User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3256 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A absolute work of genius so far found nothing wrong with the game is you remotely like any RPG game you will love this. i would highly recommend this game
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    After some 30 hours in, I am still blown away by how great this game is. It truly is a masterpiece in gaming. One moment you could be scaling an huge mountain, the next plundering the tomb of a long dead king or even fighting to the death with an ancient dragon. The graphics are fantastic and yes there are a few bugs but they are so minor, unless you are intentionally hunting for errorsAfter some 30 hours in, I am still blown away by how great this game is. It truly is a masterpiece in gaming. One moment you could be scaling an huge mountain, the next plundering the tomb of a long dead king or even fighting to the death with an ancient dragon. The graphics are fantastic and yes there are a few bugs but they are so minor, unless you are intentionally hunting for errors because you are another game's fan-boy you very rarely notice them.

    If you are still some how on the fence about buying this game I urge you to do it as soon as possible. Each moment you are spending not in Tamriel (the games setting) is a moment wasted.
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    The best game ever created. Simple as that. Whether you want to compare this game to other RPGs or any other genre, Bethesad has cemented themselves as the based developers in the business. Truly a monumentous achievment in gaming. Kudos to you guys and please continue to take my money, I will be happy to dish out as long as you keep creating games like this.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    best game there is around. Beautiful graphics and great game play. this game could definteley be able to occupy anybody for over a year and not have them waste money on any other game
  5. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a brilliant game that takes the best parts of Morrowind and Oblivion and then correct the problems that both games had. Of course a game this size has a couple of problems but compared to other large RPG's they are few and far between. The most common glitch i have encountered is where you cannot open doors for some odd reason but all you need to do is just either sleep for a daySkyrim is a brilliant game that takes the best parts of Morrowind and Oblivion and then correct the problems that both games had. Of course a game this size has a couple of problems but compared to other large RPG's they are few and far between. The most common glitch i have encountered is where you cannot open doors for some odd reason but all you need to do is just either sleep for a day or exit somewhere else and the problem goes away. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2011
    9
    This game truly is the closest to perfect I have ever seen. It does have certain moments in which bugs, or difficulty spikes may harm the experience, but otherwise, perfect. I loved every minute of this game, and I plan to enjoy far, far more. The graphics, are good, not amazing, good, but matters little. My favorite game in existence as of now, definitely a buy.
  7. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    One of the few western RPGs I have been truly taken with in recent years. An addictive game with just the right mixture of challenge and ease to appeal to the majority as a whole. There is so much to explore that you will be spoilt for choice. Great enemies, and a fantastic choice of weapons, attacks, and armour. It is easy to immerse yourself as a result of the music and the beautifulOne of the few western RPGs I have been truly taken with in recent years. An addictive game with just the right mixture of challenge and ease to appeal to the majority as a whole. There is so much to explore that you will be spoilt for choice. Great enemies, and a fantastic choice of weapons, attacks, and armour. It is easy to immerse yourself as a result of the music and the beautiful scenery. Expand
  8. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    A can not recommend this game enough. To say it is the greatest game i have ever played would be a under statement. Riding on the success and popularity of Morrowind and Oblivion, Skyrim takes the open world and massive amount of content and adds a distinctive art style and game play that makes this the Game of The Year without question. If you enjoy freedom, adventure, lore and a sense ofA can not recommend this game enough. To say it is the greatest game i have ever played would be a under statement. Riding on the success and popularity of Morrowind and Oblivion, Skyrim takes the open world and massive amount of content and adds a distinctive art style and game play that makes this the Game of The Year without question. If you enjoy freedom, adventure, lore and a sense of fantasy you will love this game. Expand
  9. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    Perfect. Just perfect. I've been waiting 5 years for this game and here it is. Much more than I've expected. Graphics, gameplay and plot are perfect and it gets you into the game. But I've found some people who are rating this game 5 or less. And they are comparing Skyrim with other games. Other games shall be compared with Skyrim, because there is no other game that even comes closer toPerfect. Just perfect. I've been waiting 5 years for this game and here it is. Much more than I've expected. Graphics, gameplay and plot are perfect and it gets you into the game. But I've found some people who are rating this game 5 or less. And they are comparing Skyrim with other games. Other games shall be compared with Skyrim, because there is no other game that even comes closer to Skyrim. The game is perfect, glitches make it fun, there are a lot of choices to make and they change the gameplay. Best game ever made. Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A world to explore and pillage. Bethesda has taken the best aspects of all their previous games and improved on them. UI took a few minutes to get used to. Skyrim feels ominous on my low level character, I do not relish the thought of exploring those dark woods at night. I feel I need to prepare, something I never felt in Oblivion.
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Great game that is making the 360 show its age. My only real complaint is that everything is SO dark. I know they want you to use the torch but talking to dark elves when the sun is up makes it impossible to see their face. I would have appreciated a little more than just an overall brightness adjustment and I do have a nice TV. One thing that this game has which is very rare butGreat game that is making the 360 show its age. My only real complaint is that everything is SO dark. I know they want you to use the torch but talking to dark elves when the sun is up makes it impossible to see their face. I would have appreciated a little more than just an overall brightness adjustment and I do have a nice TV. One thing that this game has which is very rare but amazing is the ability to map any button to any button like a PC game. Setting it up like Halo controls is amazing. Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Western RPGs don't get much better than this. The amount of effort that has gone into this game is apparent. If this doesn't make game of the year I will be very surprised.
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece of a game that can be related to a rare object in history, but in entertainment form. Games like this are rare. Not only have they improved upon nearly all aspects of Oblivion, but they have added a new sense of individuality, depth, and quality of the world. It may be smaller than Cyrodiil, but make no mistake, Skyrim is much larger. The character creation is fantastic,A masterpiece of a game that can be related to a rare object in history, but in entertainment form. Games like this are rare. Not only have they improved upon nearly all aspects of Oblivion, but they have added a new sense of individuality, depth, and quality of the world. It may be smaller than Cyrodiil, but make no mistake, Skyrim is much larger. The character creation is fantastic, and to give away no spoilers, can really take up quite a lot of your time as you delve into it's in depth features. The graphics are some of the best I've seen, and being on a console, it looks fantastic. The story already seems to be more realistic than Oblivion's (in terms of progression.) Look no further, this is the game of the year. No. It's the game of the century. Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I was surprised at the swaying trees and shadows in Skyrim, with a game world this big I completely understood if it wasn't in but well done Bethesda. For someone to mark this game low because of a lack of multiplayer is absurd, and shows a complete lack of comprehension. You can feel the effort in this game, absolutely briilant. Yes there are some lower res textures about but this game isI was surprised at the swaying trees and shadows in Skyrim, with a game world this big I completely understood if it wasn't in but well done Bethesda. For someone to mark this game low because of a lack of multiplayer is absurd, and shows a complete lack of comprehension. You can feel the effort in this game, absolutely briilant. Yes there are some lower res textures about but this game is huge, a game like mw3 is tiny and can't even manage to get to 720p. Todd Howard you and your team deserve the accolades, thats what happens when you put in the work. Fantastic stuff. One again the rpg stands tall atop the mountain. DOVAHKIN, DRAGONBORN!!!!!!! Thank you for my ''perfect'' game, and Jeremy S that music is just insane, all of it!!! Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    By force of habit, when a new game comes along the first thing I judge it on isn't by the graphics or the gameplay, but how much improvement is shown from teh last installment which of course meant Skyrim got an A+ in my book right off the bat. After 2 hours of gameplay I can say that it kept up with my first impression and continued to impress me though and through. Though the fightingBy force of habit, when a new game comes along the first thing I judge it on isn't by the graphics or the gameplay, but how much improvement is shown from teh last installment which of course meant Skyrim got an A+ in my book right off the bat. After 2 hours of gameplay I can say that it kept up with my first impression and continued to impress me though and through. Though the fighting system still feels rather uneven and their are a few bugs, though no game breaking ones, Skryim still mixes up the pot and throws in some new twists that I'm sure any fans of the series will enjoy. The odds of Skyrim winning GOTY this year is quite high as from what I've seen in the past few months is that it's only true competitor for the title is Batman: Arkham City. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The Game Is Amazing! Definately what I expected from Bethesda! It's Like Oblivion, Fallout, Fable and Dragon Age Combind! Except with more dragons of course! Definately Worth The Money. Epic both graphically and gameplay, so glad that its finaly here! Awesome!! 10/10
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Soundtrack is brilliant. Visuals are outstanding. Engine Performance is beastly. Gameplay is quite fun. This is pretty much the best of the best of the entire Elder Scrolls series. Bethesda and their developers have learned so much from their previous BRILLIANT games. Unlike Battlefield 3's direction, it keeps the AMAZINGLY LARGE COMPLETELY OPEN terrain and an entire world to explore. It'sSoundtrack is brilliant. Visuals are outstanding. Engine Performance is beastly. Gameplay is quite fun. This is pretty much the best of the best of the entire Elder Scrolls series. Bethesda and their developers have learned so much from their previous BRILLIANT games. Unlike Battlefield 3's direction, it keeps the AMAZINGLY LARGE COMPLETELY OPEN terrain and an entire world to explore. It's land is like World of Warcraft with less world loading. It. Is. Amazing. Again, it keeps with the gameplay elements of previous games, HUNDREDS of quests, and how you can choose to do almost whatever you want. Want to kill everyone in the town you live in? Check. Buy a house and live in it? Check. Go and loot every dungeon in the game? Check. Amazing. Go get it. Expand
  18. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Went to the midnight release, practically sprinted back to my dorm room, and played it until my eyes couldn't stay open anymore. It starts off somewhat slow, but it's the game we've all been waiting for.
  19. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful game. Again with astounding visuals and solid gameplay. Up untill now ive had almost no bugs, except for 2 CTD's. Knowing most game developers release games half finished nowadays, thats quite well. The dialog is improved over Oblivion's one. I find it even hard to see that it is a console port, so they ported it well.
  20. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Ten hours in, and I feel I have only just brushed on the surface of what this game has to offer. Never before, in a very long time have I been able to sit infront of a game for hours on end and just not get bored. In the end I found myself having to force myself to stop, I had work to do.

