User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3108 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2014
    6
    The game has it's positive sides and have really nice graphics and all, absolutely, but we can't go around and judge a game for only it's graphics. Today it feels like most game developers focus on graphics and doesn't think to much about the content itself. This game made me very disappointed because, sure, as I said the graphics are nice but the game has extremely many bugs and glitches in it and the builds of the classes doesn't have a good balance. The game simply doesn't feel "done". I've played extremely many RPG games and when i heard my friends speaking so well about Skyrim then I felt that I had to play it. But this game wouldn't even hit my top 10 list of RPGs. If it wouldn't have been for the visual graphics and the detailed environment then i bet this game wouldn't have been so popular. There is so many other RPGs out there which is so much better in every way and i can seriously not understand how people can still choose to play this crap. It's sad to see how many "graphic whores" there is out there. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    8
    Personally, I love this game alot, and pretty much adore most sandbox games that reward inquisitive minds, exploration, and a love of rich lore and plentiful characters. Skyrim is no exception in this sense, the world is massive and sprawling, with a ton of interesting quests and characters to meet, as well as multiple dungeons littered with their own unique stories and background. For me personally, I love the fact that the world really feels alive, every NPC has their own schedules, mountains you can scale jut into the sky in the distance, the cry of dragons rolls through the hils from a distance before you see one circling overhead, and it gives the impression of an epic world which will continue to live and breathe even when you put down the controller. However, this is what I love about the game, and in all honesty, I have to confess many things which might deter some people and downright put off other gamers. Alot of the dungeons use recycled assets, as well as many houses, and if there is one way to describe a flaw of Skyrim it is 'repetition', both in terms of NPCs generated over and over 'hence the infamous 'arrow to the knee' to every other tavern looking basically the same. Some people say that Skyrim is 'as vast as an ocean and as shallow as a pond', but I think that's only half true. They're right in that many quests in Skyrim are downright boring, if not insulting to the average gamer's intelligence. 'Oh hai there Dragonborn. You're here to slay the World Eater? Well could you also deliver my axe to my cousin across the hold? There's a good boy! 'Oh hey stranger, mind checking my catacombs for generic skeleton warriors to retrieve my 'insert levelled loot here'? The five dozen guards outside can't be bothered.' These quests are beyond terrible, and many dungeons have been designed as cookie cutter areas to ensure the same NPCs send you to the same places over and over and over to retrieve vague, non-specfied loot. If you judged Skyrim on this alone, you would not be faulted for throwing it outside the nearest window. However, for me, I think gamers who only see this don't recognise the true flaws and beauty of what an open world like Skyrim means. Skyrim is a buffet of gameplay and quests. Some of the quests taste like filet mignon, they are interesting, the gameplay choices available are though provoking, and the characters are well detailed and engaging. Other parts of the buffet though are like bland, stale mashed potatoes, a mushy mess of bad gameplay decisions, poor gamer choice and uninspired dialogue and stories. This is the nature of the beast though, Skyrim is massive enough that in some parts it will inevitably miss for some people, but in others, so many parts connect so well, that it just makes you absorbs you for days on end(even without mods, and having played with mods on my PC, and without them on Xbox, I still feel Skyrim vanilla is a great game in its own right). As for the bugs though, although I gave Skyrim a pass because I loved the concept behind it of a massive world filled with possibilities, there is no doubt this game is packed full of glitches and bugs(though in my experience, not as many crashes as Oblivion). I love what Bethesda try to do, but seriously, when Red Dead Redemption provides a game of that size and complexity without many bugs, it really makes you wonder when Bethesda will jettison its crappy Gamebryo engine for something that doesn't suck. If you love interesting concepts and expansive, immersive sandboxes, buy Skyrim. If you prefer tighter, more focused RPGs buy the Witcher 2. In my opinion though having played and finished both, my love of one does not diminish my love for the other, and as long as Bethesda and CD Projekt RED continue to develop games, the RPG genre has a rich and exciting future ahead of us. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    Possibly the greatest RPG of all time? I think it probably is for the foreseeable future. I'm writing this review after replaying it a lot and I had forgot that this game came out in 2011. Still magnificent to behold, a rich and deep world that feels a much more real place than Cyrodil (Taking nothing away from Oblivion of course!).
    I feel there isn't much that needs to be said other than
    if you have ever enjoyed a game with swords, dragons, magic or robbing people blind, play Skyrim. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Simply put, The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim has raised the bar in the RPG genre, offering a plethora of engaging and unique content in one of the most immersive and beautiful game worlds ever created. Plus, any game that uses the word
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    This is without a doubt the best game released in 2011.

    A wonderfully immersive RPG experience; the likes of which have become increasingly rare in the generic, cookie-cutter gaming industry.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A magnificent hive of creativity and technical clout, and holds a world so open it frequently threatens to overwhelm. Skyrim is forever charming and consistently engaging, and will carve a completely different adventure for every player put under its dazzling spell. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is a magical, overwhelmingly beautiful and engaging gaming experience with some beautiful graphics and a masterpiece soundtrack, let down by some frustrating glitches and bugs. A player can easily put 40+hours into exploration of the world without making much progress in the true 'story' which relates to the return of dragons to the province of Skyrim. There are numerous caves, bandit camps, towns and holds (the larger towns) to visit with an exhaustive array of quests to complete and plentiful loot to collect along the way. The levelling system is very well executed and encourages a player to concentrate on one part at a time - ie levelling up conjuration or heavy armour or smithing. Although I have yet to complete the story, I have travelled to every corner of Skyrim (and beyond...) and feel it is time to review. Whilst it will find a place in my heart to be one of my top 5 favourite games ever, there are some minor issues with bugs and glitches, although hopefully with time these will be ironed out. It should be noted that I had never played an Elder Scrolls game before Skyrim, but that didn't prevent me thoroughly enjoying almost every minute of it. Expand
  8. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This game was made with obvious passion. I've never had so much fun sneaking and poking about a world. I don't think it would be possible to make the game better with the current technology.
  9. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Skyrim was a game I couldn't wait to own. A departure from my staple diet of COD which has left me seeking a new experience & this certainly achieves that. I liked the freedom given to the gamer in Red Dead Redemption which was pure escapism and this does that even more so. Think World of Warcraft for grown ups!
    Skyrim is a beautifully crafted & textured game on so many levels. The
    intricacy & detail is nothing short of stunning. Little wonder you can immerse yourself for hours in its gorgeous world. From meadows with butterflies to snowy, blizzardy wastes. From castle to vampire's lair. Fabulous changing light & weather all add to the atmospherics here. A rich spectrum of creatures that will happily rip you limb from limb and a powerful array of weaponry & magic to learn & deploy at every opportunity.
    One of the strengths of the game is that it is very lateral & not so linear. Anywhere you can see, you can go. You are not tied to missions, you can roam freely (often at your peril) and it is this kind of exploration that keeps the game fresh and fascinating.
    I cannot really think of anything to criticise about Skyrim and you are guaranteed to have a blast. Ps. - the dragons are spectacular and at times appear out of nowhere to scare the hell out of you.
    Best played at night in the dark!
    Expand
  10. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    It's a game that you will absolutely lose the time on. I played it for about 8 hours and only felt like 1. It's goddamn great. Graphics, voice acting, story. It's got it all
  11. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    this game is an absolute masterpiece, the most complete game ive ever played. It engrosses you at every level and constantly leaves you breathless. Its not perfect in terms of bugs and glitches, but to be honest, playing on the 360, they dont hinder the experience nearly at all. Ive noticed a lot of complaints that clearly have to do with the PC version on 360 user reviews, please be careful, because skyrim has been flawless on my 360 and it doesnt deserve to get its score dragged down by people playing on a different system Expand
  12. Sep 20, 2012
    7
    The best Bethesda game I've ever played. I even ended up completing the main storyline and being how I didn't get far into Oblivion and Fallout 3 before I called it quits that's quite the compliment. The "immersion" of these games isn't quite there yet, but there is improvement little by little as each one of these games gets released. Skyrim was still way too repetitive. The greatest aspect of this game was the soundtrack. Beautiful stuff. Expand
  13. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    I'm writing this review pretty late and you have probably made up your mind about the game so I will just share a spoiler free experience with you that convinced me that this game was well worth the money and definitly with my time.

