User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3642 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    EPIC is the best way to describe this game. You will forget about your real life as soon you start playing it. Best game of the year sure, for me is the best game of the decade.
  2. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    What an incredible game. The possibilities in this game are absolutely endless, you can go anywhere, no invisible walls nothing. Graphics are incredible and realistic for a game, storyline is riveting and keeps you wanting more, gameplay is smooth and feels natural and very exciting. The ability to change your charcter completely to how you want them to be is absolutely incredible in thisWhat an incredible game. The possibilities in this game are absolutely endless, you can go anywhere, no invisible walls nothing. Graphics are incredible and realistic for a game, storyline is riveting and keeps you wanting more, gameplay is smooth and feels natural and very exciting. The ability to change your charcter completely to how you want them to be is absolutely incredible in this game. There are literally hundreds of different ways to grow your character. I really love how interactive this game is aswell, you can speak to anyone and choose to be rude or nice or whatever. Anyway the list of good things about this game is endless so i'll finish it here. Absolute gaming epic no doubt about it, i would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of RPGs or any type of gaming. Completing it didn't even feel like a chore even though it is 100s of hours long. 10/10 Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    the elder scrolls oblivion was an awesome rpg but had a few issues like bugs and the leveling system but overall an excellent game, the elder scrolls 5 skyrim fixes these issues and improves in other parts of the game like the combat, this is my favourite elder scrolls yet, the soundtrack is awesome, the story is excellent, awesome side quests and interesting characters, if you like rpgsthe elder scrolls oblivion was an awesome rpg but had a few issues like bugs and the leveling system but overall an excellent game, the elder scrolls 5 skyrim fixes these issues and improves in other parts of the game like the combat, this is my favourite elder scrolls yet, the soundtrack is awesome, the story is excellent, awesome side quests and interesting characters, if you like rpgs do not hesitate and pick this one up Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    Recently I bought the legendary edition of this game and it was nothing short of a true masterpiece, I like the feeling of a breathing living world that feels like it was there before you arrived and will still be there long after, i have never experienced so many quests and side missions before - One cannot simply finish Skyrim, it will last over 100 hours and still be entertaining, withRecently I bought the legendary edition of this game and it was nothing short of a true masterpiece, I like the feeling of a breathing living world that feels like it was there before you arrived and will still be there long after, i have never experienced so many quests and side missions before - One cannot simply finish Skyrim, it will last over 100 hours and still be entertaining, with all the daedric quests, armors, guilds, or even the nords hilarious accent, and then there's: Dawnguard, Dragonborn and Hearthfire, the dawnguard quest is HUGE! and can be played from 2 completely different perspectives - and who doesn't want to be a vampire and I'm not talking about the 'Twilight Disco Ball Vampires' I mean you actually get weaker in the sunlight, Dragonborn gives you a whole island to explore - just don't go there unprepared, Athen there's Hearthfire,it may be only a minor DLC but would you: a. give 5000 gold to a stewerd to a Town house, Or , B. buy a plot of land, build a HOUSE add anything you want to it and then adopt 2 kids like Blaise and Lucia, and then have a wife like Ysolda (hint,hint), this game is truly something to remember and i will happy to See an Elder Scrolls VI (6) wherever or whenever it may be. And no one can forget the main theme song. Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is THE game. Going on three years since its release, I'm still finding new things to do, and I've dropped almost 200 hours into this game (and I don't regret it one bit). The world is huge and beautiful, and full of hidden treasures and things to do. There are so many ways to play that you will never replay the game the same way twice. And talking to yourThe Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is THE game. Going on three years since its release, I'm still finding new things to do, and I've dropped almost 200 hours into this game (and I don't regret it one bit). The world is huge and beautiful, and full of hidden treasures and things to do. There are so many ways to play that you will never replay the game the same way twice. And talking to your friends about it and finding out about their experiences with the game makes for a fun conversation. The game is the perfect fantasy RPG in every way, shape and form and will definitely being going down in the video game Hall of Fame. Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    I have to start by saying that this the best game I have ever played. I'm writing this review in 2017, 6 years after the game came out and nothing has surpassed the enjoyment and fun and the overall experience that I had with this masterpiece (The Witcher 3 came close not gonna lie). If you read a bad review about this game I'm sure a 100% that they have never played and I can swear thatI have to start by saying that this the best game I have ever played. I'm writing this review in 2017, 6 years after the game came out and nothing has surpassed the enjoyment and fun and the overall experience that I had with this masterpiece (The Witcher 3 came close not gonna lie). If you read a bad review about this game I'm sure a 100% that they have never played and I can swear that to you. If you haven't played this game yet you're doing something wrong here. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2017
    7
    This game may be good, but we can't ignore certain things like the tons of glitches. I had a fairly good time playing it, but there are glaring issues. I give it a seven out of ten.
  8. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A magnificent hive of creativity and technical clout, and holds a world so open it frequently threatens to overwhelm. Skyrim is forever charming and consistently engaging, and will carve a completely different adventure for every player put under its dazzling spell. Expand
  9. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    if you play just one game this year this is THE GAME you should choose.it's not only epic in scale it's also the game that just keeps giving and giving.from the graphics to the characters the story and everything else this game does its pure class,I'd defiantly recommend it to all gamers.even if your not into role playing games you will be after playing this one.go on you owe it to yourself !
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is an amazing game building on what Bethesda achieved with Fallout 3 and Oblivion to create a superb RPG with a good story so far anyway gizzilions of side quests and great graphics there are a few bugs but they don't damage the experience and will hopefully get patched if you are an RPG fan you need to get this game!!!!
  11. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Bethesda deserves all the lavish praise that is and will continue to be laid on their new masterwork, skyrim. The improved graphics combined with one of the most meticulously and beautifully created worlds ever comitted to video game form help to further hammer home the feeling that you are choosing you're destiny, and skyrim is you're canvas. The sheer amount of content is indeedBethesda deserves all the lavish praise that is and will continue to be laid on their new masterwork, skyrim. The improved graphics combined with one of the most meticulously and beautifully created worlds ever comitted to video game form help to further hammer home the feeling that you are choosing you're destiny, and skyrim is you're canvas. The sheer amount of content is indeed staggering and even overwhelming at times. As you explore, random conversations will bring a healthy list of quest ensuring that you always feel as though you are shaping you're own experience. Whether you choose to progress the main story, hunt for bears, clear out caves full of witches, join a guild, or engage a frost dragon head on, Skyrim never let's up, and you will always feel as though you're actions are shaping a much bigger overall picture. Player choice is integral to the immersion, and Bethesda has nailed it here with aplomb. I need to go have thanksgiving but I needed to write this because people need to realize how lucky we are to have such talented developers like Bethesda to deliver one of the best experiences this generation. Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    With Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way toWith Skyrim, Bethesda has created the greatest video game of all time. There is no other video game currently on the market that even comes close to comparing to Skyrim. The best quote out of all of the reviews for Skyrim is from The Onion AV Club - "Where many games with lavish production values seek to direct player's imaginations, Skyrim seeks to ignite them." This is the perfect way to sum up Skyrim. While games like Uncharted 3 and Gears of War 3 just offer shallow, scripted events that are forgotten days after, Skyrim gives you a massive playground that eclipses any other in the digital realm, and gives you the tools to make your own fun, regardless of what kind of games you like to play. Without a doubt in my mind, the greatest video game ever created. Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game has almost instantly grown to be one of my favorite games I have ever played. This by far is the best game in the series, taking lore, graphics, world, AI, gameplay, quests, characters, you name it to a whole new level. Even as it started it felt far superior to any Bethesda game released so far, the intro level alone had me hooked like a child that has opened up a christmasThis game has almost instantly grown to be one of my favorite games I have ever played. This by far is the best game in the series, taking lore, graphics, world, AI, gameplay, quests, characters, you name it to a whole new level. Even as it started it felt far superior to any Bethesda game released so far, the intro level alone had me hooked like a child that has opened up a christmas gift. Combat this time around has been more versatile and as sleek as ever, everthing feels weighted, magic effects are wonderful and diverse, bows and arrows along with stealth have improved. There are even finishing moves! The world ACTUALLY feels alive this time around, which is fresh change from the crap we got with Oblivion, animals hunt each other, people brawl and work and chat, and every place has a different- exotic feel that I could compare to Morrowind... but done much better even still. There are goodies for old fans as well, Dwemer ruins, Falmer, Sanguine, etc, etc. If you're looking for an Open world RPG to play, this is absolutely THE BEST one on the market, and although it is full of bugs and glitches, the positives outweigh the negatives so much I couldn't just give it a 9/10, it deserves a 10/10. If you like to explore, fight, role play, fantasy, open world, anything of this nature, I would definitely buy it. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    100 % pure gaming enjoyment :) Skyrim soars high visually, architecturally, interactively and especially musically; a soundtrack only rivaled by that of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Glitches exist yes, but are oh so far from game breaking. Given Skyrim's competition it will without a doubt make it to the top of GOTY-considerations.
