User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3139 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Quite simply put, a masterpiece. An RPG that truly stands out and above the crowd. First: The combat is much improved. While adding much more strategy to the fights as well as an increased "weightiness," the combat is improved over oblivion's floaty combat. Second: Exploration, a major part of any elder scrolls game, is expertly paced. Exploring the game world is much more difficult, with dragons and difficult enemies to kill you if you get too far...or too confident. But it is much more interesting to explore compared to Oblivion's flat lands and rolling hills. Not to mention, visually gorgeous.

    Third, It is a stunningly crafted world. The detail in the world, NPCs, dungeons and lore is all something very special. It is a huge world to explore, with tangents aplenty.

    Minor pop in, low res textures and glitchy (very, very rarely) are the only flaws in my book. Nothing can stop me from loving this world, and every time I jump back into exploring the lands of Skyrim it feels perfect. Don't worry; Graphically, this game is ridiculous. The beautiful vistas coupled with the achingly beautiful soundtrack is stunning...It's so hard to explain because games just don't do what Skyrim does anymore.

    And a side note...This game has a sprawling and downright ridiculous amount of things to do. I won't spoil any of them for you, but don't worry. You won't be short of things to do. Forever, most likely. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, But it's mine. If you like adventuring, exploring, storytelling, lore, RPGs or anything in between, Skyrim has it for you. One question though...How on earth did they jam all of this stuff onto one disc?

    So what are you waiting for?
    Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing! The gameplay shines, the audio will blow your head up and the visuals will make your eyes bloodshot. And this is all in a good way. The story will suck you like a whirlpool and not let go. There is so much to discover, so much to do. You can not just play this game once, otherwise you would be missing out on a lot of things. If you will excuse me, gotta go kill some creatures in Skyrim. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Everything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go out and buy it already. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is very similar in mechanics to other Bethesda games like Oblivion and the Fallout series. So if you enjoyed those games, you will enjoy this one. But this game runs on a brand new engine and just looks amazing. This is what video games are about, new and exciting .

    I've only played 6 hours of the game so far, but in that time I've never felt like more of a badass. Even a simple
    retrieve an artifact quest can feel entirely epic. Coming from Oblivion its nice to see the Archery mechanics improved as well as magic getting a significant graphical overhaul. I already had high expectations for this game, but they were exceeded when I actually played it. A lot of game of the year contenders this year, but this is in a whole class of its own. There are good games and there are great games, and then there is Skyrim. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10, a piece of art. If you could only get one game this season it would be a hard pick but this might just be the one! "Skyrim is a first-person, open-world role-playing-game that drops the player in â
  6. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I am usually not into RPGs, but Skyrim is special, it does the series justice. The game lets you form your character to your wishes, whether good or evil. The very foundations of your character is personal, there are various races to choose from. It does not feature classes, you level up as you use a specific skill. The graphics are completely astounding. The music is perfect, they really outdid themselves on that part. You'll have no problems spending ridiculous amounts of time in this game. The game is an incredible experience, without a doubt. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Ok, After Playing this game for about 5 hours I think I can give a honest review. The games looks awesome in some areas but there is lack of detail in others. To some this would not be a big deal but for me it was considering I thought they re wrote the whole engine. Anyways lets get to gameplay. The game is a little slow getting started but once you get in to skyrim you really get into the game. The battle animations are really cool and the dungeons are very interesting to explore.Needless to say this game is worth $60 with endless hours of gameplay! But this game falls short of a 10 so I will give it a 8. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The best RPG, period. It has the absolute best of everything - storytelling, gameplay, and even the graphics. Do not miss out on this game, even if you have to rip it from somebody's cold, dead hands.
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    cant even explain how good this game is , only reason you wouldnt like it is if you only play games that have you move in a straight line and hold your hand through the thing e.g. most fps .
    the game involves having a brain to play not just hack and salsh from end of a map to the other.
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Improves upon Oblivion in every aspect, and utterly beautiful to look at. I can not express how good this game is. If you enjoy RPG's and even if you do not you defiantly need to check this one out. A timeless classic that is not to be missed. If you are a true gamer this will be on your shelf.
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is officially one of the best games ever created. This flawless RPG may be the start of a new generation of beautiful graphics, epic fighting, neverending adventures, and the freedom to do whatever you want. They created a masterpiece of dragon killing, human raping, and more. This game should receive 10 from ever gamer, those who give a 0 are most likely idiots or losers we outcast. Such an improvement from Oblivion and other Bethesda games. I SAY THIS GAME IS THE GAME OF THE YEAR!!!! LIKE THIS IF YOU AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Props to Bethesda and Prima game ~~~ Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Holy **** this game is so ****ing amazing, i have been playing it for 10 ****ing minutes and i ****ing love it, i'd give it a ****ing infinity out of 10 if could, if you don't buy this ****ing game right now, i'm going to track your IP address and ****ing kill you.
  13. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm usually not one to give out 10s since the "perfect" video game can never exist, but Skyrim's excellence is far to great for me to score it anything lower. I've never played any of the other Elder Scrolls games since I'm not a huge RPG fan, but I saw the hype on the internet and among friends about Skyrim and decided I'd pick it up. Since doing that I've barely been able to put it down. In fact, the only reason I'm not playing it all the time is because I have a ton of school work to get done; otherwise, I'd be all over it. Skyrim has GOTY written all over it. Please, do NOT be discouraged if you aren't usually a fan of RPGs. I'm not either for the most part (the only exception before Skyrim was Mass Effect 1/2). However, Skyrim changed all that for me. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves games. This is a must-buy. Expand
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs of all time, and I don't think I can say what hasn't already been said. The dragon battles are exhilarating, the atmosphere is amazing, the characters are memorable...just a great overall experience.
  15. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The game is AMAZING!
    I never played that good, that interesting, that long, it's **** everything!
    It's better than Oblivion, Fallout, Dragon Age:Origins or any other good RPG game!
    This game is a MASTERPIECE.
  16. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Best freakin game I've ever played. Bethesda really put a lot of effort in this game. It is clearly their best product yet. If you decide to choose between skyrim, mw3, or battlefield3, GO WITH SKYRIM. I still haven't finished the main quest, but I can tell the ending is EPIC.
  17. Dec 31, 2011
    6
    I had HUGE expectations in this after oblivion...and now im twisted...there are a lot of sidequests and places to visit..the world truely is huge, and i think it´s better set alive than in oblivion by the random encounters you will have on roads, like talmor carrying a prisoner ( you could walk by or rescue him), and there are a lot of these moments...the dragons were impressive, i had a lot of fun only watching the random fights between dragons and giants :D...the Thuums can be used tactically by setting the power of the individual Thuum and by thinking about its cooling-time...the graphics are nice. But then again there really are reasons to not like this game...the world is huge, but you will end up in a rotation of town-dungeon-town-dungeon etc....money really has nothing to say anymore, the only things worth buying were some potions if you run low on them and spells,youll end up with thousands of septimes just hanging in your inventory unused because the loot is practically all you need...the character-creation was dumped down to be more actionlike,it really is more action than before, but it has lost a lot of its roleplaying by deleting classes and stats...the perks do add and are usefull, but not necessary, so leveling only becomes intresting for raising health/magicka/stamina...the quests are simply repetitive, go get that, kill him, walk there, kill dragon, learn word nr. 56 etc....the quests where you had npcs fighting at your side were rather annoying, i would have apretiated doing those quests alone, for the npcs always seemed to die really fast or break down if they were immortal,and they only mindlessly charged forward into battle without making use of tactics/stealth or anything...although there are random moments adding to the whole plot, the story seems just poorly thought out...dragon x wants to destroy the world, the land is twisted because of a civil war, and the quests are just poor in storytelling...the guilds seem rather pointless, i felt dumb being guildleader after 3 quest, being raised from a little fish to the leader of the famous and legendary companions guild, and all those guildquests are like that... the civil war is a joke,2 or 3 quests to prove your loyalty, then some quests just slicing through hordes of enemies in castles to conquer them--> civil war won yuhey!...the game seems awesome and stunning at first, but it gets boring really fast...many people complained about the smithing perk being owerpowered, the whole difficulty being to low if you got your hands on this uberequipment which is fairly easy, but i dont understand those...if the game is too easy for your taste, set the difficulty higher...if you hate the uberequipment because it kills the challenge, then dont use it...simple as that...i always had challenging fights, but you really have to be one patient guy if you want to play this through with sidequests etc.... especially for i see no replayability in this due to a lack of classes,stat costumization and a general lack of options in every case...from my point of view its far from a metascore of 96, i would have given it 9 points after the first 2 hours, but the first impression in this case, even if its sad, is wrong. Expand
  18. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Beautiful world filled with everything you could want with your freedom, except for maybe stealing cars. But having a choice between good and evil and all thats in between is much better than being lumped with one role even with some freedom added on. The quests and dungeons so far are all very well designed and the use of the radiant story system ensures you wont ever run out of things to do. My personal past time is to go searching for alchemy ingredients in the wilds, (with my long haired dark elf that i use as a battle mage) brew them into potions at an alchemist lab (now in my own house in whiterun) then sell them off to rake in money for new houses and better furnishings. I may play it boringly but the point is whatever you want to do you can, its the ultimate in alter ego providers. Graphics: 9. Sound: 9. Gameplay: 10. Longevity: Limitless. Flavour: like having free reign at willy wonkas chocolate factory Expand
  19. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game! GOTY in my opinion. The entire interface has been streamlined and made better. The graphics are gorgeous, and the story fantastic.

