User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3004 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2012
    9
    Terrific. A must play for all rpg fans. I don't even like RPGs and I loved this game. Graphics are great, and there is so much to do. The world of skyrim is huge, and waiting for you. Played oblivion? It like 3x better. And oblivion was good! Please at least rent it. You won't regret it.
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Bethesda takes all of the elements that made their open world classics morrowind and oblivion so damn good and combined it into what could be the RPG to end all RPGs. Skyrim is a masterpiece in terms of interactive storytelling and entertainment.

    ***SOUP'S GAME OF THE YEAR 2011***
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    A very rare piece of programming genius. it adds onto Oblivion by 110%, cramming more quests, random encounters, items, enemies and much more. This is one of the few games where you could talk to someone in a village and end up fighting dragons 3 hours later. Also, with all the little details such as weather control and miscellaneous quests, I'm surprised they actually managed to cram a game in. Absolutely bang for your buck. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    The Best RPG/Role-playing game of all time

    This game both reached and exceeded my expectations. The music is by far my favorite. The graphics are astounding. The combat is amazing; a little slow at first but still great, and the A.I. are more immersive than Oblivions were. The only issue; and I say the only real issue; I have with this game is the blasted load times. Sometimes is doesnt
    load at all. But even that sounds like Im just acting like a immature 3rd grader that didnt get to be first in line. It's an amazing game! Its really hard to find flaws in this game. You almost have to look for them. Some other small flaws are the random times the frame rate just drops to nothing and the game frezzes; but is easily fixed by pressing the home button on your controller; a few times were the quest glitches, and the infamous falling through the world, which happened to me in mostly solutide, and a few other minuote deatails that arent even worthy of reading. I higly highly recommend this game! Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    Skyrim is an absolutely amazing game! It's filled to the brim with quests and side story lines. Also it has a huge free roam world that both looks amazing and is filled with interesting characters and places. Skyrim is a game that you can enjoyably put hours and hours into and still have lots to do. Pretty much everything in this game is good. The fighting is enjoyable, the story and side stories are interesting, and it looks amazing. Skyrim is a game that I'd recommend to just about anyone. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This is a placeholder review until I make my full review. That being said, at launch I would've given the game a 9.5 or so given the problems it had. Now, after tons of fixes to the core game, and DLC worked in(although I won't include it in my review), the game is arguably the greatest video game of all time.
  7. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    The open world in Skyrim is amazing, and so is the complexity of many other minor characters. There are so many directions you can go in developing your character, and Skyrim allows you to be a character who is good, bad, or somewhere in between. All three options have benefits. The load time on this was incredibly, INCREDIBLY slow, frequently a minute or more from just passing through a door. Also, in my one run through the game (which is probably 60 or 70 hours of gameplay) I was stopped temporarily because of a glitch that I had to find a solution for online. Barring these limitations of the game, this is a phenomenal roleplaying game, and I would recommend it to anyone. Expand
  8. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    The Good: An unparalleled world packed with a variety of quests, Dragon battles are exhilarating (when your at a lower level), Art design, Great battles that you can approach in any way you like, Great story in addition to the main quest.
    The Bad: Some glitches, Friendly AI can sometimes get in the way and crowd or block doorways
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is soooo much fun i love going around and attemping to kill any mofo that gets in my, this is a most have for any RPG fan, i ve already killed so many hours of my life in this game
  10. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    I greatly enjoyed playing The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim, it improves on Oblivion in almost every single way. First off the game is visually stunning and is really enjoyable to go walking around and look at the game world. Every region seems individually crafted unlike in Fallout 3. The regions are also nicely varied, you have snowy mountain peaks,(my personal favorite) forests, swamps and tundra. Onto the weapons and combat, the weapons are well done and look good but i do wish there were more types of armor and weapons. The combat is better but still a little stiff, but the addition of duel wielding an ax with a fire spell or a dagger with a healing spell or something of the like makes the combat more customisable. Technical the game deserves much to be desired, the textures especially on shade and snow is kind of blurry, also loading times are incredibly long. In my opinion the games biggest problem is its gear progression, by that I mean you'll be using near top tier weaponry by level thirty or so, that really can make the game dull in later levels. The story is quite good and its above average for a Bethesda game, along with the main quest you have guild quests, misc quests, side quests and faction quests. Over all this is a great game for any fan of video games, with its sprawling, beautiful landscape and addictive gameplay, The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim is truly a classic game. Expand
  11. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    I do enjoy playing Skyrim, I still play it to this day, (probably because its so long, which I don't mind) however one or two things did let me down, such as the static animations that almost every single character in the game shares, and the fact that you get sent into about 100 caves for a quest, it does get a little bit repetitive, that being said, I did enjoy the gameplay, and still do.
  12. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    skyrim is a awesome game with the best roleplaying elements i have ever seen in a rpg game!
