this size that gets scores of a zero are nothing but trolls! It's like someone watching one episode of lost and reviewing the whole series, it's just stupid not funny and created by morons who have nothing better to do! If you liked oblivion then this IS for you even if you didn't like I said I wasn't too sure about, it could STILL be for you. Great job Bethesda honestly. And talking about trolls and scores what is it with the real critics on metacritic now, there is always a ton of 100 scores on any page.... 10= fan ;) 0= troll O.o you know it but don't wanna show it!! Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A truly in depth game with amazing graphics and outstanding features. I think this is a must have game, its one that will go down as one of the, if not the, best game of the year. So far I haven't got to far into the game but there has been no glitches and has had a intriguing story line. I really recommend you pick this game up.
  16. Dec 11, 2011
    0
    Fire the guy who designed the interface. Just. Fire. Him. It's the worst interface I've ever seen. We have a mouse, non a gamepad. Apart from that, is the same game we already knew from Oblivion. Lots of bugs, pleasant graphics (but you can do better IF you don't do a straight from console porting) et cetera. If you liked Oblivion you will like this. If you couldnÃ
  17. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    I hate it when they give perfect score without even finishing i mean it has many bugs, boring battle scene, boring gameplay attack, boring story, it only has huge world but always the same they took 5 years to make it but still it has many bugs.
  18. Dec 7, 2011
    3
    A definite 'buy' If you want to amuse your friends with Dragons that fly spastically backwards, Weapon racks that fail to activate (oh hold on... that is Whiterun only... my Windhelm one activates and places the weapons 'through' the wall), Mannequins that have their assorted body parts that vanish when adding your armor for display, Book shelves that no longer activate to hold books and of course my favorite... LAGGGGGGGGGGGG. Expand
  19. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    What can I say, I never played Oblivion or Morrowind and don't really care because this is the best game on any platform that I have ever played and I have played quite a few. This game has shown me that there are still developers who make games for gamers. The endless possibilities of character development, the size of the area to be explored, the beauty of the environments, the unpredictability of what may happen next, the fantastic music, the great story and side stories with various factions and the complete immersion I have experienced in this game is mind blowing. This is a work of art and I just wanna thank Bethesda for making a game that takes up half the storage space on my console than most games but provides a hundred times more fun than 95% of the crap that is churned out these days, don't understand anyone scoring this a zero but hey whatever I'm off to absorb some more dragon souls. Expand
  20. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    WARNING: SKYRIM MAY IMPAIR OR SCAR YOUR SOCIAL LIFE. MAKE SURE TO PAUSE YOUR GAME AND OPEN YOUR WINDOWS AND ABSORB SOME SUN LIGHT EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE.
    I was never much of an RPG guy. My friend let me borrow the fallouts. New Vegas was more my style with the western theme in their. I thought they were amazing, genuine sandbox games. So then he tells me to rent Skyrim. Skyrim is being
    added to my Christmas gift-list, as should it be for every gamer in the world. The amount of things to do almost become overwhelming, which may be the only "bad"-ish like thing other than a few bugs, which really aren't too bad, and will be patched soon. There is something in it for every one. So just let Skyrim suck you into its world, and know that you have been warned. Expand
  21. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    What can you say about Skyrim? It is an achievement in gaming. It is by far the best game this year. There are some bugs but Bethesda has been quick to work fixes for them. Regardless of these minor shortcomings, this is the best game this year, one of the greatest games of all time. Skyrim represents the next step in gaming, giving you choice to do as you please. In my humble opinion the gaming moment of the year is when you realize you have spent 50 hours playing Skyrim, and you have done only side quests. This is what gaming is supposed to be; an engaging story, great graphics, great sound, good controls, and characters you care about. Who has not restarted a quest because Lydia has died? Who hasn't gone holy sh** when you kill a dragon, or get clobbered by a giant 100s of feet in the air? This game has more moments that wow you than moments that are dull. In one sentence Skyrim is the finest game this year, and one of the greatest of all time. Expand
  22. Jan 27, 2012
    5
    Overall the game was alright and I have to give the devs credit where credit is due. Amazing graphics, very expansive world, decent (or maybe not so decent) story. It did definately give me a fair few hours of enjoyment.

    Now onto the bad. The main complaint I have (and one that can apply to many dev companies these days) is that it is very clear that little to no thought was put into
    game mechanics and gameplay. I imagine the design team was populated entirely by very creative, artistic-minded individuals who love designing beautiful graphics and thinking up "creative" new ideas (i.e. dual-casting) but put absolutely no thought into how the elements of the game will actually play out. Will the player be able to use them? As an example, the spell-casting system is, in my mind, ruined. Sure the idea that you have to equip spells in each hand sounds cool but it in fact plays out as a regression from one of the few major improvements between morrowind and oblivion. That is, with the removal of equipping spells in oblivion a player could now better utilize magic in mixed classes. Alternating between spells that boost their combat style and swinging their sword, shooting their bow or even using their staff. Not to mention the need to go through a laborious unequip/equip action while an enemy is trying their best to swat you. This, of course, is only one example out of a myriad of poorly planned gameplay mechanics that make Skyrim, at best, a decent game.

