User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3613 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Ridiculously good. Can't wait for the DLC in the future, I spent a thoroughly unhealthy week long streak of Skyrim, and I want more. Not to say there was a lack of anything, I just splurged. Skyrim: Gamer Coke.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Wow ... what can I say... This game is Huge!!! I have always loved the Elder Scrolls games, but I stayed away from Oblivion, cause I just didn't have the time to be sucked into a game so vast like this, but I said what the hell and got Skyrim. I wasn't let down. Their is so damn much to do in this game like all Elder Scroll games it's just mind blowing! the graphics are great, and so far IWow ... what can I say... This game is Huge!!! I have always loved the Elder Scrolls games, but I stayed away from Oblivion, cause I just didn't have the time to be sucked into a game so vast like this, but I said what the hell and got Skyrim. I wasn't let down. Their is so damn much to do in this game like all Elder Scroll games it's just mind blowing! the graphics are great, and so far I have not had any problems with the battle system, I love stealing everything and pickpocketing people. It's just a whole lot fun wrapped up in a box full of awesome! Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is by far the game for any and all gamers out there to get. Go to a GameStop or ReplayGames near you to pick up this bad boy, because you definitely wont be disappointed. After playing games like MW3 and AC Revelations, I didnt expect any new games to be good, since those just sucked. But when I began playing this game.........I changed my mind entirely. Even the title screen music is outstanding, good enough to listen to for an hour straight. However, the game itself is much more than just that. You start out as someone who was arrested for border-jumping into Skyrim, and are about to be beheaded: BUT WAIT! You actually SEE the person in front of you be beheaded. Oh wait, Im getting ahead of myself here. First you have to make your character. You get to choose between multiple races, including Orc, Redguard, Imperial, and Wood Elf. Next, you customize your body. From skin tone to cheekbone height to complexion: Every little detail about your character can be edited. You could probably even make the person look like you if you try hard enough. After all of this, a dragon attacks Helgen, the city you are in. However, dragons havent been seen in Tamriel for hundreds of years! After finding out you are Dragonborn, your quest to save Skyrim, and perhaps the entire world, begins. From the amazing story, to the great gameplay, to the alchemy and magic, this game is absolutely wonderful. I HIGHLY recommend you buy this beautiful and stunning game that not only looks great, but plays great as well. Expand
  4. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Does this game even need a review? Negative reviewers obviously picked this game in response to the buzz this game acquired since it's announcement, and are probably expecting more, yet Skyrim delivers more than just what The Elder Scrolls have been all about. Dig deep into the Skyrim's tremendous world and you'll get your monies worth a thousand times over.
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Perfectly superb, there is absolutely nothing missing from this game. Never before have I played a game which kept all of the brilliant features of its predecessors while building a whole new game and improving on every single complaint of the previous games. Bethesda has done everything right. I can find nothing wrong with this game, full stop.
  6. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    This game is an absolute blast! I love playing it and 4 hours feels like 1 hour went by. It is so deep with gameplay and the story is outstanding. That said it only gets a 9 because it has quite a few bugs but that is to be expected with a RPG game. Overall great game.
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    If you like open ended RPGs, that involve depth, backstory, exploring, dungeon-crawling, as well as bartering and wandering through towns, forests and mountainous caves, Skyrim reaches the peak. Expect to spend no less than 40 hours playing this game and you will have only barely just scratched the surface. Skyrim creates a world so palpable and full of interesting content that it putsIf you like open ended RPGs, that involve depth, backstory, exploring, dungeon-crawling, as well as bartering and wandering through towns, forests and mountainous caves, Skyrim reaches the peak. Expect to spend no less than 40 hours playing this game and you will have only barely just scratched the surface. Skyrim creates a world so palpable and full of interesting content that it puts other open world games to shame. There is a ton of variety in the quests, the voice acting is great and the graphics reflect the cold harsh yet beautiful environment of the northern parts of Tamriel. I can't recommend or gush about this game enough. It's certainly the best of its kind to come out, and I continue to expect great things from its developer down the line. It's worth every cent of the 60 dollar price tag - if you devote any amount of time to it, you *will* get more than your money's worth in quality entertainment. Expand
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    Lets just say this is a definet upgrade from Oblivion. Graphics are way better, offers more goodies than before like creating and upgrading armor, and just overall addicting. This right here will be most likely game of the year ladies and gentlemen.
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I love this game. I'm getting to play it slowly too because of work and other such comitments which just draws out this lucious experience. I've still not even scraped the main quest yet and it's already turning out to be every bit as awesome as Oblivions. The lore, the world, everything about the vibe of this game is excellent, with the Norse influences being a great backdrop. With civilI love this game. I'm getting to play it slowly too because of work and other such comitments which just draws out this lucious experience. I've still not even scraped the main quest yet and it's already turning out to be every bit as awesome as Oblivions. The lore, the world, everything about the vibe of this game is excellent, with the Norse influences being a great backdrop. With civil war, dragons and a revamped magic system this game is just crazy good. It's just art as a video game, simple as. I'm not saying that it doesn't have it's flaws, but it's a masterpiece because of the care that was taken in the minutiae of the world. A great looking menu system, a familar UI and of course the ability to sprint. It's excellent. I love the smithing and enchanting, it's great. It's a real wonderful piece of gaming that just totally snapped all my expectations. Love it. Expand
  10. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing scope that pushes every interactive boundary. There is a reason that Bethesda owns the RPG genre. They have allowed users the flexibility to pursue game quests or simply wander the countryside to experience the sheer size of the rich world they created and interact with the creatures who inhabit it. Each new TES chapter advances the genre. It is understandable that The ElderAmazing scope that pushes every interactive boundary. There is a reason that Bethesda owns the RPG genre. They have allowed users the flexibility to pursue game quests or simply wander the countryside to experience the sheer size of the rich world they created and interact with the creatures who inhabit it. Each new TES chapter advances the genre. It is understandable that The Elder Scrolls has become the reference work against which all others are measured. Kudos to Bethesda. Expand
  11. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Best RPG I've ever played. I try to never over-hype games, because in doing so, the game might not live up to your expectations... I was clearly wrong, as up until the very last night I bought the game, I didn't give a crap about buying this, then it hit me. This game turned out to be better than I could ever imagine, just filled with endless content and mysteries. You've never explored orBest RPG I've ever played. I try to never over-hype games, because in doing so, the game might not live up to your expectations... I was clearly wrong, as up until the very last night I bought the game, I didn't give a crap about buying this, then it hit me. This game turned out to be better than I could ever imagine, just filled with endless content and mysteries. You've never explored or done everything. Though, the game does have its problems... I get annoyed at how I can't see where my follower is on my map at all times, and how when he/she dies, it doesn't notify me. I've also got blocked from continuing quests briefly, but somehow I always found a roundabout to continue it if the AI messed up, but still makes me very nervous.

