User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3007 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    Very good game, but I will not just blurt out this is a good game and end it, since there is always some flaws decreasing it's score.
    I have had this game since it came out and enjoyed it, but there are a ton of glitches within, such as getting stuck between a rock. The graphics are not what was promised, don't get me wrong, they are great graphics, but the way they were putting the
    graphics was like it would be real life.
    So, if you are buying this game for it's graphics you saw in a trailer or such, I would say forget it.
    The animations isn't that great, not many voice actors, but a lot of this can be fixed.
    I am rating this a high score mainly because this can easily be fixed with mods or updates.
    I would suggest you get this game, it is a great game, just don't expect it to be perfect.
    Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2012
    8
    Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is a very wonderful game. One of Bethesda's greatest. An almost new engine in the game fits very well with the controls, and sprinting is my favorite part, (something I wish Fallout 3 had). One of the few games that not only randomly rains, pours, or drizzles, but also snows and blizzards. Skyrim is a game that almost anyone that enjoys to kick back and adventure through a campaign that could very well last hours. The main story being a little short, there are many many different side quests and misc. that you can do to keep you entertained. After playing for a while, you start to get a little bored on how many few enemy types there are, (or at least I did, after I realized I was fighting the same enemies for hours on end). But never-the-less, this game has hundreds of hours packed into it, and maybe even more. Expand
  3. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    I have been a elder scrolls fan since daggerfall,But Morrowind was by far my favourite elder scrolls game,Then oblivion came out,I was dissapointed,DOnt get me wrong there! i loved oblivion,but i didnt get that elder scrolls feeling i used to get while playing daggerfall and morrowind,And it didnt have that fantasy element i loved.It was more medievel.I didnt like that,and more things i didnt like,bu i still loved that game.After playing years of oblivion,I got bored,And dreamed of a sequel..I did more and more research at the elder scrolls lore,and listened to the npcs in oblivion talking.I thougt the next elder scrolls game was going to take place on either summerset isles or skyrim.Every E3 i hoped bethesda would be there and announce the next elder scrolls game,They didnt.After every E3 i discussed about rmors on TES V on forums and chatted about it.I was thinking that a new elder scrolls game would never happen,But one day..I logged in on a gaming site,i didnt believe my eyes what it said " Elder scrolls v skyrim announced!
    I thaugt i was dreaming! i began to get excited,watched the trailer/teaser and got even more excited.And the land it took place on was skyrim! wich i hoped it would take place at! It was like a dream come true,i couldnt sleep that night,i could not sleep at all..Everything i was thinking about was skyrim,I couldnt wai,Now,after waiting for a long time.The game was finally in my hands,i loved it! and still love it! i have played more then 300 hours and i am not bored at all,and if i get bored i just create a new character, or roleplay the way i want,And also i love this game,a true masterpiece,the design,art of the game is just fantastic,and like every elder scrolls game this game has a rich story and a amazing lore wich you could gaze into for hours,I also think this game lived up to its hype,at least for me,I get that old classic morrowind feeling all over again,This Game is by far now my favourite elder scroll game along with morrowind,I love bethesda really much for creating this wonderful world,
    10/10.
    Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Those who have scored Skyrim with a negative score, I would want to tell you one thing. First take of the game from the oven, microwave or where else you have put it, and insert it in the correct device. Wow it's a great game, isn't it?
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is a beautiful game that's ridiculously immersive. From the endless wandering to the seemingly never-ending number of quests, Skyrim will suck you in. The absolute perfection of Skyrim is that there is no perfect character or perfect way to play, just the character that fits your playstyle on the path you choose to take. This game is quite literally what you make of it -- do whatever you want, whenever you want, however you want and you don't need to be an old hand at fantasy RPGs to do so. The only criticism I have for the game is that there's no ultimate affect to anything. What I mean is that you can play both sides & it doesn't seem to affect anything: side w/ the Imperials & the Companions don't seem to mind; side w/ the Stormcloaks & wander around Solitude in the middle of the Civil War & no one bats an eyelash. Somehow, however, none of this seems to take away from the game or the gameplay. I've never played a fantasy-style RPG prior to Skyrim & I'd give it a solid, solid 9.8. Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    I don't see how someone could have such a poor experience that they felt the need to rate this game with a 0...
    Anyways, for starters, this game is not perfect. No game is ever perfect. Yes there is lag (only on a few occasions for me, it wasn't even that bad), bugs (never experienced any), and glitches (come on, glitches really make the game though), but that doesn't stop Skyrim from
    being one of the greatest games of all time. When I first started Skyrim, I had mixed feelings. I personally didn't like Oblivion, so I had mixed feelings when starting out. Just like any RPG, the beginning is slow, so I expected that. After you get through the beginning though, wow. The game is just excellent. I think that people give up after investing such little time into it (which actually could be 7 hours...), or rushing through the main quest line. If you've never played an RPG before and you think they're dumb, then please, don't get the game...I was VERY impressed with everything in the game. There is so much to do! Between the colleges. the Dark Brotherhood (which I enjoy being involved in...), and the Thief's guild to name a few, there is virtually endless things to complete. Although, I do admit that the dungeons get a bit tedious after awhile, I never get tired of exploring the land, or turning into a...different thing...and killing a whole town, then reloading my save. I absolutely love this game, I (sadly...) have about 58 hours of gameplay invested into Skyrim, and I'm still finding things to do! I haven't even completed the main quest line yet. I totally recommend this game for anyone looking for something to wind down to after rage-quitting out of COD. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. This game has raised the bar for RPG's in the future. The graphics are not the greatest but they arenâ
  8. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    I agree with many people on here, this is the best game I have ever played. I have sunk almost a 100 hours into the game and I still have not been to every location. The games graphics are beautiful, the game play is outstanding, the storyline for all the quests is captivating. And the achievements while not being to challenging give you plenty to do. This is in my opinion the best game of the year easily and one of the best games I have ever played. Expand
  9. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    There is not much I can say about Skyrim that hasn't been said already, so I will just try to compound certain points. First, I'm giving this game a ten, because I think it is the greatest ES game to date. Not my favorite, mind you, but the greatest. Therefore all these points i will mention did not in any way take away from my enjoyment of the game. Now you should be aware of a few things. There is no spell creation in this game. None. The main quest is considerably short. There is one large chunk of the main quest that is tied to another series of quests, and I completed it without realizing that it was tied to the main storyline, so by doing that when it came time for me to complete the main game I found that i had actually already completed about 50% of it accidentally. Also, weapons and armor no longer decay with use. Blacksmithing is now the CREATION of items, not their upkeep. Alchemy is pretty much useless now. It takes SO long to level using alchemy and the potions are nowhere near as powerful as they were before, so it feels more like a chore than an actual part of the game. Archery is still overpowered. Very overpowered in fact, especially when combined with stealth. Spells are underpowered and cost waaaaay too much magicka to cast. Many reviewers are saying that this is the first ES game where being a pure mage is a true option, but I honestly do not see how. And finally there is the difficulty spikes. And I'm talking BIG spikes. There were plenty of times that i would breeze through a dungeon full of weak baddies only to get killed in one second flat by the boss. There is no penalty for lowering the difficulty level to accommodate this problem, but it seems like a weak work-around by the developers. But in closing I once again want to draw your attention to that perfect score I'm giving this game. Believe me when I say that despite these small complaints the game has more than earned its perfect score in my opinion. I wouldn't take the 150 hours i put into this game for anything in the world. Expand
  10. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Elder Scrolls V Skyrim is easily the best single player experience of the year. Instead of being confined to one class, your able to try everything before you find something that suits your play style. Skyrim even throws you in the middle of a civil war allowing you to pick either side or even stay neutral and take on the dragon threat. The only things that prevents this game getting a perfect ten was the huge amount of bugs the game had, it was easily one of the glitchiest games of the year. Expand
