User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3269 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    please note that i would give this game a 9.8/10 not a perfect 10, as no games are perfect.
    Skyrim is the best RPG to come to 360 by far, full of a vast wilderness, engaging story, and countless side quest that will leave you wishing the day wouldnt end. so far there have been almost no bugs, so whoever wrote the negative reviews are crazy or never played an elderscrolls game.
    though it
    please note that i would give this game a 9.8/10 not a perfect 10, as no games are perfect.
    Skyrim is the best RPG to come to 360 by far, full of a vast wilderness, engaging story, and countless side quest that will leave you wishing the day wouldnt end. so far there have been almost no bugs, so whoever wrote the negative reviews are crazy or never played an elderscrolls game.
    though it hasnt happened to me i'm sure there are game freezes, so save every once in a while ( dont rely on auto save)
    there are numerous creatures to hunt, foxes, dear, elk, mammouth, hawks each provide you with materials to make new armor and weapons.
    honestly the game is just big to sum up in a little review if you like RPGs get the game it's fun, has a good story, and there is enough to get lost in.
    By far, skyrim is the best RPG on 360
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Exceeded all of my expectations, and all my friends expectations, and then some. The BEST Elder Scrolls--and open-world RPG--to date. Though I bought it for the 360 I also plan to purchase it for the PC at some point (something I'm not ashamed of), to take part in the excellent modding community.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is simply an excellent game. I mean, it is a must have. I can not stop playing it. This game will probably cause me to fail calculus and chemistry and my girlfriend to break up with me. But seriously, you should defiantly get this game.
  4. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is the best game i've ever played in my life.
    If you liked oblivion you'll adore this one; if you didn't play oblivion you must try Skyrim and lose yourself in tamriel's land...huge,wonderful, endless, beautiful, surely GOTY.
    Bethesda did it again..
    a Must buy
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Simply the best game I have Ever played. I have spent 3 Solid days in Skyrim and they have been some of the most beautiful most memorable gaming experiences I have had and I have barely scratched the surface. I concur with most of the reviewers here in saying I have No IDEA how anyone could give this a negative review. There is just so many ways to play to many paths to take so manySimply the best game I have Ever played. I have spent 3 Solid days in Skyrim and they have been some of the most beautiful most memorable gaming experiences I have had and I have barely scratched the surface. I concur with most of the reviewers here in saying I have No IDEA how anyone could give this a negative review. There is just so many ways to play to many paths to take so many different ways to experience the game I don't think there is a way anyone couldn't find a entertaining way to venture forth in the world. I don't even know where to start with this game. Everything about it is extraordinary Bethesda went above and beyond the call and have made The Best RPG world any game has ever seen. Every environment is alive and every cave I have explored is unique. There are not enough good things to be said about this game. Easy 10/10 if you have Any interest in games do yourself a BIG favor and pick this up ASAP Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Pay no attention to the user mors125, he/she has no idea what they are talking about. I am a good 20 hours into Skyrim right now and i have experienced no glitches. It is in no way a broken game. It plays perfectly and is one of the most immersive gaming experience anyone could hope for. These people rating such a game with a 0 are not true gamers, they are sad trolls. Even if you do notPay no attention to the user mors125, he/she has no idea what they are talking about. I am a good 20 hours into Skyrim right now and i have experienced no glitches. It is in no way a broken game. It plays perfectly and is one of the most immersive gaming experience anyone could hope for. These people rating such a game with a 0 are not true gamers, they are sad trolls. Even if you do not like a game, rating it a 0 is just ignorant. Go play something else. and rate that game instead. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful graphics and new engine? check.
    Improved combat (dual wield, perks, shield bashing etc) check
    amazing, beautiful artistic direction? check Epic music that makes your heart melt or race? check Massive world to explore at your own leisure and get completely lost in? check Just a fantastic game. I honestly can't think of anything bad about it. Its fun, its exhilarating, its witty,
    Beautiful graphics and new engine? check.
    Improved combat (dual wield, perks, shield bashing etc) check
    amazing, beautiful artistic direction? check
    Epic music that makes your heart melt or race? check
    Massive world to explore at your own leisure and get completely lost in? check

    Just a fantastic game. I honestly can't think of anything bad about it. Its fun, its exhilarating, its witty, hilarious, terrifying (those spiders...) and utterly captivating. Buy it, or you're a fool.
    Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Just overall the best game I've ever played, they've truly outdone themselves on this game. It is art and will always be known as one of the greatest rpgs ever created during this era of games. I can see my self easily putting 200-300 hours in Skyrim over the next few years until TES 6 is released.
  9. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I have nearly 50000g and this is the best game I have ever played on any console period. It is also the best value for money too, if you can give this game your time it will reward you in so many ways. Not perfect, but a true to the word epic masterpiece.
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    This is quite possibly the best game ever made! 70 hours into it and I'm still finding new things to do and the thing that really gets me is that of the over 300 dungeons in the game, none of the ones I've been to have been just re-skinned, they are all original! Mad Props to Bethesda!! Using my MW3 disc as a coaster to hold my beer!!!
  11. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is the game to own this year. Skyrim could easily last you for a year. Bethesda ALWAYS do a fantastic job in their games. You may encounter a few glitches or weird IA behaviors but who cares? This is an amazing game that is released each 4-5 years. Bethesda knows nothing about milk cows!!
  12. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    The game is amazing

    Esse game é incrível, gráficos lindos, boa jogabilidade e ótima interação com cenário e personagens. Você está andando pelos lugares e derrepente pode se deparar com lobos ou outros tipos de bichos, tem animais andando pelo cenário
    The game is amazing

    Esse game é incrível, gráficos lindos, boa jogabilidade e ótima interação com cenário e personagens. Você está andando pelos lugares e derrepente pode se deparar com lobos ou outros tipos de bichos, tem animais andando pelo cenário parece real, é difícil ver um jogo assim, as quests são locas você não precisa ir logo ao objetivo principal, as quests secundárias são divertidas.
    Expand
  13. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    MW3 doesn't even compare to Skyrim. Different games and different pros and cons. I spent almost 300 hours on my perfect stat character in Oblivion, so I'm sure that the same thing will happen with Skyrim. Also, while playing Skyrim, I won't have to listen to 12 year old telling 'your mom' jokes or people camping in corners with claymores set then brag about how good they are. I'll knowMW3 doesn't even compare to Skyrim. Different games and different pros and cons. I spent almost 300 hours on my perfect stat character in Oblivion, so I'm sure that the same thing will happen with Skyrim. Also, while playing Skyrim, I won't have to listen to 12 year old telling 'your mom' jokes or people camping in corners with claymores set then brag about how good they are. I'll know that i will be playing both Skyrim and MW3, but I will definitely have more fun with games like Darksouls and Skyrim over dealing with unskilled players in MW3 who are all talk. Quick question, how can so many people who bought MW3 at midnight be so terrible at the game? Played a team deathmatch game, i was 16-2, last 3 guys a combined 8-32... Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Just wanted to cancel Merrill4Life critic, which as always is full a **** Look at the user history and you will notice that this user always destroys everything competing against the DA2 debacle. His reviews are copy/pasted just to promote DA2, EA and Bioware, which has nothing to do with Skyrim, just like my review. But mine serves the purpose to cancel his.
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    An absolutely outstanding game! Not just one of the best RPGs of the year, but, one of the best RPGs every created. The best installment of the Elder Scrolls yet and the (highly) likely winner of numerous Game of the Year titles.
  16. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Yesterday one of my friends on Xbox Live messeged me and asked "so hows Skyrim?". I get a lot of messges about games and how they are and normally its no problem to respond, but when I came to reply there were no words. I had been playing for 2 hours when the messege came and I was lost in The Elder Scrolls, this happened with Morrowind and Oblivion, but never like this. I was a BosmerYesterday one of my friends on Xbox Live messeged me and asked "so hows Skyrim?". I get a lot of messges about games and how they are and normally its no problem to respond, but when I came to reply there were no words. I had been playing for 2 hours when the messege came and I was lost in The Elder Scrolls, this happened with Morrowind and Oblivion, but never like this. I was a Bosmer (wood elf) , I was a scout sent by the Council of Mages at the Arcane University, I was Binwin the Swift. I was completely engrossed as this sneaky archer hunting stags on the turndra of Skyrim. In the end I replied with "there are no words to describe this game but I will try, this is a game like a fine wine, not to be gulped and rushed but to be sipped and appreciated, to enjoy every hidden flavour and depth, this is a game to ruin your real life." Now I have finished with all that, I will try and be more specific, this is an RPG which really means it, this isnt a game where you are given a hero pre made, you make this hero, you know his or her past, you play that character how you want. You choose the route you go, never being told, you cant go this way or that way. You are surrounded by a world created by people whos love for this world pours from the game like a fine mead from a tankard into your dry mouth, and after one sip you need more . You are surround by sounds and a score so epic nothing from the outside world can penetrate, including your wife telling you to get the plates out for dinner. If you decide to buy this game in essence you are buying into a world, a journey to find epic dragons and a fantasy land which will see you through not weeks, not months but years of gameplay. This is how RPG's were meant to be. Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is seriously amazing! i dont understand what type of person would rate this game negatively?? The sound, graphics, gameplay - its all pure beauty. Best money i have ever spent!!
  18. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games
  19. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Yea there are glitches, but that doesn't stop this game from being an absolute masterpiece. after only 3 hours of play, I realized this is probably the most engrossing game i have ever played. It's amazing how much content is packed into one game. The game extremely addicting, the sound is amazing, the graphics...oh the graphics they are absolutely phenomenal. If you are looking for gameYea there are glitches, but that doesn't stop this game from being an absolute masterpiece. after only 3 hours of play, I realized this is probably the most engrossing game i have ever played. It's amazing how much content is packed into one game. The game extremely addicting, the sound is amazing, the graphics...oh the graphics they are absolutely phenomenal. If you are looking for game you can pour hundreds of hours into, Skyrim is for you. Expand
  20. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I've yet to find anything not to like about this game. The graphics are excellent, the textures are sharp, the models are smooth, the draw distance is beuatifull, the load times are incredible - main menu to game in ten seconds!
    As for the gameplay they've fixed a LOT of what was wrong with previous games, balancing the various playstyles very well and making it all generally a lot of
    I've yet to find anything not to like about this game. The graphics are excellent, the textures are sharp, the models are smooth, the draw distance is beuatifull, the load times are incredible - main menu to game in ten seconds!
    As for the gameplay they've fixed a LOT of what was wrong with previous games, balancing the various playstyles very well and making it all generally a lot of fun. Love the menu system too.
    Expand
  21. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Competing with nostalgia-rich classics of the genre, critically acclaimed "hardcore" offerings, deep PnP style multiplayer RPGs as well as Oblivion and the (superior) Morrowind before it, Skyrim still comes out on top to become the best game I've ever played.