    The quality 'and' quantity you get for only $60 overrules the bugs, every single one of 'em. This game gets a 10/10, and deserves nothing but a 10.
    Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is seriously amazing! i dont understand what type of person would rate this game negatively?? The sound, graphics, gameplay - its all pure beauty. Best money i have ever spent!
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    An awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small letAn awesome adventure game for... well... everyone. New beautiful graphics, Npc are very much enhanced, and the sound, atmosphere of the wilderness combined with the music just epic. This game of course has bugs but they are over come with the massive epicness which the game brings. And besides some of the bugs are even useful and don't effect the game. The only thing i found a small let down was the main story line. The ending wasn't as huge as i was expecting it to be. But all in all the other Quests like Dark Brotherhood and the civil war amazing. I think this game deserves the game of the year award. Expand
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Oh. My. God. This game is incredible. It has to be, hands down one of the single greatest gaming experiences of my life. This and the first time I played CoD: 4 multiplayer (the series has gone down-hill yes) would have to be my two top gaming moments. I literally do not know how anyone could even mildly fault this game, the graphics are not ABSOLUTELY perfect I admit, but when you takeOh. My. God. This game is incredible. It has to be, hands down one of the single greatest gaming experiences of my life. This and the first time I played CoD: 4 multiplayer (the series has gone down-hill yes) would have to be my two top gaming moments. I literally do not know how anyone could even mildly fault this game, the graphics are not ABSOLUTELY perfect I admit, but when you take into account the sheer scale of this game it is completely justified. Most definitely Game of the Year in my books. Expand
  15. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I had never played Morrowind. I had barely played Oblivion, it hardly interested me. And yet i had a hunch about Skyrim. That hunch has paid off immensely. I just can't put the game down every time I pick it up: and rather than sending you down a narrow path of epic story, it opens up a gigantic world built from the ground up of epic. How much do I like this game? I want to experienceI had never played Morrowind. I had barely played Oblivion, it hardly interested me. And yet i had a hunch about Skyrim. That hunch has paid off immensely. I just can't put the game down every time I pick it up: and rather than sending you down a narrow path of epic story, it opens up a gigantic world built from the ground up of epic. How much do I like this game? I want to experience everything with my character I've created, and yet I want to create at least three more characters. Skyrim is so immersible, and I love it. Expand
  16. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    All people who hate this game need to stfu they are clearly the minority here. This game in my opinion is one of the best that we have seen in a awhile.
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced.Skyrim can be described by just one word, beautiful. It has everything I would look for in a game. It has hundreds of hours in game play value and fun leveling system with a impressive ice perk setup for every time you level up in the game. There are several monsters to kill and a ton of gear and loot to discover. I've already put in 40+ hours into this game it is still really fast paced. There is an infinite amount of quests (literally, the game makes new quests as you go) and they are all very fun to complete. Dragons in this game look stunning to say the least. Overall this is close to being the best game I have ever played, easy 10/10. The only thing I could wish for is a co-op mode because a lot of my friends have this game it's always more fun with friends. Expand
  18. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    First off, haters watch the video " if you hate skyrim, watch this video " on youtube please.This game may be the best game ever. Everything about it is fantastic. Sure, there are some very small bugs, but they don't even matter because everything else is done perfectly. There are no other open world games with this much to do or with this much detail, the graphics are the best than anyFirst off, haters watch the video " if you hate skyrim, watch this video " on youtube please.This game may be the best game ever. Everything about it is fantastic. Sure, there are some very small bugs, but they don't even matter because everything else is done perfectly. There are no other open world games with this much to do or with this much detail, the graphics are the best than any rpg or open world game has ever seen, the game is huge and offers so much to do, and the musical score is fantastic. I understand that people have different opinions and taste, but the haters that have written reviews scoring it 5 or below are either just really imature or ignorant because even if u don't like it, there is nothing horrible about SKYRIm. In fact, there is a video on youtube the hatere must watch its call........" if you hate skyrim, watch this video " check it out please. Expand
  19. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Truly a remarkable experience, the game exceeded my expectations by a long run. The changes that were made between Elder Scrolls IV and Skyrim are really well thought out. From start to finish there are always surprises as you walk through the dynamic environment of the land. Chose your side and fight! I could barely leave once I started playing this game.
  20. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is it. This game has it all, its the alpha and omega of RPG'S,and in my book deserves all the praise it can get... Nuff said,i'm of to Skyrim PS : The only thing that seemed to strike me as unusual (at least untill i got very much used to it and delighted later as i got deeper in the world) was the mixed OST from Morrowind and Oblivion,not that there's anything wrong with that :D
  21. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    From the very first moment the game has you engaged and throws you into a world you're dying to find out more about. The combat is fluid and the story is engaging. Skyrim is one of the biggest games i've seen all year, often I would go and do a side quest only to gain 4 more quests along the way, then 2 more for each of those etc etc. A few bugs hinder the experience but on the same note aFrom the very first moment the game has you engaged and throws you into a world you're dying to find out more about. The combat is fluid and the story is engaging. Skyrim is one of the biggest games i've seen all year, often I would go and do a side quest only to gain 4 more quests along the way, then 2 more for each of those etc etc. A few bugs hinder the experience but on the same note a few of them make for good comedy, such as the Skyrim space program. The PC version of the game suffers from the consoles poorly designed menu system. You'll soon get used to it but for those of you who are dedicated PC gamers, you'll find yourself quickly infuriated. I recommend this game for anyone, even people who've never even played an Elder scrolls game before. The game is just pure Adventure fantasy fun. Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    best game there is around. Beautiful graphics and great game play. this game could definteley be able to occupy anybody for over a year and not have them waste money on any other game
  23. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I purchased Skyrim on launch day, and once I started up the game, there were no load times, no advertisements, no logos besides Bethesda's but a clean interface going straight to the menu screen and new game. Starting and playing the game itself is like living in a fantasy world. The music, sounds, graphics and everything make you feel totally immersed. This game is improved from OblivionI purchased Skyrim on launch day, and once I started up the game, there were no load times, no advertisements, no logos besides Bethesda's but a clean interface going straight to the menu screen and new game. Starting and playing the game itself is like living in a fantasy world. The music, sounds, graphics and everything make you feel totally immersed. This game is improved from Oblivion in every way because there are no game breaking bugs, crashes, graphic, or performance issues, and the ones that they do have are very minor and can be patched. I have played about 35 hours so far and I can say that this game is a masterpiece. I have only been to one city so far and have been doing quests only in that city. I have not even gone through half of the quests yet as I have a long list of things to do, and each quest doesn't feel generic like other RPGs' fetch quests and kill quests. There are 8 more holds in the game, so I know I can expect much more than the 300 hours Bethesda advertised. Overall, I can't even begin to describe what this game offers and how much you can do in it while having so much fun. Expand
  24. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Although there are a few annoyances, it never goes beyond that. They are few and far between and most of the time you're having too much fun to even care about them. As close to perfect as I have seen in a long time. This made me trade in MW3 because there's simply no time to play that other piece of ****
  25. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is 100% the best game have ever played. Its just so long you get great value for money and all the different ways you can do everything and all the collectibles this game will take you months to complete. The combat is very good to giving you satisfaction when you kill something. I don't know how you could give this game less than 10 it is a must have
  26. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    It is what it is. I am writing this after my 5th or so game ending bug. Infinite load screens, broken quests, and ugly overlapping sound issues about. It's not a BAD game, but it IS too large, way too buggy, and overall FEELS like Fallout 3 with a coat of fantasy paint (not the nicest coat I might add). Overall I got swept up in the hype and had to have it. As I finish writing this, IIt is what it is. I am writing this after my 5th or so game ending bug. Infinite load screens, broken quests, and ugly overlapping sound issues about. It's not a BAD game, but it IS too large, way too buggy, and overall FEELS like Fallout 3 with a coat of fantasy paint (not the nicest coat I might add). Overall I got swept up in the hype and had to have it. As I finish writing this, I am going to pop Dark Souls back in and REALLY be transported to another world. I'm sure I will come back to Skyrim sometime, but right now, this is just SUB freaking PAR. Expand
  27. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is quite possibly the best game ever made! 70 hours into it and I'm still finding new things to do and the thing that really gets me is that of the over 300 dungeons in the game, none of the ones I've been to have been just re-skinned, they are all original! Mad Props to Bethesda!! Using my MW3 disc as a coaster to hold my beer!!!
  28. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest (if not the greatest) games I have ever had the privilege of playing. Never took the time to even write a few sentences worth of a review for a video game before but this is one game you do not want to miss. I had never played any of the Elder Scrolls games before and was highly skeptical of this one when it came out but because of the overwhelming number of positiveOne of the greatest (if not the greatest) games I have ever had the privilege of playing. Never took the time to even write a few sentences worth of a review for a video game before but this is one game you do not want to miss. I had never played any of the Elder Scrolls games before and was highly skeptical of this one when it came out but because of the overwhelming number of positive reviews I decided to give it a try...least to say I'm glad that I did. Buy this game now. Expand
  29. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Don't get fooled by all the review, this game does not deserve a 10 cause it's not perfect. It has a few bugs and glitches and some other minors problems. But overall, you should really check this game out cause it's a lot of fun and you actually get for what you paid ( from 100 to 300 hours of gameplay and more )
  30. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    The best game ever created. Simple as that. Whether you want to compare this game to other RPGs or any other genre, Bethesad has cemented themselves as the based developers in the business. Truly a monumentous achievment in gaming. Kudos to you guys and please continue to take my money, I will be happy to dish out as long as you keep creating games like this.
  31. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):(: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ):(: ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): : ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ): ) Expand
  32. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    I rate this game 8.5 and here's why