  11. Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Too many dungeons and random dragon in counters, if not for that this game would be perfect xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  12. Jan 30, 2012
    8
    With this being such an open game, so free for the player to do whatever, you could see there was going to be some slight issues with glitches on the map. That's not really a problem though, because the graphics, conversation, setting, quality and size make up for it. In terms of quality overall, this game definitely deserves a ten. It's a beautiful game; filled with many places and quests. The game is most certainly not something you could complete overnight, with around 500 hours of gaming experience. The only criticisms I can find are that the main-storyline could be a bit more well written - it seems that it's "too" easy to kill this Dragon, who's desire to end this world lingers. Especially when all ancestors in the past have valiantly tried and failed to. The second criticism is that the characters could have had a bit more to them - I'm sure the cast was made of around 10 different voices, which is sad because most Bethesda games have a huge variety of characters. Check out my review, for full details on the game - http://indigital.hubpages.com/hub/Skyrim-Review Expand
  13. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    AMAZING GAME! One of my favorite games of all time. I have played so many hours I am afraid to tell people. The expansive nature of the content as well as the graphics and detail on every single landscape is superb. The only critic is that I would like to see the individual towns (world) affected by the decisions that I make in the game. For example, I help a merchant become successful by completing a sidequest, but throughout the game they are still struggling and their shop is still barren. Also, to many dragons popping out to attack you. This gets old after a while and gets annoying. However, these are small critics compared to my overral great satisfaction with the game. Expand
  14. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Three months later and I personally still think it is one of my top 10 game's that I have ever played. It's a masterpiece. Very rarely nowadays do game's make you play for over 100 hours on the same save file. The scenery is just purely amazing and you really do have a choice of how YOU want to play the game. You don't have to do the storyline in order to play the game. You basically have everything unlocked as soon as you complete the first quest. You can go into caves and fight Frostbite Spider's and explore dwarven ruins and fight falmer. The game does reward you quite nicely that most dungeons and caves usually have a chest at the end which give you a fairly good amount of gold and useful items. Two thing's I really do want to get off my chest real quickly is that it is pretty easy to get yourself stuck in a place where you would never expect to get yourself stuck in the first place and the fact that the final boss was kind of a dissapointment. Alduin (the main antagonist) only died within about 1 minute when you fight him. Other than that I find Skyrim to be a really enjoyable game to play for another few months. Expand
  15. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This is the best longest lasting RPG game full of exciting adventure that will always give your tummy those butterflies. I highly recommend this game to all RPG lovers and fans of the Elder Scrolls series. This game has tons of objects and whatnot. Skyrim is sure to give you more bang for your buck whether you're buying it used or new, this game is worth over $100 thats for sure.
  16. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    This game is definitely GOTY for me. There is so much to do in Skyrim. There is a main quest, four major factions (Companions, College of Winterhold, Thieves Guild, and Dark Brotherhood), a civil war in which you can take sides in and take forts, some minor factions (Blades, Greybeards, etc.), numerous side quests, and tons of misc quests. What is so amazing is so much of these 100s of hours you'll be paying the game are so enjoyable. Technically, the game is fantastic as well. The game crashed on me two times and I ran into only a couple glitches (amazingly) during my 200+ hour play though. I am planning on playing it again and again. In short, it's a fantastic game that anyone with a console or PC should get their hands on. Preferably PC for the mods :) Expand
  17. Feb 6, 2012
    5
    What a bug-fest. Average game at best. Like anything else coming from Bethesda though. The game looks ugly, the gameplay is kinda ok, but not really my thing, the bugs though made me give up after only a couple of hours of gameplay.
  18. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Finally completed all the main story-lines, daedra quests, factions and the majority of side-quests etc. Overall a true masterpiece of a game, in my opinion greatly improved on Oblivion which was an amazing game. Bethesda did very well here and hopefully they will release some form of DLC to improve a almost perfect game.
  19. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    great game I would have given the game a perfect ten if the story was longer and had more depth felt shorter than oblivion and rushed for holiday sales just waiting for dlc dont get me wrong still a great game lots to do with side quest main story way to short
  20. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    This game is one of the best games of all time, of al time. I don't normally play RPGs in fact i didn't like fallout 3 but this is amazing go buy it now.
  21. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Hay que decirlo: Skyrim no es Oblivion, y menos Fallout 3. Pero si amaste esos juegos, es muy probable que adores este. Skyrim es un juego que empieza lento (lo que puede aburrir al amante de la accion y el combate) pero recompensa con graficas fabulosas durante todo el trayecto. De hecho, puede verse el esmero que pusieron en cada detalle, cada lugar, persona, villanos e historia, la cual puede parecer interminable para el jugador casual, pero quien aprecie escuchar cientos de conversaciones, explorar cada parte de su enorme escenario y recolectar todo, sera feliz en Skyrim. Aun asi, dejenme darles un consejo: hagan una cosa a la vez y no se llenen de misiones o terminaran con una lista enorme de objetivos. Completen todas las actividades de un pueblo antes de ir al siguiente y disfrutaran mas su aventura. Finalmente, y luego de jugar por más de 70 horas, se que Skyrim no es perfecto, pero te da lo suficiente para seguir adelante. Sus defectos no afectan la experiencia general, y por eso quienes saben lo califican con 9/10. Expand
  22. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This was one of the best games I have every played in my life, and one of the few games I have purchased that was worth every penny. While there are a few small flaws in this game they hardly detract from the overall experience. Once in a while you will encounter a glitch which can be easily fixed by saving and reloading the game, and many times the glitches won't do anything except make you laugh as how absurd they are. The graphics are pretty amazing considering the gaming systems are nearing the ends of their life cycles and if you download it on your system the wait times aren't bad at all. While there are some of the familiar "go here get x number of this" quests I found myself more often then not being drawn into the rich world the game developers have crafted. Throughout the game you will often find yourself at the top of a mountain looking around in awe at the landscape below you and at other times you will find yourself extremely amused at certain characters personalities and actions. The freedom this game offers the player is unparalleled by any game before it and it lets you play how you want to. If you are a fan of fantasy and of video games in general you will not be dissapointed. A couple of things I would suggest for future updates would be: able to fly a dragon, reset your talent tree, and I know it wont happen in Skyrim I would love to see the next game have some kind of online connectivity. Expand
  23. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the biggest games ever made, and also one of the best. For an open world RPG, Skyrim does exactly what it is supposed to do. The world is unrivalled, in terms of size and scenery. The game is absolutely gorgeous, I'm always wandering around just looking at things because they're so well done. It's also gigantic because at around 80 hours in I still haven't been to a few of the major towns or really started the main story. Tons of lore, history, and depth to the story and world. The gameplay is fast paced and fun, although it does get a bit easy once you max all your crafting skills. The only real problem is that as usual Bethesda released it fairly buggy, but I honestly think that's too be expected with a game of the magnitude and they're consistently fixing the bugs. I've only had one serious problem and it was fixed in the last patch. Not much else to say about it, I think I'll probably end up with a few hundred hours played over the next few years depending on the DLC, which is something which no other game will come close to rivalling, Oblivion excluded :P Expand
  24. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    This is a perfectly crafted RPG game. It has it's flaws, but that's just the way it is. I must say i was really happy about this game. But the crafting/blacksmithing system is a bit dissapointing. First things first; It is way too easy to boost your blacksmithing skill to 100 and then make the best gear. And when this gear is made, you have to reinforce it and enchant it, etc. And it's the same thing over and over and it just isin't worth it sometimes.

