User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3148 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2014
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is THE game. Going on three years since its release, I'm still finding new things to do, and I've dropped almost 200 hours into this game (and I don't regret it one bit). The world is huge and beautiful, and full of hidden treasures and things to do. There are so many ways to play that you will never replay the game the same way twice. And talking to your friends about it and finding out about their experiences with the game makes for a fun conversation. The game is the perfect fantasy RPG in every way, shape and form and will definitely being going down in the video game Hall of Fame. Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    All I can say to this game is... WOW. Bethesda Softworks blew fans away with this game. From plundering an evil dungeon, to murdering a civilian by candlelight, this is a MASTERPIECE. The graphics are absolutely amazing, and since its an RPG, its your game. You can be honorable, and live to your word, or even a sneaky assassin. The story line is incredible and the DLC make it even better. BUY THIS GAME Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Fun, addictive, basically electronic crack. Get some Depends so you don't have to get up to go to the bathroom. Careful you don't get couch sores; remember to flip every few hours.
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Sometimes starry eyed optimism is necessary to become immersed in an RPG, but not with Skyrim. With this game you are rewarded with a rich story for the spontaneous decisions you make and winding paths you tread towards your destination. "Oblivion expansion pack" accusations are tiring, as much has been improved here beyond a graphical overhaul.

    NPC interaction is much less of a chore.
    While I got a sense of satisfaction playing the speechcraft mini game in Oblivion to obtain better prices or information, its necessity caused it to be a time sink - I don't miss it.

    Interface is pleasingly minimal compared to Oblivion. Main quests are separated from a "Miscellaneous" category which allows my sanity to stay in tact as I accumulate a pile of them in the first town of Whiterun. Beyond that, every button (aside from the joysticks) can be remapped as you please. Such a simple freedom, but sometimes makes all the difference. The "Favorite" button follows the form of the interface being an easy way to quickly swap frequently used items.

    One gripe I do have is that poisons still seem too awkward to use regularly. I'd really like to see a "poison queue" option so I could select concoctions to be automatically applied to whatever equipped weapon I was using at the time until the entire queue ran dry. And perhaps even a little indicator to show when a new one had been auto-applied. Another problem I have is the inability to go beyond the "follow" and "wait" commands for companions. I would really like Passive/Aggressive/Defensive stances so that I don't have to do as much micromanagement.

    Now Skyrim is very much like Oblivion in many ways, but I think it's unfair to use this as leverage against it. I enjoyed Oblivion thoroughly even though I hardly made it halfway through the main quest line. For the same reason, I have thoroughly enjoyed Skyrim so far as the immersion has been deeper for me. Ultimately, an RPG does require some effort on the player's part to become part of the story - to be invested in their character. This isn't a shooting gallery type of game where you're a track expecting to be entertained by cinematic pomp and circumstance that would make Michael Bay blush. It's a role-playing game that does a fantastic job of urging you to be invested in your own story through its setting in a vibrant world and organic leveling system allowing you to choose your path as you progress rather than as a weighted decision at character creation. In short, suspend cynicism and enjoy this game with the patience you would give to a good book - it deserves it.
    Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Skyrim was a game I couldn't wait to own. A departure from my staple diet of COD which has left me seeking a new experience & this certainly achieves that. I liked the freedom given to the gamer in Red Dead Redemption which was pure escapism and this does that even more so. Think World of Warcraft for grown ups!
    Skyrim is a beautifully crafted & textured game on so many levels. The
    intricacy & detail is nothing short of stunning. Little wonder you can immerse yourself for hours in its gorgeous world. From meadows with butterflies to snowy, blizzardy wastes. From castle to vampire's lair. Fabulous changing light & weather all add to the atmospherics here. A rich spectrum of creatures that will happily rip you limb from limb and a powerful array of weaponry & magic to learn & deploy at every opportunity.
    One of the strengths of the game is that it is very lateral & not so linear. Anywhere you can see, you can go. You are not tied to missions, you can roam freely (often at your peril) and it is this kind of exploration that keeps the game fresh and fascinating.
    I cannot really think of anything to criticise about Skyrim and you are guaranteed to have a blast. Ps. - the dragons are spectacular and at times appear out of nowhere to scare the hell out of you.
    Best played at night in the dark!
    Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    How can some of the negative reviews say the graphics are barely better than Oblivion? This game has the best graphics of the year. The bugs aren't nearly as bad as other people are saying, and the combat has been much improved. Their are actually stats in your skills, and I really don't mind the loss of classes and attributes. It actually makes it more like an RPG, since the Role(R) you're playing (P) in the game (G) completely shapes the way your character progresses. There are lots of weapons and quests, dungeons are incredibly varied and unique. Dragons are a blast to fight, and so are most of the other enemies. 10/10 for sure, one of the greatest games ever made, EVER. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is the most amazing game I have ever played. Ever. There is such an overwhelming amount of content in this one disc, an amount that has yet to be duplicated on a game with four discs! The landscape is insanely diverse and beautiful. Girlfriend, say goodbye ;)
  8. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is a delicious game to play. It has everything an RPG wants: Freedom, Character build, story, a realitic world environment...

    Unfortunately it also has one thing (like previous Bethesda games) that no game wants in it: BUGS. After 9 hours of gameplay the dialogs stopped to work for me and I had to go back to a previous gamesave 3 hours before (time flies while playing!). It's a
    wonderful game but by no means deserves a score over 9. Expand
  9. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Why does this game get a 10 from me? Well to make a long review short; it has everything I want in a game. Great story, versatile gameplay, freedom of choice, doesn't get easily bored and so much more. I have yet to play a game that gives me the same exiting feeling every time I play it, especially after the amount of hour's I have played it (at least 300 hours). I only have it on the xbox, but I'm planing to buy it for my pc as well. My sister say's it's a lot better there, especially when it comes to graphics. Expand
  10. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    With the overabundance of linear games on the market, Skyrim is a treat for anyone looking for a title with open adventuring and exploration.

    For the amount of content in this game, the value is simply unmatched by any other game out there. Bethesda is showing other companies how to treat a consumer right. No day 1 DLC content, few bugs, great production value and a downright fun game!