    It combines the vast explorability and intoxicating atmosphere of Morrowind with the eminent playability of Oblivion, and turns
    Competing with nostalgia-rich classics of the genre, critically acclaimed "hardcore" offerings, deep PnP style multiplayer RPGs as well as Oblivion and the (superior) Morrowind before it, Skyrim still comes out on top to become the best game I've ever played.

    It combines the vast explorability and intoxicating atmosphere of Morrowind with the eminent playability of Oblivion, and turns the art style, world design, voice acting, story and most everything else up to 11 to create an almost perfect high fantasy/sword & sorcery RPG experience.

    Visuals: 9.5/10 Audio: 10/10 Gameplay: 10/10 Story/Quest Gameplay: 10/10 RPG Mechanics/Design: 9/10 Content/Scope: 10/10
    Overall: 10/10
    Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    From my very first 1991 RGP on the NES called Crystalis until today, I have never felt compelled to go out of my way to thank the developers for their hard work and passion.
    Thank you Bethesda Game Studios.
  23. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    O melhor jogo do ano,sem dúvidas estou fascinado com tudo q está dentro e fora do enredo me oferece ..
    Cada hora que eu paro pra jogar esse jogo é uma nova surpresa um novo artefacto,as lutas com os dragons são incríveis! agora vou parar de escrever pq Skyrim precisa de mim!

    Parabéns BETHESDA...
  24. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is an amazing game building on what Bethesda achieved with Fallout 3 and Oblivion to create a superb RPG with a good story so far anyway gizzilions of side quests and great graphics there are a few bugs but they don't damage the experience and will hopefully get patched if you are an RPG fan you need to get this game!!!!
  25. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I have put 50+ hours into this so far and i still havnt done everything in the game, This this game is beautiful and deserves goty. If you have played this game and didn't enjoy it i feel sorry for you.
  26. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    played the game 30 hours now (i live in germany and got it on monday) and i love this game. it's all i was expecting and even better. after the first half hours i was a little bit disappointed because it didn't look so great in this area but the rest of the huge world looks fantastic for an open world game. noone should forget this, it's no linear world the developers know what you will doplayed the game 30 hours now (i live in germany and got it on monday) and i love this game. it's all i was expecting and even better. after the first half hours i was a little bit disappointed because it didn't look so great in this area but the rest of the huge world looks fantastic for an open world game. noone should forget this, it's no linear world the developers know what you will do next so they program everythin very easily, no, you can do what you want. going 3 mile west killing some bandits? do it! or going 5 miles north and searching for iron ore? do it!

    i'm the kind of gamer who loves to sneak through the buildings and steal everything and in this game this alone can cost you weeks of your real life^^ for me i give this game a 10/10. graphics 9, sound 9 (music alone would get a 10 but some other sounds aren't perfect), gameplay 10 and lasting appeal a 10 which i would count very high in this game because it's not a 40 hour singleplayer which would be a ot it's much more
    Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is a huge brilliant open world rpg and shows us exactly how the genre should be done. Rather than funnelling you into doing the main quest, after a brief start, it sets you free to go and see and do whatever you want. It has such a huge amount of content that other games charging the same price while containing so little content seem like rip offs. Everything about this game, minusSkyrim is a huge brilliant open world rpg and shows us exactly how the genre should be done. Rather than funnelling you into doing the main quest, after a brief start, it sets you free to go and see and do whatever you want. It has such a huge amount of content that other games charging the same price while containing so little content seem like rip offs. Everything about this game, minus the bugs seem perfect. GOTY no doubt. Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Open, grand, beautiful, rich and several other words have ebeen used to describe this game, and it is all true. A long awaited sequel, that delivers on every promise, which in it self is an achevement. Games like these are one in a billion.
  29. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Easily beats any wRPG out there this decade. The character development is actually simpler than most Elder Scrolls games, streamlining everything you need and canning everything you don't. Also, it's implementation of a perk system similar to Fallout means that development of your character hasn't lost any depth and each character to every user is as unique as they are. The visuals areEasily beats any wRPG out there this decade. The character development is actually simpler than most Elder Scrolls games, streamlining everything you need and canning everything you don't. Also, it's implementation of a perk system similar to Fallout means that development of your character hasn't lost any depth and each character to every user is as unique as they are. The visuals are stunning and the vast, expansive environments, while sometimes barren, suggest a living, breathing world creating the perfect sense of verisimilitude. I wouldn't want every inch of a game-world to be populated by enemies and NPC's, it takes away from your suspension of disbelief and always reminds you with a shattering crash that you're playing a game. Sadly, this is often the case in Bioware RPGs but is in no way present here. Many people online are complaining about the use of Dragons in the game, saying it is unoriginal without obviously knowing that Dragons have been intergral to the polt since Elder Scrolls I: Arena. The first 4 games have all been leading up to the return of the Dragons and now that it's happened, expect every other Elder Scrolls to be as epic as this one is. The combat system is fluid and intuitive. You can go from being a beginner new to the series to slicing up some enemies while throwing fireballs at everything else with ease. It's available to casual gamers by not requiring micro-management and being a great game you can take at your own pace and the hardcore gamers by allowing amazing depth in both development and gameplay. The item/spell creation system has basically infinite possibilities and the game is so packed full of extras that perfectionists will probably do good to never play any game ever again if they hope to get absolutely everything there is to offer. One of the most anticipated RPG releases ever, and it's for great reason. The stroy is heavily focused on which is something games fail to do nowadays and it seems Bethesda recognise videogames as a legitimate story-telling medium rather than a cash-cow business (*cough*Activision*cough*) and don't rush their development, instead pouring heart and soul into a game and releasing when it is done. The quintessential wRPG, pick this game up now and feel euphoria. Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Simply Epic in scope. Between this and BF3 my PC gaming is assured to be great throughout the end of 2011. Thank you for yet another masterpiece Bethesda!
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A game so well made it gives me chills. The attention to detail is for my part never before seen in a videogame. I was very hyped for this game, and I was very surprised when Skyrim exceeded ALL of my expectations. 60$ for a game this scope; it's a real bargain.
  32. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    After seeing countless previews and gameplay vids,I was already expecting a magnificent game.But this!This has taken my already super high expectations and bashed me around the head with them while laughing maniacally like Cicero.Beautiful graphics,amazing audio,and the sheer amount of content make Skyrim the greatest RPG of all in my eyes and possibly the greatest game ever made.A specialAfter seeing countless previews and gameplay vids,I was already expecting a magnificent game.But this!This has taken my already super high expectations and bashed me around the head with them while laughing maniacally like Cicero.Beautiful graphics,amazing audio,and the sheer amount of content make Skyrim the greatest RPG of all in my eyes and possibly the greatest game ever made.A special shout-out goes to the elegant menu system and awesome spells.Also,the excellent duel-wield system is the best I've used in any game. While I noticed occasional pop-up and low-res textures,as well as some melee issues,I simply don't care.A majestic GOTY from me. Expand
  33. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I can't believe the people putting '0' for Skyrim to be legit accounts.. i'm 21 hours in, and it's the most breathtakingly well made game, complete with extremely improved combat when compared to Oblivion (which was still ok'ish combat), beautiful atmosphere thanks to the incredible score and scenery.. and the story.. it's SO much better and more coherrent than any previous Elder ScrollsI can't believe the people putting '0' for Skyrim to be legit accounts.. i'm 21 hours in, and it's the most breathtakingly well made game, complete with extremely improved combat when compared to Oblivion (which was still ok'ish combat), beautiful atmosphere thanks to the incredible score and scenery.. and the story.. it's SO much better and more coherrent than any previous Elder Scrolls title.. it's emotive.