    Definitely recommend this game to any RPG/open world game fan!
  20. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Greatest/Best Game of all time

    End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion
  21. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. The graphics and art are amazing and the amount of stuff you can do is incredible. I would recommend this RPG to anyone who wants to play one of the best games in the RPG category to date.
  22. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Having never played ANY Elder Scrolls game in the past, I approached this game with a few reservations. Most RPG's I have played that have been rated high have left me disappointed with few exceptions. But I will say this, Skyrim is one of the most impressive RPG's I have ever played. I am only about 15 hours into the game and I am hooked. The landscapes are gorgeous. The combat is well rounded. And the customization offers an almost unlimited amount of character options. Granted, the main story line is nothing that an RPG fan has never seen before, but it has been executed extremely well. Anyone looking for a great game to dedicate their time to should definitely give Skyrim a look. Expand
  23. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Best cRPG since baldurs gate ( for me ofc), long time no see so epic story with very nice grafic side and AWESOM music ( to bad only 5 of them are in cd ). One thing need to be said - TES V need some pach to smoth a few bug and it will be perfect. Im 40 hours in game and i cant stop play, I hope it gona be at least 300h to finish entire game. GJ Bethesda!
  24. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The greatest RPG series of all time returns with its strongest title yet. It will have not only something for everyone, but multiple things for everyone.

    This games features include a vast continent with exploration that is unmatched by any game to date. All the combat and action you can handle. Amazing items and loot. Dragons that are actually intimidating and a decent challenge. This
    game is simply so massive that any review cannot do this game any justice at all, if you own a PS3, Xbox 360, or PC. You must own this game, simple as that.

    (As a side note, for all those that complain of bugs, bad AI, etc; realize that with such vast amounts of content and such an expansive world, having an extremely polished game is unfortunately just not practical nor possible.)
    Expand
  25. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. if you enjoyed the rest of the elder scrolls series you will love it. it has some of the best audio i have ever heard on a game. Highly recomended to people who enjot RPG games.
  26. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is the most time consuming addiction out of any game every created. The best RPG to date. Yeah a few issues here and there but to be expected in a game of this size! Nothing ever created has attempted such a goal and than achieved it. Hardware is the only thing standing in the way that would make this game even better! The level of detail in every item and location is AMAZING! Crafting finally is possible, mining for minerals or anything, you name it ! You just live your character and care, what more could you want? (realistically). This game is simply the coolest thing to hit consoles of this generation for a living breathing world and epic fantasy! The only thing this game required and didn't include was a way to take time off of your job just to lose yourself to it! Expand
  27. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Oblivion + better combat system + better graphics + longer main quest + dragons + more quests + dual wield magic + completely unique dungeons = greatest game ever.
  28. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Bugs? Sure but i still love this game. Big Mammoths, Giants are the best (Dragons are weak). Love the gameplay, love the graphics. Overall great game. A must buy for everyone!
  29. CCR
    Nov 11, 2011
    9
    What else can be said that everyone else isn't already saying... It's truly a great game. There seems to be a couple of glitches here and there, but they will get patched in time. I know it shouldn't be an excuse, but with everything that has been done right in this game, I will give them a pass for now! The world is beautiful and the story so far has kept me interested. I can't wait to get some more time with the game after work to stomp around and get lost in the world creating my own story and making my hero who I want him to be. The leveling up seems pretty great, a lot to take in at first due to the sheer amount of perks available, but once you play with it and dive in you can tell it was made for the player in mind who wanted absolute control over customization. Run-on sentences aside, if you are on the fence about this game, go out and buy it, you will enjoy it for years to come. Expand
  30. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    I rate this game 8.5 and here's why