    Lets start with graphics, overall I think it satisfied my needs in this game. Although, there are parts that doesnt look right, maybe a little patch would fix the problems. The graphics is outdated though, we are looking towards 2012, and the graphics looks like from 2010, not saying it was bad but I guess its the lack of budget in creating a perfect
    I rate this game 8.5 and here's why

    Lets start with graphics, overall I think it satisfied my needs in this game. Although, there are parts that doesnt look right, maybe a little patch would fix the problems. The graphics is outdated though, we are looking towards 2012, and the graphics looks like from 2010, not saying it was bad but I guess its the lack of budget in creating a perfect game engine.

    Gameplay:
    Unbreakable pots, surroundings, coming from BF3, I'd actually would like to destroy stuff (not buildings) but I want to crack some rocks and pots, plates and glasses - but that opportunity is not available in Skyrim. You can't attack while mounting which is ridiculous, your companion doesn't ride with you when you are on your horse + your companion takes a different path you take which leads to him/her being left alone. These are the only ones that I didn't like the most, the rest are good.

    Sound:
    Better than before, but wouldn't hurt to have more. It's kinda boring hearing the same sound everytime. Maybe next time they should have different background music for every city, houses, and so on.

    Overall:

    The whole game is a bug, it feels like its a beta of an upcoming game from the producers. As of now, I've spent a 100 hours (>_> just being modest here, I spent more) meaning this game is totally worth your time. You can read books, farm, smith, become a cook, merchant, thief - the only thing here missing is to become a prostitute or a gigolo (which is coming up in their next game hopefully).

    Buy this game, don't rent it. If you play this on master legitly you will spend your money's worth.
    Expand
  33. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    this game is awesome - simply awesome. it has everything my adventure heart desires. i wish wow or rift would have elements this game has thought about. the graphics are immensely involving, the story is inspiring and the characters feel real. i have been playing this for 15 hours now and i cant stop thinking of continuing my adventure. i work full time so i have limited time to play. ifthis game is awesome - simply awesome. it has everything my adventure heart desires. i wish wow or rift would have elements this game has thought about. the graphics are immensely involving, the story is inspiring and the characters feel real. i have been playing this for 15 hours now and i cant stop thinking of continuing my adventure. i work full time so i have limited time to play. if you love epic adventures, do not hesitate, buy it now. Expand
  34. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. And this is coming from someone who didn't like Oblivion much (probably because I played Fallout 3 first). The thing is, this game has everything going for it. The graphics and textures are amazing, the soundtrack is great, the gameplay is fun, and the story is engrossing. Combine these features with the limitless ways to play Skyrim, and youEasily one of the best games I've ever played. And this is coming from someone who didn't like Oblivion much (probably because I played Fallout 3 first). The thing is, this game has everything going for it. The graphics and textures are amazing, the soundtrack is great, the gameplay is fun, and the story is engrossing. Combine these features with the limitless ways to play Skyrim, and you have an amazingly addictive game. There's just so much to see and do in this game. Want to be a mage? Got it. How about a warrior? Got it. How about a mage/warrior/archer/necromancer/potion-making blacksmith? Yeah, you get the picture. And the combat/differentiation in classes is very balanced as well, there's no one obvious style to use since they are all good. There are 10 races to choose from at the beginning as well, but fear not, as your choice does not effect the type of character you become, only your actions do that. Great game, overall. Expand
  35. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I wish that this game wasn't released at the same time as MW3 as I have to split time between them. If I did not have to sleep I would play this game 24/7. It is the best RPG that I have played. It has everything, good graphics, depth, personality and an addictive game-play that does not let you go. The replay value is high and I cannot wait to finish it and get some DLC.
  36. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best game I have ever played. Giving an ultra realistic sense of you being in the game and with fantastic attention to detail, skyrim slowly sucks the player in making the hours feel like seconds. The gameplay is fun, the rewards are...well rewarding, and the overall sense of adventure is always there. Although it is plagued by a few bugs, none of them affected by overallSkyrim is the best game I have ever played. Giving an ultra realistic sense of you being in the game and with fantastic attention to detail, skyrim slowly sucks the player in making the hours feel like seconds. The gameplay is fun, the rewards are...well rewarding, and the overall sense of adventure is always there. Although it is plagued by a few bugs, none of them affected by overall feeling for the game. Anyone who owns a 360 should definitely buy this game. Expand
  37. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    A Definite Game Of The Year Competitor,If not already,winner.The leveling system is vastly superior to its predecessor "Oblivion" and the game strives to solve most problems.if not all,encountered in oblivion.Regardless of storyline,the game features an epic 300+ Hours of Game-play and DLC on the way!You can't ask much more of a game.
  38. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    A véleményem elsÅ
  39. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    A significant improvement over Oblivion's non-responsive melee combat and the "stroke victim" expressions on all of the characters. The wild world is a treat to wander about--stepping off of the main road and poking around in hidden glades and snowy crags and the unexpected surprises that come with off-roading it. Character advancement is engrossing and always filled with tough choicesA significant improvement over Oblivion's non-responsive melee combat and the "stroke victim" expressions on all of the characters. The wild world is a treat to wander about--stepping off of the main road and poking around in hidden glades and snowy crags and the unexpected surprises that come with off-roading it. Character advancement is engrossing and always filled with tough choices regarding which talents to bump up - so much so that it begs for multiple plays with totally different character builds. A few bugs and glitches are evident and the game occasionally "cheats" (such as making some NPCs unkillable no matter how well you beat them down) but I can overlook that stuff in such a vast, densely packed game. Expand
  40. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is the best rpg ever made since baldurs gate 1 and 2 (period). the gameplay , music and the long hours of fun and entertainment really make this game the best of its genre and giving itself unlimited replayability . if you have played oblivion you should definately play skyrim because it is way better . do not worry about the glitches bethesda will be releasing a fix through its firstThis is the best rpg ever made since baldurs gate 1 and 2 (period). the gameplay , music and the long hours of fun and entertainment really make this game the best of its genre and giving itself unlimited replayability . if you have played oblivion you should definately play skyrim because it is way better . do not worry about the glitches bethesda will be releasing a fix through its first expansion. skyrim is not just a game it is an experience you will never forget . Expand
  41. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    One of my top 5 xbox 360 games was Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. I think to date I've put in around 200 hours on it, which for me, is nearly unthinkable, the only other games that come close are Final Fantasy VII/VIII/IX.
    Skyrim...first of all let me say that I for one have encountered none of the bugs and glitches that have plagued many gamer's experiences, therefore I cannot comment on
    One of my top 5 xbox 360 games was Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. I think to date I've put in around 200 hours on it, which for me, is nearly unthinkable, the only other games that come close are Final Fantasy VII/VIII/IX.
    Skyrim...first of all let me say that I for one have encountered none of the bugs and glitches that have plagued many gamer's experiences, therefore I cannot comment on those. My experience so far has been one of immersion on a scale I havent felt since I first purchased Oblivion all those years ago. The new combat system is a great addition allowing you to duel-wield sword and spell, or for added fun, equip spells to both hands to create a charged super spell :D
    The inventory is admittedly a bit clunky and swapping between magic and a sword/shield combo could have been made easier, but I'm just niggling really.