    I'm a level 3 Nord and about 3 quests into the game when this happens.

    I walk into a village and a strange shadow passes over me. I look around and up
    into the sky to see nothing. Then the village police draw there bows for no apparent reason. They run behind one of the houses and then you hear it. The dragon roars, and then it gets epic.
    I switch from my sword to my bow and sprint around the house to get my first glimpse of a dragon just toasting these villagers with his breath and I put two arrows in him. He then shoots up into the sky and circles around me.
    The villagers are in a panic and I find myself a soldier among soldiers protecting a town I'm only just discovering from a truly awe inspiring danger. Two minutes and 10 well placed arrows later the dragon plunges to the ground with a crash of dirt and rock and deteriorates in front of my eyes. And I feel like I could conquer the world.
    This wasn't scripted either. These things happen randomly and the number of dragons in the world is infinite.
    It will suck your life away as any Elder Scrolls game worth it's name will but the difference between Oblivion and this is huge. This is one of the best games I have ever played on the Xbox 360 and maybe ever. Check it out if you have the time.
    Expand
  14. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    if you dont own it get it. just so nice to wander around in and most of what you can see you can get to and explore. load times when opening a door or quick travel can be long but all is forgiven for just such a great game
  15. Jan 21, 2012
    4
    The hours of gameplay left me dissapointed really. I cant see how can someone be entertained by doing the same routine over and over and over again. Everything is repetetive in this game, and it gets repetetive so quickly. The most fun I had was in the first 3-5 hours when I created my character, explored the map a little and made few quests.
  16. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    I love this game! A truly massive world that I cannot find in any other game. Its like an MMO except there aren't tens of thousands of mages and warriors running around. Its also a more rewarding experience than an MMO because the story revolves around you. Faces look a little weird. Some NPCs do strange things and combat can feel less intimate than other games. Otherwise I would give this game a straight up 10/10 Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    An amazing game in scale and fun. To each their own but I can't even comprehend people who badmouth this game. Skyrim is so rich with great design and moments, that is shines far brighter then any other game that has come out this year. Those with poor reviews obviously did not actually play the game. If they would have they would have come to see how deep and enjoyable this game is truly. Of course this kind of game is not for everyone, but if you like RPG's there is no denying that Skyrim is quite possibly the greatest RPG game ever made....so far! Expand
  18. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    Skyrim: straight to the point it is a good game, you can spend a lot of time just exploring and filling in minor and unrelated quests. However after a 200+ hours it can get a little repetitive and lose its lustre even if you have played a couple of different characters and taken different paths.