    10/10.. I know I haven't finished it yet.. but I think 20 hours with any game this good, you know it's a rare find indeed.
    Expand
  34. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I'm so confused at all the people who wrote negative reviews. They all say "it's the same thing we've been seeing for the past few years" and yet it's like they don't actually play it, they just watch walkthroughs. The story starts of relatively slow then gets progressively better, it takes more than 10 minutes to get into but once you're in, there's no going back! Graphics? I don't reallyI'm so confused at all the people who wrote negative reviews. They all say "it's the same thing we've been seeing for the past few years" and yet it's like they don't actually play it, they just watch walkthroughs. The story starts of relatively slow then gets progressively better, it takes more than 10 minutes to get into but once you're in, there's no going back! Graphics? I don't really give a **** about them but they're mediocre. The sounds are very high quality and it makes the experience all the more enjoyable. I'd give it a 9.5/10 for some very minor bugs and some bad animations, but it really doesn't subtract from your experience all that much unless you care about graphics THAT MUCH. Expand
  35. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Skyrim, If I could sum it up in one word it would be 'stunning'. Skyrim has a rich constructed land filled with endless of hours of content, from fighting the major villains in the game, Dragons, to exploring dungeons in search of treasure, or fighting in the civil war. It is all up to you.

    Presentation Skyrim may not be the pinnacle in graphic evolution, but it looks breath-taking, the
    Skyrim, If I could sum it up in one word it would be 'stunning'. Skyrim has a rich constructed land filled with endless of hours of content, from fighting the major villains in the game, Dragons, to exploring dungeons in search of treasure, or fighting in the civil war. It is all up to you.

    Presentation
    Skyrim may not be the pinnacle in graphic evolution, but it looks breath-taking, the world and the characters have all been rendered brilliantly, and certainly pushes the xbox 360 graphically to it's limits. Trees move in the wind, fog rolls down the mountains, rivers run realistically and this is all heightened by the amazing sound. However there may be the odd low texture, or bug here or there; but to be honest who doesn't expect the odd glitch here and there, especially when you are adventuring in a humongous word such as Skyrim. Games are never perfect, and I for one don't expect them to be, but the odd bug in here and there may be annoying, but it never ruins the experience. Gameplay Skyrim's game play is one of the best I have seen. The detail to each quest and the main story itself is amazing, and I can vouch that you won't be stuck with nothing to do within this game for the coming months. Combat has been improved upon from Oblivion and each hit you can feel, and enemies stagger from each swipe. The magic system has also been re-vamped from Oblivion, such as dual-casting, to combining spells. All the dungeons and areas to explore feel unique, you can now marry on Skyrim, as well as hire or accept adventures to come with you. The Radiant AI and Radiant Story vary the locations and purpose of smaller quests, based on actions you have made. NPC'S react to certain events and the world feels more alive as a result. The 'motto' for the game 'You are what you play' certainly lives up to expectations, there are no pre-defined class choices, you level up based on what you use and do. For instance if you go around hacking and slashing with a two-handed mace, while wearing heavy armour, you are going to level up your two-handed and heavy armour levels. Or you may what to have a sword in one hand and a spell in the other, while wearing light armour, thus you will level up in those areas.

    The Score
    If you liked Oblivion and Morrowind, you will be genuinely pleased with Skyrim, it improves on all aspects and personally smashed all my expectations. Yes some people might complain the graphics are not the best, or the AI may muck up a few times, but that is something you have to expect in all games, especially a game of this magnitude with over 300 hours of content to keep you busy, so your bound to run into the odd bug. Overall Skyrim is a beautiful game with deep lore and conflicts to keep you immersed into the world. Certainly a contender for Game Of The Year.
    Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I have had this game for a week now, and I have literally had a hard time sleeping because I am so excited to continue playing it. It is the best game I have played to date, hands down... it is the best. Even with the glitches, it does not matter... Other games do not compare... but it isn't like they ever had a chance anyways. I laugh at anyone giving this game a negative score, if youI have had this game for a week now, and I have literally had a hard time sleeping because I am so excited to continue playing it. It is the best game I have played to date, hands down... it is the best. Even with the glitches, it does not matter... Other games do not compare... but it isn't like they ever had a chance anyways. I laugh at anyone giving this game a negative score, if you cannot see the value in this game, then you are not much of a gamer after all Collapse
  37. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece in every sense of the word. Everything that was great about Fallout 3 and New Vegas has been incorporated into a streamlined game play design from Oblivion, and the standout has to be one the incredible visually pleasing 'perk' interface display. Game play is masterfully crafted and the world truly feels like an epic, living and breathing fantasy world. And dragons, theA masterpiece in every sense of the word. Everything that was great about Fallout 3 and New Vegas has been incorporated into a streamlined game play design from Oblivion, and the standout has to be one the incredible visually pleasing 'perk' interface display. Game play is masterfully crafted and the world truly feels like an epic, living and breathing fantasy world. And dragons, the game's dragon 'mini boss' fights are simply an experience you cannot miss. Buy this game, you will not be disappointed. GOTY contender, and arguably inevitable winner for many gamers. Expand
  38. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Great game! So much better than Oblivion and so close to Morrowind. Love it. Every RPG fan should go and own it immediately. Todd Howard is great man, and I hope he'll make us great Fallout 4.
  39. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This game is fantastic, the improvements over Oblivion are huge. The way the fighting has changed (mainly magic). This game definitely has the most potential this year to be GOTY.
  40. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Amazing depth! Games this big should cost $100, but don't tell them that or we will start paying that much. Im not big on RPGs but every now and then you have to have a immense single player game to go along with the others. This is a game you can spend hundreds of hours on.
  41. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I have been playing The Elder Scrolls games ever since I had the epic opportunity to play Morrowind. It left me breathless and eager for more. Oblivion was a great sequel, yet I felt that Bethesda could do better with the newer platforms that were available. I have long awaited the release of this title, Skyrim, and have been slightly antsy that it would simply be too much more of theI have been playing The Elder Scrolls games ever since I had the epic opportunity to play Morrowind. It left me breathless and eager for more. Oblivion was a great sequel, yet I felt that Bethesda could do better with the newer platforms that were available. I have long awaited the release of this title, Skyrim, and have been slightly antsy that it would simply be too much more of the same. Well, all I can say is that I have been blown away! Skyrim has taken everything that was wrong with the previous titles and turned it around. The days of spending hours trying to figure out how to level up your character are long gone. Simply create your character and play. It is as easy as that, really. The graphics have been upgraded to an astounding level for the 360, and the character movements have become amazing! The intro had me on the edge of my seat, and I couldn't stop playing after that. The new system is perfectly blended with the old, yet has a new edge that pulls rookies and veterans into a new world of beauty and RPG-fun like no other role-playing out there. Thank you Bethesda. You have given me a reason to dive head first back into the world of video games again. Expand
  42. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Awesome game! it is really that good oh gawd play it play it NAO goddammit son get over here damn, i want skyrim but im poor cake is also good, but skyrim is better!
  43. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Godlike. There is absolutely nothing in this game I would change so far. No more sleeping to level up, new talent trees, animation is WAY smoother than it ever has been. Buy it and keep it.
  44. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Amazing GOTY. It made me **** This is better than Oblivion and it is the best RPG i have played, it does have some glitched but those glitched willl be patched soon.
  45. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Been playing this game for 4 hours now, easily one of the best games I've played this year. If you liked Oblivion you'll really love this. They vamped up everything and included more things to do. Visually, it's stunning, gameplay is stunning. I'd write more, but I need to continue playing!
  46. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Incredible game, my only few complaints from Oblivion have been taken care of, because fighting is SO FUN now! I spent the first couple of hours just running around exploring. GOTY for sure!
  47. Jan 4, 2012
    5
    How can a game with so much to do feel so empty? Regardless of what you do, it never feels like you've impacted the game world in any meaningful way. Or forged an meaningful relationships. Or even had meaningful conversations. Let me get this straight: Skyrim's people --who supposedly thought dragons were a myth, like Godzilla-- find themslves in the midst of a FULL-FLEDGED DRAGONHow can a game with so much to do feel so empty? Regardless of what you do, it never feels like you've impacted the game world in any meaningful way. Or forged an meaningful relationships. Or even had meaningful conversations. Let me get this straight: Skyrim's people --who supposedly thought dragons were a myth, like Godzilla-- find themslves in the midst of a FULL-FLEDGED DRAGON INVASION, and it ranks maybe 5th on their conversational priority list, after the civil war, their lost amulet, the fact that you're wearing light armor, and the weather. And when you singlehandedly stop said invasion, what do you get? A few comments from guards to the effect of, "Hey, stopping that dragon crisis was awesome, bro." Then it's back to "I took an arrow in the knee." The faction quests, with the possible exception of the Thieves' Guild, are similarly uninspiring. Oh, and my wife in I have a sham marriage , in which I show up every week and she gives me gold. I'd like to converse with her, but she can only say four lines of dialogue. Bottom line: maybe this is the price of a truly open world -- i.e., it's miles wide and an inch deep. And to be fair, there's plenty of mindless fun to be had. But I'd trade most all of these random dungeons and dragon/troll/mammoth battle royales for some sense that what I'm doing matters. If it's an RPG, Bethesda, I want to play a role, not just be a roving bringer of destruction and taker of loot. Expand
  48. May 14, 2012
    6
    Unbalanced, unpolished, uninspired, and shallow.