    altho the fighting is crap, this game is a winner. The environment is beautifully crafted and the feeling it gives you is astonishing. Endless playtime will be spent on this game, buy it. It has everything a good RPG game deserves; Bosses, quests with variations and a wide variety of classes and skills.


    And this game still delivers the Bethesta feeling, which i think the players are really looking for.
    Expand
  25. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    in a world were sequals and **** remakes are the norm Bethesda does everything right to make their fans happy even if it took 5 years to make every game I would gladly welcome that if it meant they were as good as Skyrim and would have good worth while dlc with good add ons to the game. Only bad bits are a few glitches and bugs and it freezes occasionally but what do you expect by such a huge world. I want to taste Bethesda. Expand
  26. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Probably the best RPG I had play. I play twice, 658 hrs total. Maximum level : 81.5. It is a fantastic game, nothing really to say, I am sure you will enjoy it. Felicitations !
  27. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This game has already been reviewed to death. It has gained all the plaudits and accolades it rightfully deserves, yet this game has moved me like no other, so I have joined Metacritic just to put my two cents worth!

    In short, it is the staggering depth, immersive environment and the ease in which you can interact with just about anything that sucks you in and holds you. It is a game I
    am literally scared of playing because it has that incredible ability to rip hours, if not days, of your life away. First, though, the caveats: In a game that is so incredibly ambitious, there are bound to be bug, issues, errors etc. This game is full of 'em. From the hagraven that fell out of the sky and landed dead at my feet when I exited a mineshaft, to the full blown lock-ups and death freezes when embarking on a quest, or simply looking around. I have experienced them; a lot. They are a minor annoyance at their least and down right frustrating at the worst. I can certainly understand some on here who have complained about the amount of bugs in this game. Traversing the land can become an arduous task for several reasons. Not least is at the beginning of your game (or even some way through), you may encounter highly levelled bad-asses that kill you in a swipe. Save, my friends, and save often to avoid the "oh crumbs, I just lost an hour of gameplay because I did not know giants got angry if you get too close and they thump you and send you millions of miles in the air to your death" syndrome. Secondly is the sometime frustrating way that you think you've found your way to your destination, but wait....sorry there is a small hump or rock in front of you that you cant climb over, so you have to back track for 10 minutes to find another way through! Horses...really what is the point of them? Sure you can fast travel whilst over-loaded, but I have, on a number of occasions, seen my horse bolt over to a bandit camp, try pitifully to stomp on them and promptly die within seconds. Same is true for that grizzly that just mauled me. Great way to spend 1000 hard earned Septims. Plus your followers cant ride and you cant use magic or weapons on horse-back! Pah!

    Voice acting: most of it sounds like it is phoned in and they recycle the same voice actors over and over and over. What is with Skyrim, did only five men and three women have kids and spawned out no more than about 10-12 different voices? C'mon, this is a big budget game, could have splashed out on some more voice actors (or maybe more talented ones who could put on more different voices).

    Finally, the menu navigation. It is a pain to say the least, that you have to pause the game, traverse the menus, pick the spell, weapon or shout you want, get back to the fight and repeat as necessary. I know there are hot keys, but way too few when so much is on offer. How about a quick access wheel system, like that which is employed in Mass Effect?

    Right, there is the winging through. If you are still with me, I am about to go into why I think this game deserves a 10.

    All those issues above not with-standing, this is an utterly massive game. You can go anywhere and do anything you want. There is so much variety, so many amazing places to see. People harp on about graphics. They are good, really good. The environments are so detailed, so many different dungeons and castles. The hold capitals feel big, feel like you are exploring a town and each with its unique issues, quests and culture. Love it!

    Dragon battles are epic. I really enjoy these and feel the fear when I am doing my best not to get fried or frozen. Dragons are well drawn and immensely powerful (as they level up with the player) beasts. These battles alone are worth the price of this game.

    Skilling and levelling are easy, common-sense and very well structured. This has been the point of contention for some, believing this represents a "dumbing down", but for me I love the simplicity and ease at which one can quickly get into a character, level the skills they want, when they want and how they want. It is truely a free-flowing system. Finally, questing, exploring and battling a variety of enemies is astounding. You can get joyfully side-tracked on your way to one quest only to end up doing three or four other quests. There is the civil war, a variety of factions, two colleges and other miscelanious adventures all to experience outside the main quest line. You can become a werewolf or vampire, each with its own advantages and foibles. It is truly remarkable what Bethesda have done here.