    That said it is a solid game that is easy to get into and enjoy, while your character does not
    have a true overall impact on the game world outcomes apart from the main quests there are moments which make you smile. There are some detractions but this is to be expected with a game of this size, glitches are many and annoying at times. The game engine has notable memory lag/leak problems if you enable all auto saves and have too many save files (which can grow to enormous sizes). Load times are just plain embarrassing and get worse as you progress. The so called witty humour deployed by developers at every turn may not seem apparent and will fly over heads of those who have not played the previous elder scrolls games â Expand
  19. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the greatest game ever made. This isn't goty, this could be game of the freaking decade. I found myself completely immersed in a totally beautiful world with alnost not limits. The skill system is much improved, as you're no longer limited to a single class and simply get skill gains by putting them into practice, which is pretty awesome, not to mention using a spell while smashing someone in the face with an axe is pretty damn satisfying. Next up is the story, which is cool, but you can put it on permanent hold if you wish as there are more or less and infinite amount of side-quests to do with alternating storylines. Speech and interaction is better than in oblivion and graphics are far superior too. All in all, 10/10. Expand
  20. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    I will be honest, I began to really hate this game at first. The reason why is the first time I played it, I couldn't complete 1 quest because the 1st enemies were frustratingly hard. I do a simple trick to level up my character, but I still get killed more times than a Call of Duty game. Also, I really hated that friggin' Loading Screen. It takes forever, even when I'm killed all the time it takes me back to the Loading Screen. I was seriously about to get my money back....that is till I noticed that there is a Difficulty Setting, I never knew there would be one in a game like this. So I changed it, and now I finally got through the game much better. All I can say is THANK GOD I didn't return it! After completing multiple Quest's and powered up my characters armor and weapons, I became so addicted to the game for hours. The Quest's is great, the Side Quest's are great, the Design is great, the RPG Experience is great, the multiple character classes and stories were great.....everything is absolutely perfect in this game. The only thing that still pisses me off is the Loading Screen. I can understand that it's an Open-World RPG, and the game is HUGE! But still, the loading screen takes forever. Aside from that, this game is absolutely recommendable. If you never played this game yet, GET IT! Just be sure to change the Difficulty Setting just in case you get frustrated like I did. I'm glad I played it and looking forward to play more of it. Expand
  21. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    Outstanding, a game you can and will spend hundreds of hours playing, and you can play it any way you want to, first or third person, do you go in stealthily or head first hacking and slashing, do you fight with a mace in one hand and shooting fire out of the other or do you choose the classic sword and shield approach, you can also choose your race and appearance, the leveling up system is fantastic, skills increase as you use them, focus on archery and your skill with it will increase, pick a lock and you get better at doing so, and it's just so much fun to play, it's easy to fall into the just one more quest trap because there are just so many of them, seriously almost every character in the game will give you one, this game also has what I personally believe is the biggest open world of all time that's jammed pack with content, and unlike most other open world RPG's this world feels truly alive and is a blast to explore, this game does have some flaws however, it's got quite a few bugs and glitches, the main quest is kind of short I completed it in a little under 17 hours and that was with me completing side quests, exploring, and just goofing around, and it has a kind of disappointing ending, but it's fun and after you complete the main quest you get to keep playing basically forever to complete all the side quests and just have fun, and when I first bought it (the day after it came out) the graphics sucked, but with all the updates from Xbox Live it looks good now, but if your not connected to Xbox Live you'll be playing an ugly game, it doesn't hinder your enjoyment of it, and it may have just been my copy but it's something to consider, but even with it's flaws this is still an outstanding and fun experience that you'll lose yourself in for several days, realize that you've played nonstop for days, grab a snack and jump right back into it for several days more, your truly getting more than your moneys worth, so go out and buy this, you wont be disappointed. Expand
  22. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Why does this game get a 10 from me? Well to make a long review short; it has everything I want in a game. Great story, versatile gameplay, freedom of choice, doesn't get easily bored and so much more. I have yet to play a game that gives me the same exiting feeling every time I play it, especially after the amount of hour's I have played it (at least 300 hours). I only have it on the xbox, but I'm planing to buy it for my pc as well. My sister say's it's a lot better there, especially when it comes to graphics. Expand
  23. X11
    Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Do I even need to say anything about this game? No. Nope I don't think so. Attempting to put it into words would be foolish, foolish I say. Ehem. 10/10.
  24. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Where most games give you 6-7 hours of playtime, Skyrim gives you 50+. The world is breathtaking, the myriad of caves, ruins and various dungeons are interesting to explore, many with small quests or story behind them. The graphics are excellent, especially when exploring the open world, which is huge, bigger than both oblivion and fallout. Quests vary in length, and are far easier to find than in previous games. Every detail has been considered, every pillar of the game is solid, combat is rewarding, the world is vibrant and interesting, the monsters, locations and quests are all varied and interesting, and the enemies scale just enough so its not too hard or too easy, but you still feel powerful at higher levels.The sheer number of quests and locations is mind boggling, Ive been playing for at least 30 hours and there is still so much to do! If your an RPG fan, then this game is the definition of the genre. Expand
  25. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This game has everything. A virtually unlimited number of quests ranging from the lengthy main quest to the guild quests to a seemingly numerous amount of miscellaneous quests. And I haven't even started talking about the dungeons. The world itself is massive. I've only even neared the edge of the game border once...in all my 60 hours of playing so far! And yet despite its size, it is packed to the gills with stuff in each individual area of the game world. I can hardly go in one direction for more then a minute without stumbling upon a landmark, be it a miscellaneous quest opportunity and/or a dungeon or some other intriguing pastime. This game has more content then I have seen before...ever. Not even GTA4 came close to this. Each quest has been treated with a level of thought and detail that it hardly ever seems thrown in just for the sake of making the game longer. In each quest (be it main, guild, or miscellaneous) I always meet new characters who are colorful and diverse in personality, and a plot woven delicately enough to keep me engaged all the way through. And then there's the graphics. For the size of the game world, I am amazed to see the level of detail that each individual object of the game has been rendered with. The amount of detail, combined with how much there is detailed, is unbelievable. It has been six years since Oblivion came out, and I can easily believe that Bethesda has spent all that time perfecting every nook and cranny of Skyrim, from the quests to the graphics to the game world itself. This is a must buy, not just for RPG fans, but for any gamer out there. You cannot know what a perfect RPG is until you have played this game. Expand
  26. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    The black man is not your enemy. The Muslim is not your enemy. The Iranian is not your enemy. If the TV or movies tells you that someone is bad, think twice. Countries in 2010 that do not have a Jew controlled central bank were Sudan, Cuba, North Korea, Libya and Iran. Countries in 2012 that do not have a Jew controlled central bank are Sudan, Cuba, North Korea and Iran. Who is next? All races must unite to pull the leech from our skin. Divided we will fall. Expand
  27. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    WOW! This game rocks! I fell in love with Oblivion and Skyrim blows this away. When I first started playing bit I wasn't sure I would like it because of the stark landscape. Once I adjusted my XBOX settings to the xxy... etc. the graphics popped. The gameplay is top notch though! I am waiting for a Steam deal and I will buy it for my Alienware as well. I think you could play it 8 or 10 times with a new experience. Bethesda is one of the greatest game comnpanies of all time. I hope they never lose their identity or style. This is a must buy for any RPG fan. Expand
  28. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is a flawed masterpiece - a game that stands above far more perfect games in it's ambition. Most games lose some of their shine as they hit the 3rd or 4th in the series. What makes skyrim an exception? Elder scrolls started with an ambition, and with each game they take one step closer toward it. To create an interesting 'world' that a player will want to explore every inch of. And betheda are world builders like literally no other company on the planet. In this specific case, evolving a single cause creates a progressively more awe inspiring outcome. Skyrim is filled with quality content. Sometimes a short cave, sometimes a 2 hour journey into the heart of a unexpected tale. You never know what will lie around the next corner. And unlike all the previous elder scrolls game, this content is now more varied, more interesting, and more attached to story. And while skyrim never reaches some of the peaks in oblivion, and some of the world building imagination of morrowind - the consistency of it's high quality content - dwarfs those two games combined. Skyrim is magical, it's exciting, it's sweeping, it's majestic, and sometimes it's mundane. It's a fantasy life. And it's got 500,000 game bugs. I play skyrim, with it's 500,000 game bugs, and I enjoy it immeasurably more than games that are flawless and clean, and bug free. Because those games don't feel like realizing a grand dream. They feel like games. Expand
  29. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    Linear?....yes. Bugged?....yes. Repetitive?.....yes. However despite all the above this game is an absolute classic. The sheer size of the countryside and the fact that each area and character feels and looks different immerses you into the (weak) plot. With a huge number of side quests alongside the main quests and hundreds of different options and paths to choose (although most of these choices do not seem to change the plot much) be prepared to call work, your friends, your partner and anybody else you know to advise them they may not see you for a while! Expand
  30. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great, in almost every aspects. One negative point of the game is the nearly-dull-and-generic character, we can hardly find any noticeable character with memorable characteristics. But overall, if you are RPG fans, this is the MUST-HAVE game. Pay attention a little to your health since this game can force you stuck in it for endless hour without resting!
  31. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This is the first Bethesda game that I have played all the way through and I must say that I believe this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship! The scale of this game is mind blowing! 100 hours in and I STILL have not completed a multiple factions. While the graphics are a little rough sometimes, none of that matters as you find yourself more concerned with your character and others that roam the world of Skyrim. It is no surprise that this won Game of the Year. It is OFFICIALLY THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED. Expand
  32. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    I have had an infinite amount of issues. The combat. It's boring dialogue. Copy and paste dungeons. Lack of variety. Quantity over quality. Environments are repetitive. Disarm shouts making you lose your weapons permanently. Consistent freezing. Quests being impossible to complete due to glitches. Constant trips to sell/store items due to being overencumbered. Repeat voice actors. Won't let me fast travel even if there isn't an enemy near me. Too much walking. Lockpicking breaks don't reset my pick to where it was when it broke. No reason to care about my character's role in the story. Dragons become repetitive too after you've fought 10 of them. All the mountains in my way ... WHY CANT I CLIMB?! Also, no distance meters to show me how far target locations are. ...some quests I can't do because I need a key from another quest I haven't gotten yet. All of these glitches and issues...

    ...all of these glitches and issues....

    ...yet I love the game. It is very easy to overlook the technical hiccups due to just how immersed you can become in this wonderfully crafted world. I think they just tried to put *too much* in, and in doing so were unable to fix every little glitch. This game looks great, can be played however you want to play it, and is a definitive RPG for the ages.
    Expand
  33. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Bethesda really know how to make games don't they? A fantastic masterpiece of art that I firmly believe will last through generations. To get the negatives out of the way, my only complaint is that the story does not feel as personal as Oblivion, and I can relate to the characters and the world better in Oblivion than Skyrim. Nevertheless, the blindingly beautiful visuals, the brilliant combat system that allows epic battles to take place, and the interesting quests make this game a milestone in modern gaming. Expand
  34. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    The fifth entry in The Elder Scrolls, Skyrim, is far from perfect but it is impossible not to award a game with such epic ambition at least nine out of ten.

    Anyone that has played any of the previous entries in the series, or either of the most recent Fallout games for that matter, will know what to expect. This time around however things have been taken to a whole other level with a
    free to explore game world of caverns, fortresses and villages full of all manner of creatures and secrets. It is quite possible to play for hours and end up with more quests on the 'to do' list than when you started.
    Combat, while still a long way behind the best in the action genre has also been improved with players free to use swords, axes, bows as well as a whole host of different types of magic. The much hyped Dragon battles make very good use of these different options even if they do become a little repetitive when faced with the twentieth almost identical winged beast (although they never become as dull as the Oblivion gates from the previous entry in the series).

