The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3665 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; theThe next chapter in the Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose. Play any type of character you can imagine, and do whatever you want; the legendary freedom of choice, storytelling, and adventure of The Elder Scrolls is realized like never before. Skyrim's new game engine brings to life a complete virtual world with rolling clouds, rugged mountains, bustling cities, lush fields, and ancient dungeons. Choose from hundreds of weapons, spells, and abilities. The new character system allows you to play any way you want and define yourself through your actions. Battle ancient dragons like you've never seen. As Dragonborn, learn their secrets and harness their power for yourself. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Bethesda Game Studios
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, First-Person, First-Person, Western-Style
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • Special Controllers: Kinect Compatible
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Animating Skyrim - The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 89
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 89
  3. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. 100
    It is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game screams quality and adventure. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got a track record for delivering bug-free games at launch, this has been a pleasant, polished and amazing experience so far. A much improved third-person view, amazing music, a living breathing world, a menu-system that's amazing and a game filled with interesting stuff to do. Truly a masterpiece.
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    100
    Skyrim is completely and utterly addictive in every aspect and quite possibly, I'll say it, the greatest RPG of all time. It affords you the luxury of playing it your way and doesn't try to constrain you. It wants you to get lost in a winter wonderland and believe me, you will. Kiss the rest of your life goodbye.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    This epic role-playing game might be Bethesda's best game yet, and offers an unique and spectacular world filled with fun. The freedom ensures a great experience for both the casual and hardcore gamer, as you're free to play the game how you like.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    Whether you're wondering around the wilderness, enjoying the melodies from a bard in an inn, casually strutting about town, or going head to head with a dragon; the music and sound effects add to the immersion in the same way they do in a Lord of the Rings or Star Wars film.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    95
    This is a title that deserves a spot in your gaming library. The environments are stunning, the level of control you have over your own experience is amazing and, simply put, Skyrim is an epic experience.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    93
    The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is extremely ambitious, and at its core, extremely successful. While overreaches in certain areas, it has much to offer in terms of freedom and volume of content. When you look back on the experience, it's not the rough spots that'll stand out, but the broad, heroic feeling of being the powerful and change-affecting center of a richly constructed world.
  7. Nov 27, 2011
    75
    Oblivion is good, but it's a flawed good. It's a different experience in many ways to previous Elder Scrolls games, but, at the same time, it's still the familiar world Elder Scrolls fans know and love. It has the usual kickass story, but the difficulty curve is a bit wobbly, to say the least, and, in general, it's a story of give and take.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. This game has raised the bar for RPG's in the future. The graphics are not the greatest but they arenâ
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's aA masterpiece, is one of those games that make you think that video games can be considered an art, like painting, music or movies. It's a fantastic virtual experience, deep history, superb gameplay, beautiful graphics, majestic music, in short, an incredible journey for all people who love video games Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2015
    10
    It is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game is adventurous. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got aIt is not often I get lost in a game like I did with Skyrim. Everything about this game is adventurous. While Bethesda hasn't exactly got a track record for delivering bug-free games at launch, this has been a pleasant, polished and amazing experience so far. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing! The gameplay shines, the audio will blow your head up and the visuals will make your eyes bloodshot. And this is all in aAbsolutely amazing! The gameplay shines, the audio will blow your head up and the visuals will make your eyes bloodshot. And this is all in a good way. The story will suck you like a whirlpool and not let go. There is so much to discover, so much to do. You can not just play this game once, otherwise you would be missing out on a lot of things. If you will excuse me, gotta go kill some creatures in Skyrim. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A absolute work of genius so far found nothing wrong with the game is you remotely like any RPG game you will love this. i would highlyA absolute work of genius so far found nothing wrong with the game is you remotely like any RPG game you will love this. i would highly recommend this game Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    what can you say about this masterpiece? It is is over 140 hours long, and it is only single-player,(i am more of a single player fan) and itwhat can you say about this masterpiece? It is is over 140 hours long, and it is only single-player,(i am more of a single player fan) and it is one of the most epic quests there can ever be, you really want to go on with this game and most importantly your decisions change the gameplay completely. Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    Pour kickinit525 : J'ai pas aimé la jouabilité de Skyrim alors 0/10 ^^ et oui ! DésoléPour kickinit525 : J'ai pas aimé la jouabilité de Skyrim alors 0/10 ^^ et oui ! Désolé mais bon ce type m'a tellement soulé ... enfin bref avec tous les pro-machin ou truc sa deviens horrible ce genre de site. Expand

See all 1191 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2011 Image
    Published: January 9, 2012
    The results are in! We've tallied your votes for the best movie, TV show, video game, album, and song of 2011. Find out which titles our users preferred inside...
  2. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  3. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  4. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.