    It seems too many dev companies these days are moving in the direction of making great interactive movies (read Skyrim and the original Assassin's Creed) instead of making fun games. They appear to use their projects as excuses for artistic self-indulgence ("Wow look how beautiful those graphics are. Good job all!") rather than creating something that will be enjoyable to their audience. These companies would do well to mix their design teams up a little. Sure, employ the talented artists but don't exclude the analytical individual. The one who will assess things like game balance and gameplay mechanics.
    Expand
  23. May 4, 2012
    6
    The most overrated game I have ever seen, not as fun as it promises to be, cool in the beginning but it ends boring, and brings almost nothing new to the series.
  24. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It's rare that a game comes along to not only improve on previous games of its kind but exceeds them. Skyrim improves in nearly all areas from oblivion from graphics to Talking to the characters and their interaction. The menu system and the leveling up system is also improved. But the most amazing thing IMO is EVERY object you collect from food to weapons can be looked at in high detail in a 3d area. People giving this game a 0 are either brain dead or work for competing game companies Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I am 43 years old and have been playing games since Pong. The first RPG I ever played was The Bard's Tale for the Commodore 64. This game had me playing for hours on end, and at times realizing that the sun was coming up since I played all night. This game was a joy to play, and I have been looking for that same feeling in a game ever since.
    Skyrim has fulfilled that feeling.
    I get
    chills when I am trying to sneak past a ghosts in a dungeon. Discovering a new area feels exciting. Opening a chest usually yields something useful or valuable.
    I feel like I am working toward making Skyrim a better place, even when I am not on the main storyline. Anything can happen at any time and usually does.
    I have heard that there are some glitches, and I have had some short pauses from time to time, but this is due to my equipment, not the game.
    Don't tell Bethesda, but they could make more by making half of this game DLC and they could still get 60 bucks for this game. Luckily RPG fans demand more that the average 12yr old playing MW3 where they can get away with cloning a previous release.
    Keep it up Bethesda! Great job.
    Expand
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    I honestly don't see how this game is getting so many 10/10 ratings. Yes its got amazing depth of exploration and I am enjoying playing it. But at the same time I spend most of my time frustrated with the interface and extremely poor mechanics. You have to weather far too much poor implementation than a modern AAA quality game should provide you.
    Great game for its RPG content, extremely
    poor implementation, physics, combat mechanics, voice overs, sound, the list goes on. If you enjoy RPGs like I do it is probably worth the purchase, but its really hard to see how everyone is so blind to the problems. Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I was surprised at the swaying trees and shadows in Skyrim, with a game world this big I completely understood if it wasn't in but well done Bethesda. For someone to mark this game low because of a lack of multiplayer is absurd, and shows a complete lack of comprehension. You can feel the effort in this game, absolutely briilant. Yes there are some lower res textures about but this game is huge, a game like mw3 is tiny and can't even manage to get to 720p. Todd Howard you and your team deserve the accolades, thats what happens when you put in the work. Fantastic stuff. One again the rpg stands tall atop the mountain. DOVAHKIN, DRAGONBORN!!!!!!! Thank you for my ''perfect'' game, and Jeremy S that music is just insane, all of it!!! Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    First of all
    I'm not a RPG lover, but I still find big joy in this game
    I just start and have been playing it non-stop for 6 hours!
    My record was 1 hours for Fallout NV!
    Masterpiece? YES
    GOTY? YES
    Here am I, sitting and waiting for another masterpiece called Fallout 4
  29. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    100 % pure gaming enjoyment :) Skyrim soars high visually, architecturally, interactively and especially musically; a soundtrack only rivaled by that of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Glitches exist yes, but are oh so far from game breaking. Given Skyrim's competition it will without a doubt make it to the top of GOTY-considerations.
  30. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Vast world, pretty graphics, nice music, quite interesting story, character development system better than Morrowind and Oblivion. Unfortunately, there is lack of something great, stunning and absorbing. I didn't end even the main quest. It contains also poor main characters, nothing distinctive. If you like sandboxes, you'll enjoy dungeon crawling. Otherwise, better think up purchase. Nevertheless, Skyrim is better than his older parts of The Elder Scrolls series. Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I wondered how this would compare with Dark Souls but needn't have worried. Skyrim is excellent. It really is everything Elder Scrolls fans could want. Bethesda have done a great job. The graphics are amazing and so is the story. Do yourself a favour, buy this and Dark Souls today.
  32. Dec 3, 2011
    5
    Overall: A game of extreme pros and cons, Skyrim is ultimately too much of a grind to play for enjoyment. Pros: -The music is phenomenal. -It is chock full of quests of different sorts, some with story lines, some are one-offs.
    Cons: -I've played 2 different characters, for a total of 100 hours or so, and I can't stand how hard it is to max-out each character's main skills. It's damn
    impossible. It makes the game a slog. You can't experience everything that each skill has to offer without putting in 100 hours per character.
    -It's somewhat buggy. -Some of the combat is just as tedious as the leveling.
    -The dialogue and voice acting, especially on the people you talk to the most, is grating and annoying. -A few of the races [lizard with boobs, cats] are absolutely stupid.
    Expand
  33. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Skyrim brings 'all flash no substance' to an entirely new level. Somehow people are impressed by having giant sub-par looking landscapes and tons of NPC's even if it substitutes an actually decent combat system, or basically any gameplay mechanic that's even remotely challenging or polished. If a game based around conflict doesn't have a good combat system, it has nothing. Plain and simple. Bethesda opted for a big world instead of a well designed one, and that's what they got. I'd rather play several better smaller games then waste my time playing one bad big one. Expand
  34. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    By force of habit, when a new game comes along the first thing I judge it on isn't by the graphics or the gameplay, but how much improvement is shown from teh last installment which of course meant Skyrim got an A+ in my book right off the bat. After 2 hours of gameplay I can say that it kept up with my first impression and continued to impress me though and through. Though the fighting system still feels rather uneven and their are a few bugs, though no game breaking ones, Skryim still mixes up the pot and throws in some new twists that I'm sure any fans of the series will enjoy. The odds of Skyrim winning GOTY this year is quite high as from what I've seen in the past few months is that it's only true competitor for the title is Batman: Arkham City. Expand
  35. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is it. This game has it all, its the alpha and omega of RPG'S,and in my book deserves all the praise it can get... Nuff said,i'm of to Skyrim PS : The only thing that seemed to strike me as unusual (at least untill i got very much used to it and delighted later as i got deeper in the world) was the mixed OST from Morrowind and Oblivion,not that there's anything wrong with that :D
  36. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The Game Is Amazing! Definately what I expected from Bethesda! It's Like Oblivion, Fallout, Fable and Dragon Age Combind! Except with more dragons of course! Definately Worth The Money. Epic both graphically and gameplay, so glad that its finaly here! Awesome!! 10/10
  37. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Spectacular game. Everyhting about it is awesome, after getting my third dragon shout the game got even better. Good job bethesda, keep up the good work and hopefully make a really good DLC for this game because im definitely getting it :)
  38. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Soundtrack is brilliant. Visuals are outstanding. Engine Performance is beastly. Gameplay is quite fun. This is pretty much the best of the best of the entire Elder Scrolls series. Bethesda and their developers have learned so much from their previous BRILLIANT games. Unlike Battlefield 3's direction, it keeps the AMAZINGLY LARGE COMPLETELY OPEN terrain and an entire world to explore. It's land is like World of Warcraft with less world loading. It. Is. Amazing. Again, it keeps with the gameplay elements of previous games, HUNDREDS of quests, and how you can choose to do almost whatever you want. Want to kill everyone in the town you live in? Check. Buy a house and live in it? Check. Go and loot every dungeon in the game? Check. Amazing. Go get it. Expand
  39. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Went to the midnight release, practically sprinted back to my dorm room, and played it until my eyes couldn't stay open anymore. It starts off somewhat slow, but it's the game we've all been waiting for.
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful game. Again with astounding visuals and solid gameplay. Up untill now ive had almost no bugs, except for 2 CTD's. Knowing most game developers release games half finished nowadays, thats quite well. The dialog is improved over Oblivion's one. I find it even hard to see that it is a console port, so they ported it well.
  41. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Amazing. A truly incredible experience that every Human Being should be able to enjoy. Goes above and beyond what all other developers have to offer. This isn't a game, this is art.
  42. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Ten hours in, and I feel I have only just brushed on the surface of what this game has to offer. Never before, in a very long time have I been able to sit infront of a game for hours on end and just not get bored. In the end I found myself having to force myself to stop, I had work to do.