    The size of the game world and the detail that has gone into it really shows that Bethesda still know how to wow their own fans. Textures could be better but for the size of the open world, you shouldnt expect Battlefield here..

    Quests are varied and interesting and the return of the various guilds is welcome as they reward you greatly for veering off from the main story arc, which is something other RPG's fail to do.

    All in all I can see this taking another of my top 5 xbox 360 game slots. While its still early days, I can see that this is a game that will keep giving. Also, if Bethesda plan DLC along the lines of Oblivion's epic 'Shivering Isles' then its a game that will continue to give, for years to come.

    10/10
    Expand
  42. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Best cRPG since baldurs gate ( for me ofc), long time no see so epic story with very nice grafic side and AWESOM music ( to bad only 5 of them are in cd ). One thing need to be said - TES V need some pach to smoth a few bug and it will be perfect. Im 40 hours in game and i cant stop play, I hope it gona be at least 300h to finish entire game. GJ Bethesda!
  43. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game is the best and it rocks. It's the least buggiest game to come out at this time. With BF3 being buggy and populated by non existent team work and no voice users, then the appalling user score of COD this is the game for you. The dragon fighting mechanics is awesome. Give it a go. It has such an awesome score for a reason.
  44. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I already spend 20+ hours in this fantastic world an i am amazed! The world feels real, its simply the best RPG i ever played. Hopefully the little Bugs here and there will get fixed soon, but even WITH those Bugs, the Game is simply wonderful!
  45. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to see how this could be improved upon. The characters, stories and environments are all matchless; combat is fun and involving, and even just running around is a pleasure. Having spent hundreds of hours in Morrowind and Cyrodiil it's already clear to me that I'll be spending even more time in Skyrim.
  46. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This game was....err I mean is one of the single best looking games to date! I mean it is 10x's better then Oblivion in way of looks. Plus I feel they didn't under-do or over-do the dragon element, the engagements between dragons is common but not to the point where it becomes tedious. I also really like how Bethesda upped the fickleness of the lock picking... much improved to that ofThis game was....err I mean is one of the single best looking games to date! I mean it is 10x's better then Oblivion in way of looks. Plus I feel they didn't under-do or over-do the dragon element, the engagements between dragons is common but not to the point where it becomes tedious. I also really like how Bethesda upped the fickleness of the lock picking... much improved to that of Fallout or even the dreadful lock picking mini game in Oblivion. The new menu system is a big improvement, and the commonness of gold is greatly apreciated, over all I think that Skyrim is a huge step forward compared to Oblivion, and Fallout.... Fallout New Vegas almost made me lose faith in Bethesda, but Skyrim brought it back. Can't even fathom what the next Elderscrolls is going to do, to take it to a hole 'notha level Expand
  47. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    This game is very hard to review, because if i were to review it part by part instead of as a whole i think i would get a bad review. Its a game with tons of glitches but if you can look passed them you will find a masterpiece of a game. I have played it like 30 hrs and have done absolutely nothing other than explore lol. This game also has some of the best music iv hard in a video game ,This game is very hard to review, because if i were to review it part by part instead of as a whole i think i would get a bad review. Its a game with tons of glitches but if you can look passed them you will find a masterpiece of a game. I have played it like 30 hrs and have done absolutely nothing other than explore lol. This game also has some of the best music iv hard in a video game , and it aint hard on the eyes either . Fighting up close is improved but it still feels weird but this game is more about exploration. Its not perfect but do yourselves a favor and give a shot, you wont be disappointed Expand
  48. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Yes, yes, yes.
    GET THIS GAME! Where do i start. The new engine looks amazing in action, there is an endless (literally) amount of content.
    (Once again i stress ENDLESS) and its going to F**** UP YOUR LIFE! You play as a Dragonborn who can perform "Shouts". You start of about to be excecuted before *Not going to spoil*. After that your thrust into a world with infinite possiblities. Murder
    Yes, yes, yes.
    GET THIS GAME! Where do i start. The new engine looks amazing in action, there is an endless (literally) amount of content.
    (Once again i stress ENDLESS) and its going to F**** UP YOUR LIFE!
    You play as a Dragonborn who can perform "Shouts". You start of about to be excecuted before *Not going to spoil*. After that your thrust into a world with infinite possiblities. Murder everyone? Go help village people?

    To steal from elras, It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games. Its exactly that. Go do your PC, Xbox or PS3 proud and GET THIS GAME! Even if your not into this sort of stuff, it just may convert you.
    Expand
  49. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim will have you hacking away the hours of your day with a sleek, brilliantly designed blade crafted in the legendary forge that is the Bethesda studio. As with the previous instalments of the Elder Scrolls series, Skyrim exceeds all expectations and never ceases to amaze with itâ
  50. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Bethesda has yet again raised the bar for the role-playing genre, i've been waiting for this game since i drained every ounce of content from oblivion and i am happy to say that it lived up to my expectations. If your looking for an rpg that does dragons right, making them fierce and scary then this is the game for you. As a side note i have read many reviews of people saying: "i beat thisBethesda has yet again raised the bar for the role-playing genre, i've been waiting for this game since i drained every ounce of content from oblivion and i am happy to say that it lived up to my expectations. If your looking for an rpg that does dragons right, making them fierce and scary then this is the game for you. As a side note i have read many reviews of people saying: "i beat this game in a day so disappointing." well to them i say: You were obviously playing on some other difficulty than master because i've logged about 50 hours in on the "master" difficulty and it's incredibly challenging even with a companion by my side i worry about keeping enough potion and having the best spells and equipment i can, and the sound of a dragon at night or in a snow storm is **** terrifying! so my advice especially if you love a challenge play on the "master" difficulty setting and you will not be disappointing. Happy gaming! Expand
  51. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Outstanding, brings back a lot of the Morrowind feel and fixes everything from Oblivion. A game that can be played over and over and you'll always find new things. Graphics and music are incredible. Dragon fights are fun and terrifying, new skills work well, combat is actually fun and doesn't feel like you're waving chopsticks around, world is MASSIVE and their is so much to find, lots ofOutstanding, brings back a lot of the Morrowind feel and fixes everything from Oblivion. A game that can be played over and over and you'll always find new things. Graphics and music are incredible. Dragon fights are fun and terrifying, new skills work well, combat is actually fun and doesn't feel like you're waving chopsticks around, world is MASSIVE and their is so much to find, lots of surprises (For new and old Elder Scrolls fans) to be found. Just travelling from town to town is an epic journey. The people rating this game low because SOME texture issues and some twitchy animations? Pathetic. There is no denying this game is a masterpiece. Game of the year doesn't cut it, how about best game ever created? Expand
  52. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Not too much to say. Map is huge. Hours upon end of exploration. Combat system works perfect. Storyline is fun and gets the player involved with decision choices, plenty of side quests to do and skills to improve. This game is one to buy, impossible to get bored. 10/10
  53. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is the most amazing game I have ever played. Ever. There is such an overwhelming amount of content in this one disc, an amount that has yet to be duplicated on a game with four discs! The landscape is insanely diverse and beautiful. Girlfriend, say goodbye ;)
  54. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece. The absolute pinnacle of gaming, allowing unparalleled freedom, amazing storytelling, and fantastic game play. All games should strive to be this immersive.
  55. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I've been a gamer for over 20 years and this is easily the best RPG I've ever played (and I've played lots). The amount of work Bethesda has put in to create the world of Skyrim is mind boggling. When you find yourself spending the best part of an hour reading books IN THE GAME you know its something special.

    I could write 10,000 words on why this game is the best of year, and arguably
    I've been a gamer for over 20 years and this is easily the best RPG I've ever played (and I've played lots). The amount of work Bethesda has put in to create the world of Skyrim is mind boggling. When you find yourself spending the best part of an hour reading books IN THE GAME you know its something special.