    The opening sequence is extremely linear, which is something you wont really be used to in a TES
    Ten hours in, and I feel I have only just brushed on the surface of what this game has to offer. Never before, in a very long time have I been able to sit infront of a game for hours on end and just not get bored. In the end I found myself having to force myself to stop, I had work to do.

    The opening sequence is extremely linear, which is something you wont really be used to in a TES game, but stick with it because once you have started questing and exploring the world this game really comes into its own. The environments are varied and exciting, the dungeons lost the cookie-cutter feel of Oblivion and so far, the quests I have taken part in have been very well written and intresting, and I've barely touched upon the main quest.

    Some people will dislike this game however, just as some people disliked previous games in the series. It has a bug or two, but nothing condemning. And somepeople may consider this "not a true rpg game" however, take this game for what it is, a TES game, and I promise you will enjoy this masterpiece.
    Expand
  21. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The six year wait is finally over, and the jury is out on the fifth installment of the TES franchise. Skyrim is the definitive 21st century Action RPG. This time the battle goes to Skyrim where your character is released into the open to fight dragons and fight a bloody civil war. The action is fun, smooth and bloody, with intuitive menus and controls that work wonderfully on an Xbox.The six year wait is finally over, and the jury is out on the fifth installment of the TES franchise. Skyrim is the definitive 21st century Action RPG. This time the battle goes to Skyrim where your character is released into the open to fight dragons and fight a bloody civil war. The action is fun, smooth and bloody, with intuitive menus and controls that work wonderfully on an Xbox. The progression system works well though I would've liked to see more class specialization.The graphics are much better this time around, but you really need a 1080p television to get the best textures and smoothest edges. There's also the occasion graphical bug or AI pathfinding issue. Overall, Skyrim has some small issues, but I still cannot think of any gamer I wouldn't recommend this to... 9.5/10! Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced.Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced. There is an infinite amount of quests (literally, the game makes new quests as you go) and they are all very fun to complete. Dragons in this game look stunning to say the least. Overall this is close to being the best game I have ever played, easy 10/10. The only thing I could wish for is a co-op mode because a lot of my friends have this game it's always more fun with friends. Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.
    Expand
  24. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you.Games like this are the reason I became a gamer. This is video game perfection in every sense of the word. Props to Bethesda for not selling out and adding a garbage multiplayer mode. It's simply not needed. You pay $60, and get a game with literally 1000+ hours of content. Sorry all you little losers who need to rank up every 30 seconds to find joy in a game - this isn't for you. But any true gamer will appreciate this masterpiece. Expand
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    + Huge world to explore. Many beautiful places. Good graphics and textures. (Mods will make even better) No need to have super modern PC. Quests are really interesting. Large content.
    - Some glitches, which are not affecting the gameplay. Only few do. Would like to have more non-magic spells.

    PS. If you want Skyrim, you need to play on Master. If you don't, you won't have fun.
  26. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. In my 10+ years of gaming I can honestly say this is the best game I have ever played. I have already invested over 100 hours into this masterpiece of a game and I still feel like I have only scratched the surface of things to do. Not a single moment of this game felt boring or lazy. It is only a matter of time before this game is considered a drug because of how addictingFantastic game. In my 10+ years of gaming I can honestly say this is the best game I have ever played. I have already invested over 100 hours into this masterpiece of a game and I still feel like I have only scratched the surface of things to do. Not a single moment of this game felt boring or lazy. It is only a matter of time before this game is considered a drug because of how addicting and fun it is. Do yourself a favor and buy the game. Expand
  27. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game is the best and it rocks. It's the least buggiest game to come out at this time. With BF3 being buggy and populated by non existent team work and no voice users, then the appalling user score of COD this is the game for you. The dragon fighting mechanics is awesome. Give it a go. It has such an awesome score for a reason.
  28. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Goddamn, this game is so awesome. This is my last game on my list for this year that I wanted to play and I am having an absolute blast playing this game. I was skeptical at first because Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion was a complete bore to me and I never got in to it even though I tried to. Skyrim, to me, is a complete revelation. Lush open world presentation, absolutely epic music,Goddamn, this game is so awesome. This is my last game on my list for this year that I wanted to play and I am having an absolute blast playing this game. I was skeptical at first because Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion was a complete bore to me and I never got in to it even though I tried to. Skyrim, to me, is a complete revelation. Lush open world presentation, absolutely epic music, accessible but complex menu system , deep RPG gameplay and absolutely endless replay value. Though even with the awesome features that has been improved from Oblivion, Skyrim still has bugs and glitches that other Bethesda games suffer from but that isn't enough to ruin the experience that completely immerses you into this new world of epicness. From the first time I put the disc in to my 360, I was hooked straight away. This is one the best games I have ever played this year and I suggest buying it RIGHT NOW Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Oblivion was the best game I've played and now Skyrim has taken over that title. I'm an RPG fan and the game offers an unparalled level of depth and immersion. The province of Skyrim is a beautiful place, with tumbling waterfalls and snow capped mountins. At one point I felt a lump in my throat as I stood looking out at a particularly awe inspiring view. Quests can be picked up from 80Oblivion was the best game I've played and now Skyrim has taken over that title. I'm an RPG fan and the game offers an unparalled level of depth and immersion. The province of Skyrim is a beautiful place, with tumbling waterfalls and snow capped mountins. At one point I felt a lump in my throat as I stood looking out at a particularly awe inspiring view. Quests can be picked up from 80 percent of NPCs - even random nobodies. I don't want to rant on about why this game's so great as I'll be here all day - just go out and buy it. You'll be playing it a few years from now, especially as there's bound to be loads od DLC. Expand
  30. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    An amazing game in scale and fun. To each their own but I can't even comprehend people who badmouth this game. Skyrim is so rich with great design and moments, that is shines far brighter then any other game that has come out this year. Those with poor reviews obviously did not actually play the game. If they would have they would have come to see how deep and enjoyable this game is truly.An amazing game in scale and fun. To each their own but I can't even comprehend people who badmouth this game. Skyrim is so rich with great design and moments, that is shines far brighter then any other game that has come out this year. Those with poor reviews obviously did not actually play the game. If they would have they would have come to see how deep and enjoyable this game is truly. Of course this kind of game is not for everyone, but if you like RPG's there is no denying that Skyrim is quite possibly the greatest RPG game ever made....so far! Expand
  31. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    With Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way toWith Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way to sum up Skyrim. While games like Uncharted 3 and Gears of War 3 just offer shallow, scripted events that are forgotten days after, Skyrim gives you a massive playground that eclipses any other in the digital realm, and gives you the tools to make your own fun, regardless of what kind of games you like to play. Without a doubt in my mind, the greatest video game ever created. Expand
  32. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a huge improvement over Oblivion in nearly every way. First the setting. The land of Skyrim is huge, beautiful, and varied, unlike the ultimately 'pretty but boring' Cyrodiil of the previous Elder Scrolls game. Gone are the copy and pasted caves, forts, and ruins. Every single dungeon is hand crafted and it shows. Just like the exterior lands the dungeons are gorgeous to look atSkyrim is a huge improvement over Oblivion in nearly every way. First the setting. The land of Skyrim is huge, beautiful, and varied, unlike the ultimately 'pretty but boring' Cyrodiil of the previous Elder Scrolls game. Gone are the copy and pasted caves, forts, and ruins. Every single dungeon is hand crafted and it shows. Just like the exterior lands the dungeons are gorgeous to look at and compelling to explore. The level of detail given to character and item models is a HUGE step forward. The animation has been given a complete overhaul and at long last characters move naturally and believably in a Bethesda game. The combat has been improved as well. The ability to bind spells and weapons to each hand creates a much needed depth and customization to combat. The spell casting is much faster, more powerful, and more spectacular to look at. The sound design and music are similarly amazing. I'm trying hard to find things to dislike about this game, and the only thing I can come up with is the interface. The interface isn't horrible, but it take some getting used to. I've played the game for about ten hours now, and I haven't seen a glitch or had my game crash, which is also a plus considering this is a Bethesda game. All in all, I'll be playing Skyrim for a very long time, and I think this is easily the game of the year. Expand
  33. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Bethesda has created an incredibly immersive and realized fictional world in the fifth game in the Elder Scrolls. NPC's interact realistically, with improved animation and voice acting. Although the total number of skill categories has been reduced, the game does not suffer. In fact, cutting away the excess fat of past games put Skyrim ahead of its predecessors. Combat has been streamlinedBethesda has created an incredibly immersive and realized fictional world in the fifth game in the Elder Scrolls. NPC's interact realistically, with improved animation and voice acting. Although the total number of skill categories has been reduced, the game does not suffer. In fact, cutting away the excess fat of past games put Skyrim ahead of its predecessors. Combat has been streamlined and improved so that the player can switch between different weapons and magic easily. The menu and inventory systems have been given a similar treatment, with the primary focus being on making it easier for the player. The game is also very well balanced. Wielding swords, bows, magic or taking a more stealthy approach are equally emphasized and all seem like viable ways to play the game. Expand
  34. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    It is true, Skyrim has issues, bugs, glitches and, if you're really unlucky, dragons that fly backwards. I have not yet seen the latter, but just about everything else - not all in the first playthrough, though.