    Yes the game is full of bugs, none game breaking that I encountered, and the loading times between some areas are still too long but any faults are easy to ignore when immersed in arguably the most complete fantasy world in video game history.
    Expand
  35. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    First Elder Scrolls game I have ever played was Morrowind. I immediately fell in love with the series and even went back and played the first two, which of course are dated, but are fun none the lease. Oblivion came out afterwards and again I could not stop playing it. Heck I even played it until Skyrim came out. When Skyrim was announced I was full of joy. So I immediately pre-ordered the game and payed it off. Went to the midnight release and played it right when I got home. I was blown away. Bethesda did not disappoint. Almost everything that Bethesda promised was true. From their promise that the game was going to have the feeling of exploration like Morrowind to the promise that the dragons are going to be an addition that will work great even though the attacks are almost always random. It is hard to explain Skyrim in words so I will try my best. Skyrim takes place 200 years after the events of Oblivion and now Dragons are returning as was prophesied in the Elder Scrolls. You start the game as a prisoner as every other game in the series. You are about to be executed when a dragon attacks the village in which you are in. You manage to escape and are tasked with going to the nearest city ( I am leaving ALOT out so I do not spoil to much). When at the city you find out that a dragon is about to attack so you go outside near a watchtower joined with a bunch of soldiers of the city. The dragon does appear and when you finally kill it, the dragons souls is absorbed into you. You then find out that you are the Dragonborn the prophesied destroyer of the dragons. Gameplay in Skyrim is a bit different and complex compared to Oblivion, but still fun to use. This time around combat is more timing based. Unlike Oblivion where when you are blocking and the enemy attacks he recoils, on Skyrim when blocking it reduces damage( same as Oblivion), but the enemy does not recoil. You do a shield bash instead that makes the enemy stagger. When the enemy staggers they are open to attack. Many time if an enemy is in the middle of attacking you, you can do a shield bash to cancel out their attack then you can attack. The skill system on Skyrim is a mixture of Oblivion and Fallout 3. There is no longer attributes like endurance instead the skill increase depending on your play style. If you are a person who like to use one handed weapons and destruction spells the more those skills increase making you strong with those abilities. When you level up choose what to increase first, be it Magika, Health, or Stanima. After you are finished with that you will be given a perk point to use on perks that are able to be added for the skills that you like to use. Just a message to new comers of the series. I would recommend starting out with Oblivion first. There are a few bugs in the game like when a giant kills you your body will fly into the air (very entertaining though) and getting stuck in the environment. There is a bug on the Xbox 360 version that if you install the game some textures will not load in entirely. But other than that Skyrim is one of the best, if not the best Elder Scrolls to date. Expand
  36. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games ever. The gameplay, the scenery, the interactivity, all fantastic. Endless quests and dragons galore plus the sporadic quest system just add to the incredible design. Yes, it has some bugs, but it's not nearly enough to make me stop playing. A must play.
  37. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Yes the game has its flaws, humans have their flaws everything does. But those flaws do nothing to affect this game. Know this, this isn't a game because what it does to you is unlike any game or movie. Skyrim is in a category of its own. It is hands down the best not only game, but adventure and experience you can live in your life. It will absolutely blow you away, if you ever cared about being happy, dreamed of a different world, escaping reality into a realm of your own, this is the closest thing to being in the Matrix. Ii will absorb you, it will change you and it will please your every sense. The immersion factor is truly incredible, no medium can take you to another world as much a gaming machine with this software running. A parallel universe you will never want to return from. An absolute gem and must play for everyone. Perfect 10/10 Expand
  38. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Full disclosure....I'm a huge Elder Scrolls fan so my review may be unintentionally biased. I'm also a big fan of open world RPGs. Again, Bethesda succeeded in making a great RPG. I like the combat, the graphics, the world, character customation, weapon and armor crafting, the dragons and most of the quests (yes, some are boring but most are fun).
    What I didn't like: I always play a
    stealthy character first play through because they are my favorite. So the Dark Brotherhood and the Theives Guild were always my favorite guilds. Unfortunately, I was disappointed in the DB quests compared to the DB quests in Oblivion (the party treasure hunt DB quest was one of my faves!). Also, I missed some of the skills they removed from the game. But...I had a blast playing the game and will probably play it through many times with different characters. It has pretty a good replay ability. Expand
  39. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    This game is a true work of art everything about this game is amazing from the stunning graphics to the smooth gameplay and let's not forget the amazing storyline.This is my favourite Installment by far this game is a Masterpiece and a must buy for any rpg fan.
  40. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    While the graphics, story and gameplay are only "good", the world of Skyrim will draw you in. It really is an immersive experience and it's great fun, especially if you're a nerd like me :D perfect example of something being greater than the sum of its parts.
  41. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Does this game even need a review? Negative reviewers obviously picked this game in response to the buzz this game acquired since it's announcement, and are probably expecting more, yet Skyrim delivers more than just what The Elder Scrolls have been all about. Dig deep into the Skyrim's tremendous world and you'll get your monies worth a thousand times over.
  42. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Skyrim has its bugs, as do many other games with such an open-ended space to control; but don't let the minor glitches or graphic fowl-ups disengage you. The Elder Scrolls V is what many people have called it, "one of the greatest games ever created", because it basically outdid its predecessor, Oblivion, by a long shot. 300+ hours of gameplay, quests after quests after quests to concur, many dragons to slay, people to meet, and things to see; if you fail to see the epicness of this title I feel sorry for you. Consider it the "Return of the King" of the series. But one thing will always distract me, which is, how will the team behind it top this? Expand
  43. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    There is no other game out there which even comes close to the true scale of Skyrim. A fantastic fantasy world bursting with so much to do it will take you months to complete. The whole game world feels alive with activity. A new quest being found at every new location, which this game certainly does not lack. Hundreds of items to collect and unique artifacts to discover which almost always leads to something better to find. The main storyline defines fantasy epic setting you on a path which is common with the Elder Scrolls, involving yet again you saving all of Tamriel. Skyrim its self is a pleasure to explore with the games amazing graphics which is great for a game of this scale. Yes there are some niggles on the edges but these are bound to be fixed in no time at all. So this may not be the best game ever created, but it sure is one of the best. The only way to find out is to experience Skyrim for yourself. Expand
  44. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls v: skyrim is the best ever RPG i have played. The Elder Scrolls IV: oblivion was amazing but they have improved it with skyrim i like how they add werewolves and the daedric armour have been improved but I think the best part of the game is the Dragons and the Dragon shouts. You can create your own character the argonian can breathe under water, 50% Resist to Disease so you cannot turn into a vampire and Dark Elves Resist Fire 50%, Wood Elves have a 50% Resist to Poison and Disease and the Khajiit a Claw Attacks and the Power of Night Eye which means you can see in the dark. To become a vampire whenever a vampire casts Vampiric Drain on you, there is a 10% chance for you to be infected. The best thing to level up is your black Smiting then you will be able to make the daedric armour and the heavy dragon armour and the low dragon armour. I found the best way to earn money is the dark brother hood. To join the dark brother hood you have to complete a quest Innocence Lost. Speaking to Innkeepers and later on you will get a horse that is completely black with red eyes I think the best weapons in the game is the dual daedric swords and the daedric bow. The game includes a lot of guilds which are called the dark brotherhood the thiefâ Expand
  45. Nov 7, 2013
    7
    Though graphics and quality lagg and the gamedesign is awful you can have a lot of fun with this one. The best skillsystem in a game I played so far offers very much hours of gaming and nice developement of the character. But quality and design could be a lot better.
  46. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    A fantastic game. One criticism is that the game kind of peaks early in terms of balance as your character can quickly become superman. However, it is an incredible improvement over Oblivion. The leveling went from being an albatross in Oblivion, to a strong point in Skyrim. The world is fun to explore and there are plenty of nice things to spend money on. One other critisim is that its easy to forget you Expand
  47. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    the elder scrolls v: skyrim is the best RPG game since the elder scrolls iv: oblivion it is the most freerom and the quest regenerate they have in proved the armours iron, steel, eleven, dwarven, daedric and they have add dragon armour that makes dragon do less damage on you but to get dragon armour you need to kill dragons there is over 150 hours of game play the game is glitches but is expected on a massive RPG like this on the story is about a person how has to kill the lord of the dragons who is a daedric prince there are a lot of side quest that are good like in the games past during the time of the dragons rule there were people who thought the dragons to be gods and worshiped them they where called dragon priest they would have done any think to get the dragons back because of there this they were internally imprisoned but after thousands of years they become more powerful and began to break out they wear special masks made of dragon bones they are a fun enemy to kill because you get there masks that have special enchantment. The customization is the best I have seen of it type you select your character and then what age, hair, eyes, how dark there skin colour there are lots of guilds like the dark brotherhood the thiefâ Expand
  48. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This is Skyrim, the best game ever in my opinion. I could go on and on about the different mechanics and quests and items and weapons and people and jobs and all of the other stuff in the game but to be honest, it would ruin the game. Skyrim is game you need to experience without previous inside knowledge on it, the simple fact is if you like Elder Scrolls or simply RPG's, no scratch that. If you like amazing games then you must play Skyrim, experience the wonderful world of Tamriel. Expand
  49. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    A massive game which promised so much and delivered so much more. Skyrim is simply beautiful in all its Nordic glory. The visuals are stunning and the world has been designed to the finest detail. The tale of Skyrim won't blow many players away, but it is stellar nonetheless and progresses with good direction. Combat is fun and exciting this time round. Chopping and hacking enemies has rarely felt more satisfying. Aside from fighting, there are countless other tasks to do, such as crafting, mining, and foraging among many others. There is simply so much to do, and so much to see, in Skyrim. Expand
  50. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    Skyrim is a wonderfully detailed, content heavy fantasy RPG which is held back from being legendary by an underlayer of flaws and glitches.