    I could write 10,000 words on why this game is the best of year, and arguably of this generation, but my time is better spent adventuring in Skyrim.
    Expand
  56. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    In one word: superb:)
    Yes, the game has it's bugs, glitches and somewhat low resolution textures (xbox360)... after my game started I was bitterly disappointed with graphics, until the gaming actually started:) and suddenly they didn't matter anymore:)
    If sandbox, rpg, free-rein games are your cup of tea, if you dream about killing dragons, swinging massive 2handers or burning your
    In one word: superb:)
    Yes, the game has it's bugs, glitches and somewhat low resolution textures (xbox360)... after my game started I was bitterly disappointed with graphics, until the gaming actually started:) and suddenly they didn't matter anymore:)
    If sandbox, rpg, free-rein games are your cup of tea, if you dream about killing dragons, swinging massive 2handers or burning your enemies with flames, lightning or ice this IS game you were waiting for...
    Amazing
    Expand
  57. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This truly is a great game,but you have to look past some flaws. the game suffers from long load times, very long in some cases. Animations are great, when they work, they often get spoiled by some bad AI( which thankfully does not translate to bad enemy AI, but it also needs some fine tuning). Auto saving becomes an issue when it doesn't save enough and if you die you are sent back to the beginning of a 5-10 minute trip. Textures aren't high quality when close up by any means. render distances get annoying when in an open area and being able to see grass "grow" ahead of you. Also some small issues, like mammoths flying in the air, and 3rd person issues (like usual). But don't let those deter you from this amazing game with very fun gameplay. The combat is very nice and actually provides excitement when fighting a dragon or boss and gives you a sense of accomplishment when you have won. The death animations the play are very nice and gruesome, though they often "break". The game, while frustrating, manages to be very rewarding. Somehow even after dying 2 times on an already 10 minute trip, once you reach your destination, the game still manages to feel rewarding. The plot, while at time generic, can add a fun "backbone" to the game. The music is beautifully compose and works well with the mood of the story. The RPG element takes a que from some complaints of Oblivion and offers a very dynamic experience. Every weapon/armor/ability/etc. you use will level up independently, once enough of those levels are reached then you level up giving you the choice to increase your magica/health/stamina. Also with every level up you unlock more points to spend on your "skill trees/constellation" these are specific to individual abilities and give you various advantages. This is a very simple mechanic and makes it so you don't have to spend hours buried in menus. Overall this game gets a 9 because its cons add up to a sometimes frustrating, but very fun experience. Expand
  58. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Whoever has brought this game knows you will be sucked into the world and have an astounding time, the depth in detail to this game blows me away, dont get turned away because its a role playing game i dont usually like these types of games but you get so immersed into the game. Not only GOTY but to me best game i have ever played and i have played the classics on PS1, PS2 and Nintendo 64Whoever has brought this game knows you will be sucked into the world and have an astounding time, the depth in detail to this game blows me away, dont get turned away because its a role playing game i dont usually like these types of games but you get so immersed into the game. Not only GOTY but to me best game i have ever played and i have played the classics on PS1, PS2 and Nintendo 64 THATS HOW GOOD THIS GAME IS!! Expand
  59. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Skyrim lives up to my expectations, and competes with Morrowind, my favorite elder scroll game. The story is set in an extremely immersed world that really feels like it is alive and the story itself is beautiful. There are a few glitches in the game, but it is not a problem that diminishes one's experience in Skyrim. The combat system works great, but there can be annoyances when gettingSkyrim lives up to my expectations, and competes with Morrowind, my favorite elder scroll game. The story is set in an extremely immersed world that really feels like it is alive and the story itself is beautiful. There are a few glitches in the game, but it is not a problem that diminishes one's experience in Skyrim. The combat system works great, but there can be annoyances when getting to the items, magic, map, and skill menu only because sometimes the game does not register where you want to go. All you have to do is exit and re-enter, which is not a problem during combat because the game pauses itself. The textures when observed up close do not have the utterly beautiful quality some were hoping for, but I am not distraught because that would increase load times and the world is beautiful. The NPCs in Skyrim actually feel like they are people rather than simple programs waiting to be spoken to. The endless amounts of side quests and hidden goodies in the game are endless offering a truly unlimited amount of replay-ability. The perk tree is reminiscent of Fallout 3, which is great, because it gives you the desire to create different characters and specialize in different areas at each play through of the game. I recommend this to any fan of the Elder Scrolls series, rpg fan, or someone who just loves a great story in a game. The waring I give to you is that once you start you will constantly be picking up the controller attempting to find new powers and go on quests to defeat the dragons that have reappeared in Skyrim. Expand
  60. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    In a nutshell The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an AMAZING game, the world is huge and full of things to keep you occupied, the combat is grate and with loads of weapons to find and spells to master, there is a lot to do in this game. The game starts as you as a prisoner who is about to face a execution for been suspected as a rebel, well to cut a long story short a Dragon comes and tearsIn a nutshell The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is an AMAZING game, the world is huge and full of things to keep you occupied, the combat is grate and with loads of weapons to find and spells to master, there is a lot to do in this game. The game starts as you as a prisoner who is about to face a execution for been suspected as a rebel, well to cut a long story short a Dragon comes and tears the town apart you find out that you Dragonborn. I don't what to spoil the story for you so i'll stop there. There are side-quest and other objectives to do and you can join the many diffident gilds to join, so if the main-quest is getting boring for you there still hundreds of hours of gameplay here. Skyrim also has a Minecraft style way of making new armor and weapons, you get a pick-axe find some ore or a animal, dig it up or kill it , melt it down and craft the armor you want out if it. Since this is a RPG there is a leveling up system, in this game you gain skill from preforming tasks e.g. Fighting with diffident weapons, Making potions, Using magic, Picking locks .etc. Each task is connected to a skill e.g. One-Handed, Destruction, Pick locking .etc. After you do so many tasks you Level Up, this is where you can Pick a Perk. These Perks can help you with you combat, magic or to make people like you. There are lots of places to explore in Skyrim, you can find anything from a steam-punk style Dungeon or a traditional cave, On your explorations you will run in to the most coolest ting about this game DRAGONS, i mean think about it, just waling around and suddenly a dragon come screaming over you and lands and lets out a all mighty roar, once you hear that you know your in for a fight. Once you killed the dragon you can absorb its soil that can be used to unlock shouts. Shouts are special spells that don't drain you magic bar but still take time to recharge, shouts consists of 3 words, words can be given in a quest or found for just wondering the world, that start of weak but once you can master it with all 3 words you are unstoppable. there are some minor bad points about the game, there are some rather weird bugs and sometimes the combat can feel a bit flimsy, but with the bad points aside this is still the best game i have played in 2011. if you haven already gone out and got the game then you should its worth the money and i know it came out on the same week as that big shooter game but that's no reason to give this one a miss. and if you not into this kind of game or not a fan of the other games in the series then give it a go if you don't like it trade in and go back to games you like playing. To me its AWESOME lots to do and dragons to kill. Prefect Score. Expand
  61. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Great Game, despite what people say who must not realize that Elder Scrolls came before fallout. Great Campaign, nice art work, interesting new design for almost all of the items, also the new alchemy, and other abilities like smiting are a nice touch. I already put quite a good amount of hours into the game and I can see myself putting another hundred or so hours at least per character inGreat Game, despite what people say who must not realize that Elder Scrolls came before fallout. Great Campaign, nice art work, interesting new design for almost all of the items, also the new alchemy, and other abilities like smiting are a nice touch. I already put quite a good amount of hours into the game and I can see myself putting another hundred or so hours at least per character in this game. Expand
  62. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible and deserves nothing less than a 10. People who rate lower have obviously never played a Bethesda game and don't realize the enormous scale of Skyrim. It is beautiful and well done. No doubt there are bugs but they are few and don't effect the experience what so ever. Buy this game so Bethesda will continue to make great RPG's.
  63. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm usually not one to give out 10s since the "perfect" video game can never exist, but Skyrim's excellence is far to great for me to score it anything lower. I've never played any of the other Elder Scrolls games since I'm not a huge RPG fan, but I saw the hype on the internet and among friends about Skyrim and decided I'd pick it up. Since doing that I've barely been able to put itI'm usually not one to give out 10s since the "perfect" video game can never exist, but Skyrim's excellence is far to great for me to score it anything lower. I've never played any of the other Elder Scrolls games since I'm not a huge RPG fan, but I saw the hype on the internet and among friends about Skyrim and decided I'd pick it up. Since doing that I've barely been able to put it down. In fact, the only reason I'm not playing it all the time is because I have a ton of school work to get done; otherwise, I'd be all over it. Skyrim has GOTY written all over it. Please, do NOT be discouraged if you aren't usually a fan of RPGs. I'm not either for the most part (the only exception before Skyrim was Mass Effect 1/2). However, Skyrim changed all that for me. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves games. This is a must-buy. Expand
  64. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs of all time, and I don't think I can say what hasn't already been said. The dragon battles are exhilarating, the atmosphere is amazing, the characters are memorable...just a great overall experience.
  65. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Sometimes starry eyed optimism is necessary to become immersed in an RPG, but not with Skyrim. With this game you are rewarded with a rich story for the spontaneous decisions you make and winding paths you tread towards your destination. "Oblivion expansion pack" accusations are tiring, as much has been improved here beyond a graphical overhaul.

