User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3634 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    Yes the game has its flaws, humans have their flaws everything does. But those flaws do nothing to affect this game. Know this, this isn't a game because what it does to you is unlike any game or movie. Skyrim is in a category of its own. It is hands down the best not only game, but adventure and experience you can live in your life. It will absolutely blow you away, if you ever caredYes the game has its flaws, humans have their flaws everything does. But those flaws do nothing to affect this game. Know this, this isn't a game because what it does to you is unlike any game or movie. Skyrim is in a category of its own. It is hands down the best not only game, but adventure and experience you can live in your life. It will absolutely blow you away, if you ever cared about being happy, dreamed of a different world, escaping reality into a realm of your own, this is the closest thing to being in the Matrix. Ii will absorb you, it will change you and it will please your every sense. The immersion factor is truly incredible, no medium can take you to another world as much a gaming machine with this software running. A parallel universe you will never want to return from. An absolute gem and must play for everyone. Perfect 10/10 Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Full disclosure....I'm a huge Elder Scrolls fan so my review may be unintentionally biased. I'm also a big fan of open world RPGs. Again, Bethesda succeeded in making a great RPG. I like the combat, the graphics, the world, character customation, weapon and armor crafting, the dragons and most of the quests (yes, some are boring but most are fun).
    What I didn't like: I always play a
    Full disclosure....I'm a huge Elder Scrolls fan so my review may be unintentionally biased. I'm also a big fan of open world RPGs. Again, Bethesda succeeded in making a great RPG. I like the combat, the graphics, the world, character customation, weapon and armor crafting, the dragons and most of the quests (yes, some are boring but most are fun).
    What I didn't like: I always play a stealthy character first play through because they are my favorite. So the Dark Brotherhood and the Theives Guild were always my favorite guilds. Unfortunately, I was disappointed in the DB quests compared to the DB quests in Oblivion (the party treasure hunt DB quest was one of my faves!). Also, I missed some of the skills they removed from the game. But...I had a blast playing the game and will probably play it through many times with different characters. It has pretty a good replay ability.
    Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    Skyrim has its bugs, as do many other games with such an open-ended space to control; but don't let the minor glitches or graphic fowl-ups disengage you. The Elder Scrolls V is what many people have called it, "one of the greatest games ever created", because it basically outdid its predecessor, Oblivion, by a long shot. 300+ hours of gameplay, quests after quests after quests to concur,Skyrim has its bugs, as do many other games with such an open-ended space to control; but don't let the minor glitches or graphic fowl-ups disengage you. The Elder Scrolls V is what many people have called it, "one of the greatest games ever created", because it basically outdid its predecessor, Oblivion, by a long shot. 300+ hours of gameplay, quests after quests after quests to concur, many dragons to slay, people to meet, and things to see; if you fail to see the epicness of this title I feel sorry for you. Consider it the "Return of the King" of the series. But one thing will always distract me, which is, how will the team behind it top this? Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    There is no other game out there which even comes close to the true scale of Skyrim. A fantastic fantasy world bursting with so much to do it will take you months to complete. The whole game world feels alive with activity. A new quest being found at every new location, which this game certainly does not lack. Hundreds of items to collect and unique artifacts to discover which almostThere is no other game out there which even comes close to the true scale of Skyrim. A fantastic fantasy world bursting with so much to do it will take you months to complete. The whole game world feels alive with activity. A new quest being found at every new location, which this game certainly does not lack. Hundreds of items to collect and unique artifacts to discover which almost always leads to something better to find. The main storyline defines fantasy epic setting you on a path which is common with the Elder Scrolls, involving yet again you saving all of Tamriel. Skyrim its self is a pleasure to explore with the games amazing graphics which is great for a game of this scale. Yes there are some niggles on the edges but these are bound to be fixed in no time at all. So this may not be the best game ever created, but it sure is one of the best. The only way to find out is to experience Skyrim for yourself. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    A fantastic game. One criticism is that the game kind of peaks early in terms of balance as your character can quickly become superman. However, it is an incredible improvement over Oblivion. The leveling went from being an albatross in Oblivion, to a strong point in Skyrim. The world is fun to explore and there are plenty of nice things to spend money on. One other critisim is that itsA fantastic game. One criticism is that the game kind of peaks early in terms of balance as your character can quickly become superman. However, it is an incredible improvement over Oblivion. The leveling went from being an albatross in Oblivion, to a strong point in Skyrim. The world is fun to explore and there are plenty of nice things to spend money on. One other critisim is that its easy to forget you Expand