    The Good Expansive game world, vast array of quests, efficient level-up system, wonderful atmosphere graphics. Dark Brotherhood, Thieves' Guild, and majority of the main story quests are all Skyrim at its best. Overall an impressive open world to
    discover. Soundtrack is generally very good. Dragons add some needed combat variety. Armours are very well designed, and weapons are highly detailed and can be upgraded (though no visible difference is apparent when upgraded).

    The Bad Character models are quite ugly, very few NPC's have a unique personality, not a large enough variety of voice actors. Far too many loading screens. Saves can become corrupted. Freezing will be a frequent problem for many gamers. Quests can become repetitive, especially since the caves and barrows you come across are all almost identical. Radient quests feel tiresome and rather pointless.

    Verdict While this game definitely has a lot to offer gamers in terms of length of gameplay, and a fantastically detailed game world, Skyrim is let down severely by game-destroying bugs and glitches and a rather faceless cast of characters.

    Graphics 8 (Beautiful gameworld, not so beautiful character models)
    Gameplay- 9 (Detailed story and history. Many fun quests, although some quite unoriginal)
    Technical- 5 (Littered with bugs and glitches that hinder an otherwise very good game)
    Sound 7 (Pleasant soundtrack though not spectacular. NPC voices are repetitive)
    Overall 8
    Expand
  51. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    A fantastic game without a doubt, but with the bugs and slight lack of polish. This is what hinders its perfection. It is still a highly recommended game
  52. Dec 31, 2011
    8
    While The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim does not revolutionize the RPG genre it sure does bring fresh new content to the table. From epic scenery to ferocious dragon battles. The world of Skyrim left more to desire though, wishing for a more ambient and interactive world to explore. Don't get me wrong the world itself and detail of design of this game is amongst the best I've ever seen these past years. That's the main reason why I did not give this game a 10/10. Lost 1 point for lack of ambiance amongst the world. Exploring the world itself can take time and not to mention playing on "Master" difficulty will add plenty of hours to main quests and side quests. Whilst playing on anything below "Master" will definitely leave you wanting for more since the main quest is a bit short but can be elongated if the difficulty setting is changed. Then again, there are plenty of other quests the game provides you that will keep you busy through months, that is if you're the perfectionist or adventurer type. There are plenty of crafts to master from smithing to enchanting weaponry. I took another point off due to the basic level up system Skyrim has, while there are a variety of options there's not enough to say it is a true RPG leveling system. It follows more of the likes of Dragon Age, which is simplistic and does not really leave room to create unique characters from pures to hybrids. The giants are stronger than dragons debate I can say it is the difficulty level you're playing and the dragon you're fighting. A regular dragon is amongst the easiest, whilst a frost dragon can 1 hit KO the character. Most of these people complaining about the length obviously didn't take the time to change the difficulty setting of the game and just basically rushed through the main story instead of allowing themselves to enjoy this game. There's tons of books scattered around to collect that provide knowledge of certain areas, characters, history, organizations, and ect that can keep you busy reading if you're the person who enjoys expanding you're knowledge about Skyrim. I have to agree with some people stating some side quests left more to desire and that's another reason why I'm not giving this game a 10/10. About glitches and bugs found in Skyrim, we have to understand this is an open world sand box game so expect plenty of bugs and glitches. There's really nothing game breaking other than some words cannot be learned due to a bug on the game but does not necessarily impair you from completing quests.Overall this game is worth the $60.00 for players who are RPG fans. Many people claim this game is repetitive but which game isn't? FPS games = shoot/mission over/ cinematic/ infiltrate shoot/ mission over/ cinematic. That debate loses plenty of credibility fast as this game provides plenty of other options to keep yourself busy and away from monotonous dungeon clearing. Expand
  53. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Stunning game, a real experience to play, the only reason I can't give it a ten is because it needs to feel busier, the towns need more hustle and bustle, big battles need more people, I know this is a restraint of the engine and the platforms it is on, but this is the sole thing that stops this game being a perfect ten for me. Apart from that though, I can't fault it!
  54. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    Ok, where do I begin? Great game, really entertaining, good graphics, tons of quests to do, plenty of customization, long but doesn't get you tired of it. Loved it.
  55. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    I was going to wait until I finished to review but since I will evidently never finish I decided to do it now. This game is far superior to Oblivion in my view, there is tons to do and the stories for the side-quests rival the main plot-lines of most games. There are quite a few bugs but mostly they have been fairly minor and easy to overcome. As with any game so large it is difficult to avoid at least some glitches. Doing away with Oblivion's difficulty scaling was a fantastic decision. Hours of fun to be had. Expand
  56. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    Having put over 100 hours into this game and completed most (if not all) major quest lines, I feel that I can write an honest review about this game. Everyone knows that Skyrim is THE biggest game of the year (fans or haters), there's truly no denying it. Although saying this for myself, I found the game getting extremely boring 40 - 50 hours in. Once the main storyline and the 3 obvious side lines, the game just becomes too repetitive. All misc missions seem to carry the seem pattern and the dragon attacks, although highly hyped about before the game was released, become extremely annoying and tedious.

    Don't get me wrong, the game is simply AMAZING. The wide open world with amazing scenery, interesting stories and awesome combat, I just can't help overlook the flaws of the games. And there are loads. Glitches are really the major enemy of any game of this size. It happened in fallout: New Vegas, it happens in battlefield, it is just something that can't be ignored. I have encountered many glitches in my time playing from minor graphical glitches to game breaking glitches costing me over 5 - 10 hours of game play.

    All-in-all, the game is amazing, gets fairly boring quickly and has its fair share of glitches. A definite game to play but just be prepared for it.
    Expand
  57. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This is quite possibly my favorite game this console generation. Bethesda has yet again delivered a game with both an outstanding story and gameplay without sacrificing the development of the Tamriel lore underneath it all. I'm still finding hints hidden in the games hundreds of books about the future of the world and its many inhabitants. Even if this is your first quest into the Elder Scrolls universe, I implore you to read the books you come across, as they greatly help explain the nuances of Tamriel's past, especially since the events of Oblivion.

    While I have definitely encountered a few glitches in my 300+ hours across Skyrim, nothing has been particularly game breaking, and usually a load from a previous save fixed any problems I had advancing. I'm also very impressed with Bethesda's outpouring of support for this title across all platforms with new patches still being released regularly to fix major and minor issues.