    The opening sequence is extremely linear, which is something you wont really be used to in a TES
    game, but stick with it because once you have started questing and exploring the world this game really comes into its own. The environments are varied and exciting, the dungeons lost the cookie-cutter feel of Oblivion and so far, the quests I have taken part in have been very well written and intresting, and I've barely touched upon the main quest.

    Some people will dislike this game however, just as some people disliked previous games in the series. It has a bug or two, but nothing condemning. And somepeople may consider this "not a true rpg game" however, take this game for what it is, a TES game, and I promise you will enjoy this masterpiece.
    Expand
  43. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    Basically the game is not as good as Oblivion and in some ways Morrowind. I really don't know if they intended to dumb it down or what but Skyrim is a bit of a turd and doesn't stand out from another other rpg.
    - Perks used to be embedded in the skill and automatically apply once you reach a certain level. This embedded system is better because your perks are not limited by the max level
    of the game.
    - Removal of Acrobatics and Athletics is terrible. I used to have so much fun building these skills up and then running around the world like super man.
    - Removal of spell crafting. I really don't how being able to combine and experiment with magic as if it is this fluid and living energy is "spreadsheety" and "less magical" than buying simplistic spells from a merchant. Seriously, what was Bethesda thinking with this one? Make it a DLC plz!
    - Combat. I used to be able to quickly swap between 8 different weapons or spells. Sure now i can have two out at the same time but switching to other things is a huge pain. It is just plain terrible.
    - Combat. due to "Reload" time when swapping spells I often end up throwing a damn punch instead of casting. Terrible.
    - The snowy wasteland is terrible. In Fallout I get it but don't turn our beautiful elderscrolls world into a foggy, white wasteland. The lack of visibility and visual interest does not entice me to explore.
    - The early story seems to progress too quickly. killing certain large prominent enemies occurs too soon.
    - also one hour into the game people already recognize who i am. that just feels fake and ruins the "realism" of the game.
    - The horse can't walk backwards (or i haven't found the button to do this) so irritating.
    - The quests are nothing new.
    Expand
  44. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The more I play it, the more I realize that it may just be the greatest game of all time. At first the game seems quite standard, and you may be distracted by some of the poor textures, however after the first few hours the game reveals its immense scale and you are lost forever (in a good way).
  45. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    By far the best RPG out there graphics are incredible the game is limitless allowing the character to explore in depth best game ever play definitely worth the wait!
  46. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's 2011 and Skyrim suffers from all the bugs and glitches we got in the previous game, as well as the Fallout games. NPC's being half in the terrain are common as are game crashes on fast travelling. The graphics are also barely above Oblivion.

    And while the game itself is fun, the main quest is the same tired "prisoner must save the world" we got before, coupled with endless fetch quests. The game also fails to deliver on it's enviroment, some areas are basically the arctic of our world, yet NPC's are running around in dresses or less.

    Sorry Beth, it's 2011 and it's time you were held to a higher standard.
    Expand
  47. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    Out of principal I didn't buy this game because of the travesty that was Oblivion. That game ranks among the greatest disappointments in my gaming life and I'll just assume they still employ the same adolescent dough heads that created that piece of crap. If you hated Oblivion then DO NOT buy this game. Don't encourage them. We need to some how get the video game industry back on track.
  48. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    If I were to define Skyrim in only four words, that is about what you could expect from me. For as interesting a world Skyrim is to look at, the developers seemed fine filling it with repetitious, "uninspired" quests, given to you by countless amounts of npcs', none of which in possession of what I would call an actual personality.
  49. Nov 22, 2011
    7
    Not bad, really. I was skeptical when reading up on Skyrim in Game Informer and was reading the hype almost literally dripping off the pages. So, on a whim, I rented it from Redbox. Better to spend $2 and try it then $60 and either be stuck with it or have to make an unnecessary trip to GameStop. It got in my blood, and I HAD to buy it later.