    Overall, yes there are issues, yes there are areas that could be improved, but the game sucks you in with its depth and immense nature. So many titles are linear, point and follow or point and shoot, some pretend to be sandbox, but are not. Skyrim is a free-flowing wondrous advertureland. Bethesda should be lauded for their efforts here as this really is the pinnacle of video-gaming.
    Expand
  28. Feb 16, 2012
    10
    This game surpasses Oblivion in every possible way. More weapon, armor, and enemy types are included, the ability to create your own weapons and armor is awesome, and the land of Skyrim is huge and able to be explored thoroughly. If you're a fan of RPGs and have an Xbox 360, go buy this game. It's excellent.
  29. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooodd lol
  30. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    closest to perfect as a game can get. The graphics are fantastic,although sometimes stutters when there is tons of action or some textures look outdated. The textures could be better, but this might be because I have an old xbox from 2006. The action is fun and intense, but still feels a little "floaty". Despite, these few problems, the game is still a masterpiece due to a deep, involving storyline, hundreds of hours of quests, exploring, or crafting, and just damn fun. Expand
  31. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Well, honestly speaking Skyrim is my first Elder Scrolls title and I'm just thrilled. Actually I have spent 80+hrs on that game and have the feeling I've just achieved 30% of all the quests and places visited. The atmosphere is awesome, the graphic is pretty good compared to this tremandouse world and content provided. It's just a masterpiece and everyone who is a bit interested into roll-playing games should give it a try. Nobody would regret it, despite the time you will lose because of can't stop playing that game. :) Expand
  32. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    fun. the game it self is very fun, but just shooting the **** with my buddies about the game is also so fun. i didnt like 3rd person mode in oblivion but i do like it in skyrim. nice graphics, people react to you running around in your underwear. this game at least for me, stay challengeing. i love pick pocketing people and stealing with out karma, and duel wielding/casting is really cool. addicting for sure. i kept telling my friends to buy this game if they wanted to keep busy during the winter b/c its so long. lots of replay here i gotta give it a 10/10 Expand
  33. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Probably the best game I've played in around a decade and a half of gaming. If you're looking for an incredibly immersive RPG experience, this is the way to go.
  34. Feb 25, 2012
    10
    Skyrim was a very delightful game to play. The possibilities are endless and as a result every character you make will be different. I found the main quests a little short and in effect made me feel that i didn't have much more to achieve. To be honest i found the guild quests much more fun and entertaining to complete, for example the thieves guild quest were amazing and the story had a brilliant ending as well as the mages academy quests. the scenery was beautiful but i expect nothing less from Bethesda as oblivion's landscape was equally as good. I like how most of the NPCs had there own little story to tell and often enough quests although after battling dragons it's kinda hard to have the motivation to find someones lost dog (i Don't care). at the end of the day i think everyone who has played Morrowind would agree that skyrim is the under dog. One word VIVEC Expand
  35. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    How do you make the next biggest, most fantastic fantasy RPG world? You make another installment in The Elder Scrolls series. Skyrim is a great improvement from Oblivion and is on the same level of epicness as The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. It is a relatively large world that's so jam-packed with goodies that I'll still be finding new things in the game when I'm on my death bed. This is definitely the best game that has been made in the past few years. Expand
  36. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    From start to finish (which can take forever, depending on how you play) this game had me wrapped around it's fingers. From the music, to the ambient sounds, it was a well fleshed out world. The character creation was very much improved over it's predecessors. I cannot wait for the next one!!!
  37. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    Skyrim is BIG. In fact, it is a little overated. The thing I don't like is that the game uses a compass rather than an on-screen mini-map, and to navigate a world as big as Skyrim, you need a mini-map to do it properly. This would rank as one of my favourite games, just stuff like Fallout and Zelda games would beat it.
  38. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    Bethesda keeps pumping out great games. They fix almost all justified criticism that is in their games and continue to improve on past games. The combat in this game is very similar to that of Oblivion, although it was less buggy. The NPC are much more fluid in combat in this game. The voice acting is much much better. (I'm sure you've all heard the arrow in the knee joke before). The characters are interesting. Ulfric is one of the biggest bad***es i've had the pleasure of knowing in a video game. Although the story isn't the end all defacto, Elder Scroll games have never had to rely on a complete master peace in story telling, and that is a good thing in itself. The fact highlights how solid the core aspects of the game are. I wish it had a better story and was quite disappointed by Skyrim's, it still deserves a 10 for being fresh, but improving on the same formula that Bethesda costumers have come to love. But don't get me wrong, the story and the side quests, and major side quests are very good, just not artistically perfect Expand
  39. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt the best game ever made . It stand s out from the rest in a crowded market (and its even better on PC).Buy it and you wont be disappointed.
  40. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I'll admit this game has problems, but they are so minor. I have put 180 hours into this game, gotten every achievement (cool, right?), and pretty much done every quest possible. First the problems: Some quests become un-completable because of glitches. Money is a little broken as in early is really rare and later you have nothing to spend it on. After the main Dragon quest is done the game loses a lot of the epicness. Also the voice acting is a little to repetitive and there are problems with having companions, and the map screen sucks.