    If I were to define Skyrim in only four words, that is about what you could expect from me. For as interesting a world Skyrim is to look at, the developers seemed fine filling it with repetitious, "uninspired" quests, given to you by countless amounts of npcs', none of which in possession of what I would call an actual personality. The
    Unbalanced, unpolished, uninspired, and shallow.

    If I were to define Skyrim in only four words, that is about what you could expect from me. For as interesting a world Skyrim is to look at, the developers seemed fine filling it with repetitious, "uninspired" quests, given to you by countless amounts of npcs', none of which in possession of what I would call an actual personality. The gameplay, while serviceable, is rather unpolished and doesn't meet up to the standards set by other action games of today. Character development, not only weak, is rather unbalanced. The game rewards you for boosting skills you may have no interest in using, and the whole point of actually leveling your character seems trivial, being that enemies scale with you. Long story short, this is a rather flat experience. Sure, if you set your standards low, the sheer amount of content, as lackluster as the majority of it is, should last you a long, long while. Anyone looking for something thought-provoking and memorable, however, should look elsewhere. The game is a nice looking, yet very generic hack 'n' slash loot fest. If that is something that interests you, you will probably love this game. If you are looking for something more, this game should be avoided.
    Expand
  49. Nov 29, 2011
    3
    There is virtually no choice and consequence whatsoever. Quests rarely have any branching paths or variables that hold lasting effects according to your actions; indeed, as demonstrated by Skyrim and Oblivion beforehand, Bethesda fasely believes that "role-playing" amounts to little more than "having alot of stuff to do." Combat is incredibly flawed and was not improved upon over OblivionThere is virtually no choice and consequence whatsoever. Quests rarely have any branching paths or variables that hold lasting effects according to your actions; indeed, as demonstrated by Skyrim and Oblivion beforehand, Bethesda fasely believes that "role-playing" amounts to little more than "having alot of stuff to do." Combat is incredibly flawed and was not improved upon over Oblivion in the slightest; enemy A.I. is without any complexity or variation, and this, coupled with the lack of precision in attacks ("WOAH LOOK AT THAT CAMERA FLYING EVERYWHERE WHEN I SWING REALISTIC!!!111!!!11") reduces battles to little more than mindless hack n' slash fests, with the only "challenge" in these battles being how well you can last out against objects with inflated stats (This isn't Skyward Sword, or Dark Souls, where you actually have to think and adapt your strategies accordingly to different battles; the only difference among Skyrim's foes, most of the time, is what numbers are attributed to each NPC).

    The leveling system is terrible and encourages mindless grinding. While "practice makes perfect" works in theory, you aren't actually practicing when you level your one-handed skill, for example; you're just repeatedly hacking and slashing to get higher points. This stands in opposition to games such as Dark Souls, where you are rewarded for tackling tough enemies that require thought to take down. In Skyrim, you are rewarded for doing nothing.

    On that note, level scaling is terrible. Early on, abilities seem to be balanced; there are fair benefits to going with either a melee or magic build. Later on, the system becomes incredibly broken, giving unfair advantages to melee builds and rendering casters useless.

    The animations are still hideous and robotic, and differ little, in quality, from Oblivion's (In fact, many of them seem to be ripped straight FROM Oblivion).

    Quests are poorly designed and feel like standard MMO fair (Which should be inexcusable in a game that is NOT an MMO); unfortunately, there is no hint of quality story-telling to mask this problem (It's as if Bethesda's writers spent a little too much time in the young adult literature section of the local library and came back believing they could write quality fantasy with compelling characters).

    While the overworld is nice and gives the illusion of complex design, dungeons are still cramped, narrow corridors without any nuance to their design. The environment itself should be a challenge; if there is no challenge present in the dungeons, it is pointless to include them.

    The game does feature quality music, and the visuals are pretty (Except when you get a little too close to a wall or the ground and realize how low-quality the textures can be), but that isn't enough to mask the game's mechanical flaws. Skyrim may be a great nature walk simulator, but it's a bad game.
    Expand
  50. Dec 8, 2011
    0
    A game for babies who can't handle challenge or difficulty:-

    It seems game companys today are terrified of making their games a challenge. They simply want to create visual immersive exploration with NO THREAT OR CHALLENGE to the player whatsoever. And Bethsoft leads the pack when it comes to dumbing down. - Gold rains from the sky. You get so much gold you end up finishing the
    A game for babies who can't handle challenge or difficulty:-

    It seems game companys today are terrified of making their games a challenge. They simply want to create visual immersive exploration with NO THREAT OR CHALLENGE to the player whatsoever. And Bethsoft leads the pack when it comes to dumbing down.

    - Gold rains from the sky. You get so much gold you end up finishing the game with millions of gold coins and nothing to ever spend it on, as everthing you need comes from loot. Having so much gold destroys the fun of looting, thieving and saving up for something special [Of which there is nothing to save up for in this game]

    - Hand holding. No need to think. Quest counters show you the way. This game caters to the "i cant read teh books" X-Box crowd who dont want to study the journal or actually LISTEN to the npc tell you what to do when it gives you a quest.

    - Combat is easy. Dragons are easy and dumbed down. AI is easy and dumbed down.

    - Stats are removed, turning it into an action game instead of a true RPG.

    - Classes are removed. Guess they don't want console gamers having to THINK about what past their characters have.

    - Visuals are typically X-Box blurry and ugly. No consideration for superior PC machines that could render 10 times that clarity. You'd think companies would make a hi resolution pack of PC gamers to sell more copies to PC owners.

    Typical Bethsoft game. No challenge rubbish for console gamers. Give it a HUGE miss or mod the heck out of it to make it MAYBE worth playing.
    Expand
  51. Nov 17, 2011
    3
    This would be a _fantastic_ game if it didn't crash every 30 minutes. Outstanding gameplay, fantastic graphics but buggy as all get out.

    error: Your review must be at least 150 characters long.
  52. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    So disappointed! I will go straight to the point
    -Low resolution texture from 2006
    -Awkward quick menu to get the right weapon/spell in few moves -Never-ending loading time -Can't casts spells/ uses weapon while mounted -Stupid AI Oblivion was even more fun! After all, that game was not ready at all for release. I think they were forced to release it for the famous date of 11/11/11.
    So disappointed! I will go straight to the point
    -Low resolution texture from 2006
    -Awkward quick menu to get the right weapon/spell in few moves
    -Never-ending loading time
    -Can't casts spells/ uses weapon while mounted
    -Stupid AI

    Oblivion was even more fun!