    This game is huge and the improvements over Oblivion are great. Improved graphics, better voice overs, better AI, faster loading, quicker and improved UI, every dungeon feels different... the list goes on and on.
    Expand
  11. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Where most games give you 6-7 hours of playtime, Skyrim gives you 50+. The world is breathtaking, the myriad of caves, ruins and various dungeons are interesting to explore, many with small quests or story behind them. The graphics are excellent, especially when exploring the open world, which is huge, bigger than both oblivion and fallout. Quests vary in length, and are far easier to find than in previous games. Every detail has been considered, every pillar of the game is solid, combat is rewarding, the world is vibrant and interesting, the monsters, locations and quests are all varied and interesting, and the enemies scale just enough so its not too hard or too easy, but you still feel powerful at higher levels.The sheer number of quests and locations is mind boggling, Ive been playing for at least 30 hours and there is still so much to do! If your an RPG fan, then this game is the definition of the genre. Expand
  12. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Thank You, Bethesda.

    Just when you thought that everyone had sold out & everything was plastic... so much substance, depth, & detail...

    It shows. *Hats off the artists of the game* Well deserved. Musical score & ambiance? Fantastic.

    Well done, Bethesda, employees... well done. *bow*
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    OK! What can i say about this masterpiece that Bethesda has given us that already has not been said. Well from my perspective the game isn't perfect, (and no game ever will be just like people) but it absolutely NOT matched, but exceeded my expectations! And that folks is a VERY rare thing indeed! Albeit said that i have seen a couple of minor glitches, one example is where i killed two bandits only to come back a couple hours later to find the gear i left on the ground levitating about 3 to 4 feet in the air, HEHE! But hey in a game this massive that's chicken sh!t, This game is absolutely amazing! I am now about 40 or more hours into it and i will absolutely say with confidence that this is the most amazing "GAME" not RPG but game ever made period. If you are a gamer you MUST own this game, and newcomers be patient this game is in no rush so either should you be, believe me the rewards will start flowing from the game before you know it. God bless the true artistic gifts we receive from time to time in this life, AMAZING! Expand
  14. Jan 17, 2012
    6
    For a game that prides itself on exploration, customization and variety, it falls short on every category. I remember Todd Howard touting how much more diversity it has over Oblivion. That is true for the first 2 hours of the game. You'll immediately notice how much better the graphics are. People aren't as hideous looking as the lemon-shaped faces in Oblivion, the water effects are amazing and Bethesda did try to make every dungeon as different from each other as possible, but after a while, all that means nothing when they offer the same boring experience. What's the point of all this extra space when every 10 miles is the same town with the same people with the same problems? My biggest gripe is the loot. Again, if you are familiar with Bethesda games, you'd know you can open every container and pick pocket every NPC or loot their corpse, but there's no incentive to do those when a Jarl carries nothing better than the next beggar and you can't steal the same items shop keepers are selling. I'm not going to further explain the stale main quest and bugs. It's not a bad game overall. If you've enjoyed the past Elder Scrolls/Fallout games, you'd know what to expect, if not, tread with caution. Expand
  15. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The pinnacle of open world RPG design. This game takes the best of Morrowind and Oblivion, and even earlier games (random quests from Daggerfall, for example) and takes it to an entirely new level. The world is beautifully designed and very interactive.