  15. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games ever. The gameplay, the scenery, the interactivity, all fantastic. Endless quests and dragons galore plus the sporadic quest system just add to the incredible design. Yes, it has some bugs, but it's not nearly enough to make me stop playing. A must play.
  16. Nov 27, 2011
    5
    Well, I'm enjoying it but shocked at the low resolution, it really looks dated and detracts from the emersion. After Oblivion I was expecting a step up on the graphics but its pretty similar. Should have waited for Borderlands two, the original has far better textuals than this venture.
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is the best RPG I have ever played it is so immersive !! The attention to details is amazing and the content is so large that this game would last for month
  18. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played, it's amazing, the story is one of the best TES, the gameplay improved from oblivion and the graphics are extremely great for a open world RPG game.
    I was waiting for this game since 2006 (TES IV) and now that it's really here, I can say that my expectations were exceeded . GOTY 2011 for sure
  19. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I'm a bit surprised by the number of negative reviews. The game is impressive due to it's size alone. I've played about 50 hours and I feel like I've only scratched the surface of the game. This is of course a game in the line of Oblivion and Fallout so it has the same shortcomings (some bugged quests, some odd things happening, ...) but is doesn't take away that this is a great andI'm a bit surprised by the number of negative reviews. The game is impressive due to it's size alone. I've played about 50 hours and I feel like I've only scratched the surface of the game. This is of course a game in the line of Oblivion and Fallout so it has the same shortcomings (some bugged quests, some odd things happening, ...) but is doesn't take away that this is a great and involving game in a rich and credible world. Personal best RPG for 2011. Dark souls is also great but after a hard day of work I prefer a relaxing game. Expand
  20. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls v: skyrim is the best ever RPG i have played. The Elder Scrolls IV: oblivion was amazing but they have improved it with skyrim i like how they add werewolves and the daedric armour have been improved but I think the best part of the game is the Dragons and the Dragon shouts. You can create your own character the argonian can breathe under water, 50% Resist to Disease soThe Elder Scrolls v: skyrim is the best ever RPG i have played. The Elder Scrolls IV: oblivion was amazing but they have improved it with skyrim i like how they add werewolves and the daedric armour have been improved but I think the best part of the game is the Dragons and the Dragon shouts. You can create your own character the argonian can breathe under water, 50% Resist to Disease so you cannot turn into a vampire and Dark Elves Resist Fire 50%, Wood Elves have a 50% Resist to Poison and Disease and the Khajiit a Claw Attacks and the Power of Night Eye which means you can see in the dark. To become a vampire whenever a vampire casts Vampiric Drain on you, there is a 10% chance for you to be infected. The best thing to level up is your black Smiting then you will be able to make the daedric armour and the heavy dragon armour and the low dragon armour. I found the best way to earn money is the dark brother hood. To join the dark brother hood you have to complete a quest Innocence Lost. Speaking to Innkeepers and later on you will get a horse that is completely black with red eyes I think the best weapons in the game is the dual daedric swords and the daedric bow. The game includes a lot of guilds which are called the dark brotherhood the thiefâ Expand
  21. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    the elder scrolls v: skyrim is the best RPG game since the elder scrolls iv: oblivion it is the most freerom and the quest regenerate they have in proved the armours iron, steel, eleven, dwarven, daedric and they have add dragon armour that makes dragon do less damage on you but to get dragon armour you need to kill dragons there is over 150 hours of game play the game is glitches but isthe elder scrolls v: skyrim is the best RPG game since the elder scrolls iv: oblivion it is the most freerom and the quest regenerate they have in proved the armours iron, steel, eleven, dwarven, daedric and they have add dragon armour that makes dragon do less damage on you but to get dragon armour you need to kill dragons there is over 150 hours of game play the game is glitches but is expected on a massive RPG like this on the story is about a person how has to kill the lord of the dragons who is a daedric prince there are a lot of side quest that are good like in the games past during the time of the dragons rule there were people who thought the dragons to be gods and worshiped them they where called dragon priest they would have done any think to get the dragons back because of there this they were internally imprisoned but after thousands of years they become more powerful and began to break out they wear special masks made of dragon bones they are a fun enemy to kill because you get there masks that have special enchantment. The customization is the best I have seen of it type you select your character and then what age, hair, eyes, how dark there skin colour there are lots of guilds like the dark brotherhood the thiefâ Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Masterpiece, Skyrim is the best game ever made. There is just no flaws that would let this game down in my concept. Congratulations again Bethesda, I just have no more words to describe this game.
  23. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I had to write a review after playing the game and seeing the haters giving scores of zero. It's amazing, it's really a lot of fun, a beautiful huge game. As for the glitches, hardly noticed them and you know what? A game with 100+ hours of amazing content might have a few glitches here and there. I've played a lot smaller games with a lot more glitches that actually interfere withI had to write a review after playing the game and seeing the haters giving scores of zero. It's amazing, it's really a lot of fun, a beautiful huge game. As for the glitches, hardly noticed them and you know what? A game with 100+ hours of amazing content might have a few glitches here and there. I've played a lot smaller games with a lot more glitches that actually interfere with your game play experience, these glitches do not interfere. I'd give it a 9.5 for the glitches but the slider doesn't do that so I'm rounding up to a 10! Expand
  24. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Don't get fooled by all the review, this game does not deserve a 10 cause it's not perfect. It has a few bugs and glitches and some other minors problems. But overall, you should really check this game out cause it's a lot of fun and you actually get for what you paid ( from 100 to 300 hours of gameplay and more )
  25. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    alright ive seen alot of trollin on here, how is there repetitve visuals? the landscape is very much varied, everything from frozen tundras, snowy mountains, swamps, forests, and alot of brilliantly made dungeons. i think this game is gonna be game of the year. everything is significantly improved from oblivion.. sure the games buggy, but it doesnt detract from the overall game, i putalright ive seen alot of trollin on here, how is there repetitve visuals? the landscape is very much varied, everything from frozen tundras, snowy mountains, swamps, forests, and alot of brilliantly made dungeons. i think this game is gonna be game of the year. everything is significantly improved from oblivion.. sure the games buggy, but it doesnt detract from the overall game, i put atleast 120 hours and im not bored of it and the game crashed twice.. honestly i dont have any issues with this game at all, its a game that i can actually call a work of art. the graphics are really good, a big upgrade from oblivion, now im not gonna say it has the most intuitive combat system, but it is improved from oblivion. all in all, this is probably the best n the series, most content rich game ive ever had the joy of playing. good job bethesda, you really have outdone yourself haha. worth every nickle and dime for this game. Expand
  26. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful graphics and new engine? check.
    Improved combat (dual wield, perks, shield bashing etc) check
    amazing, beautiful artistic direction? check Epic music that makes your heart melt or race? check Massive world to explore at your own leisure and get completely lost in? check Just a fantastic game. I honestly can't think of anything bad about it. Its fun, its exhilarating, its witty,
    Beautiful graphics and new engine? check.
    Improved combat (dual wield, perks, shield bashing etc) check
    amazing, beautiful artistic direction? check
    Epic music that makes your heart melt or race? check
    Massive world to explore at your own leisure and get completely lost in? check