    Yes, this is one of those titles where you can zip through the main story in around fifty hours, but the average time is about twice as much, and it is said there is enough
    It is true, Skyrim has issues, bugs, glitches and, if you're really unlucky, dragons that fly backwards. I have not yet seen the latter, but just about everything else - not all in the first playthrough, though.

    Yes, this is one of those titles where you can zip through the main story in around fifty hours, but the average time is about twice as much, and it is said there is enough content to keep you busy for 300 to 400 hours. While I still miss a proper, decent revival of old-school RPG adventuring titles like Eye of the Beholder, Wizardry or even Dungeon Master, Skyrim is the best I've seen in quite some time. While that in itself is an easy accomplishment, simply for the lack of there being no competition whatsoever, it has to be said that a game that makes one forgive and forget the many, many flaws really must do some of the more important things right.

    Mind you, this game really is not without flaw, and I sincerely hope Bethesda will get rid of the underlying problems big and small, but I found my visit to Skyrim to be interesting, refreshing and very, very inspiring. It's one of those few games where starting over with a completely different character makes sense, to see how things would have turned out if you had chosen a different path, sided with 'that other side'. It is true that there are not quite enough of those game-changing options that have an impact on the whole game world. But, seeing as how exponentially complicated these things easily and quickly get, I was happy with what we got. If you manage to resist the temptation of exploiting any levelling shortcut or other cheating, Skyrim offers an astonishing amount of story and background, with an unequalled freedom to do as you please. Classes are not a one-time choice, you get better at whatever you choose to do by doing it. So your rogue could conjure up a tank or a decoy, or your mage could very well resort to maces or axes if things get rough and you find yourself in a closed quarters combat situation. Even your destruction mage could eventually be sneaky enough to silently pick off single foes with a deadly arrow before shooting fire and ice and lightning bolts, which makes for quite some diversified action. I admit: I really did not want to like this, but I ended up loving it.
    Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Takes a crap on both Oblivion & Morrowind. It is what Oblivion wished it was. With all the improvements and added content that Oblivion left out. Skyrim is a complete game.
  36. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Liked oblivion? This improves. Ten-fold. Leveling is now a fluid masterpiece, being able to form your character from your play style is new and unrestricted. No more guessing at the beginning of the game of what you will like, it is all what you use through out.
  37. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Im sorry, but this game is one of the closest games ive ever even thought of considering as a 10/10 game..but as we all know, there is no such thing. Anyway, back to the game, if you're a guy who doesnt get what the hype is all about then i can give you some advice, GET THIS GAME, as soon as you can. It is worth every penny and more and i can guarantee you it is going to be the game of theIm sorry, but this game is one of the closest games ive ever even thought of considering as a 10/10 game..but as we all know, there is no such thing. Anyway, back to the game, if you're a guy who doesnt get what the hype is all about then i can give you some advice, GET THIS GAME, as soon as you can. It is worth every penny and more and i can guarantee you it is going to be the game of the year

    Why am i so confident in this game, well, like its predecessor, the game developers worked hard day and night for many years. These guys dont just release titles for sake of t unlike otehr game companies, these guys make games with the aim of getting the highest possible success, you can look at all their games and see for yourself. With that said, It comes as no surprise as to why the world had to stand still in awe when the game hit and why everyone is such a fan.