    Those may sound like a lot of nitpicks, and they are. The game is hard to put down. Its incredibly addicting, an awesome plot, and really fun quests. It's really really beautiful, the dragon fights are awesome, and the civil war has interesting political ramifications. I really have a lot of great things to say, but don't feel like typing it all. Definite must but.
    Expand
  41. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    all in all a great game to kill time on without realising it. it make you want to do one more quest which is awesome but also makes me late for things. whilst i like the world, characters, freedom, plot etc on thing bothers me. if i never made a character in skyrim nothing would ever get done in that world. and i mean nothing. dragons would never be killed, dragons would never get taken out (unless they landed near a giant) and overall the whole world felt like it would come to a standstill. i'd like to see some people adventuring or close to my level instead of being able to kill everything without really doing a lot. whats taken me 100 hours in skyrim took me 200 in oblivion and oblivion kept me interested longer. Expand
  42. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. The environment lives and breathes and its so easy to get lost in it's beauty. From hardcore fans of the series to RPG lovers to the casual gamer; this game has something for everyone. Outstanding.
  43. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    "Immersive" would be an understatement. I've been playing this game for about 100 hours with no end in sight. Skyrim is one of the most beautiful lands I've ever explored and it's filled with so many characters, enemies, dragons, caves and dungeons, etc. that it can seem overwhelming, but in a good way.
  44. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    Skyrim is an enjoyable experience from start to finish. The massive world that your character can explore is utterly amazing. The game offers an impressive variation of ways that you can customize your character. Making a lot of coin and leveling up can take a while though, and the human character models could have been worked on a little bit more. Side quests heavily dominate this game compared to the rather short main story. Overall Skyrim is well worth buying because it is a well crafted Lord of the Rings/ medieval times fantasy game experience. Expand
  45. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    I have dropped 100+ hours into this and still am absolutely baffled by the amount of content Bethesda has managed to cram into Skyrim. Seems like I could play for another 100 hours and STILL discover new content. The world is that big and detailed. The richest, deepest, most epic experience in 30 years of gaming on Consoles and PCs. Skyrim deserves to be listed in that extremely small group of games that sets the benchmark for years to come. Expand
  46. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent computer role-playing game which puts the player into fantasy world of Skyrim. You can explore it as you want, the main plot as old as the hills, but it doesn't ruin the whole game - it's only the fine addition to your character story. Fine graphics and controls, but user interface such as items and magic menu is too simplified in terms of design (IMHO). One of the best games in 2011y.
  47. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Amazing game one of the best RPGs I have played in a really long time a lot better then Oblivion and on par with Morrowind and I don't know if its better then Arena or Daggerfall but an overall enjoyable game
  48. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    great game spent 16 hours playing my first 1 and a half days.I can see how it would become boring for a elder scrolls veteren. But overall great game definitely one of the best game I've bought though well worth the money.
  49. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    after playing morrowind and oblivion and feeling like it was not enough i was skeptical at skyrim till i played it at a friends house. I went over for just a little bit to see it and i ended up staying for hours. Everything that i did not like about Morrowind and oblivion they fixed. and the combat is sooo much better. Amazing game.
  50. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. Immersive and fun, with plenty of choices. You can be a werewolf, what more do I need to say? I have to guess that most of the people hating on this game are just trying to be different. Heck, I know some of them didn't even play through it significantly (by reading their reviews.) But I digress. This game is a lot of fun, and the trademark Bethesda bugs don't detract from the experience. It's simply amazing how much you can get out of this game. I got it for Christmas and I'm still nowhere done with everything I want to do in it. Expand
  51. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    When I first began playing this game, I called it the medieval Fallout: without the bugs. The story and the world are huge, which makes playing it so much fun. I really enjoy the leveling system: level up by the skills you use. The music was wonderful, the graphics were great, and the quests were all fun. Unfortunately, my second playthrough had some notable bugs, most annoying of all was Shadowmere didn't spawn. However, for such a LARGE game, the small number of bugs was pretty surprising. I imagine I'll be popping Skyrim back in my Xbox for a while. Expand
  52. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    To good of a game deserves a solid 9 because the graphics are good game play is good slaying is good dying is not so good as you have to save your game quite often but all in all amazing
  53. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    a good game. just maybe not for everyone. if your into the elder scrolls you already know what your getting into. it is a game that will be perfect for some and just a decent play for others. i'm the ladder of the two. it's a game that i can only play for an hour here and there. i can not sit and play for hours on end, i find myself getting bored and even annoyed after an hour or two. still its a solid game but for me something didn't click just right. Expand
  54. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Not since Morrowind have I thrown so many hours at a single game. Even Oblivion didnt mesmerize me as Skyrim has. From the visual improvements to the streamlined leveling system to the improved magic and combat, all the way into the story-telling as a whole, Skyrim never ceased to amaze me. A fantastic journey and a milestone in the gaming industry. There is so much I could go into, from the reworking of the smithing and alchemy, to the mysteries of the dwemer ruins, all the way to the bad-assness of the dragon battles, Skyrim leaves me awestruck and wanting more time and time again Collapse
  55. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    So....this is the best game ever made. I could elaborate, but there is no real need to do so. Too bad RPGs are not everyone's cup of tea, because this game has no peer. This will be a very tough act for Bethesda to follow.
  56. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. People complain about bugs etc but I have only suffered from one bug the entire time I have been playing and I've played Skyrim for well over 60 hours. Many people complain about the difficulty but how about this. Turn the difficulty up? Drastic I know but it works. The graphics and testures ARE improved from Oblivion and Fallout and this is the kind of game you pick up and can play for 10 hours in one sitting. There is always something to do ALWAYS new quests and people to speak to and things to loot. It is refined and improved on many levels. Movement is better, combat is refined, the skills system has been changed into something more realistic and dynamic. You wanna be good with swors? Use a sword. You wanna be a mage. Cast spells. It works well and is very fluid and new. The game has its faults as any game does. A few glitches here and there and I believe the main questline is too short but apart from those minor issues this is an immersive and great game. DO NOT listen to the other reviewers who claim the game is unplayable. This is a case by case thing and 98% of the time it works perfectly well. Expand
  57. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    Very good game, quite frustrating at times. It is definitely worth installing to your hard drive. If you have a decent PC it's way more worth getting it for that. I would recommend it on Steam, as you'll have to register anyway. I really think it's worth the $90 (australia) BUT it would be wayyy better if played on a larger HDTV (I played on a 2006 analog TV). I really found that it has really low graphics compared to PC. Expand
  58. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    halfway through it but still believe it is an exceptionally well done rpg. i love the level advancement system; gives you the freedom to use your character as you see fit.
  59. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This is the game that we will look back on and say why is no one making these kind of open world RPGs enymore. if we still have a bethesda we will have kick ass games like skyrim.
    no day-one dlc, we get the full game,and great fan support from the dev.
    Got to give a company like Bethesda props for staying true to the elder scrolls and the fans of these games.
    If you have not had a chance
    to play this game or seen it at a friends or a trailer and came to the sense to not buy this game give it a try for yourself, a hour or two in and you will never forget the time you spent in skyrim. Expand
  60. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Firat time Elder Scrolls player, and I will certainly be downloading the DLC the day it comes out, This game is in my top 3 of all time, the leveling up system is the best I have ever seen in my 20+ years of gaming!
  61. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. Immersive. A Masterpiece. This is Skyrim.

    Bethesda never fail to deliver with a good RPG, do they? Skyrim brings the best Bethesda have to offer.
    This is a game not to be missed, for newcomers and veterans alike. This is game does everything right, fixing anything players didn't like about Oblivion; improved graphics (of course), combat, interface, dialogue, and alot less of
    those glitches you hated from before.
    The story, is very immersive, and will keep you playing until you finish, and WAY beyond. Without giving too much away; You are the Dragonborn, set to rid Skyrim of the Dragons, who have come to wreak havoc in Tamriel. Skyrim of course has side quests, and alot of them. These are what will keep you playing until you get every last artifact, weapon and spell tome. And, to top it all off, an INSANE amount of miscellaneous objectives; which can lead to some weird questlines and quests (A talking dog!)

    As for the combat, the combat isn't that fun to use. You'll be using the same 2 or 3 attacks with any weapon, like Warhammers, Daggers and Greatswords. Performing power attacks take away your stamina, but deal more damage than any other attack. Performing a power attack when your enemy is on low health, and you'll enter a killcam mode, showing a finishing move with cinematic impact (Decapitation!)
    Of course, if you favour stealth and range, a bow & arrow is the way to go. You can't vary much about your bow or arrow, just the type (Long Bow, Steel Arrow, etc). Oh, and with any weapon, you can make it better via smithing or enchanting.

    Customization is, like always, a big part on bow you want to play the game; and Skyrim does it really well. Like enchanting, perhaps. Want to be stealthy? Enchant your armour with a muffle sound enchantment. Like bows and arrows? Enchant your bow with a damage increase.
    Smithing is the art of creating a things like weapons, armour and jewelry using ingots, or improving weapons and armour using ingots.
    And alchemy is the art of making potions, using some of the weirdest ingredients you would never think of. Troll fat? Daedra hearts? Each ingredient has their own effect allowing you to make some really helpful potions.

    And finally, the graphics and sound.
    The graphics are stunning, with a great attention to detail. You will find NPCs with their own unique thing to say, and no graphic is overused through any part of the game. In fact, the attention to detail is so good, there are ANTS. That's right, ants. On rocks, in dungeons, everywhere. Yeah, there are pop in textures every so often, but they're graphics worth popping in. As for sound, the game is divine. Travelling through forests and rivers, you will hear a fantastic tune, a quiet one that really put's you in the game. But as soon as you enter combat, another tune plays; one that really set's the mood for fast paced combat against challenging enemies, and believe me; there are ALOT of enemies; over 400. As for voice acting, Bethesda does a good job, never using the same voice actor for any two main characters. Every stranger you meet will react to your decisions; agreeing or disagree with them. They may challenge you to brawl with them, bribe you, intimidate you or persuade you, and you can do exactly the same back to them, It's a great system the really works and gives you control over who you want to be.