    Just a fantastic game. I honestly can't think of anything bad about it. Its fun, its exhilarating, its witty, hilarious, terrifying (those spiders...) and utterly captivating. Buy it, or you're a fool.
    Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The best RPG, period. It has the absolute best of everything - storytelling, gameplay, and even the graphics. Do not miss out on this game, even if you have to rip it from somebody's cold, dead hands.
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Western RPGs don't get much better than this. The amount of effort that has gone into this game is apparent. If this doesn't make game of the year I will be very surprised.
  29. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is vast and well worth every penny. The game detail is so perfect. They have set the bar on RPGs. You have a great blend of everything even some humor believe it or not. The game is so in-depth that I highly recommend the guide for it witch in its self is by fay the largest book of knowledge I have ever seen for a game, 656 pages of it . 100+ hr could be wasted just wondering theThis game is vast and well worth every penny. The game detail is so perfect. They have set the bar on RPGs. You have a great blend of everything even some humor believe it or not. The game is so in-depth that I highly recommend the guide for it witch in its self is by fay the largest book of knowledge I have ever seen for a game, 656 pages of it . 100+ hr could be wasted just wondering the land of Skyrim. This is truly a heavy contender for GOTY. Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Amazing depth! Games this big should cost $100, but don't tell them that or we will start paying that much. Im not big on RPGs but every now and then you have to have a immense single player game to go along with the others. This is a game you can spend hundreds of hours on.
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Skyrim lives up to all expectations. The game looks amazing. I find the missions, content and dialogue are far improved from Oblivion and all add up to more immersive gameplay. This feels like a game which has not been rushed but has had care and attention to detail given to it all the way through production. The map itself is huge and I would imagine 100+ hours easily on this game. ForSkyrim lives up to all expectations. The game looks amazing. I find the missions, content and dialogue are far improved from Oblivion and all add up to more immersive gameplay. This feels like a game which has not been rushed but has had care and attention to detail given to it all the way through production. The map itself is huge and I would imagine 100+ hours easily on this game. For £40 that is a bargain. This is definitely going to be my game of the year along Battlefield 3. If you're a gamer this is a must have. No arguments. Expand
  32. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    OUTSTANDING. completely addicting formula, upgraded engine/visuals, hours upon hours upon hours of storyline and quests to be completed, Bethesda has outdone themselves with this entry into the elder scrolls franchise. KUDOS to Bethesda and everyone Enjoy slaying dragons in the world of Skyrim.
  33. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    A total masterpiece!!! There is now a game that not only lives up to the hype that shrouded it since it's announce, it surpasses it above and beyond! You do not only pay for a fantastic game, you pay for an entire world that only exists on the disk!
  34. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    good game, boring until you beat the main story or discover at least 3 major cities. i'm level 54 i did pretty much everything , but my load times are sooooooo bad and it started around the time i reached lvl 40, 15 sec. to open favorites menu, 5 sec to get to pause menu. needs update for that ASAP, but lots of hours of playtime are possible, buggy though.
  35. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Bethesda has made yet another great game. I was sold when they made fallout 3 and oblivion and they have just wow'd me with adding skyrim. An enthralling storyline, the ability to choose your path in an immense world full of things to do do coupled with superb graphics and powerful score of music will give even the Elder Scrolls noob like myself an amazing experience. With this game, youBethesda has made yet another great game. I was sold when they made fallout 3 and oblivion and they have just wow'd me with adding skyrim. An enthralling storyline, the ability to choose your path in an immense world full of things to do do coupled with superb graphics and powerful score of music will give even the Elder Scrolls noob like myself an amazing experience. With this game, you really get a bang for your buck, as there are so many things to do, and so many places to see. Definitely worthy of game of the year, (or zelda / uncharted) Expand
  36. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Note to Infinity Ward/Activision: THIS is how you earn repeat customers. This game is awesome. Beautiful to look at, and extremely fun and engaging. If Bethesda keeps this up, they'll be around for a long time. We all know Infinity Ward/Activision have screwed themselves and will probably be filing for bankruptcy in 2013.
  37. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    First off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a hugeFirst off, ignore all the haters. All they care about is graphics, and probebly only play COD. This is not some game where you run around shooting people, this is a thinking mans game. Its smart, and has a wealth of content. Litterally 100's of hours woth, and I for one will be playing it at least that long. Yes, the graphics arnt perfect, but thats not the point. They are actually a huge step up from the previous Bethesda games. This is a amazing game, and is a perfect 10/10. Expand
  38. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    To say Skyrim is a massive game would be an understatement. I have put around 50 hours into this fantastic piece of work and I feel i have only scratched the surface of this wonderfully crafted world. Bethesda was able to take the best components of Oblivion and Fallout 3 and combine them into one while leaving most(but not all) annoyances at the door. The visuals are outstanding, theTo say Skyrim is a massive game would be an understatement. I have put around 50 hours into this fantastic piece of work and I feel i have only scratched the surface of this wonderfully crafted world. Bethesda was able to take the best components of Oblivion and Fallout 3 and combine them into one while leaving most(but not all) annoyances at the door. The visuals are outstanding, the amount of content can feel overwhelming at times but in a good way, the combat is much impoved over Oblivions clunky swinging at air style. Magic spells also perform much better, you can be shooting an enemy with flames from one hand while attacking them with your sword from the other at the same time. Any combination of two you can think of is possible and the favorites menu lets you swap fighting styles with ease any time you want. Skyrim isnt without flaws though the load times are often and sometimes long and enemies may float in the air from time to time but these minor bugs dont bring the game down enough to matter. If your looking for a game to occupy your time for the next say 100's of hours? Skyrim is your pick, distinguishing Skyrims world from your own may become a problem, but dont say i didnt warn you. Expand
  39. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Oh. My. God. This game is incredible. It has to be, hands down one of the single greatest gaming experiences of my life. This and the first time I played CoD: 4 multiplayer (the series has gone down-hill yes) would have to be my two top gaming moments. I literally do not know how anyone could even mildly fault this game, the graphics are not ABSOLUTELY perfect I admit, but when you takeOh. My. God. This game is incredible. It has to be, hands down one of the single greatest gaming experiences of my life. This and the first time I played CoD: 4 multiplayer (the series has gone down-hill yes) would have to be my two top gaming moments. I literally do not know how anyone could even mildly fault this game, the graphics are not ABSOLUTELY perfect I admit, but when you take into account the sheer scale of this game it is completely justified. Most definitely Game of the Year in my books. Expand
  40. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    The elder scrolls franchise has always been one of the most amazing series' of all time, all of the games in this series have been extremely popular in the gaming community and greatly loved by many gamers and Skyrim does not differ. After it's announcement in december 2010, the hype began. It continued to grow and skyrim became what was probably one the most anticipated games of 2011.The elder scrolls franchise has always been one of the most amazing series' of all time, all of the games in this series have been extremely popular in the gaming community and greatly loved by many gamers and Skyrim does not differ. After it's announcement in december 2010, the hype began. It continued to grow and skyrim became what was probably one the most anticipated games of 2011. Upon it's release millions of gamers, including long-time fans and those new to the series spent hours of their lives in the living, breathing fantasy world of skyrim, which lived up to all of it's expectations and well deserved hype. With its stunning graphics, amazing story telling, almost infinite amount of content and its expansive world and lore. Skyrim is just one of those games that will live on, and be remembered for a long time. But on a more personal level, I look at skyrim as more than a game, I see it as a work of art because wherever you look in skyrim you can see it's true artistic Beauty. You can walk through a field and everyone will have a different experience, one may see a dragon soar overhead, one may meet a trader or bandits, or see a butterfly float past. Each dungeon in skyrim is uniquely crafted and they all tell a story, with the simple placement. An rpg should be about playing a role and in skyrim you can play many, it's up to you, and telling a story which skyrim does both verbally and physically. With the perfect AI, perfectly crafted environment and the way they have replicated nature and society, Bethesda has made alot more than a game, they have made a whole world. Perfection 10/10 Expand
  41. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    The hype I had for this game was huge. Did it live up to expectations? Yes and No.
    The game lets you loose in this fantastic world where you can do one thing for hours and see nothing else. The story was a huge step from Oblivion (TES4), and the individual guildes story were interesting, without overstaying their welcome. But heres my first problem the length of some guildes I feel was
    The hype I had for this game was huge. Did it live up to expectations? Yes and No.
    The game lets you loose in this fantastic world where you can do one thing for hours and see nothing else. The story was a huge step from Oblivion (TES4), and the individual guildes story were interesting, without overstaying their welcome. But heres my first problem the length of some guildes I feel was too short specifically the Dark Brotherhood, where compared to oblivion is tiny. Though i feel the college of winterhold was a good length, compared to Oblivion where it went on and on and on and on.
    The combat feels good with stealth being really fun. Maybe melee feels less weight than it should and the annoyance over spells not being able to level up but the archery feels fantastic.
    The exploration is good and the terrain is varied.
    Visually looks good, though on closer inspection the individuals textures dont look so good, and pop in still happens which is very annoying! Though draw distance has massively increased and looks fanastic.
    On conclusion Skyrim is one of the game's of the gerneration with minor flaws. A must buy
    Expand
  42. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game is a masterpiece. I am a person who was prejudiced against this game from before iteven came out. I do not like any previous Bethesda games really, with the massive world, detailed RPG elements and lack of a solid storyline unattractive qualities in a game. Skyrim is different. Easily accessablle menus and systems make the game seem less daunting, while also providing moreThis game is a masterpiece. I am a person who was prejudiced against this game from before iteven came out. I do not like any previous Bethesda games really, with the massive world, detailed RPG elements and lack of a solid storyline unattractive qualities in a game. Skyrim is different. Easily accessablle menus and systems make the game seem less daunting, while also providing more content than there was to be had in previous game. Gorgeous graphics (especially in the constellation skill building system- wow!) and an astouding attention to detail are but one reason to play the hell out of this thing. It is more additive than any shooter I have played (and I have burned hundreds of hours playing CoD games alone) with the mind-boggling number of quests and options for customization allowing the player to make their own Skyrim. If you want to only play the main storyline, you can, but I can assure you, you will be missing out. The greatest achievement here is the choice given to the player- you can explore the universe however and as extensively as you want. A barebones playthrough, or an every-nook-and-cranny approach (or anything in between) are equally possible and fun. To me, storyline is the most important part of games, and this game has a respectable plotline. While certainly not up there with the Bioware games (Mass Effect, KOTOR, check them out, they are amazing) the gameplay is more than enough to make this a splendid experience for anyone. The only reason I give this a 9 instead of a 10 is the occaisional glitches and bugs. This is unfortunately an issue, and you will sometimes get stuck in a corner or have some other problem, but it is extremely ppolished in comparison to previous games, particularly the laggy and bug-ridden Fallout New Vegas. No matter what your thoughts on previous Bethesda titles are, GET SKYRIM. No matter what games you like, GET SKYRIM. I promise you you will love this game to death, and you might well be playing it for that long too. Expand
  43. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Great story, leveling up is addicting, fighting dragons is just as good as fighting a big daddy (bioshock), and i think the best thing of all is exploring the game world. Hope this helped.
  44. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    Pour kickinit525 : J'ai pas aimé la jouabilité de Skyrim alors 0/10 ^^ et oui ! Désolé mais bon ce type m'a tellement soulé ... enfin bref avec tous les pro-machin ou truc sa deviens horrible ce genre de site.
  45. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game exceeds the gaming world to date the amazing graphics fighting character models the easter eggs and of course the arrow to the knee joke i am getting this game for christmas but my uncle had it i didnt come out for a day or two
  46. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    Never before has a game captured an entire month of my life. I have been playing this game at almost every available opportunity and I still have another week or two left in me. If you have yet to pick up this game, I strongly encourage you to experience the Game of the Year, and probably the next, too.
  47. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    Very good game, but I will not just blurt out this is a good game and end it, since there is always some flaws decreasing it's score.
    I have had this game since it came out and enjoyed it, but there are a ton of glitches within, such as getting stuck between a rock. The graphics are not what was promised, don't get me wrong, they are great graphics, but the way they were putting the
    Very good game, but I will not just blurt out this is a good game and end it, since there is always some flaws decreasing it's score.
    I have had this game since it came out and enjoyed it, but there are a ton of glitches within, such as getting stuck between a rock. The graphics are not what was promised, don't get me wrong, they are great graphics, but the way they were putting the graphics was like it would be real life.
    So, if you are buying this game for it's graphics you saw in a trailer or such, I would say forget it.
    The animations isn't that great, not many voice actors, but a lot of this can be fixed.
    I am rating this a high score mainly because this can easily be fixed with mods or updates.
    I would suggest you get this game, it is a great game, just don't expect it to be perfect.
    Expand
  48. Mar 8, 2012
    8
    all in all a great game to kill time on without realising it. it make you want to do one more quest which is awesome but also makes me late for things. whilst i like the world, characters, freedom, plot etc on thing bothers me. if i never made a character in skyrim nothing would ever get done in that world. and i mean nothing. dragons would never be killed, dragons would never get takenall in all a great game to kill time on without realising it. it make you want to do one more quest which is awesome but also makes me late for things. whilst i like the world, characters, freedom, plot etc on thing bothers me. if i never made a character in skyrim nothing would ever get done in that world. and i mean nothing. dragons would never be killed, dragons would never get taken out (unless they landed near a giant) and overall the whole world felt like it would come to a standstill. i'd like to see some people adventuring or close to my level instead of being able to kill everything without really doing a lot. whats taken me 100 hours in skyrim took me 200 in oblivion and oblivion kept me interested longer. Expand
  49. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    When I first began playing this game, I called it the medieval Fallout: without the bugs. The story and the world are huge, which makes playing it so much fun. I really enjoy the leveling system: level up by the skills you use. The music was wonderful, the graphics were great, and the quests were all fun. Unfortunately, my second playthrough had some notable bugs, most annoying of all wasWhen I first began playing this game, I called it the medieval Fallout: without the bugs. The story and the world are huge, which makes playing it so much fun. I really enjoy the leveling system: level up by the skills you use. The music was wonderful, the graphics were great, and the quests were all fun. Unfortunately, my second playthrough had some notable bugs, most annoying of all was Shadowmere didn't spawn. However, for such a LARGE game, the small number of bugs was pretty surprising. I imagine I'll be popping Skyrim back in my Xbox for a while. Expand
  50. Mar 28, 2012
    0
    What an awesome game, you know! Laggy, buggy and ugly, it's combat mechanic is broken, upgrades are useless, and the world is empty. Story is just awful (dragons are back, what a tragedy!). At the beginning, people discuss uriels, kings and others, whom I even don't know. That is the why the score is 0. Do not buy it.
  51. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Brilliant. Immersive. A Masterpiece. This is Skyrim.