    You're probably thinking "what a biased review" and to that I say "GET THE GAME and you'll see what I'm talking about" If you've never played this game or are even considering getting it, this will be one of those amazing games that you'll never forget and be grateful you bought, you have my word for it.
    Expand
  38. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    The game isn't flawless, but what game is? It's got its bugs, some small, some big, but even they can't take away from the experience I took away after playing this masterpiece. It's the first time I've ever seen a game live up to such hype. I love the combat, the plot, the lore, everything. Bethesda has raised the bar here and created the game that all RPGs will be judged by. It'll beThe game isn't flawless, but what game is? It's got its bugs, some small, some big, but even they can't take away from the experience I took away after playing this masterpiece. It's the first time I've ever seen a game live up to such hype. I love the combat, the plot, the lore, everything. Bethesda has raised the bar here and created the game that all RPGs will be judged by. It'll be tough to beat. Buy Skyrim. Expand
  39. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! If you are a fan of Rpg's you will love this game! I would write a longer review but you should go rent/buy it and I will let the game do the talking.
  40. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Being 80 in game, all I can say is: This game, is so epic, that it kicks your ass so hard that diarrhea comes out of your dick! World is absolutely huge, very many things and places to explore and discover. Beatiful sights when you are at the top of the mountain. Obtaining dragon's soul feels epic - you can feel your blood circulating a bit faster. A lot of skills to level up, it will takeBeing 80 in game, all I can say is: This game, is so epic, that it kicks your ass so hard that diarrhea comes out of your dick! World is absolutely huge, very many things and places to explore and discover. Beatiful sights when you are at the top of the mountain. Obtaining dragon's soul feels epic - you can feel your blood circulating a bit faster. A lot of skills to level up, it will take months of gameplay to actually get your skills to 100. Not a super huge armor and weapon choice, but they look very good and feel very powerful. There are guilds, companies, parties to join, call them how you want. I personally joined the Thieves Guild, because I can make a lot of coin for me and guild, and level up skills that usually aren't going up as fast as direct combat skills. Skills like sneak, lockpicking, pickpocketing. Huge amount of side-quests. Big choose of races, every race has it's own pros (no cons). For example, Redguards can't be harmed with poison; they are immune of it. Nords are 50% resistant to cold. Khajii't pickpocket and sneak better. I absolutely love this game, this the Game of The Year, the Decade, the Century and the Millennium! You are a fool if you don't try this game. Expand
  41. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    'The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim' is a game that only happens once every 10-15 years. Like 'Ocarina of Time' before it, Skyrim sets a new standard in video games and blurs the line of "Virtual-reality". From the onset, you have the ability to change anything and everything about your character (except height and weight). The game starts off like previous games in the Elder Scrolls series,'The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim' is a game that only happens once every 10-15 years. Like 'Ocarina of Time' before it, Skyrim sets a new standard in video games and blurs the line of "Virtual-reality". From the onset, you have the ability to change anything and everything about your character (except height and weight). The game starts off like previous games in the Elder Scrolls series, with you taking the place of a nameless prisoner. From there, you choose: the race, sex, origin, and name of your character. Then, the story starts; and it never stops. The game is massive, and every side quest, miscellaneous quest, and main-story quest all have their unique dialog, story, and characters. The game also doesn't take any shortcuts on content. Almost every chest is filled with goodies to loot, every person has their own personality, every city has a unique layout, and their are no two vistas that share common form. Everything in this game is detailed, from the buildings and roads, to the people and mountains; everything has been giving some area of uniqueness. The game will also keep you busy for a while; with the main storyline lasting about 10-15 hours and side quests/misc quests lasting well over 100 hours. It is possible to beat Skyrim in 10 hours, but chances are you won't want to. I am 50+ hours into the game, and maybe 10% through the main storyline. The game is massive, expansive, and highly detailed; which leads to some of the few flaws in the game. The game, very rarely will chug when multiple enemies (5+) are all fighting on screen. The game will also render in front of you and texture pop also happens. But, keep in mind; I have only experienced these issues 3 times in 50 hours.

    'The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim' is the ultimate game. A game for RPG fans, hack-n-slash fans, and action-adventure games; Skyrim is a game for everyone. And, like The Ocarina of Time before it, Skyrim is the best game this gen; and in my opinion, all-time.
    Expand
  42. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I'm a big fan of TES games, been playing them since Daggerfall
    I just wanna say that Skyrim is the best TES game, the best RPG ever, and IMO the best game ever.
    I've never been so hyped up for a video game, and Skyrim surpasses my expectations. GOTY 2011
  43. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    A massive amount of content, a beautiful world, and an endless ride of combat, customization, and just a great game. There are a few minor flaws here, but they can be easily overlooked. Get this game, and get it immediately.
  44. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I had to write a review after playing the game and seeing the haters giving scores of zero. It's amazing, it's really a lot of fun, a beautiful huge game. As for the glitches, hardly noticed them and you know what? A game with 100+ hours of amazing content might have a few glitches here and there. I've played a lot smaller games with a lot more glitches that actually interfere withI had to write a review after playing the game and seeing the haters giving scores of zero. It's amazing, it's really a lot of fun, a beautiful huge game. As for the glitches, hardly noticed them and you know what? A game with 100+ hours of amazing content might have a few glitches here and there. I've played a lot smaller games with a lot more glitches that actually interfere with your game play experience, these glitches do not interfere. I'd give it a 9.5 for the glitches but the slider doesn't do that so I'm rounding up to a 10! Expand
  45. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    one of the greatest game of all time keep your BF3 and that other shooter game Skyrim deserved all it awards and then some.
  46. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Magical is really the best word to describe this game. Sure, the close combat is not that great, but everything else is amazing. They really improved on the magic and I love that. The menu system takes a little time to get used to for those of us who have played Oblivion, but it's so simple once you do. The graphics are astonishing. You can tell they really tried with all the littleMagical is really the best word to describe this game. Sure, the close combat is not that great, but everything else is amazing. They really improved on the magic and I love that. The menu system takes a little time to get used to for those of us who have played Oblivion, but it's so simple once you do. The graphics are astonishing. You can tell they really tried with all the little details. There are some bugs, but what do you expect? Every game has bugs. If you're a fan of RPG's, this game is a must and even if you are not, you should try it. Expand
  47. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing! The gameplay shines, the audio will blow your head up and the visuals will make your eyes bloodshot. And this is all in a good way. The story will suck you like a whirlpool and not let go. There is so much to discover, so much to do. You can not just play this game once, otherwise you would be missing out on a lot of things. If you will excuse me, gotta go kill someAbsolutely amazing! The gameplay shines, the audio will blow your head up and the visuals will make your eyes bloodshot. And this is all in a good way. The story will suck you like a whirlpool and not let go. There is so much to discover, so much to do. You can not just play this game once, otherwise you would be missing out on a lot of things. If you will excuse me, gotta go kill some creatures in Skyrim. Expand
  48. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Everything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go outEverything that Oblivion was, this game has improved upon. This game will suck you in and never spit you out. Hundreds of quests are to be completed in this game. You could buy the game, start it up, and spend dozens of hours not even touching the main story. One of the best RPGs produced, period. The soundtrack is also amazing and really makes it feel like you're in the game. Just go out and buy it already. Expand
  49. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is very similar in mechanics to other Bethesda games like Oblivion and the Fallout series. So if you enjoyed those games, you will enjoy this one. But this game runs on a brand new engine and just looks amazing. This is what video games are about, new and exciting .

    I've only played 6 hours of the game so far, but in that time I've never felt like more of a badass. Even a simple
    This game is very similar in mechanics to other Bethesda games like Oblivion and the Fallout series. So if you enjoyed those games, you will enjoy this one. But this game runs on a brand new engine and just looks amazing. This is what video games are about, new and exciting .

    I've only played 6 hours of the game so far, but in that time I've never felt like more of a badass. Even a simple retrieve an artifact quest can feel entirely epic. Coming from Oblivion its nice to see the Archery mechanics improved as well as magic getting a significant graphical overhaul. I already had high expectations for this game, but they were exceeded when I actually played it. A lot of game of the year contenders this year, but this is in a whole class of its own. There are good games and there are great games, and then there is Skyrim.
    Expand
  50. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I am usually not into RPGs, but Skyrim is special, it does the series justice. The game lets you form your character to your wishes, whether good or evil. The very foundations of your character is personal, there are various races to choose from. It does not feature classes, you level up as you use a specific skill. The graphics are completely astounding. The music is perfect, they reallyI am usually not into RPGs, but Skyrim is special, it does the series justice. The game lets you form your character to your wishes, whether good or evil. The very foundations of your character is personal, there are various races to choose from. It does not feature classes, you level up as you use a specific skill. The graphics are completely astounding. The music is perfect, they really outdid themselves on that part. You'll have no problems spending ridiculous amounts of time in this game. The game is an incredible experience, without a doubt. Expand
  51. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Ok, After Playing this game for about 5 hours I think I can give a honest review. The games looks awesome in some areas but there is lack of detail in others. To some this would not be a big deal but for me it was considering I thought they re wrote the whole engine. Anyways lets get to gameplay. The game is a little slow getting started but once you get in to skyrim you really get intoOk, After Playing this game for about 5 hours I think I can give a honest review. The games looks awesome in some areas but there is lack of detail in others. To some this would not be a big deal but for me it was considering I thought they re wrote the whole engine. Anyways lets get to gameplay. The game is a little slow getting started but once you get in to skyrim you really get into the game. The battle animations are really cool and the dungeons are very interesting to explore.Needless to say this game is worth $60 with endless hours of gameplay! But this game falls short of a 10 so I will give it a 8. Expand
  52. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The best RPG, period. It has the absolute best of everything - storytelling, gameplay, and even the graphics. Do not miss out on this game, even if you have to rip it from somebody's cold, dead hands.
  53. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    cant even explain how good this game is , only reason you wouldnt like it is if you only play games that have you move in a straight line and hold your hand through the thing e.g. most fps .
    the game involves having a brain to play not just hack and salsh from end of a map to the other.
  54. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Improves upon Oblivion in every aspect, and utterly beautiful to look at. I can not express how good this game is. If you enjoy RPG's and even if you do not you defiantly need to check this one out. A timeless classic that is not to be missed. If you are a true gamer this will be on your shelf.
  55. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Bugs? Sure but i still love this game. Big Mammoths, Giants are the best (Dragons are weak). Love the gameplay, love the graphics. Overall great game. A must buy for everyone!
  56. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome !!!!! This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!This game is awesome !!!!!
  57. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    A very fitting addition to the TES stable. A truly stunning game that draws you into it's open world, Skyrim is perhaps the best RPG I have ever had the pleasure to play. The music is epic, the game play is believable, the world is beautiful and harsh. This was well worth the wait for me!
  58. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Game of the year candidate and probably winner unless there is another game that can top this, and besides uncharted 3 there is nothing even remotely close, zilch.