  6. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    This is Skyrim, the best game ever in my opinion. I could go on and on about the different mechanics and quests and items and weapons and people and jobs and all of the other stuff in the game but to be honest, it would ruin the game. Skyrim is game you need to experience without previous inside knowledge on it, the simple fact is if you like Elder Scrolls or simply RPG's, no scratch that.This is Skyrim, the best game ever in my opinion. I could go on and on about the different mechanics and quests and items and weapons and people and jobs and all of the other stuff in the game but to be honest, it would ruin the game. Skyrim is game you need to experience without previous inside knowledge on it, the simple fact is if you like Elder Scrolls or simply RPG's, no scratch that. If you like amazing games then you must play Skyrim, experience the wonderful world of Tamriel. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    A massive game which promised so much and delivered so much more. Skyrim is simply beautiful in all its Nordic glory. The visuals are stunning and the world has been designed to the finest detail. The tale of Skyrim won't blow many players away, but it is stellar nonetheless and progresses with good direction. Combat is fun and exciting this time round. Chopping and hacking enemies hasA massive game which promised so much and delivered so much more. Skyrim is simply beautiful in all its Nordic glory. The visuals are stunning and the world has been designed to the finest detail. The tale of Skyrim won't blow many players away, but it is stellar nonetheless and progresses with good direction. Combat is fun and exciting this time round. Chopping and hacking enemies has rarely felt more satisfying. Aside from fighting, there are countless other tasks to do, such as crafting, mining, and foraging among many others. There is simply so much to do, and so much to see, in Skyrim. Expand
  8. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    Skyrim is a wonderfully detailed, content heavy fantasy RPG which is held back from being legendary by an underlayer of flaws and glitches.

    The Good Expansive game world, vast array of quests, efficient level-up system, wonderful atmosphere graphics. Dark Brotherhood, Thieves' Guild, and majority of the main story quests are all Skyrim at its best. Overall an impressive open world to
    Skyrim is a wonderfully detailed, content heavy fantasy RPG which is held back from being legendary by an underlayer of flaws and glitches.

    The Good Expansive game world, vast array of quests, efficient level-up system, wonderful atmosphere graphics. Dark Brotherhood, Thieves' Guild, and majority of the main story quests are all Skyrim at its best. Overall an impressive open world to discover. Soundtrack is generally very good. Dragons add some needed combat variety. Armours are very well designed, and weapons are highly detailed and can be upgraded (though no visible difference is apparent when upgraded).

    The Bad Character models are quite ugly, very few NPC's have a unique personality, not a large enough variety of voice actors. Far too many loading screens. Saves can become corrupted. Freezing will be a frequent problem for many gamers. Quests can become repetitive, especially since the caves and barrows you come across are all almost identical. Radient quests feel tiresome and rather pointless.

    Verdict While this game definitely has a lot to offer gamers in terms of length of gameplay, and a fantastically detailed game world, Skyrim is let down severely by game-destroying bugs and glitches and a rather faceless cast of characters.

    Graphics 8 (Beautiful gameworld, not so beautiful character models)
    Gameplay- 9 (Detailed story and history. Many fun quests, although some quite unoriginal)
    Technical- 5 (Littered with bugs and glitches that hinder an otherwise very good game)
    Sound 7 (Pleasant soundtrack though not spectacular. NPC voices are repetitive)
    Overall 8
    Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Stunning game, a real experience to play, the only reason I can't give it a ten is because it needs to feel busier, the towns need more hustle and bustle, big battles need more people, I know this is a restraint of the engine and the platforms it is on, but this is the sole thing that stops this game being a perfect ten for me. Apart from that though, I can't fault it!