    Bethesda never fail to deliver with a good RPG, do they? Skyrim brings the best Bethesda have to offer. This is a game not to be missed, for newcomers and veterans alike. This is game does everything right, fixing anything players didn't like about Oblivion; improved graphics (of course), combat, interface, dialogue, and alot less of
    Brilliant. Immersive. A Masterpiece. This is Skyrim.

    Bethesda never fail to deliver with a good RPG, do they? Skyrim brings the best Bethesda have to offer.
    This is a game not to be missed, for newcomers and veterans alike. This is game does everything right, fixing anything players didn't like about Oblivion; improved graphics (of course), combat, interface, dialogue, and alot less of those glitches you hated from before.
    The story, is very immersive, and will keep you playing until you finish, and WAY beyond. Without giving too much away; You are the Dragonborn, set to rid Skyrim of the Dragons, who have come to wreak havoc in Tamriel. Skyrim of course has side quests, and alot of them. These are what will keep you playing until you get every last artifact, weapon and spell tome. And, to top it all off, an INSANE amount of miscellaneous objectives; which can lead to some weird questlines and quests (A talking dog!)

    As for the combat, the combat isn't that fun to use. You'll be using the same 2 or 3 attacks with any weapon, like Warhammers, Daggers and Greatswords. Performing power attacks take away your stamina, but deal more damage than any other attack. Performing a power attack when your enemy is on low health, and you'll enter a killcam mode, showing a finishing move with cinematic impact (Decapitation!)
    Of course, if you favour stealth and range, a bow & arrow is the way to go. You can't vary much about your bow or arrow, just the type (Long Bow, Steel Arrow, etc). Oh, and with any weapon, you can make it better via smithing or enchanting.

    Customization is, like always, a big part on bow you want to play the game; and Skyrim does it really well. Like enchanting, perhaps. Want to be stealthy? Enchant your armour with a muffle sound enchantment. Like bows and arrows? Enchant your bow with a damage increase.
    Smithing is the art of creating a things like weapons, armour and jewelry using ingots, or improving weapons and armour using ingots.
    And alchemy is the art of making potions, using some of the weirdest ingredients you would never think of. Troll fat? Daedra hearts? Each ingredient has their own effect allowing you to make some really helpful potions.

    And finally, the graphics and sound.
    The graphics are stunning, with a great attention to detail. You will find NPCs with their own unique thing to say, and no graphic is overused through any part of the game. In fact, the attention to detail is so good, there are ANTS. That's right, ants. On rocks, in dungeons, everywhere. Yeah, there are pop in textures every so often, but they're graphics worth popping in. As for sound, the game is divine. Travelling through forests and rivers, you will hear a fantastic tune, a quiet one that really put's you in the game. But as soon as you enter combat, another tune plays; one that really set's the mood for fast paced combat against challenging enemies, and believe me; there are ALOT of enemies; over 400. As for voice acting, Bethesda does a good job, never using the same voice actor for any two main characters. Every stranger you meet will react to your decisions; agreeing or disagree with them. They may challenge you to brawl with them, bribe you, intimidate you or persuade you, and you can do exactly the same back to them, It's a great system the really works and gives you control over who you want to be.

    Closing comments:

    This is possibly the greatest game on any console to date. Yes, the combat is clunky, Yes there's pop in textures, Yes there's glitches, but this is so easily out weighed by how many things this game does right: An immersive story, insane customisation, varied enemies and quests, and how long this will keep you occupied (Me: 120 hours, and counting) If you are a fan, or just getting started, of RPG's, this really, cannot be missed. And, if you aren't a fan of RPGs, let Bethesda chage your mind with this stunning, brilliantly executed game.
    Expand
  52. Nov 2, 2012
    7
    Weird thing about Skyrim, I LOOOVED Oblivion, but Skyrim was just was lackluster for me. That didn't stop me from playing out almost every quest, but I think it didn't improve enough on Oblivion and the Oblivion DLC for me. Also, I found it very easy... was pretty easy to create an unstoppable character.

    Still its a significant achievement and it was enjoyable all the way through, so
    Weird thing about Skyrim, I LOOOVED Oblivion, but Skyrim was just was lackluster for me. That didn't stop me from playing out almost every quest, but I think it didn't improve enough on Oblivion and the Oblivion DLC for me. Also, I found it very easy... was pretty easy to create an unstoppable character.

    Still its a significant achievement and it was enjoyable all the way through, so it's hard to give less than 7 for me.
    Expand
  53. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Bethesda takes all of the elements that made their open world classics morrowind and oblivion so damn good and combined it into what could be the RPG to end all RPGs. Skyrim is a masterpiece in terms of interactive storytelling and entertainment.