    Best game I have played in so many years
  59. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible. I haven't taken it our of my disk drive for two days, and I won't for a VERY long time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll love this! When you consider that MW3 was released the same week, and that could have been DLC, Skyrim is astounding value for money. The Enemy design is great. Zombies that felt a little odd have been replaced with the more powerful Dragur, andThis game is incredible. I haven't taken it our of my disk drive for two days, and I won't for a VERY long time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, you'll love this! When you consider that MW3 was released the same week, and that could have been DLC, Skyrim is astounding value for money. The Enemy design is great. Zombies that felt a little odd have been replaced with the more powerful Dragur, and Trolls actually look scary now. Skyrim is like a cake. The sponge is Oblivion, but with all of those burnt bits cut off, and with an improved recipie. The filling is a whole abundance of new features and total immersion, that's so gloriously delicious that you'll be licking it from the plate. It's all iced with some beautiful graphics that really do look astonishing at times, and have actually made me walk around for five minutes looking at the beauty of the night sky... Plus it's all sprinkled with some Fallout sprinkles. For example, Oblivion Lockpicking is out, Fallout one is in, and the finishing moves are very VATS-esque. And you can't have a small slice of this cake, oh no. You'll have the whole thing and then curl up and cry when it's all gone 100+ hours later. If you don't buy this game NOW, you're not even human. Expand
  60. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply AWESOME! This game brings all the features we love from the older games and then brings in so many new features that just set it apart from any other adventure RPG game out there. Combine a massive world of creative genius with an endless span of possibilities, beautiful graphics, an epic tale and fire/ice-breathing Dragons and you have Perfection = The Game of the Year = Skyrim.
  61. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is one of a select few games that drag you in from the start. I dont know what it is, it could be the gorgeous mountains waiting to be scaled, it could be the epic soundtrack, or it could be that it is so huge that it feels at least as of now that it could be played for months without it ever getting stale.
  62. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    OMG SKYRIM FUSRODAH DRAGONz! - - - - - - - - -
    Okay, I just had to get that out of my system. On to the review!
    Content: 9.5 Undeniably the greatest RPG gaming content available on the market to date! - - - - - - - - - Graphics 9.0 The graphics run smoothly with minimal hardware requirements and are comparable to other current generation games. The character models and animations are
    OMG SKYRIM FUSRODAH DRAGONz! - - - - - - - - -
    Okay, I just had to get that out of my system. On to the review!

    Content: 9.5 Undeniably the greatest RPG gaming content available on the market to date!
    - - - - - - - - -
    Graphics 9.0 The graphics run smoothly with minimal hardware requirements and are comparable to other current generation games. The character models and animations are all very well done.
    - - - - - - - - -
    Interface: 2.0
    Extremely frustrating to use - not at all the 'fast and intuitive' design it was hyped as. It might function moderately for consoles, but it is nowhere near up to par for computer gaming. I will list 10 fatal flaws with this interface on just the inventory alone: (the other parts would be too large a wall of text)
    1. The style of the interface looks Sci-fi instead of rugged medieval.
    2. Items lack any visual indication for what they are. (the previous title, Oblivion, had a distinguishing icon for every item.) This is such a necessary requirement as Skyrim contains many many thousands of items you will have to sort through.
    3. In order to find items in the inventory, you must manually scroll through not one, not two, but three separate menus that clump items together with no discerning order.
    4. Hotkeyed items seem to be bugged such that they randomly are de-hotkeyed if you make inventory changes.
    5. You cannot sort the inventory to list items in order of weight, gold value, or any other attribute. 6. Item attributes can only be viewed if you select that particular item, thus making it impossible to quickly scan and compare large numbers of similar items. (Yes, Bethesda, spreadsheets ARE the most functional tools for comparing data.)
    7. There is no inventory paperdoll so when you equip an item, you are forced to exit the menu and then pan the camera around your character in order to actually see what that equipment looks like on your character.
    8. On higher resolutions, it becomes incredibly difficult to read the text as it becomes very tiny, especially on smaller monitors.
    9. The small font issue also applies to viewing what items you currently have equipped, as the only indication for equipped items is a monochromatic arrow next to the item's name.
    10. The window used for viewing the 3D model of each item is utterly massive and takes up OVER HALF of the inventory screen, thus dwarfing all of the other (more important) elements.
    - - - - - - - - -
    Overall score: 8.0
    I highly recommend this game to everyone who enjoys a good hack and slash RPG. However, just be forewarned that unless you have a truckload of patience, expect to be thoroughly frustrated as you will likely be spending more time hacking your way through the interface than through any of those mudcrabs.
    Expand
  63. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Great game, really addictive. The World of Skyrim is well drawn and one can wander around for hours. The dialogues are well thought and the weapons are more user friendly than before. But there are some problems, bugs and annoying puzzles. This game is one of the best of this year.
  64. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I've already put 30 hours of gameplay into Skyrim and I'm still finding it just as fun as when I began. The dialogue is good, I'm enjoying the quests, the dragons are beautiful and the dungeons are absolutely stunning. What more is there to ask for?
  65. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Already played it 30+ hours, Only level 20 and Still freaking loving it! The world of Skyrim is great to explore, the armour has had major improvements from Oblivion, as well as graphics gameplay, options, the Ridiculous amount of quests, the Perk system and what the tree's can give you and many other major improvements that feels great every moment. I think My main problems is that, theyAlready played it 30+ hours, Only level 20 and Still freaking loving it! The world of Skyrim is great to explore, the armour has had major improvements from Oblivion, as well as graphics gameplay, options, the Ridiculous amount of quests, the Perk system and what the tree's can give you and many other major improvements that feels great every moment. I think My main problems is that, they simplified it too much. although in situations like the "Major and Minor Skills" it's in a way an exception. But when you remove the attributes and use Health, stamina or Magica as your attributes, it's just Absurd! the weapon arsenal like in Oblivion feels Limited in terms of what you could be using, Cause I'd like to tomahawk someone in the face, or execute someone with a halberd! allot of the soundtrack is a Copy and paste from Oblivion and Morrowing, Except for the battle Songs. In certain areas, it does feel like it is moving away from elder scrolls and going to a fallout feel. And finally, I don't know if it's just me, or is the options Interface usually unresponsive for a short time, because it can get frustrating sometimes! Either way, Skyrim is still absolutely fun as hell, and you should get it only for the fact that it's a Elder scrolls game!!! Expand
  66. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, the game play is superb, and the new leveling system is by far better then old one. The new leveling system really lets you customize your character to your play style. Interactions with NPCs are also more organic and actually make the NPCs feel like real people. In addition the soundtrack is one of the best I have ever heard for aThis game is absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, the game play is superb, and the new leveling system is by far better then old one. The new leveling system really lets you customize your character to your play style. Interactions with NPCs are also more organic and actually make the NPCs feel like real people. In addition the soundtrack is one of the best I have ever heard for a game. Bethesda has really out done themselves and Skyrim is major contender for GOTY. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  67. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I'm more than willing to wait 5 years in between TES titles if everyone is a masterpiece such as this one. The overwhelming feeling you get when you're thrown out into the open world is nostalgic. The new class and level systems are refreshing and free, allowing you to develop into the character you want without the race or class restrictions. Every aspect of the game world, from townfolkI'm more than willing to wait 5 years in between TES titles if everyone is a masterpiece such as this one. The overwhelming feeling you get when you're thrown out into the open world is nostalgic. The new class and level systems are refreshing and free, allowing you to develop into the character you want without the race or class restrictions. Every aspect of the game world, from townfolk to butterflies to the smelly dog in the town street is interactive. Having played over 30 hours, I've already gotten my $60 worth. Many gamers play a game that is 20 hours long and feel they got their money's worth. This takes it to a whole new level. I will easily put 150+ hours into this campaign alone and then come back for more. The miscellaneous objectives are intriguing and beg for you to follow them through out of sheer lust for exploration. Just walking around in this world is an experience that will wow even non-gamers like my wife. "ITS SO PRETTY!" Expand
  68. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game is probably the single greatestt RPG ever created. People that are saying Dark Souls is better are kidding themselves. That game cannot even keep its FPS above 10. I have been playing Skyrim nearly non-stop since it has come out and have not had a single graphical/fps issue, so the stability of the game is fine. The gameplay is ASTOUNDING. I cannot see myself getting bored withThis game is probably the single greatestt RPG ever created. People that are saying Dark Souls is better are kidding themselves. That game cannot even keep its FPS above 10. I have been playing Skyrim nearly non-stop since it has come out and have not had a single graphical/fps issue, so the stability of the game is fine. The gameplay is ASTOUNDING. I cannot see myself getting bored with this much content anytime soon. I haven't even touched the main quest yet!! If you're on the fence about this game, ignore the trolls and nay-Sayers, and do yourself a favor, buy this game!! Expand
  69. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Epic game! go adventuring in the land of Skyrim and play with the freedom to be the character you want to be. Battle Dragons or other fantasy creatures. Explore the land and find new things in all the far reaches of the world
  70. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    I've been playing this game for 1 week. In that time I've put in about 30 hours. On a typical week I might play a total of 5 hours of video gaming so that says an awful lot in and of itself. Of those 30 hours, I've loved every single one, and the amazing thing is I've barely scratched the surface. It's actually too good. It genuinely makes me appreciate your run of the mill games that youI've been playing this game for 1 week. In that time I've put in about 30 hours. On a typical week I might play a total of 5 hours of video gaming so that says an awful lot in and of itself. Of those 30 hours, I've loved every single one, and the amazing thing is I've barely scratched the surface. It's actually too good. It genuinely makes me appreciate your run of the mill games that you can finish off in 8 hours and get on with your life. This thing takes over.