  10. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    Ok, where do I begin? Great game, really entertaining, good graphics, tons of quests to do, plenty of customization, long but doesn't get you tired of it. Loved it.
  11. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    I was going to wait until I finished to review but since I will evidently never finish I decided to do it now. This game is far superior to Oblivion in my view, there is tons to do and the stories for the side-quests rival the main plot-lines of most games. There are quite a few bugs but mostly they have been fairly minor and easy to overcome. As with any game so large it is difficult toI was going to wait until I finished to review but since I will evidently never finish I decided to do it now. This game is far superior to Oblivion in my view, there is tons to do and the stories for the side-quests rival the main plot-lines of most games. There are quite a few bugs but mostly they have been fairly minor and easy to overcome. As with any game so large it is difficult to avoid at least some glitches. Doing away with Oblivion's difficulty scaling was a fantastic decision. Hours of fun to be had. Expand
  12. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This is quite possibly my favorite game this console generation. Bethesda has yet again delivered a game with both an outstanding story and gameplay without sacrificing the development of the Tamriel lore underneath it all. I'm still finding hints hidden in the games hundreds of books about the future of the world and its many inhabitants. Even if this is your first quest into the ElderThis is quite possibly my favorite game this console generation. Bethesda has yet again delivered a game with both an outstanding story and gameplay without sacrificing the development of the Tamriel lore underneath it all. I'm still finding hints hidden in the games hundreds of books about the future of the world and its many inhabitants. Even if this is your first quest into the Elder Scrolls universe, I implore you to read the books you come across, as they greatly help explain the nuances of Tamriel's past, especially since the events of Oblivion.

    While I have definitely encountered a few glitches in my 300+ hours across Skyrim, nothing has been particularly game breaking, and usually a load from a previous save fixed any problems I had advancing. I'm also very impressed with Bethesda's outpouring of support for this title across all platforms with new patches still being released regularly to fix major and minor issues.

    Without gushing too much, I can simply say that Skyrim is a must have title for any fan of Western role-playing games and definitely a title to consider for everyone else.
    Expand
  13. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    good game, boring until you beat the main story or discover at least 3 major cities. i'm level 54 i did pretty much everything , but my load times are sooooooo bad and it started around the time i reached lvl 40, 15 sec. to open favorites menu, 5 sec to get to pause menu. needs update for that ASAP, but lots of hours of playtime are possible, buggy though.
  14. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. i think it is the most expansive map ive ever played on and it definitely trumps oblivion however i still think that morrowind game of the year edition was better but thats just because i logged easily 1000 hours and never completely beat it but this game has serious promise
  15. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    This is far and away the most beautiful, most in depth, most amazing game I ever ever played. I believe that this game will go down in history with the like of Zelda, Halo 1 and other video game legends. The only bad thing I can say is that it consumes too much of my time. Other games should look at this game and be ashamed that they are not even close to being as well made.
  16. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    This is definitely my favourite game for the Xbox 360. There is so much to do, and so many different ways to play, that you will never get bored of it.
  17. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Couldn't be happier with this game.
    I've logged 20 hours or so on this beast of a game and there is still plenty to do.
    It looks beautiful, I can't believe how far I can see in this game...huge mountains in the distance can be discovered and explored. There are plenty of ways to play this game, the perks really let you feel like you are getting better in a skill rather than the numbers
    Couldn't be happier with this game.
    I've logged 20 hours or so on this beast of a game and there is still plenty to do.
    It looks beautiful, I can't believe how far I can see in this game...huge mountains in the distance can be discovered and explored.
    There are plenty of ways to play this game, the perks really let you feel like you are getting better in a skill rather than the numbers just increasing.