    Closing comments:

    This is possibly the greatest game on any console to date. Yes, the combat is clunky, Yes there's pop in textures, Yes there's glitches, but this is so easily out weighed by how many things this game does right: An immersive story, insane customisation, varied enemies and quests, and how long this will keep you occupied (Me: 120 hours, and counting) If you are a fan, or just getting started, of RPG's, this really, cannot be missed. And, if you aren't a fan of RPGs, let Bethesda chage your mind with this stunning, brilliantly executed game.
    Expand
  62. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    Can't really say much more than what has already been said. A brilliant and thoroughly enjoyable game. Incredible graphics, thrilling gameplay and beautiful music.
  63. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    Very fun game, but I felt it was way over hyped. It didn't meet the sky-high expectations that were put on it. It's a very fun game with amazing graphics, but the gameplay does get repetitive.What do I mean by repetitive? Half of the quests and dungeons are practically the same. I mean, honestly, lots of dungeons are the same old thing over and over again. Skyrim is a very fun and entertaining game, but it's not earth-shattering like many claim that it is. Expand
  64. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    In my personal opinion, it's the best in a already great series of games. The land of Skyrim is stylish and and fun to adventure into, the story is well done and has some great quests, and the combat is far more fun than it was in previous games. If there were any problems, it would be some quests are too repetitive and I wished some characters were more fleshed out. Overall, Skyrim is a fantastic game. Expand
  65. TJK
    Apr 5, 2012
    10
    An epic role playing game that can provide hours and hours of fun. A huge map with what seems like unlimited stories that can start from just talking to random people. It is a creative fantasy masterpiece that is not only the best game of 2011, but one of the best games of all time. The only downfall is that it could start to get old to some people after awhile.
  66. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    On the whole, of course, there is very little bad to say about Skyrim. Quite possibly the most immersive gaming world ever conceived, it features a startling scope of beautiful landscapes both above and (in terms of Blackreach) below the ground level. The amount of hours I sunk into traipsing across the environs is concerning, and it wasn't for a second boring. The gameplay is better than ever, the levelling system is better than ever (if a little easy) and the mechanics for alchemy and enchanting are better than ever.

    The factions storylines were shorter than they could have been, however, and overall the meatier part of the game seemed to finish all too quickly. Bethesda boast over 300 hours of gameplay, but after about 50-60 you'll really be struggling to find things to do with your character. And though Skyrims unrestricted levelling system does feel like an improvement from Oblivion, once you get to level 40+ the game becomes quite unfulfilling. Additionally, the brevity in which one can complete entire factions/most storylines actually negatively affects replayability. I started a new character looking forward to a completely new gameplay experience and instead found it to be repetitive (and - dare I say - boring?). It's difficult to pinpoint what exactly has changed, but Oblivion had a charm which made even a 3rd or 4th playthrough delightful, and Skyrim has not translated this charm. Perhaps its the bleakness of the northern regions snowy wastes? Who knows?

    Overall, Skyrim is undoubtedly a masterpiece and one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences there is. It is epic on all scales, almost to the degree of exhausting all interest in 'epic' games. Still an essential game to play.
    Expand
  67. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible, you will enjoy playing it for months. Despite having some little technological and combat problems (although the combat is better than it was in Oblivion, it could be better now), this game is almost perfect. If you like RPG here you have the best option, if you don't like RPG this couldn't be your game. I qualify this game thinking in RPG players.
  68. Apr 11, 2012
    7
    Personally I Feel As If I Waited Longer To Get This Game, Then I Actually Played It. I Mean It Is One Of The Best Games Ever, But To Me Its Like Harvey Birdman Said" Let me get this straight: Skyrim's people --who supposedly thought dragons were a myth, like Godzilla-- find themselves in the midst of a FULL-FLEDGED DRAGON INVASION, and it ranks maybe 5th on their conversational priority list, after the civil war, their lost amulet, the fact that you're wearing light armor, and the weather. And when you singlehandedly stop said invasion, what do you get? A few comments from guards to the effect of, "Hey, stopping that dragon crisis was awesome, bro." Then it's back to "I took an arrow in the knee." The faction quests, with the possible exception of the Thieves' Guild, are similarly uninspiring. Oh, and my wife in I have a sham marriage , in which I show up every week and she gives me gold. I'd like to converse with her, but she can only say four lines of dialogue. Bottom line: maybe this is the price of a truly open world -- i.e., it's miles wide and an inch deep. And to be fair, there's plenty of mindless fun to be had. But I'd trade most all of these random dungeons and dragon/troll/mammoth battle royales for some sense that what I'm doing matters." Expand
  69. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    this game is good love it it first bought it i was like oh my god fuking cool i did not stop playing the few bugs in it that kinda sucked but loved it
  70. Apr 12, 2012
    9
    An excellent and ambitious game with plenty to do and a fun world to explore. There were some dungeons that felt a little repetitive and predictable, but the challenge aspect still made them interesting to play through. The game may have initially shipped with a few bugs (flying horses anyone?) but still made for an enjoyable experience.
  71. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    Actualy it is 10/10 but ipad wont let me score 10.
    This game is my favourite singl player in 2011 and im still playin it. Lvl 48 Perfect game. I hope to see this on next gen.