    ***SOUP'S GAME OF THE YEAR 2011***
  54. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Dragonborn is an impressive DLC, introducing a whole new area, with new and interesting friends, enemies, and incentives to keep one busy for an extended period of time. My character started Dragonborn at level 81, therefore, my experience would have been more enjoyable had I still been developing my character; this gives me reason to begin a brand new character. However, because I was 81,Dragonborn is an impressive DLC, introducing a whole new area, with new and interesting friends, enemies, and incentives to keep one busy for an extended period of time. My character started Dragonborn at level 81, therefore, my experience would have been more enjoyable had I still been developing my character; this gives me reason to begin a brand new character. However, because I was 81, I had the privilege to face the Ebony Warrior. The main quest of Dragonborn offers environments that remind me of an old school first person shooter atmosphere, like the Expand
  55. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    This game has so much to offer, so many things to do, and it enraptures the mind in a Lord of the Rings sort of way. It is extremly well made, but after a while, like all open world games, it gets monotonous. However it's story is brilliant, the graphics and gameplay are incredible, and even though i grew bored of this game, I loved the time I spent learning every facet of the large worldThis game has so much to offer, so many things to do, and it enraptures the mind in a Lord of the Rings sort of way. It is extremly well made, but after a while, like all open world games, it gets monotonous. However it's story is brilliant, the graphics and gameplay are incredible, and even though i grew bored of this game, I loved the time I spent learning every facet of the large world of skyrim Expand
  56. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    How can I put this? Skyrim is one of the best role-playing games ever, if not the actual best. There is literally too much to talk about in 5000 characters. So I'll split this review up into s sections: 'Your Own Character', 'The World And Lore', 'Unique Combat Features', 'Negatives and Tips' and 'The Final Verdict'. So lets get started.
    --Your Own Character--
    So like in Oblivion, you're
    How can I put this? Skyrim is one of the best role-playing games ever, if not the actual best. There is literally too much to talk about in 5000 characters. So I'll split this review up into s sections: 'Your Own Character', 'The World And Lore', 'Unique Combat Features', 'Negatives and Tips' and 'The Final Verdict'. So lets get started.
    --Your Own Character--
    So like in Oblivion, you're a prisoner at the start of the game. You are then treated to one of the best character customizers in an Xbox 360 game I've ever seen. It's not perfect, but it works, you can make a good looking character. The character models from Oblivion are fixed, nobody looks like a potato anymore. Good. And once you're done with the character, you can explore the world. There are several deep combat systems that help bring the game to life. And unlike in Oblivion, if you feel like giving up on two-handed weapons and feel like doing archery instead, you can. The levelling system is one of the best, even better than Pokémon. Whilst doing some of the activities like alchemy, enchanting, smithing, speech, archery and many more, each perk tree levels up individually and when your overall character levels up, you add 10 points to Magicka, Health, or Stamina, and a single perk to any of the trees. If you reach level 100 on some perks, you get some awesome stuff, like Dragon Armour, Paralysing sword strikes and dual enchanted weapons and armour. It gets pretty deep, but easy to manage.
    --The World And Lore--
    The world in Skyrim is so detailed, beautiful and explorable. Yes, that's right. It's actually a joy to explore. a thing very few open world games get right. You find locations like caves, dungeons, ruins, villages and shrines, which you can fast travel to if you have discovered them. All of these locations are hand-crafted with beautiful graphics and a good draw distance. These places can be filled with interesting items, enemies, puzzles and books. Speaking of books, reading them helps, and helps immerse you in the world. Some even teach you spells and quests. And the quests can be dynamically activated around the world. For example a talking dog leading you to a daedric shrine, then fetching an axe and debating whether or not to kill the dog. Speaking of quests, there are so many. I've counted over 90 quests in 140 hours of gameplay. And the world is in no way linear and it doesn't hold your hand. It's simply a game where you do whatever. Seriously, you barely find nonsensical invisible walls. Even if you look. Hard. With good AI and NPC's to put the icing on the cake.
    --Unique Combat Features--
    Skyrim already nails the world and your own character. And yet still, we have unique combat. You can make your character more unique with weapons and spells. One of my favourites, archery, is nailed. Using the bow and arrow is intense and it feels like you're using it properly. The way you aim with it, the fluent animations, the breathing while slowing down time in zoom mode, it feels real and intense. Two handed weapons like war hammers feel clunky and heavy. Swinging them about like a madman can be a joyful experience, and the hit detection is very accurate and real. Dual wielding two swords make you feel agile and you can kick some pretty serious ass with them. All physical attacks are well animated and feel like you're actually using them. Then there's shouts and powers which help you in combat. Battle Axe isn't doing too well? Bring out Yol Toor Shul and set you enemies ablaze. Using magic is, unfortunately, a little bit awkward. The hit detection for magic can be a little bit broken sometimes, and using it up close seems to do nothing, as the characters you're hurting barely move. So as you can see, the game has problems, and now let's talk about them.
    --Negatives and Tips--
    Some quests can get broken, like killing a certain NPC which you need to talk to, which means you cannot collect your reward, and the broken quest is stuck in your dossier forever. Also, after about 15 years in the business, I'd have The Elder Scrolls would have implemented some form of multiplayer, like a TDM style battle set in dungeons, but it didn't, which I found a bit disappointing. Also, and this might be from a personal point of view as I got a downloadable copy, but the game is ridiculously glitch. Everything from falling under the map to character spasms. Also, I'd like to see us being able to create logos, which we can raise over captured castles and dens like in Guild Wars 2. So maybe we'll see that in Elder Scrolls 6. And every other issue is just a nit-pick, and none of these issues break or ruin the immersive experience.
    --The Final Verdict--
    Skyrim is the best RPG ever made. I don't know how Bethesda will top themselves next time. I was going to give Skyrim a 9, but it deserves a full, and strong standing, 10 out of 10. The game has flaws, it can crash at times. But it doesn't matter, because Skyrim redeems its problems with everything it gets right.
    Expand
  57. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    skyrim is the best rpg so far it is so expansive and is full of side quests guild quests main quests and much more. Dragons have been added to the series the graphics are awesome you'll be going ooh ah often thats why skyrim gets a ten out of ten.
  58. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    I don't even know where to begin!
    This game is absolutely unbelievably amazing! Even if you aren't a big RPG fan (I am not) do yourself a favor as a gamer and play this game! I had it since about a week after launch and still find myself lost in 5+ hr long sessions! I could go on all day about how immersive the world is and how much fun I have had and will continue to have witn my 3
    I don't even know where to begin!
    This game is absolutely unbelievably amazing! Even if you aren't a big RPG fan (I am not) do yourself a favor as a gamer and play this game! I had it since about a week after launch and still find myself lost in 5+ hr long sessions! I could go on all day about how immersive the world is and how much fun I have had and will continue to have witn my 3 characters but just do yourself a favor and experience it for yourself!
    One of THE greatest gaming experiences ever made!
    Expand
  59. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    Skyrim, there is no other word you can use to describe this game but epic. Skyrim the 5th game in the Elder Scrolls series is by far the best. You can only ow in the enormousness of the map. The campaign is great but its not what makes the game. What makes the game is all the side quests. There are over 200 side quests that i have found so far. almost every CPU in the game has a sideSkyrim, there is no other word you can use to describe this game but epic. Skyrim the 5th game in the Elder Scrolls series is by far the best. You can only ow in the enormousness of the map. The campaign is great but its not what makes the game. What makes the game is all the side quests. There are over 200 side quests that i have found so far. almost every CPU in the game has a side quest. And theirs even more side quests that you can discover on your own. Many people complain about the loading screen in sky rim and how there is so many loading spots. The problem is if the game were to load all at once at the beginning of the game it would take 45 + minutes. That's how big the map is. over all Skyrim is an amazing game that i would recommend to any one even if they didn't like free roam dungeon crawls. Expand
  60. Mar 6, 2014
    6
    The game has it's positive sides and have really nice graphics and all, absolutely, but we can't go around and judge a game for only it's graphics. Today it feels like most game developers focus on graphics and doesn't think to much about the content itself. This game made me very disappointed because, sure, as I said the graphics are nice but the game has extremely many bugs and glitchesThe game has it's positive sides and have really nice graphics and all, absolutely, but we can't go around and judge a game for only it's graphics. Today it feels like most game developers focus on graphics and doesn't think to much about the content itself. This game made me very disappointed because, sure, as I said the graphics are nice but the game has extremely many bugs and glitches in it and the builds of the classes doesn't have a good balance. The game simply doesn't feel "done". I've played extremely many RPG games and when i heard my friends speaking so well about Skyrim then I felt that I had to play it. But this game wouldn't even hit my top 10 list of RPGs. If it wouldn't have been for the visual graphics and the detailed environment then i bet this game wouldn't have been so popular. There is so many other RPGs out there which is so much better in every way and i can seriously not understand how people can still choose to play this crap. It's sad to see how many "graphic whores" there is out there. Expand
  61. Apr 13, 2014
    5
    I like how the world of Skyrim looks as your character is exploring the huge icy wastelands. I played as a Bosmer with illusion and necromancer skills. Then I leveled up my pickpocket skills that it allowed me to steal armor from the guards and unsuspecting enemies. I also liked the music as my character explored but I never liked the fight music. It never felt inspiring like the actionI like how the world of Skyrim looks as your character is exploring the huge icy wastelands. I played as a Bosmer with illusion and necromancer skills. Then I leveled up my pickpocket skills that it allowed me to steal armor from the guards and unsuspecting enemies. I also liked the music as my character explored but I never liked the fight music. It never felt inspiring like the action music in Mass Effect. The main story was not interesting at all compared to Oblivion. I never felt like what side I choose in the beginning of the game mattered. The guild missions were too short and boring. The voice acting was terrible. The dual spell casting was good it seemed like that was borrowed from the Bioshock games. I liked Skyrim but I liked the Fallout games and Oblivion:The Elder Scrolls better they have more deeper stories and a better worlds to explore. Expand
  62. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    I honestly feel like this is the most overrated game of the last 5 or so years. I played it for a week(about 15 hours of gameplay) and it just wasn't enjoyable and it didn't draw me in at all. I remember playing Fallout 3 for the first time back in 2010 and it drew me in the first couple hours. For me Fallout 3 and New Vegas is just so much more fun to play. It has insane weapons, coolI honestly feel like this is the most overrated game of the last 5 or so years. I played it for a week(about 15 hours of gameplay) and it just wasn't enjoyable and it didn't draw me in at all. I remember playing Fallout 3 for the first time back in 2010 and it drew me in the first couple hours. For me Fallout 3 and New Vegas is just so much more fun to play. It has insane weapons, cool atmosphere, huge world, and an overall a more interesting and appealing ambiance to the Fallout franchise. The only thing Skyrim has going for it is the dragons and graphics in my opinion. Other than that the quests, characters, setting, enemies, and ESPECIALLY combat is boring to me. I do not understand how so many people can play this game for 100+ hours and not get bored out of their mind. Oh and the reason why I compared this Elder Scrolls game to Fallout is because they share some similar qualities and they are made and or published by Bethesda. Expand
  63. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    This game is worth it on Xbox360, PC, and now PS3. It is the best game ever. Its even the Greatest Hits. Its definitely a "Must Play" game. It also has very good reviews Like 10/10, 9.5/10, 9/10, 5/5, 4.5/5, to me its definitely a 10/10, it earns a very good score. it also won over 200 GOTY awards and its also a GOTY on 2011, its also the best game of all time. If you haven't played.This game is worth it on Xbox360, PC, and now PS3. It is the best game ever. Its even the Greatest Hits. Its definitely a "Must Play" game. It also has very good reviews Like 10/10, 9.5/10, 9/10, 5/5, 4.5/5, to me its definitely a 10/10, it earns a very good score. it also won over 200 GOTY awards and its also a GOTY on 2011, its also the best game of all time. If you haven't played. You got to do it now. Its those games you MUST play before you die. Its a 400 hours game. Its amazing. Its fantastic. The problem is it still does lags a little bit but not so much as the old days, and plus it doesn't crash anymore. Its one of those fighting, RPG, and kind of like fantasy, medieval, and Viking times. Its really good. You should play this game NOW. Expand
  64. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    No matter what those bad reviews say this game is amazing the fact that some people think it has bad graphics is sad people saying "you don't directly affect the game world" are also wrong you can change the game world picking a side in a war winning that war changing the entire economy the gameplay is flawless as well and there are some glitches but not the game breaking type the typeNo matter what those bad reviews say this game is amazing the fact that some people think it has bad graphics is sad people saying "you don't directly affect the game world" are also wrong you can change the game world picking a side in a war winning that war changing the entire economy the gameplay is flawless as well and there are some glitches but not the game breaking type the type that makes laugh when you see it like a floating horse or a giant whacking you into outer space. The only thing i absolutely hate is how much this game crashes the only solution is save every time you do something important so you don't have to start over. all in all this is a great game. Expand
  65. Apr 24, 2016
    10
    Skyrim is a near perfect game. With 100's of hours of content packed into a huge map it is one of my favourite games of all time. You can play this game however you want, with loads of factions to join and do quests for. With out a doubt a worthy purchase for all
  66. EJA
    Jul 29, 2013
    7
    I wanna give this a 9 or a 10 but the loading times get RIDICULOUS after playing for a while. I mean they just get longer and longer. And this game has tons of places where it needs to load so there might be 100 plus hours of gameplay but you will spend 100 plus hours in loading screens.