    Lets start with graphics, overall I think it satisfied my needs in this game. Although, there are parts that doesnt look right, maybe a little patch would fix the problems. The graphics is outdated though, we are looking towards 2012, and the graphics looks like from 2010, not saying it was bad but I guess its the lack of budget in creating a perfect
    game engine.

    Gameplay:
    Unbreakable pots, surroundings, coming from BF3, I'd actually would like to destroy stuff (not buildings) but I want to crack some rocks and pots, plates and glasses - but that opportunity is not available in Skyrim. You can't attack while mounting which is ridiculous, your companion doesn't ride with you when you are on your horse + your companion takes a different path you take which leads to him/her being left alone. These are the only ones that I didn't like the most, the rest are good.

    Sound:
    Better than before, but wouldn't hurt to have more. It's kinda boring hearing the same sound everytime. Maybe next time they should have different background music for every city, houses, and so on.

    Overall:

    The whole game is a bug, it feels like its a beta of an upcoming game from the producers. As of now, I've spent a 100 hours (>_> just being modest here, I spent more) meaning this game is totally worth your time. You can read books, farm, smith, become a cook, merchant, thief - the only thing here missing is to become a prostitute or a gigolo (which is coming up in their next game hopefully).

    Buy this game, don't rent it. If you play this on master legitly you will spend your money's worth.
    Expand
  31. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome !!!!! This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!
  32. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Fun and full game from what I've played thus far. Can't believe how big this world is and how it the game allows you to do whatever you want, or head to continue the story if you want. Now that's freedom for you, especially for a game of this magnitude it's refreshing!
  33. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    A very fitting addition to the TES stable. A truly stunning game that draws you into it's open world, Skyrim is perhaps the best RPG I have ever had the pleasure to play. The music is epic, the game play is believable, the world is beautiful and harsh. This was well worth the wait for me!
  34. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I've never played an RPG in my life, they just aren't my type of game. However after viewing trailers and gameplay it was hard to ignore this game and not get sucked in so I went and bought the game this morning. I've been playing it all day and i'm hooked.

    The game really sucks you in from the very beginning. Whether it be main quests or side quests there's always loads to do and looking
    at the size of the map I can't begin to imagine how long it would even take to explore everywhere.

    So to anyone worried they won't like this game, if they're like me and don't play many RPG's... don't be worried. The game will suck you in with its incredible environment, great combat system, likable characters, cool puzzles, imaginative quests and the rewards achieved when leveling up. JUST GO BUY IT NOW!
    Expand
  35. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best RPG once could ever ask for, possibly even the best game one could ever ask for. The graphics are lush and the gameplay makes me feel like i'm actually inside this whole entire new world. The dragons are an unscripted genre defining experience which are different again and again. I simply cannot ask for a better game than Skyrim
  36. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    After spending hours of my life exploring in Oblivion I wondered if my thumbs could handle another trek of that kind. Well after a mere 8 hours with Skyrim I can safely say the gamble has paid off. Skyrim is a must have game for any gamer that loves an role play game. Pick this game up ASAP as you will not regret it!!
  37. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Skyrim eh um grande jogo joguei ele e ainda estou jogando,mas ele tem uma otima historia,graficos incriveis,som super realista e tem dragoes muitos dragoes!!!Skyrim conserteza vai ser GOTY eh o melhor RPG que eu ja joguei em toda minha vida!!! Expand
  38. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is everything I wanted Oblivion to be: fun and addicting. Right away, I knew that Skyrim was a game that I'm willing to put many hours into. I personally disliked Oblivion and Fallout 3 because of the lack of appeal and the easy difficulty respectively.

    I have only put around 3 hours of gameplay time into Skyrim and not 1 minute of those 3 hours did I feel
    frustrated, bored or disappointed, Skyrim is one of those rare specimens that appear once every few years that grabs your attention and refuses to let go.

    In my experience, I have not yet encountered any bugs or glitches, just minor 2 second pauses when the world is loading, but it happens extremely infrequently.

    Overall, my gaming experience with Skyrim has been one of the best in a long time, the reason why it does not get a score of a 10 is because I think a "10" means a "perfect game" and to be honest, no such thing exists; do not expect to ever see me give a 10, even a 9 from me is rather rare but Skyrim deserves that much.

    If you're in the least curious about the game, do yourself a huge favour and go get it. If you like fantasy action RPGs, go get two copies and play them at the same time.

    Is the game worth £42? Yes.

    ~Cy
    Expand
  39. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Stop right there criminal scum! There seems to be a more than common trend with games at the moment - they are hyped up, released and shot down in to Oblivion (excuse the pun). Skyrim manages to break this trend and does so emphatically - leading adventures in to an open-ended, dragon killing sandbox. There are plenty of quests and side-quests to complete varying from simple collection tasks (i.e. collect 5 bear pelts, 4 wolf pelts and some pork chops), to the assassination of a once dangerous leader. When/if you ever get bored of being told what to do, become your own boss. Go out and explore the vast array of environments, raid various ancient ruins and go on the hunt for the very rare treat of having an unscripted fight with a dragon!

    Skyrim offers an unbelievable amount of customisation, and could be seen as one of the most customised experiences on offer at this very moment in time. You have the chance to excel in becoming an archer, mage or a warrior, but it is entirely up to you on how skilled you become in either of these departments. Fancy like firing arrows at people from a long distance? You can do that. Fancy like using a combination of magic and melee to pray upon an unsuspecting opponent? You can do that too. Upon levelling up you can customise the paths you take in ANY skill; alchemy, pickpocketing and light armour to name but a few.