    One of the best games I've played in a long, long time.
  16. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Just too epic for its own good. Easily, hands down GOTY and then some. Even the score gets in your brain. Wow. Bethesda I was starting to doubt with a so-so New Vegas IMHO. Skyrim just does everything right - well maybe a rare crazy-overpowered Dramora throwing fireballs at me. Other than that, WOW. Okay enough time posting this review. Back to Skyrim. Totally addicted. You will be too. You'll see. Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    One of the best games i´ve played, a true masterpiece of everything from gameplay to music also the universe is just spectacular, and the dragon fights are incredible finally the elder scrolls get a decent boss fight, totally recommended and an important candidate to GOTY.
  18. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    I already spend 20+ hours in this fantastic world an i am amazed! The world feels real, its simply the best RPG i ever played. Hopefully the little Bugs here and there will get fixed soon, but even WITH those Bugs, the Game is simply wonderful!
  19. Feb 24, 2012
    1
    I'm probably just a minor crowd here but it seems this and oblivion aren't the games for me.. I don't want a game where I can explore walking about and looking at the scenes. Those are good but not a main selling point for me. I'm tired of this game showing up when i try to find top 10 RPGs of 2011. I'm into RPGs for captivating stories.. games that fill me with a sense of purpose when I get around a main turning point. I want to read a story book without having to open a book :). In this game the story seems to be in the background with other features shining in the foreground. That doesn't represent the Role Playing Game genre to me.. But.. from the ratings this game is generally getting, it seems I am a rare breed. Expand
  20. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Liked oblivion? This improves. Ten-fold. Leveling is now a fluid masterpiece, being able to form your character from your play style is new and unrestricted. No more guessing at the beginning of the game of what you will like, it is all what you use through out.
  21. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim has by far exceeded my expectations. Personally I am not a fan of the Fallout series and as the press for this game came out it seemed that the game was becoming more like Fallout and less like Oblivion. Happily this is not the case
  22. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Vast world, pretty graphics, nice music, quite interesting story, character development system better than Morrowind and Oblivion. Unfortunately, there is lack of something great, stunning and absorbing. I didn't end even the main quest. It contains also poor main characters, nothing distinctive. If you like sandboxes, you'll enjoy dungeon crawling. Otherwise, better think up purchase. Nevertheless, Skyrim is better than his older parts of The Elder Scrolls series. Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest RPG games EVER!! I mean, a game with 300 hours of duration, an epic story line, good graphics and a solid game play? You must have it!!! That's all!
  24. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Just wanted to cancel Merrill4Life critic, which as always is full a **** Look at the user history and you will notice that this user always destroys everything competing against the DA2 debacle. His reviews are copy/pasted just to promote DA2, EA and Bioware, which has nothing to do with Skyrim, just like my review. But mine serves the purpose to cancel his.
  25. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Open, grand, beautiful, rich and several other words have ebeen used to describe this game, and it is all true. A long awaited sequel, that delivers on every promise, which in it self is an achevement. Games like these are one in a billion.
  26. Nov 14, 2011
    5
    Juego muy completo pero aburrido, extremadamente lento al avanzar y lleno de bugs. La forma de atacar es muy repetitiva y realmente cansina. Las misiones secundarias y el diseño del "mundo", un acierto, eso si.
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This truly is the most beautiful game I have ever seen. A masterpiece and an epic world for you to explore and discover. The is the definitive game for this generation of consoles.
  28. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Simply a masterpiece. This game crosses the line of playing a game, into something you feel you are truly experiencing. Best $60 I have ever spent on a video game. The game is just beautiful.
  29. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    Perfect. Just perfect. I've been waiting 5 years for this game and here it is. Much more than I've expected. Graphics, gameplay and plot are perfect and it gets you into the game. But I've found some people who are rating this game 5 or less. And they are comparing Skyrim with other games. Other games shall be compared with Skyrim, because there is no other game that even comes closer to Skyrim. The game is perfect, glitches make it fun, there are a lot of choices to make and they change the gameplay. Best game ever made. Expand
  30. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    My girlfriend HATES Skyrim. Why? Because I want to play it every free moment I have. I have to force myself to shut off the XBOX or the consequences could have a detrimental impact on my sex life. What makes this game Crack for nerds can be summarized in one word. Immersion. You will be utterly helpless as the incredible world of Skyrim becomes more engaging with every hour you play. Skyrim will likely win Game of the Year for 2011 even though there were some amazing games released this year. Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    MW3 doesn't even compare to Skyrim. Different games and different pros and cons. I spent almost 300 hours on my perfect stat character in Oblivion, so I'm sure that the same thing will happen with Skyrim. Also, while playing Skyrim, I won't have to listen to 12 year old telling 'your mom' jokes or people camping in corners with claymores set then brag about how good they are. I'll know that i will be playing both Skyrim and MW3, but I will definitely have more fun with games like Darksouls and Skyrim over dealing with unskilled players in MW3 who are all talk. Quick question, how can so many people who bought MW3 at midnight be so terrible at the game? Played a team deathmatch game, i was 16-2, last 3 guys a combined 8-32... Expand
  32. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I do not blame those who give this a bad rating...i used to hate oblivion with a passion. The gameplay and system just didn't work for me and i didn't understand what Bethesda was trying to do. But eventually a friend convinced me to try it out for a few days and truly get into it...and i finally realized what Bethesda was trying to do. This game is literally an art, and is by far the greatest game EVER created. This gameplay is not for everyone, but please do not get on here and say the mechanics and graphics are bad because they are some of the greatest ever, and if you did not realize that the second you put the game into your xbox, then i feel sorry you. If i had only one word to describe Skyrim, that word would be perfection. Expand
  33. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    It has happened,yes it has.This is the game we have all been waiting for ,for countless years.It's a game without a flaw ,a game that is fun and addictingly so to be lost in for many hours.A powerful powerhouse of a game.Wait,a game no,an experience yes a drug most certainly.An obsession that you think about all day at work to come home and experience some more.This is the first video game that your mind can't differentiate between a drug and a game.That hasn't happened sense tetris came out in the 80's.A masterpiece of an obtuse game industry.This is not to be missed no matter what your game style,preference,system.Get a 360 or a PS3 and grab this game now.Play it,experience it,cherish it,dream about it make your story and live your alternate life it will most likely make you forget about this life! Expand
  34. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to any of the haters, Skyrim is definitely a worthy entry in the revered Elder Scrolls franchise, and a fantastic game over all. Yeah, the texture issue sucks, but Bethesda is working on it. A lot of these bad reviews are from trolls who live to stir s*** up for laughs. Anyway, on to the review. I've played Elder Scrolls since 2004, and one thing loved about every game was the freedom to do what I want, when I wanted. I'll admit, when I was first given the freedom to freeroam in Skyrim, I felt overwhelmed; the game world feels extremely vast, with sweeping plains and imposing mountains. Bethesda has done an excellent job of making the world feel gigantic. One minor disappointment I do have however is the inability to choose major/minor skills. The ability to level up every ability is nice and fluid, but at the same time it also feels a little messy, because you're unsure of what archtype to play as. Anyway, that's just a minor, personal gripe. One thing I LOVE however is how powerful some of the enemies are. In Morrowind, you could go anywhere, but stray too far and you die quickly. This really made you wanted to increase your skills, and when you finally killed that difficult enemy, you felt bad ass. In Oblivion, this wasn't the case; I rarely died in that game, even on harder difficulties. Skyrim however, taught me a lesson; never bum rush a frost troll at a low level with a weak fire spell.