    The world feels alive and at times I get lost in it just wandering.
    Expand
  18. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    This game is an absolute blast! I love playing it and 4 hours feels like 1 hour went by. It is so deep with gameplay and the story is outstanding. That said it only gets a 9 because it has quite a few bugs but that is to be expected with a RPG game. Overall great game.
  19. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Perfectly superb, there is absolutely nothing missing from this game. Never before have I played a game which kept all of the brilliant features of its predecessors while building a whole new game and improving on every single complaint of the previous games. Bethesda has done everything right. I can find nothing wrong with this game, full stop.
  20. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is by far the game for any and all gamers out there to get. Go to a GameStop or ReplayGames near you to pick up this bad boy, because you definitely wont be disappointed. After playing games like MW3 and AC Revelations, I didnt expect any new games to be good, since those just sucked. But when I began playing this game.........I changed my mind entirely. Even the title screen music is outstanding, good enough to listen to for an hour straight. However, the game itself is much more than just that. You start out as someone who was arrested for border-jumping into Skyrim, and are about to be beheaded: BUT WAIT! You actually SEE the person in front of you be beheaded. Oh wait, Im getting ahead of myself here. First you have to make your character. You get to choose between multiple races, including Orc, Redguard, Imperial, and Wood Elf. Next, you customize your body. From skin tone to cheekbone height to complexion: Every little detail about your character can be edited. You could probably even make the person look like you if you try hard enough. After all of this, a dragon attacks Helgen, the city you are in. However, dragons havent been seen in Tamriel for hundreds of years! After finding out you are Dragonborn, your quest to save Skyrim, and perhaps the entire world, begins. From the amazing story, to the great gameplay, to the alchemy and magic, this game is absolutely wonderful. I HIGHLY recommend you buy this beautiful and stunning game that not only looks great, but plays great as well. Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    I know it shouldn't piss me off, but it does! Those 90 negative bloody bastards; why the hell would you spend money on a game if you never liked the series to begin with. Its and RPG, and Elder Scrolls RPG and they are all amazing. if your not in to questing, crafting or skill building play another game, and stop complaining about this one. As for the game itself; im sure im in gamerI know it shouldn't piss me off, but it does! Those 90 negative bloody bastards; why the hell would you spend money on a game if you never liked the series to begin with. Its and RPG, and Elder Scrolls RPG and they are all amazing. if your not in to questing, crafting or skill building play another game, and stop complaining about this one. As for the game itself; im sure im in gamer love. I would kill someone to just be able to play the game to my hearts content. I love the new drop-down menu and the ability to equip more then one spell at a time. For a spellsword this game has worked out perfectly. The quest are interesting and flow together nicely; i never feel I am leaving the main quest rather then expanding it. The scenery is magnificent, that first step into Skyrim was amazing and beautiful and yeah the fighting could be better but i honesty didn't expect better, its an Elder Scrolls game and that's what i stood until midnight to get and that's what i got. My husband is about to kill me for the amount of time i am spending on the game, but i think that's mainly due to him not being able to play his character as much as he would like. Deff. 10 out 10 game of the year for me! Expand
  22. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Good story and good graphic, a lot of freedom to do what you want and a huge map. There is a lot of content in the environment, and you never know when your gonna get sidetracked for hours exploring some mysterious dungeon you just stumbled across on your way, on the bad side there is a few bugs but i think most them will be taken care of with some patching.
  23. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Truely superb game, the most fun i've had in an RPG game in YEARS (since daggerfall and diablo 1 era). The story is rich and it absorbs you from the moment you load it up. Graphics are amazing, while the animations are... wonky... at times, the textures and physics more than make up for it. Great game, a must buy.
  24. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Best game i have played in years, amazing amount of content and great gameplay
    this aswell as all the potential it has for moding makes this game a 10 out of 10
  25. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played. The combat, quests, dialogue, everything, is such a massive upgrade over Oblivion and is damn fun. Only 35 hours of playing the game and I still have been to only 2 cities, and the majority of my map is still undiscovered. If I'm not playing Skyrim, I'm thinking about playing Skyrim. This game is just insane!!