    What a shame because the scope of the game is huge. It is a tad shallow in terms of character
    I wanna give this a 9 or a 10 but the loading times get RIDICULOUS after playing for a while. I mean they just get longer and longer. And this game has tons of places where it needs to load so there might be 100 plus hours of gameplay but you will spend 100 plus hours in loading screens.

    What a shame because the scope of the game is huge. It is a tad shallow in terms of character development but exploration is the name of the game here. The visuals vary, the dungeons are individually unique, and the terrain is grandiose.

    It's in the same vein as Oblivion and Morrowind so if you like those you will love this. Morrowind is still the best but this is way better than Oblivion.
    Expand
  67. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    This is literally the best game I have played. It's so good that it confuses me how it is even possible. The main thing that confuses me is how magically the loading times for this game are significantly shorter than those of it's predecessor. This game has much better graphics, complex textures, excellent lighting effects, sophisticated AI and somehow they made the loading times shorter.This is literally the best game I have played. It's so good that it confuses me how it is even possible. The main thing that confuses me is how magically the loading times for this game are significantly shorter than those of it's predecessor. This game has much better graphics, complex textures, excellent lighting effects, sophisticated AI and somehow they made the loading times shorter. It has been greatly streamlined and leveling up is a lot more fun now! Much better balanced than the last games as well. In ES III Morrowind, melee was heavily favored because magica did not replenish over time. In Oblivion, magic was highly favored because it did replenish and you could also make ridiculous custom spells that made you essentially invincible and arrows were too hard of a skill to level up as well as hard to come by. In Skyrim, it is unfortunate that I will only have one lifetime and therefore will only have enough time to make the most of either a magic, warrior or stealth character. I have balanced my character to do all three with a focus on magic because each one is more fun than the others! Three very distinct play styles with many sub-classes between them. The gameplay is finally that good and also set in a massive, beautiful world full of really fun things to do. No doubt I will be playing this until the next Elder scrolls game comes out.
    I know there are only so many regions in Tamrielle to base games in. So I hope that when they run out, they find another continent so that they can keep making games.
    Expand
  68. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I hadn't heard of Elder Scrolls until my friend told me of Skyrims recent release. I tried it, and I must say it is the best RPG experience I've had. A few downsides: 1. Combat system could've been more intense and advanced. Skyrim is far ahead of Dragon Age, but the DA 2 combat system might be a good inspiration for Bethesda on how to make combat more intense and smooth, of cause WITHOUTI hadn't heard of Elder Scrolls until my friend told me of Skyrims recent release. I tried it, and I must say it is the best RPG experience I've had. A few downsides: 1. Combat system could've been more intense and advanced. Skyrim is far ahead of Dragon Age, but the DA 2 combat system might be a good inspiration for Bethesda on how to make combat more intense and smooth, of cause WITHOUT the "targeting" aspect. Combat is perhaps a little too dull and glitchy in some cases.

    2. Generally there are way too many world glitches, mainly NPCâ
    Expand
  69. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Any game that can make you want to be a master blacksmith deserves a ten. The hours I have lost on this! There are glitches in the game but they make it funny to find them in summary another classic Elder Scrolls game.
  70. Nov 18, 2011
    9
    I want to start this review by taking you back to Oblivion. I played the game on the Xbox 360 and was amazed, stunned, overwhelmed by how deep the game was, by the way that the game world evolved around the player, and how i could be sucked in, just walking around a settlement, watching people live their day to day lives. This was by far the greatest RPG that i had seen or played. TheI want to start this review by taking you back to Oblivion. I played the game on the Xbox 360 and was amazed, stunned, overwhelmed by how deep the game was, by the way that the game world evolved around the player, and how i could be sucked in, just walking around a settlement, watching people live their day to day lives. This was by far the greatest RPG that i had seen or played. The operative word in that sentence being 'was'. Skyrim. The new name on everybody's lips. After Bethesda's last 3 RPG games were solid gold, Skyrim carried great promise. Has it lived up to this promise? Oh yes. Without a shadow of a doubt. The depth of gameplay i experienced in oblivion was back, with a vengeance. The ability to mine precious metals, chop wood, craft weapons, its all there. It all adds to the depth of the world. Spending days working, then going back to your home which you bought, to your wife whom you married, and cooking a meal with the ingredients you harvested. But enough of that. The main quest is comprised of some nice battles against dragons, and the usual Travel to A and clear it of enemies before returning to B with an artifact. This is one of my only criticisms of the game. It would be nice to see some more variety, but this hardly affects the score, because the way that they are presented, and the will the player has to level up are easily enough to make you want to check out every inch of a cavern, to find more loot, and to fight more enemies. The perk system is a little different to fallout, where you have different areas to gain perks in, and they are more progressive than Fallout's, which seem somewhat removed at times, but they feel natural to the progression of the character. So its all good so far for the folks at Bethesda, but the negatives to the game. Yes there are a few, but they are more along the lines of fly in the ointment, rather than worm in the apple. Primarily, the frame rate has some serious issues at times, dropping to a painfully low level where the camera jerks around, and all there is to do is swing your sword blindly or cast a spell in any direction and hope you kill whats in front of you. Secondly, you can enchant items, and create potions, but you cant create your own spells like you could in oblivion, which gave the feel of real purpose to leveling up your magic abilities. I was gutted to find out that. No spell to open any door can be crafted, no charm of invisibility, they must all be found or learned in the game. But despite these minor errors which sadly take the game down to merely being excellent instead of perfect are not nearly enough to stop any gamer who likes RPGs and has half a brain buying it. Is AWSOME! Expand
  71. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    It is true, Skyrim has issues, bugs, glitches and, if you're really unlucky, dragons that fly backwards. I have not yet seen the latter, but just about everything else - not all in the first playthrough, though.

    Yes, this is one of those titles where you can zip through the main story in around fifty hours, but the average time is about twice as much, and it is said there is enough
    It is true, Skyrim has issues, bugs, glitches and, if you're really unlucky, dragons that fly backwards. I have not yet seen the latter, but just about everything else - not all in the first playthrough, though.

    Yes, this is one of those titles where you can zip through the main story in around fifty hours, but the average time is about twice as much, and it is said there is enough content to keep you busy for 300 to 400 hours. While I still miss a proper, decent revival of old-school RPG adventuring titles like Eye of the Beholder, Wizardry or even Dungeon Master, Skyrim is the best I've seen in quite some time. While that in itself is an easy accomplishment, simply for the lack of there being no competition whatsoever, it has to be said that a game that makes one forgive and forget the many, many flaws really must do some of the more important things right.