    If you have never played an Elder Scrolls game before, do not fret (or threat - whatever the correct term is)! Skyrim references back to its predecessors in a way that old-timers can connect and engage with, and newcomers can learn the ancient lore of the Elder Scrolls storyline.

    An absolutely outstanding game from an absolutely outstanding series! GOTY.
    Expand
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, it looks incredible. The gameplay is much more smooth than Oblivion. The fights are no longer a 10 second hack-and-slash. Spells are much more fun to use, rather than being somewhat of a secondary mechanic in the game. There are so many things to do besides the main story line and quests. It is an amazing game with very few glitches that I can think of. No doubt its worth the buy. Expand
  41. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Absolutely gorgeous game with a lot of work put into it by the good people at Bethesda. It is an immersing experience and the customization options are incredible. It's a game full of quests and enemies to keep you busy while not being overbearing. Of course a game this size will have it's share of graphical issues and small bugs, but nothing too serious. The one and only reason I don't give this game a 10 is that I'm not a big fantasy genre fan, if I was I'd give this game a solid 10 though. Expand
  42. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Game of the year candidate and probably winner unless there is another game that can top this, and besides uncharted 3 there is nothing even remotely close, zilch.

    Best game I have played in so many years
  43. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. I haven't taken it our of my disk drive for two days, and I won't for a VERY long time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll love this! When you consider that MW3 was released the same week, and that could have been DLC, Skyrim is astounding value for money. The Enemy design is great. Zombies that felt a little odd have been replaced with the more powerful Dragur, and Trolls actually look scary now. Skyrim is like a cake. The sponge is Oblivion, but with all of those burnt bits cut off, and with an improved recipie. The filling is a whole abundance of new features and total immersion, that's so gloriously delicious that you'll be licking it from the plate. It's all iced with some beautiful graphics that really do look astonishing at times, and have actually made me walk around for five minutes looking at the beauty of the night sky... Plus it's all sprinkled with some Fallout sprinkles. For example, Oblivion Lockpicking is out, Fallout one is in, and the finishing moves are very VATS-esque. And you can't have a small slice of this cake, oh no. You'll have the whole thing and then curl up and cry when it's all gone 100+ hours later. If you don't buy this game NOW, you're not even human. Expand
  44. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of the "rigid" class system allows for the pursuit of the exact niche that you fall in to, thereby almost building a class for yourself regardless. Money is actually worth something, unlike in oblivion. The people are engaging and act as real people would. Almost all of the people I have talked to have had something for me to do., and none of them have sounded similar. The soundtrack is beautiful as well. Every aspect of the game captures the harsh, rugged environment and presents it to in the most elegant way. In short, the game is incredible in every regard and will undoubtedly set the par for games to come for a long time. Expand
  45. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Honestly the best rpg I have ever had the pleasure of playing. To all of those who are bashing this game just to be a troll, shame on you. This is Bethesda's masterpiece. I have been a fan ever since daggerfall and this is the pinnacle of their creations. Menu systems are streamlined and the user interface is extremely convenient.(Especially thanks to the new hot key system). Combat has also been overhauled. Animations have more weight behind them and the ability to constantly be specializing in different weapons is thrilling. The player is never locked into one character choice, I chose a Nord and ended up as more of a mage centric class. Attention to detail is visible everywhere from vast landscapes to minute plant details everything is gorgeous. So much more about this game is spectacular but i refuse to say anything else, you simply just must experience for yourself... Expand
  46. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Note to Infinity Ward/Activision: THIS is how you earn repeat customers. This game is awesome. Beautiful to look at, and extremely fun and engaging. If Bethesda keeps this up, they'll be around for a long time. We all know Infinity Ward/Activision have screwed themselves and will probably be filing for bankruptcy in 2013.
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    GOTY. Period. Words aren't enough to describe this game. So far I've put a good 10-15 hours into it. The graphics are beyond amazing. The realm of Skyrim is so vast, beautiful, and realistic that you can't help but imagine you're actually there. The background score completes this realism. Every time you're in battle or discovering something new the music and sound really makes you feel that you're actually there. The gameplay is a major improvement over Oblivion, although it still has it's flaws. Dual wielding spells and weapons add numerous possibilities to each battle. All in all, this is the best RPG i've played in my life. BTW it's also the BEST GAME i've played in my life. Enough said.... Expand
  48. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply AWESOME! This game brings all the features we love from the older games and then brings in so many new features that just set it apart from any other adventure RPG game out there. Combine a massive world of creative genius with an endless span of possibilities, beautiful graphics, an epic tale and fire/ice-breathing Dragons and you have Perfection = The Game of the Year = Skyrim.
  49. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    WOW. Just wow. It was definitely worth the 5 year wait. As others have already stated the graphics and sound are quity simply the best out there for creating a lifelike work. Im 3 hours in and have have barely finished the 2nd mission. Yes I got a bit distraced mining some corondium ore, cutting some trees down the sawmill, and forging some weapons at the blacksmith. I got distracted testing my double wielding destructrion magic (fireball) on some chickens crossing the road at Riverwood. I got distracted crossing a river and trying to catch some leaping salmon I spotted. Hell I even got distacted by the water effects on a fountain at Dragonsreach that I spent a good 10 minutes just swimming around it. Thats the point I guess. Distraction from reality where we can slip off for a few hours and enjoy being part of a wonderfully created fantasy world. And nobody does it better than Skyrim. Get this game, even if you dont like RPG's. Just dont play with the surround sound on full whilst walking through the woods at night. Those two wolves jumping from behind on me is quite possibly the most fear inducing moment of my life. I actually thought there was a wild dog in my bedroom. Oh well back to the grind :D Expand
  50. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is one of a select few games that drag you in from the start. I dont know what it is, it could be the gorgeous mountains waiting to be scaled, it could be the epic soundtrack, or it could be that it is so huge that it feels at least as of now that it could be played for months without it ever getting stale.
  51. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    this gave gives me no chance for complaining , everything has been done well , everything ! , a perfect RPG. GOTY for me . Sound track and voice acting - kick ***. The immersion factor is just huge. would have written more , sorry gotta get back to playing
  52. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Best game I've ever played. This game both possesses quality and quantity, I assure you that if you buy this game you will not be disappointed in any way. More content than you could ever imagine in a game, great value as a result.
  53. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best game I have ever played, easily. The fact that I have played 6 hours and only advanced the main quest slightly just underlines how much there is to do in this game. I found myself getting lost in ancient forts, getting ambushed by bandits and reading a dead woman's love letter - in the space of an hour. The sheer number of ways to play, and the changing scenarios you will face, means no playthrough is ever remotely similar. For example, I became adept at stealing - only to be hunted down by a group of hired thugs with a handwritten contract for my head. The organic nature of the game means it really is a whole new world to lose yourself in for days on end.