  26. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    The hype I had for this game was huge. Did it live up to expectations? Yes and No.
    The game lets you loose in this fantastic world where you can do one thing for hours and see nothing else. The story was a huge step from Oblivion (TES4), and the individual guildes story were interesting, without overstaying their welcome. But heres my first problem the length of some guildes I feel was
    The hype I had for this game was huge. Did it live up to expectations? Yes and No.
    The game lets you loose in this fantastic world where you can do one thing for hours and see nothing else. The story was a huge step from Oblivion (TES4), and the individual guildes story were interesting, without overstaying their welcome. But heres my first problem the length of some guildes I feel was too short specifically the Dark Brotherhood, where compared to oblivion is tiny. Though i feel the college of winterhold was a good length, compared to Oblivion where it went on and on and on and on.
    The combat feels good with stealth being really fun. Maybe melee feels less weight than it should and the annoyance over spells not being able to level up but the archery feels fantastic.
    The exploration is good and the terrain is varied.
    Visually looks good, though on closer inspection the individuals textures dont look so good, and pop in still happens which is very annoying! Though draw distance has massively increased and looks fanastic.
    On conclusion Skyrim is one of the game's of the gerneration with minor flaws. A must buy
    Expand
  27. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. There's no other way to say it. It really is, but there are glitches and stuff that is not there that brings it down. The minor glitches don't ruin the whole game and make it unplayable but, they do make the smaller things more tedious and annoying. You can approach combat from many different angles because of the wide array of skills to choose from. Play it, enjoyThis game is amazing. There's no other way to say it. It really is, but there are glitches and stuff that is not there that brings it down. The minor glitches don't ruin the whole game and make it unplayable but, they do make the smaller things more tedious and annoying. You can approach combat from many different angles because of the wide array of skills to choose from. Play it, enjoy it, but be warned because there are some bugs and other things that ruin the smaller things Expand
  28. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    A truly fantastic game. There isn't much more to say about it other than its overwhelming greatness. I absolutely loved it, and found myself immersed in it for hours.
  29. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    it is by far the most accompished Rpg to date..
    with the system that generates unlimited side quests this is a trully never ending game with a gorgeous open world to explore..
    Game of the decade for me ;)
  30. May 8, 2012
    8
    Skyrim is overrated. It's a good game but it is essentially Oblivion with a new coat of paint. The good parts are the world and the exploration. I have spent many hours just looking at the landscapes. Arguably, you could get your money's worth doing just that. The actual gameplay, however, is the same tired formula from Daggerfall, Morrowind, Oblivion, and Fallout 3. Obviously many peopleSkyrim is overrated. It's a good game but it is essentially Oblivion with a new coat of paint. The good parts are the world and the exploration. I have spent many hours just looking at the landscapes. Arguably, you could get your money's worth doing just that. The actual gameplay, however, is the same tired formula from Daggerfall, Morrowind, Oblivion, and Fallout 3. Obviously many people enjoy this but I'm about 2/3 finished with the main quest and have no desire to finish. There are simply too many fundamental gameplay design decisions that make the game not fun. The combat is not fun. Moving around in the world is not fun (the player's "hit box" collision model gets stuck on tiny geometry bumps). The potions are not fun. The inventory is not fun. Picking up hundreds of tiny objects (e.g., coins) in the game world with an Xbox controller's crosshair is not fun. The plot is generic and the dialogue ranges from mediocre to terrible, and is uniformly spoken too slowly. The first King/Jarl you meet sounds like he's on painkillers. The cutscenes (not cutscenes per se as they all happen while you play) are laughably bad as well. I think the Skyrim team needs some new designers to inject some new ideas into their otherwise capable hands. As a game it is mediocre but as a world to explore it is one of the best. 8/10. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.