    After all, that game was not ready at all for release. I think they were forced to release it for the famous date of 11/11/11.
    (sorry for my English)
    Expand
  53. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Simly put: the pros outweigh the cons. Biggest pro: Aesthetics. Biggest con: Magic Constrictions. Theres more if you're willing to read. I will start by saying my vote is based on a scale of 0-10, 0 meaning "unplayable", 5 equal to Oblivion (not inherently bad, just to compare Skyrim respectively), and 6+ is an overall improvement from Oblivion. Voice Acting (+1) has been greatly improvedSimly put: the pros outweigh the cons. Biggest pro: Aesthetics. Biggest con: Magic Constrictions. Theres more if you're willing to read. I will start by saying my vote is based on a scale of 0-10, 0 meaning "unplayable", 5 equal to Oblivion (not inherently bad, just to compare Skyrim respectively), and 6+ is an overall improvement from Oblivion. Voice Acting (+1) has been greatly improved from 12 to 70+ actors, meaning you can play longer before you are driven insane by the repetitive voice of Jauffre. Aesthetics (+2) are greatly improved over Oblivion. The map itself is slightly smaller than Oblivion, but it's designed to feel 4x bigger, and it does. Filled with flowing creeks, ice caps, mountains, snow, and A LOT more. Graphics (+1) are improved, not by much tho. It looks better, for sure, but that's thanks to the aesthetics. As for clarity and detail of models, it's only a slight, but noticeable improvement. Skills (+1) have a better setup. Many people like that the skills were directly related to your use of them like in Oblivion, but perks make the game feel more survival/strategic based. They're done nicely. Professions (+1) are a wonderful addition that are a tie between skills and aesthetics, but is prominent enought to be listed as its own plus. While the only real mechanical upside of professions relates to smithing, it's still wonderful to be able to chop wood, mine ores, smelt ores, and so on to improve your gear. Dragons (+0) are an interesting replacement to Oblivion Gates. That's exactly what they are, a replacement. While epic within the story line, and fun to battle with their random characteristics, they are also as repetitive as Oblivion Gates. No matter how epic they are, I find myself only wanting to kill them only for their souls, but after the first 10, it starts to get old. That's why it's a plus zero, cause they're epic, but repetitive. Number of Places (+1) have been increased by about double, and to top it off you never feel like you explore the same place twice, unlike Oblivion. Magic (-2) has been drastically reduced... I'm not sure the number of spells in either game, but I do know they REALLY trimmed magic. They completely did away with Mysticism, and got rid of the ability to craft spells. Bethesda combated the lack of spells with the ability to dual wield spells, but it's not enough... They dropped the ball on this one. User Interface (-1) has always been a core downside for Bethesda's most recent games, even on consoles. I would have not listed UI as a downside, however I hate that they replaced the D-Pad hotkeys with a pausable favorites menu. While it's nice at first, it really pulls you away from combat when all you want to do is unequip your shield and equip a spell. So, to summarize, Oblivion is a 5 on the scale (not inherently bad, just to compare Skyrim respectively), and the improvements include Voice Acting +1 (6), Aesthetics +2 (8), Graphics +1 (9), Skills +1 (10), Professions +1 (11), Dragons +0 (11), Places +1 (12), and the downsides: Magic -2 (10), and UI -1 (9), so overall Skyrim is a +4 compared to Oblivion. Expand
  54. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    It´s a great game but all of the huge bugs makes the score a little bit lower. the game looks great it has a wonderful interface for console, it has a great storyline, and the fighting feels great.
    8 points. would have gotten 10 if it would have had fewer bugs.
  55. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The game is AMAZING!
    I never played that good, that interesting, that long, it's **** everything!
    It's better than Oblivion, Fallout, Dragon Age:Origins or any other good RPG game!
    This game is a MASTERPIECE.
  56. Aug 19, 2013
    6
    I thought this game would be much more exciting than that it actually is, especially since all professional reviewers claimed it as a must-have. The gameplay is slow and dare-I-say tedious. The storyline is thin and absent from much of the game, in fact you can't really tell the difference between a main quest and a side-quest. So the main storyline is not that engaging, it does not standI thought this game would be much more exciting than that it actually is, especially since all professional reviewers claimed it as a must-have. The gameplay is slow and dare-I-say tedious. The storyline is thin and absent from much of the game, in fact you can't really tell the difference between a main quest and a side-quest. So the main storyline is not that engaging, it does not stand out from the other quests you do. Likewise the characters in the game are flat and robotic. It is true that this game is visually impressive and that you have a huge open-world to move around, but everything else was just too boring for me. I wish reviewers, professional ones in particular, could recognize that people like different things in their games and I wish their reviews would reflect this fact, instead of pushing their bias unto others, claiming their judgement as Absolute. Bottomline: if you like pretty graphics, interactions with your environment such as learning a trade and getting married, and a huge open-world to move around in you'll probably enjoy Skyrim a lot. If you want a deep storyline, characters with some degree of personality, and variation in your gameplay look elsewhere. Expand
  57. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Sometimes starry eyed optimism is necessary to become immersed in an RPG, but not with Skyrim. With this game you are rewarded with a rich story for the spontaneous decisions you make and winding paths you tread towards your destination. "Oblivion expansion pack" accusations are tiring, as much has been improved here beyond a graphical overhaul.

    NPC interaction is much less of a chore.
    Sometimes starry eyed optimism is necessary to become immersed in an RPG, but not with Skyrim. With this game you are rewarded with a rich story for the spontaneous decisions you make and winding paths you tread towards your destination. "Oblivion expansion pack" accusations are tiring, as much has been improved here beyond a graphical overhaul.

    NPC interaction is much less of a chore. While I got a sense of satisfaction playing the speechcraft mini game in Oblivion to obtain better prices or information, its necessity caused it to be a time sink - I don't miss it.

    Interface is pleasingly minimal compared to Oblivion. Main quests are separated from a "Miscellaneous" category which allows my sanity to stay in tact as I accumulate a pile of them in the first town of Whiterun. Beyond that, every button (aside from the joysticks) can be remapped as you please. Such a simple freedom, but sometimes makes all the difference. The "Favorite" button follows the form of the interface being an easy way to quickly swap frequently used items.

    One gripe I do have is that poisons still seem too awkward to use regularly. I'd really like to see a "poison queue" option so I could select concoctions to be automatically applied to whatever equipped weapon I was using at the time until the entire queue ran dry. And perhaps even a little indicator to show when a new one had been auto-applied. Another problem I have is the inability to go beyond the "follow" and "wait" commands for companions. I would really like Passive/Aggressive/Defensive stances so that I don't have to do as much micromanagement.

    Now Skyrim is very much like Oblivion in many ways, but I think it's unfair to use this as leverage against it. I enjoyed Oblivion thoroughly even though I hardly made it halfway through the main quest line. For the same reason, I have thoroughly enjoyed Skyrim so far as the immersion has been deeper for me. Ultimately, an RPG does require some effort on the player's part to become part of the story - to be invested in their character. This isn't a shooting gallery type of game where you're a track expecting to be entertained by cinematic pomp and circumstance that would make Michael Bay blush. It's a role-playing game that does a fantastic job of urging you to be invested in your own story through its setting in a vibrant world and organic leveling system allowing you to choose your path as you progress rather than as a weighted decision at character creation. In short, suspend cynicism and enjoy this game with the patience you would give to a good book - it deserves it.
    Expand
  58. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Bethesda deserves all the lavish praise that is and will continue to be laid on their new masterwork, skyrim. The improved graphics combined with one of the most meticulously and beautifully created worlds ever comitted to video game form help to further hammer home the feeling that you are choosing you're destiny, and skyrim is you're canvas. The sheer amount of content is indeedBethesda deserves all the lavish praise that is and will continue to be laid on their new masterwork, skyrim. The improved graphics combined with one of the most meticulously and beautifully created worlds ever comitted to video game form help to further hammer home the feeling that you are choosing you're destiny, and skyrim is you're canvas. The sheer amount of content is indeed staggering and even overwhelming at times. As you explore, random conversations will bring a healthy list of quest ensuring that you always feel as though you are shaping you're own experience. Whether you choose to progress the main story, hunt for bears, clear out caves full of witches, join a guild, or engage a frost dragon head on, Skyrim never let's up, and you will always feel as though you're actions are shaping a much bigger overall picture. Player choice is integral to the immersion, and Bethesda has nailed it here with aplomb. I need to go have thanksgiving but I needed to write this because people need to realize how lucky we are to have such talented developers like Bethesda to deliver one of the best experiences this generation. Expand
  59. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    No other company EVER goes into this much detail and depth for content, that frankly, most players will never even see. I work in software and games and at every company I've worked at we always try to put the most stuff in front of the user so they experience it. It's like a 5-year-old child doing something and pestering his parents for attention. Bethesda, however, is more than contentNo other company EVER goes into this much detail and depth for content, that frankly, most players will never even see. I work in software and games and at every company I've worked at we always try to put the most stuff in front of the user so they experience it. It's like a 5-year-old child doing something and pestering his parents for attention. Bethesda, however, is more than content to put countless hours of attention and blood, sweat, and tears into the little things, the minutiae, the details that no one else cares about. All that stuff that we say "it's not worth it, only 1% of players will see this" they go after, and I have the utmost respect for them because of it.

    To be frank, this game is more of the same for anyone who has played Morrowind or Oblivion, just larger in scale. But what a game it is; the technology has finally caught up to Bethesda's vision. The mountain peaks are covered in mists, the land, the creatures, everything feels so real.

    Are there a lot of bugs? yes. My friend randomly had a dragon carcass fall out of the sky on his quest NPC, I myself have had plenty of issues of teleporting enemies and arrows hitting invisible walls etc. But honestly, when you do as much as this game does, it's easy to forgive things like this. They have just done so much and so much well that it seems like nitpicking to harp on things that would be core gameplay bugs in any other game.

    In my opinion, the RPG to beat this year was The Witcher 2, but Skyrim has edged it out. The Witcher 2 is an amazing game, especially for long-time Witcher fans like myself, but Skyrim has just humbled me. Sometimes when you see something great, you just have your mouth open, jaw slack, saying 'wow.' But when you play Skyrim, you are speechless. I was STUNNED by the level of detail and care woven into this game. Every single thing in this game, from each individual blade of grass, to the majestic dragons is a testament to the love that each Bethesda employee put into this game.

    In a genre where everyone is trying to rehash MMOs and the psychological gaming mechanics that WoW made so popular, it's always refreshing to see a purist.
    Expand
  60. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Skyrim is a delicious game to play. It has everything an RPG wants: Freedom, Character build, story, a realitic world environment...

    Unfortunately it also has one thing (like previous Bethesda games) that no game wants in it: BUGS. After 9 hours of gameplay the dialogs stopped to work for me and I had to go back to a previous gamesave 3 hours before (time flies while playing!). It's a
    Skyrim is a delicious game to play. It has everything an RPG wants: Freedom, Character build, story, a realitic world environment...