    Graphics: Not seeing too much of an
    improvement from Oblivion, but it's still noticeable. I'm enjoying the weather effect and night-time hunting. The water is pretty, as well. Wish I had an o2 sensor or bar or something, as I got caught by surprise in the depths of a large lake. Skins and textures for things are a bit crisper, fire is damn beautiful, and things just feel a bit better. Lighting and shading effects are in full force, as is HDR. Sound: A problem for me. Good sound effects, environment echoes or grass being stepped on; all sounds beautiful. All of a sudden- DRAGON! Now the fun begins, y'know? Roaring, breathing, flying, breathing fire. Sounds damn good. Then we go back into town and I hear the same person. Everyone is the same. Almost. Most middle aged Nords are the same guy, almost all women are the same. There are TEN, 10, X, voice actors for the entire game. Bethesda decided to go the cheap route and use voice altering software to change tone/pitch, but you hear the same damn guy or woman. I myself am a voice actor and I just notice these things. It bothers me to no end.

    Gameplay: Combat is both different and the same. Backpedaling while spamming right-trigger is not a viable option due to the slower speed. Dual-wielding spells or spell/weapon combo is new to the series, but you can't help but feel like you're doing the same old song and dance. With swords. But yeah, familiar. AI for melee fighting has been improved. They know how to block for sure, and when they come at you, you know it. Sometimes they seem to get confused though. I've had multiple witches just run directly into me spraying me with fire or ice while I smash their face in with my war-hammer. It's like they're either fleeing from you for dear life or trying to make out with you. I've hardly found a happy medium in the fights. Still kinda annoying to switch to 3rd after seeing your weapon in your face, only to see you're carrying it down and to the side. Not a big deal, but noticeable.

    UI: Love the new UI. Who cares if you can't see what you look like-- Does it even matter? You can go to 3rd person and see it! Yeesh. I love the quick menu for swapping from my war-hammer to my bow in a pinch, healing, readying different shouts, everything. The new perks system and way of leveling up simplifies everything and helps you customize your character to more of your liking. If you want to be a crafty sneaky little pickpocket, but need that extra bit to make sure you're fully inconspicuous, there'll be a perk or two you can sink some levels into. It's simple and effective, but makes you really work and practice to become a master.

    Overall: Love it. I can say this with complete honesty and if you remove the glamor and glitz from your eyes and see the truth, you'll agree:
    Skyrim is Oblivion with dragons, new world, polished/updated UI, new items, and just as addictive. A good game and fun, but not at all what was hyped. Doesn't mean you can't still enjoy it, just go in with a clear/neutral head. And most importantly, have fun!
    Expand
  50. Dec 6, 2011
    6
    Just what some others have said. Huge world, but poorly designed, bleak-looking lacking variation. Sure, all people do is rant and rave about the 100+ hours of content, but whats so great about quests that regenerate? You get the same boring quests throughout the game.
  51. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    One of the most annoying games i have ever played. I really don't understand what most people mean when they say the Graphics are good. They are pathetic!Terrible! And how can someone call this game Non-linear. The (disappointing) story is kinda straight, except for even more annoying side missions. But what tops all of this is the traveling you have to do after every mission. Literally, and i mean literally, a new mission meant traveling to other corner of the Map. It takes a while for you to level-up your stamina, and therefore you can't event sprint the whole distance. So you'll end up walking from one end to the other, and to do what!! Deliver a jewel, kill a wolf, talk to a lady. OMG! And while everyone keeps talking about you being the Dragonborn, there is not a moment in the game when you feel you've actually achieved anything in the game. Leveling up makes no sense, as the other characters move with you, so you pretty much remain where you are. A huge letdown. I am amazed at the score the reviewers have given this game. Do yourself a favor by laying your hands off this one. I have promised myself never to get another game by Bethesda. Expand
  52. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Definite Game Of The Year in my eyes. Everything that is to be expected from an Elder Scrolls game. Plenty of quests and a decent level cap will have me playing this game for hundreds of hours.
  53. Nov 28, 2011
    1
    The reason this gets 1 point is that at least it looks decent. The muddy color palette does have its moments, even though it looks awful the majority of the time. The character creation is also very awful looking, it takes playing around with it for an hour or more to get something that looks good. One you get into the world, it is a impressive game. The cities are fun to walk around in the environment is fun to explore. However, the dreadful winter landscapes soon lose their appeal. The dungeons, which at first seem to offer chances and opportunities for exploration soon lose their luster as you realize you have one path to make, and that is it. The game loses all of its points however when it comes to three things. The controls on the PC are archaic. The controls were obviously made for a console, not updating to take advantage of the mouse is just lazy. So many frustrating things stem from this basic UI mistake. Like the fact that you cannot pick up items and place them where you want. You can only blunder into them like some oaf. The second major mistake is the companion system. They suck. The AI controlling them is retarded. The followers and companions are best left out of the game. This is frustrating because as a magic using class I wanted and needed a meat shield.