    This game will take over your life - and you will love every second.
    Expand
  54. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    OMG SKYRIM FUSRODAH DRAGONz! - - - - - - - - - Okay, I just had to get that out of my system. On to the review! Content: 9.5 Undeniably the greatest RPG gaming content available on the market to date! - - - - - - - - - Graphics 9.0 The graphics run smoothly with minimal hardware requirements and are comparable to other current generation games. The character models and animations are all very well done.
    - - - - - - - - -
    Interface: 2.0
    Extremely frustrating to use - not at all the 'fast and intuitive' design it was hyped as. It might function moderately for consoles, but it is nowhere near up to par for computer gaming. I will list 10 fatal flaws with this interface on just the inventory alone: (the other parts would be too large a wall of text)
    1. The style of the interface looks Sci-fi instead of rugged medieval.
    2. Items lack any visual indication for what they are. (the previous title, Oblivion, had a distinguishing icon for every item.) This is such a necessary requirement as Skyrim contains many many thousands of items you will have to sort through.
    3. In order to find items in the inventory, you must manually scroll through not one, not two, but three separate menus that clump items together with no discerning order.
    4. Hotkeyed items seem to be bugged such that they randomly are de-hotkeyed if you make inventory changes.
    5. You cannot sort the inventory to list items in order of weight, gold value, or any other attribute. 6. Item attributes can only be viewed if you select that particular item, thus making it impossible to quickly scan and compare large numbers of similar items. (Yes, Bethesda, spreadsheets ARE the most functional tools for comparing data.)
    7. There is no inventory paperdoll so when you equip an item, you are forced to exit the menu and then pan the camera around your character in order to actually see what that equipment looks like on your character.
    8. On higher resolutions, it becomes incredibly difficult to read the text as it becomes very tiny, especially on smaller monitors.
    9. The small font issue also applies to viewing what items you currently have equipped, as the only indication for equipped items is a monochromatic arrow next to the item's name.
    10. The window used for viewing the 3D model of each item is utterly massive and takes up OVER HALF of the inventory screen, thus dwarfing all of the other (more important) elements.
    - - - - - - - - -
    Overall score: 8.0
    I highly recommend this game to everyone who enjoys a good hack and slash RPG. However, just be forewarned that unless you have a truckload of patience, expect to be thoroughly frustrated as you will likely be spending more time hacking your way through the interface than through any of those mudcrabs.
    Expand
  55. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Games don't get much better than this. The world completely immerses you into the experience and the sense of wonder is unparalleled. I've never wanted to explore a game world more than this. Much like a great burger - you just don't want it to end, and luckily it won't...at least for a long time, since the game is hugely epic and also includes randomly generated quests that could keep someone (me) playing for a long time. Already looking forward to see what Bethesda can do on next generation systems - but for now I will be savoring this game piece by piece like charred skeever meat. Expand
  56. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Game plays well. Combat feels solid. A few minor animation glitches here and there but does nothing to harm the experience followers of the series have come to expect. The visuals are stunning and if you are playing on PC and have a high powered machine they are even better. The audio is well done and the voice acting is better than it was in Oblivion. The main storyline is engaging and there are a lot of side quests to do. Just like the previous entries in the series, Skyrim is more than a game, it is an immersive experience. It is impressive and the best game of its ilk since Oblivion. Expand
  57. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game couldn't be any better. I first came across the elder scrolls series when a friend showed oblivion to me and let me borrow it. I was hooked as soon as i put in the disc. Ive spent hundreds of hours playing oblivion, and this time around, skyrim is no different, possibly even better. Improved graphics, gameplay, menus, and more show the polish of this game and how finished it is. It definitly brings more to the table than annual game releases such as Call of Duty, etc, making this game also worth your dollar, as it gives you 300+ hours of fun, and you actually have time to play it before the next game in the series comes out. In that respect, I enjoy skyrim and i definitly reccomend this game to anyone who even slightly likes rpgs. Expand
  58. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! So far, out of the 20 hours I've played, I loved every minute of it. Yes, there are a few bugs, but it's no where near the amount like that of it's predecessors! The graphics are beautiful (Although sometimes shadows are a little blocky and water phases through rocks). I can personally say you'll be too absorbed by the game to notice! Even if you did, all the other amazing aspects of the game compensate for this. Bethesda has reached new heights in their games! I find myself taking this game way more seriously than Oblivion and Fallout 3. This will definitely keep me occupied for years to come! Oh and pay no attention to the negative review here. The game is not broken in any way. You'll love it! Expand
  59. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Incrível, são tantas coisas e opções que podem ser feitas e a liberdade que o jogo lhe oferece! O combate, crafting e sistema de quests esta tudo perfeito!
  60. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Great game, really addictive. The World of Skyrim is well drawn and one can wander around for hours. The dialogues are well thought and the weapons are more user friendly than before. But there are some problems, bugs and annoying puzzles. This game is one of the best of this year.
  61. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I've already put 30 hours of gameplay into Skyrim and I'm still finding it just as fun as when I began. The dialogue is good, I'm enjoying the quests, the dragons are beautiful and the dungeons are absolutely stunning. What more is there to ask for?
  62. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Already played it 30+ hours, Only level 20 and Still freaking loving it! The world of Skyrim is great to explore, the armour has had major improvements from Oblivion, as well as graphics gameplay, options, the Ridiculous amount of quests, the Perk system and what the tree's can give you and many other major improvements that feels great every moment. I think My main problems is that, they simplified it too much. although in situations like the "Major and Minor Skills" it's in a way an exception. But when you remove the attributes and use Health, stamina or Magica as your attributes, it's just Absurd! the weapon arsenal like in Oblivion feels Limited in terms of what you could be using, Cause I'd like to tomahawk someone in the face, or execute someone with a halberd! allot of the soundtrack is a Copy and paste from Oblivion and Morrowing, Except for the battle Songs. In certain areas, it does feel like it is moving away from elder scrolls and going to a fallout feel. And finally, I don't know if it's just me, or is the options Interface usually unresponsive for a short time, because it can get frustrating sometimes! Either way, Skyrim is still absolutely fun as hell, and you should get it only for the fact that it's a Elder scrolls game!!! Expand
  63. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, the game play is superb, and the new leveling system is by far better then old one. The new leveling system really lets you customize your character to your play style. Interactions with NPCs are also more organic and actually make the NPCs feel like real people. In addition the soundtrack is one of the best I have ever heard for a game. Bethesda has really out done themselves and Skyrim is major contender for GOTY. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  64. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I'm more than willing to wait 5 years in between TES titles if everyone is a masterpiece such as this one. The overwhelming feeling you get when you're thrown out into the open world is nostalgic. The new class and level systems are refreshing and free, allowing you to develop into the character you want without the race or class restrictions. Every aspect of the game world, from townfolk to butterflies to the smelly dog in the town street is interactive. Having played over 30 hours, I've already gotten my $60 worth. Many gamers play a game that is 20 hours long and feel they got their money's worth. This takes it to a whole new level. I will easily put 150+ hours into this campaign alone and then come back for more. The miscellaneous objectives are intriguing and beg for you to follow them through out of sheer lust for exploration. Just walking around in this world is an experience that will wow even non-gamers like my wife. "ITS SO PRETTY!" Expand
  65. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game is probably the single greatestt RPG ever created. People that are saying Dark Souls is better are kidding themselves. That game cannot even keep its FPS above 10. I have been playing Skyrim nearly non-stop since it has come out and have not had a single graphical/fps issue, so the stability of the game is fine. The gameplay is ASTOUNDING. I cannot see myself getting bored with this much content anytime soon. I haven't even touched the main quest yet!! If you're on the fence about this game, ignore the trolls and nay-Sayers, and do yourself a favor, buy this game!! Expand
  66. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Epic game! go adventuring in the land of Skyrim and play with the freedom to be the character you want to be. Battle Dragons or other fantasy creatures. Explore the land and find new things in all the far reaches of the world
  67. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    I've been playing this game for 1 week. In that time I've put in about 30 hours. On a typical week I might play a total of 5 hours of video gaming so that says an awful lot in and of itself. Of those 30 hours, I've loved every single one, and the amazing thing is I've barely scratched the surface. It's actually too good. It genuinely makes me appreciate your run of the mill games that you can finish off in 8 hours and get on with your life. This thing takes over.