    Unfortunately it also has one thing (like previous Bethesda games) that no game wants in it: BUGS. After 9 hours of gameplay the dialogs stopped to work for me and I had to go back to a previous gamesave 3 hours before (time flies while playing!). It's a wonderful game but by no means deserves a score over 9.
    Expand
  61. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    It's difficult to see how this could be improved upon. The characters, stories and environments are all matchless; combat is fun and involving, and even just running around is a pleasure. Having spent hundreds of hours in Morrowind and Cyrodiil it's already clear to me that I'll be spending even more time in Skyrim.
  62. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Currently *the* best western-style RPG available.
    Perfect? No, but very close to it.
    There is such an unbelievable amount of stuff to do, the first playthrough of the average player will easily take 250-300 hours. Great story, great lore, great graphics, great music, great everything! Then why no 10, you ask? Simple, even this game has a few strange design decisions, and also has its
    Currently *the* best western-style RPG available.
    Perfect? No, but very close to it.

    There is such an unbelievable amount of stuff to do, the first playthrough of the average player will easily take 250-300 hours.
    Great story, great lore, great graphics, great music, great everything!

    Then why no 10, you ask? Simple, even this game has a few strange design decisions, and also has its fair share of bugs (...I literally just lost my freakin' face for example O_o ). And there's also a 360-specific bug; if you install the game, certain textures will eventually stay low-ress. This has something to do with streaming and cache and whatnot.
    But none of these problems has been game breaking, and Bethesda will fix them as soon as possible.
    It's also a shame that console players are unable to participate in the awesome modding community, but this is not Bethesda's fault.

    Why are you still reading this? Go buy Skyrim!
    Expand
  63. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This is the best game I've played in a very long time. It has absorbed my weekend and caused me to get far too little sleep. Bethesda have surpassed themselves. They've merged together the best elements of Morrowind, Oblivion and Fallout 3. They've improved the graphics, the game play, character creation, levelling up, crafting, oh and the music is a delight. This is a fantastic game thatThis is the best game I've played in a very long time. It has absorbed my weekend and caused me to get far too little sleep. Bethesda have surpassed themselves. They've merged together the best elements of Morrowind, Oblivion and Fallout 3. They've improved the graphics, the game play, character creation, levelling up, crafting, oh and the music is a delight. This is a fantastic game that illustrates how RPGs should be made. Although there are a few minor bugs it would be ungenerous to give this game any less than 10 out of 10. Game of the Year. Expand
  64. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Skyrim manages to be beautiful, sublime and engrossing all at the same time and i personally would like to congratulate the developers for bringing us this fantastic game.

    Game of the year
  65. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible and deserves nothing less than a 10. People who rate lower have obviously never played a Bethesda game and don't realize the enormous scale of Skyrim. It is beautiful and well done. No doubt there are bugs but they are few and don't effect the experience what so ever. Buy this game so Bethesda will continue to make great RPG's.
  66. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! Yes there are bugs, but that is to be expected with such an incredibly large game. I'm still in awe at how huge the world is, how many quests there are, and how much there is to do. There is so much life in this game and the detail is jaw-dropping; I didn't like Morrowind or Oblivion because their worlds felt dead to me and I was never inspired to explore or quest...This game is amazing! Yes there are bugs, but that is to be expected with such an incredibly large game. I'm still in awe at how huge the world is, how many quests there are, and how much there is to do. There is so much life in this game and the detail is jaw-dropping; I didn't like Morrowind or Oblivion because their worlds felt dead to me and I was never inspired to explore or quest... Skyrim is different. The dungeons are unique and creative, the boss fights are fun, and the quests are exciting! People interact with you constantly, making the world feel alive. On top of all of that you have the massive, beautiful environments plus all of the stuff you normally get with Elder Scrolls games (professions, great music, etc.) What am I doing even writing this review? I should be playing Skyrim! Expand
  67. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Some people really have missed the point of this game. Yes, it's buggy, but I'd love to see anyone create a game this large, this in-depth and have the time to sort out every bug in the game in time for a release date. Then there's the people complaining about the interface: It took some getting used to, but I've managed to navigate the UI fine now. Then there was that one guy who said itSome people really have missed the point of this game. Yes, it's buggy, but I'd love to see anyone create a game this large, this in-depth and have the time to sort out every bug in the game in time for a release date. Then there's the people complaining about the interface: It took some getting used to, but I've managed to navigate the UI fine now. Then there was that one guy who said it took itself to seriously: right, I did a quest yesterday involving me getting drunk and ensuing carnage on Skyrim. It was basically like The Hangover: I sold a farmer's goat to a giant, swore at some monks and angered a witch by saying I'd marry her and then called it off.
    Oh, and the people who say "it's too much like Fallout." YES! FALLOUT WAS BASED ON OBLIVION, THE PREVIOUS GAME IN THE ELDER SCROLLS SERIES! seriously, get your facts right before you mouth off about how supposedly overhyped and bad this game is when it's clearly not. This is probably Bethesda's crown jewel. The game is awesome in almost every way: the gameplay, the story, the RPG elements, the sheer scale of the map in which you get to explore as you see fit right down to mundane things like buying a house and organizing books. Again, I'll repeat, I challenge ANYONE to fix bugs in a game this massive. And for those convincing themselves that the critics have been bribed by Bethesda, go choke on your on phallus. The game is outstanding in every sense of the word, get a grip or get lost.
    Expand
  68. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I love Skyrim. There is so much to do and so much to explore and the quests are genuinely intriguing and exciting. The amount of quality content is absolutely staggering and sure to keep me around for a long, long time. One of the biggest things I noticed in Skyrim is that there is just enough familiarity within Skyrim to let you know that it's Oblivion's successor, but at the same time itI love Skyrim. There is so much to do and so much to explore and the quests are genuinely intriguing and exciting. The amount of quality content is absolutely staggering and sure to keep me around for a long, long time. One of the biggest things I noticed in Skyrim is that there is just enough familiarity within Skyrim to let you know that it's Oblivion's successor, but at the same time it adds and improves on so many things that it makes sure it's its own game. I can't wait to explore the College of Winterhold, the Dark Brotherhood, and the Daedric quests. If Bethesda can follow this game up with DLC on the same level as Shivering Isles and Fallout 3, This game is sure to keep me hooked for hundreds of hours. Expand
  69. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    It's still the best open world RPG I love this game. The fun of discovering new areas and killing new foes in fun ways.The only problem I am having is me I am all add with my perks I am all over the place, on my next play through I will try to be more structured.
  70. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    So I bought this for the 360, and all I can say IS THANK YOU. I love this game. 20 hours into and I've been doing nothing but exploring and so far I haven't ran into or seen anything that has not amazed me. For all those people that (I'll be fair) rate this game below a 7, you all are morons. I read alot of complaints from pc users got a few things to say to you guys. 1) Update yourSo I bought this for the 360, and all I can say IS THANK YOU. I love this game. 20 hours into and I've been doing nothing but exploring and so far I haven't ran into or seen anything that has not amazed me. For all those people that (I'll be fair) rate this game below a 7, you all are morons. I read alot of complaints from pc users got a few things to say to you guys. 1) Update your computer so Skyrim can be played the way it should be and 2) maybe it's time to get a PS3 or 360. So while you guys complain that the graphics dont look good on your screen, I'm going to sit and enjoy the graphics on mine GIVE THIS GAME A 10 Expand
  71. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Best RPG ever. Beautiful visuals, interesting quests, great music. If you like RPG's this is a must have. Now - what to do with the family for the next three months?
  72. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Without out a doubt one of the greatest if not THE greatest RPG of all time. Bethesda soft-works has created the most alive, fleshed out, deep and interesting world i have ever played in, quests and dialogue from NPC are fluent and realistic and even the most minuscule of quests have a sense of satisfaction and reality to them.

    The diversity in content is amazing, literally hundreds of
    Without out a doubt one of the greatest if not THE greatest RPG of all time. Bethesda soft-works has created the most alive, fleshed out, deep and interesting world i have ever played in, quests and dialogue from NPC are fluent and realistic and even the most minuscule of quests have a sense of satisfaction and reality to them.

    The diversity in content is amazing, literally hundreds of engaging and challenging quests ranging from taking or defending cities for the Imperials or Stormcloaks, taking contract killings, stealing Skyrim's most precious artefacts and tonnes of other personal or faction related quests, there is a lot to do.

    Combat, although similar to Oblivion's, is great. Character movements and attacks feel weighted and realistic and the combinations between martial and magic is amazing. Going in thinking i was going to play a pure 'barbarian' character simply didn't happen because of the fun of spell casting.