    Another thing I absolutely adore is how they used some of the songs from Morrowind. I loved Morrowind, so having that nostalgia kick in while I explore the countryside is a real treat. The original soundtrack is equally fantastic. In terms of actual gameplay, it really comes down to opinion. The magic is VERY improved over Oblivion, and is a blast to use. The dual-wielding aspect works incredibly well, and gives you a nearly endless variety of ways to play. The spriting mechanic works, but is merely average. Aiming with the bow has also been improved, and no longer feels clunky and slow like in Oblivion; you also move slowly while aiming with the bow now, so you have to think more tactically; no more circling that bear and pelting it with arrows until it falls. I also love the kill animations; they're pretty infrequent, but extremely satisfying when they happen. All in all, Skyrim is a fantastic title that everyone should play, regardless if you haven't played any other elder scrolls. it's a little rough around the edges, but then again, so is Skyrim's terrain. Buy it, play it, love it.
    Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The best game that I've ever played, when I'm not playing it, I'm thinking about it, when I'm not thinking about it, I'm reading about it. Get this game.
  36. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Yesterday one of my friends on Xbox Live messeged me and asked "so hows Skyrim?". I get a lot of messges about games and how they are and normally its no problem to respond, but when I came to reply there were no words. I had been playing for 2 hours when the messege came and I was lost in The Elder Scrolls, this happened with Morrowind and Oblivion, but never like this. I was a Bosmer (wood elf) , I was a scout sent by the Council of Mages at the Arcane University, I was Binwin the Swift. I was completely engrossed as this sneaky archer hunting stags on the turndra of Skyrim. In the end I replied with "there are no words to describe this game but I will try, this is a game like a fine wine, not to be gulped and rushed but to be sipped and appreciated, to enjoy every hidden flavour and depth, this is a game to ruin your real life." Now I have finished with all that, I will try and be more specific, this is an RPG which really means it, this isnt a game where you are given a hero pre made, you make this hero, you know his or her past, you play that character how you want. You choose the route you go, never being told, you cant go this way or that way. You are surrounded by a world created by people whos love for this world pours from the game like a fine mead from a tankard into your dry mouth, and after one sip you need more . You are surround by sounds and a score so epic nothing from the outside world can penetrate, including your wife telling you to get the plates out for dinner. If you decide to buy this game in essence you are buying into a world, a journey to find epic dragons and a fantasy land which will see you through not weeks, not months but years of gameplay. This is how RPG's were meant to be. Expand
  37. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely incredible, but this game. Fantastic graphics, immersive atmosphere and much varied gameplay serve for a momentous game in gaming history. O and say buy to your girlfriend and you normal everyday life cause its now over.
  38. Feb 2, 2012
    3
    Skyrim looks marvellous, the attention to detail is nothing short of jaw-dropping, the landscape and sheer scale is a phenomenal achievement. It's a real shame then that this game fails in every other aspect. I won't bother going into the plethora of bugs and glitches that infect this game, because they've already been documented many many times by other more notable reviewers. Let's start with the basic difficulty.... there is none. This game is an interactive story, nothing more than that, there is NO challenge here at all. I began my personal Skyrim adventure by increasing my smithing and enchanting skills, my that was boring... I have no idea how many iron daggers I had to make to get smithing up to max. When I did I went off and made the best weapon and best armour in the game and then strolled through the game swatting away enemies like annoying flies. Beating the final boss boiled down to hitting it about 8 times and that was it. The ending is befitting of the game, non-eventful and dull, dull, dull. Some of the dungeons are littered with elaborate traps which at first you feel like you should avoid, but after levelling up a few times you realise that they don't mean anything because you can just run right through them, take the tiny health hit and then simply heal or wait until your health regenerates (not that you'd need to). If you want your hand held whist playing through an interactive story, Skyrim is definitely for you. If you want a challenge and immersion, it most definitely is not. How can you immerse yourself in a game that allows you to simply fast-travel anywhere you've already been, and where you have to wait an age for the loading to finish every time you enter a building?

    Sorry Skyrim, you suck. I looked forward to playing you for so long but you've let me down. I'm off to play Dark Souls again instead.
    Expand
  39. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a worthy sequel to oblivion. It takes an already great experience and polishes it to perfection. There are a few bugs here and there, but nothing that can't be fixed with a patch, and certainly nothing that can't be overlooked for the games extremely entertaining game play as well as it's immensely immersing story. Not to mention the infinite number of side quests that will make this my go to game for years to come. Collapse
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games
  41. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Any sandbox game that triggers a feelings of exploration, travel and creativity truly deserves a high score. This game is a must buy for all Elderscrolls fans and a should-buy for all RPG lovers.
  42. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    All people who hate this game need to stfu they are clearly the minority here. This game in my opinion is one of the best that we have seen in a awhile.
  43. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Incredible Rpg game. The graphics and gameplay are absolutely stunning. The plot and environment is awesome. There is a huge epic scale of things to explore. It feels like playing a single player mmorpg. I'm 20 hours in and still haven't scratched the surface because there is so much things to do such as exploring dungeons, crafting, and enchanting. This game draws you in and keeps you wanting to play more. Expand
  44. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is seriously amazing! i dont understand what type of person would rate this game negatively?? The sound, graphics, gameplay - its all pure beauty. Best money i have ever spent!!
  45. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The game is AMAZING!
    I never played that good, that interesting, that long, it's **** everything!
    It's better than Oblivion, Fallout, Dragon Age:Origins or any other good RPG game!
    This game is a MASTERPIECE.
  46. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Stunning game, a real experience to play, the only reason I can't give it a ten is because it needs to feel busier, the towns need more hustle and bustle, big battles need more people, I know this is a restraint of the engine and the platforms it is on, but this is the sole thing that stops this game being a perfect ten for me. Apart from that though, I can't fault it!
  47. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    By force of habit, when a new game comes along the first thing I judge it on isn't by the graphics or the gameplay, but how much improvement is shown from teh last installment which of course meant Skyrim got an A+ in my book right off the bat. After 2 hours of gameplay I can say that it kept up with my first impression and continued to impress me though and through. Though the fighting system still feels rather uneven and their are a few bugs, though no game breaking ones, Skryim still mixes up the pot and throws in some new twists that I'm sure any fans of the series will enjoy. The odds of Skyrim winning GOTY this year is quite high as from what I've seen in the past few months is that it's only true competitor for the title is Batman: Arkham City. Expand
  48. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game! GOTY in my opinion. The entire interface has been streamlined and made better. The graphics are gorgeous, and the story fantastic.