    Believe the hype.
    Expand
  71. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    First off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a hugeFirst off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a huge step up from the previous Bethesda games. This is a amazing game, and is a perfect 10/10. Expand
  72. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):(: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):(: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ) Expand
  73. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    An awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small letAn awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small let down was the main story line. The ending wasn't as huge as i was expecting it to be. But all in all the other Quests like Dark Brotherhood and the civil war amazing. I think this game deserves the game of the year award. Expand
  74. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is seriously amazing! i dont understand what type of person would rate this game negatively?? The sound, graphics, gameplay - its all pure beauty. Best money i have ever spent!
  75. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    Unfortunately I haven't got to play this game as much as I would have liked to but so far I enjoy what I've seen. I didn't buy this game for Xbox I only borrowed it but I guarantee you the first chance I get I will be purchasing this game for PC (sry I love to mod). What I found ingenious is the use of some mods from Oblivion used in the game instead of having to add them on. The size ofUnfortunately I haven't got to play this game as much as I would have liked to but so far I enjoy what I've seen. I didn't buy this game for Xbox I only borrowed it but I guarantee you the first chance I get I will be purchasing this game for PC (sry I love to mod). What I found ingenious is the use of some mods from Oblivion used in the game instead of having to add them on. The size of the map is a little daunting at first but as soon as you unlock a few fast travel locations it becomes easy to navigate across the entire map. Some of the early bosses seem to throw you in the deep end others seem to be pushovers with very little in the middle but otherwise it is a very very good game. Expand
  76. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    There's a reason we need bad games. It makes us greatly appreciate fantastically well crafted and near perfect games such as this even more. Thank you Bethesda, for allowing me to sacrifice a relatively small chunk of my paycheck for an amazing adventure I will remember for years to come.
  77. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is, by far, the best game in the Elder Scrolls series so far. Of course this should be expected, what with the current state of game engines, graphics and innovation, literally expanding rapidly on what is possible to realize in a game - and doing so in a convincing fashion.

    Having said that, I doubt that anyone could ever stand on a monutain in Skyrim, and not have their breath
    Skyrim is, by far, the best game in the Elder Scrolls series so far. Of course this should be expected, what with the current state of game engines, graphics and innovation, literally expanding rapidly on what is possible to realize in a game - and doing so in a convincing fashion.

    Having said that, I doubt that anyone could ever stand on a monutain in Skyrim, and not have their breath taken away by the impressive vista. The misty slopes, the ever expanding horizon - and the knowledge, that one can literally go and visit any location in sight. The graphics, especially on the PC's highest setting, are nothing short of stunningly beautiful.

    In terms of gameplay, Skyrim has definately seen some improvements since its' predecessor; Oblivion. The universal acclaimed UI improvements have not been exaggerated, and as I'm sure any Oblivion veteran will instantly agree with, the leveling / perk menu is by far one of the biggest improvements in Skyrim. It's simple, easily understood to even the most inexperienced of gamers. The fact that the menu itself is also an animated version of all three "major" star constellations in the game, doesn't hurt either.

    While Skyrim definately has a high replay value, assuming that one ever manages to complete every quest and faction accessible, there are some issues that would deter one from doing so. While one could argue that these are all minor issues, they add up into a sense of frustration.

    The facial animations are stiff, and somewhat bereft of life. While this might be blamed on the fact that I recently played LA Noire, this seems to be a consistent issue in the Elder Scrolls series. The bugs and glitches. I've seen people do a semi-Kitty Pride trick with doors and walls. While not a major issue in terms of progression, it does remove a lot from the sense of immersion. And speaking of that...

    The AI. While the AI on NPC's has been upgraded somewhat since Oblivion, there are still moments of complete and utter.. annoyance. This has, in my case, included companions running against a pillar (and getting stuck there), dragons using the same, rather plain tactic in terms of fighting and -worst of all- important people tied to quests, willingly walking off from cliffs, walls and even the rare mountain.

    All in all, the above issues come down to nitpicking. Like I said however, they do add up, and in the end the player is repeatedly reminded of the fact that it's a game, rather than an immersive experience. And the less is said about the state of PS3 owners, the better... In the end, Skyrim makes for a great experience. Its' breathtaking world, the dozens and dozens of intriguing storylines and the reasonably smooth gameplay, all in all makes for a gaming experience that will make you forget about the real world in a heartbeat. Get ready to kiss your friends, jobs and everyday life goodbye - it'll happen if you buy this game.