    Ps: sorry for my english
  72. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is the kinda game you can play, and never stop playing ever. Even on my awful tv that you can barely see on, the game looks great under the hard shell of my tv screen. Why would I recommend Skyrim? Plenty of reasons. There's a lot to do. A lot to do. Lot's and lot's. I mean LOT'S. In fact, the game quests never run out. There are certain radiant quests, that never end. (You can do them over and over and over again.) It's just a fun game to play, because you choose who you are, there aren't guidelines. Without a class selection, you are free to make your character how YOU want him/her to be. A Mage? Use magic exclusively. One Handed? Use a sword, war axe, or mace frequently. It's a fantastic journey, and it's all you. Expand
  73. May 7, 2012
    7
    Terrific game, loved the gameplay but some of the levels were too easy to earn. Too much glitches, this game needs to be polished. And if you save over 3-5 mb some of the game content cannot be accessed.
  74. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    Skyrim is to the Western RPG genre as what the early Final Fantasy games/Chrono Trigger is to the JRPG. In short, a masterclass which is ambitious beyond measure and a complete labour of love from a studio which is rightfully being applauded for their commitment to a dying breed of game.
  75. May 20, 2012
    9
    Muito bom mesmo esse game, a Bethesda fez um trabalho perfeito e mesmo com os bugs que o jogo carrega nada atrapalha o seu desempenho.
    O melhor RPG da geração até agora, recomendo a todos.
  76. May 21, 2012
    9
    This is my favorite addition to the Elder Scrolls series. Although some may argue that the others are better, Skyrim is my favorite because of how much smoother it plays than the others. The story line is also the best in my opinion, but that's just me. The facial expressions are also much less creepy than in Oblivion which is an improvement. The main reason I didn't give this game a 10 was because of the occasional game freezing and some annoying glitches, but otherwise an amazing game. Expand
  77. May 21, 2012
    10
    Bethesda did a great job by developing a massive game like this. The experience is undiscribable. The soundtrack is amazing and the best I've ever heard in my life. The simple the combat system is the great and fun it is to play. Fighting enemies has never been more intensive, landscapes have never been more beautiful. They are variously divided, but there aren't any borders noticable when entering a new climate zone. The several towns are masterpieces of architecture, stuffed with lots of NPC's, who are almost perfectly animated and seemingly filled with the spirit of life. Skyrim puts you in another world full of dungeons to explore, quests to solve, people to talk to, items to seek and find and uncountable things to love.
    But, Skyrim still has its flaws. Fighting dragons can sometimes be frustrating because of several bugs and glitches, horses might levitate while playing this game and it might freeze from time to time.
    To have the best experience with Skyrim, do not install it onto your hard drive.
    Expand
  78. May 23, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V splits gamers opinions, but no one can deny that Skyrim is a beautiful and incredible big game. It is true that the graphics are not top notch but very good looking for that engine. Bethesda really squeezed everything possible out of it and presents the whole world very detailed, you see the love they gave this game. Especially fighting the big dragons feels like you are a true legend. You can do really much here and this game will suck you in after some hours. The huge open world you will discover while listening to the epic soundtrack include so much quests and things to do, that you will forget you play a videogame sometimes. The character customization is truly big and you can decide if you want to do more magic, closecombat, defensive playstyle or shoot with bow and arrow. You can mix your playstyles together and do what you want. I never made quests with the quest-markers or help, i always ran free around the world and discovered tombs, castles, dragons, mystical enemies or even more quests. Expand
  79. May 24, 2012
    9
    This is one of the first RPG games I've ever played. Usually I don't touch them because I'm a big fan of online competitive multiplayer, but this game is sick. A must for everyone. I got mates who only play COD, and they tried this and reckoned it's sick too. So much to do and can keep you entertained for ages. Played the game for 2 months straight when I first got it. Only downside is there's no online multiplayer. Great game. A definite must for anyone. Expand
  80. May 24, 2012
    10
    Quite simply, the finest sandbox RPG to ever be created. Everything about it hits top marks. The scope and size of the world, its great graphics and draw distance. The massive amount of locations, cities, dungeons, quests. You can literally play this game for years and still uncover new areas. Amazing leveling up system which allows you to completly customise your character to however you like to play, so many different combinations of skills means you can easily restart as a different type of character and its a whole new game, No game comes close except Oblivion and the Fallout 3's but if you like RPG's i would imagine you've already played and loved those games. Expand
  81. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    Ok I will keep this short because I will go on a rant if I don't. First of all Oblivion is one of my favourite games of all time and to see me to find this game OK and, most of the time, HATE really baffles me, the problem is I don't know why I dislike it. I always seem to go from 'this game is ok' to 'bloody hell am I bored' and this is weird because it has great graphics and a simple and fun upgrade system and combat system. I guess it is very dull compared to the previous game graphics wise as the characters and scenery are really gritty and realistic compared to when they were simple and not realistic in the last game. The missions are go to point A to point B but it was like that in oblivion, but I really enjoyed it in that game, maybe it is the feeling of 'been there done that'. Bottom line I have played this game and completed it completely once and I will not go back, the reason I am giving this game this score is because I hope to actually enjoy it is the long run because I love oblivion, fallout 3 and new vegas. 5/10 (also there are no gates of oblivion so that's a plus) Expand
  82. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    The best value for a xbox360 game period. Tons of things to do, really interesting universe, and the kinect update left an even immersive experience. It the same 06' oblivion's experience put in a whole new level.
  83. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    Terrific. A must play for all rpg fans. I don't even like RPGs and I loved this game. Graphics are great, and there is so much to do. The world of skyrim is huge, and waiting for you. Played oblivion? It like 3x better. And oblivion was good! Please at least rent it. You won't regret it.
  84. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    The legendary game critic's have been raving about is very good. Though i still feel I'm just a player, I'm not very immersed as I would first think. The Combat still feels somewhat sluggish, and at times a bug happens, usually with animals. The game is still very fun, though exploration can become boring at times. The characters look good, though some people look too clean.
  85. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Bethesda takes all of the elements that made their open world classics morrowind and oblivion so damn good and combined it into what could be the RPG to end all RPGs. Skyrim is a masterpiece in terms of interactive storytelling and entertainment.

    ***SOUP'S GAME OF THE YEAR 2011***
  86. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    A very rare piece of programming genius. it adds onto Oblivion by 110%, cramming more quests, random encounters, items, enemies and much more. This is one of the few games where you could talk to someone in a village and end up fighting dragons 3 hours later. Also, with all the little details such as weather control and miscellaneous quests, I'm surprised they actually managed to cram a game in. Absolutely bang for your buck. Expand
  87. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    The Best RPG/Role-playing game of all time