    Everything to this point can be forgiven. However, they make one mistake that once uncovered, caused the game to fly off my hard drive. They give this illusion to being able to choose the path you want, to be able to explore. However, tying the main plot to the thievesâ
    Expand
  54. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    First off, haters watch the video " if you hate skyrim, watch this video " on youtube please.This game may be the best game ever. Everything about it is fantastic. Sure, there are some very small bugs, but they don't even matter because everything else is done perfectly. There are no other open world games with this much to do or with this much detail, the graphics are the best than any rpg or open world game has ever seen, the game is huge and offers so much to do, and the musical score is fantastic. I understand that people have different opinions and taste, but the haters that have written reviews scoring it 5 or below are either just really imature or ignorant because even if u don't like it, there is nothing horrible about SKYRIm. In fact, there is a video on youtube the hatere must watch its call........" if you hate skyrim, watch this video " check it out please. Expand
  55. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game has almost instantly grown to be one of my favorite games I have ever played. This by far is the best game in the series, taking lore, graphics, world, AI, gameplay, quests, characters, you name it to a whole new level. Even as it started it felt far superior to any Bethesda game released so far, the intro level alone had me hooked like a child that has opened up a christmas gift. Combat this time around has been more versatile and as sleek as ever, everthing feels weighted, magic effects are wonderful and diverse, bows and arrows along with stealth have improved. There are even finishing moves! The world ACTUALLY feels alive this time around, which is fresh change from the crap we got with Oblivion, animals hunt each other, people brawl and work and chat, and every place has a different- exotic feel that I could compare to Morrowind... but done much better even still. There are goodies for old fans as well, Dwemer ruins, Falmer, Sanguine, etc, etc. If you're looking for an Open world RPG to play, this is absolutely THE BEST one on the market, and although it is full of bugs and glitches, the positives outweigh the negatives so much I couldn't just give it a 9/10, it deserves a 10/10. If you like to explore, fight, role play, fantasy, open world, anything of this nature, I would definitely buy it. Expand
  56. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    When I first took my first Elder Scrolls game that I had ever played (Morrowind) and put it into my Xbox, I was forever changed on what the rpg universe could deliver. The gameplay anf the graphics fr the time blew me away. Then, four years later, I bought Oblivion and when I fired my Xbox 360 to play that. I was again mesmerized. The graphcs in Oblivion were just absolutely amazing and the gameplay was nothing I haad ever seen. Now, today when I went to Wal-Mart and bought Skyrim and then put that in my Xbox 360 and loaded the game, well, I was completely blown away. Bethesda has managed to do what no other game company has. Create the perfect rpg. From the incredible visuals to the beautiful gameplay, Skyrim does not dissapoint. I am kind of sad for leaving Oblivion. But when I look at Skyrim, nothing compares. Here is to the long healthy life of the Elder Scrolls and may there be many more! Expand
  57. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This game makes "fun" and "immersion" feel like a huge understatement. This game is packed, and I mean PACKED full of content that will last months, or even years. When I play this game, I just get sucked into the world of Skyrim and forget all about my actual life. It's just one of those games where if someone asks you to do something in real life, then you say in a second and then next thing you know hours later, you're like, "Oh yeah, I forgot." Love this game, 100% beautiful, a few bugs don't ruin anything in this game (not to mention they're pretty hilarious ;) ) Graphics, 10/10 the best, Audio 10/10 VO is phenominal, Gameplay 10/10 sooooooooooo much to do, Lasting appeal 10/10 you can play this game forever and still won't finish every single scrape of questing. Amazing. Expand
  58. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I had been looking forward to this game for the whole year and it exceeded all of my expectations; although there are many errors that im sure will be patched, the game is brilliant. It has an amazing story and an endless amount of quests which all are very fun. I have heard that some people find the dragon fights irritating but i can't see why, each dragon fight gives you a great sense of achievement! Expand
  59. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This game is phenomenal. Despite some lo-res textures, this game redefines open world, with a good 100+ hours of quality content. Everyone should get this. Best in the series, best this year.
  60. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Masterpiece, Skyrim is the best game ever made. There is just no flaws that would let this game down in my concept. Congratulations again Bethesda, I just have no more words to describe this game.
  61. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game is huge and tremendously beautiful. The surroundings, the horizon, the NPCs, the dungeons, the cities, ALL is fabulous! And this time, the story is really told with efficiency, nothing stops when things occur; that's the stream of life all around that tells us this universe; we assist the lords in their fights, interact with their men, and so on. The disbelief disappears almost instantly and we made one with the people of Skyrim. Have no doubt about it, Skyrim is way better than Oblivion! Everything here looks natural, the story is made with stuff of legends and - the point that I truly, I mean truly enjoy high above the rest - the awesome feeling of Morrowind is finaly back! Thanks for this jewel, Bethesda! Expand
  62. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Any sandbox game that triggers a feelings of exploration, travel and creativity truly deserves a high score. This game is a must buy for all Elderscrolls fans and a should-buy for all RPG lovers.
  63. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Although there are a few annoyances, it never goes beyond that. They are few and far between and most of the time you're having too much fun to even care about them. As close to perfect as I have seen in a long time. This made me trade in MW3 because there's simply no time to play that other piece of ****
  64. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Excellent game that is huge, rewarding and fun to play. I was surprised at how well written the smallest of side quests are and how even the most mundane looking cave has something interesting going on if you take the time to sneak and listen in on conversations.

    Graphics vary from epic outside views to detailed interiors and it all fits together really well, but transitioning from inside
    to out means loading screens. However, they are not too long and always have some interesting info on them.

    Voice acting is excellent and varied while conversations are interesting. It seems everyone has something to say and many of the side quests are found simply by talking to people (and it seems most people need your help).

    Crafting is also great fun allowing you to construct and enchant your own weapons and armour and make use of items which you would have just sold.