    Definitely recommend this game to any RPG/open world game fan!
  49. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Although there are a few annoyances, it never goes beyond that. They are few and far between and most of the time you're having too much fun to even care about them. As close to perfect as I have seen in a long time. This made me trade in MW3 because there's simply no time to play that other piece of ****
  50. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. The graphics and art are amazing and the amount of stuff you can do is incredible. I would recommend this RPG to anyone who wants to play one of the best games in the RPG category to date.
  51. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is one of the beat games ever to be released,bar none. The best this year no doubt. It literary has hundreds of hours of gameplay, vast sprawling cities, tons of small settlements and an extremely detailed and beautiful wilderness to explore. Though i was disappointed in the "main" story line, to me it just didnt seem as long as oblivion or other previous similar titles. Even though the main story quest was short to me afterwards there are still literally tons of things to experience from joining several types of guilds, cave and dungeons to explore. The leveling up system to me was a little confusing to me at first but i grew to love it and i can navigate through the menus on the fly easily. There is so much to do here in the game it is definitely worth the money, i highly recommend it. As for the people who comeon here abd say the game crashes and freezes, well im not calling them liars but im willing to bet their system is going to crap, i havent had one technical issue with this game. I give this a 9.5 out of 10. I hope this helps folks out. Expand
  52. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is it. This game has it all, its the alpha and omega of RPG'S,and in my book deserves all the praise it can get... Nuff said,i'm of to Skyrim PS : The only thing that seemed to strike me as unusual (at least untill i got very much used to it and delighted later as i got deeper in the world) was the mixed OST from Morrowind and Oblivion,not that there's anything wrong with that :D
  53. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game. if you enjoyed the rest of the elder scrolls series you will love it. it has some of the best audio i have ever heard on a game. Highly recomended to people who enjot RPG games.
  54. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely superb! Skyrim is one of the most astoundingly pleasing and expansive games I have ever laid hands on. What amazes me the most about this game is the world itself. As I walk through the vast expanses, I've come across giants shepherding wooly mammoths, a moose bedding down in a field, a fox slinking away from me and so many other small little details that give the game a sense of life like no other I have ever played. The combat is smooth and spell casting has been integrated beautifully into the combat system. Amazing game! A must have for any gamer! 11/10 !! Expand
  55. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The Game Is Amazing! Definately what I expected from Bethesda! It's Like Oblivion, Fallout, Fable and Dragon Age Combind! Except with more dragons of course! Definately Worth The Money. Epic both graphically and gameplay, so glad that its finaly here! Awesome!! 10/10
  56. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Easily beats any wRPG out there this decade. The character development is actually simpler than most Elder Scrolls games, streamlining everything you need and canning everything you don't. Also, it's implementation of a perk system similar to Fallout means that development of your character hasn't lost any depth and each character to every user is as unique as they are. The visuals are stunning and the vast, expansive environments, while sometimes barren, suggest a living, breathing world creating the perfect sense of verisimilitude. I wouldn't want every inch of a game-world to be populated by enemies and NPC's, it takes away from your suspension of disbelief and always reminds you with a shattering crash that you're playing a game. Sadly, this is often the case in Bioware RPGs but is in no way present here. Many people online are complaining about the use of Dragons in the game, saying it is unoriginal without obviously knowing that Dragons have been intergral to the polt since Elder Scrolls I: Arena. The first 4 games have all been leading up to the return of the Dragons and now that it's happened, expect every other Elder Scrolls to be as epic as this one is. The combat system is fluid and intuitive. You can go from being a beginner new to the series to slicing up some enemies while throwing fireballs at everything else with ease. It's available to casual gamers by not requiring micro-management and being a great game you can take at your own pace and the hardcore gamers by allowing amazing depth in both development and gameplay. The item/spell creation system has basically infinite possibilities and the game is so packed full of extras that perfectionists will probably do good to never play any game ever again if they hope to get absolutely everything there is to offer. One of the most anticipated RPG releases ever, and it's for great reason. The stroy is heavily focused on which is something games fail to do nowadays and it seems Bethesda recognise videogames as a legitimate story-telling medium rather than a cash-cow business (*cough*Activision*cough*) and don't rush their development, instead pouring heart and soul into a game and releasing when it is done. The quintessential wRPG, pick this game up now and feel euphoria. Expand
  57. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Having been with the TES series since Morrowind, Skyrim met and exceeded my already high expectations. It looks beautiful, plays beautifully, and has the potential to keep you entertained for hundreds of hours. I can think of no better game to spend $60 on.
  58. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Oblivion + better combat system + better graphics + longer main quest + dragons + more quests + dual wield magic + completely unique dungeons = greatest game ever.
  59. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Just breathtaking! This is everything I have wanted in an RPG from Bethesda! Surely a game to last me to the end of the 360's cycle. Graphics are great for what kind of game this is. So much detail and consideration was taken into consideration when this game was made.
  60. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    A triumph. I have never been as pleased to hand over my money for a game before, how people are marking Skyrim a 0 is beyond me.....
    Obvious COD fanboys who can see that their precious piece of crap has no chance for GOTY, it's over. This is a masterpiece.
  61. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This is quite possibly my favorite game this console generation. Bethesda has yet again delivered a game with both an outstanding story and gameplay without sacrificing the development of the Tamriel lore underneath it all. I'm still finding hints hidden in the games hundreds of books about the future of the world and its many inhabitants. Even if this is your first quest into the Elder Scrolls universe, I implore you to read the books you come across, as they greatly help explain the nuances of Tamriel's past, especially since the events of Oblivion.

    While I have definitely encountered a few glitches in my 300+ hours across Skyrim, nothing has been particularly game breaking, and usually a load from a previous save fixed any problems I had advancing. I'm also very impressed with Bethesda's outpouring of support for this title across all platforms with new patches still being released regularly to fix major and minor issues.

    Without gushing too much, I can simply say that Skyrim is a must have title for any fan of Western role-playing games and definitely a title to consider for everyone else.
    Expand
  62. CCR
    Nov 11, 2011
    9
    What else can be said that everyone else isn't already saying... It's truly a great game. There seems to be a couple of glitches here and there, but they will get patched in time. I know it shouldn't be an excuse, but with everything that has been done right in this game, I will give them a pass for now! The world is beautiful and the story so far has kept me interested. I can't wait to get some more time with the game after work to stomp around and get lost in the world creating my own story and making my hero who I want him to be. The leveling up seems pretty great, a lot to take in at first due to the sheer amount of perks available, but once you play with it and dive in you can tell it was made for the player in mind who wanted absolute control over customization. Run-on sentences aside, if you are on the fence about this game, go out and buy it, you will enjoy it for years to come. Expand
  63. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Godlike. There is absolutely nothing in this game I would change so far. No more sleeping to level up, new talent trees, animation is WAY smoother than it ever has been. Buy it and keep it.
  64. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    I rate this game 8.5 and here's why

    Lets start with graphics, overall I think it satisfied my needs in this game. Although, there are parts that doesnt look right, maybe a little patch would fix the problems. The graphics is outdated though, we are looking towards 2012, and the graphics looks like from 2010, not saying it was bad but I guess its the lack of budget in creating a perfect
    game engine.