    NPC interaction is much less of a chore.
    Sometimes starry eyed optimism is necessary to become immersed in an RPG, but not with Skyrim. With this game you are rewarded with a rich story for the spontaneous decisions you make and winding paths you tread towards your destination. "Oblivion expansion pack" accusations are tiring, as much has been improved here beyond a graphical overhaul.

    NPC interaction is much less of a chore. While I got a sense of satisfaction playing the speechcraft mini game in Oblivion to obtain better prices or information, its necessity caused it to be a time sink - I don't miss it.

    Interface is pleasingly minimal compared to Oblivion. Main quests are separated from a "Miscellaneous" category which allows my sanity to stay in tact as I accumulate a pile of them in the first town of Whiterun. Beyond that, every button (aside from the joysticks) can be remapped as you please. Such a simple freedom, but sometimes makes all the difference. The "Favorite" button follows the form of the interface being an easy way to quickly swap frequently used items.

    One gripe I do have is that poisons still seem too awkward to use regularly. I'd really like to see a "poison queue" option so I could select concoctions to be automatically applied to whatever equipped weapon I was using at the time until the entire queue ran dry. And perhaps even a little indicator to show when a new one had been auto-applied. Another problem I have is the inability to go beyond the "follow" and "wait" commands for companions. I would really like Passive/Aggressive/Defensive stances so that I don't have to do as much micromanagement.

    Now Skyrim is very much like Oblivion in many ways, but I think it's unfair to use this as leverage against it. I enjoyed Oblivion thoroughly even though I hardly made it halfway through the main quest line. For the same reason, I have thoroughly enjoyed Skyrim so far as the immersion has been deeper for me. Ultimately, an RPG does require some effort on the player's part to become part of the story - to be invested in their character. This isn't a shooting gallery type of game where you're a track expecting to be entertained by cinematic pomp and circumstance that would make Michael Bay blush. It's a role-playing game that does a fantastic job of urging you to be invested in your own story through its setting in a vibrant world and organic leveling system allowing you to choose your path as you progress rather than as a weighted decision at character creation. In short, suspend cynicism and enjoy this game with the patience you would give to a good book - it deserves it.
    Expand
  66. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Best RPG ever. Beautiful visuals, interesting quests, great music. If you like RPG's this is a must have. Now - what to do with the family for the next three months?
  67. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is easily the most fun I have had playing a game in a very long time. I have yet to encounter a dragon because I left the main quest rather early. Nevertheless, the scenery is beautiful, the encounters engaging and the slow motion for a critical kill is just amazing.
  68. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. Follow the main quest, or don't. Be a law abiding citizen, or don't. So much to do, the choices are nearly endless. It's not often I don't have a bit of buyers remorse paying full retail release day prices, but that's never the case with a Elder Scrolls game. Skyrim continues that trend.
  69. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is the very definition of Masterpiece. It almost is more of a second world than a game. There have been very few glitches in my play time, which was a huge concern.

    Stop reading and go play this game.
  70. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Greatest/Best Game of all time

    End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion
  71. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is literally the best game I have ever had the pleasure to play. I've made several different characters and spent well over 50 hours in the game yet I still haven't explored even 20% of what this game has to offer. It's truly a labor of love that shouldn't be missed. If there's only one game you can pick up this season it has to be TES 5 Skyrim, GOTY for sure!
  72. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. The graphics and art are amazing and the amount of stuff you can do is incredible. I would recommend this RPG to anyone who wants to play one of the best games in the RPG category to date.
  73. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Some people really have missed the point of this game. Yes, it's buggy, but I'd love to see anyone create a game this large, this in-depth and have the time to sort out every bug in the game in time for a release date. Then there's the people complaining about the interface: It took some getting used to, but I've managed to navigate the UI fine now. Then there was that one guy who said itSome people really have missed the point of this game. Yes, it's buggy, but I'd love to see anyone create a game this large, this in-depth and have the time to sort out every bug in the game in time for a release date. Then there's the people complaining about the interface: It took some getting used to, but I've managed to navigate the UI fine now. Then there was that one guy who said it took itself to seriously: right, I did a quest yesterday involving me getting drunk and ensuing carnage on Skyrim. It was basically like The Hangover: I sold a farmer's goat to a giant, swore at some monks and angered a witch by saying I'd marry her and then called it off.
    Oh, and the people who say "it's too much like Fallout." YES! FALLOUT WAS BASED ON OBLIVION, THE PREVIOUS GAME IN THE ELDER SCROLLS SERIES! seriously, get your facts right before you mouth off about how supposedly overhyped and bad this game is when it's clearly not. This is probably Bethesda's crown jewel. The game is awesome in almost every way: the gameplay, the story, the RPG elements, the sheer scale of the map in which you get to explore as you see fit right down to mundane things like buying a house and organizing books. Again, I'll repeat, I challenge ANYONE to fix bugs in a game this massive. And for those convincing themselves that the critics have been bribed by Bethesda, go choke on your on phallus. The game is outstanding in every sense of the word, get a grip or get lost.
    Expand
  74. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Skyrim manages to be beautiful, sublime and engrossing all at the same time and i personally would like to congratulate the developers for bringing us this fantastic game.

    Game of the year
  75. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    First off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a hugeFirst off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a huge step up from the previous Bethesda games. This is a amazing game, and is a perfect 10/10. Expand
  76. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. Takes a crap on both Oblivion & Morrowind. It is what Oblivion wished it was. With all the improvements and added content that Oblivion left out. Skyrim is a complete game.
  77. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    I honestly don't see how this game is getting so many 10/10 ratings. Yes its got amazing depth of exploration and I am enjoying playing it. But at the same time I spend most of my time frustrated with the interface and extremely poor mechanics. You have to weather far too much poor implementation than a modern AAA quality game should provide you.
    Great game for its RPG content, extremely
    I honestly don't see how this game is getting so many 10/10 ratings. Yes its got amazing depth of exploration and I am enjoying playing it. But at the same time I spend most of my time frustrated with the interface and extremely poor mechanics. You have to weather far too much poor implementation than a modern AAA quality game should provide you.
    Great game for its RPG content, extremely poor implementation, physics, combat mechanics, voice overs, sound, the list goes on. If you enjoy RPGs like I do it is probably worth the purchase, but its really hard to see how everyone is so blind to the problems.
    Expand
  78. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The best game that I've ever played, when I'm not playing it, I'm thinking about it, when I'm not thinking about it, I'm reading about it. Get this game.
  79. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Only Nintendo fanboys would hate on this game... Really this game deserves a 9/10 because of glitches but with the inflated scoring system these days I'd say it easily deserves 10/10.
  80. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    After some 30 hours in, I am still blown away by how great this game is. It truly is a masterpiece in gaming. One moment you could be scaling an huge mountain, the next plundering the tomb of a long dead king or even fighting to the death with an ancient dragon. The graphics are fantastic and yes there are a few bugs but they are so minor, unless you are intentionally hunting for errorsAfter some 30 hours in, I am still blown away by how great this game is. It truly is a masterpiece in gaming. One moment you could be scaling an huge mountain, the next plundering the tomb of a long dead king or even fighting to the death with an ancient dragon. The graphics are fantastic and yes there are a few bugs but they are so minor, unless you are intentionally hunting for errors because you are another game's fan-boy you very rarely notice them.