    All in all its a great game. There are some small bugs but nothing game killing.
    Expand
  65. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Bethesda has made yet another great game. I was sold when they made fallout 3 and oblivion and they have just wow'd me with adding skyrim. An enthralling storyline, the ability to choose your path in an immense world full of things to do do coupled with superb graphics and powerful score of music will give even the Elder Scrolls noob like myself an amazing experience. With this game, you really get a bang for your buck, as there are so many things to do, and so many places to see. Definitely worthy of game of the year, (or zelda / uncharted) Expand
  66. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    I highly recommend this game. It is very engrossing and intuitive and just plain fantastic. The level of immersion is very good and getting sucked into the world is very easy. The combat is fun and magic is amazing to use. Graphics are really good and overall this game just rocks.
  67. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Nice game Nice game Nice game Nice game Nice game Nice game Nice game Nice gameNice game Nice game Nice game Nice gameNice game Nice game Nice game Nice gameNice game Nice game Nice game Nice gameNice game Nice game Nice game Nice gameNice game Nice game Nice game Nice gameNice
  68. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Great game overall, although not flawless, still an amazing programming achievement. The game puts you in the world of Skyrim, a Scandinavian like snowy region. The world is absoluteley huge and open to explore. Great visuals bring Skyrim alive and makes you feel like you're acually in Skyrim. The game is hard to get into though, and people who have never played an Elder Scrolls game before will find it hard to get used to, even if you've played Oblivion a lot, it will take you some time to get used to the new lay out. But once you understand everything the game makes you his slave. The leveling system is great, letting you pick a new perk (like archery, blocking, etc.) everytime you level up. The game does have some bugs in it, i've had to restart my game about three times so far, and the loading times are horrendous, and the visuals, while still great, aren't the best we've seen on the console. But that's just nitpicking. The game is amazing and a must buy for anyone who has ever enjoyed an RPG. Buy it. Now. Expand
  69. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    One of, if not the best games of the last 10 years. True immersion like you do not experience in most game. I am not one to throw the word epic around but its hard not to describe this game as such. So much fun, so much to do, truly incredible.
  70. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This is certainly the best game i have ever played, speaking as a person who couldn't stop drooling over oblivion's every aspect and as a lover of sword and sorcery in general, this is nothing short of a gift from the 8 divines (or 9 if your a stormcloak). This is a game that has fixed every quibble i had with oblivion, and somehow improved the parts i thought were perfect (what a fool i was). it is balanced, fun, surprising, and my only problem with it is all the sleep and meals i have missed (two days after it's release) in its name. Expand
  71. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    It is what it is. I am writing this after my 5th or so game ending bug. Infinite load screens, broken quests, and ugly overlapping sound issues about. It's not a BAD game, but it IS too large, way too buggy, and overall FEELS like Fallout 3 with a coat of fantasy paint (not the nicest coat I might add). Overall I got swept up in the hype and had to have it. As I finish writing this, I am going to pop Dark Souls back in and REALLY be transported to another world. I'm sure I will come back to Skyrim sometime, but right now, this is just SUB freaking PAR. Expand
  72. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is 100% the best game have ever played. Its just so long you get great value for money and all the different ways you can do everything and all the collectibles this game will take you months to complete. The combat is very good to giving you satisfaction when you kill something. I don't know how you could give this game less than 10 it is a must have
  73. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Truly a remarkable experience, the game exceeded my expectations by a long run. The changes that were made between Elder Scrolls IV and Skyrim are really well thought out. From start to finish there are always surprises as you walk through the dynamic environment of the land. Chose your side and fight! I could barely leave once I started playing this game.
  74. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you. But any true gamer will appreciate this masterpiece. Expand
  75. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    + Huge world to explore. Many beautiful places. Good graphics and textures. (Mods will make even better) No need to have super modern PC. Quests are really interesting. Large content.
    - Some glitches, which are not affecting the gameplay. Only few do. Would like to have more non-magic spells.

    PS. If you want Skyrim, you need to play on Master. If you don't, you won't have fun.
  76. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    Most people I know are talking about this game as if it is Heaven on a Disc,
    So I tried Skyrim just to see what all the hype is about,
    And I found it to be a complete mess, it was boring, overated, and had extremely annoying controls,
    I do not see any reason why someone should pay money for something like this.
  77. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Simply the best game of the year, is a masterpiece in every sense, history, music, scenery, gameplay, characters, dialogues, an experience that a player can not lose, if you like rpg, action, adventure in short the good games, Skyrim is the right choice, a strong candidate for game of the year.
  78. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. In my 10+ years of gaming I can honestly say this is the best game I have ever played. I have already invested over 100 hours into this masterpiece of a game and I still feel like I have only scratched the surface of things to do. Not a single moment of this game felt boring or lazy. It is only a matter of time before this game is considered a drug because of how addicting and fun it is. Do yourself a favor and buy the game. Expand
  79. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    It´s a great game but all of the huge bugs makes the score a little bit lower. the game looks great it has a wonderful interface for console, it has a great storyline, and the fighting feels great.
    8 points. would have gotten 10 if it would have had fewer bugs.
  80. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    What can I say that hasn't already been said about this amazing piece of art work. This is so much more then a game
  81. Dec 20, 2011
    5
    I had hoped for this game to be really engaging, but there's not much to do at all. The main quest is sweet but a bit short, the Companions questline was just forgettable, College of Winterhold Questline was boring, and the Dark brotherhood and Thieve's Guild questlines were alright. Miscellaneous quests are an absolute **** The textures aren't great at all, the animations were really stiff. It's quite boring after you do a bunch of stuff, and apparently Giants are stronger than DRAGONS. Also, the dragons themselves aren't that big, and can EASILY be killed. Also, the amount of bugs are HUGE. This is quite a disappointment in terms of content. Everyone thinks this is the best game ever, but in truth it's far from it. Rage all you want fanboys. Expand
  82. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    I'm tired of paying $60.00 to be Bethesda's 'beta' tester. They will not see the halls of 'Sovngard', but the halls of 'Sheol and Shame', for their lack of perseverence, patience, and care. You know, those inherent qualities necessary for any work(s) to be called 'art'. I'm just about done with them! They need to improve their craft! Skyrim? 8.0 and not a penny more. I really want to say 6.0, but their willingness to risk new and broader territories (unlike Nintendo) is healthy. Risk and craft can co-exist! Expand
  83. May 26, 2013
    5
    For the first 10 hours, Skyrim is a pretty decent game. There's plenty to do, weapons to find, civilians to save, rabbits to kill, but after that, the game just ends. After I got through the stupidly short main quest, which barely scraped by as 4 hours, I figured I start with some of the guilds. The guild quests lines consisted of 3 fetch quests, 1 big fetch quest, and then I was head of the guild, all in under an hour. This is the same for all the guilds, including Mage's, Theive's, Dark Brotherhood's, and Companion's. The side-quests are equally disapointing. They all consist of the same formula: recieve quest, go to cave/fort, kill Draugr, return for gold. This is the rubrick for EVERY SINGLE QUEST.