    Combat is awesome with great finishers, the world is a lush vast beutiful enviroment and great to travel around in on foot.
    dragon fighting is also a charm and a great hint to the Giant hunting many new creatures are such a great addition to the game making the world more dangerous and deadly!
  13. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    WARNING. Be ready to have your mind blown because of all the content this game has to offer on a single disk. I had never played an RPG before Skyrim, now I'll probably buy every sequel Bethesda ever makes. This game is MORE than worth the 50-60 bucks it's priced at. This game has maybe 3 noticeable bugs that will surely be patched soon. If your a call of duty or halo fan, the elder scrolls will DEFINITLEY become your new favorite series just because of this game. If you don't already own this game, head to GameStop right freaking now. Expand
  14. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    A great game! How can a game get perfection? Easy! Turn it into Skyrim! This game got the perfection.Really nice! The game is just going to be your best friend during your lonely days.It´s graphics just amazed me. Great!
  15. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    A true and complete masterpiece. This game is so far reaching in its' world, it is almost more immersive than the world we live in. Skyrim, the latest in what is, potentially, the best game series ever made, is definitely the highlight of the series. While it can seem repetitive, it packs an engaging story, with many quests, and a beautiful world it is based in, along with beautiful music provided by Jeremy Soule, who is probably the best video game composer ever. The game is probably one of the better ones in history, in decades, people will talk about Skyrim as a game-changer, and it is definitely the best game in Modern history, even with Borderlands, Halo, COD, Fallout, and others. The level of immersion that Bethesda has given their frozen, nordic world, is just incredible. I truly think this is the best game made in a long time, and Bethesda hasn't disappointed yet. The next elder scrolls has one hell of a game to follow up on, and, if it follows the same expansion in greatness that Skyrim did with Oblivion, it will truly be an outstanding game. Heres hoping Bethesda can pull off another world as beautiful as Skyrim, but for now, I'm perfectly content wandering the icy wilderness of this vast landscape. Expand
  16. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    After never playing an Elder Scrolls (or any Bethesda game in that matter) game in my life, I have to say Skyrim is a masterpiece. If you were going to play it you better set your social life down for a few weeks as this game takes it. One thing I love about Skyrim is that it does what most games don't, have a great story but adds more to that with extras along the way. You can go anywhere in Skyrim and be who you want to be! Want to have your character kill everybody he/she meets? Or do you want him/her to be the hero of the people and do every little thing someone asks them to do? Your choice, it's Skyrim baby. The exploration is GIGANTIC in Skyrim with 16 sq miles to explore you will never get bored! I do have little problems with Skyrim though, one is that the main story is way too short, another is that there are glitches that can sometimes be game ending ( R.I.P. Level 81 Nord named Gerald :( ) but the game is damn well near perfect with nothing holding it back. Get this game NOW! If you already have it... WHY ARE YOU NOT PLAYING IT? Expand
  17. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    EPIC is the best way to describe this game. You will forget about your real life as soon you start playing it. Best game of the year sure, for me is the best game of the decade.
  18. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    An absolute masterclass. The sandbox, open-play style, superb graphics, skill points, and most especially storyline all combine to make one of the greatest games of 2011. If you haven't bought it already, you are missing out. Truly magnificent AI combined with a massive map leads to at least 500 hours of great gameplay. This will go down as one of the classics.
  19. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    It's just the best Adventure-RPG ever made, true, it has A LOT of Bugs, but nothing that can spoil the fun in playing this Masterpiece. This game is Beautiful, ang Big, VERY BIG. This game is the maximum example of how a open world, rpg, action, adventure, medieval game should be made. This game defines the word EPIC!
  20. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    It's amazing. The graphics are much better than the previous games. The sound and music are incredible. The story is enthralling and there is plethora of fun things to do. The only thing is the glitches which I can overlook since they usually don't harm the general feeling of the game.
  21. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Skyrim is an amazing game and looks great. The story is just ok but all of the guilds are where the real story is. Magic looks much better in this game than Oblivion. It feels a lot more like your actions affect the game. Overall this is a great game and a great continuation of the series.