    If you are still some how on the fence about buying this game I urge you to do it as soon as possible. Each moment you are spending not in Tamriel (the games setting) is a moment wasted.
    Expand
  81. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I am 43 years old and have been playing games since Pong. The first RPG I ever played was The Bard's Tale for the Commodore 64. This game had me playing for hours on end, and at times realizing that the sun was coming up since I played all night. This game was a joy to play, and I have been looking for that same feeling in a game ever since.
    Skyrim has fulfilled that feeling.
    I get
    I am 43 years old and have been playing games since Pong. The first RPG I ever played was The Bard's Tale for the Commodore 64. This game had me playing for hours on end, and at times realizing that the sun was coming up since I played all night. This game was a joy to play, and I have been looking for that same feeling in a game ever since.
    Skyrim has fulfilled that feeling.
    I get chills when I am trying to sneak past a ghosts in a dungeon. Discovering a new area feels exciting. Opening a chest usually yields something useful or valuable.
    I feel like I am working toward making Skyrim a better place, even when I am not on the main storyline. Anything can happen at any time and usually does.
    I have heard that there are some glitches, and I have had some short pauses from time to time, but this is due to my equipment, not the game.
    Don't tell Bethesda, but they could make more by making half of this game DLC and they could still get 60 bucks for this game. Luckily RPG fans demand more that the average 12yr old playing MW3 where they can get away with cloning a previous release.
    Keep it up Bethesda! Great job.
    Expand
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm 24 hours into the game and so far it absolutely blown me away. I can easily see me beating the 120 odd hours i put into Oblivion. I've come across a few graphically glitches and been stuck in the middle of a mountain once but in a world this sized its excusable.
  83. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I am giving this game a 10 for various reasons. 1 reason is we have haters on here that give this game a 0! I am sorry, no game deserves a ZERO!! The crappiest games should get a 1 or a 2. A zero would mean that it didnt have ANYTHING GOOD ABOUT IT which is not true. 1. The music IS COMPLETELY EPIC. If any of you liked lord of the rings music then you would LOVE the music beingI am giving this game a 10 for various reasons. 1 reason is we have haters on here that give this game a 0! I am sorry, no game deserves a ZERO!! The crappiest games should get a 1 or a 2. A zero would mean that it didnt have ANYTHING GOOD ABOUT IT which is not true. 1. The music IS COMPLETELY EPIC. If any of you liked lord of the rings music then you would LOVE the music being played. Out of the last 2 games, the music is GREAT. The music is what you would expect from a Grade A fantasy movie. The graphics are BEAUTIFUL. Even on the xbox 360 it still stands out. Now, some complain about graphic textures from far away. Let me tell you that the xbox is a 6 year old console. The developers can only improve so much before system limitations get in the way. What gaming rig can actually produce awesome draw distances and cystal clear textures from a far way distance. FEW! That is why it is pointless for the developers to put all this effort in to deter texture distances. Just wait until the next series comes out to where its on a next gen console and latest hardware....you wont have anything to complain about then...but on current hardware, its maxes any machine out. Wait until the next gen ...you will see superior and close to perfection draw distances/distant textures but for right now your machines wont handle it. The world IS HUGE!! There are so many places to explore, side quests and main quests to complete. Some people complain about how big the world is. God, that is the point of a game like this...to be able to get LOST in it and discover something new. Afterall, its an ACTION RPG ADVENTURE!! part of the adventure is exploring and discovering....morons. OF course, you can get a map or game guide and it will help ease any confusion. To me, I suggest not using the game guide or map that much. Just explore and enjoy yourself...the reward is finding and completing quests without any help. The NPCs and enemies look awesome...they are as detailed as you can get on a console or pc of this generation. Character creations is pretty detailed and I have not seen any other open world game to beat it. I made my character look like me or at least resemble me. The UI is good and some say its like fallout. Fine, but how many other fan boy games did you buy that kept the same UI? Stupid thing to complain about! You can zoom into your items and assign spells, weapons, potions and etc to your favorites. Working a job like chopping wood and etc is cool. Fable did the same thing and got praise for it. Cooking food, potion crafting, and smithing is pretty neat as well. Although, previous ES series have done this, they added a little more umph to it. A new feature is mining which is what RISEN did. Essentially, they took fables jobs, house, marriage and Risens style of crafting and put it together. VERY GOOD MIX. Combat has improved, one thing to note about Two worlds 2 is the combat animations. Skyrim has mimic this effect from fallout TW2. With ES, it doesnt happen every single time like it does with fallout and TW2. This leaves the effects enjoyable as you don't SEE THEM ALL THE TIME. Dragon fights are riveting. Combat is VERY enjoyable! its a hack and slash with spells. If you like turn based RPGs...then stay away from Skyrim. The various guilds you can join is still impressive as it was in the previous games. Being a thief, assassin, mage, a fighter, and etc puts all the favorite game styles together so ANYONE can enjoy at LEAST one aspect of the game. I could write a WHOLE book on this game but I wont. music-9.7
    graphics-9.5
    gameplay-10
    UI-9.1
    combat-9.0
    content-10
    game is truely worthy of a 95%. I am giving it 10 because of the losers giving it a complete 0
    Expand
  84. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Finally a game lives up to its own hype. Take a bow Bethesda for creating one of the most enjoyable & most immersive games i have ever played! This game also represents serious value for money for the amount of playtime you can get out of it. GOTY without a doubt. Those 'other' games i bought recently aren't getting a look in!
  85. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is vast and well worth every penny. The game detail is so perfect. They have set the bar on RPGs. You have a great blend of everything even some humor believe it or not. The game is so in-depth that I highly recommend the guide for it witch in its self is by fay the largest book of knowledge I have ever seen for a game, 656 pages of it . 100+ hr could be wasted just wondering theThis game is vast and well worth every penny. The game detail is so perfect. They have set the bar on RPGs. You have a great blend of everything even some humor believe it or not. The game is so in-depth that I highly recommend the guide for it witch in its self is by fay the largest book of knowledge I have ever seen for a game, 656 pages of it . 100+ hr could be wasted just wondering the land of Skyrim. This is truly a heavy contender for GOTY. Expand
  86. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Incredible. Though I can't believe the negative reviews. For those who gave the negative reviews I don't think you were playing this game the right way. Here are 4 things that will help your experience and irk your predisposed reviews.