    Mind you, this game really is not without flaw, and I sincerely hope Bethesda will get rid of the underlying problems big and small, but I found my visit to Skyrim to be interesting, refreshing and very, very inspiring. It's one of those few games where starting over with a completely different character makes sense, to see how things would have turned out if you had chosen a different path, sided with 'that other side'. It is true that there are not quite enough of those game-changing options that have an impact on the whole game world. But, seeing as how exponentially complicated these things easily and quickly get, I was happy with what we got. If you manage to resist the temptation of exploiting any levelling shortcut or other cheating, Skyrim offers an astonishing amount of story and background, with an unequalled freedom to do as you please. Classes are not a one-time choice, you get better at whatever you choose to do by doing it. So your rogue could conjure up a tank or a decoy, or your mage could very well resort to maces or axes if things get rough and you find yourself in a closed quarters combat situation. Even your destruction mage could eventually be sneaky enough to silently pick off single foes with a deadly arrow before shooting fire and ice and lightning bolts, which makes for quite some diversified action. I admit: I really did not want to like this, but I ended up loving it.
    Expand
  72. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I love Skyrim. There is so much to do and so much to explore and the quests are genuinely intriguing and exciting. The amount of quality content is absolutely staggering and sure to keep me around for a long, long time. One of the biggest things I noticed in Skyrim is that there is just enough familiarity within Skyrim to let you know that it's Oblivion's successor, but at the same time itI love Skyrim. There is so much to do and so much to explore and the quests are genuinely intriguing and exciting. The amount of quality content is absolutely staggering and sure to keep me around for a long, long time. One of the biggest things I noticed in Skyrim is that there is just enough familiarity within Skyrim to let you know that it's Oblivion's successor, but at the same time it adds and improves on so many things that it makes sure it's its own game. I can't wait to explore the College of Winterhold, the Dark Brotherhood, and the Daedric quests. If Bethesda can follow this game up with DLC on the same level as Shivering Isles and Fallout 3, This game is sure to keep me hooked for hundreds of hours. Expand
  73. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It is so impossibly improved from Oblivion.. I knew it was going to be good but I was in awe of the improvements. I look at ES:IV now and can't believe I how amazing I thought it was when I now compared it to Skyrim.
  74. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Vast world, pretty graphics, nice music, quite interesting story, character development system better than Morrowind and Oblivion. Unfortunately, there is lack of something great, stunning and absorbing. I didn't end even the main quest. It contains also poor main characters, nothing distinctive. If you like sandboxes, you'll enjoy dungeon crawling. Otherwise, better think up purchase.Vast world, pretty graphics, nice music, quite interesting story, character development system better than Morrowind and Oblivion. Unfortunately, there is lack of something great, stunning and absorbing. I didn't end even the main quest. It contains also poor main characters, nothing distinctive. If you like sandboxes, you'll enjoy dungeon crawling. Otherwise, better think up purchase. Nevertheless, Skyrim is better than his older parts of The Elder Scrolls series. Expand
  75. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    While the graphics, story and gameplay are only "good", the world of Skyrim will draw you in. It really is an immersive experience and it's great fun, especially if you're a nerd like me :D perfect example of something being greater than the sum of its parts.
  76. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    a incredible achievement for video games. The most value you will ever get out of a 60$ video game, you will play this game for 100+ hours. I have played Elder Scrolls since Morrowind and have loved them all, but Skyrim is on a different level. The world is so engaging, I've sat down planning to play for an hour to end up playing for 5 hours. Everyone should try this game to see howa incredible achievement for video games. The most value you will ever get out of a 60$ video game, you will play this game for 100+ hours. I have played Elder Scrolls since Morrowind and have loved them all, but Skyrim is on a different level. The world is so engaging, I've sat down planning to play for an hour to end up playing for 5 hours. Everyone should try this game to see how good video games can be. Expand
  77. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Ralph Waldo Emerson once wrote: "Never lose an opportunity of seeing anything that is beautiful" and, with that in mind, I would certainly recommend playing Skyrim which is beautiful right down to the butterflies. The game world is fantastic and vast - after around 40 hours of playing and I am yet to visit large areas of it - and the landscape varies wildly from arctic tundra to verdantRalph Waldo Emerson once wrote: "Never lose an opportunity of seeing anything that is beautiful" and, with that in mind, I would certainly recommend playing Skyrim which is beautiful right down to the butterflies. The game world is fantastic and vast - after around 40 hours of playing and I am yet to visit large areas of it - and the landscape varies wildly from arctic tundra to verdant grassland to mountain passes to rushing, rapid filled rivers. The graphics are fantastic and not only does the world look great but so do the NPCs and the items. There is even an option to rotate and zoom in on items and when doing that you really can see how lavishly detailed some of them really are. Some negative reviewers have claimed that the graphics have not advanced from Oblivion but as someone who got into The Elder Scrolls Games late and therefore only finished Oblivion three days before Skyrim was released I can tell you that the two are worlds apart in terms of graphics. Similarly the storyline for Skyrim is solid. While I would say that the storyline is not as good as Oblivion's (it has a high bar to beat, lets be honest) that is not to say it is bad as it is filled with depth, drama and characters which make you care what happens next. Even the books dotted around the landscape and city book shelves are amazingly well written and add depth, quests and some of the short stories even have plot twists of which Phillip K Dick would have been proud. Combat has been vastly improved from Oblivion firstly it is easier to play as an archer or mage in Skyrim as Oblivion did not make it easy to be either primarily. Similarly the actual fights are more fun in Skyrim as in Oblivion you'd slash at a goblin and, after its life ran out, it would slump peacefully to the floor as if it had fallen asleep. Instead in Skyrim enemies can be thrown backwards by a strong slash, beheaded or run through with your sword. The whole "shout" system also adds a new dimension to experiment with in combat. However, to me, the most important improvement is that every dungeon is unique which always makes it interesting to explore unlike in Oblivion where seeing the same rooms in a different order each time you visited a new dungeon got boring really fast. Other reviewers have mentioned glitches and I feel i should address that next. I think I am one of the lucky souls who has not encountered a single problem with this game and neither a graphical glitch nor a quest breaking bug has occurred for me. However, I think that some of the people with the problems are PC users who are mistakenly commenting on the xbox360 version's page rather than the PC version's page as they tend to mention their glitch experience in the same breath as mentioning that they have "an awesome rig". While swords, sorcery and dragons may not be everyone's cup of tea I did recently introduce a friend to the game who had previously, rather immaturely, referred to anything in the fantasy genre as "gay" and has now logged 86 hours of gameplay so it seems to be a good crossover game. In conclusion there I can find little to fault Skyrim for while having nothing but admiration for the designers of this game. From me it gets a well deserved 10/10. Expand
  78. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    This game is phenomenal. Despite some lo-res textures, this game redefines open world, with a good 100+ hours of quality content. Everyone should get this. Best in the series, best this year.
  79. Nov 24, 2011
    7
    Let's start with the bad, the game has many glitches & bugs which at some points can make the game unplayable. The voice acting is not the best and is repeated so much that it can become boring. The game play such as combat or interacting with npc's seems a bit off at times, and the graphics are very limited for console especially without using a mod on PC version to improve them much moreLet's start with the bad, the game has many glitches & bugs which at some points can make the game unplayable. The voice acting is not the best and is repeated so much that it can become boring. The game play such as combat or interacting with npc's seems a bit off at times, and the graphics are very limited for console especially without using a mod on PC version to improve them much more which tells me the devs were very lazy.The difficulty of the game I find is not very challenging at all either What is good about this game? It has a lot of fun rpg elements to it, it can be addicting to play despite it's flaws. Vast amount of areas quests, and stories to explore. If you love RPG this game is a must but it's far from a masterpiece claim it to be. Expand
  80. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    one of the greatest game of all time keep your BF3 and that other shooter game Skyrim deserved all it awards and then some.
  81. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Been playing this game for 4 hours now, easily one of the best games I've played this year. If you liked Oblivion you'll really love this. They vamped up everything and included more things to do. Visually, it's stunning, gameplay is stunning. I'd write more, but I need to continue playing!
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs of all time, and I don't think I can say what hasn't already been said. The dragon battles are exhilarating, the atmosphere is amazing, the characters are memorable...just a great overall experience.
  83. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Just doing my part to raise the user score. There is absolutely no reason this game should be below a 9, the people who are putting in a 0 are trolling.
  84. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    My first time playing the ES series. It freakin rocks! Vast gameplay had me stuck to my pc for at least 2 days straight. Sure there are bugs, but for a game this size, they are expected. Suffice to say the bugs don't interfere with the ability to enjoy the crap out of this game. Oh and also...dragons, nuff' said
  85. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    While it is buggy at times, the animations might be a bit stiff, and sometimes the UI is unresponsive, it is still one of the best games I have played in years.
  86. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    love this game apart from ,ive unlock 4 words for my shout, 2 are working fine but the onther 2 are not ,as ive kiled 7 more dragons and the shouts are not working
  87. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Normally in a game that i love i will say that the only bad thing about it it that is has to end. In this case, the game does not end. I have played for 72 hours and I'm only level 35. The game satisfies all needs and it doesn't make you do the storyline. The world levels up with you which allows the game to always be a challenge, and i love the system that they have for leveling up. TheNormally in a game that i love i will say that the only bad thing about it it that is has to end. In this case, the game does not end. I have played for 72 hours and I'm only level 35. The game satisfies all needs and it doesn't make you do the storyline. The world levels up with you which allows the game to always be a challenge, and i love the system that they have for leveling up. The only thing wrong with this game is that the world is so big that it is bound to have some glitches. I honestly don't see how you could play this game and not love it. Expand
  88. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Ridiculously good. Can't wait for the DLC in the future, I spent a thoroughly unhealthy week long streak of Skyrim, and I want more. Not to say there was a lack of anything, I just splurged. Skyrim: Gamer Coke.
  89. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    OVERVIEW: Skyrim follows through on one of Bethesda's "Massive RPG's" and it is just that, a game that will keep you busy, which is a good thing.

    PROS: With hundreds of unique quests, a huge map, and a satisfying storyline, this game will take a long time to complete and then be completely different the next play through, which is a great thing to have. Flexibility of this game is very
    OVERVIEW: Skyrim follows through on one of Bethesda's "Massive RPG's" and it is just that, a game that will keep you busy, which is a good thing.

    PROS: With hundreds of unique quests, a huge map, and a satisfying storyline, this game will take a long time to complete and then be completely different the next play through, which is a great thing to have. Flexibility of this game is very appealing, how you can do anything you want and how every decision is a factor into the world, whether it be going to jail for stealing or an invitation to the Dark Brotherhood with your exceptional assassin skills. With so many cities, enemies, and dungeons, the great graphics and immense detail make the game that much better. The main storyline is somewhat intriguing but what surprised me was the amount of side stories there were; other quests are not just meaningless and random, they offer some very cool and interactive stories that you can't turn down.