    Believe the hype.
    Expand
  68. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    First off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a huge step up from the previous Bethesda games. This is a amazing game, and is a perfect 10/10. Expand
  69. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is literally the best game I have ever had the pleasure to play. I've made several different characters and spent well over 50 hours in the game yet I still haven't explored even 20% of what this game has to offer. It's truly a labor of love that shouldn't be missed. If there's only one game you can pick up this season it has to be TES 5 Skyrim, GOTY for sure!
  70. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is the very definition of Masterpiece. It almost is more of a second world than a game. There have been very few glitches in my play time, which was a huge concern.

    Stop reading and go play this game.
  71. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Follow the main quest, or don't. Be a law abiding citizen, or don't. So much to do, the choices are nearly endless. It's not often I don't have a bit of buyers remorse paying full retail release day prices, but that's never the case with a Elder Scrolls game. Skyrim continues that trend.
  72. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is easily the most fun I have had playing a game in a very long time. I have yet to encounter a dragon because I left the main quest rather early. Nevertheless, the scenery is beautiful, the encounters engaging and the slow motion for a critical kill is just amazing.
  73. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    In a nutshell The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an AMAZING game, the world is huge and full of things to keep you occupied, the combat is grate and with loads of weapons to find and spells to master, there is a lot to do in this game. The game starts as you as a prisoner who is about to face a execution for been suspected as a rebel, well to cut a long story short a Dragon comes and tears the town apart you find out that you Dragonborn. I don't what to spoil the story for you so i'll stop there. There are side-quest and other objectives to do and you can join the many diffident gilds to join, so if the main-quest is getting boring for you there still hundreds of hours of gameplay here. Skyrim also has a Minecraft style way of making new armor and weapons, you get a pick-axe find some ore or a animal, dig it up or kill it , melt it down and craft the armor you want out if it. Since this is a RPG there is a leveling up system, in this game you gain skill from preforming tasks e.g. Fighting with diffident weapons, Making potions, Using magic, Picking locks .etc. Each task is connected to a skill e.g. One-Handed, Destruction, Pick locking .etc. After you do so many tasks you Level Up, this is where you can Pick a Perk. These Perks can help you with you combat, magic or to make people like you. There are lots of places to explore in Skyrim, you can find anything from a steam-punk style Dungeon or a traditional cave, On your explorations you will run in to the most coolest ting about this game DRAGONS, i mean think about it, just waling around and suddenly a dragon come screaming over you and lands and lets out a all mighty roar, once you hear that you know your in for a fight. Once you killed the dragon you can absorb its soil that can be used to unlock shouts. Shouts are special spells that don't drain you magic bar but still take time to recharge, shouts consists of 3 words, words can be given in a quest or found for just wondering the world, that start of weak but once you can master it with all 3 words you are unstoppable. there are some minor bad points about the game, there are some rather weird bugs and sometimes the combat can feel a bit flimsy, but with the bad points aside this is still the best game i have played in 2011. if you haven already gone out and got the game then you should its worth the money and i know it came out on the same week as that big shooter game but that's no reason to give this one a miss. and if you not into this kind of game or not a fan of the other games in the series then give it a go if you don't like it trade in and go back to games you like playing. To me its AWESOME lots to do and dragons to kill. Prefect Score. Expand
  74. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Great Game, despite what people say who must not realize that Elder Scrolls came before fallout. Great Campaign, nice art work, interesting new design for almost all of the items, also the new alchemy, and other abilities like smiting are a nice touch. I already put quite a good amount of hours into the game and I can see myself putting another hundred or so hours at least per character in this game. Expand
  75. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Skyrim lives up to my expectations, and competes with Morrowind, my favorite elder scroll game. The story is set in an extremely immersed world that really feels like it is alive and the story itself is beautiful. There are a few glitches in the game, but it is not a problem that diminishes one's experience in Skyrim. The combat system works great, but there can be annoyances when getting to the items, magic, map, and skill menu only because sometimes the game does not register where you want to go. All you have to do is exit and re-enter, which is not a problem during combat because the game pauses itself. The textures when observed up close do not have the utterly beautiful quality some were hoping for, but I am not distraught because that would increase load times and the world is beautiful. The NPCs in Skyrim actually feel like they are people rather than simple programs waiting to be spoken to. The endless amounts of side quests and hidden goodies in the game are endless offering a truly unlimited amount of replay-ability. The perk tree is reminiscent of Fallout 3, which is great, because it gives you the desire to create different characters and specialize in different areas at each play through of the game. I recommend this to any fan of the Elder Scrolls series, rpg fan, or someone who just loves a great story in a game. The waring I give to you is that once you start you will constantly be picking up the controller attempting to find new powers and go on quests to defeat the dragons that have reappeared in Skyrim. Expand
  76. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game was....err I mean is one of the single best looking games to date! I mean it is 10x's better then Oblivion in way of looks. Plus I feel they didn't under-do or over-do the dragon element, the engagements between dragons is common but not to the point where it becomes tedious. I also really like how Bethesda upped the fickleness of the lock picking... much improved to that of Fallout or even the dreadful lock picking mini game in Oblivion. The new menu system is a big improvement, and the commonness of gold is greatly apreciated, over all I think that Skyrim is a huge step forward compared to Oblivion, and Fallout.... Fallout New Vegas almost made me lose faith in Bethesda, but Skyrim brought it back. Can't even fathom what the next Elderscrolls is going to do, to take it to a hole 'notha level Expand
  77. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is the best rpg ever made since baldurs gate 1 and 2 (period). the gameplay , music and the long hours of fun and entertainment really make this game the best of its genre and giving itself unlimited replayability . if you have played oblivion you should definately play skyrim because it is way better . do not worry about the glitches bethesda will be releasing a fix through its first expansion. skyrim is not just a game it is an experience you will never forget . Expand
  78. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    A Definite Game Of The Year Competitor,If not already,winner.The leveling system is vastly superior to its predecessor "Oblivion" and the game strives to solve most problems.if not all,encountered in oblivion.Regardless of storyline,the game features an epic 300+ Hours of Game-play and DLC on the way!You can't ask much more of a game.