    1) 1080P : ON
    2) 5.1 Surround sound : ON
    3) Lights :OFF
    4) *Pants :OFF* *indicates a must
  87. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    When I first saw the trailer for this game, I literally cried from joy while trying to poker face my way through work. Through the coming months, would literally have to be the most anticipation-filled months in my entire life. I had never been so excited for a game. Everything seemed so perfect. The midnight launch arrived nine months later and I have never looked back with such a hugeWhen I first saw the trailer for this game, I literally cried from joy while trying to poker face my way through work. Through the coming months, would literally have to be the most anticipation-filled months in my entire life. I had never been so excited for a game. Everything seemed so perfect. The midnight launch arrived nine months later and I have never looked back with such a huge grin on my face. This game meets all the hype, and so much more. I have yet to go a day without putting at least two hours in to this beautiful masterpiece of a game. Bethesda has done it once again and will be a forerunner in modern day RPGs for many years to come. The gameplay is solid and genuinely satisfying. I caught myself at times, literally exclaiming "whoa!" and "wow!" at the sheer beauty of it. There is no feeling more awe-inducing than when you hear a dragon roar in the distance, then whoosh overhead from behind a distant mountain and realize you're about to fight it. The quests are plenty, and ever-so lengthy and unique. The side quests also have lots of hours to commit to them, as they are designed just as seriously as the main ones are. This game has stunning visuals, scale, and sound. Absolute game of the year in my book! Expand
  88. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    without a doubt the best game i have ever played. i've sinked 30 hours into this game in 3 days. i can't get enough of it. the world, the stories the gameplay, everything pulls you in. i don't have any complaints. (the conversations lap over each other sometimes, if not rarely, but this will no doubt be fixed with a patch. and as i said, it happens very rarely.) buy this game. if you'rewithout a doubt the best game i have ever played. i've sinked 30 hours into this game in 3 days. i can't get enough of it. the world, the stories the gameplay, everything pulls you in. i don't have any complaints. (the conversations lap over each other sometimes, if not rarely, but this will no doubt be fixed with a patch. and as i said, it happens very rarely.) buy this game. if you're serious about gaming, get it. if you're not serious about gaming, buy it and walk around picking flowers, making potions and just do whatever you want. this game is for everyone. Expand
  89. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I will never see the sun again nuff said



    Also this game is amazing..... i don't want to unleash my wave of how awesome this game is..... i end there... OOOOMMMGGG no don't do it. hahaha im not going to do it. im gonna hold in my excitement. everytime i think about this game. it makes me happy
  90. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply a masterpiece. This game crosses the line of playing a game, into something you feel you are truly experiencing. Best $60 I have ever spent on a video game. The game is just beautiful.
  91. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply AWESOME! This game brings all the features we love from the older games and then brings in so many new features that just set it apart from any other adventure RPG game out there. Combine a massive world of creative genius with an endless span of possibilities, beautiful graphics, an epic tale and fire/ice-breathing Dragons and you have Perfection = The Game of the Year = Skyrim.
  92. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I hated Morrowind and never got around to playing Oblivion so this game has been a revelation.

    It is simply magnificent. It would be easier to to list my few minor gripes: clunky and immersion-breaking console interface ported to the PC, Dragons seem a bit weak and there's a few CTD/minimizer bugs on the PC. 99% of the time I am just marvelling at the brilliance of this game and
    I hated Morrowind and never got around to playing Oblivion so this game has been a revelation.

    It is simply magnificent. It would be easier to to list my few minor gripes: clunky and immersion-breaking console interface ported to the PC, Dragons seem a bit weak and there's a few CTD/minimizer bugs on the PC.

    99% of the time I am just marvelling at the brilliance of this game and struggling to stop myself playing through the night.
    Expand
  93. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A absolute work of genius so far found nothing wrong with the game is you remotely like any RPG game you will love this. i would highly recommend this game
  94. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm going to write the things that come to my mind... This game is simply amazing! The most ambitious game of bethesda and the most captivating one too. When I started playing I didn't knew what to expect but after many hours of gameplay I just wanted to keep playing and keep exploring the beautiful lands of Skyrim. The character creation is simplified for good and for bad too. You chooseI'm going to write the things that come to my mind... This game is simply amazing! The most ambitious game of bethesda and the most captivating one too. When I started playing I didn't knew what to expect but after many hours of gameplay I just wanted to keep playing and keep exploring the beautiful lands of Skyrim. The character creation is simplified for good and for bad too. You choose sex and race and that's all. Start playing. After some minutes you start building your "role" by using some skills (magic, one handed, heavy armor, etc.) The good thing about this is that if you want to change from a sneaky char to a aggressive mage you are going to spend some time building the new role, just keep using the skills and in some time you can be a sneaky aggressive mage. How beauty is that?. The shouts (dragon type powers) are amazing and very fun to use. The companion system is good but some times my companions sucks. The music and the sounds are superb, the dialogue is amazing. The world feels alive (I love to watch how the salmon swims against the waterfalls), the dungeons are very well crafted. The story is very deep and the main quests, the side quests, the miscellaneous quests and the subquests are well crafted and very inmersive. This is for sure a GOTY contender. Try this game, you deserve it. Expand
  95. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Any sandbox game that triggers a feelings of exploration, travel and creativity truly deserves a high score. This game is a must buy for all Elderscrolls fans and a should-buy for all RPG lovers.
  96. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    The world of Skyrim is amazing, probably the most beautiful game I've seen so far. I don't know how many polygons my character has but it's a hell of a lot, because I can't yet make out any of them. The graphics and design are top notch. The atmosphere is awesome, mammoths and mountains and old villages and such, it all just feels real. The gameplay is great, it's pretty much impossible toThe world of Skyrim is amazing, probably the most beautiful game I've seen so far. I don't know how many polygons my character has but it's a hell of a lot, because I can't yet make out any of them. The graphics and design are top notch. The atmosphere is awesome, mammoths and mountains and old villages and such, it all just feels real. The gameplay is great, it's pretty much impossible to get bored, you can stray from the main quest and go do something interesting at any time. A large part of your time is spent managing items and this is actually fun. You can kill anyone, or go anywhere even if it ruins a quest. It's up to you to be careful and I like that freedom, there aren't many games that feel this open. A couple of small things I don't like are that you can't jump onto an object when you are right up against it, this unnecessarily slows me down when I'm climbing around. Also, the fighting is clunky.. it's well balanced in terms of your levelling and the capabilities of who you fight, but when you're up close using melee it's not very realistic. Finally (and this is what loses it points for me...the other two issues are only minor gripes), in order to make you feel like you are the character, your character is pretty much non-descript. You can indeed get to choose different paths for them, making them a thief, a warrior, a good guy or a bad guy, but it's not what I want. I guess the theory is the less you are told about them the more you can imagine your own personality inside them. Many games have taken this approach and it never really works for me. In addition the NPCs are not really that likeable, because what they do and say is always geared towards what you are going to get out of them, rather than how the story will develop around them and how your character feels about them. So you approach people trying to pick an answer that will get you something, rather than how you as a person would actually respond. An excellent game like this deserves excellent character development and it just isn't there. If something like Final Fantasy 7 gets a 10 from me, this has to get a 8. A huge portion of what I love in an rpg is missing; as much fun as this is, I'm not emotionally involved. Everything else about it is near to perfection. Expand
  97. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    It doesnt get much better than this. This is a Bethesda style RPG at its finest. The story is very interesting. the characters are likable, and the sound is amazing. I've had the game for 3 days and already have 26 hours logged and im not even close to finishing the main quest. Worth $60. All the way
    This is the only game coming out this month that deserves a 10
  98. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game is breathtaking. As a long time fan of the Elder Scrolls series, I was not disappointed by Skyrim. Everything in this game is SUPERB; graphics, sound, gameplay, and story. The most impressive part of the game is the amount of detail that the developers have managed to put into this game. I have played this game nonstop since the release, and i'm loving every minute of it. ThisThis game is breathtaking. As a long time fan of the Elder Scrolls series, I was not disappointed by Skyrim. Everything in this game is SUPERB; graphics, sound, gameplay, and story. The most impressive part of the game is the amount of detail that the developers have managed to put into this game. I have played this game nonstop since the release, and i'm loving every minute of it. This game is GOTY material. Expand
  99. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    With Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way toWith Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way to sum up Skyrim. While games like Uncharted 3 and Gears of War 3 just offer shallow, scripted events that are forgotten days after, Skyrim gives you a massive playground that eclipses any other in the digital realm, and gives you the tools to make your own fun, regardless of what kind of games you like to play. Without a doubt in my mind, the greatest video game ever created. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.