    Without gushing too much, I can simply say that Skyrim is a must have title for any fan of Western role-playing games and definitely a title to consider for everyone else.
    Expand
  58. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    A total masterpiece!!! There is now a game that not only lives up to the hype that shrouded it since it's announce, it surpasses it above and beyond! You do not only pay for a fantastic game, you pay for an entire world that only exists on the disk!
  59. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    good game, boring until you beat the main story or discover at least 3 major cities. i'm level 54 i did pretty much everything , but my load times are sooooooo bad and it started around the time i reached lvl 40, 15 sec. to open favorites menu, 5 sec to get to pause menu. needs update for that ASAP, but lots of hours of playtime are possible, buggy though.
  60. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. i think it is the most expansive map ive ever played on and it definitely trumps oblivion however i still think that morrowind game of the year edition was better but thats just because i logged easily 1000 hours and never completely beat it but this game has serious promise
  61. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    This is far and away the most beautiful, most in depth, most amazing game I ever ever played. I believe that this game will go down in history with the like of Zelda, Halo 1 and other video game legends. The only bad thing I can say is that it consumes too much of my time. Other games should look at this game and be ashamed that they are not even close to being as well made.
  62. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Indeed, a masterpiece of free-form gaming. While the game is not "perfect", it is perfected for the time being. If you haven't gotten it, you own it to yourself to get it and experience the wonderful world BGS has created.
  63. Nov 7, 2012
    6
    I would say this game is not one that will appeal to everyone, on one hand it looks amazing and has endless hours of gameplay but to me the game just doesnt feel as fun and sometimes it can be a bit of a chore, i found game like fallout 3 to be like this, they offer lots but i dont really find the game itself amazing to want me to do it, so if you want to complete this youll need an intravenous becasue it will take over your life trying to finish it Expand
  64. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    This is definitely my favourite game for the Xbox 360. There is so much to do, and so many different ways to play, that you will never get bored of it.
  65. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Couldn't be happier with this game.
    I've logged 20 hours or so on this beast of a game and there is still plenty to do.
    It looks beautiful, I can't believe how far I can see in this game...huge mountains in the distance can be discovered and explored.
    There are plenty of ways to play this game, the perks really let you feel like you are getting better in a skill rather than the numbers
    just increasing.
    The world feels alive and at times I get lost in it just wandering.
    Expand
  66. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    This game is an absolute blast! I love playing it and 4 hours feels like 1 hour went by. It is so deep with gameplay and the story is outstanding. That said it only gets a 9 because it has quite a few bugs but that is to be expected with a RPG game. Overall great game.
  67. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Perfectly superb, there is absolutely nothing missing from this game. Never before have I played a game which kept all of the brilliant features of its predecessors while building a whole new game and improving on every single complaint of the previous games. Bethesda has done everything right. I can find nothing wrong with this game, full stop.
  68. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is by far the game for any and all gamers out there to get. Go to a GameStop or ReplayGames near you to pick up this bad boy, because you definitely wont be disappointed. After playing games like MW3 and AC Revelations, I didnt expect any new games to be good, since those just sucked. But when I began playing this game.........I changed my mind entirely. Even the title screen music is outstanding, good enough to listen to for an hour straight. However, the game itself is much more than just that. You start out as someone who was arrested for border-jumping into Skyrim, and are about to be beheaded: BUT WAIT! You actually SEE the person in front of you be beheaded. Oh wait, Im getting ahead of myself here. First you have to make your character. You get to choose between multiple races, including Orc, Redguard, Imperial, and Wood Elf. Next, you customize your body. From skin tone to cheekbone height to complexion: Every little detail about your character can be edited. You could probably even make the person look like you if you try hard enough. After all of this, a dragon attacks Helgen, the city you are in. However, dragons havent been seen in Tamriel for hundreds of years! After finding out you are Dragonborn, your quest to save Skyrim, and perhaps the entire world, begins. From the amazing story, to the great gameplay, to the alchemy and magic, this game is absolutely wonderful. I HIGHLY recommend you buy this beautiful and stunning game that not only looks great, but plays great as well. Expand
  69. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I know it shouldn't piss me off, but it does! Those 90 negative bloody bastards; why the hell would you spend money on a game if you never liked the series to begin with. Its and RPG, and Elder Scrolls RPG and they are all amazing. if your not in to questing, crafting or skill building play another game, and stop complaining about this one. As for the game itself; im sure im in gamer love. I would kill someone to just be able to play the game to my hearts content. I love the new drop-down menu and the ability to equip more then one spell at a time. For a spellsword this game has worked out perfectly. The quest are interesting and flow together nicely; i never feel I am leaving the main quest rather then expanding it. The scenery is magnificent, that first step into Skyrim was amazing and beautiful and yeah the fighting could be better but i honesty didn't expect better, its an Elder Scrolls game and that's what i stood until midnight to get and that's what i got. My husband is about to kill me for the amount of time i am spending on the game, but i think that's mainly due to him not being able to play his character as much as he would like. Deff. 10 out 10 game of the year for me! Expand
  70. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Good story and good graphic, a lot of freedom to do what you want and a huge map. There is a lot of content in the environment, and you never know when your gonna get sidetracked for hours exploring some mysterious dungeon you just stumbled across on your way, on the bad side there is a few bugs but i think most them will be taken care of with some patching.
  71. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Truely superb game, the most fun i've had in an RPG game in YEARS (since daggerfall and diablo 1 era). The story is rich and it absorbs you from the moment you load it up. Graphics are amazing, while the animations are... wonky... at times, the textures and physics more than make up for it. Great game, a must buy.
  72. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Best game i have played in years, amazing amount of content and great gameplay
    this aswell as all the potential it has for moding makes this game a 10 out of 10
  73. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played. The combat, quests, dialogue, everything, is such a massive upgrade over Oblivion and is damn fun. Only 35 hours of playing the game and I still have been to only 2 cities, and the majority of my map is still undiscovered. If I'm not playing Skyrim, I'm thinking about playing Skyrim. This game is just insane!!
  74. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    The hype I had for this game was huge. Did it live up to expectations? Yes and No.
    The game lets you loose in this fantastic world where you can do one thing for hours and see nothing else. The story was a huge step from Oblivion (TES4), and the individual guildes story were interesting, without overstaying their welcome. But heres my first problem the length of some guildes I feel was
    too short specifically the Dark Brotherhood, where compared to oblivion is tiny. Though i feel the college of winterhold was a good length, compared to Oblivion where it went on and on and on and on.
    The combat feels good with stealth being really fun. Maybe melee feels less weight than it should and the annoyance over spells not being able to level up but the archery feels fantastic.
    The exploration is good and the terrain is varied.
    Visually looks good, though on closer inspection the individuals textures dont look so good, and pop in still happens which is very annoying! Though draw distance has massively increased and looks fanastic.
    On conclusion Skyrim is one of the game's of the gerneration with minor flaws. A must buy
    Expand
  75. Jan 16, 2012
    7