    9/10 - the bugs, glitches and somewhat simple AI being the only things that keep this game from perfection.
    Expand
  78. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    i didn't like oblivion very much,so i had low expectations but upon starting the game i loved it! the quests are fun and not all the same,enemies and npc's are smart and don't just stand there when being attacked but the best thing buy far is the dragons,one on its own isn't hard,but when 3 attack at once it gets hard,and even then it's pretty cool because people nearby join in andi didn't like oblivion very much,so i had low expectations but upon starting the game i loved it! the quests are fun and not all the same,enemies and npc's are smart and don't just stand there when being attacked but the best thing buy far is the dragons,one on its own isn't hard,but when 3 attack at once it gets hard,and even then it's pretty cool because people nearby join in and help,game of the year in my book,10/10 Expand
  79. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    While i really like this kind of game (RPG Elements, exploring, some kind of immersive epic story) it feels a bit incomplete. Skyrim falls in the same pit of other rpg's (you will find a lot of repetitive quests, non charismatic npc's). In my lust to do everything in the game i already lost the interest without advancing the main quest. Another thing that has been bothering is the horribleWhile i really like this kind of game (RPG Elements, exploring, some kind of immersive epic story) it feels a bit incomplete. Skyrim falls in the same pit of other rpg's (you will find a lot of repetitive quests, non charismatic npc's). In my lust to do everything in the game i already lost the interest without advancing the main quest. Another thing that has been bothering is the horrible textures found in the game, for this year of 2011 i would expect some much better than what i saw. Elder Scrolls has the potential to be a excellent game, but it lacks a lot of polishment. Expand
  80. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    If I had to use one word to describe Skyrim, it would probably have to be "generous". It's a game that utterly immerses you in its setting. Oblivion was a game with a fairly cut-and-paste landscape in which you could create a classed character organically and in your own mould. Fallout 3, ironically enough, was game that *featured* more mould in a more fleshed-out albeit manky world,butIf I had to use one word to describe Skyrim, it would probably have to be "generous". It's a game that utterly immerses you in its setting. Oblivion was a game with a fairly cut-and-paste landscape in which you could create a classed character organically and in your own mould. Fallout 3, ironically enough, was game that *featured* more mould in a more fleshed-out albeit manky world,but characters tended to be some combination of "punch man", "shoot man", "pick lock" and "fix computer". Skyrim's world is built of vastly distinct biomes ranging from verdant tundra to snowy wastes to REALLY freaking snowy wastes. Its character development is three dimensional; in fact it's more like seven dimensional. It's a vast, freeform in quality of what could increasingly be called a genre of its own, the "Bethesda RPG" - which was already a watchword in If there's a solid criticism of the game, it's the melee combat; Bethesda's yet to find a first-person melee system that really works; up-close skirmishing just doesn't work through a restricted point of view and with limited manipulation of your pointy things. Dead Island's oar-swingy system may have played like a drunk remote control retard, but it could at least be said to be pushing the boundaries.

    Apart from dodgy manpunching, Skyrim deserves the title of Instant Classic just for the seemingly bottomless grab-bag of interesting, unique missions handsculpted from its immersive continent. When you've poured in two weeks of nightly gameplay are still being surprised with new enemies and weapons, and you've just run into Max Von Sydow, it's really hard to complain about value for money, even having paid the premium fourty pounds on release. When the price comes down, there should be no-one with facial hair who hasn't played, and loved, this game.
    Expand
  81. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Absolutely one of the most beautiful and amazing free world RPGs I've ever played. It may not be the most stable games out there... but you have to remember just the INSANE amount of content this game has. And for all that, you get beautiful graphics, a chilling soundtrack, and great gameplay. I never really got that much into Oblivion, but there's just something special about Skyrim whenAbsolutely one of the most beautiful and amazing free world RPGs I've ever played. It may not be the most stable games out there... but you have to remember just the INSANE amount of content this game has. And for all that, you get beautiful graphics, a chilling soundtrack, and great gameplay. I never really got that much into Oblivion, but there's just something special about Skyrim when you are traveling across the tundra. Or when you enter a dungeon and you sneak behind a group of bandits. Or when you fend off against angry townspeople. Skyrim isn't just a game... it's an experience. Expand
  82. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    SKYRIM IS A MASTERPIECE,

    This is one of the greatest games ever made.I have played many rpg's in my 30 years and this game is by far the best rpg yet,the story,graphics,game play is epic all in it's own and the voice acting is much better then it was in oblivion although oblivion is a great game as well.Skyrim get's a perfect 10.however I can not say the same thing for the ps3 version
    SKYRIM IS A MASTERPIECE,

    This is one of the greatest games ever made.I have played many rpg's in my 30 years and this game is by far the best rpg yet,the story,graphics,game play is epic all in it's own and the voice acting is much better then it was in oblivion although oblivion is a great game as well.Skyrim get's a perfect 10.however I can not say the same thing for the ps3 version since it's plagued by crashes,bug's and frame rate problems.but seeing as how this is the xbox 360 version review I must say it's the more stable version.
    Expand
  83. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    Simply put the best RPG of the decade. Over 300+ hours of gameplay and a vast, open world where you can explore to your heart's desire. Only bad part is that the game is that there are some glitches that can ruin the experience. For example, while trying to enter the Mage College, I couldn't because of the test glitch. But even with these bugs Skyrim still is epic in the finest sense ofSimply put the best RPG of the decade. Over 300+ hours of gameplay and a vast, open world where you can explore to your heart's desire. Only bad part is that the game is that there are some glitches that can ruin the experience. For example, while trying to enter the Mage College, I couldn't because of the test glitch. But even with these bugs Skyrim still is epic in the finest sense of the word. One of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  84. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    100 hours in and still not fed up, its the game that just keeps giving. Its my GOTY without a doubt, perhaps even the game of this generation. If you dont have it and you like rpg's you are doing yourself a disservice by not playing this.
  85. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    A brilliant masterpiece. Bethesda keeps getting better and better. A massive, beautiful rpg with an interesting story backdrop and a beautiful musical score that is truly epic. The statistics are there, and the detail is amazing. 150 hours in and maybe halfway done. One of the best games I have ever played.
  86. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game exceeds the gaming world to date the amazing graphics fighting character models the easter eggs and of course the arrow to the knee joke i am getting this game for christmas but my uncle had it i didnt come out for a day or two
  87. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    You know a game is good when I can get my wife addicted to it. Now instead of watching TV we just play Skyrim. The graphics are amazing, the story is awesome, and the content seems to never end. This may be the greatest game ever made.
  88. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    EPIC IT IS SUCH A COOL GAME. THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO FIGHT, HUNT, PUT POTS OVER PEOPLES HEAD AND STEAL ALL THERE STUFF, THERE IS JUST SO MUCH TO Do. and if you don't like it, I don't like you
  89. Jan 22, 2014
    5
    It's a decent game. I liked morrowind more. I know it's supposed to be played as a northern game, but I just feel cold and dark everywhere I go. It's decent design and the story is somewhat there. The music takes the game higher than it should be. It's a good game if played with mods. Otherwise it's too unbalanced
  90. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is an RPG adventure game, and is the next game to be released in the series from Oblivion. Skyrim is set in the Tamerial County in a place that is self explanatory called Skyrim, by lore Skyrim belongs to the Nords but as the same as the others there are also many different races that roam the lands. Character customisation has been widened to what it was in Oblivion, you have the exact same races but they have all been altered to look more lifelike and are very detailed and you are free to chose which ever race you like, another thing that I found good is that different races can sometimes cause NPCs to say different dialogues to you as the player which I found interesting and I liked the idea. Other new customisations allow you to add face paint option and chose you style and colour, how muscular is your character.

    When you have finished creating and finalising him/her, you are born into the world of Skyrim and are immediately are shown the graphics and how hard Bethesda have worked to create this beautiful landscape.

    You start off as a prisoner which is the exact same in previous elder scrolls game they really do just change the scenario from being in a dungeon and rescued
    Expand
  91. Feb 24, 2013
    5
    It's been over a year since Skyrim came out. I eagerly threw down money towards a pre-order of the game in mid-2011 and waited in line for over an hour to pick it up on release day at the EB Games I often took my business to. When I first played it, I was excited! Even on a console, where the inability to swap graphics cards limits the quality of the visuals, I was stunned by the game'sIt's been over a year since Skyrim came out. I eagerly threw down money towards a pre-order of the game in mid-2011 and waited in line for over an hour to pick it up on release day at the EB Games I often took my business to. When I first played it, I was excited! Even on a console, where the inability to swap graphics cards limits the quality of the visuals, I was stunned by the game's aesthetic beauty! I found the character creation system much improved when compared to Oblivion and the NPC character models had improved greatly! Now I could dual-wield, arming myself with a weapon in each hand, or a weapon in one, leaving the other free to cast spells, or I could cast two different spells at once! There was a whole new world for me to explore and it looked like a massive improvement over previous Elder Scrolls games and even when compared to more recent titles like Fallout 3 and Obsidian's Fallout: New Vegas! And there were dragons! Gorgeous, terrifying dragons!!