    All I'm going to say about combat is that it is a joke. Two enimies run up to each other and swing their swords until the other one dies, not bothering to roll, dodge, or move out of the way. They do occasionally block however, but not that it matters if you do, because you could just stand in the corner sucking your thumb until your health regenerates.

    Almost everything from Oblivion and Morrowind has been dumbed down. Intricate alchemy system with calcinators and alembics? Gone. Fun spell making? Gone. Interesting quests? Gone.

    The A.I. in Skyrim is laughable at best. I had just got done single-handedly taking out the entire Stormcloak army defending Windhelm, (my fellow Imperials just stood around shouting, bumping into each other) and had just slain Ulfrich. I then proceded to walk outside and was immediately called a "milk-drinker" by one of my comrades. This is just one of the many instances where the A.I. completely ignores your achievements. I have slain hundreds of "powerful" dragons, become the head of every guild, lopped off Ulrich's head and single handedly took out his entire army, and sold my soul to 16 different daedra, and still people treat me like a piece of sub-human trash.

    Overall, Skyrim is fun for a while, until you realize that it a dumbed down version of Oblivion with laughable A.I. and dragon fights, complete with a boring world and copy-pasted side quests.
    Expand
  84. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The game is absolutely mind blowing from the scenary , to the sound , to the graphics. The game is packed with overwhelming content that would take your life away. I see there are 48 minority trolls who are votingdown the game they are nobodies.
  85. Aug 4, 2012
    6
    With each new chapter in the Elder Scrolls, it has become increasingly polished at the expense of being watered down.

    TES V is a polished RPG for the masses. Easy to get in to, yet rather un-rewarding to demanding gamers.
    There is no choice and consequence outside of picking a side in the civil war or becoming/not becoming a vampire and/or werewolf.
    The story is passable, but much of
    the content is based on "radiant" or randomly generated content vs monster type to get item from location. While it is a great way to generate nearly endless content, random will always be a less great option than specific structure and purpose.
    Many bugs exist in the game. You will lose followers, scripted quest events will bug, however, in a game of this scope ... bugs are just few enough to not be a major pain.
    Magic is terribly underpowered (that or melee is imba) ... the synergy that exists between smithing, enchanting and alchemy is game-breaking (your player will become a god, even on master).
    Combat is sloppy ... if you have allies, summoned pets, followers etc ... it is nearly impossible to actively contribute to a fight and not inflict friendly fire damage regardless if you are playing a warrior, mage, thief or hybrid.
    Most quest items have a weight and cannot be dropped (adding to the frustration of what to loot).
    Graphics look nice, especially the world at large and weather events. The ragdoll physics are a bit over the top. Animations are average ... I always thought this was not Bethesda's strong suit, but they have improved slightly. Music is the biggest plus for me in this game. I do like the perk/skill system although I find it to be another aspect of imbalance. That's about all I have ...

    Decent game, wildly popular because it looks nice, caters to the masses, some frustrating bugs (that remain in version 1.7), virtually no choice and consequences for the user, excellent game sound track.

    This review was based on 400 hours I spent with it. While I did finish both sides of the Dawnguard expansion, I have never had the desire to finish the main story. I have several level 40 characters.

    THANKS for reading!
    Expand
  86. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    if you play just one game this year this is THE GAME you should choose.it's not only epic in scale it's also the game that just keeps giving and giving.from the graphics to the characters the story and everything else this game does its pure class,I'd defiantly recommend it to all gamers.even if your not into role playing games you will be after playing this one.go on you owe it to yourself !
  87. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    took me a while to get it, but I can now say that despite the weird game mechanics, and many strange flaws in this game, this is probably the best game ever made. If you are like I was, and you think its really boring and pointless, just keep playing it. Eventually the world of Skyrim will open up to you, and video gaming will never be the same.
  88. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I hated Morrowind and never got around to playing Oblivion so this game has been a revelation.

    It is simply magnificent. It would be easier to to list my few minor gripes: clunky and immersion-breaking console interface ported to the PC, Dragons seem a bit weak and there's a few CTD/minimizer bugs on the PC.

    99% of the time I am just marvelling at the brilliance of this game and
    struggling to stop myself playing through the night. Expand
  89. Nov 19, 2011
    5
    Been playing for several days, about 10 hours in. For a first few hours everything seemed to be good, but then eventually I started to get really bored. I feel that Skyrim lacks the kind of magic that was in Oblivion for example. Also, while all the critics universally praised music in Skyrim, I think that Oblivion had much better and more beautiful music. Skyrim sounds doesn't evoke emotions in me as Oblivion did.

    And the main complaint I have is that the game has too little differences and improvements from Oblivion, I honestly expected much more. It's almost like MW2 and MW3. Yes, the map is new, but all other things are pretty much the same. Gameplay got Old, imo, staying the same as 5 years ago.