    This game both reached and exceeded my expectations. The music is by far my favorite. The graphics are astounding. The combat is amazing; a little slow at first but still great, and the A.I. are more immersive than Oblivions were. The only issue; and I say the only real issue; I have with this game is the blasted load times. Sometimes is doesnt
    load at all. But even that sounds like Im just acting like a immature 3rd grader that didnt get to be first in line. It's an amazing game! Its really hard to find flaws in this game. You almost have to look for them. Some other small flaws are the random times the frame rate just drops to nothing and the game frezzes; but is easily fixed by pressing the home button on your controller; a few times were the quest glitches, and the infamous falling through the world, which happened to me in mostly solutide, and a few other minuote deatails that arent even worthy of reading. I higly highly recommend this game! Expand
  88. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is an absolutely amazing game! It's filled to the brim with quests and side story lines. Also it has a huge free roam world that both looks amazing and is filled with interesting characters and places. Skyrim is a game that you can enjoyably put hours and hours into and still have lots to do. Pretty much everything in this game is good. The fighting is enjoyable, the story and side stories are interesting, and it looks amazing. Skyrim is a game that I'd recommend to just about anyone. Expand
  89. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This is a placeholder review until I make my full review. That being said, at launch I would've given the game a 9.5 or so given the problems it had. Now, after tons of fixes to the core game, and DLC worked in(although I won't include it in my review), the game is arguably the greatest video game of all time.
  90. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    The open world in Skyrim is amazing, and so is the complexity of many other minor characters. There are so many directions you can go in developing your character, and Skyrim allows you to be a character who is good, bad, or somewhere in between. All three options have benefits. The load time on this was incredibly, INCREDIBLY slow, frequently a minute or more from just passing through a door. Also, in my one run through the game (which is probably 60 or 70 hours of gameplay) I was stopped temporarily because of a glitch that I had to find a solution for online. Barring these limitations of the game, this is a phenomenal roleplaying game, and I would recommend it to anyone. Expand
  91. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    The Good: An unparalleled world packed with a variety of quests, Dragon battles are exhilarating (when your at a lower level), Art design, Great battles that you can approach in any way you like, Great story in addition to the main quest.
    The Bad: Some glitches, Friendly AI can sometimes get in the way and crowd or block doorways
  92. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is soooo much fun i love going around and attemping to kill any mofo that gets in my, this is a most have for any RPG fan, i ve already killed so many hours of my life in this game
  93. Jan 3, 2013
    8
    Skyrim offers everything that I look for in an RPG - deep character creation, great looking locations, countless quests, involving story arcs, exploration, deep lore for those interested and...dragons! I would not go as far as to call Skyrim my idea of a perfect RPG (there are some aspects that I am not so keen on, such as too many repetitive dragon fights and buggy companions), but it comes very close to it. Not a game for those who like their RPGs to be linear or lovers of cinematic cut-scenes. But for anyone who loves wide open worlds full of dungeons to explore, bandits to put to the sword and capricious Gods - this is the game for you. Expand
  94. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    I greatly enjoyed playing The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim, it improves on Oblivion in almost every single way. First off the game is visually stunning and is really enjoyable to go walking around and look at the game world. Every region seems individually crafted unlike in Fallout 3. The regions are also nicely varied, you have snowy mountain peaks,(my personal favorite) forests, swamps and tundra. Onto the weapons and combat, the weapons are well done and look good but i do wish there were more types of armor and weapons. The combat is better but still a little stiff, but the addition of duel wielding an ax with a fire spell or a dagger with a healing spell or something of the like makes the combat more customisable. Technical the game deserves much to be desired, the textures especially on shade and snow is kind of blurry, also loading times are incredibly long. In my opinion the games biggest problem is its gear progression, by that I mean you'll be using near top tier weaponry by level thirty or so, that really can make the game dull in later levels. The story is quite good and its above average for a Bethesda game, along with the main quest you have guild quests, misc quests, side quests and faction quests. Over all this is a great game for any fan of video games, with its sprawling, beautiful landscape and addictive gameplay, The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim is truly a classic game. Expand
  95. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    I do enjoy playing Skyrim, I still play it to this day, (probably because its so long, which I don't mind) however one or two things did let me down, such as the static animations that almost every single character in the game shares, and the fact that you get sent into about 100 caves for a quest, it does get a little bit repetitive, that being said, I did enjoy the gameplay, and still do.
  96. Aug 9, 2012
    6
    I am a senior RPG gamer and I thought I would like Skyrim. But the story is so uninspiring and the combat is so easy, that I quit playing before the first half of the game. Slaying dragons is a joke, they position themselves in front of you, so that you simply press the same key until they are dead. I skilled melee and completely ignored anything else, I can kill any boss enemy with only a couple of hits. And I have only a lvl10 char. I don't care about fancy graphics as long as gameplay and story suck. For me, this game is much worse than Fallout 3 and even worse than some of oldschool RPGs like NVN-1. Expand
  97. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    Easily one of the most beautiful games I've ever played. The main plot is laughable, but the guilds have some interesting characters and writing. People may complain about low resolution graphics, but when it comes down to it graphics don't mean anything. This game has a great atmosphere. You can very quickly get sucked into this game and lose track of time. My problems with this game are the lack luster main story and the number of glitches, bugs, and breakable parts of the game. Expand
  98. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    skyrim is a awesome game with the best roleplaying elements i have ever seen in a rpg game!
    Combat is awesome with great finishers, the world is a lush vast beutiful enviroment and great to travel around in on foot.
    dragon fighting is also a charm and a great hint to the Giant hunting many new creatures are such a great addition to the game making the world more dangerous and deadly!
  99. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    WARNING. Be ready to have your mind blown because of all the content this game has to offer on a single disk. I had never played an RPG before Skyrim, now I'll probably buy every sequel Bethesda ever makes. This game is MORE than worth the 50-60 bucks it's priced at. This game has maybe 3 noticeable bugs that will surely be patched soon. If your a call of duty or halo fan, the elder scrolls will DEFINITLEY become your new favorite series just because of this game. If you don't already own this game, head to GameStop right freaking now. Expand
  100. Sep 7, 2012
    5
    Elder Scroll games have always been about quantity first, their open worlds are massive especially when compared to the size of any other game on console (not always true with pc) but one thing that is recurring in every game in the series that holds it back from greatness is quality gameplay. Im not talking about how much you can do, how deep the story is in any quest line, or even how many different variations of character you can make, im talking about true gameplay. Now when I start talking about gameplay I am only speaking of aspects that don't fall in to other categories that could be used to rate a game such as visuals, amount of content/replay-ability, story, or sound im talking about things like the depth of its combat mostly. See the thing to understand here is that this game ultimately revolves around combat primarily and interactions with npc's as a distant secondary. Melee in this game is void of skill, it is nearly 100% stat based and you can simply quick swing, power swing or block and the different swings only differences are damage and time taken to execute which in combat comes down to can i take him down with one or two hard hits or do i need to block a bit and beat him down piece by piece there is no dodging to counteract your possibly poor block skill or lack of shield there is no need to understand enemy attacks either they will hurt you if they hit you or if you block it it will hurt alittle or almost as much as normal and with spells and archery its all relevant the spells do elemental damage so the enemy is either resistant, weak, or neutral to a spells type not to mention that every spell has its different element counterpart. Basically what combat comes down to is a stat based mashfest either you swing and block/heal or shoot spells/heal till you prevail or you just cant do it no median for skill no use of in-game mechanics to turn the tide of battle if you have lower stats than your foe or anything its either you can or cant period. Now for a lot of people gameplay depth doesn't matter, all they want is to feel powerful when they hit things or see cool animations for spells/attacks which this game definitely provides, as well as for gamers who highly value things outside of gameplay such as the points i mentioned earlier. Overall this is a game for people who value aesthetics over gameplay and quantity over quality, which the second point is perfectly reasonable but the first not so much since movies and other media sources can provide aesthetics and not gameplay where as only games can provide gameplay which is the sole reason Myself and many many other gamers buy games. So for a quick summary Gameplay is far from deep and ultimately does not rely on the players ability at all making it hard to call fulfilling for doing anything through gameplay, yet the aesthetics are amazing beautiful scenery and more content (not necessarily play time) than any other console game can offer (doesnt really beat out the pc games so much). Dont buy if you want a deep narrative or varied/engaging gameplay. Expand
  101. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Not since Morrowind have I thrown so many hours at a single game. Even Oblivion didnt mesmerize me as Skyrim has. From the visual improvements to the streamlined leveling system to the improved magic and combat, all the way into the story-telling as a whole, Skyrim never ceased to amaze me. A fantastic journey and a milestone in the gaming industry. There is so much I could go into, from the reworking of the smithing and alchemy, to the mysteries of the dwemer ruins, all the way to the bad-assness of the dragon battles, Skyrim leaves me awestruck and wanting more time and time again Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.