    Gameplay:
    Unbreakable pots, surroundings, coming from BF3, I'd actually would like to destroy stuff (not buildings) but I want to crack some rocks and pots, plates and glasses - but that opportunity is not available in Skyrim. You can't attack while mounting which is ridiculous, your companion doesn't ride with you when you are on your horse + your companion takes a different path you take which leads to him/her being left alone. These are the only ones that I didn't like the most, the rest are good.

    Sound:
    Better than before, but wouldn't hurt to have more. It's kinda boring hearing the same sound everytime. Maybe next time they should have different background music for every city, houses, and so on.

    Overall:

    The whole game is a bug, it feels like its a beta of an upcoming game from the producers. As of now, I've spent a 100 hours (>_> just being modest here, I spent more) meaning this game is totally worth your time. You can read books, farm, smith, become a cook, merchant, thief - the only thing here missing is to become a prostitute or a gigolo (which is coming up in their next game hopefully).

    Buy this game, don't rent it. If you play this on master legitly you will spend your money's worth.
    Expand
  65. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I have been playing The Elder Scrolls games ever since I had the epic opportunity to play Morrowind. It left me breathless and eager for more. Oblivion was a great sequel, yet I felt that Bethesda could do better with the newer platforms that were available. I have long awaited the release of this title, Skyrim, and have been slightly antsy that it would simply be too much more of the same. Well, all I can say is that I have been blown away! Skyrim has taken everything that was wrong with the previous titles and turned it around. The days of spending hours trying to figure out how to level up your character are long gone. Simply create your character and play. It is as easy as that, really. The graphics have been upgraded to an astounding level for the 360, and the character movements have become amazing! The intro had me on the edge of my seat, and I couldn't stop playing after that. The new system is perfectly blended with the old, yet has a new edge that pulls rookies and veterans into a new world of beauty and RPG-fun like no other role-playing out there. Thank you Bethesda. You have given me a reason to dive head first back into the world of video games again. Expand
  66. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This has been a complete and total new experience to me. Compared to Oblivion, it feels like next-gen in AI and richness of the gaming world.

    While the limitations of the 360 and it's storage medium are showing in some places (low res textures in some places), it really doesnt take anything away from this perfect game.
  67. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    How the two douchebags could give this game anything below an 8 is beyond. This is a qoute from the review"(It's no wonder RPGs are becoming less relevant, it's because companies like Bethesdea, Cdprojekt, and Eidos keep rushing out FPSs in RPG clothing to appeal to the CoD crowd. Stay away from this trite and unimaginative game, if you must get your FPS fix get Battlefield 3 or better yet wait for Mass Effect 3. There is a reason Dragon Age II was proclaimed "Game of the Decade" and Skyrim falls flat on it's face in it's attempt to take the crown)"WTF is he talkin about. This is a must buy.The first timeI went to the top of any mountain and look out into the distance I got a Chubb!!!! Expand
  68. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.

    Best Game In History of Games.

    Yes.
    Expand
  69. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful game. Again with astounding visuals and solid gameplay. Up untill now ive had almost no bugs, except for 2 CTD's. Knowing most game developers release games half finished nowadays, thats quite well. The dialog is improved over Oblivion's one. I find it even hard to see that it is a console port, so they ported it well.
  70. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Ten hours in, and I feel I have only just brushed on the surface of what this game has to offer. Never before, in a very long time have I been able to sit infront of a game for hours on end and just not get bored. In the end I found myself having to force myself to stop, I had work to do.

    The opening sequence is extremely linear, which is something you wont really be used to in a TES
    game, but stick with it because once you have started questing and exploring the world this game really comes into its own. The environments are varied and exciting, the dungeons lost the cookie-cutter feel of Oblivion and so far, the quests I have taken part in have been very well written and intresting, and I've barely touched upon the main quest.

    Some people will dislike this game however, just as some people disliked previous games in the series. It has a bug or two, but nothing condemning. And somepeople may consider this "not a true rpg game" however, take this game for what it is, a TES game, and I promise you will enjoy this masterpiece.
    Expand
  71. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Every game released in the past year has just been a filler. This is the game we all have been waiting so long for. Everything from the previous game has been refined and tuned to make one of the greatest RPG experiences to date. For every one thing Bethesda did right in this game, it did 100 things even righter. Visuals, sound, game play; what can be said about this game that has not already been said? Expand
  72. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Game of the year candidate and probably winner unless there is another game that can top this, and besides uncharted 3 there is nothing even remotely close, zilch.