    CONS: Being that it carries the same style of gameplay as other Bethesda games, the combat is a little dry. Although their is a lot of variety in the type of weapon, each individual weapon acts the same as the others in its subcategory. And, of course, the big issue is the bugs. The bugs are disturbing and can ruin a moment, like falling under the map or screen freezes (both frustrating events have happened to me a few times). However, this is being patch so hopefully the problem will go away.

    GRAPHICS: 9 out of 10; Amazing scenery and world is full of detail, however animations and voice overs need some work.
    STORYLINE: 9 out of 10; Main plot is not as exciting as the numerous side stories, but it is much longer.
    GAMEPLAY: 8 out of 10; Fun with so many styles and tactics to use, but gets repetitive.
    LASTING APPEAL: 10 out of 10; This is what this game is all about, thousands of things to do and then thousands of different ways to do them.
    OVERALL: 9 out of 10

    CONCLUSION: This is game lives up to the hype and will definitely keep you busy, but still contains familiar flaws like combat and bugs.
    Expand
  90. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    i have only played a few hours but i love the game. yeah i wish the map and journal were a little easier to access but that won't break a game for me. scrolling through the reviews i see so many 9 and 10 it is hard to understand how it has a 8.7 user score. Don't give a great RPG a 3 because you don't like RPGs. this game is meant for people who like RPGs. If you are a FPS fan and youi have only played a few hours but i love the game. yeah i wish the map and journal were a little easier to access but that won't break a game for me. scrolling through the reviews i see so many 9 and 10 it is hard to understand how it has a 8.7 user score. Don't give a great RPG a 3 because you don't like RPGs. this game is meant for people who like RPGs. If you are a FPS fan and you didn't like fallout or oblivion this game probably isn't for you. the graphics are great considering how much content it has to load and the fighting system is WAY better than fallout in my opinion. there is a ton of content in the game and i haven't even scratched the surface yet. you are in control of your game. If you don't want to take the time to do some small tasks in order to be able to progress than go to a faster paced game like Assassins Creed and Batman they are both great open world game with a lot less demand on time. this game was meant to take dozens of hours to beat. great job Bathesda! i cant wait to play your next-gen game after i beat this one a dozen times! Expand
  91. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I think its been said multiple times by now, this game is perfect. Glitches and ugly faces aside, Skyrim has some of the best and most memorable gameplay of the year. Absolute masterpiece. I will be playing this game for many months to come
  92. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    A for Awesome.

    Well done Bethesda. Some devs still left in the industry with awesome imaginations, story telling skills and the talent to bring it all to life.
  93. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. There's no other way to say it. It really is, but there are glitches and stuff that is not there that brings it down. The minor glitches don't ruin the whole game and make it unplayable but, they do make the smaller things more tedious and annoying. You can approach combat from many different angles because of the wide array of skills to choose from. Play it, enjoyThis game is amazing. There's no other way to say it. It really is, but there are glitches and stuff that is not there that brings it down. The minor glitches don't ruin the whole game and make it unplayable but, they do make the smaller things more tedious and annoying. You can approach combat from many different angles because of the wide array of skills to choose from. Play it, enjoy it, but be warned because there are some bugs and other things that ruin the smaller things Expand
  94. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    i didn't like oblivion very much,so i had low expectations but upon starting the game i loved it! the quests are fun and not all the same,enemies and npc's are smart and don't just stand there when being attacked but the best thing buy far is the dragons,one on its own isn't hard,but when 3 attack at once it gets hard,and even then it's pretty cool because people nearby join in andi didn't like oblivion very much,so i had low expectations but upon starting the game i loved it! the quests are fun and not all the same,enemies and npc's are smart and don't just stand there when being attacked but the best thing buy far is the dragons,one on its own isn't hard,but when 3 attack at once it gets hard,and even then it's pretty cool because people nearby join in and help,game of the year in my book,10/10 Expand
  95. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    A truly fantastic game. There isn't much more to say about it other than its overwhelming greatness. I absolutely loved it, and found myself immersed in it for hours.
  96. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Skyrim and Bethesda are awesome!!!! I absolutely love this game and find myself forgetting my uni work because I can't get enough of it. Yes there are some small bugs, but they do not detract from how brilliant this game is. You can tell that Bethesda really enjoyed making it which is brilliant and as a female gamer it is nice to play a game that is not all boobs and bum. For those of youSkyrim and Bethesda are awesome!!!! I absolutely love this game and find myself forgetting my uni work because I can't get enough of it. Yes there are some small bugs, but they do not detract from how brilliant this game is. You can tell that Bethesda really enjoyed making it which is brilliant and as a female gamer it is nice to play a game that is not all boobs and bum. For those of you who have complained about the game being medieval and fantasy, thats the setting of the game. Dont buy it if you dont like RPG's and/or fantasy. Expand
  97. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    100 hours in and still not fed up, its the game that just keeps giving. Its my GOTY without a doubt, perhaps even the game of this generation. If you dont have it and you like rpg's you are doing yourself a disservice by not playing this.
  98. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    This game filled the gap of time between my quitting WOW and the release of TOR, basically hundreds of hours of my life that I am never going to get back, and i don't regret a second of it. Its amazing that an RPG can have this amount of content in it, and the Graphics are absolutely stunning.
  99. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    This is by all measures an epic game. It's a massive world to explore, it's got hundreds of stories to tell, and hundreds of possible ways of doing it all. It can be both cinematic and open ended, and the sound track and graphics really aid this; the game is gorgeous. In terms of it's own merits, this game is an incredible value, offering hundreds of hours of game time in an open endedThis is by all measures an epic game. It's a massive world to explore, it's got hundreds of stories to tell, and hundreds of possible ways of doing it all. It can be both cinematic and open ended, and the sound track and graphics really aid this; the game is gorgeous. In terms of it's own merits, this game is an incredible value, offering hundreds of hours of game time in an open ended world, with sound and video to match, and a pretty good main story. Even some of the side quests are epic on a level that would make Indiana Jones blush. For Those of you who have played Oblivion, it stacks up very well, but does change quite a few things. On the one hand, the game has many more cinematic moments, thanks to revamped graphics, a wider variety of scenery, and much improved script writing and voice acting. However, in terms of leveling , experience, and perks, this is much more like a Fallout game than an Elder Scrolls game, but not in a bad way. You still pick a race, but the perks and attributes are somewhat reversed from Oblivion; rather than picking a class and attributes then playing to suit them, you play and pick perks and classes to fit how you play, and with a possible total of 60 perks, plus countless blessings, guardian stones, signs etc. there is plenty of opportunity to customise. The only real negative with Skyrim is the introduction of some grinding while moving through the guilds; You're often required to do quite a few "run here, do X, come back" missions that are randomly generated before the next real quest; This does give you opportunities to explore and to gain XP, but it can also be very demoralizing when you just want to get on with the story and you're stuck fast travelling, pressing A, and fast travelling back for upwards of 40 minutes. That being said, this is a remarkable game in all aspects, and for 43 dollars (only 35 or so at game trader for a used copy) It is an unbeatable value. Expand
  100. Dec 30, 2011
    8
    This is a review based on completion and almost everything done. This does not contain spoilers, so feel free to read fully without spoiling the game.

    Skyrim is a massive RPG, one which can take you well over 150 hours to see most of the content. I'll separate the contents of the review into multiple factors. Visuals: Visually, the game is stunning on all platforms. Not many games have
    This is a review based on completion and almost everything done. This does not contain spoilers, so feel free to read fully without spoiling the game.

    Skyrim is a massive RPG, one which can take you well over 150 hours to see most of the content. I'll separate the contents of the review into multiple factors.

    Visuals: Visually, the game is stunning on all platforms. Not many games have you feeling like you are exploring a world, but Skyrim manages to do just that. Only when you start looking for graphical flaws will you find them, such as low textured grounds and houses. As a whole however, the game is visually sound. Naturally, the PC version has the edge in visuals, but that is to be expected with updated hardware.

    Gameplay: Gameplay is great. The amount of things you can do is simply endless. You can fight dragons, giants, go exploring in caves, dungeons, towers, or simply craft. It's a MMO, without the monthly content, and the griefing players. Combat is fluid, and you have many different types of combat styles to suit almost anyone. While not every combat style is perfect, all have a great feel, and I can easily see some people playing multiple characters to try them all. However, gameplay is not perfect. I fell victim to a glitch that would not allow me to continue the main story, and had to restart the game, losing about 15 hours of progress. While I did not really mind too much, as it gave me a chance to refine a new character, I can see how others would find this very frustrating. Also, it is well known the PS3 version has issues of freezing, and laggy gameplay due to the memory bug. This happens by having a long played game, and is from the PS3's 512/512 mb memory, which is a well known issue. Every version has glitches, but for the amount of content you get, I can understand some glitches, and Bethesda is working on patches weekly.

    Sound: Sadly, the voice acting still feels a little scripted, and poorly acted at times. It also feels like there should be more voice actors. Not every guard should be talking about taking a arrow to the knee. The sounds of fighting are right on, shields sound like they are taking the hit, and sword attacks sound like they are actually hitting a monster. Summary: A great RPG that should keep you busy for weeks, if not months, to explore through completely.

    Score: Xbox 360: 8.0/10
    Playstation 3: 7.0/10
    PC: 8.5/10
    Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.