    This truly is one of the greatest games of the generation. It is hard to place scrutiny or criticism on anything in this amazingly hand-crafted open world experience. Game of the year.
    Expand
  73. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Don't get fooled by all the review, this game does not deserve a 10 cause it's not perfect. It has a few bugs and glitches and some other minors problems. But overall, you should really check this game out cause it's a lot of fun and you actually get for what you paid ( from 100 to 300 hours of gameplay and more )
  74. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The best game that I've ever played, when I'm not playing it, I'm thinking about it, when I'm not thinking about it, I'm reading about it. Get this game.
  75. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Quite simply put, a masterpiece. An RPG that truly stands out and above the crowd. First: The combat is much improved. While adding much more strategy to the fights as well as an increased "weightiness," the combat is improved over oblivion's floaty combat. Second: Exploration, a major part of any elder scrolls game, is expertly paced. Exploring the game world is much more difficult,Quite simply put, a masterpiece. An RPG that truly stands out and above the crowd. First: The combat is much improved. While adding much more strategy to the fights as well as an increased "weightiness," the combat is improved over oblivion's floaty combat. Second: Exploration, a major part of any elder scrolls game, is expertly paced. Exploring the game world is much more difficult, with dragons and difficult enemies to kill you if you get too far...or too confident. But it is much more interesting to explore compared to Oblivion's flat lands and rolling hills. Not to mention, visually gorgeous.

    Third, It is a stunningly crafted world. The detail in the world, NPCs, dungeons and lore is all something very special. It is a huge world to explore, with tangents aplenty.

    Minor pop in, low res textures and glitchy (very, very rarely) are the only flaws in my book. Nothing can stop me from loving this world, and every time I jump back into exploring the lands of Skyrim it feels perfect. Don't worry; Graphically, this game is ridiculous. The beautiful vistas coupled with the achingly beautiful soundtrack is stunning...It's so hard to explain because games just don't do what Skyrim does anymore.

    And a side note...This game has a sprawling and downright ridiculous amount of things to do. I won't spoil any of them for you, but don't worry. You won't be short of things to do. Forever, most likely. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, But it's mine. If you like adventuring, exploring, storytelling, lore, RPGs or anything in between, Skyrim has it for you. One question though...How on earth did they jam all of this stuff onto one disc?

    So what are you waiting for?
    Expand
  76. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    10 out of 10, a piece of art. If you could only get one game this season it would be a hard pick but this might just be the one! "Skyrim is a first-person, open-world role-playing-game that drops the player in â
  77. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I'm usually not one to give out 10s since the "perfect" video game can never exist, but Skyrim's excellence is far to great for me to score it anything lower. I've never played any of the other Elder Scrolls games since I'm not a huge RPG fan, but I saw the hype on the internet and among friends about Skyrim and decided I'd pick it up. Since doing that I've barely been able to put itI'm usually not one to give out 10s since the "perfect" video game can never exist, but Skyrim's excellence is far to great for me to score it anything lower. I've never played any of the other Elder Scrolls games since I'm not a huge RPG fan, but I saw the hype on the internet and among friends about Skyrim and decided I'd pick it up. Since doing that I've barely been able to put it down. In fact, the only reason I'm not playing it all the time is because I have a ton of school work to get done; otherwise, I'd be all over it. Skyrim has GOTY written all over it. Please, do NOT be discouraged if you aren't usually a fan of RPGs. I'm not either for the most part (the only exception before Skyrim was Mass Effect 1/2). However, Skyrim changed all that for me. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves games. This is a must-buy. Expand
  78. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPGs of all time, and I don't think I can say what hasn't already been said. The dragon battles are exhilarating, the atmosphere is amazing, the characters are memorable...just a great overall experience.
  79. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Best freakin game I've ever played. Bethesda really put a lot of effort in this game. It is clearly their best product yet. If you decide to choose between skyrim, mw3, or battlefield3, GO WITH SKYRIM. I still haven't finished the main quest, but I can tell the ending is EPIC.
  80. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Beautiful world filled with everything you could want with your freedom, except for maybe stealing cars. But having a choice between good and evil and all thats in between is much better than being lumped with one role even with some freedom added on. The quests and dungeons so far are all very well designed and the use of the radiant story system ensures you wont ever run out of things toBeautiful world filled with everything you could want with your freedom, except for maybe stealing cars. But having a choice between good and evil and all thats in between is much better than being lumped with one role even with some freedom added on. The quests and dungeons so far are all very well designed and the use of the radiant story system ensures you wont ever run out of things to do. My personal past time is to go searching for alchemy ingredients in the wilds, (with my long haired dark elf that i use as a battle mage) brew them into potions at an alchemist lab (now in my own house in whiterun) then sell them off to rake in money for new houses and better furnishings. I may play it boringly but the point is whatever you want to do you can, its the ultimate in alter ego providers. Graphics: 9. Sound: 9. Gameplay: 10. Longevity: Limitless. Flavour: like having free reign at willy wonkas chocolate factory Expand
  81. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This is a fantastic game! GOTY in my opinion. The entire interface has been streamlined and made better. The graphics are gorgeous, and the story fantastic.

    Definitely recommend this game to any RPG/open world game fan!
  82. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Greatest/Best Game of all time

    End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion End of Discussion
  83. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time. The graphics and art are amazing and the amount of stuff you can do is incredible. I would recommend this RPG to anyone who wants to play one of the best games in the RPG category to date.
  84. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Having never played ANY Elder Scrolls game in the past, I approached this game with a few reservations. Most RPG's I have played that have been rated high have left me disappointed with few exceptions. But I will say this, Skyrim is one of the most impressive RPG's I have ever played. I am only about 15 hours into the game and I am hooked. The landscapes are gorgeous. The combat is wellHaving never played ANY Elder Scrolls game in the past, I approached this game with a few reservations. Most RPG's I have played that have been rated high have left me disappointed with few exceptions. But I will say this, Skyrim is one of the most impressive RPG's I have ever played. I am only about 15 hours into the game and I am hooked. The landscapes are gorgeous. The combat is well rounded. And the customization offers an almost unlimited amount of character options. Granted, the main story line is nothing that an RPG fan has never seen before, but it has been executed extremely well. Anyone looking for a great game to dedicate their time to should definitely give Skyrim a look. Expand
  85. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Best cRPG since baldurs gate ( for me ofc), long time no see so epic story with very nice grafic side and AWESOM music ( to bad only 5 of them are in cd ). One thing need to be said - TES V need some pach to smoth a few bug and it will be perfect. Im 40 hours in game and i cant stop play, I hope it gona be at least 300h to finish entire game. GJ Bethesda!
  86. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is the most time consuming addiction out of any game every created. The best RPG to date. Yeah a few issues here and there but to be expected in a game of this size! Nothing ever created has attempted such a goal and than achieved it. Hardware is the only thing standing in the way that would make this game even better! The level of detail in every item and location is AMAZING!This game is the most time consuming addiction out of any game every created. The best RPG to date. Yeah a few issues here and there but to be expected in a game of this size! Nothing ever created has attempted such a goal and than achieved it. Hardware is the only thing standing in the way that would make this game even better! The level of detail in every item and location is AMAZING! Crafting finally is possible, mining for minerals or anything, you name it ! You just live your character and care, what more could you want? (realistically). This game is simply the coolest thing to hit consoles of this generation for a living breathing world and epic fantasy! The only thing this game required and didn't include was a way to take time off of your job just to lose yourself to it! Expand
  87. CCR
    Nov 11, 2011
    9
    What else can be said that everyone else isn't already saying... It's truly a great game. There seems to be a couple of glitches here and there, but they will get patched in time. I know it shouldn't be an excuse, but with everything that has been done right in this game, I will give them a pass for now! The world is beautiful and the story so far has kept me interested. I can't waitWhat else can be said that everyone else isn't already saying... It's truly a great game. There seems to be a couple of glitches here and there, but they will get patched in time. I know it shouldn't be an excuse, but with everything that has been done right in this game, I will give them a pass for now! The world is beautiful and the story so far has kept me interested. I can't wait to get some more time with the game after work to stomp around and get lost in the world creating my own story and making my hero who I want him to be. The leveling up seems pretty great, a lot to take in at first due to the sheer amount of perks available, but once you play with it and dive in you can tell it was made for the player in mind who wanted absolute control over customization. Run-on sentences aside, if you are on the fence about this game, go out and buy it, you will enjoy it for years to come. Expand
  88. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    I rate this game 8.5 and here's why

    Lets start with graphics, overall I think it satisfied my needs in this game. Although, there are parts that doesnt look right, maybe a little patch would fix the problems. The graphics is outdated though, we are looking towards 2012, and the graphics looks like from 2010, not saying it was bad but I guess its the lack of budget in creating a perfect
    I rate this game 8.5 and here's why

    Lets start with graphics, overall I think it satisfied my needs in this game. Although, there are parts that doesnt look right, maybe a little patch would fix the problems. The graphics is outdated though, we are looking towards 2012, and the graphics looks like from 2010, not saying it was bad but I guess its the lack of budget in creating a perfect game engine.

    Gameplay:
    Unbreakable pots, surroundings, coming from BF3, I'd actually would like to destroy stuff (not buildings) but I want to crack some rocks and pots, plates and glasses - but that opportunity is not available in Skyrim. You can't attack while mounting which is ridiculous, your companion doesn't ride with you when you are on your horse + your companion takes a different path you take which leads to him/her being left alone. These are the only ones that I didn't like the most, the rest are good.

    Sound:
    Better than before, but wouldn't hurt to have more. It's kinda boring hearing the same sound everytime. Maybe next time they should have different background music for every city, houses, and so on.