    If you've played Oblivion, Fallout 3 or New Vegas....You've played Skyrim. the new chapter to the Elder Scrolls series does nothing to move the series ahead. Same game play. Same lack luster story line. I'm not saying the game is all bad. It still has those really addicting properties you know the games for....it's just...feels the same. I felt bored after awhile and wished the game was over. Everyone make a big hoopla about the graphics...meh. You can put new paint on it, but when the graphic design is still the same it does it no good. If you have never played a Elder Scrolls game you will love this game. If you HAVE played an Elder scrolls game before...Look to be playing the same game re-skinned. Expand
  76. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    I wrote a negative review when this game first came out but decided to play Oblivion and then go back to Skyrim and give it another try. It was a much better experience the second time around. All my issues with this game were resolved by playing Oblivion and getting a reference point. The only real issue I have is the slow loading screens and the rather brief main story but other than that it is a pretty good game, not as great as the critics say but still quite good. My sincere apologies. Expand
  77. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    Brilliant story, graphics, music and voice acting all come together to make Skyrim one of the best games you will play in a long time, maybe the best you have and will EVER play.
    Even-though the story is great, the gameplay can get just a little repetitive and there can be some very occasional lagging problems although, this does not spoil the overall experience. A must buy for ANY gamer.
  78. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game, game of the year stuff , of course is not a 10 game because is not perfect, nevertheless this is a must buy game for RPG and medieval fantasy lovers, graphics are beautiful, new combat animations are very cool, environment is outstanding, huge map and tons of gameplay hours. The only complain I've so far is the AI being sometimes stupid and of course the bugs I just hope they patch them but I understand is not easy to release such a HUGE game without any mistake. Best 2011 game. Expand
  79. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. There's no other way to say it. It really is, but there are glitches and stuff that is not there that brings it down. The minor glitches don't ruin the whole game and make it unplayable but, they do make the smaller things more tedious and annoying. You can approach combat from many different angles because of the wide array of skills to choose from. Play it, enjoy it, but be warned because there are some bugs and other things that ruin the smaller things Expand
  80. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    out of this world its simply amazing so much to do places to go and people to talk to 100 hours plus with out any problem and dragons big flying fire breathing monsters what else do you want oh grate story's every were
  81. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Not really a fan of Bethesda games, but I must say this game is a must have for all. From the breathtaking scenery to the hilarious glitches that somehow manage to improve your gaming experience (such as the epic troll launch into space, but few not so much). there are however obvious problems with loading time and frame rate, but lets just say its because you can't rush perfection.
  82. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    A truly fantastic game. There isn't much more to say about it other than its overwhelming greatness. I absolutely loved it, and found myself immersed in it for hours.
  83. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    A completely breath-taking game once you start this game you won't be able to put the game down, epic storyline, dragon fights, huge world to explore, plenty of quests and side quests to do, you will play this game for days, it even has great replay value to choose different sides a new race, this game deserves every positive review and doesn't deserve any negative reviews, buy this game!
  84. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is not without its problems, but most can be overlooked on how immersive and deep this game can be. RPG fan or not, this is definitely a game that every gamer has to experience.
  85. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    If you haven't bought it yet, just do it. This game is absolutely phenomenal. The only problem I had with the game was the pacing. An early part of the main quest asks for you to travel up a mountain to speak to some wizards. There is a frost troll that will 2 shot you at the level the quest is given to you. Immediately after, you are sent to some catacombs with very low level monsters. This sort of inconsistency happens frequently. However, this gives you the opportunity to do quests for the various guilds and level up through these side quests. Even if you only complete the quests for one guild, difficulty spikes will not be nearly as obvious. As a result, i would give the game a perfect score, as everything is expertly crafted, and the difficulty of the start of the game nudges you towards even more content. I think this game deserves game of the year, and I think it is well worth the $60 to buy it. Expand
  86. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    it is by far the most accompished Rpg to date..
    with the system that generates unlimited side quests this is a trully never ending game with a gorgeous open world to explore..
    Game of the decade for me ;)
  87. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    The best game ever. Probably.
  88. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    i hate to say it but pcforever had way too many good points...i absolutely love the game i have spent waaaay too much time playing but but like he said..i basically ran through it on auto pilot...didnt have to read a book or listen to an npc i just clicked through the convo raided the cave or dungeon killed everything then proceeded..i actually wanted to give this game a 10 i swear right hand to god but after reading pcforever's review i actually cant...im not a pc player so graphics a perfect to meand i like the story and i dont know what kind of stuff he was doing but i constantly found myself running out of gold and i had made all daedric armor and weapons early on before 25% of main quest was even done so i needed to buy nothing but houses and crap....definitely cant go without giving this game a playthrough it is an absolute must ....Hopefully the make it a little more interactive in a sense!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  89. May 8, 2012
    8
    Skyrim is overrated. It's a good game but it is essentially Oblivion with a new coat of paint. The good parts are the world and the exploration. I have spent many hours just looking at the landscapes. Arguably, you could get your money's worth doing just that. The actual gameplay, however, is the same tired formula from Daggerfall, Morrowind, Oblivion, and Fallout 3. Obviously many people enjoy this but I'm about 2/3 finished with the main quest and have no desire to finish. There are simply too many fundamental gameplay design decisions that make the game not fun. The combat is not fun. Moving around in the world is not fun (the player's "hit box" collision model gets stuck on tiny geometry bumps). The potions are not fun. The inventory is not fun. Picking up hundreds of tiny objects (e.g., coins) in the game world with an Xbox controller's crosshair is not fun. The plot is generic and the dialogue ranges from mediocre to terrible, and is uniformly spoken too slowly. The first King/Jarl you meet sounds like he's on painkillers. The cutscenes (not cutscenes per se as they all happen while you play) are laughably bad as well. I think the Skyrim team needs some new designers to inject some new ideas into their otherwise capable hands. As a game it is mediocre but as a world to explore it is one of the best. 8/10. Expand
  90. Dec 29, 2011
    8
    I think this is one of the masterpieces of 2011, because the world is much bigger than oblivion and the graphics are beautiful. But... the combat is stiff and there are some bugs that not belong in such a game with uch a fan-base
  91. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    This game is a classic. This game never ends which gives me more time to play and enjoy it. Dont buy MW3 Or SCV. This game will pass the time and u will love it. It takes 3000 hours to complete everything which will prob take 12-20 months or even more so ull enjoy it alot. It is worth $60.00
  92. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    Rented this game at redbox, not sure whether I would like it. Within hours I was hooked. I went out and bought it the next day. The graphics are superb, the story line amazing. Game of the year in my opinion. Worth every cent.
  93. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    You Can turn into a werewolf and fight Dragons this is a very good game...buy it....now, WEREWOLF FIGHTING DRAGONS PEOPLE!!! Go to a gamestop and buy it already.
  94. Jan 3, 2012
    8
    Despite all the hours I'd put in the previous Elder Scrolls games (especially Daggerfall), I'd yet to finish one. I was pleased to see that this game gave me the momentum I needed to see things through. (Really, the main quest chain isn't very long, so if you're motivated to finish it, you can certainly do it.) Now, I still have plenty of side-quests to do, and I hope to finish lots of them. (No promises about finishing everything....I'm not ~that~ motivated.) One thing has stuck out since I started playing the game...it was just so dreary for so long. Early on I was missing the option of light-hearted snarkiness that was always available in Dragon Age 2's dialog. But once I found some Daedra quests, I suppose the humor in the game showed up. Still....I feel like the game takes itself awfully seriously.