  79. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best game I have ever played. Giving an ultra realistic sense of you being in the game and with fantastic attention to detail, skyrim slowly sucks the player in making the hours feel like seconds. The gameplay is fun, the rewards are...well rewarding, and the overall sense of adventure is always there. Although it is plagued by a few bugs, none of them affected by overall feeling for the game. Anyone who owns a 360 should definitely buy this game. Expand
  80. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I wish that this game wasn't released at the same time as MW3 as I have to split time between them. If I did not have to sleep I would play this game 24/7. It is the best RPG that I have played. It has everything, good graphics, depth, personality and an addictive game-play that does not let you go. The replay value is high and I cannot wait to finish it and get some DLC.
  81. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    this game is awesome - simply awesome. it has everything my adventure heart desires. i wish wow or rift would have elements this game has thought about. the graphics are immensely involving, the story is inspiring and the characters feel real. i have been playing this for 15 hours now and i cant stop thinking of continuing my adventure. i work full time so i have limited time to play. if you love epic adventures, do not hesitate, buy it now. Expand
  82. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):(: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ) Expand
  83. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    From the very first moment the game has you engaged and throws you into a world you're dying to find out more about. The combat is fluid and the story is engaging. Skyrim is one of the biggest games i've seen all year, often I would go and do a side quest only to gain 4 more quests along the way, then 2 more for each of those etc etc. A few bugs hinder the experience but on the same note a few of them make for good comedy, such as the Skyrim space program. The PC version of the game suffers from the consoles poorly designed menu system. You'll soon get used to it but for those of you who are dedicated PC gamers, you'll find yourself quickly infuriated. I recommend this game for anyone, even people who've never even played an Elder scrolls game before. The game is just pure Adventure fantasy fun. Expand
  84. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I had never played Morrowind. I had barely played Oblivion, it hardly interested me. And yet i had a hunch about Skyrim. That hunch has paid off immensely. I just can't put the game down every time I pick it up: and rather than sending you down a narrow path of epic story, it opens up a gigantic world built from the ground up of epic. How much do I like this game? I want to experience everything with my character I've created, and yet I want to create at least three more characters. Skyrim is so immersible, and I love it. Expand
  85. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Oh. My. God. This game is incredible. It has to be, hands down one of the single greatest gaming experiences of my life. This and the first time I played CoD: 4 multiplayer (the series has gone down-hill yes) would have to be my two top gaming moments. I literally do not know how anyone could even mildly fault this game, the graphics are not ABSOLUTELY perfect I admit, but when you take into account the sheer scale of this game it is completely justified. Most definitely Game of the Year in my books. Expand
  86. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    An awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small let down was the main story line. The ending wasn't as huge as i was expecting it to be. But all in all the other Quests like Dark Brotherhood and the civil war amazing. I think this game deserves the game of the year award. Expand
  87. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is seriously amazing! i dont understand what type of person would rate this game negatively?? The sound, graphics, gameplay - its all pure beauty. Best money i have ever spent!
  88. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    The elder scrolls franchise has always been one of the most amazing series' of all time, all of the games in this series have been extremely popular in the gaming community and greatly loved by many gamers and Skyrim does not differ. After it's announcement in december 2010, the hype began. It continued to grow and skyrim became what was probably one the most anticipated games of 2011. Upon it's release millions of gamers, including long-time fans and those new to the series spent hours of their lives in the living, breathing fantasy world of skyrim, which lived up to all of it's expectations and well deserved hype. With its stunning graphics, amazing story telling, almost infinite amount of content and its expansive world and lore. Skyrim is just one of those games that will live on, and be remembered for a long time. But on a more personal level, I look at skyrim as more than a game, I see it as a work of art because wherever you look in skyrim you can see it's true artistic Beauty. You can walk through a field and everyone will have a different experience, one may see a dragon soar overhead, one may meet a trader or bandits, or see a butterfly float past. Each dungeon in skyrim is uniquely crafted and they all tell a story, with the simple placement. An rpg should be about playing a role and in skyrim you can play many, it's up to you, and telling a story which skyrim does both verbally and physically. With the perfect AI, perfectly crafted environment and the way they have replicated nature and society, Bethesda has made alot more than a game, they have made a whole world. Perfection 10/10 Expand
  89. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely incredible, to put it simply. The landscape is crisp and leaves much to be explored. With an abundance of features and content, a player can never get bored of this game, and can never finish it either. The lore is deep and highly detailed, and leaves the player to make their own decisions to determine their fate. The game simply improves the franchise and moves it forward as a great sequel to TES: Oblivion. Truly a game to be remembered forever. Expand
  90. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Masterpiece. Art. Epic win.
    These are the words that came on my mind when writing this.
    Skyrim is the BEST RPG OF ALL TIME. Its also an GOTY. And, its maybe one of the best games i have ever played. Go buy it. I dont know why you're here. Just buy it.
  91. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    If I decided to wait until I'd completed Skyrim to write this review, you wouldn't be reading it until next year at least. This game is big. The radiant quest system is capable of generating an infinite amount of miscellaneous quests, on top of the fascinating side quests and a main questline that is a large improvement on Oblivions. Skyrim's voice acting ranges from perfect to laughable (but in a good way) and the games soundtrack is all you could ask for. This games only real downfall (apart from the odd glitch here and there) is in the visual department and is what stops it getting a 10/10 from me. The graphics don't render very well especially when you stand atop a mountain and look out at what you would hope to be a beautiful landscape, but instead is something more reminiscent of Minecraft. On a positive note though, the dungeons in this game are actually really detailed and far more varied than those in Oblivion. All in all Skyrim should be a definite purchase for any gamer, no-one will not enjoy this game. Quick tip: Bethesda have said not to install the game to your hard-drive because for some reason it makes the rendering of graphics even worse. Expand
  92. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing and addictive! You will keep coming back and the game is huge. Probably my favorite game ever which tops Halo 3 and Bioshock. Fixed every problem of oblivion.
  93. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Epic.
    After entering the Elder Scrolls series at Oblivion, I honestly didn't think there could ever be a game that would affect me as much as Oblivion managed to, with it's huge world, and (at the time) stunning graphics, it seemed impossible to beat.