    Best game I have played in so many years
  73. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is superb and you will be playing this game for many hours. Don't buy Modern Warfare 3 .it is not worth your money. Skyrim isssss!!!!!!!!!
  74. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game deserves nothing less than a 10. In no way is it 'perfect', but as a whole it deserves the 10. Sound, visuals, dialogue, story; everything will suck you in and keep you immersed. Of course there are bugs to be found, of varying degrees, but in a game this large and fully packed, how could there not be bugs? The important thing is that it won't take away from the beauty of this game. It won't stop you from letting the hours go by when you get lost in the world of Skyrim. I read some user reviews who rated the game a 0, then even went on to say that the game is decent. It's sad that those scores can be counted to hurt the rating of a game that's had so much love and work go into it. Do yourself a favor and pick up this game. Expand
  75. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This was an easy choice. Alot of people are docking this game for its handful of bugs. I am not one of them. With a game this size, even with fairly thorough beta testing, you cannot predict everything that is going to happen with the coding. That being said, Bethesda does an amazing job with patching problems very soon after releases and with the handful of bugs patched (I have yet to experience any after 12 hours of play) the game is perfect. It is a remarkable improvement on Oblivion in so many ways and the game gives you so many directions to take. I mentioned I have spent 12 hours in game right? I have accomplished almost nothing... and I don't care. That's the beauty of the well crafted sandbox. This game will let you give to it and will return your creative and exploitative investment 10 fold. The character models are amazing and the scenery is just magnificent. Buy it. Instant GoTY. Expand
  76. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a truly amazing game. I enjoyed Oblivion very much, but Skyrim surpasses it easily. The world is and feel enormous, and the idea of managing to visit even the majority of its locations is daunting. I normally like to do side quests before moving on with the primary storyline, but in the case of this game I have spent hours not on side quests, but just on exploring and crafting. Plus the wide variety of "random" encounters is wonderful, I regularly find myself on the edge of my seat in expectations of what's around the next bend. I have some old favorites for the PC that no new game will every be able to replace, but Skyrim is hands down the best game I have ever played on the Xbox 360, and I would say it is actually the best game I have ever played on ANY gaming console. Expand
  77. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    From the start Skyrim's opening looked a little outdated. But once you are given control of the game, it is a masterpiece.the combat is by far the best in the series and the game is fairly difficult.I was actually encouraged to try weapon combos. i have allways used a sword in elder scrolls, but in skyrim I dont even carry a sword.the music in the game is amazing. The music makes the whole game feel epic. One of the best moments in the game so far, the first real dragon fight, is made up with amazing music. The citizens of Skyrim are more realistic, all of them have a daily routine, and the new animation system does really well. On the topic of bugs, i have been unable to find any, so clearly this game is much better than fallout new vegas. summary- If you are intrested in a rpg, or are a diehard rpg fan, this game was made for you.
    Guaranteed game of the year
    Expand
  78. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. i think it is the most expansive map ive ever played on and it definitely trumps oblivion however i still think that morrowind game of the year edition was better but thats just because i logged easily 1000 hours and never completely beat it but this game has serious promise
  79. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    so i must admit this has got to be one of the best games I've ever played it exceeded my expectations greatly when i first got it i thought it was gonna be iffy but this actually turned out to be awesome i would highly recommend it to anyone over 10
  80. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best game I have ever played, easily. The fact that I have played 6 hours and only advanced the main quest slightly just underlines how much there is to do in this game. I found myself getting lost in ancient forts, getting ambushed by bandits and reading a dead woman's love letter - in the space of an hour. The sheer number of ways to play, and the changing scenarios you will face, means no playthrough is ever remotely similar. For example, I became adept at stealing - only to be hunted down by a group of hired thugs with a handwritten contract for my head. The organic nature of the game means it really is a whole new world to lose yourself in for days on end.

    This game will take over your life - and you will love every second.
    Expand
  81. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This should revolutionize the standard and depth of games. If you want to watch pretty special effects but play a shallow game then get call of duty, but if you want a proper game that you'll get value out of this is the right choice
  82. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Games don't get much better than this. The world completely immerses you into the experience and the sense of wonder is unparalleled. I've never wanted to explore a game world more than this. Much like a great burger - you just don't want it to end, and luckily it won't...at least for a long time, since the game is hugely epic and also includes randomly generated quests that could keep someone (me) playing for a long time. Already looking forward to see what Bethesda can do on next generation systems - but for now I will be savoring this game piece by piece like charred skeever meat. Expand
  83. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game couldn't be any better. I first came across the elder scrolls series when a friend showed oblivion to me and let me borrow it. I was hooked as soon as i put in the disc. Ive spent hundreds of hours playing oblivion, and this time around, skyrim is no different, possibly even better. Improved graphics, gameplay, menus, and more show the polish of this game and how finished it is. It definitly brings more to the table than annual game releases such as Call of Duty, etc, making this game also worth your dollar, as it gives you 300+ hours of fun, and you actually have time to play it before the next game in the series comes out. In that respect, I enjoy skyrim and i definitly reccomend this game to anyone who even slightly likes rpgs. Expand
  84. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Great game, although a lot of issues out of the gate, some things the same as Oblivion but overall fresh and new, I would say it's the best RPG I've ever played, but it's not perfect. still it deserves props for it's extensive and unlimited replay value and story.
  85. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    What a fantastic game! the huge wait has been more than worth it, it looks amazing, it sounds fantastic, and the score....as always is just epic! it has got minor faults as do all game these days, but the overall experience is just mind blowing, i cant wait to spend over 200 hours on another ES game! defo worth a buy, defo worth a 9/10 score!
  86. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Elder scrolls noob but 6 hours in I'm hooked, well worth a go, even if this type of game isn't your norm! Glad I got rid of mw3 for this! The story and quests so far have been interesting and not the usual 'fetch this' dull ones from games past.
  87. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Simply the best game I have Ever played. I have spent 3 Solid days in Skyrim and they have been some of the most beautiful most memorable gaming experiences I have had and I have barely scratched the surface. I concur with most of the reviewers here in saying I have No IDEA how anyone could give this a negative review. There is just so many ways to play to many paths to take so many different ways to experience the game I don't think there is a way anyone couldn't find a entertaining way to venture forth in the world. I don't even know where to start with this game. Everything about it is extraordinary Bethesda went above and beyond the call and have made The Best RPG world any game has ever seen. Every environment is alive and every cave I have explored is unique. There are not enough good things to be said about this game. Easy 10/10 if you have Any interest in games do yourself a BIG favor and pick this up ASAP Expand
  88. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    when i got this game for Christmas, i planned to present a review in the following days. Now, i am presenting to Bethesda a thank you letter. Thank you Bethesda for this wonderful game you have presented to your fans, which has not only kept your fan base happy, but has brought forward a new generation of elder scroll fans, who would never have touched this type of game before. it is simply a masterpiece, and everyone should at least try this game, for it is not just a game, but an epic adventure. thank you Bethesda thank and you Todd Howard for this fantastic adventure. Expand
  89. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series is a massive thing in many peoples lives, sad as it may be it is and it is in my life. On the 11th of November the culmination of 8 months (or so) of long hard wait ended as I dipped into the world of Tamriel for the second time (getting hooked on oblivion) in the province to the north called Skryim. And my god was I overwhelmed.