    Quests are mostly boring: go there, bring that, talk to him, kill dragon, learn the word, repeat x 100. When I look back on other Bethesda games, I come to conclusion that Fallout 3 is the best game they made. Skyrim gets 7 from me.
    Expand
  90. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I loved Morrowind and i loved Oblivion. Even though the last one got criticised a lot for things i do understand. But Skyrim... this... this game is just so incredibly good i have no words for it. Got the game on monday too, around 30 hours in now and i have only seen the tip of the iceberg. There is so ridiculously much content, the world design is so well done and feels alive , the combat is so much more fun, the radiant ai is so much better, i could keep going. And the atmosphere... oh my god. I was afraid too buy the xbox version, as i always bought the pc versions. But since my pc isn't up to date anymore i went for the xbox version. How they can manage to squeeze such beauty out of so dated hardware is beyond me. anyway, i give the game a 10. It is NOT glitch free. There are definately some issues, but it's easily forgivable once you're several hours in and see how ambitious and great this game is. I have played hundreds of games and loads of rpg's, but this just might be one of the best gamign experience of my life. I see myself sinking hundreds of hours in this game and playing it for years to come. It is not overhyped. The only bad reviews are coming from people who are experiencing bugs or people who have always hate bethesda anyway. Expand
  91. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Thank You, Bethesda.

    Just when you thought that everyone had sold out & everything was plastic... so much substance, depth, & detail...

    It shows. *Hats off the artists of the game* Well deserved. Musical score & ambiance? Fantastic.

    Well done, Bethesda, employees... well done. *bow*
  92. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The pinnacle of open world RPG design. This game takes the best of Morrowind and Oblivion, and even earlier games (random quests from Daggerfall, for example) and takes it to an entirely new level. The world is beautifully designed and very interactive.

    One of the best games I've played in a long, long time.
  93. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I'm not one to give out high scores for any product, with prices of games going up and the quality of games coming down, Skyrim is that rare gem that comes once a decade.

    I've never really played any of the Elder Scrolls, so I'm not familiar with the history, but mucking about Skyrim has given me a very good first impression.

    Customization is awesome and very well done. The infinite
    choices you could make for what probably amounts to a fraction of screen time. For some hard core enthusiast, it's a must have.

    The Game is huge, the puzzles fun, the conversations are not boring and thank goodness I'm not constantly hit upon or worried that a wrong choice could set me along the route of a homosexual relationship with an NPC.

    Combat is fun, I enjoy it in the 3rd person more than the first person. Namely because it's mostly melee, and first person views never worked for me when it comes to swords and sorcery.

    I've read threads about how Skyrim Graphics are bad. I'm not sure what people's expectations were, but Skyrim is beautiful. The atmosphere and backgrounds are lush and picturesque.

    The animations are a fantastic apart from the annoying skating of your character.

    The game is free form, so while you're travelling to a quest, there's that little path you spy on your right that leads to some darken woods....(from what i understand a trademark of Elder Scrolls)

    Pathfinding for your companions are quite horrendous, which brings me to the bad.

    The game is buggy, Boss mobs disappear after a fight and mobs randomly clip into terrain and disappear. I've had some weird lag spikes in the game, in one instance freezing the screen for about 10 to 15 seconds. But otherwise, the game is stable and I've not CTD once.

    My companion kept getting stuck, especially if you start exploring up craggy rocks. The AI just can't manoeuvre through rough terrain. At least he catches up with you and doesn't disappear when you move on. Expect to sink a ton of time into this game.

    I thoroughly hope Bethesda takes the RPG crown from Bioware. A solid RPG Offering and truly the Game of the Decade.
    Expand
  94. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Where Elder Scrolls previously set the bar and got other developers scrambling to give attention to detail to their games and try to measure up, so too will Skyrim. No longer will we gamers accept hastily created content and graphics.. we want more of this! For those whining about a few bugs; get a life you non-contributing zero. Skyrim is simply jaw dropping.
  95. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It is so impossibly improved from Oblivion.. I knew it was going to be good but I was in awe of the improvements. I look at ES:IV now and can't believe I how amazing I thought it was when I now compared it to Skyrim.
  96. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim has by far exceeded my expectations. Personally I am not a fan of the Fallout series and as the press for this game came out it seemed that the game was becoming more like Fallout and less like Oblivion. Happily this is not the case
  97. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    About 10 hours into this game, and having a blast. If you enjoy RPG's of any sort, you will absolutely love this game. Bethesda, as always, impresses with their latest release.
  98. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    It's great that an RPG to take itself as seriously as Skyrim has been so successful as it will ensure that we continue to receive more epic RPG in the future. Skyrim's Nordic setting is good, the vast scope and the depth of the quests and skills are also compelling. The character skills, progression and the amount of things to do in the game are fun and rewarding which does make Skyrim value for money and worth peoples time. Unfortunately I found the main story fairly lame and I felt disinterested in most of Skyrim's characters and skipped over most of the dialog which should not be the case in an RPG. I found myself only completing quests for rewards rather than any story purpose which is a missed opportunity. I also did not like most of the character models in Skyrim, the humanoid faces were awkward to look at. As I played Skyrim on PC I was disappointed that the UI was very console friendly at the expense of much keyboard/mouse support, which is something that is inexcusable for a game originating on the PC. Overall Skyrim is an epic game and one that has a lot of depth, its a pity that the characters and overall story of the game are not better but it is what it is. Recommended. Expand
  99. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    I was a big fan of Oblivion and Morrowwind but skyrim managed to never really be anything but terrible. When I first bought it crashed and manages to allmost every hour not matter what console, glitches dont help keep the experiance fun and the RPG mechanics aren't implemented well, pretty much a let down for many fans and allthough many people can play through through this buggy mess, I find that the game was ruined by all the technical issues and bad bugs. Expand
  100. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply a masterpiece. This game crosses the line of playing a game, into something you feel you are truly experiencing. Best $60 I have ever spent on a video game. The game is just beautiful.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.