    I like the controls. I've been playing as a strict caster for a while now, and dual-casting with the triggers works well. I've had plenty of reason to get used to a wide variety of my spells (as I can still get quickly trounced by a bear if I don't have stoneflesh up). My in-game wife tanks stuff for me....which I enjoy to no end.

    Since the last patch, the game hasn't frozen my xbox at all, which is nice. And I don't feel I've been hearing the same npc comments every few minutes. One down-side....my character's level is approaching 40 right now, and I don't feel like I've had a particularly difficult fight in a while now. I mostly just die when I can't find the archer that has line of sight on me, and two good shots later (without me bothering to heal), I'm down. I can't say I like the Sierra-style 'you can die a lot, then you get to reload and try again.' (Which I contend is why LucasArts won the battle of adventure games.) But without the peril, there wouldn't be any suspense. So I suppose the occasional seemingly-random death is how you keep a player on his/her toes, when the designers don't have a better way to do it.

    I dunno, I have mixed feelings about this game. The more I think about it, the less great is seems to me. Yet I'm still putting some time into it each day, working on side quests. I imagine that says something.
    Expand
  95. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    This game is awesome. There. I said it. Honestly, the levelling system in Oblivion drove me insane. I became so obsessed with levelling my character in the most optimal fashion the game became a chore. Skyrim removed the attributes and made the levelling simpler, which I suppose can be a good or bad thing, depending on how you look at it. It is dumbing it down. Also, its obviously made with console in mind. The UI is very console-y, but this is an elder scrolls game, there will be plenty of mods if there aren't already. Expand
  96. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is definitively a game I will be playing for a while. It is the best game I have played with its superior graphics, beautiful sound, and above all its outstanding gameplay. The storyline is immense considering all that you can do, from fighting in the civil war, doing side quests, companion quests, to the actual story campaign. There is always something to explore or do in Skyrim. Perfect game for any person, and is impossible to not like. Expand
  97. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    Skyrim is no doubt an amazing game to any fan of the genre, the fantastic musical pieces accompanied with rich endless lore ontop of incredible graphics and a new 'meaty' combat system. Immersion is simple, and after only a couple of hours playing most fans will be completely in sync with the storyline and the feeling of absolute power their hero contains within this world. Combat feels much 'smoother' than it did in the previous game, each sword blow and fireball hit actually feel like they are making an impact, although far from being a perfect system it is undoubtedly an improvement from the previous installment. However seemingly hastily put together 'Finisher' shorts can sometimes make you feel amazing for beheading a bandit or owning a spider, but other times the buggy scenes can ruin an otherwise fun fight, the apparent randomness of the finishers also does not help as it detracts from the feeling of 'Look, i just did that'.

    Within conversations your choices feel more like they actually contribute towards a larger goal, no longer is it "Cool response A" or "Cool response B" many of your choices help immerse yourself with your own character and sometimes contain ingame consequences which is a vitally important part of any RPG. But these game altering choices are few and far between, and more than often your decision on what to say barely alters the conversation at all. Conversation branches which lead to side quests are quite obviously placed making the 'Lore geeks' somewhat disapointed at the apparent lack of rewards from exhausting each topic within a conversation.

    The A.I is vastly improved with npc's now being able to complete more tasks at once making even small villages thrive with activity, Even small npc's with no real connection to major storylines can become lovable characters simply due to their voices, mannerisms, dispositions etc. So much goes on at any given time within main cities players may often feel overwhelmed. However although this A.I is definately an improvement, it is by no means perfect, A.I bugs are still commonplace with npc's running around areas when a clear route is available, dragons bugging out mid-air and your horse deciding to go on a killing spree in the middle of a village, alongside the inevitable bugs with npc's that are commonplace in every TES game these annoyances can very easily ruin immersion and make short of a play session.

    The 'Talent Tree' system although initially i cringed at the thought of, is very well put together and allows you to shape your character into the warrior/mage/rogue or any hybrid between you wish him to be allowing the feel of specializing into the area you prefer, while still being able to chop and change as you go along with relative ease.

    Quality over Quantity is a issue to raise, with hundreds of miscellanious quests existing all over the world, but with many of them feeling poorly put together and non-urgent, some would argue that not being forced or pressured to do a quest is a good thing but i feel a quest where i have to go and clear out a crypt or clean up some bandits is not as good if the guy handing me the quest does not care if i do it now or in 3 weeks. Even the guild quests do not 'feel' right, although many of the quests are amazing and the guilds themselves full of vibrant individuals once you have finished that story arch the world does not feel particulary affected by your struggles, par maybe passing comments from strangers.

    On the other hand there are the occassional quests which come with the feel of 'awesomeness' bundled in and the development of seemingly simple quests into epic missions, the main story itself is quite well put together with a feeling of urgency while at the same time being able to be completed whenever.

    Overall the game was beautifully put together with the music and combat offering particular enjoyment for me personally, definately worth a go from any fans of rpg but make sure to set aside many hours of your life to battle dragons and save the world. pretty buggy but bugs can be easily fixed so im not to concerned about that, if the game has any major flaw, it's that once you hype something up as much as this it becomes very hard for the real thing to live up to expectations.
    Expand
  98. Apr 10, 2013
    9
    A magnificent and vast role playing experience that delivers on many levels. A common issue I have with most games today is that they are too short or relay on lots of DLC for the full game. With skyrim players have a massive amount of content in the disk and can choose to download additional content should one manage to get through the content of the main game.

    With the elder scrolls
    games and other Bethesda titles the gamer needs to invest a huge amount of time which is hard for those with careers. I sometimes wish I was back at university where time was a plenty. It almost feels that Bethesda cannot fail with this franchise. Expand
  99. Jan 15, 2012
    7
    Skyrim is a good game and is should be played. But after a while I just found there wasn't much left to do. The Radiant quest system is a joke. The quality of the quests and side stories is decent though. The game looks lovely and I found combat a lot of fun. The user interface is horrible though. Having to pause every 5 seconds in the middle of combat to take a potion? Really? It's like a broken V.A.T.S system from Fallout 3. I feel the game really suffers from not waiting till the next generation of consoles arrived. But I get it from a economic point of view from Bethesda's side. Talking of Fallout 3 can't help but remind me of atmosphere, something which Skyrim has a had time at creating when it wanted to despite all it's major attempts. Any atmospheric moments I got from the game were moments that happened by accident.

    The shouts are fun, but the down time feels slightly too long. I didn't mind the bugs too much, it is to be expected with an open world game such as this, but the quest breaking bugs take some stomaching. The dungeons are very well done and much less cookie cutter than other Elder Scrolls game, but after a while they seem to become all the same again. The same few groups of enemies too. And I guess that's my main complain about the game as a whole, is that as much fun as the first 40 or so hours are, after that (least for me) there were no real new surprises or situations. Dragons just become an annoyance rather than an actually threat. With that said though, it's was worth purchase for those 40 hours, because you really do have a lot of fun within them. But, that's not an Elder Scrolls game for me. An Elder Scrolls game should be about spending hundreds and hundreds of hours building your character and mythos and immersing yourself. Skyrim just doesn't have enough content and there is really no excuse, since I spent 6 months on Morrowind and around 3-4 on Oblivion, there is no excuse why a game made 10 years after the former and 5 after the latter should have less to do. Everything feels a little forced and console feel never suited The Elder Scrolls series point blank.
    Expand
  100. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    A masterclass in game design. Stunning graphics and just so satisfyingly ambitious. In a market saturated with COD clones, Skyrim is just a massive breath of fresh air. Okay Skyrim has a lot of bugs, but I think it's impossible to create a game like this without them. In comparison to other games companies Bethesda are very good at addressing post-release issues, so most of the major bugs will eventually be fixed. I personally had very little in the way of bugs - a few texture issues at first, some quests don't leave my quest list upon completion and some quest items are not removed from my inventory when I turn them in, but that's it really. So I have not taken the bugs into account with my review, as personally, I have found it easy to ignore them. There are many design choices in Skyrim which I'm not a fan of and the game does have a few balancing issues, but all those pale out of existence when I consider the scope of the game. This game is huge! At 180 hours of gameplay I have still got at least 150 hours of gameplay to go with all side-missions, guild missions and main quests etc. That's a lot of game and very good value for money. The interface is improved over Oblivion (on the 360 at least) and weapons and magic feel heavier and more satisfying to use.Voice acting has improved, and even though you do hear the same voice actor saying the same thing in different towns, it is much less frequent than Oblivion. The music is beautiful and really fits the dramatic landscape of Skyrim. Dragons are a welcome addition and add a new challenge to the way you fight. The locations you visit vary greatly from snowy mountains, to vast mammoth populated grassy tundras. A lot of criticism at this game will be at the bugs and the many low-res textures, but when one considers the vast amount of coding that must go into a game like this over, say, a more linear shorter title like Uncharted 3, and the fact that the xbox 360 is 6-7 years old now, you realise just how much work has gone into this game and just how lucky we are to be able to experience it. Skyrim is a real achievement and shouldn't be missed. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.