    Overall:

    The whole game is a bug, it feels like its a beta of an upcoming game from the producers. As of now, I've spent a 100 hours (>_> just being modest here, I spent more) meaning this game is totally worth your time. You can read books, farm, smith, become a cook, merchant, thief - the only thing here missing is to become a prostitute or a gigolo (which is coming up in their next game hopefully).

    Buy this game, don't rent it. If you play this on master legitly you will spend your money's worth.
    Expand
  89. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Fun and full game from what I've played thus far. Can't believe how big this world is and how it the game allows you to do whatever you want, or head to continue the story if you want. Now that's freedom for you, especially for a game of this magnitude it's refreshing!
  90. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Skyrim is the best RPG once could ever ask for, possibly even the best game one could ever ask for. The graphics are lush and the gameplay makes me feel like i'm actually inside this whole entire new world. The dragons are an unscripted genre defining experience which are different again and again. I simply cannot ask for a better game than Skyrim
  91. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    After spending hours of my life exploring in Oblivion I wondered if my thumbs could handle another trek of that kind. Well after a mere 8 hours with Skyrim I can safely say the gamble has paid off. Skyrim is a must have game for any gamer that loves an role play game. Pick this game up ASAP as you will not regret it!!
  92. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Skyrim eh um grande jogo joguei ele e ainda estou jogando,mas ele tem uma otima historia,graficos incriveis,som super realista e tem dragoes muitos dragoes!!!Skyrim conserteza vai ser GOTY eh o melhor RPG que eu ja joguei em toda minha vida!!! Expand
  93. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is everything I wanted Oblivion to be: fun and addicting. Right away, I knew that Skyrim was a game that I'm willing to put many hours into. I personally disliked Oblivion and Fallout 3 because of the lack of appeal and the easy difficulty respectively.

    I have only put around 3 hours of gameplay time into Skyrim and not 1 minute of those 3 hours did I feel
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is everything I wanted Oblivion to be: fun and addicting. Right away, I knew that Skyrim was a game that I'm willing to put many hours into. I personally disliked Oblivion and Fallout 3 because of the lack of appeal and the easy difficulty respectively.

    I have only put around 3 hours of gameplay time into Skyrim and not 1 minute of those 3 hours did I feel frustrated, bored or disappointed, Skyrim is one of those rare specimens that appear once every few years that grabs your attention and refuses to let go.

    In my experience, I have not yet encountered any bugs or glitches, just minor 2 second pauses when the world is loading, but it happens extremely infrequently.

    Overall, my gaming experience with Skyrim has been one of the best in a long time, the reason why it does not get a score of a 10 is because I think a "10" means a "perfect game" and to be honest, no such thing exists; do not expect to ever see me give a 10, even a 9 from me is rather rare but Skyrim deserves that much.

    If you're in the least curious about the game, do yourself a huge favour and go get it. If you like fantasy action RPGs, go get two copies and play them at the same time.

    Is the game worth £42? Yes.

    ~Cy
    Expand
  94. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Stop right there criminal scum! There seems to be a more than common trend with games at the moment - they are hyped up, released and shot down in to Oblivion (excuse the pun). Skyrim manages to break this trend and does so emphatically - leading adventures in to an open-ended, dragon killing sandbox. There are plenty of quests and side-quests to complete varying from simple collectionStop right there criminal scum! There seems to be a more than common trend with games at the moment - they are hyped up, released and shot down in to Oblivion (excuse the pun). Skyrim manages to break this trend and does so emphatically - leading adventures in to an open-ended, dragon killing sandbox. There are plenty of quests and side-quests to complete varying from simple collection tasks (i.e. collect 5 bear pelts, 4 wolf pelts and some pork chops), to the assassination of a once dangerous leader. When/if you ever get bored of being told what to do, become your own boss. Go out and explore the vast array of environments, raid various ancient ruins and go on the hunt for the very rare treat of having an unscripted fight with a dragon!

    Skyrim offers an unbelievable amount of customisation, and could be seen as one of the most customised experiences on offer at this very moment in time. You have the chance to excel in becoming an archer, mage or a warrior, but it is entirely up to you on how skilled you become in either of these departments. Fancy like firing arrows at people from a long distance? You can do that. Fancy like using a combination of magic and melee to pray upon an unsuspecting opponent? You can do that too. Upon levelling up you can customise the paths you take in ANY skill; alchemy, pickpocketing and light armour to name but a few.

    If you have never played an Elder Scrolls game before, do not fret (or threat - whatever the correct term is)! Skyrim references back to its predecessors in a way that old-timers can connect and engage with, and newcomers can learn the ancient lore of the Elder Scrolls storyline.

    An absolutely outstanding game from an absolutely outstanding series! GOTY.
    Expand
  95. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, it looks incredible. The gameplay is much more smooth than Oblivion. The fights are no longer a 10 second hack-and-slash. Spells are much more fun to use, rather than being somewhat of a secondary mechanic in the game. There are so many things to do besides the main story line and quests. It is an amazing game with very few glitches that I canAbsolutely amazing. The graphics are amazing, it looks incredible. The gameplay is much more smooth than Oblivion. The fights are no longer a 10 second hack-and-slash. Spells are much more fun to use, rather than being somewhat of a secondary mechanic in the game. There are so many things to do besides the main story line and quests. It is an amazing game with very few glitches that I can think of. No doubt its worth the buy. Expand
  96. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Absolutely gorgeous game with a lot of work put into it by the good people at Bethesda. It is an immersing experience and the customization options are incredible. It's a game full of quests and enemies to keep you busy while not being overbearing. Of course a game this size will have it's share of graphical issues and small bugs, but nothing too serious. The one and only reason I don'tAbsolutely gorgeous game with a lot of work put into it by the good people at Bethesda. It is an immersing experience and the customization options are incredible. It's a game full of quests and enemies to keep you busy while not being overbearing. Of course a game this size will have it's share of graphical issues and small bugs, but nothing too serious. The one and only reason I don't give this game a 10 is that I'm not a big fantasy genre fan, if I was I'd give this game a solid 10 though. Expand
  97. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of theIt is immediately apparent as soon as you begin the game that is aesthetically beautiful. Every texture and detail is drawn with incredible detail. Then you notice that all the body movements feel real. Swinging your sword is no longer a how-fast-can-i-press-right-trigger contest. You get fatigued as a normal person would, and a power attack is an actual power attack. The removal of the "rigid" class system allows for the pursuit of the exact niche that you fall in to, thereby almost building a class for yourself regardless. Money is actually worth something, unlike in oblivion. The people are engaging and act as real people would. Almost all of the people I have talked to have had something for me to do., and none of them have sounded similar. The soundtrack is beautiful as well. Every aspect of the game captures the harsh, rugged environment and presents it to in the most elegant way. In short, the game is incredible in every regard and will undoubtedly set the par for games to come for a long time. Expand
  98. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Honestly the best rpg I have ever had the pleasure of playing. To all of those who are bashing this game just to be a troll, shame on you. This is Bethesda's masterpiece. I have been a fan ever since daggerfall and this is the pinnacle of their creations. Menu systems are streamlined and the user interface is extremely convenient.(Especially thanks to the new hot key system). Combat hasHonestly the best rpg I have ever had the pleasure of playing. To all of those who are bashing this game just to be a troll, shame on you. This is Bethesda's masterpiece. I have been a fan ever since daggerfall and this is the pinnacle of their creations. Menu systems are streamlined and the user interface is extremely convenient.(Especially thanks to the new hot key system). Combat has also been overhauled. Animations have more weight behind them and the ability to constantly be specializing in different weapons is thrilling. The player is never locked into one character choice, I chose a Nord and ended up as more of a mage centric class. Attention to detail is visible everywhere from vast landscapes to minute plant details everything is gorgeous. So much more about this game is spectacular but i refuse to say anything else, you simply just must experience for yourself... Expand
  99. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Note to Infinity Ward/Activision: THIS is how you earn repeat customers. This game is awesome. Beautiful to look at, and extremely fun and engaging. If Bethesda keeps this up, they'll be around for a long time. We all know Infinity Ward/Activision have screwed themselves and will probably be filing for bankruptcy in 2013.
  100. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I have had this game for a week now, and I have literally had a hard time sleeping because I am so excited to continue playing it. It is the best game I have played to date, hands down... it is the best. Even with the glitches, it does not matter... Other games do not compare... but it isn't like they ever had a chance anyways. I laugh at anyone giving this game a negative score, if youI have had this game for a week now, and I have literally had a hard time sleeping because I am so excited to continue playing it. It is the best game I have played to date, hands down... it is the best. Even with the glitches, it does not matter... Other games do not compare... but it isn't like they ever had a chance anyways. I laugh at anyone giving this game a negative score, if you cannot see the value in this game, then you are not much of a gamer after all Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    97
    Skyrim is the largest, and most compelling work that I've had the opportunity to play this year. It's engaging, engrossing, and will take over your gaming life for many months to come. Not only is Skyrim among the best that 2011 has to offer, but for me, this is, without hesitation, the Game of the Year.
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.