    You start being led to your
    execution, this alone shows the power of the graphical engine, and being 'saved' by a dragon. This was the best 'cutscene' I have ever played. From this I went out into a beautifully crafted world with a variety to choose from.

    To save your eyes from reading and my fingers from typing I will not list the games huge collection of successes but concentrate on what led me to rate it 9/10.

    First off I would have liked to dub it 97/100 but this is how the system works, so here we go. There are a few fundamental flaws in the game, one being texture loading bugs (soon to be patched) and also the overwhelming sense of basically being overwhelmed.

    Now to finish off all I can say is this is the GOTY and you should buy it, 100% play it, it is the best in the series and I am sure TES 6 will be mind blowing, just as this is, but there are places (small) that the warm gooey liquid of Skyrim could have filled, though I still don't mind taking a swig of it.
    Expand
  90. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Simply put, this decade has been showered by a bunch of RPGs. Some made sense and were beautiful, like Morrowind and Dark Souls, others not too much, like Oblivion. And there was 11.11.11. Believed to be the end of the world. Not for me. It was the start of a revolution in gaming and entertainment. A revolution in media industry, in art. You know those videogames that make you pretend you're the main character when there's nobody around to make fun of you? Skyrim accomplishes that wonderfully. I often find myself studying the Dragon Language and letting out some shouts just for fun. Why? Because of the joy I experienced when I played TES: V. The first time I played the game, I shed manly tears at the beautiful scenery and how much Bethesda improved after TES: IV released. The character models are now fluid, the facial animations make you see the huge leap from the disastrous mess Oblivion was to this improved version Skyrim provides. The character attack and walk animations were horrid in Oblivion, while Skyrim feels more lifelike and fabulous. Fighting a dragon is so exhilarating and breathtaking, especially about the fact Dovahkiin is similar to dragons. The magic system is really well worked on, and it works really well wielding different spells in each hand, or either hack and slash through bosses while spraying fire at them, or maybe even firing icy spikes from your hand while you defend from your enemy's strikes using a shield. The art style is gorgeous, the amount of different things you can do such as alchemy, enchanting, cooking, blacksmithing, making clothes and armor, killing animals for some game or for some hide makes you spend many hours playing. It's just wonderful how Skyrim executes the most important aspect of a game: content. The awe to experience when you fail to create a potion or the fun to experience when you learn a new spell is incomparable. TES: V makes your outer self change while still hooking you to the beauty of the game. All I have to say is this new, amazing, marvellous RPG deserves a plain 10 as a token of not peace, not kindness or lack of being sincere, but as a well deserved Game of the Year. Skyrim stands out as the best RPG I've played.

    Congratulations, Bethesda. Few can accomplish building this beautiful kind of game.
    Expand
  91. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love every aspect of this beautiful, entrancing masterpiece of a game. Sure there are things that Oblivion or Morrowind may have done better, and there are bugs here and there, but they don't get in the way of the rich story, addictive exploration, combat, great side quests, amazing detailed high-definition graphics, and excitement in every hour I play this game. Another great thing is that you don't need to have played the previous games to understand the story, since it takes place 200 years after any of the events of Oblivion. Go buy this game immediately, it contains one of the best experiences with a game that I've had in a long time. Expand
  92. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Only 12 hours in, but so far I haven't seen any glitches. I love the new menu layouts and all the extra interactivity they added. This game is way to addicting, I'm scared but I think I'm in love.
  93. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    I love the elder scrolls series and i got this game on the first day its so Awesome , the only problems i really found were the glitches which are really to be expected in this series,especially in such a beautiful lookinggame, and it has cool monsters(dragons,giants,and warewovles) and cmon its f****** funny to see that a giant to hit you 40 feet in the air and drop back on the ground alive just long enough for you to think "wtf just happened lol" until you actually delay die ,but that stuff should be fixed by the end of the month, so it ok ,this game is so addicting i love it. Expand
  94. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    By far best elder scroll game! if you loved oblivion your going to love skyrim no doubt about it. Every inch of the game is pure creativity and its a game that was made for the players. Bethesda truly but there heart into making Skyrim and it shows in every moment of the game. If you love the Elder Scroll series your going to love skyrim.
  95. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Whoever has brought this game knows you will be sucked into the world and have an astounding time, the depth in detail to this game blows me away, dont get turned away because its a role playing game i dont usually like these types of games but you get so immersed into the game. Not only GOTY but to me best game i have ever played and i have played the classics on PS1, PS2 and Nintendo 64 THATS HOW GOOD THIS GAME IS!! Expand
  96. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Epic, incredible how much depth there is this game. To be fair its not without the usual Bethesda glitches and random freezes every now and then. It doesn't really effect the gameplay that much because the game is breathtaking and highly addictive. I WA playing it for something like 14 hours yesterday and didn't even really notice that the time had past.
  97. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Not that well designed. Graphics are a minor upgrade from Oblivion. Textures are bad, see glitches everywhere. People I've killed have hovered above me in mid-air, and continued to blink. Seems like minor stuff they missed, but it makes the world of difference. Wish they had QA'd it first, before they released it to the mass public, looking to make a quick dollar.
  98. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest games I have ever played. Definatly worth noting that this game will Take up so much of your time because its just so addicting. The Elder Scrolls Have done it once again and released an amazing game. Bravo
  99. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Después de todo lo que se ha dicho sobre este juego no puedo añadir nada nuevo, solo cabe mencionar que es el mejor juego de esta generación de largo. Su mundo esta vivo y te hace vivir lo a cada paso, su ambientación y visualización no las he visto en ningún juego aun. Ha merecido la pena su larga espera. Un diez que se lleva esta obra maestra. Expand
  100. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Skyrim is a worthy sequel to oblivion. It takes an already great experience and polishes it to perfection. There are a few bugs here and there, but nothing that can't be fixed with a patch, and certainly nothing that can't be overlooked for the games extremely entertaining game play as well as it's immensely immersing story. Not to mention the infinite number of side quests that will make this my go to game for years to come. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.