    I played for many hours, enjoying quests, dungeon crawls, or just the simple joy of exploration. Crafting was better than it had ever been and I enjoyed enchanting and naming items of clothing and weapons. I bought Hearthfire and Dawnguard almost immediately when they came out.

    ... and then somewhere down the line, something happened. I lost interest.

    This has happened to me before with previous Bethesda games. Well, not just any Bethesda games, but Elder Scrolls games in particular. I had no trouble finishing Fallout 3 with all the DLC. Ditto for the Bethesda published, Obsidian developed Fallout: New Vegas (which I think is better than FO3 in many ways). I had been burned before with TES and I should have known better, but I'd gotten caught up in the hype. "This Elder Scrolls game is going to be different!"

    The fundamental problem at the core of Elder Scrolls games, and to a larger extent their other massive open-world RPGs, is that Bethesda don't give a flying f*** about story and plot. They simply don't feel it's important. They see it as merely a hook to get players into games which they feel are all about exploration and freeform gameplay, which is fine for some people, but for me it creates a barrier. I find myself unmotivated to advance towards the end of the game, whether I'm allowed to continue after the main story is done or whether I need to do everything I want to do before finishing the main story because once it's done, the credits roll and I have to load from an earlier save. Generic, dull stock fantasy "save the world from ancient evil" stories don't really do it for me unless they are written by clever, masterful writers who are knowledgeable about the genre and are aware of cliches and tropes and how to use them in refreshing ways. Bethesda's writers either don't have a gift for this, are told to keep it simple, or simply don't care because good storytelling isn't a part of Bethsoft's mandate.

    This story problem was something of an issue with FO3. The main character was a vault dweller, like in the first game. The Enclave was brought back because Bethesda needed a main baddie faction and the Enclave are popular with Fallout fans, rather than coming up with a faction they could truly call their own. The G.E.C.K., the MacGuffin in Fallout 2, was recycled because it was easier to do that then for Bethesda's writing team to come up with something new. Fallout 3, though, at least boasted an interesting setting and it wasn't 300+ hours long BEFORE the DLC. Non-player characters are another major gripe of mine with every Elder Scrolls game I have ever played (Morrowind onwards). The NPCs in Skyrim are all uniformly bland. They don't have anything interesting or humorous to say (lines that accidentally go memetic, notwithstanding). It seems the writers have a tin ear for dialogue, but that might be their attempt to stay within the confines of the heroic fantasy genre, where a lot of people expect dialogue to be stilted and contain archaic words or turns of phrase. The voice acting, apart from Hollywood actors Bethesda hires for bit roles, is solid but unremarkable.

    In the absence of interesting NPCs, I find myself having a hard time giving a crap about the world or any threats to it. Why should I care what happens to the world when NPCs and even recruitable don't feel like people I can relate to. Would it kill them to try and make the companions in TES at least remotely interesting or give the sense that these are individuals and not just copy and pasted templates?

    I think I'm going to take a pass on whatever banal new land Bethesda wants us to fart around in next time they make an Elder Scrolls game. P.S. I really wish Bethesda would let Obsidian do all their Fallout games. Obsidian do a better job and Bethsoft could focus more time and effort on IPs they actually seem to care the most about. Bethesda collects royalties, Obsidian makes better games, fans are happy, everybody wins!!
    Expand
  92. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It's rare that a game comes along to not only improve on previous games of its kind but exceeds them. Skyrim improves in nearly all areas from oblivion from graphics to Talking to the characters and their interaction. The menu system and the leveling up system is also improved. But the most amazing thing IMO is EVERY object you collect from food to weapons can be looked at in high detailIt's rare that a game comes along to not only improve on previous games of its kind but exceeds them. Skyrim improves in nearly all areas from oblivion from graphics to Talking to the characters and their interaction. The menu system and the leveling up system is also improved. But the most amazing thing IMO is EVERY object you collect from food to weapons can be looked at in high detail in a 3d area. People giving this game a 0 are either brain dead or work for competing game companies Expand
  93. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    About 10 hours into this game, and having a blast. If you enjoy RPG's of any sort, you will absolutely love this game. Bethesda, as always, impresses with their latest release.
  94. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Epic, incredible how much depth there is this game. To be fair its not without the usual Bethesda glitches and random freezes every now and then. It doesn't really effect the gameplay that much because the game is breathtaking and highly addictive. I WA playing it for something like 14 hours yesterday and didn't even really notice that the time had past.
  95. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Is one of those games you will remember in your life. the graphics are beautiful. the world is big. if you never played a rpg in your life this is the game. best $60.00 i ever spent.
  96. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This is simply the greatest game I have ever played. If you are a fan, in any way, of RPG's you should play this. If you enjoyed Morrowind, Oblivion, Fallout 3, Fallout NV, you will love this game. It is so good that there are already thousands of reviews saying as much so I will leave you to them. Just rest assured, it is a god among games.
  97. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing whoever is giving it bad ratings should not be playing video games. The graphics are great the fighting and magic are great, and the story is on point.
  98. Jan 17, 2014
    7
    A big, expansive open world RPG with lots to do and nice graphics, let down by the forgettable plot and dated combat system.

    I did all main Qs plus all but a couple of sides and clocked about 60 hours which is a big plus. Some 'AAA' games only manage 5 or 6 hours of single player. Like all Elder Scrolls games, get used to caves. You'll be seeing a lot of them. Plot is tired 'you are
    A big, expansive open world RPG with lots to do and nice graphics, let down by the forgettable plot and dated combat system.

    I did all main Qs plus all but a couple of sides and clocked about 60 hours which is a big plus. Some 'AAA' games only manage 5 or 6 hours of single player.

    Like all Elder Scrolls games, get used to caves. You'll be seeing a lot of them. Plot is tired 'you are the chosen one ' as always with TES. Dull colours, forgettable NPCs. A result of having such a large game world? Obsidian did OK with New Vegas.

    That aside (and I can forgive all that), my major gripe is the dated combat TES has had since way back. No active dodge, no target lock. Blocking seems pointless, dodging means you move slowly backwards or to the side and hope you don't get hit. Or just charge in with power attacks and potions; you'll be fine. Magic has been simplified to the point of having little use beyond healing spells.

    And of course, dragons; less would mean more. Towards the end of the game I just ran away because I was so bored of them.

    Another Elder scrolls game that sticks to the generic fantasy formula but has a lot of value for money. If Bethesda had taken a chance on some changes to that formula, this game could have really deserved all that hype.
    Expand
  99. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Simply amazing! In my opinion clearly the best in the series and my personal GOTY. The limitless freedom of exploration returns and lets you experience an unique adventure that is setting milestones in the RPG genre. You have the complete freedom in what you do, there is not even a real class you choose: You build up your complete own in the flow of the game. The huge environment invitesSimply amazing! In my opinion clearly the best in the series and my personal GOTY. The limitless freedom of exploration returns and lets you experience an unique adventure that is setting milestones in the RPG genre. You have the complete freedom in what you do, there is not even a real class you choose: You build up your complete own in the flow of the game. The huge environment invites you to explore every single part of it with beautiful landscapes, an amazing soundtrack and interesting sidequests around every corner. It has been a long time since I was this satisfied with a game. Expand
  100. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Patch arrived and my issues are fixed. As promised, an updated review. Skyrim is just huge you can spend countless hour walking around and finding things to do virtually everywhere you go. The simplified systems make character creation fast and not nearly so easy to mess up. Visuals are stunning at every turn. The lack of acrobatics/athletic skill takes any reward from walking from placePatch arrived and my issues are fixed. As promised, an updated review. Skyrim is just huge you can spend countless hour walking around and finding things to do virtually everywhere you go. The simplified systems make character creation fast and not nearly so easy to mess up. Visuals are stunning at every turn. The lack of acrobatics/athletic skill takes any reward from walking from place to place, but not everything is instantly lit up on the map either so you get in some good foot time and that's good for the immersion. Combat is refined and magic is now fixed. You even get your fallout combat moments every now and then, albeit they are less gory and explody but still epic. The thing that keeps this from a 10 (Perfect) is a coop. Because even with all that they add. There is always that thought in the back of your head of how many more times amazing it would be if you could blast a real player with magic or share with them your equipment. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.