    I was wrong. Skyrim takes everything that was amazing about Oblivion, and improves upon it ten-fold, whether this is the superior leveling
    system, which finally manages to perfect the 'natural' in-game leveling, or the amazing story line which absorbs you into every quest, and manages to completely avoid repetition within the story line, something that is rare to see in many modern games.

    Another one of my favorite improvements over the previous games is the weapons and armor system, this is due to, unlike Oblivion, allowing all weapons and armor to be unlocked at a low level, if you manage to gather the resources required to forge the weapon or armor, as long as your smithing skill is high enough.

    I could go on about this game way past the word limit, but all you need to know is buy this game. It's the best choice I ever made buying this game over any of the generic fps shooters.

    Bethesda, I love you.
    Maxii345
    Expand
  94. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    Taco bell is good. So is this game. So deal with it and stop moaning. Bananas. May be dear, but so is life, baby. So, tacos and bananas, Jim Sterling, noonynoop
  95. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I wasn't a huge fan of Oblivion and Skyrim is a big improvement over that however the one thing that still just doesn't feel up to stuff is the main storyline. I always feel a game should have that Whoa factor that makes you want to explore it more the storyline never grasped me I had to force myself to get into it. Now as for the sandbox that is superb and what I spent a lot of time doing. Looking forward to spending more time with the game, but I wouldn't go out of my way to call it the greatest game ever it does a lot of things great but falls short in a few others, and I pity the PS3 users. Expand
  96. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having played TES series for quite a few years (and many, many hours) I eagerly anticipated Skyrims release, I'm now on my third playthrough and have spent around 60 or so hours in total playing. My first impressions were positive as I explored Skyrims landscape, I was slightly overwhelmed at the sheer size of the game (but that is a usual occurance with TES games) although after after a few hours skyrim started to feel more familiar. I somewhat enjoyed the main questline although many of the quest involve much of the same 'fetch quests' as Oblivion had, I was however pleasantly suprised with how different choices made in the during certain questlines impact on the world, this isn't really something that has been done before in TES games so Bethesda get kudos for that. Now the main problems I have with this game are Guild quests, in Morrowind they had an excellent structre for advancing in guilds i.e you could join the mages guild, travel to different guild houses around morrowind and advance as you complete missions and improved your stats, in Skyrim and Oblivion (although oblivion not as much) you pretty much have 5 to 10 guild missions and once completed you find yourself as head of the guild, to me this seems somewhat unrealistic and rushed, I don't feel the guild questlines have any replayability and I wasn't really blown away while playing them through the first time. My second problem is the world of skyrim, as I explored more and got into the game I couldn't help feeling Bethesda had made tamriel more generic, I loved how different Morrowind as a gameworld felt to any other RPG world around, it was different , almost magical, Skyrim is more middle of the road and slightly dull. Expand
  97. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One word: EPIC. Skyrim will pack you in soo many hours of gameplay. Greatly improved visuals, engine. quests ETC. Extremely convient menu layout for Consoles.....on PC...not so much. I even once spent 1 hour just watching NPC's work. If you want something worth your money.....this is the game to get. Soo many things to do and just finding all the locations in the game can take 4-6 days.
  98. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I have never really been a fan of RPG's in the past and I never played the previous Elder Scrolls games. My friends started telling me how great and fun Skyrim was and how it was a pretty new story so I would not need to play previous games. I went and rented the game and after a few hours of playing I knew it was a buy. This game is amazing, a nice break from all the shooters out there. I can honestly say I am having fun fighting dragons, doing mission...endless list of things you can do in this game. Expand
  99. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    i was concerned that as I was writing this review that I'd switch my score for this game to a 10. But for me to do so would be to say the game is perfect or so near perfect that it hid its flaws. However close Skyrim came to hiding it's flaws it still had them. Texture popping, getting trapped in small cracks, but these are the few things that it does wrong. The game is epic, characters are the most engaging characters I've seen in an elder scrolls game and it is fun to watch above all. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.