  22. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Upon reflection, I'd say that of all games I've ever played, Skyrim is one of three I would give a 10 of 10, and it's easily my favorite game of all-time. Stunning visuals and huge environments, fantastic enemies and NPC's, easy interface and crafting, loads of engrossing story lines: Skyrim has it all. Even the glitches are cute and hilarious rather than frustrating or game breaking. Tons of quality and unmatched quantity that will have you playing, re-playing, and downloading every DLC for more chances to go back to Skyrim. It's a game you become a part of very easily, and once you jump in, Skyrim feels like home and you don't want to leave. It may not be perfect, but it's the most fun I've had playing a game, and I'm still playing a year after release. Expand
  23. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    The Elder Scrolls series has fascinated me since i bought Oblivion, and has had me captivated since the beginning. Skyrim is no exception. With it's rich content, endless quests, intriguing storyline, and realistic characters, it is likely one of the cornerstone games of the decade. The controls are smooth, and the combat is easy to grasp. Not only is the customization level unprecedented in the RPG genre (at least in the U.S.), but the entirety of the skillset is conducive to combinations and creativity. Even the AI is better than in Oblivion, with (thankfully) more voice actors and dialogue options. The textures, music, and sound effects are also beautiful beyond anything I have ever seen in a game before. In spite of the numerous glitches and the at times repetitive quest set (which is expected for such a massive, complex game), It is easily the best game I have ever played. Expand
  24. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Dragonborn is an impressive DLC, introducing a whole new area, with new and interesting friends, enemies, and incentives to keep one busy for an extended period of time. My character started Dragonborn at level 81, therefore, my experience would have been more enjoyable had I still been developing my character; this gives me reason to begin a brand new character. However, because I was 81, I had the privilege to face the Ebony Warrior. The main quest of Dragonborn offers environments that remind me of an old school first person shooter atmosphere, like the Expand
  25. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Probably the best game I've played. Like ever. Always been a fan of the Elder Scrolls but this game makes Oblivion look shocking. Some of the scenery you can see is better than anything in the real world and the battle engine is incredible. On top of all that, the graphics kick ass and the leveling system is up there with the best, giving you the chance to grow your character in the areas you want. Expand
  26. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest games on Xbox 360. In my opinion Oblivion was brilliant but Bethesda just ended up doing an improved version of Oblivion there is the odd glitch here and there but once you get past that you see a true masterpiece in gaming
  27. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Like almost everyone else I was enthralled when it first came out. My first experience with this game was amazing, it met my expectations and surpassed them a million times over. And 200 hours later, after doing and seeing every possible thing there was to do in Skyrim, I said: Now what? I tried to start a new game from scratch, and I did still really enjoy it, problem was the magic and wonder of exploring the game this time round felt more like a chore than an adventure. Skyrim is an absolutely great game, that is worthy of the praise that it gets. But I can not help but feel that it is the kind of game that you can only really enjoy the first time you play it through. So this lack of replayability is perhaps the only real critique I can give it. Granted the bugs were annoying, but forgivable and generally I rarely noticed them for long. So Overall a great game that perhaps tries far to much, a bit more diversity in playthroughs could have added morel life to this game. Expand
  28. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    As an adolescent, I was easily entranced by the magical realism of role playing video games. They took me to fantastic worlds I did not know I had access to and induced emotional peaks I did not know I could reach. Today, I eagerly seek out games that provide a exceptional level of immersion and completeness. I want a game to enable my re-visitation of those wondrous childhood dreamscapes. Skyrim is an anomaly. How did this game emerge from a contemporary gaming landscape plagued by infinitely repetitious, borderline masochistic online cluster f*ck ``adventures`` such as World of Warcraft or Guild Wars 2? May the hordes of PC gamers unite in their digital attack of this query, I give you my blessing. Skyrim is the cure for the disease infecting modern RPG gaming. Even the most garbage mouthed, irrational forum troll could not convince me otherwise. Play the game. Immerse yourself. You`ll find Skyrim offers you what your beloved MMORPG cannot: choice.

    Don`t turn off, tune in. Get involved emotionally with the serenity of Tamriel`s bubbling brooks and be inspired by its kingly mountains. Listen to the stories being whispering by townspeople to you, a passing stranger, wandering a vast feudal landscape rife with unique political struggles and social consequentialism. Or, you could tune-out, turn off, hypnotize yourself with mind-numbing hoarding. Skyrim encapsulates the best of both worlds.

    I write this having already had my fill of Skyrim. We had a passionate and attentive relationship, but for the most part, its over. Yes, recent DLC tempts me as much as the next Bethseda fan-boy, but I feel more inclined to abstain. I`ll save it for a rainy day, perhaps. My point is that coming out the otherside of my Skyrim expereince, I can assure any readers in full condifence that this was the best game I played this year. Skyrim is probably the best game I`ve played in five years. I for one, put my faith in Bethseda to be the ray of light that penetrates through the hazy future of RPG gaming. So cheers to you, Bethseda, and cheers to those who forgot, if only for a moment, that they were playing a video game.
    Expand
  29. pxl
    Dec 20, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece, a game with a lot of replay value and can be enjoyed in every sense of the imagination. Your playstyle can alternate completely and it's due to that fact that you can enjoy this game with the full capacity the game has to offer. Well done Bethesda.
  30. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Skyrim is a brilliant RPG with outstanding graphics,very good story,very good DLCs,many hours of playtime,very good combat system and leveling system,if you are a RPG fan and you dont already own skyrim just bought it is the best RPG ever.Just a masterpiece and of course a 10/10
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.